Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thornbank Guest House 4 stars

Thornbarrow Rd, Windermere, LA23 2EW, United Kingdom

#29 of 75 B&Bs and Inns in Windermere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host was very warm welcoming and always there for our questions. The breakfast was really big and tasty! Free parking and 10 mins walk to the pier and main street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am 6 ft tall so the comfortable king sized bed was a real bonus with lots of floor space around, and a spotless bathroom, not something always found! Mark & Jane are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is located 5 miles away from the Guesthouse. Even though you can use it for free of charge for 2 people. It is really nice of them.

    The hospitality is remarkable. I have never ever have thst experience like here.such a nice warm welcoming toward to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that stood out location and room was spot on .

    Jane and Alan were great hosts offering advice on how to get around ,the breakfast was excellent very clean and hot , we had a small double room which was ideal as we were out most of the time , overall would return again .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bed was a little hard but we understand this wouldn't be an issue for everyone

    The guesthouse was very clean and the staff were excellent. Location was perfect for us too. Room was a good size, bathroom and shower were also a good size and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was almost unusable, it went from freezing cold to scolding hot with nothing much in between. It kept switching to ‘over heat’ so possibly faulty? No where to sit and dry your hair or put makeup on. Room was hot as only one small window to open and it caught quite a lot of the sun.

    Nice sized room, good location with plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent. Mark and Jane extremely pleasant, well mannered couple who obviously take a justified pride in ensuring their B & B is of the highest standard possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great nothing to dislike

    Jane and Mark were excellent hosts nothing too much trouble. This was are second stay and will definitely be back next year or before if we can find time. Thanks for a great stay xxx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear every one walking past our room and tv in other rooms. But to be expected in a B and B. I would stay again

    Nice staff. Decoration in room nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to contact the owner with an arrival time, this seems very unusual in this day and age. No reception area had to ring bell for attention. Walls thin could be noisy throughout the day and early evening (TVs hairdryers etc.) although quiet during the night.

    Location good. Room spotlessly clean. Good breakfast. Host informative regarding local walks and attractions

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hosts very helpful and informative. Room abd bathroom super clean! Given fresh milk with tea making facilities and paid £5 for a breakfast which was lovely. Enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t bad, but not great.

    Great location, the room was extremely clean and very well kept. The owners where very friendly and helpful too. We were for a short weekend break and couldn’t really have asked for more.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and clean! Loved the decoration. Given keys to the room and make to feel comfortable straight away. 10 minute walk to Bowness and Windermere, location is right in the middle of both. After cleaning room host noticed we had a bottle of wine and left two wine glasses for us to enjoy a drink, which Is very thoughtful. Loved all the little touches, would definitely go again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy from rooms above and room next to road.

    The beds were very comfortable and owners very friendly and helpful. Really helpful folder of local establishments and walks in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our breakfasts were all cooked perfectly plus the information supplied regarding the local pubs/restaurants and the scenic walking and driving routes was most appreciated. Good friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed in room was a wee bit to soft. Shower hose was not working. However when reported this was immediately replaced. Could not fault the owners and would recommend to others to stay.

    Excellent service and cleanliness throughout. Nice decor. The owners were extremely helpful and their walking guides and recommendations useful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very homely, neat and tidy. Hosts clearly love what they do. Would definitely stay again if in the area/ recommend to friends. Thank you Jane and Mark!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thornbank is very well managed by Jane and Mark, we are so pleased and satified with our experience and will for sure wanting stay at the same place on our next visit to Windermere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price and the fact that I was unable to cancel, even on the same day, without losing the total 1 day room cost.

    Clean room and bathroom, friendly owner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE WATER SYSTEM I.E. EVERY TIME ANOTHER ROOM USED THEIR TAPS OR SHOWER IT MADE A VERY LOUD NOISE THAT WOKE YOU UP

    I LIKED THE FACT THAT WE ASKED FOR OUR BREAKFAST WELL DONE ON THE SECOND DAY AND IT WAS PERFECT

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the toilet door creaked every time you open or closed it

    nice and homely breakfast cooked to order nothing too much trouble. Hosts very friendly and approachable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a smell of the breakfast cooking from within the bathroom from about 7am onwards. Although not too unpleasant, it made you hungry as wasn't served until 8:30am!

    Great location for walking distance to both Windermere and Bowness. The guest house although situated next to a road, there was very little road noise from it. The owners were very good and polite. The breakfast was very good any plenty to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners couldn't have done more! Bedrooms and bathrooms spotless and a real friendly approach to telling us about the local area and what there was to do and see!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing they got it right Perhaps. Breakfast could have been a little spaced out It was 8 :30 to 9 I think an extra half hour could from 8 to9or 8:30 :9:30 but that is the only thing ::: it was ok for us but som e people on holiday don't like to rush

    Everything about the room ,food ,staff ,was brilliant:there is nothing Not to like about this guest house central to bowness and windamere, good bus deserves, taxes were good rates with helpful an polite drivers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little cramped for 3 adults.

    Mark&Jane were very welcoming&friendly. They were very accommodating when it came to our specific breakfast needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spotless, bright and comfortable. Nice little extras, plenty of tea and coffee and little home made treats on the 2nd day. Owners really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the weather

    from arriving to leaving everything was just perfect, my treasured car was safely parked privately, our reception was very frendly, the food was really tasty, what more can you say. just great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all amenities needed for a short trip is there. You cannot ask for more. Quiet nights was also needed to have good rest for a brand new day and yes, it was a quiet property. Instructions from the property owner is direct, booklet for few instructions regarding the property's do's and dont's is in the room,free map and few restaurants that they can recommend was also given. Will definitely come back to this guest house.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, while cheap, wasn't great. We ate breakfast out most of the time.

    Comfortable room, well situated hotel with good road links and easy walks into both Windermere and Bowness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Position was good, close to both Windermere & Bowness. Breakfast was great & hosts very attentive to our needs. Plenty of shops & restaurants within short walking distance. Would highly recommend. Chinese restaurant & Social Club very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Very clean with comfortable beds and rooms. Excellent breakfast cooked to order along with a selection of cereals and toast. Well positioned property between Windermere and Bowness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fried tomatoes and hash browns on my breakfast. Please note that this is my personal preference and I am struggling to find anything derogatory about anything regarding my stay.

    The food was freshly made and was excellent. I am personally a fussy eater and rarely eat the meals provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Met on arrival. Hosts very knowledgeable and helpful about the local area. Breakfast was stunning! They allowed us to leave our car on site after checking out on our last day which we really a appreciated. Great location - 10 mins walk to Bowness and 10 mins walk to Windermere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time was very early between 8.30 and 9am as we like a lie in. Although it was worth getting up to

    Nice welcome and very friendly. Made us feel comfortable during our stay. Great location with only a ten minute walk to the lake. Would definitely stay again. We are going to book a table at nearby restaurants for evening meal as they can get really busy on a weekend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing. Only one window in our room which did not open very much. It was a warmish night so room was a bit stuffy.

    Jane and Mark were wonderful hosts. Location and overall presentation was great. Breakfast was first class

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Everything was perfect. The hosts could not do enough for us . Bedroom and ensuite very clean and comfortable. Full English breakfast was delicious. Very happy all round

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed a bit more info on how to turn on the heat in our room and to get the towel rack glowing. Minor...

    I was glad we were out of the busyness of Windemere but within a 10 minute walk to Bowness for there were some really lovely shops and restaurants there, plus the 50 p boat ferry for cars to get across the lake and be picked up by buses owned by Mt. Goat to get us to Hill Top. It was a quiet area and Mike (hopefully I remembered his name/owner correctly) had all sorts of info on trails in the area. We were grateful for the heated towel drying rack so we could easily dry our small quantity of laundry. There were choices for breakfast and the usual tea equipment in the room. The owners even made special snacks to go along with our tea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place to stay - clean, nice, comfortable. Perfect location - just between Windermere and Bowness, only 10 minutes nice, relaxed walks to both. Soooo welcoming hosts - lots of information about walks, places to eat, rest, go.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Owners very helpful, and knowledgeable about local area, and wider district. Good information, enabling us to make decisions about where to go and what to see. Went the extra mile to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could probably of had a better shower !

    It's in a nice , quiet location 10 minutes walk into bowness . We had a bright and clean room with a very comfortable bed , we had a great nights sleep . We had a lovely breakfast with a good variety of choice and made with quality produce . we'll be going back .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    After check in I found the kettle had some water with some spots on the lid.

    The bed is extra comfort, especially after a fun walk trip quality sleep is indeed important. Very friendly staff, nice beginning, they provide almost all you need information for staying,very thoughtful and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jane and Mark were very friendly and went the extra mile to make you feel at home. The breakfast was second to none and kept us going all day till an evening meal. Would certainly recommend staying here and will return ourselves in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife and I decided to treat ourselves on our first anniversary at the lake of Windermere. We stayed in Thornbank Guest house on the 4th and 5th of May 2017. It is a very quite and comfortable hotel. Jane and Mark were very friendly. Actually, staying in Thornbank Guest house makes you feel a part of a family. The room was very clean and the breakfast was a superb. Defiantly, we will choose this hotel every time we visit Windermere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent, can not wait to return, nothing to complain about, Mark and Jane made us feel very welcome and were really informative about where to visit, what to see and all the good places to eat. Breakfast was the BEST!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only nitpicking points, really - maybe a slightly more powerful shower, and a bedside radio/dock might be a nice alternative to a TV.

    Welcoming hosts with lots of good advice about where to eat, what to see, walking options, etc. Clean, comfortable room with tea and coffee (and a wider range of teas available from the dining room). Great breakfast options; we also took advantage of the packed lunch option, which saw us comfortably through a full day of walking and cruising. Quiet side street but great location for an easy walk into Bowness or Windermere. Good effort on the eco-friendly front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thornbank is a lovely little B&B between Windermere and Bowness. The owners, Jane and Mark were super friendly and helpful. We were there for a break from the city, primarily to hike and commune with nature. Mission achieved! We had a great stay. The nice little personal touches, from walking guidebooks to baked afternoon treats, courtesy of Jane and Mark, made our stay extra special.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report here

    Jane and Mike did everything to make us feel comfortable and enjoy our stay Location is excellent within walking distance to all places we wished to visit Mike gave us useful information about activities and places to go

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was excellent, just a pity some other guests thought it was acceptable to blow their noses during breakfast!!

    Lovely breakfast with a weight watchers option

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything was very good.

    Friendly welcome on arrival. Excellent breakfasts. Sense that Jane & Mark wanted their B&B to be the best, showing care and a good sense of humour.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No bad comments.

    Cleanliness of room, dining room. Comfortable beds and pillows, luxury bedding and bathroom towels. Tea tray well stocked- nice touch of home baking from hosts Jane & Mark "for afternoon tea". Breakfast choices good and best fried egg ever. Saying that all food at breakfast was fresh and tasty. Would not hesitate in staying here again as 10 min walk to Bowness and Windermere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Location 10 mins walk to Bowness or Windermere. Very Welcoming Spotlessly Clean.. Great Breakfast will definitely stop again... Thanks Brendan & Angela Jones 😆

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ground Floor Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't find a single fault with this B&B, great breakfast, everything you could want available, charming hosts. Mark even helped with a car problem. Perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Friendliness of staff and the cost of the guest house was also a big plus. The location helped that it was sort of in the middle of Windermere too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm welcome by Jane. Room was lovely and clean. Perfect location. 10 mins walk to either Windermere or bowness. Great breakfast too. Definitely would recommend this lovely guest house and would love to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a bath after a long days walk appart from that couldn't fault it .

    Good hospitality and a great breakfast s in the morning and a smiley face to greet you .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is so convenient between Bowness and Windermere...room is so clean and the host is so friendly...especially the English breakfast, so traditional...next time I will come again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly and welcoming owners, very clean and comfortable room and well presented throughout. A great selection for breakfast and all perfectly cooked. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Jane and Mark were a welcome relief as they rescued us from a frightful experience at another location. We arrived within an hour of booking to a beautifully furnished room. It was lovely and warm, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful with home made marmalade a speciality . Clean friendly and sumptuous . All in all a wonderful experience at Thornbank.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The refurbished bathroom had awkward ceiling structure but this was mentioned on the information.

    Warm welcome - decent sized room with comfy beds. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Good choice of breakfast with efficient service. Very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit too far from the station if you walk. The Bath room ceiling is too low at the third floor as it is in the attic. The hot water supply at the shower room is not good enough. And the water temperature is not reliable. Better to replace the water heater.

    Wonderful and friendly hospitality. Tasty breakfast. Reasonable price. Attentive, quick and responsive to my requests to reserve a bus tour and taxi cab.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thornbank Guest House is centrally located in walking distance between Windermere and Bowness. It is a non-smoking environment with comfortable beds and an en-suite bathroom. The owners were very helpful once they know what you want to do during your stay. They have specially prepared Guide Books to make your visit to the lake District most enjoyable, Breakfast are specially prepared as each guest get to choose what they want the evening before. Parking is adequate but limited (see photos) but parking is available on the street in front.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate but a little limited and only between 08.30 and 9.15 I understand this may be necessary but not something in Australia we are accustom to.

    Great location Friendly couple

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (3 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Owners Jane and Mark were so friendly and looked after us so well. Breakfast was fantastic with homemade marmalade! Little cakes left in the room with tea, coffee and even juice sachets! So clean and quiet - perfect central location.Parking is so easy - either in Thornbank car park or on the road right outside at the front.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room could really use more of a vacuum cleaning. It would be better if there is a common sitting room where guests can sit to relax & unwind.

    Mid location between Windermere & Bowness. Comfy bed & excellent shower. Jane gives a good review of the area upon check in and helpful with questions & suggestions. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, if other patrons were too hot at night we suggest they open the windows, which were fully functional!!

    Excellent choice of breakfast and very well prepared. Owners very accomadating. Room very comfortable with everything you need provided.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, we booked a small double room and it did get a bit hot and stuffy.

    The proprietors were very welcoming. No road noise at all. Tea and coffee making facilities and TV available in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A living room would have been nice for guests to mingle but we understand they had one for years and it was seldom used.

    Owners Jane and Mark were wonderful and made our stay fun. Room well equipped and comfortable. Good bed! Lovely bathroom. Sumptuous breakfasts. The guest house is equidistant from Bowness and Windermere and both are quite walkable. We loved doing the local hikes (especially Orrest Head) and doing a boat ride up to Ambleside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation is in a great location, foot-walking distance from Windermere and Bowness. The hosts are extremely nice and helpful and on arrival they give you a list of restaurants in the area to try out, as well as a map and plenty of information. The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like breakfast times possibly a little later perhaps until 9.30 am

    Room was a good size for the 3 of us, very clean and modern, jane and Mark both friendly and helpful(plenty of information about the area in the room and jane gave us advise on trips on the lake) breakfast good and plenty of choice,extra treats left in room on both mornings.Good situation inbetween windermere and bowness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to the stay was the mattress was just a little too much on the firm side but that is personal preference.

    The owners were very friendly and pleasant. Room was good with a decent toilet and shower area. The Breakfast offering was very good with a freshly prepared home cooked English breakfast and various cereals on offer.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were on the ground floor we didn't like the fact that the window was obscured glass. Felt very clostraphobic, had to stay out at night till it was dark because felt very hemmed in. Would have been better with blinds that we could have had the option of opening, previous reviews said there was a little something for when we arrived, we didn't get anything. Bedroom very small and nowhere to sit really, there was a chaise longue in the bedroom but it was too low to sit on. Car park very tight to get in and out

    bed comfy, bedroom clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was like a home from home jane & mark made you feel very welcome like part of their family, extra special touches in your room & tips on local walks that were invaluable. Marks breakfasts were superb.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't find a fault. Met with all our expectations of hospitality,location, amenities and also a little extra afternoon treat made by Jane to have with a cuppa very tasty.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay and relax, I was amazed at the things to do book wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King-Size Double Room with Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautifully cooked breakfast. Immaculately clean. Fab attention to detail. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: