Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Three-Cranes 2 stars

High Street, Turvey, Turvey, MK43 8EP, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Turvey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 91 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was fine for email but a bit slow to watch streamed content

    It was a lovely pub in a beautiful village. Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I would definitely stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    We were tired - and they welcomed us. We were hungry - and they fed us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we did not like

    The Three Cranes, it’s location, interior decor,etc, bedroom, facilities, cleanliness, staff, choice and quality of food and wine were in all respects excellent. We shall book in again when next travelling in that direction.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Our anniversary weekend....fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the bed was a bit soft.

    The ONLY thing that was the slightest bit poor was the bed was too soft for me.....but as this is subjective and different for everyone...in no way is this a complaint. The room was fabulous.....no noise from next door room at all.....no noise from garden either....the pub lovely...the staff literally couldn't do enough for us and the breakfasts were simply excellent. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable stay in top class accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    The accommodation was faultless and easily up to the standard of a 4/5 star establishment. The breakfast was great with excellent personal service. It was a joy to have stayed there and it is highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the local clientele sat outside at night their use of language and descriptions of toilet and sexual functions were undesirable we aren’t easily offended but others could be especially with children

    Perfect for our needs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    I would certainly recommend this Hotel. Great Location clean and tidy. Polite and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. Bed could have been quieter! And maybe a little comfier! But I suppose that's done to personal preference.

    Wonderful location, polite helpful staff. Good choice for breakfast. Can't comment on pub grub as didn't try..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Felt like I was staying in my own little cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing we can think of. Did report that the sink plug needed cleaning/unblocking, but that is nothing.

    Stayed in the garden annexe. What a wonderful little place. Peaceful village. Really comfortable bed and we slept like logs. Really clean with a large shower. Refreshments in the room and everything you could possible need. We had a lovely breakfast with all local produce. A real village butcher next door! The ideal place to come if stressed. The pub itself was modern and clean and we sat by the window with the sun streaming in. Will definitely be back as soon as possible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The shower. Big enough for a small party and powerful enough to jetwash with. I don't normally bother with reviews but this place deserved one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Well appointed newly refurbished room, spotlessly clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well appointed newly refurbished room, spotlessly clean, everything worked. Good menu, all freshly prepared, minor variations to the dishes were no problem. Good selection of reasonably priced wines. Topped off by great service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great night celebrating our 25th anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold when arrived but soon warmed up

    The great thing about our stay was with out requesting anything in advance the staff seemed to realise that it was a couple on valentines night staying and our accommodation was secluded yet with easy access to amenities which really helped the stay which we have had problems with other places on night stays in the past Thank you very much to everyone at the Three Cranes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    peace and comfort in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great welcome , relaxed atmosphere ,, lovely staff . Well planned bedroom , masses of storage , hooks in the right places , lots of variety on the hospitality tray , warm and cosy The waiting staff were great , warm and polite . .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location in a comfortable friendly pub in a very pretty village.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be lovely to have the option of a feather pillow.

    Staff were happy to serve breakfast earlier than usual on Saturday morning, it was delicious and done with a smile. This pub with rooms is centrally located in a picture postcard pretty village; almost like the Cotswolds. Despite the rooms being above a pub I had no problems with out of hours noise. Large, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Owners Cliff and Hayley were perfect hosts and the local...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners Cliff and Hayley were perfect hosts and the local customers at the Three Cranes were really friendly and welcoming, as were the residents of Turvey village. Definately will be visiting again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Excellent place and will definitely be going again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing all excellent

    We arrived early evening, the staff were all very friendly and a very nice lady showed us to our two rooms which were spotless. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and plenty of it. Would recommend it to anyone and will definitely go back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    I had a garden room which was a good size and had a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I had a garden room which was a good size and had a very comfortable bed, The shower room was also a good size and spotless. The manager and all the staff were very polite and nothing was to much trouble, even moving one of their cars for me to park in a larger space. The breakfast was excellent. The Hotel was only about ten minutes from Santa Pod raceway

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Cliff and all of staff very helpful and accomodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If given the choice, next time we would prefer to stay in a room above the pub, rather in the new rooms in the annexe. The twin room our sons stayed in, in the pub building, was a generous size, with a huge bathroom...all newly refurbished. Also, the wifi in our annexe room didn't work...obviously needs an extension to the router. However, you could go to the main building where it worked perfectly, so, this wasn't really a major problem. Perfect for stay and food.

    Cliff and all of staff very helpful and accomodating. Lovely evening meal in the restaurant the day we arrived, with 4 other family members. Great food and service. Very good breakfast with lots of choice and all requests responded to with efficiency and charm...Heather I believe. We were there with our two adult sons, for a family wedding in Bedford, so ideal for access to the town.Had a great 2 night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    a delightful hideaway for a peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in a peaceful little annex overlooking the beer garden. All the facilities were excellent, the bed comfy, shower hot and powerful, lots of coffee and tea. We chose a lovely tapas-style dinner from the menu and were delighted. Breakfast was as delicious. A perfect stay in a picture-postcard village. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent value, nice rooms, stunning village, friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found a few stains on the bed sheets which was a little off putting. They were laundered and clean & I just turned them around but should be checked. Also, a big concern for me was that the Internet connection is terrible & this should be made clear. I did move rooms but still struggled.

    Excellent value, nice rooms, stunning village, friendly people and an amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Better than most !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a business traveller I rely on wifi for work and on this occasion even though it was advertised as "free wifi" what it didn't say was in "public areas only" Disappointed. I did speak to the manager who assured me that this issue was being addressed this month. Would I stay there again ? yes ! but only if the wifi is sorted!

    The general atmosphere was one of calm with good service and although somewhat pretentious menus, good quality well cooked food. The rooms were well presented, clean with nice beds and good showers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The B & B was amazing. Clean, fresh and quiet. The bed was really comfy. Excellent value for money. The customer service was fab and breakfast delicious. I couldn't think of a single bad thing to say, would 100% recommend and will defanitely be back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    Very Comfortable .... Marks out of ten !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was staying for work and unfortunately the Garden room I was in did not have either any Wi-Fi connectivity or any (EE) mobile network connectivity which meant further contact with the outside world was severely muted. That said... would I stay again: Yes, absolutely.

    Very comfortable stay overall. The room was modern, clean, quiet and the bed very comfortable. Bathroom was large and spotless with plenty of hot water and a nice big shower. The evening menu was broad and the food very good and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were friendly and welcoming and were happy to accommodate an early breakfast for me. Really couldn't fault it at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely countryside retreat- great room, food and people.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know if it was my tech but I struggled to connect to wifi in my room which did make doing my emails in the morning a tad tricky. Maybe not the most convenient place for business travellers but I'll be back for a leisure stay soon.

    Wish I had been able to spend a little longer there. Lovely countryside area with friendly locals. The staff were welcoming and accomodating when I arrived and helped me out throughout my stay. I ate dinner sat by a log burner when I arrived and it was delicious and reaosnably priced. The room was spacious and quiet and everything looked clean and new. Breakfast the next morning was the cherry on top- locally sourced food and a great set up for my day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Heavenly beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bathroom but only slight criticism is that the shower head doesn't seem to bend so you have to either hold it or it just sprays sideways onto wall or screen. We came in after 12 but the washing machine was being run, (next door?) so the bathroom was so noisy plus you could feel vibrations across the floor and from the bed. Not a problem for us as we were getting ready for bed but I think if you were already in bed it would be very annoying.

    Great place would highly recommend, very friendly helpful staff, ultra comfy beds, great breakfast and the whole place was so clean. Would have no hesitation in coming back or recommending to friends.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    All the staff were so accommodating and went out of their...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were so accommodating and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Great choice on menu. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    It was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Softer Bed.

    Staff was very pleasant and very helpful. We would recommend it to others.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    the room, staff and food was excellent
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room, staff and food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing stay at a welcoming and interesting inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming atmosphere. Caring staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Cleaned modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the Room and it was too hot without

    Cleaned modern

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, pretty village and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a steak which could have been a bit better quality

    Nice location, pretty village and nice room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Definitely NOT topsey Turvey just TOP!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff and great food.Great choice of beers !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Beyond expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another chair in room

    Helpful staff Excellent breakfast Lovely food We will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks, food and local cabs more expensive then I expected.

    Very clean, comfortable and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff was ever so helpful and the food was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was ever so helpful and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Just right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cool on arrival , soon warmed up tho'.

    Everything was just right for us . My wife loved the breakfast pancakes and bacon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Spot on
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, staff and hospitality x

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    As in previous positive statement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very courteous and friendly staff with immaculate facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    The only negative I have is that there is no lifts, and I am...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I have is that there is no lifts, and I am disabled, and I had not asked them if they could facilitate me.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    All fine for the price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room walls are very thin - could hear every noise from adjacent bedroom and bathroom

    All fine for the price range. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    A real gem far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Top class food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotless room with all the comforts. Relaxing dining area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good for a night or two in the area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated 2017

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    lovely staff, lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely staff, lovely room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed atmosphere, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, good food, great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    An excellent overnight stop which we would definitely use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bedroom was extremely clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely pub in picturesque village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Spotlessly clean room and shower, comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Spacious comfy room with modern stylish bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious comfy room with modern stylish bathroom.Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    A great place to spend a few days and explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of importance.

    Very clean and comfortable. Good breakfasts. Quiet location yet surprisingly near the main road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    The place has a lot of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a lot of history

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    No wifi in bedroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in bedroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place superb food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were too small. Noise from the bar.

    Bed very comfy. Bit of noise from the bar but this stopped at closing time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely pleasent and the facilities and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely pleasent and the facilities and the accommodation was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Staff, Very Kind & Helpful!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Staff, Very Kind & Helpful!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have welcomed a table and chair so I could work

    Breakfast and evening meal were superb. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't connect in the room at all and phone signal poor.

    Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Great comfy room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.1
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.

    Nice quiet pub with good room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Village location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chair would have been a bonus

    Very modern facilities in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to car for WiFi connection.

    The staff couldn't do enough. They were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Good comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bathroom, comfy bed Nice decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice bar area to sit in before eating, excellent restaurant, really good breakfast and a lovely village location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    Nice pub, great service, great food, lovely clean quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pub, great service, great food, lovely clean quiet room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    10
    The best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size and comfort of bed. Awesome breakfast. Shower pressure and quality of toiletries

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable-would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Very pleased with facilities in room-bathroom excellent-spacious and immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2017

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61