Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Preston New Rd, Samlesbury, Preston, PR5 0UJ, United Kingdom

#11 of 15 hotels in Preston

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1579 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    just a minor grumble requested some extra sugar&milk for room at reception but didnt receive it &had early start without a cuppa and bit strange lower room level i didnt think was well signed

    Friendliness of staff, lovely clean room,nice restaurant&food generally good vibe

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.0
    Spacious lounge, rooms are decent sized
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were a group of 6 ppl(3x 2 couples). We Waited 15mins to be served at reception on arrival. some staff members with very limited English. One tried to over charge me at the bar. One member of the group didn’t get a meal as it was described on menu. Staff are very un attentive. Breakfast waiter was still half asleep and very rude. If the rooms weren’t such good value for money I would’ve complained. Nice hotel. Nice rooms. Food and drink overpriced ( as per most macdonald hotels) Staff evidently need training in all areas.

    Spacious lounge, rooms are decent sized

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath leaked.. Rooms realy warm

    Staff where lovely especially the housekeepers didn't get her name I think she was the Head of housekeeping.. She could not do enough for me

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    3.8
    Memorable for a host of bad reasons
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in was impersonal; non acceptance of debit card to put charges to room; inattentive bar staff; charged £5 for a TIN (!) of Guinness; given a disabled room meaning sink was at knee level for me;

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Was a great start to our weeks holiday away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waitress not brilliant, forgot to tell us no sirloin available.

    We were upgraded on arrival. room was lovely food was great staff friendly. We booked for the return journey of our holiday, and so did other family members on our recommendation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Great recovery!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, including, Saska,( Nora and John).. also location wise can’t be faulted. We have this hotel as our “ Go To” when going North and need a stopover.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Very smart clssic hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was fine no problems at all :-)

    Really nice hotel with great staff! Very good value great for visiting Preston. Would stay agin any time :-) Damien in the bar was a star Barrista.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    6.7
    Well presented.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionist regards my booking with breakfast. When booked it was with breakfast not continental breakfast which she tried to fob my off with. Arrived late and didn’t need the issue.

    Well presented. Comfortable

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing compared to video displays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given room 246. There was an awful smell in the room so we asked to be moved. We were given room 322 which had a better view. There was no explanation as to why the room smelled so badly. The restaurant seemed to be overpriced as is breakfast. One meal included two whole leeks which were completely raw. There was no apology or explanation as to why the food was uncooked. The video playing in reception showed the best of the Macdonald hotel chain. Sadly, the Tickled Trout was not in the same league as the hotels shown. Renovation required !

    The location is good, close to the M6 junction. There are good views of the River Ribble close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.8
    Great hotel but neglect the little things that make a difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilets were disgusting. Toilet roll holders were empty and toilet paper was lying on the floors in the cubicles. Spoke to reception twice but nothing was done about it. Expected better.

    Food and room were very good. Great location as a stopping point on a long journey

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    10
    a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    excelllent location for stop over on way to scotland very friendly and helpful staff seemed like very happy place would stay again on our next drive to scotland excellent breakfast all the cooked food was of excellent quality. evening meal special good value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    5.8
    Nice people and location, but room was small, tired, worn and generally needed upgrading
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room (210) was terrible. Small, dated and beaten up. It was right by reception too, so was really noisy. I have stayed in a classic double at this hotel previously and it was lovely. In fact my colleague stayed in a classic room and paid the same as me and his room was very nice.

    Reception and lounge were nice. Breakfast was ok, but most items had run out by 8:30

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay would book again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom rather tired could do with redecorating Space in bathroom very tight as sink large next to toilet a larger person would struggle to use the loo!!

    Very comfortable room Bed comfy good selection of pillows

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed with a stay we had really looked forward to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m sorry to say the room was very average with ripped curtains and really quite cold despite thermostat being on high. My offering for evening meal was not great with ‘cool/cold’ steak and chips. The breakfast offering was disappointing with tinned fruits and stale croissants. My husband upgraded for £16.95 for a cooked option which was also very poor with quite disgusting sauce bottle tops very noticeable. I have to qualify we were given a refund on the cooked option.

    Service from all staff was good especially Scottish John behind the bar who clearly took a pride in his work.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.1
    Not what I would expect for an executive (and therefore not cheap) room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated decor in room. A really tired looking leather chair and a 'towelling finished' other chair. At least get two matching chairs. Damp smell in bathroom and the shower grout was dirty. Continental breakfast was dull. Watery yoghurt to go with the nice fresh fruit. Orange juice was that carton stuff, rehydrated with water. Why can't they get fresh orange?

    Comfortable bed. Nice fish and chips for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.1
    This was a quick stop for us as a family as we had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were not very comfortable, and we found boxer shorts in one of the drawers, I reported this to reception who apologised for this however I disposed of these myself. The TV in the children’s bedroom didn’t work and after a 5.5hr drive they wanted to watch tv and couldn’t. Attention to detail is all that’s needed to improve this.

    This was a quick stop for us as a family as we had been traveling from the south coast to Scotland for a wedding, the location is great and not to far off the motorway. We had a huge family room, which was clean. All the facilities were good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.9
    Acceptable. But room was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room furnishings rather drab. No thermostat to control temperature. Bathroom old fashioned, especially the taps. Overall, room badly in need of an update.

    Restaurant good. Location good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    5.8
    Quietish, even with window open and bed not too bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price of breakfast meant we didn't have any, we were told the garage next door did coffee's and other things if we wanted. Shower head looked pretty disgusting (half black) so chose not to use. Used bar for one drink very short staffed so long wait to be served.

    Quietish, even with window open and bed not too bad. Maybe provide 2 arm chairs as bed and pillows not comfy to sit and watch TV.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable Stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room needed a touch up as a few cracks etc are showing. The cost is about average but seemed a little dear.

    Staff were very helpful from the moment we arrived, the breakfast was excellent with many options. Room was comfortable and spacious!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Good room ,good service ,nice and clean, nice decor most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The male staff especially the gentleman on the bar could learn a lesson from the ladies and put a smile on their faces and try to look like they are enjoying Their jobs and enjoy serving the customer!! Also the customer toilets were ALL out of order which if you have a room right at the other end of the hotel and suffer from stomach problems was actually a nightmare.!! The bath panel in our room 344 needs attention as it is brown and peeling off . Good choices at breakfast but bacon overdone and tough ,hotter plates would help too.

    The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The steaks were amazing as were the desserts .All the female staff were smiling and very friendly and professional, so lovely to see they enjoy their jobs. Lovely view over river.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    6.3
    Leisure break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room we were given was dirty and smelled of smoke so we were moved. Hotel is more geared towards the business traveller rather than leisure. Could be quite noisy at times. Restaurant was expensive

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    3.8
    Very poor bed room accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom smelled and bed linen was filthy dirty and had to be changed at 12.30 at night when going to bed. Duty Manager very helpful in providing clean linen. It is apparent there is no standard maintained within the accommodation department. Duty Manager on check out did not seem to understand the importance of guest care and whilst she apologised and noted it was not the Mac Donald standard really was not listening to the guest compliant. One week from stay and not email from GM to note complaint.

    Food and service in the bar and restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.8
    There was a power cut one night which wasn’t fixed till the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a power cut one night which wasn’t fixed till the late morning . I had to attend my work meeting unshaved and unable to wash etc . Amazed they didn’t have a generator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't check in because the hotel's electrics had failed. Then we had to change rooms because the bathroom washbasin was blocked. This was a nuisance (and the cleaners must have known about it). The new room was nicer (albeit the bathroom was smaller) and on a wider, less stuffy corridor. BUT when we returned late that evening we discovered the loo was reluctant to flush! By the next morning, it refused point blank. This, plus the internal power failure suggest a failing infrastructure/poor maintence management.

    The hotel is very convenient for the M6 (which can be heard), Preston and even Blackburn, and clearly very comfortable. The staff were generally excellent and helpful. Nice views of the River Ribble.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    3.8
    First day fab but from 3a.m. completely crap. Left early to go home to get a morning brew!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got power cut at 3a.m. COULD NOT flush toilet. NO HOT WATER. .I waz on 3rd floor. Had to walk 3 flights of stairs twice with walking stick as no lift. Walking along corridor stunk like sewerage works.

    Lovely rooms. The day was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.0
    They had a major power cut (no fault of theirs) but there...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had a major power cut (no fault of theirs) but there was no electricity or hot water from 01.30am until I left at 11.00am the following day. The staff did their best but my scores reflect the difficulties I encountered.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice, good clean hotel, nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible trouble to find the hotel - not well signposted - a lovely lady on a farm nearby told me to go to the services turn off at the junction otherwise not sure when I would have found the hotel the sat nav was pretty hopeless.

    I like this hotel, it was not too formal and very friendly attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is very easy to navigate to M6 and Preston town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ceiling is a bit of low than a normal hotel, that the corridors feel like tunnel, and rooms do not have air conditioning, except limited window opening vents.

    The hotel is very easy to navigate to M6 and Preston town centre, a BP petrol station with convenience shop is also nearby. Staffs are very kind and friendly, while breakfast meals are also fresh and tasty, that all these match the quality of a MacDonald hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    A hike & a half!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After a 6 hour journey & arriving at 9.50 p.m there was no one on reception to check me in. After a wait of about 10 mins the receptionist was eventually located. I wasn’t impressed with her manner, there was no apology offered so reported this to the duty manager the following day. I was given a room right at the end of the property with 141 steps & 6 heavy fire doors to negotiate my 4 pieces of luggage. No offer of help & no one available to assist so just got on with it myself. Not impressed TT

    Have stayed here many times. The ambiance of the bar & restaurant is very good. Quality of food is also very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Handy location right by motorway but not too much traffic noise. Attentive pleasant staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't comment on the dining facilities due to other circumstances. Felt the Full English breakfast price was rather expensive so we didn't bother.

    Spacious room with large bed and spacious bathroom with a full sized bath.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing, can not understand why this hotel gets four stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were offered had a view overlooking the air conditioning units, the second room had a huge hole in the bath side panel, the third room was O.K. but the curtains had several long tears and were in poor condition. There were cobwebs in both the passage past to the bathroom and the bedroom itself, the radiator was filthy and the general impression was that the place was grubby, tired and in need of refurbishment. I asked for a cooked breakfast on the first day and I got one mushroom, half a tomato, a small sausage, one small rasher of bacon and a small fried egg. It was so small it was a shame to dirty the plate ! There was a wedding on whilst we were there and the car park was full. Some of the wedding guests left their cars there overnight, I presume because they had too much to drink, and blocked the car park spaces.

    We rejected the first two rooms but third room we were offered was spacious and had a good outlook. The buffet breakfast offered lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Perfect stop off, Scotland to Midlands. Will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could do with redecorating. More staff were needed at Breakfast, tables were not being cleared and there were shortages in the buffet. But all corrected with a smile.

    Very comfortable bed, loved the 2 chairs in the bedroom. Excellent lighting in the room. Can't fault the place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is not picturesque, but is very convenient for the motorway.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The cooked breakfast and buffet offerings were superb. Excellent value all round!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent value for money, perfect pit stop just off the motorway on our way to Edinburgh

    Excellent value for money. Great breakfast. Would definately stay there again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.5
    Good convenient stop off point for the drive south from Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was much too hot, double bed very small and the hairdryer didn’t work, but what do you expect at that price!

    Really convenient location, staff were really pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine for our purpose

    Only stayed one night as a stopover. Comfortable room overlooking the river so had a lovely view. Good breakfast. Had a meal in the bar in the evening which was fine. Rooms could do with updating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.8
    A Motorway Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the M6 is audible with the window open, so ask for a room at the back. I didn't expect a self-service tea/coffee machine at breakfast!

    This is a standard four star hotel, just off Junction 31 of the M6 and provides everything you would expect. The room was comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly and the continental breakfast was unremarkable but fine. I had a lovely view of the river at breakfast and it was excellent to find a towelling robe in the bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and clean, nice, modern decor, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely and clean, nice, modern decor, excellent breakfast selection, lots of freshly baked bread, cakes pastries etc. Staff were all fantastic! Really helpful, friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    The room was modern, clean and tidy and yes the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a bottle of beer and It cost £5-50 which I think is dear enough.

    The room was modern, clean and tidy and yes the bed was very comfortable, The bathroom was also very clean and modern, My wife had the continental breakfast and a great deal of choice, I had the full English breakfast and it was large and cooked beautifully, We could recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.9
    Otherwise great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue in room 350 were the abundance of spiders in the room. Totally harmless, but for spider haters, this would have been unaccceptable. Housekeeping need to keep on top of them and encourage them to stay outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    We were just passing through Preston.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were just passing through Preston. And this was just of the m6 so location was perfect for us. There’s a Petrol station next door which has a Costa and subway so everything we needed. Drinks in hotel bar were great. Had fish and chips in the restaurant and was one of the best I’ve ever had. Had breakfast in the morning, continental was good enough. The cooked breakfast was small but the ingredients were top notch. The beds are soooo comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel. Rooms are clean but lack power points near bed for phone charging or alarm clocks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff although very friendly could not speak clear English. But they was most pleasant.

    Very clean hotel. I stay every year. Never any discount for loyalty 😋 See you next August/September

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    annoying but food great staff good and very understanding about our problem hope something can be d
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    checking that the customers who book in properly are the ones who are supposed to be in that room not the customers that we had the misfortune of having to put up with from 3.30 am in the morning until the four girls who should not have been in the room next door left leaving myself and my wife and three year old grand daughter with no sleep due the dam noise and the annoying screaming and laughing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a strong unpleasant smell especially along the corridors. Could do with specialist cleaning. At one point soiled bedding lay in the corridors. Very disgusted

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.9
    Satisfactory and comfortable for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t thoroughly cleaned, although bed and linen were good. Bathroom really tatty - peeling paint on bath panel and unfinished bathroom door.one slice of bacon at breakfast is really mean - and I’m not a big eater. Stornoway black pudding was on menu but it certainly wasn’t stornoway black pudding.

    Comfortable and reasonably priced. Staff were nice. Lovely view of the river from our room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.1
    location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sorry to say but first room we had the toilet seat was broken the second room the wast bin was full which give you the impression the room not cleaned to required standard,so overall not a good the breakfast took 35 mins to arrive at table with bacon inedible but black pudding first class.

    location, staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    5.4
    Tiring through lack of sleep due to noise alright going in and out of reception, which 205 looks at
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room location, overlooking reception door, guests in and out all night, screaming and shouting, hen party arriving after midnight , screaming and shouting, then left about 3 in morning by mini bus, more screaming and shouting. I'd driven 300 miles and was desperate to sleep before another 300 mile drive. When I told reception, they said there was nothing they could do, didn't even offer compensation, or not yet, I've complained to head office.

    Spacious room, clean, rear view over river, restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Superb stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything

    The room was so clean I should have brought my slippers ,and the bed was the best most comfortable that I have ever experienced in any hotel anywhere ever !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    8.3
    Very acceptable. Will probably stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gluten free food available in the evening was limited.

    We had a river view and despite proximity to M6 it was quiet. Gluten free options for breakfast were good and I was even able to have toast made in the oven to avoid cross contamination.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location but alternative hotel nearby would have been a better option. (Bluebird)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of Bathroom was very small particularly as we had a room designated one above the basic. The whole Breakfast experience was well below what was expected of a Mcdonald Hotel, people queuing and unaware of how to make there own cup of tea. Tables not properly laid with cutlery and condiments not available. Food at the buffet bar was of poor standard and cold. All this and they were not busy, not sure what would have happened if it they had been. Parking very difficult as there was a wedding and the overflow car park was blocked off.

    Location and easy access to M6 and the family we were visiting. Very comfortable Bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.8
    Always enjoy food, very friendly staff and Full Breakfast though missed my black pudding on Monday😤
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from Motorway/A59etc

    Convenient for access to/from M6 and onward into Ribbleton and Preston town centre, where I have been dealing with the life - and now death - of my 92 year old Uncle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.6
    VERY welcoming helpful staff. Excellent one night stay, pity it wwasn't more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no problems at all. Would use the hotel again without any doubt.

    Arrived early, but staff accommodated us without problems. This was very much appreciated as they found us rooms that had been prepared, We expected to just leave our overnight bags etc and did not expect to be moved rooms to so early. (Two hours) Enjoyed a tea and snack outside on the river terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.9
    Very friendly staff, excellent evening meal, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly staff, excellent evening meal, comfortable lounge area. Only negative was breakfast on second morning all buffet style and very congested people queuing for hot drinks, toast machine etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and very good value and convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely convenient, clean and comfortable hotel, perfectly situated for the ongoing journey on the M6. Good restaurant and bar facilities and represents really good value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.1
    Served it’s purpose & good to catch up with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The various rates available, we were 3 groups of friends who through various sites had paid different amounts with different perks. Would be so much easier if all same.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.2
    All in all very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in restaurant good and varied choice. Service especially in evening could have been better suspect kitchen at fault and not waitresses on duty who were helpful, polite and attentive. Breakfast good and service spot on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.2
    Sunday Evening - Hotel very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add

    Sunday Evening - Hotel very quiet. Had a meal - service very quick. Only one other person at breakfast - liked early availability before we travelled on to next destination.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    3.8
    One of the worst experiences we've had staying in hotels & we stay in them a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No proper wheelchair access but said they were! Only feather pillows so no good for asthmatics etc. Old water leak in corridor so very damp smell. Carpet badly stained in bedroom. Over-inflated prices for inadequate food. Bought in pre-prepared food but not told, so half the food we ordered came with salt which I can't have - renal failure (had told waitress) - so couldn't eat, yet no refund. Terrible parking & car park & entrances were not wheelchair friendly at all! Only saving grace was a member of staff called Gareth. Awful experience & would never go again. Not recommended.

    A member of staff called Gareth who made us pillows from sheets because they only had feather pillows. Absolutely nothing else to recommend about this overpriced resting on its laurels hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant and would stay again for a short trip.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very noisy. Children running about the corridor after 10pm. It was very hot and no fan provided. Windows were dirty and covered in cobwebs/spiders

    It was good value for money and in a good location for our trip. Window faces out onto the river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.5
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom had a very damp drain type smell, the toilet would not flush without pumping the handle several times and the water pressure when running was little more than a trickle

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant food excellent although the wine was VERY overpriced in comparison to other hotels we have stayed at.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    7.1
    Accommodatiuon good but restaurant meal could of been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant level of service was poor as I was kept waiting for 20 minutes to asked what I wanted. The main meal a Scottish Burger was over cooked, the chips over cooked and only worthy of a bar meal - not an expensive restaurant meal!!

    location was good based on my business trip. Parking was good, my room was very good with a very comfortable bed in a good sized room, Breakfast was also good. Both reception and breakfast staff good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    5.0
    Shabby Hotel, OK food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tired rooms that are in an urgent need of a refresh. Staff weren't overly helpful with anything.

    The Scottish steakhouse is a superb resturaunt and the breakfast was passable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.3
    We were told that breakfast would not be available until...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were told that breakfast would not be available until after our early departure time, but when we came down we found that breakfast was being fully served - too late for us - we had to go without.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    10
    Satisfied guest
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The two chairs in our room 262+very dated. Didn’t put us off the room had a great view of the River Ribble.

    We have stayed her twice with our small dog. We were showed to our room by one of the staff who was cleaning at the time she went out of her way to show us our room. The receptionist and bar staff very friendly ( the we Scottish bar person very friendly and helpful.) would stay again when visiting Lancashire

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    Good, with a few tweaks it could be excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was like a sauna and didn't have much in the way to cool it down. The shower although powerful seemed to have one heat setting - MEGA hot! Shame that on top of an already high room rate for a sunday evening that you must then pay an additional charge for a cooked breakfast.

    Cooked breakfast was delightful. Staff at reception were super friendly and very helpful. Room was very large and the bed super comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    7.9
    Decent enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough air, window didn't open wide enough and on a hot night it was too hot. Meals a tad expensive for what they were

    Friendly, helpful staff. Room overlooking the river. Elemis toiletries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.2
    Ideal situation to break a journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen seems to struggle to cope at busy times. So preparation of food was slow, croissants ran out at breakfast (this is for a continental breakfast) and it would be a long wait until more were ready from the oven. Also the wine prices were extremely high for ordinary wines.

    Ideal situation to break a journey. The bedroom was very comfortable, the food was good, and the staff were charming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Really lovely and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I would say is a bit misleading I thought I had breakfast included but in the end didn’t that was my only critisism

    Perfect location for what we needed to do see, although a little dated around the edges hotel was clean and perfect for what we needed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.1
    Location and cleanliness albeit the elevator needs a good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff are either lovely and sincere or hard and abrupt, more of the latter than the former.

    Location and cleanliness albeit the elevator needs a good cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were clean, the staff were pleasant and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) The corridor was stinking the entire way 2) The beds were unbelievably hard and uncomfortable (everyone from the group had horrible sleep and woke up with back pains). 3) They don't tell you that the breakfast they include in the price is Continental only, not a full English. 4) The room walls are so thin, I could hear the next door guests conversation (they weren't shouting) and someone down the corridor kept slamming the room door which kept disrupting our sleep.

    The rooms were clean, the staff were pleasant and the service was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.0
    Average, it did what we needed it for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms need a freshen up and are roasting hot if during hot season. Was unable to pay with the card I booked with on booking.com. They said MasterCard was not accepted, the excuse was poor.

    Did what it said on the tin. This was an overnight for us to get by as we were travelling to Chester and needed an overnight on the way down from Glasgow

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    Tired & irritable due to lack of sleep (noise) before a long drive. Disappointed restaurant change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant now changed to Steak house, so poor selection . No fridge in room to keep water bottle cold. Bed very hard $ small. Pillows too big for the bed. Noise from party until midnight, somhad to close window, making room too hot? Noise from other rooms, banging & talking 4.20am & from 6am onwards on Sunday morning!

    Staff, very helpful & friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    Budget price stay over, very satisfied at the price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room decor and furniture looking very tired, only one cup available in made up room

    Good cheap rate which included breakfast, warm welcome, good breakfast, nice river view room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    4.6
    Rather grim!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well.... the dust on the furniture was thick enough to write our names in. The shower was mouldy on the tile work. The floor had hairs all over it. And the mirror was smeared. Here was only one plug socket that worked. Which meant I couldn’t work and charge up phone. The food was really grim and over prices

    The bed was clean and comfortable. The towels were also clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    5.0
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con bedroom drawers broken miscommunication, was told breakfast was included had to pay more than extra, didn’t feel we got value for our money at all.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Macdonald Tickled Trout Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: