Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Case Restaurant With Rooms 4 stars

Further Street, Assington, CO105LD, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Assington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 205 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay with delicious food and friendly owners. Thanks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine but the onion farm next door was harvesting when we were there so the snell was overwhelming. But this is nothing to do with the hotel.

    Great rooms. Lovely breakfast. Accommodating staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Lovely Stay With Brilliant Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is such a lovely place to stay. The room was large, comfortable, very clean and quiet, with a beautiful terrace overlooking the countryside. And the staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful too. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner/ manager was very welcoming and really put herself out to ensure that our stay went well. The cooking of breakfast and dinner was very good and stylish as well as tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not fault this place

    Fabulous staff, lovely comfortable and clean rooms .... excellent food ! Have stayed here before and will stay again .... one of our favourite places to stay and Linda is a superb host nothing is too much trouble for her .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great from start to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can say nothing to this

    Breakfasts locally sourced cooked to perfection and served with family like friendliness, Evening meals were again locally sourced prepared and cooked to perfection, then served with friendly family like perfection. Plus they had one of my favourite beers on tap. The room was well prepared very clean with good mattress's and pillows of a good size with all the usual amenities' bath room was clean and had a spar bath. The room was quiet no road noise heard and there was plenty of parking. We were even able to get a packed meal on the day we left. The hosts are beyond praise nothing was too much for them

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    I did`nt make breakfast but when I did surface I had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did`nt make breakfast but when I did surface I had delicious croissants & coffee which was really appreciated. Would thoroughly recommend this friendly flexible establishment. Top service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and took pains to make sure we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Staff were friendly and took pains to make sure we had everything we needed. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Tea, coffee and snacks in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Weekend break in lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Comfortable accommodation, plenty of parking and lovely breakfast .Enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on homemade toasted bread for breakfast .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliest most attentive hosts we have ever met. Excellent breakfast & dinner. Good wine list. The small shop was a joy & I had a small hamper made up for a birthday gift instead of hunting around for a local shop with something suitable for a 95 yr old.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay with fabulous hosts and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were so welcoming and friendly. The room was really clean and had a really well stocked tea and coffee area and snacks available. The bed was really comfy. Our evening meal and breakfast was amazing, fantastic taste and great portions. We really had the most relaxing stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    French press with proper coffee and milk in the room was a bonus - as was iron & ironing board in the cupboard. Staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely outside area. Great location. Great breakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely spot with great food and staff. Would love to come back and explore around here a bit more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little soft and the room was very warm (but we are in the middle of a fantastic heatwave!)

    Lovely setting, great breakfast, super friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Couldn’t recommend it more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a friendly and welcoming place to stay. The staff are extremely attentive and there to make the stay as comfortable as they can make it. We really liked the little touches, like fresh milk in the rooms and homemade biscuits by the chef. A very comfortable bed and great views over the fields at the back with a nice seating area to enjoy the view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hosts, facilities and location. Would have no hesitation in visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were impressed with the whole set up but would hav e preferred a shower to a bath.

    The room size, chairs and sitting out area were excellent, and we were made very welcome.nw

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Delightful in every way.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet, clean, very comfortable rooms. Staff are super friendly. Family run. Polite, welcoming and helpful. Restaurant outstanding and breakfast super. A lovely stay. I will go back any time I'm in this area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely location, friendly and welcoming, with attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower.

    We arrived a little earlier than expected, so our room was not immediately available, however we were greeted warmly, by Linda our host, and we felt at home immediately. We sat in the delightful sunny courtyard and enjoyed a glass of an excellent wine (recommended by Linda). We were soon chatting away like old friends. The evening meal was excellent, as was the breakfast next morning. We could only get to stay for one night but will definitely return!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable three days. Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too soft for us, but we still slept well.

    We had a premium room with a private terrace looking out across the lawn and the fields beyond and were lucky enough to see hares chasing each other across the lawn! Barry’s breakfasts and dinners were excellent, and Linda was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Truly the perfect place for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything, from the charming reception to the delicious meals and restful atmosphere. Nothing was too much for any of the staff. It was like being at home! Absolutely wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    We found an unexpected gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to dislike.

    Hosts were so friendly. Food fantastic, and made exactly to our wishes, even at an odd time of day. Rooms immaculate, and every thing we needed was there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    eNCHANTED
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ITS PERFECT

    Everything was perfect one of the best places I have ever stayed in. A truly enchanting place. My daughter summed it up perfectly saying it was the kind of place you would expect fairies to live.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay in many hotels due to my job but value for money wise, I could fault nothing - Staff,room,cleanliness,comfort, location - all 10/10. Look forward to my next visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay - could not be faulted in any way. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were amazing, and extremely helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent, both lunch and breakfast, and the room was clean and comfortable. I would without hesitation stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Perfect experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and friendly. Food is excellent with a very nice menu. Rooms are exceptionally clean and well furnished. Will be staying here in the very near future - if we can get a room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Would highly recommend the venue and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom off the bedroom just beginning to get a little tired

    Friendly greeting upon arrival. Great service - very friendly and attentive hosts Excellent food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Reached 110% expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothin we did not like

    The place is a hidden gem , from the warm welcome to Lynda and Barry’s attention to every detail . Barry the co owner and chef even cooked off menu because my partner wanted shell fish which was excellent. Very relaxing with plenty of attractions close by

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Luxury, adorable haven with incredible food, and wonderful warm staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t stay longer!

    This place is fantastic! The staff were so wonderful and accommodating, the rooms at the back of the restaurant were not only clean, warm and comfortable, but beautifully furnished and decorated, a small little place of luxury and wonderful service. Wonderful warm and friendly greeting in the morning, and the breakfast included was fantastic! if I ever come back to near Ipswich again, this would be the first place to stay. The photos don’t do it justice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Exceeded all expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this "restaurant with rooms" at the very last moment. I am so glad we did. Our bed-room was small, but well-appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Excellent water-pressure in the shower! We had an delicious dinner and breakfast and were looked after with courtesy and charm by Barry and Linda with their team. A family-run gem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    A very welcome break offered by true hospitality professionals with the personal touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slight problem with the jacuzzi which we won’t bother with in future anyway but other than that, everything was great.

    Lovely friendly atmosphere and truly amazing food, all homemade by Barry including delicious bread - huge portions and really laid back attitude. Very warm and welcoming with Linda taking care of one’s every need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels in the room had make up marks on them and were damp so we weren’t completely confident they were clean! But the bathroom was very cold and condensation was an issue so I think (hope!) they just hadn’t dried completely after being washed.

    Very friendly welcome, hospitable owners. Breakfast was very tasty and rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    An excellent break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an excellent stay We could not fault the food, both dinner and breakfast were delicious. Accommodation was very clean and well equipped We were made to feel very welcome Would thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    5 Stars x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All 5*

    Linda & Barry are the best host and hostess . First class accommodation and the service and food is first class. We have never stayed in a B&B but will definitely return to L&B far another stay 10 out of 10 x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, easy place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that I didn't have time to get some breakfast at the property because time didn't allow!!

    The excellent service. Lovely lady that ran the place and checked me in couldn't do enough to make me welcome. Would recommend staying here if you are visiting locally. Next time I'd like to try the cafe and restaurant, I didn't have time on this occasion - there were gorgeous smells coming from the kitchen when I had a drink at the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A very friendly, family run hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    The room, which included a Jacuzzi bath, was really lovely. Comfortable bed,warm cosy decor and spotlessly clean. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would struggle to find anything that we didn't like.

    Excellent dinner. Breakfast was one of the best ever. Freshly squeezed orange juice. Excellent coffee. Two poached duck eggs, chorizo and melted emental cheese over toast from bread made that morning. Owners and stall were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Felt very relaxed after our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very friendly greeting on arrival and well looked after throughout our stay. Lovely views from our room bed very comfortable great night sleep. Food excellent. Will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay. Staff , accommodation and breakfast all excellent. Would definately stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like during our stay.

    Very nice room with lots of teas, coffee (including ground), hot choc and fresh milk. There were complimentary toiletries and nice white towels. The shower was excellent, The room has plenty of storage if required, good long mirror and hair dryer. We found the bed to be very comfortable and the room warm. We both had a full breakfast, my partner went for the Case breakfast which was very big but he ate all of it and said it was very good. The staff were very friendly and attentive, topping up tea and coffee regularly. Beyond the restaurant there is the conservatory which houses a coffee and cake area which looked very inviting we were just going for a coffee. Overall very nice stay. We stayed as we were going to a wedding so did not get chance to explore surrounding area but close to Sudbury and Colchester.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Very friendly Proprieters, great restaurant and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived very late after an epic journey from Devon (9.5hrs) and were welcomed as if it was the middle of the afternoon. Very friendly reception for 4 weary travellers. We were shown to our rooms and left to get some sleep!! Very good breakfast, very good service with very friendly staff. An enjoyable stay was had by all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay with good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were comfortable and well appointed but a bit tight for space.

    Close to restaurant and cafe. Parking just outside. Quiet location. Very friendly hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Very lovely a most enjoyable time Linda and Barry are great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We felt very well looked after and the food was lovely. I'm gluten and wheat intolerant and was very well catered for including gluten free bread.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great value, very comfortable and clean. Super food. Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The room was clean, comfortable and there was everything one wanted including proper coffee and fresh milk and fast Wi-Fi. In the en-suite there was a good sized bath complete with a powerful shower and plenty of hot water. The restaurant at the premises provided marvellous tasty meals at sensible prices. The breakfast was great also. The owners couldn't do enough for you. They made our stay extremely enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    A most relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fresh milk in the room. Friendliness of all staff, easy-going and accommodating to particular needs and requests. All food was excellent. Local produce for sale.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    could do with a more catchy name, but well worth a visit!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice quiet room. Comfy bed and good sized bathroom Excellent breakfasts, full English and deli breakfasts as well as lighter bites. Very friendly staff. Left my electric toothbrush there but they kindly posted it on to me. Tried the evening meals and wasn't disappointed. Excellent lamb dish. Would definitely go there again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic food, fantastic rooms, fantastic price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't fault any of it.

    The rooms were superbly appointed, with a proper hairdryer, full sized ironing board and iron, a very reasonably priced snack basket, great selection of hot drinks, including proper coffee for a cafetiere, full sized kettle, comfortable bedding and fluffy towels. Toiletries were also provided in the bathroom, which had a fast-filling bath with plenty of hot water. The lady owner was very attentive and the food was excellent. Breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was excellent too, with freshly squeezed orange juice and a wide choice of meals. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toasted ciabatta and it was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    To a degree a home from home! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly - nothing! It was to us, that good.

    Everything was simply excellent from the warm welcome with genuine smiles and politeness , the accommodation very clean and with little extras they provide and one very important thing - the places ambiance and quality! We want to go back there and base ourselves there for a longer stay. Highly recommended! Admittedly we did have excellent weather on our stay which of course makes for a happier spirit and the area is just so pretty and interesting. We live near Norwich and frequent the North Norfolk coast a great deal, which we think takes some beating!? Loved our stay in the Assington/ Sudbury area!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellant place to stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the weather could have been warmer.

    the staff were very efficient and friendly. The breakfast was out of this world as was the evening meals. the chef is worth his weight in gold.the waiters very quick and happy in their work. The rooms were excellant,clean and bright. Overall this is an excellant place to stay, we will certainly go there again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    FABULOUS 😬
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The couple who owns this establishment, have this place perfect. Granted on chatting to the proprietor they have worked hard and credit where credit is due. They are so friendly but have the great balance of not bothering you. They have a great menu selection and allthough the it is small, their is everything on offer, fish, meat, vegetarian etc and even though i never asked for anything special, I am certain that anything could have been prepared if asked. The young lady who was also serving was super polite, helpful and friendly, she also made you feel like part of the furniture. Breakfast was fab, local produce, grilled and cooked to perfection, no fatty bacon or cheap sausages, just lovely. I swapped my hens egg for a duck egg and it was cooked perfectly. This would definitely be my first choice if staying in Essex, they have a lovely chill out area where food is served also as they are open all day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Second visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very near anything but that was perfect. We checked in, unpacked and sat outside enjoying the sunshine until dinner. Food was faultless, service brilliant. Breakfast in the morning was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Great......coming back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the peaceful ambiance of the entire property......a great place to relax. The hostess/owner, Linda,is a diamond and she leads by example. Nothing is to much trouble for her and she makes her guests feel very welcome. The restaurant and food was excellent. The accommodation is cabin like at the rear of the property. It was clean ,with well laundered white towels and free toiletries. Overall a great stay. Had we not booked elsewhere for our second night,we would have had a second night here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Third time even luckier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main road is lethal - walking along it for 400 yards is truly frightening. It's not the Case's fault - I know they've petitioned for a speed limit for years. But it would be pleasant to be able to go for a walk locally without risking death.

    Third visit to this unique place. Linda is the understated exemplar for anyone running a business of this kind. And Barry's cooking is outstanding - down to the small details. Perfectly boiled eggs - the freshest ever - each morning. Freshly-squeezed orange juice. His chips!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    A gem on the edge of Constable country
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent service. Great food. Amazing value. Have stayed before and will stay again when in the area. This place is a real gem whether your stay is for business or pleasure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    By far the best accommodation we have enjoyed near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    By far the best accommodation we have enjoyed near to Sudbury and will certainly be returning on our next visit. Linda and her team could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and meals so tasty.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, friendly, delicious food and relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the carpets in the bedroom -just need to be updated perhaps - but the room, bathroom, bed and our own patio made our stay very comfortable indeed.

    The owners immediately made us feel very welcome. Friendly and smiley and could not do enough - we relaxed straight away. Bonus was Jacuzzi bath tub! The owner Barry is also an excellent chef and his wife Linda a lovely hostess with Lucy the young waitress so helpful and attentive. The evening meal was absolutely delightful in their little restaurant..so cosy. Breakfast was also great and set us up for the day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay with hospitable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound insulation could be improved in the bedroom. Noise from a neighbouring room was audible if not excessive.

    The bedroom was well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Dining was a relaxed enjoyable process, the staff were very pleasant and the food was plentiful and excellent for both dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only minor thing really, and that is lack of signage to The Case - which you come across on the road quite abruptly. Maybe consider a sign a bit before you reach the premises.

    Very friendly hosts, nice quite rooms and superb food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couple who run this hotel are 2 of the nicest people we have ever stayed with. The room was very nice, clean and comfy and the food was great ,we had dinner and breakfast both were very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    8.8
    Generous evening meal brought down by the breakfast the next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing, everything had to be ordered and felt like you were being restricted, complete opposite to the meal the evening before.

    Excellent evening with a host who was friendly without being obtrusive. Meal was beautifully prepared and wine selection very drinkable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Comfy stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More ventilation in the bathroom would be helpful, the extractor fan didn't do much to remove the steam and everything was foggy for ages. Absolutely no sign of any mould though, so damp is not a problem!

    The bed was great, nice and comfy, staff very friendly! Modern looking rooms, and the homemade biscuits and honesty basket of chocolate and sweets in the room were a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    We spent three nights at The Case and were delighted with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We spent three nights at The Case and were delighted with our choice. Situated four miles outside of Sudbury, it is a very convenient location to visit the many places of interest in the area. There is a large car park and we were able to park right outside our room. Our room was large with a "work station", plenty of plug sockets and a very good Wifi connection.Double doors led to a patio area with a table and chairs. There was everything in the room you could possibly want, including an ironing board and iron, an umbrella plus a large selection of refreshments with fresh milk and bottled water being replaced daily. We chose to eat in the restaurant on all three nights of our stay. The menu is very varied with choices such as sea bream on roasted vegetables to toad in the hole. Our meals were superb and taken in front of a roaring wood burner. Breakfasts were also outstanding. Barry, the joint owner/chef bakes all his own bread which is delicious. The restaurant has a very large conservatory which is used as a deli, selling a huge range of home produced chutneys, cakes as well as a selection of Italian pasta. From the moment we arrived we felt at home and were treated as friends and were very sad to leave this wonderful establishment. Thank you to Barry and Linda for making our stay so special.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful accommodation and fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative to say.

    The accommodation was warm and spacious. It was nice being able to just take a little walk through the garden to the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Always a pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a pleasure to stay here. And the staff look after me so well. The food in particular is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Very comfortable en-suite rooms & excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Speed of service, but to be fair, a large party of people were down for breakfast before us.

    Excellent cooked breakfast with locally sourced produce.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made very welcome. Staff were efficient and polite. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was to soft.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Amazing food, great accommodation,very well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really very well looked after by Linda and her team. The food was amazing, top quality and large portions too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little uncomfortable

    Quiet and cozy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Wonderfully friendly owners, very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderfully friendly owners, very helpful and accommodating. Excellent food and a wine list to match.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    It was immaculately clean comfortable bed and plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was immaculately clean comfortable bed and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice people. Good quality breakfast. And nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay, bar / lounge area so relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and room size.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Room very clean and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very clean, excellent food,very helpful staff, ideal...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, excellent food,very helpful staff, ideal location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Lovely place, lovely hosts, great food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place, lovely hosts, great food. Will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Very welcoming staff, friendly and always making sure you had everything you need.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Lovely little room well maintained, comfortable bed very nice setting

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Overnight at the case
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: