Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The York Hotel 3 stars

138-140 Tettenhall Road, Wolverhampton, WV6 0BQ, United Kingdom

#10 of 24 hotels in Wolverhampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Welsh guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly nothing too much trouble. 5 couples stayed all thought it was lovely. Staff other guests and regulars made us most welcome. Special thanks to Mirsada who cooked 10 fab full breakfasts all on her own. Btw forgot to say the showers in each room are great best ive ever seen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    4.6
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first impression of this place was rubbish, literally a whole pile of rubbish in the car park! We were in Room 14 on the top floor which you need to conquer several flights of steep narrow stairs, quite a hike if you have a heavy case, it smelled foisty, and there was a half used bottle of milk in the fridge and there was no remote for the small TV and a load of twisted wires on the wall. The room was dated and the mattress was extremely uncomfortable, it was an ancient sprung one I had to sleep with the duvet on top of the bed to stop the springs poking in to my back . The carpet had a burn stain presumably a cigarette, a bulb was out on the main light fitting, the bathroom was clean but had a cracked piece of floor laminate. A major and dangerous fault was a swing fire door, it did not swing, it got stuck half way through and I had to prise it open with my fingers by grabbing the top and the side of the door, unfortunately it swung back and trapped my hand, very very painful. There was no staff to report it to at the time as it was after lock up, when all patrons are left to their own devices. All in all not a good experience. I certainly would not recommend this hotel! If you can call it a hotel it resembles a bed and breakfast.

    The staff were friendly, and made our breakfast early, thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Night stay before visiting Cosford Air show
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rd, but we half expected that, it was just more noticeable, because it was a warm evening

    Large spacious room with plenty of tea and coffee etc. Large well cooked breakfasts.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No overnight staff. Not a problem on the night but imagine it could be dependent on clientele.

    Good value, clean hotel. Location good for where we were going (nearby golf club ). Nice breakfast. Staff very good, well greeted and breakfast staff excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Reasonably priced rooms comfortable and clean, good food .( Shame about the Carpark)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpark very run down, off putting, more spaces if area behind hotel were cleared of rubbish, a shame as this is the first impression on arrival, as hotel very nice.

    Very enjoyable stay clean comfortable friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    While the room was very small, it was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of Room and skylight without a blind.

    While the room was very small, it was very clean. There was a warm welcome on arrival and a great breakfast to start the day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Lively receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs you have to walk up. But understand why.

    Lady on reception was lovely. Got a biscuit and a bar of choclate on youe tea tray never had that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    People friendly room size and en-suit good, parking and close to restaurants. Breakfast thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High Windows which couldnt see out of, we're open which was good because a very hot weekend but unable to close as too high up so got more road noise. A party at the Indian next door and people noisy on leaving.

    Room size and en-suit good bed comfortable. A fridge and complementary biscuits and chocolate. A lovely bottle of milk in the fridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.5
    Friendly staff but noisy location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise! The restaurant next door had loud music until a very late hour, and it was impossible to sleep. Not the hotel's fault, but definitely a downside. There was some traffic noise too, but this was less of a problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom, the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable and clean as was the bathroom, the shower was nice and powerful and the breakfast was lovely! The only downside was the window in the room as it woke me up early due to the room being fully lit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointed after what appeared to be a quality small hotel. Bedding was filthy and stained
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From entering the establishment and noticing the smell around the place, it was obvious that it was not of the quality suggested in the hotel description(did I read reference to a "boutique hotel"?

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice enough hotel but not worth the price for the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find a staff member at my check in time. Had to call the hotel whilst stood at the desk and wait for someone to find the phone. I had asked for a room with a bath and payed extra for a double to ensure I had this facility. I was informed I did not have a bath and the double room with the bath was in use. I was provided with an alernative of a twin room to get the bath facility but was charged the same price and was told the staff member was too busy to help push the beds together. Although breakfast was good, could not find a staff member to tell them I had arrived so I had to wait again.

    Good location for what I needed and lovely clean room. A nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.4
    Rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little choice of breakfast, no ambience, very few other guests, not a professional welcome, and nothing to drink at the bar - and I mean nothing!!

    What croissants?? Nothing for continental breakfasters other than basic cereals and toast. No drinks available from the bar. Very unprofessional attitudes on entry to the hotel. Not going back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a musty smell also didn't like laminate flooring. Decor was dark. I also booked it because it had a licenced bar. We went to get a drink and couldn't as they had no licence!

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.8
    The room was spacious and stayed warm on a cold night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Several light bulbs did not work. The bathroom was basic and, in the top floor room we were in, the windows were too high up in the wall to be able to see out of them. The breakfast was no more than average.

    The room was spacious and stayed warm on a cold night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. There was a good selection of tea and coffee with complimentary chocolate and biscuits. The cooked breakfast was very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Very surprised by the quality of the hotel for the price paid. Will definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault, but woken up at 1am by noisy residents. Very loud and uncouth. I knew that there were no staff on duty so had to put up with it.

    A great welcome. Lovely room. Fantastic extra little touches eg, fresh milk in fridge and complementary bars of chocolate. Bathroom smelt reassuringly of bleach, meaning it had been cleaned just as well as my mother used to clean ours. Excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    it was fair and would certainly go back again pls try to keep the noise down
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise . We have stayed in your hotel twice now and in both occasions we have been woken up by screaming yelling from drunks i guess as the wall has no sound proofing we could here almost everything otherwise our trip would have been pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Location, breakfast, good WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. Bed a little uncomfortable. Room wasn’t that clean and no chocolate and cookies as said on the welcome sheet in the room.

    Location, breakfast, good WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Value for money but a challenge if you need to park your car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was the biggest challenge as hotel shared it's parking area with a restaurant. Christmas Eve at 9pm I was informed breakfast would not be available until 10am on Christmas morning. Unfortunately this clashed with existing plans. Earlier notification would have enabled me to make adjustments, consequently I had to miss B'fast.

    Staff were very friendly. Room was clean and always warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Couldn't ask for a better place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable.

    After arriving on a motorcycle in freezing conditions, it was great to enter the very warm hotel to approach a friendly/ helpful receptionist! The room was fabulous and good value for money which included breakfast. The room was very clean with ensuite bathroom which has great lighting to apply make up and selfies :) If i come back to Wolverhampton again for another concert i would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was delicious, the choice of continental or a full english. All staff really friendly and make you welcome. About 15/20 minutes walk to the town centre. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location

    A lovely Hotel, a warm welcome from the young lady at reception, room was clean comfortable and inviting, Breakfast was lovely here, with tea, coffee , orange juice, toast and staff were very nice, If we go again will definitely stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    A fabulous Hotel and great value for money. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking rather limited (shared with next door curry house) but alternate space on another property just down the road covered that. Being woken by the fire alarm due to very well done toast was a tad abrupt - just as well actually as I had slept through my alarm 75 minutes earlier and was now running late.

    Lovely, helpful friendly staff throughout. Beautifully appointed common rooms, bedrooms, stairs and corridors. Very clean and neat. Comfy beds, good amount of space in bedroom. Very effective blackout curtains. Cracking breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    A large lovely room nice and warm, large comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A large lovely room nice and warm, large comfy bed. We arrived during bad weather snow causing travel problems so hotel was very quiet. Very helpful at breakfast offering a choice of hot meal. We would be very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly and welcoming hotel and would definitely stay again when visiting Wolverhampton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the heating had broken down which we understand was known about before we arrived. We believe more heaters and the engineer should have been arranged earlier in the day, in good time for guests to arrive (check-in being from 2.00 pm).

    Very welcoming, friendly and helpful staff where nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Tired hotel in need of revamping but acceptable for the relatively cheap price, and quite clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room and hotel seemed pretty clean, everything seemed very tired and in need of repair. There were filled holes in the walls, paint curtains were stapled onto a piece of wood so they could not be drawn, the double room was very small (it was the cheaper attic room) so it was hard to get around the bed. The duvet was extremely thin, as were the pillows. The duvet cover did not secure at the bottom. The mattress beneath the badly fitting sheet was dirty. The carpet was old and tired. The walls are very thin and someone letting a door slam causes all the walls to shake. The front door was locked on arrival at 7pm, so I had to ring the phone number for someone to let me in. I expected this quality for the price, so I was not too upset, and would probably stay here again if on my own, but would not take a partner!

    The staff were friendly. It looks nice from the outside. It’s a nice building. It’s not too expensive. The breakfast was okay — cheap sausages with little meat, but quite tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    3.3
    NOT RECOMMENDED AS A HOTEL - THIS IS A BOARDING HOUSE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THIS IS NOT A HOTEL, ITS LIKE A BOARDING HOUSE, THERE ARE NO STAFF ON SITE AFTER EARLY EVENING AND THE FRONT DOOR IS ONLY SUPPOSED TO BE LOCKED AFTER 6.30 P.M. AT ABOUT 5.30 , I ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL WITH MY CAR, PARKED AND WALKED UP THE FRONT STEPS WITH SUITCASES AND COULD NOT GET IN THE DOOR. I THEN HAD TO WALK AROUND TO THE SIDE DOOR ( UP AND DOWN STAIRS WITH SUITCASES) TO USE THE SIDE ENTRANCE KEYPAD. I STAYED 2 NIGHTS, THE BEDDING AND THROWS ON THE BEDS DID NOT LOOK FRESH AND WERE DEFINITELY NOT IRONED/PRESSED. THE 2ND DAY I ARRIVED BACK TO FIND THE DUVET HAD JUST BEEN PULLED UP OVER THE BED AND THE PILLOWS LEFT EXACTLY AS I HAD SLEPT. THE TOWEL FOR THE FLOOR WAS EXACTLY WHERE I HAD LEFT IT AFTER MY SHOWER. NOT EVEN HUNG UP. I COMPLAINED THAT AS I WAS PAYING FULL PRICE PER NIGHT, I EXPECTED MY ROOM TO BE CLEANED AND BED MADE AS IF I WAS A NEW ARRIVAL. THE STAFF MEMBER , SHRUGGED HER SHOULDERS AND SAID THAT'S HOW THEY DO IT. ON ARRIVAL THERE WAS COMPLIMENTARY BISCUITS WITH THE TEA AND COFFEE IN THE ROOM , THEY WERE NOT REPLENISHED THE 2ND NIGHT. THERE WAS NO PROPER RECEPTION STAFF. THE LADY ON DUTY HAD TO WORK IN THE BEDROOMS, KITCHEN, BAR AND FRONT DESK AND PROBABLY HAD MORE TO DO THAT I DID NOT SEE. THE FACT THAT THERE ARE NO HOTEL EMPLOYEES ON SITE AT NIGHT MADE ME VERY UNCOMFORTABLE. I AM A BUSINESS WOMAN TRAVELLING ALONE AND TRY NOT TO PUT MYSELF IN DANGEROUS OR UNCOMFORTABLE SITUATIONS. THERE WERE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE DRESSING TABLE ON HOW TO GET HOLD OF A STAFF MEMBER IN AN EMERGENCY, BUT I DONT BELIEVE THIS IS ACCEPTABLE. I WAS STAYING IN A "HOTEL", WITH AN UNKNOWN QUANTITY OF OTHER UNKNOWN PEOPLE AND IT COULD HAVE BEEN A DISASTER. THE DOOR TO MY BEDROOM "BANGED"NOISILY IN THE DOOR FRAME EVERY TIME ANYONE OPENED OR CLOSED THE PASSAGE DOOR, THIS KEPT GIVING ME A FRIGHT AS IT CONTINUED WELL INTO THE EARLY HOURS OF THE MORNING AND EVERY TIME I FELL ASLEEP I WOULD GET WAKENED BY THE RATTLING BANG OF THE DOOR.

    THE BREAKFAST WAS WELL COOKED AND PLENTIFUL , I CANNOT THINK OF ANYTHING TO RECOMMEND STAYING HERE

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and we felt very welcome. The location is good and we were only there to attend an event and I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room wasn't great but then again you don't spend your time looking out of the window.

    Comfy cosy, Wifi, Sky, fridge, tea coffee biscuits, hot shower, clean bed and towels. Great location for Civic Hall, good local bus service. Nicely cooked English breakfast. It made a nice change from long corridors with same old rooms in other hotels!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone tried to get in my room in middle of the night. Would have felt safer with an extra internal lock on the door. There was quite a lot of dust and possibly pet hair on the floor

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    satisfied guest value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    curtain in the bathroom of room 3 is not working . room is cold in the morning , for breakfast I had veggie breakfast its a bit oily may i suggest for management to include porridge and honey in addition

    good location easy parking , friendly staffs and comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Not as advertised- smoke stenched bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bedrooms absolutely stank of cigarette smoke, which the staff told us first of all that it was from outside, then another member of staff came up and told us that they had to come up to previous guests the nights before due to them smoking and setting the fire alarm off, then the manager insisted it was due to a hairdryer smoking, as a hairdresser and an ex smoker I can assure it wasn’t this and it was in fact cigarette smoke. The staff was not apologetic over this at all as we checked in they didn’t actually have the key for this room so gave us the master key as apparently the manager had the main key from cleaning it just before we arrived. There was also a ladies basque in this room. This hotel was advertised as having a bar on site, although we did see the bar we wasn’t able to use it as there was an issue with the liscense. we was not informed of this until we tried to use the facility.

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    3.8
    very disapointing and would never stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got there at 7.00pm after a very long day to discover that the bar was not open and the hotel was not serving food. The only place to eat was the Indian next door which is not a good idea with an important meeting the next day. I came back in the hotel and two staff memebrs were eating and drinking in the bar.

    wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Apart from the difficulty stated above the stay wa excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived during my booking time the front door was locked, I copied the two telephone numbers on the door and had to go in to Wolverhampton to find a public call box. The first number was that of thepreviouse owner but the second one allowed me to make contact and I returned to the York where I was let in.

    The Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.8
    York hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in. Dirty cups in the room. Unable to buy a drink in the evening. Breakfast a shambles felt like we were eating in a store cupboard. Fire alarms went off at 6.10 and told to go back to bed as there was no smell of smoke. Disaster.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous fish and chip shop very close and a lovely canal walk also close by. We enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on our 2nd nights stay, a radio was left blaring all night.

    Bathroom was very roomy, bedroom not so much. Location was further out from city centre than I counted on as we had no car. Staff were great, breakfast included is a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel and the room were adequate for my requirements - staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it were possible a chair to sit on would have been nice - perhaps in place of the small fridge which I did not use, otherwise I had to sit on the edge of the bed.

    the full English breakfast was very good - so was the coffee !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Room was clean and well furnished.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late in the evening and the signage of the hotel was unlit and hard to see. Location of the car park was not clear on the website. It says free parking available but not that it is behind the hotel.

    Room was clean and well furnished. Double bed was very comfortable. Free wifi. Dressing table/desk area with easily accessibly power points. Large built in storage space. Bathroom was OK, electric shower not that powerful but shower cubicle is quite large. Larger than usual bath towels provided. Staff very friendly and hospitable. Nice bar, lovely cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Somewhat oldfashioned atmosphere,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to stand on a chair to be able to turn the TV on - remote control worked for the SKY reciever but not the TV

    Somewhat oldfashioned atmosphere, The very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the full English breakfast which was good, the continental breakfast did not look very appetising. However the choice of cereal was pretty good.

    Great location for the racecourse. The staff were really friendly and helpful . The rooms are not bad for the price we paid. I would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent all round and when in area again will def book with more notice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs to top floor...when we stay again I will get a room on first floor as I am disabled, but only one room left when we booked.

    Beds were very comfortable and everywhere was very clean. Nice breakfast with plenty of choice and staff excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Excellent and well priced accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a very friendly, clean and comfortable hotel and I will be going back again next time I am in Wolverhampton. Thanks Sue and team for your warm welcome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Basic but friendly
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blinds wouldn't go up in the room making it very dark, TV didn't appear to work, however we were told the next morning how to work the remote!! The manager is going to put instructions in the rooms now

    Friendly helpful staff,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    Awful B&B experience- Bed creaked at every turn! And Shower ran scalding hot water only!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the bed we slept on was extremely creaky. I have never slept in such a bed! It creaked at every turn. Secondly, the shower didn't work - was scalding hot was only- I had to wash in the sink and my partner showered with a kettle!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Disappointed being left locked out without a responce
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we returned the code on the door did not work the door was stuck we rang the emergency number and went to a/phone there was in the end 5 people outside in the rain for about an hour in the end we managed to force the door open we had a return call after we had managed to get in from the emergency number then too late

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is shared with restaurant next door, so it can sometimes be difficult to find a parking space when the restaurant is busy.

    Staff very friendly. Excellent value for money. Fridge in the room. Good shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    It was pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a let down. Had a full English but it was not very hot and the baked beans were runny. I definately think there is room for improvement

    Very friendly, quiet and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    Noisy night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom stunk of smoke. Next to indian restaurant which was open till 1am, noisy. Also room above back door used at night with password which other folk forgot and banged door to get in all night. Won't use it again, not worth 70 pound.

    Close to sisters house

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay at The York Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a small bar at the hotel, music in communal areas would be nice too

    Beautiful and spacious room,amazing furniture and the roll top bath was a lovely feature , couldn't fault the cleanliness at all. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was cooked promptly with plenty of choice. I would deffinitely return to this hotel decor was exquisite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    A friendly, welcoming hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't a big deal, but there wasn't a bedside lamp.

    Very friendly welcome and quite a spacious, clean, comfortable room with a large, bright en suite. It isn't a purpose-built hotel though, so I would imagine all the rooms are different. A cooked breakfast needed to be ordered the night before but it was delicious. The area was also very pleasant - walking distance from a park, and a cluster of nice shops and places to eat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Feel real England
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit noisy, the sound insulation is not the best but good.

    This is an awesome place with the awesome owners! A bit far from the train station but I had beautiful trip there. Breakfast was really full and English :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Adequate for a night's stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and smoking outside from people using the restaurant meant we had to shut the windows. Coffee tasted bad. No plug in basin!!

    Indian restaurant next door good to eat in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing breakfast, lacking in fresh fruit. Plated breakfast was just 'ok'.

    Lovely attentive girl on reception. Spotlessly clean throughout and our room (7) big and comfortable. Nice goodies in our room and a good nights sleep. The breakfast/dining room is being refurbished and will be fabulous when completed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Perfect 😁
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skylight in room needs a blind as light flooded the room at 4.30am.

    Breakfast cooked to order at specified time. Fab Indian restaurant next door. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    The landlady was very friendly and polite.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was tilted at a funny angle and not flat. the sky light had no blind to prevent light coming in which disturbed my sleep. For a one off stay at a cheap price, you can't complain too much though and

    The landlady was very friendly and polite. Quick check in process. Breakfast included in the price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice budget hotel on outskirts of Wolverhampton.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is shared with a busy restaurant so carpark was full but I managed to park at side of hotel so no real issues.

    Really nice room...room 2...very friendly greeting on arrival, nice bar area and staff were great. Bright and airy breakfast room with excellent service. Good was ok but a few too many beans and tomatoes drown the remainder. Self-service coffee and toast was great too. I will definitely use this hotel again if I am in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, comfortable small hotel - good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wardrobe space as it didn't have any coat hangers & was filled with bed linen. TV remote control not working.

    Lovely cooked breakfasts, comfortable bedroom & wonderful tea/coffee/chocolate/biscuit tray.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    5.8
    Unreliable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only Luke warm and the sausages were not of a good quality. I booked a twin room for my golfing friend and I but the property had allocated us a double room. They said they were fully booked so couldn't change the room. I believe they took an extra booking as they knew we would be late arriving and 'would put up' with what we had! We received no apology.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower was freezing!! I did ring reception staff said theyd sent a maintenance guy then rang back and said no one was there to check it. Reception said it is tempermental. There was a busy function on so i just had a wash instead ! On the morn they said if shower still cold I could use another room but i diddnt want to do that so i just had a wash again. I was on a course so had to be up and out early.

    Atmosphere was lovely staff were brilliant very helpful. I felt very welcome as I was travelling on my own.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.0
    Could be a lovely hotel but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator wasn't working in the room. Curtains did not fit window and one curtain could not be drawn because the cupboard was in the way. Hotel is on main room, but windows do not shut out noise. Not hot water for showe. Member of staff told me that I needed to stand in the shower for 5 mins to wait for hot water!

    Service with a smile. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A place to rest after Wolves vs Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly couldn't find a fault with this facility. Restaurant wasn't open that night but that was not a problem, Indian next door and a Dominos down the road.

    Travelled here at short notice to take in a match. Friendly staff, nice clean room, excellent WI-FI (take note Travelodge, this is how its done), and a great bar. In keeping with current world affairs, I also experienced a MOAB. Mother Of All Breakfasts!! But the best thing about the visit?????......... Brighton won 2-0!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.9
    Great for a nights stop over
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't take American Express although it stated it did. Hotel does require some money spent on it but cant fault the welcome.

    Staff were so friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.3
    The owner/manager was not available to solve problems, thus making our stay less than perfect.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold tap in our room did not work. Despite saying the reception was open till 10.30 pm when we realised the we had no cold water and went to reception, it was closed. We had to go out to buy cold water for the night. There were no biscuits as promised, in the bedroom, and the bar had closed by the time we got back from dinner, at 9 pm.

    The staff were very friendly, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    8.8
    We had. A short but pleasant stay with your warm and friendly staff excellent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to being end of season quality of evening meals were poor

    Room excellent parking ok staff very polite and friendly location excellent for our needs sky tv was an excellent feature

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Would have mentioned room heating if we stayed more than one night. Otherwise fine.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fine other than the radiators did not get hot.(as a DIY person it seems that the radiators need bleeding) Luckily the weather was not too cold so was bearable. The restaurant was closed but advised by reception that the pub 2 minutes walk away did food. Good move! it was inexpensive and excellent.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff, also very helpful with local information.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming hotel, managed by Sue, who is fabulous. Would definitely stay again. Thank you Sue for helping us get our phone back, we left it in the taxi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing not to like!

    Huge room , well furnished very clean fabulous with coffee machine as well as the Kettle and Biscuits. Reception so friendly and efficient , and even a chocolate bar to welcome us!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    4.2
    I do not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet place and want to go to bed early.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy!! Private parties were organzed downstairs with a lot of noise and load music... Impossible to go to bed before 1 am. Really disappointing!

    The room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    5.4
    make sure you get the right room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room my colleague was given - Room 11 had a pungent smell of sewage. (this was coming from a sewage pip outside his window). late at night he had to check out as the stench was making him nauseus and he found another hotel.

    the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff , especially Reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. everything was good..

    Friendly staff , especially Reception. Good soundproofing no noise from other guests. Comfortable clean and decorated to a high standard. Far better than similar priced 'Hotels' close by. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Great place, would definitely recommend
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is shared with a restaurant next door and was very busy in the evening.

    The lady at reception was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean. There was a little fridge in the room which was great for my water and soft drink.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    A good inexpensive hotel clean and friendly
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room on first floor Stairs very steep No food on Sunday's

    The room was great staff were friendly and helpful Price was great Breakfast delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Very good value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame the room was up 2 flights of stairs but not a major problem

    I stayed in room 10 - a single room. Very clean and comfortable the bathroom was bigger than expected. Susan on reception very welcoming and friendly and good breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.3
    Good location, budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A plug for the basin would be helpful. Curtains not designed to close, but did not hang correctly I suspect due to damage by other guests, so looked unkempt. Dirty shutters. Hotel generally in need of some TLC.

    Friendly welcome at reception. Room good size. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    The bed was fine. Not so breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fruit was listed, but we were told unavailable. Scrambled eggs and tomatoes ordered. No tomatoes arrived. There was not a single breakfast tea bag available. Poor

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75