Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Thomas James Hotel

45 - 47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa, CV31 3AG, United Kingdom

Review Score

Based on 880 hotel reviews

5.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.9

  • Comfort

    4.6

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    4.5

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed 😥
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpets ere filthy. The hotel smelt. There were no lights working in the bathroom. The shower leaked. There were no staff available to speak to.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    3.3
    Not very good stayed only cause it was paid for before arrival Should have looked for refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtain was hanging off in my room there were cigarette butts on the balcony outside my window the carpet in the bedroom was filthy as was the carpet on stairs and well worn . The bed was clean and the bathroom was clean

    I didn’t like anything I wouldn’t eat in its . If it was in Ireland it would be closed down I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    2.9
    Bad experience. Would not book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double Room booked and it was so small. Walls dirty and scuffed needed repainting. Curtains hanging off the curtain rail. Bathroom tiles cracked around shower cubical. Generally poor standard all round.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff and very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All I all very old facilities and marks all around, but the important places like wash room and bed linen were clean.

    Friendly staff and very good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    2.9
    3 star hotel...a joke
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to climb over laundry bags in the hall way to get to the stairs. There was no lights on the second floor, we couldn't see where the room was. The mold in the area over the shower was disgraceful. there was an electric earth wire exposed, just sticking out of the wall near the radiator, in the bathroom. The beds creaked and one of them was sunk down in the middle. When we went to check out which was in the bar the water from one of the rooms was flowing down just inside the door from the hotel part and all over the bar and onto the floor. When we went to pay there was no credit card machine.

    The towels and bed linen were clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    3.3
    The worst Hotel experience i have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No room available when we checked-in. Said it was Booking.Com's fault. When pressed i was given a member of the staff's room which was not serviced for the 3 nights i was there. NEVER AGAIN.

    Nothing. The worst hotel i have ever stayed in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    3.3
    I would not stay ever again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well there was no lights in the bathroom, smoke alarm was on the floor, the bed lamp was hanging off the wall, the carpets and seats in the room were disgusting.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    5.4
    Not a place to take the lady of your life. Ok for lone bloke, gigging or stags, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Badly mouldy bshower room ceiling, blocked sink, lights hanging out of their fittings, paint peeling off the wall, poor shower,

    Perfect location, cheap nearby car parking, however it is only a small car park. Nice big sash window

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    4.2
    Shoddy and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Single room. Right above 3 massive outdoor fans that made a racket. Pub was noisy. Toilet flush didn't work properly. Decor very shoddy. Carpet grubby. There's no breakfast so it was expensive for what it was. View was looking out at the industrial fans and a brick wall. The entrance was shoddy and the floorboards were broken. It looked as if someone had peed on the entrance door too. And there was a horrendous drain smell as you entered through the entrance door.

    Towels were clean. Location was near to the Assembly Hall. Shower was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    3.3
    It was near to the venue I attended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bulb in light, dirty shower room,carpets throughout were dirty and the place smelt of feaces and urine, plus I rang ahead 2 days before to see if I could have a twin room, they told me it was not possible, so my female friend booked another room, when I got there, it was a twin room all along, so she wasted money booking another room...!

    It was near to the venue I attended

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    7.1
    Good location,farly cheap but hotel looking tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few little things wrong,light fitting hanging off over the bed,no lights in the bathroom!,fire alarm disconnected,and no TV remote.Very noisy pub below my room,but didn't bother me too much

    The bed was pretty comfy,and the hotel in a good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    3.8
    do not stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole experience of staying in this awful place, room not very clean, curtains needed refitting and difficult to close, bed side light without bulb due to fitting broken and live wires showing, drawer fell apart when trying to open it, door fitting missing on vanity unit but BBQ utensil supplied what for is any ones guess, the toilet flush operated by a cable tie. the room was cramped, entrance and approach to stairs to the room overloaded with linen bags, staff not that helpful, could not stress enough that the hotel was the cheapest in ROYAL leamington spa, conditions of the room was reflected in the price £ 60.00 for the night and we could just go somewhere else, after a 20 mile walk looking for another room was not on the agenda. The ? manager/assistant could not offer a refund without consulting the owner. the full rate was charged

    the hot water in the shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    2.5
    I assume they were going for the war-torn-Karbul decorating motif....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here some years ago and was unimpressed..I should have learnt my lesson but when the other hotel I had booked cancelled I thought I would give it another chance. The carpets are so old I think they may have been from the set of George and Mildred ...but now more George and mildew. The furniture was more stained that Bill Cosby's reputation. Maybe at one time there were bedside tables but someone nicked them leaving holes where they were torn from the wall. Would make a good location if you were making a film set in a 1970's Ghetto.

    Nothing..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    5.0
    Leamington Spa is beautiful, don't ruin your visit by staying at TJs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Filthy. Curtain had fallen down. Vomit all over the front door entrance to the hotel. Uncomfortable beds. Requested double beds, but they had been broken the night before so was given twin beds.

    It was quiet as we were on the top floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    2.9
    Wont be booking again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more like "what wouldn't the health and safety officer like?". There was a bag over the smoke detector in the room. The emergency lighting in the inside the room didn't work. The mould/damp in the bathroom on the ceiling and in the light fittings were atrocious. The carpet was filthy with stains. The wallpaper was hanging off the wall and great patches were missing. The TV, although it worked, had a massive scratch across it and no remote control.

    Locality to the station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    2.5
    Grose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was filthy looked like not cleaned months only bed sheets clean. Carpet was attrocious

    Nothing was dirty noisy and never seen a member of staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    4.2
    Shower and sink were disgusting.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not very clean. Mold above shower, from which water was dripping onto me when using shower. Sink was blocked and would not empty, either from main plug hole or overflow. Awful. Photos attached. No staff present at reception on arrival (6:15pm) or departure (7:45am) to discuss with.

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    3.8
    Not a place to take your wife. If you are a builder/labourer and wanted just to doss down perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room number 7 was very small. The mattress was very old and showed signs of wear and tear. The room was at the top of a series of stairs which were vertiginous and dangerous if high heels were being worn. No obvious stair well lighting switches available.

    The room was clean. Staff friendly on arrival

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    2.5
    Shocking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am waiting for a call back from the manager. My partner was having a panic attack and reception was locked with no staff, the number on the door to call in an emergency went straight tonVoice mail. The rooms were dirty and things missing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    4.2
    An experience i want to forget. Should be classed as a hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i was unable to connect to the wifi, intermittent and horrible connection. First night had a lukewarm shower no hot water available. This got better by the next day, the bed sheets did not get made and the towels were not changed. i was there for 3 nights. Glad i brought my towels . There is no reception desk available if you have issues you talk to the pub staff. No frills budget if that is what you want to go for. Was there for work so i only spent time in the evening to sleep.

    Location is less than 5 mins from the station. close proximity to shops and restaurants and a supermarket. Bed was comfy and bar man was friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    3.8
    June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty carpets, springs in the mattress were very uncomfortable. Desparatlt in need of refurbishment. Stayed 2 nights, cup wasn't cleaned on the 2nd night. Kettle lead was showing the inner insulation. Thin walls could hear everything being said in the next room. No lift and I was on the third floor. Seriously considered not staying the second night. Didn't try the breakfast used the station cafe instead.

    Walking distance to the station. Tall ceilings didn't get any noise from the floor below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    3.8
    Really not even passable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty cushions, scuffed paint, no light bulb near bed, tiny room in attic with long climb on "iffy" carpet. Limited coffee....2 satchets....no spoon....plastic cups. The list could go on!

    Newish mattress with clean linen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    5.4
    1st night in room 15 was ok. 2nd night in room 14 was not though bed good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2nd night shower not clean handbason waste blocked. Towel on floor had brown lumps of human stools. I avoided shaving. Glad to leave.

    Chef's day off. Used nearby restaurant that was handy. Beer was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    2.9
    This ‘Hotel’ is awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This ‘Hotel’ is awful. Dont be tempted by the low prices, pay an extra £15 and go somewhere half decent!! I was charged twice by the hotel and the customer service from the hotel in trying to get it back was terrible. I ended up reporting it to my bank who sorted it out. AVOID THIS ‘HOTEL’ !!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    3.8
    Never again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room toilet did not flush No bulbs in bedside lights Moved to second room Black mold on shower room ceiling Sliding door to shower room not fitted properly opened from inside like up and over garage door Bar staff (filling in for reception) did not care. Walked away when I was in mid sentence. Not made to feel welcome General state of hotel scruffy

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    5.0
    It should not be described as a hotel, more a boarding house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I noticed an itchy lump on my leg but thought it was just a hive, once getting home I noticed more itchy lumps had developed on my arms and legs. Feeling very very stressed that I have been bitten by bed bugs or fleas and may even have brought them back into my home

    It was cheap, but at a cost in the end.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast didn't start til 8 which isn't much good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It looked really rough and dirty from the outside . The rooms and the bar seemed to operate separately . I didn't see one member of staff from the hotel at all . My only contact was the bar man , who was helpful and efficient . The room was OK apart from a broken shower door and it wasn't made up the first night I was there

    Breakfast didn't start til 8 which isn't much good if you need to be on the road early

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    3.3
    This was a very poor hotel, and should only be considered if budget is your only consideration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Returned on night 2 to find someone else in my room. Flush button was broken and replaced with cord to pull. Room in general was dirty and very noisy being next to the railway line

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.5
    Ignore the negative reviews, go try it for yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much'not to Luke's. TJs was a good honest reasonably priced B&B.

    Great value for money and had all facilities expected. Clean, convenient and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    6.3
    It was cheap and the room satisfactory. In spite of the short comings mentioned I would still consid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stairs and approach were not tidy. ( The room it self was tidy) The carpet was badly worn. The towels were not changed in 5 days. The tea packets were not always replenished. I had to find someone in the bar to pay as the reception room was not manned

    The hotel was cheaper than any other I found. The location was convenient but noisy. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    3.3
    Awful - do not even think about giving this dive your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything. No one offered to help us two pensioners up the narrow, badly carpeted stairs or showed us to our room. Every firedoor was wedged open - not exactly a safe feature! The room was tiny but had a double bed squashed into it. The furniture was shabby in the extreme, dirty and repulsive. The carpet was threadbare and very dirty. There was damp bubbling through the walls. The windows were filthy and had not been cleaned for years. The bathroom was unloved. Paintwork throughout neeeds attention. Worst of all was the incredible, intolerable noise from the bar. That went on to past 2 in the morning and the bar staff (the only staff!) were uncaring and would do nothing about it. Only exhaustion would allow a little sleep.

    Nothing. If there is a worse "hotel" in Leamington then it must be the pits of the earth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    2.9
    A big dis appointment disgrace to the hotel business
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was like faulty towers ..dirty dusty mould on walls and in shower room floor rotten falling to bits..4 poster bed nothing like pics no drapes just bare Wood and mattress dipped in middle wanted to leave and complain but no staff about and no cleaning done while we was there 😯😯😯also shower door fell off when u tried to close it

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    4.6
    did the job nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a dump, room minging, ceiling damp stains, toilet flusher had a poo bag attached to flush, not worth £63, i wouldnt pay £30 for that.

    not a lot, cant think of anything, location perhaps

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    3.8
    Convenient Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar underneath our room was still blasting music at 1:30 am on the Friday night. Went down to ask them to turn it off, and the bar staff informed me they had a license to play music till 2:00 am and they intended to use it. Booked into another hotel for the second night of our stay, as wanted to get some sleep.

    Convenient Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    5.4
    Glad it was only for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls were paper thin. No door on bathroom. Shower door unattached. Plug in sink wouldn’t release. Squashed insects on walls. Mattress extremely uncomfortable.

    Bedding was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy because our room was right next to the busy railway line. You could ask for a room facing the other way I guess.

    Everything in the room was just fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    3.8
    not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was above a noisy bar with no parking or stopping areas. The carpet in the room was badly stained as was the chair cover-it gave a bad impression of the room-breakfast wasn't available at 8am, as advised, so we left. Generally it seemed a bit run-down.

    The beds were comfortable with clean linen-the shower/bathroom was clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    2.5
    Would never stay again absolute disgrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we should of had was. Booked my wife and myself ended up in another room with twin beds and room was a disgrace also no one made beds or left milk or coffee or clean cup's

    Nothing very poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.1
    Just what we was looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Perfect Location and standard for a lads weekend! In the middle of Lemington with everything in walking distance! Also it 5 min walk from the train station so there is a good access to Parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    3.8
    Dodgy area - don't stay if you're a lone female
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area around the hotel is really dodgy. Drunks arguing loudly in the street, guys that looked like druggies hanging around near the hotel entrance which made me nervous as a lone female traveller. The lights on the stairs and hallways leading to my room were not working. It was so dark I felt unsafe going to and from my room and needed to use my phone torch to see the keyhole. The TV remote didnt work The bed felt like it was made from egg boxes. The place has more the feel of a homeless hostel than a normal hotel. There is a door connecting the public bar to the hotel which anyone could go through during opening hours which given that I was clearly travelling alone (I had to go to the bar with my suitcase to find a member of staff to check me in) made me feel quite vulnerable.

    The guy who checked me in was friendly and polite. The shower was hot and powerful (although v small - I banged my elbows on the sides of the cubicle when washing my hair) The room was reasonably clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    2.5
    If you're a fan of Fawlty Towers this is the place for you. Absolute shambles!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow. Where do I even begin! It's probably best to bullet point this actually: - My booking 'didn't show up' on arrival. 'Come back in 30 minutes' I was told. I stupidly left my bags in reception after being told it was secure - On returning to the 'hotel' the reception area was locked, and the guy had 'given the keys to the woman in the nail salon' who he now couldn't get in touch with (even though he had assured me the reception was secure) 'Give me half an hour, mate' I was told - Once again I returned to the bar, only to wait about 15 minutes while he dealt with a bunch of drunken idiots, before even acknowledging me - He finally unlocked reception but... still no booking. This meant I couldn't get an invoice/receipt (needed for expenses) - I was assured I would be able to get this from reception the following morning (which was apparently open at 6:30am LOLOLOLOL) - I finally made it to my room to be greeted with PAPER THIN WALLS - All night long the couple in the room next door were slamming doors and going up and down the stairs - AND the bar downstairs was open until 2am (it was a Thursday) so you could hear every note from every song and hear every booming voice from every drunken moron downstairs. Needless to say I had absolutely no sleep at all - Oh, and I almost forgot about the bathroom. The floor was detached from the floorboards so the awful lino was rising up from the floor! I hate using this line... but I've stayed in A LOT of hotels in A LOT of countries around the world. This is hands down the worst place I've ever stayed. Also, don't be fooled by the 2.5 score, that's an automated score. I wouldn't even give it a 1.

    There was absolutely nothing to like about the Thomas James Hotel. I'd rather buy a sleeping bag and sleep in an alleyway. I would certainly have had a better night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    3.8
    Worst hotel in England?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet and chairs were filthy, the bedding was clean but the mattress was lumpy, mould in the bathroom, broken light fixtures, wallpaper peeling off the wall, and the double bed was pushed up against the wall. No parking, no lift, narrow stairs need I say more!

    The only redeeming factor was the helpful and friendly staff. The poor condition of the rooms was not their fault and if we hadn't been desperate we would have walked out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    Next time we'll go to Premier Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wall lights behind bed & bathroom mirror light didn't work - student on duty contacted manager who did nothing about it. (Probably only needed new bulbs and suspect they hadn't been working for ages.) No light on landing! Had to go into pub to check in as same member of staff running bar & reception upstairs!

    Handy location for visiting son at university and walking into town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    2.9
    I was more than disappointed the photos on the website dose not reflect the property.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not suitable carpet dirty chair in the room was filthy and for the money it was a very poor standed. I would have imagined this was a descent hotel in its hay days but it’s in need of a bit of updating. I must say the shower and bathroom looked like there been updated recently? Also there’s no parking you have to go to a pay and display around the back of the hotel .

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    3.3
    The Worst Hotel we have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything the plug in the bathroom sink was broke there was mould on the bathroom ceiling and one of the bedside lamps did not work

    It was close to the shops

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    2.9
    So bad it's hard to believe.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Music playing at full volume from the from the bar below until 2.00 am every night; towels were dirty; constant noise from toilet/ plumbing; terrible condition of carpets and general shabbiness....i could go on.

    Apart from being close to the train station (i'm clutching at straws), there was absolutely nothing to like.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.9
    The room was lovely and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were only provided with one towel and the bathroom floor needs some serious attention due to the shower door not closing properly and creating water damage.

    The room was lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    4.6
    It was the worst hotel i have ever used, in terms of comfort, they have to do better.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fixtures and fittings are quite old, they could use a bit of new décor, it was not worth the money I have had better at that amount.

    I got the room at short notice and the staff member I dealt with was quite courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    3.8
    There was no access to the television apparently the remote...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no access to the television apparently the remote control had been stolen and they hadn't replaced it. Never offered a discount or a complimentary breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    3.8
    Not fit for a muggle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we were given upon arrival makes Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs look like The Ritz. Tiny, dirty and with furniture falling apart, you'd need a pretty strong spell to fix up this disasterpiece.

    The only redeeming feature of this god-awful shanty was the receptionist - who when I refused to pay for the room and subsequently walked out, was more than understanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    6.3
    Didnt stay, and glad we didid'nt have the "experience of doing so'
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all the above and it is not really pleasant to walk straight into a bar as reception with dodgy sorts hanging about, friends of the ""receptionist"

    I could tell you if I was actually let in the Place, despite booking.Rude, surly man did not let us stay as he refused to let us leave our bags and told us to get out,I had seriously hurt my foot on route,and my Mother is 80.Totally left us stranded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    4.0
    It provided a bed for the night - not much else
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too hot. The window opened but the noise from the street and the trains from the station was unbearable. The switch to the light above the mirror was broken and bare wires were exposed. There was no remote to the TV. I had to move the dresser beside the bed to plug in the kettle. I could not empty the sink in the bathroom after shaving in the poor light. There was no staff available in the morning at 7.30 am when I left.

    The shower was powerful and hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.1
    Nice cosy place but no car park so was told to park somewhere, and got £100 fine.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No car park so was told to park somewhere and got a £100 fine. No lift which meant I had to carry food and drink up lots of stairs to the highest floor. This also meant that if I had any questions, I had to go down to ask them because the phone in the room wasn't working either.

    The room was very clean and cosy. Good food and good facilities. Nice staff and the bar is nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    4.2
    Horrendous
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny, wasn’t properly cleaned from previous guests staying there, no hot water from shower, staff were very rude and ignorant when checking me in

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    4.6
    Blackpool
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 The smell as you walked in to the lobby 2 half a curtain in the room 3 noise from next door room 4 mouldy ceilings in the shower room 5 I could keep going for ever

    Shower was nice and hot

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    3.8
    Lost for words on this place, it needs some serius money investing on it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The trouser press fell apart, the shower curtain fell off it's hinges, none of the lights worked apart from the centre light, no remote for the TV, the curtain fell off the rail when I opened it, no light in the hall way to see where you were putting the key, tatty walls, cupboards, table & carpet.

    The toilet roll

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    3.3
    Tired-looking hotel not value for money given services offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No double-glazing so lots of street noise Room not cleaned; bins not emptied; towels not changed; tea/coffee etc not re-filled Bed not that comfortable; duvet too thin and small V noisy from bar below

    Location in town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect, relaxing and able to do whatever took our stride, will look forward to coming back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to go back home!

    The whole experience of the place, the friendly people, the good hospitality towards us when we needed anything. So thank you very much for making our stay perfect:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    6.5
    location and price
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee/kettle in room . Small room which was grubby rather than dirty . Ok for one night though I think I would look elsewhere if I stayed in the area again. Not an easy place to find decent hotel around Leamington/Warwick area.

    location and price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    5.8
    Cheap not Quality but a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets were worn with ground in dirt as was the only chair in the room and the feel of the room was very out dated. The beds were clean and freshly made but one night was about as long as we could stand - they weren't overly comfortable. The worst thing for our twin room No. 2 was that there was a locked door joining it to room No. 1 and when the couple next door came home at 4am we unfortunately had no choice but to listen to every softly spoken and shouted word they uttered about their relationship! I am a deep sleeper but even I couldn't sleep through that. They probably weren't much louder than any other couple in many hotels but the joining door meant we heard every single word.

    The Hotel is in a great location just 5-10 mins walk to the main high street in Leamington. Also, the bathroom was fully functional if a very tight fit for even one person and there was a good size flat screen TV in the room even if we did have to operate it manually as we couldn't find the control. They also did provide a second pillow in the wardrobe.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    6.7
    Central location, friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Broken curtain so we had no coverage of the room, all other rooms were booked but were offered a refund, but we had to stay as no other accommodation available

    Central location, friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    5.8
    I needed a room at short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lumpy rock hard bed, no code for wifi, shower almost falling off wall, and a few other things... but you get what you pay for so I guess I should not be too hard on the place.

    It was cheap and available at short notice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    3.3
    Overall very disappointed, won’t be stopping here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the tv had no remote control, the mattress was so uncomfortable and had springs poking through, only had one pillow each and they were wafer thin, the four poster bed in the picture had drapes over it and all it was was a wooden frame for us

    not a lot, only good thing was the location being in the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, amazing prices and damn nice rooms too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I only stayed one night so anything I haven't rated as brilliant was simply down to not having too much experience / interaction with the item.

    Location is brilliant, especially at the price paid.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2018

    6.7
    Clean & warm; otherwise disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bedside reading lamps, replacement bulbs supplied did not work. Uncomfortable bed Several electric bulbs missing Caster missing off one of the beds

    Clean, well heated, good hot water supply

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was advertised as a four poster suite, in the photo online it looked amazing, when we arrived we asked if there was a mistake but was told they were old photos on the website, asked for a hairdryer (which was advertised to be in the room) was told they had been stolen so there wasn't one available, no lights in the bathroom to be told they couldn't fix as they were fully booked, Hairs in the bed, the room overall was very shabby and tired, was offered a free drink from the bar! Very disappointed overall thought we would spend the extra on four poster suite and paid £70 room only wasn't worth it.

    The only plus to this stay was the location of the hotel to our venue

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    3.8
    positive is it is in a good location near to food places and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Previous reviews were not very good for this property so I didn't have high hopes, however I'd have thought the hotel would have considered previous comments and made changes. However it hasn't, the lights in the hallway up to the room are still broken, so you need to use the torch on your phone to see the doors. I paid for the four poster room, and was given a room which was nothing like the photos, the room was much more basic, not clean, and the bathroom light did not work so I asked to be moved. The staff eventually gave us the keys to a different room, which was also a four poster room and this one looked more like the photos, however despite the bathroom light working no other light in the room worked apart from the main one which was still very dark, so I had to swap all the bulbs out of the other room to the new one. The shower door was broken and hanging off, floor boards very loud/creaky and the room was not very clean, and the mattress is like a rock. The room is ok for 1 night if you need somewhere to stay but do not have high hopes, this was the cheapest room in Leamington which is why we picked it despite the reviews, so for value and somewhere for 1 night it is ok despite the initial issues. The hotel would be fine if the owners read and listened to their reviews as the things that need fixing are basic and straight forward to fix?

    positive is it is in a good location near to food places and pubs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    6.7
    Room was fine, but breakfast not as advertised
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Above a bar so quite loud even on a week night, also advertised that breakfast served from 7am but this did not happen. Was told it will start from 7:30 but I was in a rush so had to leave before then.

    Close to station and town centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    2.5
    Dreadful, worst experience and should not be on this website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Already emailed photos and complaints: no light bulb, asked for one, told hasn't any. No TVs remote, asked, told it was a touch screen tv, it wasn't. Damaged light fittings, radiator, mildew and damp in bathroom, filthy chair, foul stained carpets, smelly. Would not want a dog to stay here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dark, dank and not very clean. I booked a single room but what I got was ridiculously small especially for the price. The bed was barely standing the walls were filthy. Won’t be staying there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.5
    Good budget accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good budget accommodation. Rooms are clean, have an ensuite bathroom, have a desk, TV and tea/coffee making. The shower is great, really powerful. Worth the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    4.6
    It was cheap, but still not cheap enough to make up for the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was not clean, the light in the toilet was broken, the toilet did not flush properly and started to overflow all over the flow

    It was cheap, but still not cheap enough to make up for the quality of the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    Good Value, basic, clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room fine, however curtains did not fully cover the window and the rings on the curtain broken. Room was next to main road but noise OK.

    Location great, bar down stairs good. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    3.8
    Awful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was freezing and the heater didn't work. When it was mentioned to the man at the reception,he tried to fix the problem,but couldn't. Apparently, he couldn't move me to any other room because they were full.He said he'll phone his supervisor and come back to me,but didn't. They could've provided me with a portable heater,in the least. An uncomfortable bed ,torn and peeling wall paper,worn decor,dirty carpets and walls,scratched-up television and noise from the pub below would deter me from ever going back there again!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    2.5
    Wank
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything,room was dirty,one curtain that only covered half the window,tv didn't work,no phone,rotten window,no bulb in the light for the bedside.we rented 2 rooms,the other room didn't have a toilet door. Another friend rented a room and it was dirty carpets and furniture

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: