Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thurnham Hall By Diamond Resorts 4 stars

Thurnham, Cockerham, LA2 0DT, United Kingdom

#2 of 4 hotels in Cockerham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1534 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Thurnham Hall holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many stairs for an older person, 23 in all, had to struggle up stairs with big heavy bags. Would have been OK on ground level. Also @ night time, there were stairs about 11? to climb down to go to toilet in dark.

    Peaceful + quiet + being in the countryside

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal little break in a part of the country we really like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delayed check in caused by spending too much time dealing with a guest with a query instead of putting her "on hold" while we were checked in

    Comfort. Room facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.0
    what i do not like about this property is that there is no a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    what i do not like about this property is that there is no a grocery inside it and there is no an ATM inside it. There are only two restaurants can deliver into this resort. They should arrange and coordinate with more restaurants to make their resort better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Very expensive to use the facilities and they are very small, beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we stayed in no 30 was just stunning, we was supposed to stay for 2 nights but there was a problem with the booking but the hotel put us up in another hotel for 1 night that was just as nice...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Room is very spacious, with all facilities of a studio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very far from the hotel and bus service is infrequent (one in 90 minutes). Taxi is expensive.

    Room is very spacious, with all facilities of a studio. The garden is very beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable luxurious and our afternoon tea was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always love to stay at Thurnham Hall. But this stay found the reception staff quite rude.. it was 2 minutes to 4 and she was watching the clock till it got to spot on 4 o clock. It would of been way after that when we got to our room. Her attitude was just rude

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a few days retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Table tennis table was on a lawn and it was getting muddy around it - hope they move it to a hard surface soon.

    Great accommodation, well equipped and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Unfortunately two of our food dishes were over cooked and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately two of our food dishes were over cooked and inedible. The waiter asked if we wanted new dishes but we didn't want to wait again as we'd already been waiting a long time the first time around. It's a shame because we would have liked to have eaten more at the bar/restaurant. The apartment was beautiful though and had a kitchen with cooking facilities which was fortunate.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    The very best of British
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ice at the bar.

    Magnificent setting, great historical details. We stayed in one of the little studios, slept 6, a double, twin and a sofa bed. 2 bathrooms and a great living space/ kitchen. And a place to leave a bike. We liked it so much we are already planning to go back. Gosh it was good. And, staff were friendly but never informal, always busy and quite quick.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Facilities, apartment - comfort, space, cleanliness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only recommendation I have is to supply bigger towels and/or more

    Facilities, apartment - comfort, space, cleanliness and things supplied in each apartment e.g. Iron, crockery etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay for Wi-fi

    The cleanliness was exceptional. Not a speck of dirt, dust, or rubbish in sight. The furnishings and fitting were all working and appeared new. The cleaner takes a lot of pride in his/her work

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Quiet short break in lovely peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was obviously due for refurbishment as it was dated in it's decor . EG. Very dark wood old style kitchen unit. The two sofas likewise need replacing or at very least having a thorough deep clean. On entering the property the first day the lounge had a smell of old cigarette smoke despite it being a no smoking property (perhaps it wasn't at one time or other)

    The Apartment (26) was well equipped in the kitchen. It was clean and tidy. The bed was very generous in size with good bed linen. The WiFi was very good with quick connection and update. A comfortable spacious apartment, set in lovely grounds with excellent facilities. Great value for money. The points raised above being minor issues.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Accommodation was excellent, spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for use of leisure centre & Wi-Fi.

    Accommodation was excellent, spacious and comfortable. Whole site was clean and all staff we came into contact with were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay at this historic hotel we loved the heated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at this historic hotel we loved the heated pool and facilities the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Beauty Treatments offered at the Spa are of an outstanding quality do visit Claire for a lovely experience

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    All staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    All staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was exceptional. Beautiful setting and swimming pool etc. was fantastic. Everything very clean and well provided for. Can't fault our short stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great estate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 2 (Crabtree). Nicely equipped small kitchen we used twice. We had one dinner in the restaurant which was excellent (and correctly priced)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and would go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We arrived at 3pm and were made to wait until exactly 4pm before keys were issued, as were several other new arrivals. Presumably their policy is - you don't get keys before 4pm! Meant a wasted hour or so. Web site/ literature says a small shop on site but there isn't one!

    Our studio location was great, and the facilities spacious and clean. Liked the balcony - overlooking woodland. We ate once in the bar area and the food was good with generous helpings. The grounds are quiet and pleasant with duck pond etc. Swimming pool fine, small but not crowded when we were there. Not much to do in the local area but plenty of interest not far away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Loved the location and property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and property. Loved being able to walk around and unwind. Walked through the main rooms of the hall and just really enjoyed being there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel facilities spot on, restuarant and bar are a bit crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bar and restaurant are outsourced and are nowhere near up to scratch, the food is pretty naff and expensive and the bar isn't fully stocked. This type of venue should be offering an a la carte menu and a decent cocktail menu.

    Very well maintained beautiful house with well equipped apartments. My kids loved the park with lovely ducks and lovely clean, heated swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    The staff throughout the resort including groundwork staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like about this resort, it was an excellent place to stay.

    The staff throughout the resort including groundwork staff were extremely polite, friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they do make you feel really welcome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is separate to the bar/restaurant and swimming pool and gym. Run by different people. So everything has to be paid separate Looking for a deposit of £100 and this can't be taken in cash only on a card. It's deducted straight away but can take up to two weeks for a refund. Grounds are nice but the children's play area the swings seemed to be tied down. Don't know why. Everything that usually comes with a hotel booking comes at a price. Wifi extra Entrance into the apartment was not very welcoming. It needs a cleaning and airing out

    Grounds are nice. The little church behind the apartments is lovely. Cleaning staff very nice and helpful Apartment was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed! Read all information & fact sheet before thinking of booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation this year was not good. *The furniture and chairs were old and the room smelled horrible,old and musty. We couldnt use the wardrobe or drawers. The wardrobe door wouldn't open properly anyway because of the door curtain finial being so big. The room is in desperate need of refurbishment. Room 47. I had to clean plates and microwave before use. Reception didnt bring the furniture spray or air freshener requested after reporting the bad odour. I had to purchase and spray everything with anti bacterial spray before I could sit or use furniture..The bed was extremely hard. *The price of the leisure centre is way too expensive especially as the shower I used just dribbled water out, there are no hooks for towels in changing area and door locks didnt work. *In the evening bar staff were not experienced and made us feel in the way. Said the bar was shut, when the paperwork we read said there was another 53 mins or so until closing.The bar & lounge had been refurbished from last year, it looked brighter but seemed to lack atmosphere and the staff this year did not come across as being happy.

    The location, approximately 10/15 mins from Lancaster centre by car, main building and grounds are lovely. Some of the staff are really pleasant. The pool is a nice temperature and clean though I think there should be an 'adult swim only' in the day as well as in the evening. Lancaster itself is a busy little centre. I never have trouble finding parking, usually park in St Nicks parking. £2.50 for 2 hours. There are plenty of places to eat in the area. O'er de Lune cafe by Glosson (10 mins away) do lovely breakfast. The Stalk pub is very friendly. Love Lancaster but might just think about staying over somewhere else unless Diamond Resorts make some changes at Thurnham.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything else was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa's in our accommodation where very dirty and worn, and every one who sat on them itched, I think they needed fumigated.

    Everything else was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely room. Everything you needed in the kitchen. Comfy bed. Everything spotlessly clean. Beautiful views. Staff very friendly. Will definitely return soon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    August 2nd to 4th
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are always good and spacious, perfect for a family getaway and the grounds are beautiful, have stayed a few times now and the rooms are always clean & the staff friendly. We did not eat in the hotel this time as last time the chef had left and we had invited family for dinner and you were working from a very limited menu and it was all a bit embarrassing so this time we ate out. However, I am sure we will give it another go on one of our futures stays. Thanks Susie

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    the property was very comfortable and clean and in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only disadvantage was we had to pay for wifi

    the property was very comfortable and clean and in a very quiet area which was fab had a great time and stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a young couple arguing very late at night above us which was not the hotels fault but as it was hot and the most peoples windows were open which did not help matters!

    This was a mid-point stop for us on our way to Scotland. I was slightly put off by the deposit initially but it looked good on the website. This property exceeded my expectations, it was lovely. The staff were friendly and the amenities were excellent. We could not get the TV to work and we called reception, the person who turned up was lovely and showed us were the cutlery was - which I would have never have found without his help!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Really lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't available the following morning due to staff shortages, despite being advised the night before that it was. We were then advised to go somewhere else, which unfortunately wasn't serving breakfast either.

    The rooms were lovely, and super clean. Check-in was quick and easy and it is a lovely place to stay for a relaxing weekend break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Short Break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu choice in restaurant although high quality meals. Mobile signals appear largely blocked / limited inside of all buildings; step outside to find strong signals.

    Large excellent rooms exceptionally well equipped; very comfortable with many thoughtful features.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    have to pay additional charges for WiFi and access to the pool/spa, unless you are a member.

    The appartments are spacious, very clean and well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice lay out for a basic studio good size, comfortable...
    • People with friends
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few dead insects around the apartment and cobwebs in the wardrobe but apart from that it was mint

    Very nice lay out for a basic studio good size, comfortable,very chilled out which was what we wanted

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    I wish I could have stayed longer and hope to repeat my visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps a fully functional shop and afternoon tea faster than 48 hours notice.

    ACCOMMODATION WAS UNSURPASSABLE......actually better than home. Staff were efficient and friendly making us feel valued visitors. The whole experience was a combination of historical heritage and modern efficiency, the kind of situation that makes one proud to be British......a U.K.vacation showcase.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More local shops. As the location is remote it could use some more shops for the everyday groceries you may want.

    This was a really amazing place to stay. The facilities are great, the staff are friendly and approachable and the ground and surrounding areas were absolutely beautiful. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Group of friends & family attending for family wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little fat from local amenities, pubs, restaurants. Difficult to get taxis

    Group of friends & family attending for family wedding. Couldn’t fault the apartment. Spacious, comfortable & beautiful surroundings. Had an amazing stay. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful grounds, we had a 1 room apartment which was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small window opened in the large room so we had to keep leaving the main door open to get some air in (although it is the hottest day in record so I can imagine usually this is not an issue)

    Wonderful grounds, we had a 1 room apartment which was huge. Well kitted kitchen. The swimming pool and lg were VERY clean and the staff were very helpful. We had a lovely evening listening to jazz on Monday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable, just a few tweaks required, will definateley go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The menu was very limited and below expectations. Check in time of 4pm and check out time of 10am, could be improved upon. Having to pay for WiFi is a little antiquated.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The studio was much bigger than expected and provided everything required and more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was excellent. Very good standard of cleanliness very helpfully staff and fantastic surroundings. Brilliant for kids kids had a ball in the pool with all the floats etc. Staff very helpful and friendly. Definitely value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    I like the environment, the buteaful view all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen was good in size , but the equipment is too little , and Ziegler of cooking sauce pan was small and we ate family of 5.

    I like the environment, the buteaful view all around. It is really nice for relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay for a relaxing country retreat and Lancaster within easy reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi should have been free.

    The studio flat we stayed was very clean and fully equipped with all modern facilities. It is situated in lovely relaxing grounds full of greenery and Thurnham manor itself was brimming with character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the scenery and were blessed with good weather for our daughters graduation ! The location was perfectly located at m rural countryside with easy access to the Uni and the town ! The apartment was well built today a ver high standard and was well equipped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service extremely slow We were bitten by some insects/bugs in the location Extra charges for WIFI Should be inclusive in the rental like in other places

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic - we will be returning for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only disappointment was a small one in that there was no option to purchase breakfast during the week. Finding breakfast off-site was difficult and we ended up buying the components and making it ourselves in the flat.

    The location was amazing, beautiful grounds and views. The accommodation was very clean and very comfortable and so spacious. We will hopefully be returning for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely grounds.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very early checkout at 10am (one hour after breakfast) Breakfast served late at 9am. Late check in at 4 pm.

    Lovely grounds. Near town centre. Clean throughout and very authentic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Good equipment and spacious good leisure facility and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in second bedroom was very dark inside because of trees all around it and throws on sofa could have been doing with a clean

    Good equipment and spacious good leisure facility and main building is impressive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    It is the 5th time me and my partner have been here, every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was perfect

    It is the 5th time me and my partner have been here, every time time we come we enjoy it more, we stayed for 5 nights and it was exceptional, food was first class, staff were fantastic nothing was too much, the place was outstanding, it certainly was value for money, loved It, will be going back for a 6th visit very soon, xx

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice to try somewhere different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar felt a little formal, a little dear when comparing with a different Diamond Resort property. Didn't try the restaurant but looked a bit formal too.

    Lovely studio, plenty big enough for two. Well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    A great mini break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location for getting out and about. Our apartment was huge, set in lovely grounds. The staff were all helpful and friendly during our short break.We also received an apartment upgrade. We have already booked a return in September.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few bits were tatty but can't really detract from an excellent place (stayed 3 times within a month, so I definitely like)

    A really nice hotel in a fabulous location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Really nice place to relax and enjoy the grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice, self contained apartment with own amenities. Spacious and clean room, comfy beds and nice views over the gardens. The grounds are beautiful to walk around and Glasson Dock isn't too far away for a gentle stroll.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Spacious apartment in a green paradise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lovely spacious apartment in beautiful, tranquil and natural surroundings. Comfortable bed and pretty much everything you could wish for in the apartment and complex - even a DVD player, with DVDs available to borrow from reception. Leisure suite with pool and sauna was £10 extra per apartment for 1 day, or £25 for 3 days - and well worth it. Just a shame we were working off-site and did not have a lot of time to make the most of the beautiful venue. We will definitely be back when we have more time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit isolated without car but taxis reliable.

    Food in restaurant great. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room very spacious and comfortable. Everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a standard one bedroom apartment but were given a spacious apartment with a large lounge, bedroom and bathroom and a decent size kitchen. We didn't expect such luxury. Beautiful grounds too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 5 nights

    TV was a bit limited in room 5 sitting room, better in the bedroom. We had young kids above our room who were dragging chairs (I think) early in the morning

    We loved the area, pond and ducks, spa and pool, staff, bed and bedding - so comfy, well equipped kitchen. The room itself in the main building. It was just so relaxing - perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    Top class
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience was excellent, & it was especially good, given the room rate we obtained. Unfortunately, we were only there for one night, so we were unable to take full advantage. We will go again & this time we'll stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel - highlight recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Absolutely fantastic hotel- we stayed in the Priest Hole Room, which was superb (my children loved it). We have already looked into booking another stay next year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    4.5
    a little disappointed considering the look of the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could have been better. Carpets need cleaning. Dead bugs and flies on window sills. Have my own black light for bodily fluids.Not Good!!!!!! Paint peeling of outside windows. Needs updating. Driving up to the place however is spectacular. The quiet is magic. Mostly elderly people, seniors. The washand basin in bathroom could have been bigger. Kept banging my head when washing my face and cleaning my teeth. No wash cloths. Need wash cloths. expected a little better from the initial first look at the place. Still nice though and would probably give it another go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing weekend, stunning grounds, great walks and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non members have to pay for internet

    Ground were lovely, stayed in Studio which had a large kitchen and bathroom. Good walks from accommodation and nice bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, great staff good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is nothing bad about Thurnham Hall but, the fact I was only there for one night, could of quite easily have stayed longer. so peaceful.

    The settings and scenery were beautiful, I would most definitely recommend Thurnham Hall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    amazing hotel beautiful, clean well presented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night

    short staffed in the restaurant and slow service

    The room was beautiful well presented very clean and we were well looked after me with it being our wedding anniversary, the grounds and surrounding areas are amazing the spa facilities are well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Just stay here. You won't regret it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could only get BBC channels on the telly. Not really a big problem.

    Everything. Absolutely amazing. Such a lovely apartment. Thought we'd been placed there by mistake. Incredible...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    ☆☆☆☆☆
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Location' facilities the grounds were lovely and it was so peaceful and relaxing we had a great anniversary many thanks paul&Leanne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Overall amazing, but a shame that they charge for WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi costs £6.50 per day for only 2 devices. Then because of extremely poor reception, you don't even get data to your mobile phone. Another negative was that checkout was set to 10am which was pretty early for me. Any additional hour for checking out late costs an extra £10/hour.

    Absolutely amazing staff, amazing property, great value. I'd recommend getting to the venue a few hours earlier to really enjoy it as it is absolutely gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment we stayed in was in need of updating and a deep clean.

    The location is nice. There were ducks and ducklings roaming the grounds which my 3 year old daughter enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There appeared to be quite a number of things that weren’t available due to the transition from previous to new owner.

    Beautiful suite, wonderfully historical building and detail, excellent location and attentive, customer focused staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved every minute of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb staff, great facilities, ALWAYS happy to help. The kids gave it 11/10 their highest ever score. It was our second time there and we are all looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely break, beautiful surroundings - loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant could have been more accommodating for larger and 8.30 closing time is too early.Also the water for the showers went from scalding hot or freezing cold every time. We wouldn’t let these put us off staying again however.

    The location and surroundings were just beautiful! Really clean apartments, friendly helpful staff. We wished we were staying longer than 2 nights as it was so relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Value for money great ambience friendly staff which is a positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ooh The stairs were a killer for me having to carry the little one and luggage as well wasn’t fun. That’s the only thing I didn’t like. Everything else was superb

    The apartment was very clean with everything that we needed. ie utensils, bathroom towels, iron with ironing board toilet p, washing up liquid so on. The location is very beautiful with lots of outdoor space to sit or even walk while enjoying the lovely fresh air. There’s also kids play area and my little boy loved the ducks especially. I requested a cot and they made sure it was there before we arrived that was lovely. Parking is evidently safe in this resort with lots of parking space so be rest assured. If you love taking pictures then definitely this is the right place to capture those beautiful moments. Can’t recommend this place enough coz it was amaaaaazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Stunning looking, very clean, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out time was way too early with no flexibility to check out after 12 which was a bit disappointing.

    Stunning looking, very clean, friendly staff. Lovely scenery.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    it was for my daughters birthday , a lovely treat , with family joiing us for a meal .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night

    People who are staying should be able to use pool for free £10 a steep charge .

    The location is spectacular . Not too far from home. Room lovely .Food good in resturaunt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Avoid being in main house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we were put in main house. Which was essentially over the bar area. We have a toddler & twin babies. There were stairs & then live music downstairs till 10pm. Not fun at all. We got offered another room but at around 8:45pm when we’d put the kids to bed. We would have hoped the staff would have realised at check in this room wasn’t suitable for families. Even if we didn’t have a family you wouldn’t be happy with noise

    We have been here before & it is a very nice location & setting. The rooms away from the old main building are very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Lancaster Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little tired,only one small two seater settee a further armchair would have greatly enhanced our comfort.

    The property was well fitted out in kitchen area,and situated in quiet setting,making for a relaxing sta

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Very beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the water pressure we could hear when someone else turned taps on . The bar prices where very expensive .. The menu could be improved on and the service was very slow . ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Lovely place need some attention in terms of focus on the facilties and f and b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar was closed and the restaurant due to catering company take over When it did open not all products were available. There was a ridiculous charge per day for use of the leisure centre which had minimal equipment

    The apartment was well equipped

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Great size rooms with very comfortable beds and everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Signature
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great size rooms with very comfortable beds and everything was very clean .ousidear grounds in one area need to be cleared but other grounds were beautiful. Would of liked an outside area or patio as I booked a superior room but didn't get on x

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic building with some great historic features, in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Basic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All leisure facilities an extra cost (and not cheap). WiFi is £5.95 a day, which is a must as the phone signal is so bad - there shouldn’t be a charge for WiFi in this day and age. Walls / floors in the old building are very thin so you can hear conversations (and other things) in the rooms adjacent to yours. Check-in for us wasn’t until 4pm and check-out is 10am, so it’s a pretty short stay - breakfast isn’t served until 9am so it’s a rush to get done and ready to check out on time, particularly when it takes 20 mins to get served when the restaurant is empty.

    Fantastic building with some great historic features, in a quiet, rural location but with easy access to Lancaster. Rooms were spacious and well provisioned for self catering / longer stays. Grounds are well maintained and pretty.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Thurnham Hall By Diamond Resorts traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: