Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Palace Hotel - Small Hotel

20 George Street, Oban, PA34 5SB, United Kingdom

#39 of 45 B&Bs and inns in Oban

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 213 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Paid WiFi

    6.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Had a comfortable stay, would possibly stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    £180 for room only seems high for small room. Damp/mouldy patches on walls in shower room

    Cosy room, clean and comfortable but small, not much room to move about. Nice sea view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.3
    nice hotel friendly staff bit pricey no parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    expensive breakfast not included in room price . considering it was £100 pop night bit of a cheek. no parking despite website saying it was available. car parks expensive for overnight stays.

    breakfast not included. website stated parking available and it was not.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Palace Hotel Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing negative to say It's an old hotel so the decor reflects this Maybe not to everyone's taste & stairs maybe an issue for some people

    Our experience was a good one We were greeted by a friendly guy who gave us local knowledge of places to see & a choice of rooms upon our arrival The room was clean & tidy with excellent views The bar & lounge are right next to reception where we had breakfast and a chat with staff plus views of the bay If you want a quiet homely experience this hotel is the place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    5.8
    This accommodation was not worth the £120 plus extra for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Window above room door let light into the room all night Two single beds pushed together to make a double is not expected from a delux room, the join was uncomfortably. Breakfast was possible the worst I've had I don't think the sausages touched a pan or grill never worth the high price. The view was a joke for a delux room. Did not see a mini bar.

    The shower was the best thing for this stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.3
    good for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My and my friends' rooms were small, but I wasn't really surprised. You cannot expect more for this place and location.

    Close to port and marina. Very nice location, exactly in the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.1
    We liked the location and the view from our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked the location and the view from our room was fantastic,There was no bar or food served in the hotel and no food was allowed to be brought in. I also think that the rooms in this hotel is not worth the money and I think they should be reviewed they also charge an extra £15 for a breakfast.There is also no disabled facility’s.We got this room for £110 instead of £220 which I would never have paid that kind of money for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    6.3
    I would say a B&B ...without the breakfast ...not really a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no Bar..or food .....closed .toilet seats need renewed..it came off as soon as you sat on it....with friends and all three rooms had the same problem.... Couldn’t use small fridge in room as it was locked....we did say and when leaving were told a replacement had been left at reception for us.....which we had walked passed numerous times.

    View from room...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    5.8
    IT WAS JUST A BED TO SLEEP IN DISSAPOINTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being informed that Accomadation did not have food or use of the lounge due to work being done

    Upon arriving with our 2 sets of friends on the main door it said due to work being done at the palace hotel we could not use restaurant or lounge so glad we did,nt book breakfast also could,nt sit in lounge and relax with our friends and have a drink I feel we should have been told this before our 3hr drive and have the chance to cancel or change accomadation very DISSAPOINTED.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.8
    A very nice visit to Scotland, good food, lovely views, typical mixed weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel coffee was awful I asked for a cappuccino the first day and was brought something undrinkable, probably instant coffee. After that I asked for tea. There was no hotel lounge to relax in while it was raining, just a sofa in the breakfast room.

    Hotel staff member serving breakfast was very personable. she remembered what we had ordered after the first day. Breakfast was excellent. The location is very convenient, on the main street and 5 minutes walk from the railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    4.2
    The place was definitely not worth £80 a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was definitely not worth £80 a night. The Bathroom was dirty with water stains all over the walls the wall paper was hanging off. The sink taps leaked , the shower was totally uncontrollable either freezing or roasting because of the nature of the the cheap tap fitting used. The room is tired and very much in need of a refurbish. There is a serious safety concern with the lack of a fire escape on this building. There was a rusted scaffold at the back of the building with rotten scaffold boards which would be the only exit if the stairwell was on fire. This would have to be access through the bedroom or stair well window and is totally unsuitable for purpose.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    9.6
    A quiet place in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fault of the hotel but the parking in Oban is a nightmare . There was a 2 hour parking limit on the street which cost £1.20 per hour and the all day parking was just as expensive , when you could find it

    I loved the decor and old style personal service . It was quiet even though it was right in the Main Street . I loved that it was small so it was quiet and not too busy and easily accessible to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.0
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress was uncomfortable; only complaint!

    Very convenient for the ferry, good value on a special deal, friendly, helpful host, nice, ample breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    5.8
    Perfect location but way overpriced and very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very dated. Peeling flowery wallpaper is not great. The cost was way to high particularlyrics given the condition and the fact that breakfast would have been extra. The room was overpriced by about £40.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    5.0
    Good location but overall terrible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no elevator, on the stairs there is a pregnant smell of dampness combined with burned oil, the Wifi is not good, heating does not work, shower tap impossible to operate with a wet hand. If we would not have paid upfront at the time of the booking we would have definitely not staid there. Misleading reviews show an 8.6 rating whilst reality is well below 7.

    A run down old hotel that had a very superficial and limited face lift some time ago. Except the location and size of the room, almost nothing else good to say as almost nothing works.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.9
    Good location Pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of stairs to access reception and even more to access rooms. No lift. Room on the small side and basically furnished. No car parking nearby.

    Good location Pleasant and helpful staff. Room quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    3.3
    Absolutely not worth the prices charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is supply and demand - the hotel can charge so much during August simply as there is limited supply of rooms in Oban. Frankly the room is only worth 50-60 UK pounds, certainly not the 190 charged. No bar, no restaurant except for breakfast (not included in rates and charged at 15 pounds per person. So yo my thinking this is not an Hotel but a B&B. Had ordered an extra bed and was instructed on arrival to nake it up myself with linen in the wardrobe. No parking provided, and not easy to find nearby. Nothing else to say, as there really were no services or facilities offered.

    View over the bay was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the price!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TINY, SHABBY twin room that we stayed in over night cost us 145 Pounds, the most expensive lodging on our month-long trip to the UK, and that price did not include breakfast!! On Booking.com the Palace Hotel was described as a small boutique hotel! That description was highly misleading!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    2.9
    Worst hotel I've ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was too small to be anything other than single. Twin beds toe to toe along side wall with minimal space along side. Light switch to bathroom partially obscured by wardrobe. Bathroom furnishings were cracked and shakey. Shower did not provide enough water. The room was massively over priced at £75 per person per night which didn't include breakfast. There is no parking or disabled access. Our room was at the top of the building, at least ten flights of stairs as no lift.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    5.4
    Faulty Towers revisited but without Basil showing his face-possibly because of his technical skills!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not being able to book direct or over the phone despite 2 phone calls and hotel website not being accurate so used booking.com. Paying too much for the room only well in advance for a just passable room described as large & refurbished with king size bed! Not passable as a hotel, B&B standard or room only accommodation! Large flat screen TV not working and small one installed was problematic - no indication which one or what to do with them and their digi-box and remote controls that didn't match up! No ledge or basket in shower to put toiletries so dangerous for older people! Too much awful furniture in room and in corridor outside - dangerous Health & Safety issue! Looking out over rear of property on 2nd floor which we were aware of but not the amount of cables & wires to the property which didn't look safe!

    The location, good size walk in shower!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    6.3
    The location and the view were wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The TV didn't work and the staff couldn't show us how to make it work. The mattress was old, thin, and lumpy.

    The location and the view were wonderful! The manager was pleasant. Oban is a great spot! The food at the Oban Inn was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    5.0
    Not what I would call a Hotel wont be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room small, No reception desk Only seen a member of staff on arrival No bar with opening hours Its more like a B&B or guest house

    Nice bed ,clean room and toilet good size television

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    8.8
    family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower in family room was difficult as it gives either cold or hot water, no control NO lift

    Staff are friendly and courteous and made vegetarian breakfast which was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.4
    Way overpriced, tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the worst hotel I've stayed in, but by far the worst value for money! Felt ripped off & being fleeced. Tired decor - wallpaper starting to peel in bathroom, lino on floor very old.Chipped enamel in bath. 2 wee packets of shampoo/bodywash half used by earlier occupants half used & left in room. £140 per night & had far better for half that price. Extra for breakfast - didn't want to give them any more money & ate elsewhere cheaper & good. In 2 days I never got onto Wi-Fi & friend said she could only use it on one particular stair of stairway. 2 flights of stairs to reception, 4 more to our room, 2 more to our friend's room & no lift so hopeless for elderly/infirm. Everything was being done as cheaply as possible & charged at premium rates. There was a festival in town, but still way overpriced. If all you want is s comfy bed & clean room & don't care about value for money then fine, but we won't be going back.

    Comfy bed, room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.8
    Stayed for 3 nights. Very nice stay once parking was sorted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking at hotel & parking in general is a problem in Oban There are 2 free car parks in the town but are small

    Location was on the harbour front, with easy access to most places

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.7
    It was available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am okay with stairs, but if you are not then ask ahead of time as to where your room will be. 89 stairs to my top floor room after a day of hiking in the Highlands just added to the soreness in my body.

    It was available. There was nowhere else with rooms available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    9.6
    Accommodating Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly it has limited accessibility BUT staff were accommodating helping with bags and providing a seat on the landing for me and despite this I would very happily stay there again.

    Excellent location, close by transport hubs, entertainment venues and the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    9.6
    Good value clean Hotel right on the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some furniture a bit dated e.g. bathroom, no hotel owned parking spaces, remotes for TV didn't work

    Good central location, friendly owner, some modern facilities in room i.e. USB charging sockets

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    6.7
    Great Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location but the hotel was a little bit dated. In the morning you could smell the food throughout the hotel and didn't smell that great however the room was comfortable and clean and the view was amazing.

    Great location The room was comfortable and clean and the view was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    7.9
    Short overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately our door had a glass panel so the light from the hall would stream in at night.

    The hotel is situated just across the water in the harbour. The rooms are lovely and with classic settings and tall ceilings.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    5.8
    The location of the hotel and member of staff offered to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sorry ! the room very small and bed a bit uncomfortable with badly fitting sheets which kept showing mattress which made for an uncomfortable sleep

    The location of the hotel and member of staff offered to carry our bags to our room allthough we declined

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    4.6
    Old, tired, run-down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was very uncomfortable. Springs pushing through. Mattress edge collapsed. Bathroom cleanliness poor. Flaking paint on ceiling. Great location though

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2016

    8.3
    Very good hotel and great location. A varied array of food & drink estab & great ferry & rail links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cramped for space.

    The hotel view over the bay from lounge and room was fantastic. The breakfast excellent. Though the room was looking tired and old fashioned. I was advised on arival the hotel was ongoing refurbishmentioned. This became evident as large boxes arrived in the commonality areas during my stay. So I expect future customers will be even more impressed. There are a range of very good cafes and restaurants within an easy walk. A very satisfying trip overall.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    8.8
    A once and future Palace ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside, first impressions are likely to be poor; but soldier on! The Palace really has a quaintish, old-fashioned and nostalgic charm inherited from its yester-years. Like Oban itself, it has seen more fabulous days. We wish for their return.

    The staircases .. extravagantly wide; the view from room 19, across the harbour; the breakfast; the interesting, and kind staff; and oh, that wonderful Highland sense of humour! We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    8.3
    We all would love to go back to Palace Hotel- small hotel,Oban.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We are a tall family hence we would have been a bit more comfortable with a longer double bed. The mattress could be a bit more firm to prevent one from veering either to the edge or to the middle. We could have done with a shelf next to the bathroom sink to keep our toiletries. A bathroom window that can open would be nice in the September weather.The toilet roll holder on the wall is a better idea than being placed on the floor.A lift would really bring up this property.

    Well lit,clean and excellent location mark Palace Hotel- small hotel at Oban.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    5.4
    Has this hotel changed management since I read their reveiws?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overpowering smell of air fresheners was truly nauseating. We could feel the springs of the mattress and slept poorly. We were not aware that breakfast was extra.

    location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    9.2
    Short but nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There didn't seem to be much of a communal area in this hotel, or bar, or any food options while we were there.

    Some how I had managed to book the wrong date and they quickly accepted my correction. Also, they managed to book us into a room at their lowest level, up one flight of steps only. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    7.1
    Good location very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location very friendly and helpful staff. OK its got no car park but easily resolved when I asked on checking in. Free Car Parking readily available within a 10/15 minute walk !! Room very comfortable and well appointed and modern bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    7.9
    Old historic hotel atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed on 5 th floor - up 8 stair levels. Got a little exhausted but good exercise.

    Old family run hotel with lots of unique period charm. Very friendly. Location is excellent . Hotel is old and worn but you need an adventure, every night doesn't need to be perfection. We would stay again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2016

    7.1
    Oban, a beautiful waterfront community.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view out the window of the room was abandoned construction materials. a modest effort to clean up would be worthwhile. The windows had no latch or lock.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    5.8
    Functional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The notice before you enter banning all food and drink from coming into the hotel is unwelcoming and unrealistic for anyone on a touring holiday.

    Quiet. Plenty of exercise getting up and down the stairs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    6.3
    Friendly staff but not a good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was quite small and the beds were extremely uncomfortable. In addition, there was no free parking. Although the hotel was in a convenient location, it did not seem like a good value for the amount of money we paid.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2016

    4.2
    This hotel is extremely dated and not for elderly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No indication that there were no lifts and had to climb stairs with suitcases. Bedroom clean but bathroom very dirty with old bath and terrible shower. No breakfast provided. did not see one member of staff the entire visit !!!

    nice location and beautiful view of harbour

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    7.9
    Worked well for my stay - it's not the Ritz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Typically for an old property, the room was tiny. The space taken to add a bathroom left the sleeping area barely usable. The refurbishment was just OK, but looking somewhat tired already.

    Great location right in the center of Oban. Just a short walk to/from the train station and ferry terminal. Within a few blocks of most everything in town. Staff very pleasant, food and service good. I was traveling by train, so car access, parking was not an issue for me.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    4.2
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we were in a room at the back of the building 8 flights of stairs up. decor needed updating.Scaffolding outside looked like it had been there for years, very rusty. Bed very hard, bathroom dated,didn't smell fresh, at £60 per person per night and still had to pay for breakfast definitely not worth the money. They take your money immediately and in our case charged us twice .

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    4.2
    Very overpriced - and breakfast is not included!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The twin bedroom and windowless bathroom were cramped,dark and uncomfortable.

    View from dining room. Friendly Bulgarian bar staff . Helpful Scottish breakfast staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    4.2
    Never, ever, stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was so uncomfortable because the springs were poking through. The rooms were tiny & desperately in need of refurbishment. The night was worth £35 - we paid £155 for the night & breakfast wasn't included!! Shocking.

    Location & view

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    4.6
    Very dispointed,
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything Ridiculous £80 for the room plus no breakfast included , wallpaper peeling off the walls , no extra toilet roll or shampoo , Needed completely overalled.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    5.4
    The bed was comfy but the room was small for £120 a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was useless,no pressure and couldn't get the temperature down which was odd cos it was just one of those plug on the tap things

    The bed was comfy but the room was small for £120 a night

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    10
    Staff were friendly and hotel was immaculate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Staff were friendly and hotel was immaculate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was hard as a rock

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Had a very nice stay and could have stayed longer. Would love to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit of a problem.had

    Great location. Good room. Excellent view.pa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    I slepted better at the palace hotel than I have in a long time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paint work could do with refreshing

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    7.5
    Right in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Right in the centre of town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    5.4
    Too many stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many stairs. Expensive breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    Great except for the stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 90 stairs we had to climb to our room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    9.6
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was on the forth floor and there isn't an elevator.

    Great location. Close to train station, pubs, tours. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    9.2
    perfect for my purpose,
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV difficult to operate, pillows rather hard

    friendly welcome, tea/coffee amenities, hot water, all very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.5
    The sea view was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sea view was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    4.2
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sitting room, no bar, no food, no breakfast. No hot water.

    View from bedroom window

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed stay and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfortable bed, great view, pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    6.3
    Just OK. Very small room and eight flights of stairs to room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet seat kept falling off toilet even after I re-secured it to the toilet twice. Then I gave up and just kept my balance on it!!!!!! 🤣🤣

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Last minute find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was a bit far off site, but not too bad.

    Location was right in the midst of everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.8
    Great position and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and bathroom need renovating. 0 stars for a 5 star price. No lift.

    Great position and view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.9
    Good stay comfy bed Hotel a little dated but OK
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel a little dated but OK

    Hotel a little dated but OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    8.3
    We had a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not being included.

    The bed was very comfy. Staff were very efficient. Room was clean. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    4.2
    Where can I start!? It was horrible, shabby, hardly anything worked, shower inoperable, blocked vent inbathroom staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldnt regulate water temperature. Bathroom needed upgrading.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    4.6
    Fabulous location otherwise disappointing quality of room and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very poor value for money. Room and shower in need of refurbishment. Room tiny.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    8.8
    COMFORTABLE BUT OVER PRICED
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO PARKING,OVER PRICED AND AN EXTRA £15 FOR BREAKFAST,

    VERY NICE ROOM ,SPOTLESS BATHROOM,VERY FRIENDLY HOST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    4.2
    Tawdry cramped room with peeling wallpaper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tawdry cramped room with peeling wallpaper. View of concrete wall and rusting scaffolding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bell for reception was so loud it woke me up in my room on the floor above.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.9
    Great view old fashion hoyel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and pay for wifi

    Kindness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    7.5
    View.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lift-3rd floor. Traffic noise at night.

    View. Welcome.Comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    6.7
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little dated, a lot of stairs which could be a problem for elderly or those with young children. No car park

    Good location in centre of town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    4.6
    It was centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No lifts for all floors internet connection very poor no parking for guests. Shower water not either to cold or to hot

    It was centrally located

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: