Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Three Queens Hotel 3 stars

One Bridge Street, Burton upon Trent, DE14 1SY, United Kingdom

#5 of 7 hotels in Burton upon Trent

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1253 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the room and the food quality of the evening meal. Fish and chips would have been better described as a lesser spotted batter fish in hiding.

    Staff help

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because the breakfast room was very busy with guests, the staff had difficulty keeping breakfast food & drinks topped up. That said, we didn't go hungry!

    Location suited us Hotel was quiet Friendly, helpful staff Excellent value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower needs to be more powerful, especially in an executive room. Single beds were too small and duvets were too big for the size of the beds.

    Staff were friendly. Decor was lovely. Breakfast was very good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of food on offer in the evening and small time window to order and eat. Room was very dark and I was using my room to study for exams which was the reason for my travel. Ups took over entire breakfast room in the morning. Would have been nice to have a little area that they weren’t using

    Good central location with loads of places to eat out in the evening

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Location is right where I needed to be, but the noise off the main road never ends. No sleep. Had to ask reception to turn off air conditioning. Then the room turned from a fridge to a oven. No sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary shower gel/soap. Fortunately I had some with me and it was on sale at the hotel, however it may be useful to potential guest to perhaps advise them at the time of booking.

    I was advised that as there was a large party booked in for dinner I may want to consider eating in one of the establishments local to the hotel. I opted for a recommended Italian restaurant and wasn't disappointed. The selection at breakfast was excellent as was the cooked food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit dated and could do with a upgrade, has great potential to be fantastic, just need to update, bed was not the best

    The staff where friendly and the breakfast was fantastic “Hats off to you, one if the best I have had”

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all good value comfortable bed and friendly staff - perfect.

    Comfortable bed and room , clean, good breakfast and very friendly staff and great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miserable staff. When I checked in it was as if I interrupted their conversation. Breakfast a disgrace. Two ladies wandering about ( you can't even tell if they are staff) moaning on about this and that whist the buffet dries out to dust ! Windows stuck closed with paint. Too hot in the night so couldn't sleep on the creaking old bed. When I checked out....the receptionist was eating a cooked breakfast at the desk and spoke to me with a mouth full of food !

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lighting in room, lack of a bath ( the shower was very slippery for someone with poor mobility and balance)! En-suite extractor fan not working; were promised it would be fixed for our second night; it wasn't. Poorly fitting en-suite door not activating timer system; lights permanently on. NO RESTAURANT!!! (has been 'closed for refurbishment' for over a year although it still features in online text and picture info). Bar meals (if the Chef had not gone off sick) would have been unacceptable on such low tables! Fortunately very good Indian and Italian restaurants very close by. This stately "Old Lady" of a Hotel is slowly sinking! We hope this is only a temporary (though long-drawn-out) hiccup as some refurbishment is taking place. We are prepared to give it one more go before moving our custom elsewhere.

    Excellent breakfast, super selection. Friendly, welcoming staff as per previous visits. Large, clean room. As on previous visits, thanks to the loyal staff we have found the Three Queens an enjoyable place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No particular issues, decor a bit dated,but it is a Budget Hotel.

    Clean , comfortable, straight forward accommodation at a reasonable price. Ideal for "stopover"

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do at the location. But then again when booking a hotel in this city it probably has a reason. Another downside was that the bathroom was really big but no rack to put your stuff, but hey at least you weren't cramped in a 1*1 room for shower+toilet

    Very good English breakfast with friendly personal. For that price it really has a lot of choice from bacon and eggs to fresh fruit and muesli. Was also able to take one drink from a cool rack to take with you on your travels, which was a welcoming first for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been a bit better, a little lumpy and too soft.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, cleanliness of the room and quality of the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uneven, twisty stairs, rather tired decor and an over-warm room overlooking busy main road, so noisy if window opened to reduce heat.

    Comfortable, clean bed, room & bathroom fairly clean. Buffet breakfast included, with decent selection of hot and cold items. Staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is being renovating - so could do with better signage for rooms on various floors, with a bit more help /guidance from Reception staff - we were on the 3rd floor and couldn't see anything?!. also lights along the way up are motion sensored but delayed so very dark as we tried to approach the room.

    Room has en suite facilities - which is perfect.. Also staff serving breakfast are very welcoming and helpful, food excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed here on about 4 occasions and 2 of these stays the room I was given had not been made up

    Breakfast was good, shame the bar didn't open to after 5pm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievably loud traffic noise from room at the front. Historic building means single glazing and traffic didn't stop all night. I was on the first floor at the front. One more niggle, they used to make you a cooked breakfast to order, now the self serve buffet food is not as appealing.

    Great price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside to being in what is essentially a roundabout in the centre of a town is the noise. The first night we had the air con on during the day to cool the room down but it was still a bit stuffy, then the second night we just had the windows open and it was too noisy. Not the fault of the hotel and they have air con there which is good.

    The staff were nice and the breakfast was really great, eat as much as you like pretty much and a good full cooked brekkie plus all your cereals, yogurts etc. And they allow you to take a drink as well, like a water or can or something and it's not the cheap stuff it's proper name brand cans not Asda cola or whatever. Really impressed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very hot. I didn’t want to bother staff and ask if it had air con, as it looked like it did have an old one in room but couldn’t figure out how to work it.

    Everything was what I expected as I heard the decor was a bit “dated” but it was still nice and clean and bed was comfortable. It was also good to have a free parking space and was very close to where we needed to be. Tea coffee facilities etc also good, and good to have iron and iron board in room too. And hairdryer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area was tired looking, in fact, the whole place was in dire need of refurbishment. The carpets were worn in places, and there were lots of stairs to get to our room, 20. That also needed a facelift. It was at the front of the hotel, which was on a busy road, the windows weren’t double glazed, so if we had the window open, it was REALLY noisy. The room was REALLY HOT, there was an air conditioning unit in the room, but when I rang reception, I was told they didn’t advertise a/c because it was hit and miss if it worked or not. We left the window open when we went out for dinner, hoping it would cool down. We had an uncomfortable nights sleep, due to being too warm and being in a uncomfy bed. The fan that was in the room, was only a heater! The hotel dates back to the 1600’s, and our room was like the crooked house! We were glad we were only staying 1 night.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent, and the ladies who were in charge of it were friendly and helpful. It was in a good position. Sadly, nothing else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the size of the shower cubicle

    We stayed in the lodge rooms, 203, beds were comfortable and the room very clean and tidy; shower was very good; cubicle was a little small; overall a good room. This is the 2nd time we stopped there. Check out at 11.30 is great and the breakfast was varied and good. We will go back next year as well :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the weather was too hot and made the rooms became rather hot at night, the hotel needs some tender loving care to the bathroom, the sink was old and badly worn and the toilet difficult to flush.

    breakfast was excellent, the location was spot on for what we visited for which was walking and visiting the local brewery centre, eating houses and Lichfield Cathedral, there was too many things to list that we saw.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is a little worn, could do with a bit of TLC to really make it shine. Breakfast was a bit of a scrum, seems they have a new ticket system and they don't seem to have really worked it out yet.

    Friendly reception staff, good location for town centre, clean room with comfortable bed. No air conditioning but a good room fan had been provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As usual, if you are travelling and staying alone, you get stung for the price of a room, which is almost the same as a double/twin. I have found that in the last 3-4 years the cost of hotels BB etc have increased disproportionately, could this be because of commission paid to booking agents, and recouping money from customers!!

    Very convenient hotel car park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was appalling. Fiddly in the extreme to produce the right temperature, but hardly power shower level. Also the temperature varied, which was probably a result of other guests using hot water at the same time. Instead of spending the money on a whirlpool bath that no-one actually uses, would have been more sensible to provide a decent shower.

    The bed was comfortable, so at least one major box ticked. The Hotel is well placed for a visit to the main town. The coffee machine in the breakfast area surprisingly produced an excellent cup of coffee - better than most of the more expensive hotels that I've stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was big, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and the shower nice and modern with good pressure. Buffet breakfast was nice and there was also a bar. I was there for a wedding at the National Brewery Centre so location was perfect being only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had stayed once before and was able to have an evening meal. This time only bar snacks were available. The breakfast was not cooked to order either, but self-service from hot trays. It didn't particularly bother me but I thought the décor and furnishings were a little bit dated.

    Reasonable value for money. Large car park. Excellent pub across the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not keen on filter devices which were fitted to taps in the en suite bathroom.

    An excellent location for the town centre with an excellent cooked breakfast buffet selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was not in use. The corner location makes entry to the car park difficult if you are unfamiliar with the road layout.

    The room was excellent. The location is convenient for town centre. The staff are pleasant and welcoming. The self service breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult for older people to drag heavy suitcases up and down stairs, not sure what you can do about that except to have a strong young bloke to do it for us.

    The staff were lots of fun. The hotel a bit creaky but with good history. Buffet breakfast very adequate. Nice food in the bar. Position of hotel ideal for everything Burton.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had no complaints.

    Hotel was in excellent location close to Town Centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet contained everything most people would look for. Bedrooms were large and comfortable. Pleasant Lounge for a couple of late night relaxing drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lift out of action - the night porter took my case up 2 flights of stairs, but I had to bring it down. Lighting in hall way and on stairs PIR's didn't work until you move in the dark to a place they covered. Dining room closed.

    Lovely bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a bit hit and miss, although staff looked after me well.

    The staff. I asked for a well lit room and they were telling me that they had been through the hotel hunting for a suitable room. Worked for me!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift wasn't working and we were on the top floor!

    It was great value for money, clean, comfortable and very close to the wedding venue we were in town for. Breakfast was self service but excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs are a bit scary, a bit uneven!

    The attitude of the staff and the cleniness of the room. But above all the value for money! I actually think that they should charge at least £20 more a night! That would still be great value! All staff were amazing but loved the lady in the breakfast room the best!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lighting in rooms is dated and needs improving

    large rooms with most things you need, we use quite often when visiting friends. new layout for breakfast is quick and easy to use with quality food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor board were given way .. Breakfast we nice but but cold on the heated items . Bed was comfortable- ish

    Staff friendly . Nice different range if breakfast ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reception staff were not interested, they did not explain anything No bar opening times, Where the restaurant was or opening times for breakfast or evening meal. The breakfast was not impressive beans cold, fried eggs solid and crispy around the edges

    Large bedroom with a comfortable sofa The staff for breakfast were great and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better situated lift as only found late in stay and appeared to be for staff or emergencies. Lack of facilities for evening meal though know this is only temporary.

    Really good breakfast tasty sausages and just the right quantity of each item. As it's an old building the floors and ceilings were slopey but this added to the charm of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an executive room, dread to think what and standard room was like.. Had what could only be described as a herd of elephants in the room above. Fortunately it did not go on all night.

    Best breakfast I have had in a long while. Lounge/bar comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff miserable and don’t even acknowledge you when you go in or out. Rooms were far too hot and couldn’t turn towel heater off on bathroom. Hotel needs a complete make over.

    Reakfast staff as always were polite and chirpy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception on arrival was a bit perfunctory and not exactly welcoming. Minimal info given, had to ask where and when breakfast was etc. Only me there so they weren't too busy. Hardly a flicker of a smile!

    Very nice large room.good parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky perhaps the facilities could be a little modernised. There was the odd dint in the bath etc but nothing really to report on.

    The staff were very nice and super helpful with my luggage. The breakfast was great and really varied in choice. Perfect for an overnight stay for me and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have checked in earlier

    Friendly Staff particularly at breakfast. Best hotel buffet breakfast ever particularly the massive choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was grubby Decor very tired with peeling wallpaper ‘Executive’ room was just an ordinary room, potentially a bit larger than standard rooms

    Comfortable beds and clean bedding Tasty breakfast Good value Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, I did find the bed rather springy? I woke up a few times during the night as my back was hurting but my boyfriend found it very comfy so might just be my back.

    The staff were very welcoming and kind! They helped me out with finding places and were just amazing in general. The breakfast was very nice and cooked perfectly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried 3 rooms all cold the staff say they don't turn the radiators on anymore. Because customers complain there to hot surely they should be warm when you arrive?

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the lodge 208 which at some point has had a leak and the ceiling was stained room smelt damp but we managed

    Breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from hot or cold

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with some maintenance work, heating is a free standing electric radiator and the hairdryer was broken. Air-con is still broken, you do get a fan but not a problem at the moment.

    Excellent location and value for money. At this price you can accept the rough edges.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were disappointed that the dining room was closed for evening meals which was one of the reasons for choosing it was annoyed that we had to go out to eat. would have booked another hotel if we had been informed that the dining room was closed for upgrading

    breakfast was amazing , plenty of choice and hot and the staff were great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free beer would be nice.

    The room was a good the bed was comfortable and there were chairs to sit in while watching television and waiting for wife to get ready.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame it's on a main road

    Large room which I presume is used for families, only two of us so loads of room. Bathroom spacious as well. Excellent shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tap in the bathroom dribbled constantly and so the pipes were always hot, making the bathroom nearly unbearable.

    Fantastic breakfast!! Great location for driving in and out of town easily and walking distance from the town centre. Free parking. Whilst the air conditioning in our room wasn't working and the windows wouldn't open, there was an electric fan provided (which was a necessity due to the constant heat coming from the bathroom). Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 20 on the door it said executive room this was not the case ! . It was a very dated room which we wouldn't have minded if it was clean, unfortunately the whole room was very dirty and we could write our name in the dust! The floor listed to one side, made me feel like I had motion sickness. The Bed was so uncomfortable I had to lay on top of the duvet, you could feel every spring and I had no sleep. Had to wash the sink and plug hole before we could use it. We did raise these issues the next morning and received an apology. We were also told that a meeting was taking place that morning with the cleaners I suggested he should look at the state of our room with the cleaning staff. I also noticed there were plaques on the wall from the RAC and AA with 3 stars. If these are still valid I would be amazed

    Good choice at Breakfast buffet but hot food was not very hot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very hot (would save a fortune if a lower temperature!). Some of bathroom fittings a bit wobbly.

    Good value, staff very friendly, room ok, nice bed linen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there a year ago for one night and the lady in reception remembered me and said I was in the same room. She was right. Breakfast is now self service buffet but the food was of the same quality. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    furniture a little tired, road noise. bathroom light turns it self off.

    shower was very good and spacious room. breakfast was the best we have had. plenty of choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not major but looking for food especially dinner far away from the hotel can be looked at

    Great breakfast, nice staff and quite friendly and lively - although for such a quite city per night price seem a bit auch!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sort the sausage supplier out(revolting) . Elevator out of service but thing breakdown so really would be unreasonable to make a deal about it, remedial works planned.

    Straight forward check in/out, got exactly what we needed and priced very reasonably. Two twin rooms and a single and not a single moan up from all the lads

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift was out of order so had to clime to the top floor by stairs. Can’t remember if it was 3rd or 4th floor I was on. Carpet in the room a little shabby and holes in the window’s curtain which kind of spoiled the view. In general hotel requires modernisation and an update. But for me it serves the purpose that day and overall I was pleased.

    Lovely bright white clean bedding and plenty of white towels. Clean bathroom and the room itself. Good breakfast. Enjoyed it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room but was given room 11 above the bar. Apparently the bar normally closes at 23.00 but as guests were using it, it stayed open until the early hours. Had to put my earplugs in to get to sleep! The shower water wasn't very hot the following morning. Apparently there was a problem with the boiler.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot

    It’s got a great location and was in walking distance of town centre , was also with in walking distance of the scooter event we were attending

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing very helpful very friendly and brilliant with my little boy. This hotel will definetly be getting a 10 from me. Couldn’t be more polite and helpful if they tried especially the staff at breakfast xx

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very pleasant and well furnished. Bed was very comfortable; lighting good. Shower was very good, hot and powerful and the towels were excellent. Buffet breakfast was fine, as would be expected in a busy hotel. Coffee very good!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bar was closed the evening i arrived but lots of options nearby.

    comfortable room and bed. good location for going into town for dinner / cinema. convenient parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky beds and unstable handrail on staircases. Couldn’t get shower water remotely warm.

    A convenient location with free parking. Good selection for breakfast. Jacuzzi bath and four poster bed was unexpected bonus. Wonky floors made us feel drunk!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner. Less worn carpets.... seemed skeletal but considering recent outbreak to be expected i supposed.

    Wifi did not work. Rooms dated not authentic!! Everything worn! Breakfast good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room I was in had very dark paintwork and a dark colour scheme very male looking. Some parts of the carpet needs replacing.

    Staff very nice and friendly. Breakfast room and breakfast all areas very clean and looks inviting. Bathroom very nice and clean. I asked if I could have the mugs replaced as i dont like dark mugs and this was changed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was rather old and a little run down. A bit passed its best.

    The bed was fine but it was difficult to sleep with the incessant traffic noise from outside especially on the Friday night. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Plus there was also a comment from the hotel about being able to take away a snack and drink for later in the day which was useful as it was pretty cold outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Lodge Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom light switching off when in shower. Sensor doesn't pick up your movement. No big deal though.

    Great breakfast selection and really helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very quirky, polite staff, a very good choice of a buffet breakfast, only a 10 minute walk into town for pubs and restaurants. Happily stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little dated in places but it was clean.

    Location was perfect for me right n the centre. The staff were absolutely brilliant, really friendly and helpful, brilliant customer service. I was made to feel welcome and comfortable right from the start until leaving, nothing was too much trouble for them., particularly the gentleman on reception as he had to sort out an issue with my booking on arrival but he did this calmly and professionally and made me feel at ease throughout. Also the food was good solid pub grub type, which was presented well, tasted nice and didn't cost a fortune.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings a bit tired - but clean and tidy

    Good basic hotel. Very clean and comfortable.A bit old fashioned but ok.Very pleasant staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water filters on the taps, but it's not the end of the world!

    Great, quirky hotel with wonky corridors, friendly staff and lovely stained glass domes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired and dated rooms. Staff at check in not at all friendly, just went through the motions. Hairdryer not working, it was replaced.

    Good breakfast. Staff at breakfast and checkout good.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: