Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Cornwall hotel reviews
  4. Padstow hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Metropole

Reviews of The Metropole This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Station Road, Padstow, PL28 8DB, United Kingdom

#28 of 33 hotels in Padstow

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1696 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    8.3
    A very nice weekend in Padstow despite the weather !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Estuary View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My newspaper on my first morning didn't turn up and I was charged for one that I didn't have. As usual the music during breakfast was awful ; why do hotels do this to their guests ?

    The location in Padstow is excellent and my single room was spacious. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    9.2
    Overall good stay - location was perfect and staff were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booking we were not advised the property was under refurbishment and feel the cost was high considering the inconvenience of workers confinuing to work up to 7 pm. Not being able to get a coffee from the bar when having a nightcap due to the employee not being trained to use the machine !

    The staff were friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    3.8
    The new owners have a lot to answer for!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was cold because the windows had been left open in early Jan and it was almost impossible to shut them. The previously comfortable bar had been revamped increasing the space behind the bar almost to equal the space in front of the bar for customers. The comfortable seating had been replaced with up to date furniture which was uncomfortable to sit on. Breakfast in the old restaurant was a delightful experience the last time we stayed. The new arrangement for breakfast is to sit in the bar area which is not big enough to seat all the guests even with three sittings. Breakfast is only availableis only available from 7.30am to 9.45am which is totally inappropriate for a weekend stay in a holiday hotel. The actual breakfast was poor with the orange juice tasting of nothing and the bacon & tomatoes appeared to have been cooked before 7.30am although we sat down to breakfast at 9.30pm. My wife commented that the changes represented a perfect example of style over substance.

    The Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, nice modern bar and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need a refurb desperately but it is underway.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice modern bar and restaurant, lovely breakfast and fabulous dinners!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    6.7
    Great staff and potentially the finest hotel in the region but with heavy emphasis on 'potential'.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the hotel is in a state of flux it is charging a lot of money for tired looking rooms. Sadly, not enough is being done on the website to instruct customers about the true state of the hotel whilst it is undergoing major changes. Understandable but a little misleading. Incentives would help customer satisfaction through the changeover period.

    The new, refurbished parts of the hotel were very good. However, the older parts in need of refurbishment looked dated and worn. Excellent, friendly staff who are truly flying the 'Metropole' flag. Great views, amazing building and good that a full refurb is happening. Would definitely come back to see it when finished.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    All the old character has gone. Now just an expensive and featurless place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar was oversized and unwelcoming. The lounge area had all but gone. The restuarant was being converted to a functions room, leaving the area at the rear of the bar as the only available place to eat.

    Very good staff. Friendly and as helpful as they could be.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    5.4
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra for dogs and parking which isn’t stipulated on the Booking . Com website And the hotel is under reconstruct which wasn’t stipulated until the booking was completed

    locality

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    5.8
    This is a hotel in a prime spot in Padstow.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a problem even with reserved parking you’re not guaranteed a space. They need to close and do the whole place up. We were in room 14 above reception. The radiator wasn’t on but the room was like an oven. Unbearable really especially when suffering a cold and cough. The window only opened a few inches. They could invest some of the money they waste on hearing - as you walk into the bedroom corridors it’s like a sauna. The bathroom was passable as long as you didn’t look up at the state of the window. Pillows were too soft. They are, they say, slowly doing up the place but really, the state of the bedside lampshades and the headboard-they need changing now. The staff need to be a bit sharper/ better trained. On Dec 28 breakfast was moved to main ... event room but there was no sign or anything directing you and we were the first down. On both days breakfast was still being put out at 7.45. If it starts then then everything should be in place. We left a day early because I was poorly and I’m glad we did for I heard the receptionist say that yes of course you can take your dog into the breakfast room!!!! I suppose as there were quite a few dogs there denying them this would deter quite a few of their clientele. It’s going to have to change markedly for us to return.

    This is a hotel in a prime spot in Padstow. The restaurant has been done up nicely and the waiting staff at dinner were v friendly. Dinner was v good too. Complimentary water and biscuits on tea tray a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    9.0
    Very enjoyable pre-Christmas stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looked at the prices for same time next year and found an almost doubling of the rate! Still, got to get back all the investment somehow I suppose.

    Great value 3 day stay. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment so some facilities not available and lots of contractors milling about but we were informed at time of booking so no problem. Breakfast excellent with superb service all round - particularly in the circumstances. I suspect the price we were charged reflected the situation and I have no doubt we won't be able to afford the same 3 day stay next year when everything is finished which is a shame. Still, nice to be able to say we spent some time there. I hope the current staff are allowed to remain - smashing people with a great attitude!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    9.6
    Great postion Very short walk into town Great views Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were prepared for the renovation work and look forward to seeing the Hotel brought up to date as she deserves it.

    Lovely old Hotel which is going through modernisation work which we were prepared for as the staff had contacted us prior to our stay. Our room was spacious and although bit tired it was spotless . Good choice at Breakfast and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and staff very helpful and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decor in bedroom.

    Bed very comfy. Rooms could do with updating and bathroom refurbishment necessary. Excellent location - we were dining at the Seafood Restaurant, so only two minutes walk!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    4.6
    Reminded us of Fawlty Towers!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated old fashion hotel. Stuck in a time warp. Rooms small, decor very shabby. Poor service at breakfast. No staff. Very unorganised. Would not recommend this hotel until it has undergone a full refurbishment. Not just the public areas but the bedrooms too. Very disappointed along with many other guests who were staying in the hotel at the same time. Shame as it's got a great location.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    In the center of Padstow. Staff were great, breakfast was fab. Upgrade on hotel didn't effect our stay looking forward to seeing it when finished. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    5.0
    Shocking facilities, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Sea-View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shocking state of hotel, overall cleanliness , poor toiletries and provision of , breakfast was shockingly poor, this is a 2 star operation at best and should really not be open until at least fit for guests or price should reflect the state of the environment.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although under a revamp I was not informed and upon arriving had to listen to building work in rooms on ground floor, room was booked five months before trip. Signs in place to apologise for any inconvenience however would not have stayed if I’d known. Hole in both mattresses, towel rail not working in bath room Dining room chairs stained and dirty, was not aware pets allowed Location amazing with beautiful views and perfect for padstow

    Location was fantastic staff when available friendly and empathetic to concerns

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    5.0
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parts being refurbished noisy st 8.30am with builders banging and drills. Breakfast chaotic still waiting for toast and guests being seated after others being served. However saying that the food was very good.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    6.7
    All the staff were lovely and food at both breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was under renovation and this was not advised. The rooms were absolutely tiny.

    All the staff were lovely and food at both breakfast and dinner was a good standard

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    6.7
    Looking forward to staying when refurbished
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room could have been more stylish, decor bit tired but clean and tidy they are refurbing, breakfast could have been better and more organised but as I say the are undergoing refurb. Had to pay £5 to park 😳

    Location, clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.6
    Bed was amazingly comfortable, even though they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a bit chaotic but manageable

    Bed was amazingly comfortable, even though they are undergoing refurbishments it was a lovely sized room, comfortable, quiet. Fabulous !!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy but dated hotel undergoing refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the hotel is being refurbished so there was some noise and mess. Breakfast was good but when we got in for breakfast there wasn't enough tea pots, jam containers and the buffet was very depleted. However the hotel was extremely busy that weekend because of the food festival so I think allowances could be made.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.5
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the hotel is being refurbished there was no proper bar and only one restaurant. Also no parking available on site. Hopefully this will be better when the work has been completed.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.1
    The location and building are very nice, next to the little...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately for me, there was a refit/reconstruction of the hotel going on. Fortunate for future visitors. Due to the age of the hotel, the floors are noisy as they are made of wood.

    The location and building are very nice, next to the little port and superb seafood restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought car parking should be included £5 charge. Heating was way too hot in the hotel Renovation taking place which didn't really interfere with out stay - however think it might have been advisable to close for a few months

    Lovely room even though it overlooked the emergency staircase.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    6.7
    Room 6 was excellent, comfy bed, brilliant views , nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Sea-View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The current refurbishment that is going on should be reflected in the cost, no real bar area to speak of, noice from the builders from 0700 until well past 1900 . Due to lack of choice in Padstow we had to choose The Metropole, however on reflection would not return until refurb complete in September 2019.

    Room 6 was excellent, comfy bed, brilliant views , nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good, varied choices of hot and cold food, plenty of choices.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.9
    It’s under renovation now, and rightly so - a wonderful...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s under renovation now, and rightly so - a wonderful building that has seen much better days, the Metropole’s rooms definitely need some refurbishing. Food was quite good but not exceptional. The towel heater in the bathroom was impossible to turn off, which made the whole room feel like an oven. Definitely overpriced for what it is now, and most likely NOT a 4 star hotel at the moment, but I am looking forward to coming back once the refurb has been done.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the harbour in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the harbour in Padstow. The staff are welcoming and helpful and the rooms are very clean and tidy, perfect for a Cornish break.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    Average stay expensive for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast excellent but bar drinks a total rip off and unfriendly bar staff found cheaper price online the evening before with a sea view than what I paid and felt ripped off so I wouldn't go back

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.3
    It was a nice stay but spoilt by the uncomfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so uncomfortable in our room. Would not have wanted to have slept another night in that bed. Shame as the room itself Was very spacious and had lovely views. Also the hotel was so hot everywhere. The heating bill must phenomenal.

    The staff were very attentive and the breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    We had a pleasant two day break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not quite didn't like but the refurbishment work did restrict things a bit. We would have liked to have been made aware of this before booking. However, the staff worked around this very well.

    Catering was good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    9.5
    Close enough to home, yet far enough away to feel like we'd had a break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally apart from the comments above we had a fantastic time.

    We were made to feel so welcome. Unfortunately there was a bit of noise, but this was totally understandable due to the refurbishments going on. The staff were all amazing, it seemed like one big happy family. The only negative comments I would make is that we had to pay to park and also in the bathroom, the shower head doesn't go high enough up the wall. Having said this we hope to return again soon.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were exceptional - so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Sea-View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is slightly run down but there is a refurbishment programme underway which we were advised of in advance ( good customer service)

    The staff were exceptional - so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smaller than I expected and we were next to the lift so we could occasionally hear it although it didn't ruin our stay

    The staff were super friendly and helped with advice and recommendations in the local area!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing stay right at the heart of Padstow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is in the middle of an upgrade and workmen worked until about 6.30pm the first evening and then started again around 8am. We were awake but I'm sure others weren't.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spot, lovely area enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner The first night was disappointing. The beetroot starter was pathetic with 4 small cubes of beetroot and small curls of pickled vegetables and and a miniscule squirt of goats cheese. The other starter was adequate. The main meals also disappointed. We ate out the next night!

    Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent and gave great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent and gave great service. The beds were very comfortable. The view from the restaurant for breakfast is a real extra as you start your day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    7.1
    Great location poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower and bath needed soap dishes and the shower somewhere to put shampoo and conditioner. The heated towel rail wasn’t heated. Given these criticisms and the disruption of the refurbishing work and the fact that the sea view was only visible when standing I don’t think the rate charged afforded value for money.

    The breakfast was good. The staff were very helpful and friendly apart from the breakfast staff. When I turned on the radiator it was very efficient and heated the room quickly n what was a very cold evening.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.5
    Me and my mum enjoyed our stay at the Metropole but we are not sure we would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food was very special but very rich and vegetables were lacking.i think the buffet breakfast should have been more interesting and have more variety. The tea or Coffee pot should have been brought to the table. Suggest fresh rolls. My account i found confusing as some of the original items was still in the account.

    i like the dinning room that had a stunning vista of the Camel Estuary.The Restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.9
    Despite the work going on it was ok.We would go back once it was all finished at a discount lol
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a lot of renovation work going on I think they would have been better off shutting it down to do the work then reopen again We thought the window in our room was very small which didn't show a lot of light or let much air in

    The food was excellent It was always very hot

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.5
    A genuinely good experience would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The decor was in need of up dating but the plans look great for the future . A large hotel not quite a boutique experience .

    We liked The efficient friendly staff .They were very welcoming and helpful. The Breakfast experience was good with no waiting around and amazing views.There was a good choice on the menu from full English to scrambled egg and smoked salmon or continental . It was great to have parking on site although not quite free !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    5.4
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean but the furniture and decor was quite shabby and in need of redecoration. The bed wasn't very comfortable.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The work being carried out in hotel Would not have booked if I knew it was going to be this bad Have used hotel for the past 5 years along with friend who also stayed We will not be booking the hotel for next years golf event at Trevose Also I booked three nights and paid for these but due to an unforeseen circumstance that arose with my daughter I at to leave one day early I WAS NOT OFFRERED A REBATE of one night but asked I pay for two days parking and not three I will not like I said along with my friends be re booking this hotel again with attitude

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    5.8
    Fabulous location and parking, but not happy that we weren't informed that the health suit was close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The health suite and spa would have been great we booked the hotel because of that and when we arrived it was closed and renovation taking place, the hotel room view was average with limited view with a small window facing town when we paid ed for a sea view. Rooms were tired need a much needed refurb, plus warm we couldn't open the window enough to get fresh air in, plus the shower base fell off onto the floor. The refurb should we indicated to the customer on booking.

    location of hotel and ease of parking. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing stay in nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Estuary View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was undergoing a major refurbishment which was not mentioned at time of booking. The wifi was poor and continually dropped causing you to have to log in again. Breakfast was too late for me as I had to leave early each day so stuck with tea and cerials. No offer of compensation - even charged me for car parking despite being in winter.

    Location of the hotel was excellent. The rooms were a good size. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    lovely stay in padstow
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel didn't tell us it is currently under refurbishment and pool drained so couldn't be used.

    staff were very helpful and friendly and in a great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable but the hotel badly needs to update to take full advantage of its excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was very dated, 1960's ? The reception staff were not smartly dressed and did not bother to get up from their chairs when we arrived at the desk, so did not create a good first impression. The breakfast omelettes were poor, pale in colour with rubbery texture. Additional parking charges at £10 per day were a bit steep for a village hotel.

    Location right next door to The Seafood Restaurant. Old world charm. Spacious public spaces and good harbour and estuary views. The full English breakfast was very good as was the Kipper.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    5.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed uncomfortable, furnishings in need of an update, Side table next to bathroom door so constantly bumping into it and coming home with bruises! Told the staff and they said nothing!!

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    10
    the metropole lovely croissants were extra flakey, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the metropole lovely croissants were extra flakey, so disappeared quiet quickly due to demand, our beautiful room had 3 lovely large seaview windows which made our stay extra special.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.8
    enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A more up to date decoration and furniture .

    We liked the location and the stunning views from the breakfast room. This is an old rambling hotel not trying to be something it is not whilst having a refurbishment at the moment to bring it up to date. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The price was fair for the hotel standard so i would go back .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    8.5
    An enjoyable and eventful stay all round, enjoyed the breakfast menu and the restaurant views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire alarm went off at 2am in our room. It was difficult to get someone to answer the reception phone to advise us as clearly no one else was vacating their rooms,my husband found the night manager who fixed the alarm. This really upset my sleep. We assume it was due to the clocks moving back an hour but nothing was said to us the next morning.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We did not arrive until 11.30 in the evening. The evening team were helpful in finding us drinks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    6.7
    Great location , reasonable rates. Needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms dated in the process of renovation. Beds soft. Offered newspaper daily at check in but was not informed that it would cost £1.60. Dockside very noisy from 0600.

    Location great, able to park onsite. Food at dinner very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful old world hotel overlooking the water and a short walk away from the center of Padstow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no problems with this hotel. The elevator was out of order when we arrived, but we were assigned to the first floor (second, for the US), so we had no problem.

    This is an old hotel with modern comforts, very turn-of-the-century in looks, very large and comfortable. It is a VERY short walk from the bus station and a short walk from the center of town. The dining room has large windows with beatiful views of the water and very good breakfast. The staff was invariably helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Been coming for years nothing will change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t like the bathroom much but we understand it would have very nice at the time it was built but we know it will a better when the work has been completed

    The location is second to none it will fabulous I expect when the renovation has been completed We’ve been coming here for quite sometime

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.8
    Great apart from the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location suffers from being very close to a sand dredging operation which unloads on a nearby quay and generates a loud noise from 6 in the morning. There is a continual loading of large lorries, also generating more noise.

    Breakfast very good. Location should have been excellent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel under refurbishment - would have liked to know that before I booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked this hotel last minute and was dissapointed to receive the confirmation email telling me that the hotel was undergoing a complete refurbishment - I think that this really should be made clear at the time of booking - especially when the rate offered was no refundable. The hotel was acceptable but our estuary room view really only had a view of the car park and was over the air-conditioning unit from the kitchen and was very noisy - not a great nights sleep sadly.

    Good breakfast in lovely room overlooking the sea. Clean and well presented room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.5
    Was a perfect break after a difficult summer ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I sometimes find the breakfast service a little slow and I sit on my own before a person comes over, this is uncomfortable when waiting alone . But love the bredkfast food and view ,

    The staff were extra supportive because of the lift situation .. Thanks for that

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    10
    The bed was very comfy but pillow was a bit lumpi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above pillow was a bit lumpy don't like paying to park car in hotel car park also getting car covered in pine leaves, not your fault but was very windy Saturday had to go in to a car wash to get rid of all the neddles. Very nice and relaxing

    The bed was very comfy but pillow was a bit lumpi

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic breakfast, freshly cooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was seriously in need of an update. The leather bed board was very weary.The furniture very old and dark. The bathroom grout was black and the shower bath screen was not big enough so the floor got wet

    Fantastic breakfast, freshly cooked.Friendly staff. Perfect location. Very spacious room and bathroom. Tea&coffee facilities in the room plus water and biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed it. Thanks to your staff - all very well trained, professional & obliging.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too hot. Blocked en-suite sink (did the cleaner not notice? if not, how can you clean a sink without noticing? If noticed, why not reported? If reported, why not fixed? Also, decor and appointing is very tired for a 4 Star don’t you think? Also partner bruised herself when she tripped walking down steps onto the lawn in the dark at night. Was given an ice pack, which helped, but was also told “you are not the first & probably won’t be the last” This is unacceptable! Get it lit! There is a less obvious last step. Also, awful smells being pumped out from vents as you walk down Ally way into town on left of Hotel. Just walking past on occasions made my jacket smell noticeably for the rest of the evening in town. Suggests the filters aren’t being cleaned/replaced regularly enough.

    Staff. Service. Location. View. Breakfast. Dog-friendliness.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.9
    Will be back again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to ask for the bathroom sink to be cleaned again as it was dirty.

    Fantastic Breakfast, very helpful friendly staff, great location at a reasonable price. Great we could bring the dog!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Value for money comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was very small and dated however as refurbishment is underway that is not a complaint.

    The staff were extremely pleasant. The surroundings and views from both the bedroom and communal rooms. Delicious cooked to order breakfast. Parking was worth every penny as it was very crowded in Padstow and this made our stay much more relaxed. Don’t know why people moan at £5!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    8.3
    Grand old lady needing some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 6 nights

    appeared to be lots of new staff who were not fully aware of the hotel layout (sent to wrong floor on arrival) but this will obviously improve. Also appear to be major up grade so some areas out of bounds, although the lift was working

    great breakfasts, good food generally, well located with parking, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    6.7
    Location amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Estuary View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Undergoing a refit and feels like it! Staff no longer friendly, warm and welcoming. Feels very corporate- we had booked specific rooms but they were unavailable so had others. We queried this and we’re told we should have read terms and conditions! Seriously! Maybe a quick courtesy phone call from them might be more customer friendly! Bar staff never there, comfortable lounge has gone it feels like the heart has been ripped from the hotel. No pots of coffee at breakfast just a big urn that ran out every morning and took 15 minutes to refill. We have been visiting for 25 years and are now very wary of rebooking.

    Location amazing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and food. Hotel decor in process of being modernised throughout, which it needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The car park. We had to prebook our car for a space in the small car park for the cost of £5 a night but found difficulty parking on several occasions, particularly over the weekend when the hotel was busier. I suspect part of the original car part has been sectioned off to allow building works storage. There is further parking through a narrow tunnel, which we got a small car through but bigger cars would have had a problem.

    Rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The decor is dated, but work has just started to overhaul the whole of the hotel, which it desperately needs. This work did not affect our stay. The dining room has fabulous views over the estuary. We ate breakfast in the hotel. There was a good choice at the buffet, cereals, toast, fruit, croissants etc and a choice of cooked breakfast to order, which was delicious. Location is fabulous. Couple of minutes from the middle of everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.5
    It's a lovely hotel, if a little bit tired but they are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with In-Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little bit dated/worn out and needs upgrading.

    It's a lovely hotel, if a little bit tired but they are undergoing refurbishment. Our room had a great view and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was a little chaotic but all in all a nice place to visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. We were looked after very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing was the decor was a little tired but,as we already said, refurbishment is now underway

    We liked the food, service and all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The only problem (if you can call it that ) was the age of the lift although we were informed that refurbishment of the whole hotel had now been started. The chef was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Thank you for the personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved it all.

    The staff helped me to organise a surprise for my mum who was staying there. They were incredibly supportive and went massively the extra mile.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    We had a great break all things considered, and would happily stay again, just not Room 19.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 19 had noisy boiler vents outside causing irregular disturbance, so go for sea-view side if you can. Unfortunately we were awoken one night at 1am by a fire (false) alarm and spent 20 min in the rain outside waiting for fire service clearance to reenter. In process of a major refurb so will get better.

    Breakfast great buffet (cooked was available too but not tried) , dinner excellent, location ideal for town centre. Staff really friendly, top marks. Really nice house wines best value. A short walk and you are on the most amazing sand beach miles long at low tide.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    6.3
    Dissatisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to stand outside in the middle of the night in pouring rain and high winds while the fire brigade check the faulty system and this was the second time in 12 hours

    Powerful shower

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    6.7
    October in Padstow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fire alarm going off at 1am, we had to evacuate hotel into pouring rain , false alarm. Rather had a buffet breakfast, than waiter service.

    Friendly staff, good location. Being revamped at present so difficult to express anything else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    5.8
    Horrendous due to having no lifts and therefore having to climb up the stairs to the top floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were on the top floor, we are between 75 & 80 with failing health and there were no lifts the whole time we were there making the whole time a nightmare and the light bites of an evening were virtually un-edible.

    Breakfast very good, beds very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.3
    Very likeable hotel as long as you know what to expect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room décor poor.Tired and in need of tlc. Extraordinary to spot lying just below my window on the flat roof a discarded 'Best Western' sign from the hotel's former life. Get rid of it! Self-service toaster in the dining room very old hat and inefficient. Huge vat of self-service coffee not a good idea. Make it fresh to order please this is 2018 not 1978! Poor quality juices on offer. Bit too much staff chatting around the bar mid-afternoon. gives a bad impression. I booked a room with breakfast and dinner for two. We invited two other people and it turned out our allowance for pre-paid dinner for two was £27.50. That should have been made clear when I booked and pre-paid. Corby trouser press in the wardrobe!!!

    Nice full English breakfast.Arrived very quickly.One of each item as opposed to a groaning platter! Friendly staff.Parking. Proximity to town centre. Old style hotel. Excellent dinner.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    The best is yet to come
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grubby tablecloths/cutlery, hot water dispensed from an urn(at breakfast) had had coffee in it, rendering a nasty taste in the water, on booking I asked for sheets and blankets on one of our beds, and reassured twice, all was in hand, simply not true when we arrived, si afydr two more requests, both beds were changed, We were amused.by a dining room staff telling us that Kipers weren't caught locally!! The lift was a faulty towers comedy turn, Shame there was no fresh seafood on the menu, Veal meat balls should have been delicious, but far too much tomato sauce /? Cheeses expensive

    Generally the food was well presented, dining staff exceptional , Clean beds and linen /towels, Good position in Padstow Look forward to sampling the refurbished hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast the only thing that was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was way too soft and the bathroom and room needed a makeover.

    The location and grounds of the hotel are excellent.Parking the car is a lottery.Booked a space but hard to get one as it's so busy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    Large comfortable hotel in need of a facelift, but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not told that the hotel was undergoing building work. The lift was not working throughout our stay on the third floor. I think that we may have booked elsewhere, had we been aware of these facts.

    Very easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and Rock Ferry. Very good breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Location and parking and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with in-land view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They’d just been taken over by ‘Harbour Hotels’ (2 weeks ago) and there’s already been a drop in certain standards! It’s claimed that it’s the ‘interim period ‘ but these are very poor excuses for a 4 star hotel and definitely not professional. For example the breakfast quality had dropped and also you got stewed tea (3 hours) which you served yourself from an urn!! There are too many to mention but these are ‘penny pinching ‘ measures which did the hotel no favours. You would keep things as before with tea/coffee served fresh in a teapot/coffee pot at the table! Also the greeting refreshment previously on arrival was a great touch. You certainly don’t drop standards in an ‘interim’ period - maybe treating guests as a captive audience and employing fewer staff with less ability seems to be their new approach!

    Location and parking and clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Metropole Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: