Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Elements

Marine Drive, Bude, EX23 0LZ, United Kingdom

#3 of 11 hotels in Bude

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 608 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel above Widemouth Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small for four of us.

    Staff were very friendly, and the breakfast was great. Lovely location on the cliffs above Widemouth Bay. The Italian restaurant on site was good. Really comfy, big beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    Superb location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little small but then as I was travelling on my own this was understandable. It certainly would not put me off returning again.

    The location and views are fabulous. I would stay again for this reason alone. I also enjoyed the food and service which were excellent. Very friendly staff. Easy parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    In all it was very worth while.
    • Couple
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn’t very nice. Eggs too runny and mushrooms not very nice. Nice coffee though. The continental breakfast was a bit poor too, not much choice.

    The Bungalow property next to the hotel was amazing in every way. Location beautiful. Beds very comfy, had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Great position and food was well cooked, staff very friendly...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position and food was well cooked, staff very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was fab it was quiet and tranquil and the bonus of dog friendly. The area was good midway between Widemouth and Bude.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Food was lovely and you can't beat the views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner was on business and I was with our 10 month old daughter, wasn't anywhere for me to go in the day as the coastal path was unsuitable for a pushchair and the nearest footpath was 1/4 mile up a 60mph road. This meant i was stuck in during the day.

    Food was lovely and you can't beat the views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Perfect if you want quality accommodation and fantastic food - and you can take your dog too.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - the stay was amazing

    The staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. We chose Elements as it was dog friendly as we have a dog, it was perfect - although dogs are not allowed in the restaurant , they have a beautiful covered terrace - perfect to eat breakfast or evening meal with your dog, if you don't want to leave it in the room - which as long as your dog is happy to do - Elements are happy to have a dog left in your room. PERFECT ! And the nice grassy area outside is perfect to let your dog on - they even have a bin so you can pick up any mess.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Will come again when visiting parents later in the year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms being over the restaurant you heard voices, but these stopped by 11.30 latest on Friday and Saturday then all quiet after that.

    Couldn't fault the staff, food or accommodation. The sunsets over the bay were spectacular.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.9
    Staff friendly & helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My cooked breakfast didn't arrive as each waitress thought the other had brought it. Shower was very weak.

    Staff friendly & helpful. Room clean & well-equipped. Location ideal for what I wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    The location was stunning.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!!

    The location was stunning. Far more than we expected. It was a business trip and my husband and I was very pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was very good and the staff attentive. We will definitely be back for leisure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels we have stayed in, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What is not to like? What a location, stunning views of the coast backed up by; very friendly and helpful staff and a coastal walk just across the road. As for the Italian restaurant, we had to make a reservation for our first night (Saturday) as it is very popular with the locals - hence the quality of the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The en suite too small

    The staff were very helpful and always smiling. The evening meal was very good value and delicious. Breakfast, the tea and coffee were not good but the full English was. The room was clean and tidy bed comfortable. The en suite was so small. But enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and warm welcome from friendly staff. Clean and bright with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the rate I paid was a little expensive for a single room with no ensuite bathroom. The veggie sausage was inedible!

    The location is outstanding, with views to the sea and short walk to the coastal path. The staff were so welcoming and helpful on a very crowded evening. The single room I had was fairly small but had everything I needed and was well designed. The shower and toilet was in the corridor but I knew this when I booked and it was extremely clean and well designed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t recommend unless you want to make a racket yourselves and disturb every other guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have cried when the birthday party staying in the hotel were still making a racket at 1.30 in the morning. Not quite the relaxing night we had hoped for by the sea. Found the room small (and we had gone for the larger one!).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    It was perfect. Right on the cliff tops overlooking the sea. Staff were lovely. 1 mile walk along the coast path to the town centre. Could not have been happier with the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely aspect but room was too small for a family and their luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a family room it was small, especially more so with a very large main bed ( 2 singles pushed together).

    Superb views of the cliffs and ocean. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Had a very enjoyable stay - we shall return at some point in near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being met by a receptionist on arrival - but understand that it is a fairly small hotel and lots of jobs to be done. Can hear showers running from room above and noise from room next door - but these issues would not make us not want to stay at the hotel again. We shall return!

    Bed was amazing. Shower was lovely and hot. Food, staff and experience was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    5.0
    I wanted to walk the coastal path in the morning but really felt I had to get away. Sorry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gym was tiny, dark and amateur. The bed was 2 singles linked together. The bathroom was tiny and the shower cubicle too small. Kept touching the cold tiles. The door at the top of the stairs was hazardous. The paintwork grubby around the handle.

    The views are tremendous. The evening meal was nice. Lady in the bar pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inconsistent in rules. We were informed that Dogs were not allowed in the bar and dining area but on 2 occasions a guest was allowed to have their dog in the bar area shortly after we were refused so we ate out during our 3 day stay.

    Ideal for our purposes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    Special location, with excellent sea views, friendly service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bathroom in standard double room.

    Very evocative and striking location away from the centre of Bude. Room was very clean, fresh and nicely furnished. Great food from the popular restaurant - very fresh ingredients supported by excellent service. No hassle room upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.9
    Cozy room with a very comfy bed, great breakfast and food in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny bathroom. Kitchen extractor fan was was very loud as our room was just above the restaurant, but it got switched off at night.

    Cozy room with a very comfy bed, great breakfast and food in the restaurant! Plenty of parking spaces despite being very busy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended bungalow!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no negatives here for me and we would purposely book here again!

    Amazing location with beautiful sea view. Clean, comfy, spacious and well equipped bungalow. We have been on a road trip, booking accommodation as we go. We were over the moon with our stay here! The staff are amazing and so friendly. If you stay here you MUST try the food, quality is excellent and prices great too (we had a party of 6, three courses each with wine and other drinks - £200). Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, basically eat and drink as much as you like for around £7!! Amazing, amazing, amazing! Thank you so much 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location and views for dog walkers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think this is an excellent property for dog owners . The property had a wet dog smell when we arrived and noticed dog hairs on the floor. Outside on the grass there was a lot of dog mess which was cleaned up once we told someone at reception. A few of the light bulbs had blown and the kitchen lights didn’t work. These checks should have been made before we check in. The shower was also extremely noisy and when I first switched it on the water was a dark blue colour, not sure what that was.

    The views are amazing and the size of the bungalow was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel and restaurant
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The small double room is a little small so worth paying extra for larger room

    The staff are absolutely lovely. The Food is amazing. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Bude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    7.9
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was noisy, it was above the restaurant. The shower was difficult to use as trying not to flood the bathroom as requested The room had space for a comfy chair which would have been handy. No comfy seats in the bar area

    The staff & the food were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    10
    We will be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower wasn’t hot, just luke warm My husband bumped his head badly on the stairs going up to the top level, room 9. He is 6ft and didn’t realise it was low.

    Everything!!! The staff were extremely welcoming and professional. Food was excellent, great choice and delicious. We had an amazing evening meal and a wonderful breakfast next day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location, will definitely return, might ask not to be over the restaurant :)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Umm... the dog freaked in the night when she woke up and saw herself in the enormous mirrored wardrobe. We were above the restaurant, so could hear everything until people went home - then music was playing for ages afterwards - and early the next morning (3 am) someone crunched in on the gravel and there was more talking downstairs - I'm a light sleeper, could have just been me.

    The staff were great, the location was great, the room was very nicely decorated. Breakfast overlooking the sea (it was foggy, but we could imagine) was lovely. We had a dog with us and Elements provided two dog bowls (one with biscuits in it), a memory foam dog bed and a towel - nice touch, much appreciated. There is a coffee maker with coffee pods, biscuits, tea, coffee in the room. Staff very kindly found us somewhere nearby to eat that night as they were fully-booked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    6.7
    Not a true reflection of Elements nor of Bude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather was awful. The mist was down as we arrived and was still there when we left the following morning. The room was very small. There may be larger rooms but we were not shown them.

    Breakfast was very good and the staff were very welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.1
    Fair. Could have been better for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Odd. Had to go through Italian restaurant with dog to check in desk. Showers cold/luke warm. Hotel was good, but for best of £100 should have been just a bit better when compared to other similar, or in fact, even less expensive hotels. Would be good value for £60-70/night...

    Nice room. Clean. Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    7.5
    Spoilt by the fact we could not know - ie were not told of - the dog situation in advance. Bad
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a dog with us., which was accepted on the booking. There was however no place for us to eat accompanied by the dog, Not even the hard-floored bar. A therefore limited breakfast in our room. Bad

    Generally ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, wouldn't hesitate to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    En-suite was a little cramped. Radiator stayed on all night.

    Staff particularly friendly and helpful. Clean room with good views and comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    8.8
    Would not hesitate to come again on a 2/3 night business or pleasure trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom clean & tidy but a little dated. Bathroom very small. Fine for a night but may grate if staying longer, especially if room occupied by 2 (I was alone but had a double room).

    Easy to get to, fairly spectacular location even in February. Would be even better in summer. Excellent food, wide choice which should suit just about everyone. Polite, pleasant & efficient staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.2
    overall a great hotel for the price. i will certainly be booking again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weren't an issue to me but the single room has a seperate toilet and shower room to the room itself which may put some off

    The staff, food and cleanliness was fantastic, the gym was an added bonus as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    10
    Midweek return visit to Elements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Second stay at Elements, everything was just as good as our first visit & this was what prompted us to stay here again whilst visiting the area of Bude. Food was excellent along with the staff who provided a friendly service, great room with Queen size bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Really good accommodation / location of you like a good coastal walk.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We ran out of hot water after one family member had a bath, didn't realise it was an immersion tank and we had to wait for it to reheat the water. Had to use shower in sauna instead so not a no problem.

    We stayed in the self catering bungalow with family and dogs. Facilities were great and plenty of room for a full family. We ate in Element's restaurant on Saturday evening and couldn't fault the food or service. Cleaning products provided was a bonus. Beds are really comfortable too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, scrumptious, romantic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom in the room was slightly small and the shower facilities could do with being bigger/updated.

    The room was spacious, and airy. Furthermore the staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel and staff and the views were beautiful all in all it was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom very small. There was a constant buzzing or humming during the night sounded like an electric motor or pump.

    Room and food were very good. The views were beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bed (comfortable and with the lovely duck duvet) and room, not very private shower/toilet. Sink in the bedroom. But it was sold as small double anyway, so all correct. Can’t fault it.

    Lovely view from the top floor room. Nice and helpful staff. Tasty breakfast. More than expected from available gym on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    10
    Polite, friendly and homely. Dogs welcome in rooms but not in eating areas or bar
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If my partner had come along as planned he would of hit his head off the roof beams. No problem for me though and I loved it!!! Loud with wind but that’s expected!

    Spacious bedroom with sea view. Amazing bed. Super friendly staff. Quiet rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.9
    good stay overall and if returning to area will definitely be back!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    only negative was that the bathroom in our room was very small. Ok for our overnight stay but a longer stay it could prove annoying.

    nice location lovely views over bay. good breakfast. very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    10
    Great place, really nice staff and great food. Very good value and will return soon
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bunk Bed rather noisy and creaky.

    Very helpful friendly staff. Stayed in the bungalow with our dog. Restaurant v busy but they tried really hard and squeezed our kids in for an early meal and we headed back later for a great dinner. Very good breakfast and comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful views, warm and friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too soft for me. Other then that I can not fault the Elements. Good price, tasty food, amazing staff.

    The staff were very pleasant and polite. Felt very welcomed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    What a great little hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather on the Tuesday morning!!!

    What a great little hotel. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The bar & dining areas are bright, breezy and modern. The food for both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent, I highly recommend the Pork Belly. The room though small was adequate and a little quirky. Then there's the view......wow! Really pleased I chose this for my stop over point whilst away on business. I'll be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.6
    We had a lovely time and wouldn't hesitate to return at any time.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a little on the small side but you can easily make allowances for that.

    All the food was top notch from breakfast to evening meal. A varied menu and plenty of it :-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    6.7
    Would not return here.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needed modernising. There is a low ceiling on the stairs with no warning sign, no warning from staff. I hit my head pretty hard. The shower was too small and cramped to even use, had to use the local leisure centre. Will not return here.

    Friendly, good location, clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel to spend a few days break with great views, easy access to other resorts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stairs to the rooms a bit steep with a fire door at the top a bit difficult to open if you are not to steady on your feet as the top step is of normal width would be better if there was a wider step at the top. No chairs in the rooms as was shown on photo's.

    Friendly and helpful staff, super views, very comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    A warm friendly hotel with great staff and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't change anything.

    The staff were amazing. We had dinner there and OMG the steak was epic. Compliments go to the chef. The breakfast was also great. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    10
    Location. Comfort. Wonderful ambiance. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four-Bedroom Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like about our stay at the Elements.

    Wonderful location with spectacular view of the coast. We stayed in the self-catering cottage, which was very well equipped and extremely comfortable. On one of the nights we eat at the Elements restaurant - the food was fantastic, and the service perfection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything we didn’t like.

    The service was excellent. Nothing too much trouble. The staff we met were just lovely. Jess and Vicky were fun, friendly and helpful. Their customer service second to none. From giving us directions to seating us at the best table for our evening meal, they were the best. We would recommend this hotel and their excellent restaurant to everyone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.2
    A good find near Bude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A larger bathroom and fresh coffee in room would be nice.

    We had a small room and bathroom but good views and comfortable. Enjoyed the bar and restaurant where the staff were very friendly and efficient. Close to good walks and beach views. Drinks and meals were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    4.2
    Would not go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was awful, paint peeling off the walls, no space to get around the bed, only one bedside table, poor and small ensuite, noise from a generator somewhere all night so no sleep at all. Room very poor

    Choice and quality of food very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    It was our second time here and we would stay again. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little too hot and the pipes were not too good with a baby crawling around.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location and views were great. Breakfast especially good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    Weather lousy, hotel pretty good. would recommend it especialy the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Shower room cramped. Sliding door to shower room not the best idea, normal would work much better.

    Bedroom was good. Dining room was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay, Elements is a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no chair in the rooms ( we had a single and a small double ), the photo showed a Bucket Chair. On the first evening there was no hot water but I think there was problem with the boiler. Quite a steep staircase to the rooms, with a strong fire door at the top, my friend found this difficult to open while keeping balanced on the top stair.

    Superb views from my room. Bed very comfortable. Excellent views from the dining room and the food is very good, The staff are very friendly and helpful. Only a few minutes from Bude.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Amazing view, incredibly friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small, but was adequate. The shower room, however was extremely small. Anyone who isn't quite slim would struggle to stand at the basin with the door shut and to access the shower. No facilities to dispose of dog-waste.

    Stayed one night. We chose Elements because it was dog-friendly. Although dogs are not allowed in the restaurant, we were offered room service, with a choice of anything from the restaurant menu and drinks from the bar. The food was excellent, and service was very quick. The view from the hotel grounds is amazing, and there is plenty of space in the grounds to exercise dogs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    10
    We had a lovely relaxing time in a great location and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small.

    The staff were friendly and obliging - nothing was too much trouble, from providing gluten-free options to setting a table for us outside so we could eat with our dog!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best overnight stays I've had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No grumbles whatsoever.

    The restaurant was first class. Probably the best lasagne I've ever tasted! Breakfast was great too - cooked breakfast cooked to order and first class ingredients. Marvellous location just outside Bude with great views of sea and surrounding hills. Hotel grounds are spacious and well kept. Free Wifi appreciated. All staff friendly and very helpful. Family friendly. There's even a small gym and sauna, which we would have used if we had stayed longer. All round, very highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    8.8
    View to die for and close to the coastal walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative was the ensuite was tiny, don't think anyone big would manage well. Would definitely still recommend however!

    Staff were lovely and food excellent. Fanastic view and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    9.6
    very pleasant. Knew our room would be on the small side but perfectly adequate for our stay
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower not easy to turn on - very stiff. Stairs steep and no hand rail in places but case carried to and from room which was great.

    warm both in temperature and welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Staff genuinely wanting to please so you enjoy your time there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    5.8
    The staff made the difference to the negatives or our review.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom needed a good clean in so much as there was rubbish left under the bed from a previous occupant and the shower-tray needed to be either replaced or required a special clean. H We have never liked shower curtains so maybe a screen could be installed at some financially prudent time. While space was limited in the bedroom there wasn't a proper wardrobe, which could have been accommodated if room planning was looked at. Unfortunately too, there was no chair to sit upon, nor a proper dressing table at which you could sit to set hair and do makeup, etc. The bathroom could have benefitted from a shaving mirror or at least a light above the mirror at the wash basin. It would have been nice to have a designated lounge area for the residents. In general, the residential areas may benefit from a review by an interior designer to tweak them and improve the general ambience of the bedrooms etc. in order to make the Elements aesthetically-warmer and a more welcoming place to stay. The hotel has great potential.

    Plus point: The staff were cheerful, courteous and most helpful and a full English breakfast, if required, was included in the price. I think improvements could be made to make the Elements a really welcoming boutique-type of accommodation. It was in a good location for the view of the coast and the outside offered an area to eat outside, weather permitting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.1
    Make sure you don't have room number 3....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in room number 3, it has the smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. The bathroom was fitted with a sliding door that did not fit correctly. I would say the shower was around 800mm by 800mm. Only one bedside table, scaffold type tubes use to hang clothes etc. Noise and smell from kitchen directly below was very intrusive.

    great location and good helpful staff. We had a very nice evening meal during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for Awesome Foursome Quadrathlon competitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room, although spotlessly clean smelt a little fustyty/doggy. - to be expected I guess in a hotel which welcomes dogs. There could be better granary toast rather than cheap brown bread.

    Breakfasts were nice and tea and coffee making was generous. The patio area was lovely and the views are breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place, lovely atmosphere, great customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in our family room was small. We laughed that you may not be able to bend over at the sink and have the door closed The shower also ran hot then cold which caused much hilarity for the person listening to the noises coming from the person in the shower. I reported the issue to the person on the desk and was reassured that it would be looked into. Customer service was so great that these issues weren't a big thing for us. I would happily stay there again.

    Staff were really friendly and approachable. This is always a must for me. The food was good, the cocktails were lovely; there was a great selection of both at good prices. It had a good atmosphere and looks like it is also used by locals which I think is a good sign. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, served with an amazing view. When you stay do make sure that you go over the road and look at the coastal scenery, it could be easily missed and it really shouldn't be.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    8.8
    Staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem (apart from the weather!) was that our room was directly over the restaurant and it seemed like there was no sound proofing.

    Staff were great. Check in excellent. Room was very clean. Bed was comfy. Food was good. Location was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Really good. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a bit noisy located over the restaurant but it was quiet from 2300 hrs.

    Lovely warm fresh croissants. Able to check out late which was great as we were dirty after our morning run.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent and facilities very good.
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me, it was a long walk into Bude itself - very hilly and up on the cliff top. Fantastic views and great if you're into walking. But I'm not! Fast and narrow road in front of hotel and no pavement for a few hundred yards. Had to go on cliff top which was muddy and incredibly foggy!

    Breakfast was excellent and facilities very good. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendlier. Lovely garden. Dinner in their restaurant was lovely and there was a small bar area where you could get coffee and great cakes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    We loved it here at Elements and would definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite was a little small but we knew that would be the case before we arrived.

    The location was superb - fantastic sea views and a cock stride away from the coastal path. The hotel was beautifully decorated with a real Italian feel to it including the beautiful outside areas. The food in the restaurant was fabulous, so too the excellent customer service. The bedroom was clean and comfortable with lovely views of the coastline.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing apart from shower could be a little cold.

    It was perfect in every way. Rooms clean and tidy. Good breakfast and an excellent place for evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    4.6
    hotel for couples and families
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    For 4 nights I could stay in an en suite double room, although I had to pay through the nose for the privilege. The room I had booked, where I stayed for the last 2 nights, was not good: very narrow bed, bathroom across the hall, no real bedside table, and I had to ask for a bedside lamp. The dining room has all the charm of a 1970s operating theatre, the food is not that good and rather overpriced. The 'gym' is largely unusable, with equipment placed where it can't really be used (rowing machine right next to a boiling hot radiator, cross trainer right under a low beam.

    Some of the staff were quite friendly, but some were almost rude. I don't understand why this is rated as a good place for solo travellers when it isn't, and you're being treated like a freak of nature by some staff when you stay there on your own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing but had concerns about dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We brought our dog not aware that when we ate we would have to leave her in the car when eating instead of in the room-not made clear on booking site.Also needed is a lounge to sit and have a drink-only had two sofas.Would sell more drink that way/more profit.

    Very friendly and relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    4.2
    The worst accommodation I have ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't park. Had to block someone in and go to bed to be knocked up to move it. Room tired old and dirty. Did not stay the next two nights we paid for dreadful

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.9
    Probably look for somewhere else if this way again. Widemouth Manor looked worthy of checking out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs and door onto landing was difficult. Stairs to second landing was difficult. These could be health and safety/insurance issues should anyone fall. Bedroom had stunning view, but slopping ceiling was another danger issue. My wife hit her head a number of times. Best avoid rooms on top floor.

    Brilliant location for walking coastal path into Bude and other way to Widemouth.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    7.5
    Food great, bar area good. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedrooms need updating. Wardrobes very old and don't match decor. Bathrooms are not good. Very small and decor not good. Rooms look tired.

    The food and bar area are great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    5.0
    Maybe it was the end of the season but overall the room was very dissappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed really needs to be replaced almost sitting on the floor Television colour was really awful Room needed repaint lots of marks on the walls Window catches need replacing No chair in the room Lots of chipped paint off the chest of drawers

    Staff very polite Breakfast excellent Parking excellent Views stunning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.1
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities a little tired and need updating. Sporadic shower with hot water, no extractor fan in bathroom. Parking a bit hit and miss.

    Excellent breakfast and good attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing food, super comfy, very dog friendly, very happy customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This isn't a critism however, there was a double bunk bed in our room for kids and we don't have kids. I said we didn't need the bunks beforehand so it would've been good if they weren't there to give us more space but, no major issues.

    Great big comfy bed, lovely views, amazing location. Food was excellent, customer service great, very dog friendly, even had a foamy surfboard I could borrow. Will 100% be back. Easiest recommendation I could make really, go and stay there!!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Elements Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: