Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Toomer Farm

Henstridge, Temple Combe, BA8 0PH, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Temple Combe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it is an old house and the en-suite shower really wasn't up to scratch. There was another (shared) one available - but I really like a great shower. As I say though - it is an old, beautiful, character house and they simply were not built to have great showers! Oh, and the wi-fi was iffy - but there was a pretty good mobile phone signal.

    We had a spacious room with a comfy bed. The breakfast was excellent. During the days we stayed the weather was very cold - but the house was kept wonderfully warm. There is absolutely stunning guest lounge. We were made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in the shower, but that's splitting hairs!

    lovey atmosphere - beautiful old West Country manor house, you're entering a long established family home with all that comes with it. Lovely full English breakfast Lovely towels and linen In the summer the gardens will be an absolute delight

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    problematic access to the internet - but nothing can be done about this - the owners also suffer from it.

    I liked the atmosphere - obviously a working farm - the sound of horses clip-clopping round the 'walkers', huge tractors appearing, the friendliness of people about the place who weren't staff of the B&B. Particular friendliness of the owners (who didn't mind me invading their room when they were watching TV so I could access the internet). Our room - the first time I've been in a rented room that wasn't in someway offensive - the wallpaper, the paint work, the curtains, the bedspreads, the furniture - in our room it was all perfect. the public rooms also with beautiful old furniture beautifully looked after, the garden, at this time of year,the colours of the foliage, the view to distant hills

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not working in the bedroom. Shower not powerful enough and with limescale all over. There is no light at night indicating the farm entrance (and the roads don't have any light at all). Breakfast without fresh fruit options and no jams. As a farm and with so many horses, I would expect to be allowed to go on a ride.

    Bed was comfortable. Quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Easy to find and equestrian facilities (if you like horses) ideal. Comfy bed and great breakfast. An ideal place for a few days or, like us, a one night stay on our way to SW England.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb bed so wonderful sleep especially in totally quiet countryside even with a window open. A working farm and equestrian centre so , while not intruding at all on the comfort of one's stay, does add interest . Breakfast room engendered conversation with other guests around a large table which was very entertaining. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little

    The whole ambience and attitude of owners and staff was very helpful and supportive. Also had the benefit of a glass free wine on the house each day and a visit from the local hunt! A real experience of the community and countryside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hosts were extremely helpful and hospitable. The property was pretty, clean, homely, cosy and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area. I stayed here the night before my wedding with all my ushers and their partners. They loved their stay and the host sorted a waistcoat issue that really helped us out. Stunning gardens. Just lovely!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small as was the en suite shower - but there were bigger rooms though I don't think all were en suite

    V good breakfast - lovely old house with beautiful gardens. Rabbits in abundance made entertaining viewing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The house is beautifully furnished in a wonderful location. My room was comfortable and clean, I was given the option of a room with a bath or shower. I overlooked the garden and fields. The owner was lovely, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was the best I have had. I loved being on a working farm, which is also an equestrian centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely, peaceful original character farmhouse set in a raised position in open famland. Stunning garden and outlouk from the bedrooms windows at sunrise. Safe secure parking. Comfy beds. Hearty breakfast with everything you need. Good pubs for evening meal close by. Very close to Sherborne town, castle and Cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were welcomed in a very friendly manner by the owner even though we arrived early.. The farm house was beautifully presented as was our room which was well equipped and very clean. The whole surroundings and lovely views gave a very restful feeling. The breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from all set out on our ready prepared table and the staff serving us were very friendly and helpful. The owners are very nice and we would certainly recommend their b & b . A very BIG THANKYOU for making our stay an enjoyable one!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely small TV.TV controller not working properly.Expelair not working

    The beautiful gardens-the horses-the peace and quiet-the lovely guest lounge-the warm welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a slight problem with the lock on the room door, but everything else was just fine.

    Lovely place to stay overnight, house and garden well kept, beautiful surrounding countyside. We were journeying on so didn't stay do any walking. Lots of books in the room and it seemed the ideal place to sit in the garden on a sunny day reading.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our second visit there and we loved it again! Beautiful farm and great location, the breakfasts are fab and the staff are all welcoming. Lovely room, overlooking farmland. Will be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff were all very friendly. We arrived very early in the day as we had a funeral to attend and we were allowed access to one of our rooms and made breakfast, which was very kind. I would highly recommend a stay here. Nothing was too much trouble, It's lovely and quiet so a peaceful nights sleep in a lovely comfy bed. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hosts, lovely comfortable room and family home, fantastic cooked breakfasts, beautiful location and really accommodating of our noisy 2 year old!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi as advertised and bathroom very small, felt we were confined to our room , as it was a private house, no communal lounge or seating area

    Owner was nice, a bit cheaper than others

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to turn the heating down at bedtime. It was rather warm but couldn't turn the radiator valve and the Windows had safety locks! But rather hot than cold.

    Owner and staff very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast delicious. Accommodation very comfy and homely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The lovely log fire in a beautiful lounge ,wonderful breakfast in elegant dining room ,and excellent hosts .Near to a good pub with good food .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flies, got to room and there were 7 flies around the light, Now I have worked on a farm and know there are flies but should not be in bedroom, After getting rid of all the flies I pulled the top blanket back and there was a massive beetle on the bed the size of a £2 coin. I got rid of it before my partner or her Daughter saw it as she would have made us leave.

    Friendly staff, homely lovely setting and a great Breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower in our bathroom - just a bath.

    A very relaxing atmosphere, in a working farm off the beaten track. A mostly friendly welcome, with a great cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The welcome and service given to us by all the family and staff. This included some good recommendations on where to dine and the equine facilities available at the farm

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    because its a horse farm, I didn't like the smell outside the room/main house, but its only the initial impression and things will be okay... I never thought about it again during my stay.

    Fantastic Garden and the room itself.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathrooms adequate, but could do with a little facelift!

    Bearing in mind that the accommodation is an old farmhouse and therefore has its little quirks, the owners could not have done more in trying to make our stay comfortable and welcoming. Great breakfast and, on request, my daughter was generously provided with a gluten free plate - much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Television could have been a little bigger although we didn't really watch much in the end, much nicer being out and about!

    Lovely old house with bags of character, host was friendly and helpful. Room was clean, attractive and sizeable. Surroundings were lovely especially the garden

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasional creaks from doors as guests returned to adjacent rooms....but understandably because of age of the building ....a privilege to stay in such a beautiful house.

    The beautiful house and very welcoming hosts. Wonderful bed and night's sleep. Lovely views. Horses and lovely gardens too! Excellent breakfast served on beautiful bone china.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bath would have been ideal

    Comfortable room and beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was yummy and staff friendly and helpful. Lovely family run B&B

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers were not good - in one room there was almost no water pressure and in the other it was always cold. Our bed seemed to have a hump in the middle. You need to be prepared for intense hunting decor, ornaments, memorabilia - if foxhunting not your thing, this is not the place for you.

    Spacious rooms, nice breakfast. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good but no choice on cooked breakfast other than a full English. Also had to ask for jam, only marmalade on table. The room was what I consider a small double with a tiny en-suite so I think £85 is a bit on the pricey side.

    Lovely equestrian farm setting with friendly owners who were most welcoming. The little bottle of wine in the room was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be better - quite small, no thermostatic control on shower (took ages to get temperature correct), carpet on floor around loo. Would be good to have headboard on bed.

    Nice location, great staff and breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was advertised en suite with shower, there was only a shower head on the bath tap. The kettle was disgusting, the room well worn, shabby.

    Breakfast was quite nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi either didn't exist or was so weak we couldn't get it in our room - it is an essential these days.

    Very relaxing atmosphere. Nice garden. Lovely airy room. Working farm and equestrian centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure the WiFi was up to much in the bedroom, OK downstairs.

    This is a traditional farmhouse with the proper family furniture and atmosphere. Lovely to be without the usual mass produced hotel stuff! The sitting room is a treat - so elegant and peaceful. Strong equestrian connections give it a real country feel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bright in the bedroom early in the morning so blackout blinds or linings would be good.

    Very clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed with my son whilst visiting the bath and west show. Lovely stay and great people. More than enough breakfast 🍳

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect breakfast, could not be friendlier, loved the openness to the horses on site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor in bathroom .... steamed up lots when showering

    Location was real good and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally I would have preferred a TV in the lounge.

    Lovely property with an excellent breakfast and a very helpful and friendly host.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made welcome every thing was good breakfast and good view pity we could not stay longer. Xthanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    its way way past our expectations, very very nice place I will recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower unit in bath. No bath handles or grips. No way of washing hair

    Breakfast and location Comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Homelly atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no password given for wifi.

    breakfast was very good and well presented. staff were helpful at breakfast but not on hand otherwise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quiet location. Large room, plenty of parking. Breakfast excellent and great choice. Very friendly accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower temperature erratic

    Lovely spacious room in beautiful house with view of farmland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden and farm views. Spacious room w en suite bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpful. Also very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been great to have a bath - shower room and loo all plastic.

    Very comfortable beds. Delicious cooked breakfast. Lovely hosts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much

    absolutely loved the wonderful garden . the sense of history in the house with all the pictures and books . my mother in law and I loved it

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Location and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    modernisation of bathroom could be done

    natural environment, great garden, for horse fans

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely place,friendly staff,very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Children really enjoyed the farm and horses.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed here twice, on both occasions we were made very welcome, by the way the breakfast is fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra-comfortable mattress. Beautiful cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that we can think of

    We found the room very comfortable and the bed just right. Very pleasant equestrian farm. Would go again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is dated now and needs updating, especially the en-suite.

    The bed was very comfortable and our hosts were nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit cramped.

    The room, the bed, the garden, the dogs, the people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi Breakfast Very old fashioned

    Quiet Nice location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    warm welcome, lovely house and surroundings and relaxed atmosphere. It was like staying with friends or family.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No flyscreens and ill-fitting windows meant that there were several flies in the room all night.

    It was quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all

    One of the best places I've been to would use again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They very kindly posted my phone charger back to me which I stupidly left in my room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bath no good for elderly

    Great breakfast great staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    I love shina &Peter they offered us a fantastic stay in thier B&B

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the farms fault..but 31 miles from Weymouth.,where we should have been staying.

    Excellent breakfast Accommodated us at very short notice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the bathroom

    Very nicely located place surrounded by natural resources

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was too soft for me.

    Lovely location, breakfast was lovely, the small bottle of wine was a lovely gesture.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Toomer Farm traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: