Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thomas Arms Hotel 3 stars

Thomas Street, Llanelli, SA15 3JF, United Kingdom

#8 of 17 hotels in Llanelli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 423 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the prop is not a hotel but a pub with rooms. no proper Reception, no AC in the room, access doors locked 10 to 12 a.m. however breakfast and food good with good service.

    breakfast and other food good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult but that may have been because there was a wedding in the function rooms. Being so close to the town means less of a walk but also means lots of traffic and the nightlife can be loud.

    The staff were helpful. The manager took the time to introduce herself and check that our stay was a good one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    UNFORTUNATLY THE BATHROOM AND SHOWER WAS NOT TO MY EXPECTATIONS .IT WAS DEFINATLY POOR AND OUT OF DATE.

    FOOD WAS EXCELENT AND THE SERVICE WAS FIRST CLASS AND ALL THE PERSONS WE SPOKE TO WERE POLITE AND EFFICIENT TO THE ENTH DEGREE.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a table for an evening meal for 6.30 but had to wait for 35 minutes before we had order taken and only after going to the bar. Finally served main meal at 7.20.

    Very good breakfast with good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liquid soap for the bathroom wash basin is very poor for a hotel that maintains high standards, it really isn't a product to use on your face. Tablet soap is best.

    Room, food and staff are all excellent and overall this is a quality stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Car parking was available at the front of the hotel, the staff were very helpful, the hotel had a good atmosphere with the locals mixing with hotel guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't nothing we didn't like about it all was good we will be going back again

    The hotel looks lovely when you pull up to it we was greated with a lovely lady ready to help the room was lovely and clean and welcoming anything we wanted we got lovely people lovely hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that i disliked about the hotel. The only comment i would make is that it is on a hill which maybe wouldn't suit an older person

    Polite and helpful staff. Lovely food and very clean and comfortable. All in all a very pleasant stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fact that the housekeeper refused to do our room as the lock was faulty, even though she knew second day and we said we would leave the door for her to get in.

    The fact that as our door lock was faulty and was a nuisance until replaced we were given a complimentary meal and bottle of wine for our inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother’s bedroom was noisy due to air conditioning or an external generator and she didn’t sleep much. Our other two rooms were fine. Also she was called at 21.30 after we had left the restaurant at night when she was in bed and the staff demanded that she return down to the bar to pay part of the dinner bill that THEY had put on the wrong bill. She is 80 and was already in bed!! She was extremely upset by the tone of the request which spoiled the stay. This should have waited until the next day to discuss with us we were clearly not going anywhere with two young kids. If your restaurant is pay at bar and not table service you should tell us from the start, we did not know until after the dinner. A new payment system would be a good idea as we had to pay 3 separate times for 3 rooms rather than once.

    Food, location, cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right on busy main road with noisy traffic. Some young staff need more training.

    Good size room. Comfortable bed. Quality linen and towels. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an exceptionally busy weekend for this hotel. Every hotel in town was booked up as there was a big rugby game on. The staff were wonderful in the way they coped with the very busy bars and the full hotel capacity. On the Saturday night it was even busier as they had a wedding in the Ballroom as well as the remains of the rugby crowd! All the staff are local to the area and proud of the service they provide.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That music was being played and we couldnt sleep. Had i had known i would not have picked this hotel. Evening meal was horrendous. My soup was like a bowl of mushy peas nothing like broccoli and stilton

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not told when booking that a wedding was on - whilst we would not have minded the noise, etc. we had booked a meal in the restaurant which we did not make as we could not get near the table / bar because of the crowd! This meant we had to find alternative eating place at 7pm on a Saturday night in a strange town - not impressed.

    Warm comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making facilities. Nice Shower with plenty of hot water. Good selection of drinks in bar and friendly staff. Good breakfast with wide choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very helpful, especially cleaner who due to lack of taxi offered to take me to my required venue. She went over and above to be helpful and eventually managed to find taxi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved it! The hotel was very nicely reformed, with a great bar and restaurant with a life of it's own. Huge bedrooms with great beds as well. Staff were helpful and really nice at all times and the food was just great. Can't recommend it highly enough. Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our second stay, but never again. We didn't sleep the first night due to a loud wedding reception that finished in the early hours. Second night live music directly beneath our room made us decide to leave early. No car parking at hotel first night due to wedding. Staff couldn't move us and said they were a wedding venue (basically, tough, what did we expect?).

    The room was clean. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came down for breakfast and found only one person serving and cooking breakfast. Could have fried eggs as they couldn’t light stove so we had to have scrambled egg instead. It wasn’t her fault and she apologised. Matches I even offered to go to shop to get matches for her

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music until midnight Saturday then band playing Sunday afternoon and evening. Not at all restful. Choose to leave Sunday night to come home for rest. Reqd ironing board but cover not attached so useless. Asked for toilet rolls only for them to be left outside door and not placed in room.

    Staff nice. Room large but decor needs updating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some road noise, but it is town centre , so to be expected.

    The rooms were clean modern and comfortable, lovely fresh good quality bed linen. The young staff were all very personable, attentive and helpful. This is not high end, but is as comfortable and good as much more expensive accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An offer of assistance with my luggage would have been helpful, especially up the stairs. The temperature of the “hot” water in the tap and shower was cooler than I am used to. Some people would like a hotter shower. Some reduction for a single occupancy would have been welcome. I paid £75 for one night and a breakfast. Obviously the price would be better for a dual occupancy.

    I was the single occupant of a double room so it was spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable as were the pillows and other bedding. The room was warm and all the electrical equipment worked. I was impressed with the attitude of all the staff as they went out of their way to be friendly and very helpful. The availability of gluten free food was good as I have a gluten free diet. The food and drinks were of a very good quality and reasonably priced. Lots of people were eating there which is always a good sign. My room was, indeed, quiet considering that the property is a pub. The doors shut quietly too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and its facilities were above my expectations. The staff were very helpful. Unfortunately I had car problems , left my car and keys with them and had a lift the 250 miles home that night so didn't actually use the room or dining facilities ! I would stay there on my next trip to Llanelli.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a waitress working in the morning that was very rude and actually ruined the whole experience. Very bad attitude. Quite shocking really. She should be let go from her job or stay behind closed doors and not deal with the public as it was a super place beside her stinking attitude letting the place down.

    Almost everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were super helpful and friendly. Our room was perfect for a weekend stay especially if watching the rugby at Parc y Scarlets. Excellent cooked breakfast served. Kippers with poached eggs were tasty too. Ate dinner in the restaurant, lovely meal at good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very busy and we could here people talking and music from the bar but it wasn't intolerable

    The hotel was lovely, excellent food and the room was clean and very comfortable. Most of the staff were very welcoming and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How i miss a bar of soap. ( plastic liquid dispensers seems to be in vogue in hotels everywhere! ) Very slow and intermittent Wifi.

    Comfortable bed .Spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (6) was next to the boiler, which made a lot of noise all night. I'd ask for a different room another time. The cooked breakfasts took a long time to arrive (c.30 minutes both days) so it was a good job we weren't in a rush. If you are mainly in Llanelli for the rugby, there are a lot of closer hotels to the ground which you might prefer, but we enjoyed having access to the town too.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious, exactly as advertised. Clearly the staff here care a lot about getting your experience right and the whole hotel / pub / restaurant was clean and well-cared for. Altogether, it felt really professionally run. The car park was right behind the property, free and with plenty of space. Breakfast included a generous choice of hot and cold options. This was our first trip to Llanelli, to see rugby at Parc Y Scarlets, and we were a bit torn about whether to stay close to town or nearer the ground, but another time would definitely come back here - rugby ground was a 35-minute walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food and choice is brilliant but I would prefer a more individual menu rather than a pub chain. Needs a lick of paint in places but is still warm and comfortable.

    Management and staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. There is a full bar servicing all tastes from champagne to real ales. Nothing is too hard they go that extra mile to make your stay even more enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was slow at times.

    The staff was amazing, all super friendly, the check in was easy and so was check out. You have everything you can need in the room, the restaurant offers excellent food with excellent prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the quality of the food was poor.the breakfast kippers were of poor quality and over cooked. tinned mushrooms not good bacon poor quality. booked dinner on both nights sirloin steak had lots of grissle throughout. my wife had a korma currie which was bland and watery. would not stay again.

    the room was well heated. staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area was a little run down,but we were staying to go to the horse racing so it wasn't a problem.Very nice meal in the restaurant if a little slow coming out.

    The room was nice size and loved the fact we had a bath as well as shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner I had the night before wasn't as nice as I had hoped but this may be down to personal taste and perhaps I didn't order the best meal on the menu. The customer service was very friendly and helpful throughout.

    The staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. They provided us with all of the information we needed about out of hours access, breakfast in the morning and organised taxis for us, throughout our trip. The breakfast as freshly cooked, hot on arrival and the waiting staff were also friendly. I would recommend this as a place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its in a great location to get into the town centre, Close to other pubs and restaurants. Room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at the Thomas Arms were helpful - given that booking.com had mixed up my booking and the did not have my details. Instead, they had the details of someone who had booked the room before me, then cancelled. Sort it out booking.com! If it hadn't been for the quick-thinking staff, I'd have been stuck without a room!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as based in a public house who promoted real ales, most ales not available and only some bottles available. They also ran out of buns for burgers on one night.

    clean and comfy rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More places to walk to instead of driving everywhere and the bathroom fan went on to long and bigger tv in room would be nice

    The hotel was lovely our room was nice and big and the staff were very good all round excellent stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was dreadful we had full English with aneamic sausages, undercooked hash brownies, it tasted as if it had all been microwaved and it looked and tasted awful

    Staff were very helpful and friendly and our evening meal was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a very generous size. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was good. Breakfast was delicious with a choice of hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed Sunday night and had a live band playing till about 11.30. The noise in our bedroom was very loud especially the drums.

    Friendly helpful staff. Large comfortable room. Very good value for money at £65 for the night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise from the busy road outside, rooms would benefit from triple glazing.

    Cleanliness and comfort of bedrooms, friendly and helpful staff and breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast the 1st morning seem slow and best discribed as haphazard

    Large bed.lovely bath with lashings of hot water.room decor was of high standard. We asked for use of an iron it was there in 5 minutes. The breakfast was excellent freshly cooked to order

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the room was incredibly hot at night (staying in August). There is no air con and no fan provided in the room. The window only opens a small amount for safety and so it was an uncomfortable night. With the road running along the side of the hotel and right by traffic lights, having the window open only a crack allowed the sound of the cars to travel into the room. It was a balance between putting up with traffic noise or roasting in the room. I shut the window at 5am as the sound of cars built up. I spoke to the manager in the morning who said that I should have asked for a fan, they have them... but really they should be in the rooms already, or a note to say to ask before they close reception at 11pm.

    The room and bathroom were beautifully appointed, spacious and very clean. Was easy to park outside, checking in at the bar easy. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful - highly recommended!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise in bedroom, stuffy when window closed. However, inevitable at junction location. Car park limited space.

    Choice of breakfast - I like Kippers, not as widely available as I would like.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sunday lunch was beautiful and the welsh breakfast was just what was needed after a wedding the night before. The room was very comfortable and spacious and the staff were lovely. We will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was clean and very tidy, staff made you feel very much at home. Breakfast was amazing, full English plus cereals, toast and fresh fruit juice, tea/coffee. Disable access and parking available on site. Landlord and Lady were very helpful and even kept my parking slot clear for me due to my disability when I went out. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was next to a busy main road, consequently we did not get much sleep. It was a warm evening but we were unable to open the window because of the noise from the traffic. This did spoil a fine hotel.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic but adequate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot. Requested a fan but staff said they don't have any even though other customers had also requested fans. Very noisy location as in between two main roads. Noisy 24/7.

    Spacious rooms, lovely bathroom. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a management problem with this hotel. It's a case of making a sow's ear out of a silk purse. This lovely hotel could be so much better without a surly, argumentative manager and undertrained staff. You can't just cancel the contractual full breakfast and tell guests they could have cancelled. That's a basic misunderstanding of the law. A beautiful hotel let down badly by complacency. Brains who own it should put it in special measures.

    Large comfortable room, although rather noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed- this was both uncomfortable and squeaked constantly. Breakfast- despite noting my wife was coeliac the breakfast did not accommodate especially well. The bacon and eggs my wife received were dripping with water pooling on the plate.

    Beautiful hotel, great location. lovely bathroom and on site restaurant that was good, however an 8oz steak at nearly £25 is overpriced

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not trained properly. They shut off the lights of the place at 10:30, no reception after that. They should rename the place, (The Morgue). the room was always too hot as it was on the sunny side of the hotel. No Air conditioning. no fans. The Breakfast was good if you like an English Breakfast every morning. Not much choice after that.

    The evening meals were not bad with a good selection of chips, mushrooms, and tomato with everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking rather tight, but a polite notice asking customers to park sensibly may help. My room had a view of the roof and all the extractor fans. It was a tad noisy at times so no good if you are a light sleeper.

    Plenty of very attentive staff, the food was of a good standard and good value particularly as I chose a night when it was 10% off. Breakfast cooked to order and very well presented. Bedroom spacious enough to work in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm with just a small window for ventilation ,no air conditioning.Main road traffic noisy throughout the night kept us awake.

    Comfortable bed,clean bathroom .Nice breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a little tricky - not many spaces available though we managed to park when we needed to.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Food very good. Room very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you go in summer, with hot temperatures, just don't go. It's too hot even to sleep there, there is not air conditioning. The staff, except one person, was nothing I will remember in future. The town is nothing special either.

    The parking is right behind the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in room.Lack of attention to small details soap dispenser broken towel rail coming away from wall.

    Friendliness of staff,food value.hot water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception is the bar area. Although there is a Reception sign, it is not obvious that reception is at the bar. I would have a different point for the reception, not part of the bar. Breakfast starts at 07:30 hrs. If you are on business, it probably needs to start earlier... say 07:00 hrs. There needs to be more fruit options on offer for breakfast. It wasn't clear how to check out. I just handed my keys back to the waitress at breakfast. Split parking area a bit confusing. Maybe the 2 car parks, (one small, one larger), which are next to each other, could be combined into one.

    Spacious room and comfortable bed were good value for the money. Cooked breakfast to order was plentiful and well cooked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to have cereal for breakfast (not cooked) as the staff took too long to serve me.I was sat waiting for 10 minutes before asked if I wanted a coffee.

    Staff were friendly at check in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is only a small car park and there is no facility to reserve a space. One late night leaver left a scrape on our car, too. Not the fault of the hotel. It was entirely the fault of the driver whose registration number we have

    Comfy bed. Good breakfast. Good size room. A bit noisy with traffic, though.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place however when the cleaner who was mopping the toilets went into the kitchen to serve us for breakfast little worried about hygiene.

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked however, the hotel is on a hill which wasn't an issue for us but may not suit some people

    A very nice hotel. The room was fantastic, very clean and a good size. Great food and reasonably priced so well pleased. I would definitely stay in this hotel again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not use to a double bed would have preferred a queen size

    Room size was good, breakfast was brilliant, when it came time for eating they were huge meals and the staff were all nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would prefer to have had a shower cap left it makes it easier if you want to protect your hair from getting wet. The shampoo and body wash near the sink and shower is great but if you are someone like me who is elderly and has bad eye sight it was hard to determine whether it was a conditioner as well. Maybe a clearer notice would help some elderly customers.

    Room was perfect and the breakfast was good. No complaints.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soap tablet for bathroom wash basin would be much better than the awful liquid 'pump' soap, cost wise it's only 10p per tablet and that would last for most stays. Hoteliers please don't penny pinch.

    I have stayed at the Thomas Arms before as a stop over before travelling on and because of the general high standards there It's become an idea place to stay for anyone on business trips. Once again, the food standards are very good with a fairly comprehensive choice from restaurant/bar menu, you can also choose options on two or three course meals at discount prices. Service and geniality are excellent, hard to find any faults, will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Does not have a late reception desk. Doors locked at 11pm and it is necessary to use a phone by the door to contact the onsite landlady.

    Excellent restaurant and good full Welsh breakfast. Good location for my work at the library.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was tired in rooms. Shut the bar even though we were residents, and only wanted one more drink before bed. Breakfast following morning, had to plead with staff for 6 of us to sit together, due to being set up for mother's day.

    Location, comfy bed, pleasant staff. Good pint!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had bad experience when we arrived at property. We told the hotel of our late arrival. When we got there there was no keys for our rooms left out for us. We had to sleep in our rented car from 2am till 7.15 pm until the cleaning staff arrived and gave us our keys. Communication problem between reception staff and manager. Wasn't acceptable. But we got it sorted. Apart from that hassle it is a fine hotel. Rooms very nice and food was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get what we ask for, not the bed requested and not the meal we had in restaurant. Towels are extremely short, just about covered me. Biggest problem was no hot water and nobody to talk to about this. Will not stay again.

    Big room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception needed better staffing. Decor in bedroom shabby, where bed light fitting changed very obvious no effort made to repair or redecorate that area. Repairs required i.e. lock on bathroom door. Damaged and dirty net curtains at windows. Window ledges dirty with soot/coal dust. Noise from traffic through the night.

    Most of staff friendly and helpful. Wedding reception room impressive. Food very good, evening before wedding, breakfast and wedding . Building lovely and warm. Pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor could have been updated, but this would be the same anywhere. It was very acceptable and very clean and cheerfully presented. Well done managers and chef,

    It was warm and welcoming on a December break. We felt at home. We slept well and the shower and all facilities were good. We enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The hotel has an aura of success with local people and special functions and a delightful welcome for guests. The staff were very well trained and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff - reception not welcoming, although waitress at breakfast was great. Ambience - a pub with rooms, rather than a hotel with a bar. It serves only Brains beer!

    Location - easy walk into town centre. Breakfast, although quite limited if you didn't want the cooked breakfast. Room - very comfortable, and clean. Car Parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with upgrading and the lady behind the bar could have been more friendly

    The bed was comfy and the hotel is close to the town and coastal path.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Live out of town and stayed here for a works Christmas do being held here as I didn't want to drive. Lovely day and night - staff were really good - great value for money and did what it said on the tin! Room was nice - very adequate for what is a period building. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No black pudding or mushrooms for breakfast. The night before we we had the Fridays special stake and wine the waiter took our food order and we asked for wine he said you have to go to the bar for the wine, all the staff just seemed unprofessional. We have been there a few times and never been like this before

    It's near my family

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manager and staff wasn't very friendly. I don't expect a fanfare or rose petals scattered on the bed, but after a long journey and a stunning walk, a friendly face at the end would have made the weekend. Hotel rooms were cold, even with the heating on and the lack of parking is an issue compared to the amount of rooms and the function room. Would i visit the Gower again?? without a doubt.. Would i stay there again? Never !

    The Breakfast was good and the beds were comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a very warm welcome from staff who were more bothered about how i "got such a deal" then began to withhold included breakfast because i didn't pay enough so it would be treated as room only. food was alright, took a while to arrive. breakfast served from 0730hrs so missed out as had to leave early.. oh and the road noise of sirens, cars revving and patrons leaving the attached pub was horrendous

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: