Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3 stars

Grey Hill Road, Stoneykirk, DG99DH, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Stoneykirk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is fantastic! Well kept property, friendly staff that goes above and beyond to be helpful, comfortable rooms that are beautifully decorated, and a delicious breakfast. Highly recommend staying here, my only issue is that we didn't stay longer...just wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress in the PINK Room was as hard as nails, and springs coming through the top of the mattress made for a VERY uncomfortable sleep. We decided to pull up the sheets to view the mattress to find how old it was, and the labels stated: November 2012. Was promised by the staff on duty that we could have a Complimentary night, but the Owner, Adrian, withdrew this, as he said nothing was wrong with the mattress; Adrian, you are a clueless, ignorant owner, and should not be in the hospitality trade.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast staff could do with more training. My wife and I were sitting at a table for 2 for breakfast. The room was practically empty yet the server saw fit to place a family of 5 (incl small children) right beside us which resulted in neither group being able to hold a private conversation. Bizarre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Food was excellent. The room was very comfortable but was in an annex attached to the main house. The only problem was that one had to go out in the rain and around the building to get to the main house for drinks and food incl. breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was excellent! It was very nicely furnished! The decor was bright and very appealing! As was the en-suite! Would definitely stay there again!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, honestly it couldn't have been better.

    A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. We wanted somewhere to stay where we could visit the Mull of Galloway and Portpatrick, and it was within easy reach of both, handy for Logan Botanic Gardens (10 mins or so away) too. We stayed with a 6 year old, so the playpark in the meadow beside it and the alpacas in an enclosure on site were a big hit. Breakfast was lovely, the staff were so friendly and the room was stunning. It's a 3 star hotel but was more like 4 stars, the room we stayed in (suite 1) looked like it had been very recently decorated and all the fixtures and fittings seemed new. The bathroom was the size of my wee boy's room at home, with a big walk in shower and a bath with feet. :) Everything was spottless, and the beds were comfy. It was stunning, I'm glad we found this wee gem of a place and we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was breakfast..eggs over cooked every day .. poached scrambled or fried, I wouldnt have sent them out. Also not asked if white or brown toast just came mixed, also not asked if we wanted more with breakfast as it was cold wen breakfast arrived . Staff were great and rooms lovely but breakfast just needs a bit more care.

    Staff very friendly and location great. Beds comfy and rooms are stylish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, due to a busy Bank holiday, some of the items on the menu (the ones we fancied!) were not available

    The bedrooms had been recently renovated and the room we stayed in was perfect! The dining room was a book lover's dream, with book shelves on every wall filled with books for every taste!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was described as the 'Wee Front Room', and was definitely wee, as was the ensuite bathroom. However it was adequate for a night or two's stay.

    The hotel had rustic country charm, and was in a beautiful setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only booked the day before so wouldn't complain and we were lucky to get the last room which was described as the wee room. The ensuite had a great shower but the very small sink was above the toilet and very cramped.

    Very good location. Lovely garden. Very friendly staff. Good food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location, peaceful and very picturesque , great staff, great food, great ambience, just everything great, very pleased and would definitely recommend. Thanks again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a bit to firm for us.

    Food was excellent both Dinner and Breakfast. Cleanliness excellent, recently refurbished Hotel to a very good standard. Staff were great, very professional and helpful, great ambience, a very well run proper small country house hotel. We will definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double room very small OK for the night before catching the ferry but I would not want to spend a holiday in it - and we only had a view of a porch roof. Nicely furnished, otherwise comfortable

    Food fine - pub grub, well cooked, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young bar staff friendly and enthusiastic but clueless about Scottish whisky. When asked about a recommendation for a local single malt “Teachers” was recommended as a popular choice. Nothing against Teachers but hardly local. No other facilities in village.

    A lovely well decorated comfortable room. Friendly staff. Good dinner and breakfast. Breakfast staff kindly added a little whisky to our porridge at no extra charge. Located in a quiet village 10 minutes from Stranraer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The Hotel on a hole exceeded my expectations. I do not understand why it is only 3 Star rated?! The service and food were excellent, the rooms were spacious and well laid out. Comfortable and homely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a MUST! Staff, building, surroundings, breakfast, rooms, facilities, everything is superb! Cannot fault anything. Spacious and meticulously throughout, with furnishings and cleanliness. The staff are so friendly and I was welcomed by the owner himself. Breakfast was made to order (perfect poached eggs prepared by the charming and smiling chef!).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The newly refurbished bedroom was excellent,all finished to a very high standard,the bar/dining room was very comfortable and welcoming.We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stop there again .We would recommend anyone staying in the area to consider Torrs Warren .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn’t like about the hotel

    I loved the nice homely atmosphere. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. They offered a variety of breakfast, continental and a full cooked breakfast. The room was clean and tidy and the bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ere greeted by the owner on arrival and we stayed in recently decorated rooms. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were friendly and helpful. Extremely pleased with the property which far exceeded our expectations for the price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room booked and although lovely and brand spanking new, the children were a bit cramped in a single and a blow up bed in a double room. Not much space to manoeuvre. Room is better suited for a couple only. No hot water available for shower in the morning.

    Lovely clean room with super big bath. Breakfast was lovely. Evening meal was fabulous, veg options limited but very, very tasty. 😀

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paul and his team did everything they could to make our family welcome and comfortable during our short stay. We were lucky to have a newly refurbished room complete with roll top bath and rain shower. The family room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. We dined at the hotel which had different dishes each day that were very nice and good value for money. The bar was also reasonably priced. The hotel is in a great location to explore South West Scotland, the hills, beautiful beaches and castles. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wee Room Front was a little bit tight with no bedside lockers.

    The staff were really lovely. Friendly and helpful. The meals were wonderful. We really like the hotel. The overall experience is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely, and very accommodating. We had a baby with us and they made everything so easy. The room was warm and big with a fantastic four poster bed! It was a very great find :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Gorgeous, quaint property with genuinely friendly staff and a resident hotel puppy in training! Paul the new owner went out of his way to make us welcome, we will certainly return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff very friendly. Great 4 poster room! Dinner was excellent. Big roaring fire 👍 beautiful area, beaches, lighthouse and cliffs just down the road with stunning sunset. Top stay :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cantankerous, geriatric lock on bedroom door

    No glitz but everything worked, bed was supremely comfortable, quiet location, excellent (free) wifi and digital tv reception, good breakfast. A number of nice touches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very friendly and caring owners and staff. Lovely meal, great full breakfast with the best ever fried egg. Very accommodating to all our needs and requests.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say

    We only stopped for one night before catching the Cairnryan ferry. Had a family room as taking our daughter to start Uni - very comfortable, beds for 4 plus a sofa. TV in room, en suite shower - ample tea and coffee supplies for all of us. Very comfortable mattress. Wi fi for daughter was essential but it would not speak to my lap top. Basic pub grub cooking, but served hot an plentiful. Staff were extremely helpful. Lots of information in the room, and from the proprietress if you needed it. Very friendly, warm and hospitable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythingwill

    The bed was terrible cheap horrid mattress on suite was a Joke shower perthetic a very unpleasant experience did not chance the breakfaste

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing the meal was disgusting, the bed had a three inch thick mattress I could go on I think it would be if I did not

    There was nothing that I liked I would never recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    interior a bit tired and in need of upgrading but still good value

    The property is quite remote but in beautiful setting. Accommodation dated but all clean and tidy. Hosts and staff on the ball, freindly, tentative and efficient and the food was very good. Breakfast perfect. Would recommend for value for money. We were in bay front room which was nice and spacious but daughters double was quite cramped

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very old needed updating, room full of dust !! Hairs in the bathroom when we arrived. The bed was very hard. It was like an old care home would not recommend anybody to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room much too small for a double ( it was called the "Wee Front" room and it lived up to it's name). About 18 inches between bed and one wall. As the only place to store our cases was the floor on the other side we had about 12 inches clearance. Bedding a horrible green, carpet very thin. Toilet prevented shower door fully opening. Basin shelf had broken some time ago and clumsily stuck back on. At 6 pm my wife was told firmly she could not sit and have a drink in the bar because all tables had been booked for an evening event starting at 7pm. Difficult to use the room key; the trick is too leave approximately 1.5 inches out of the lock before it will engage.

    Breakfast average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overstretched staff - one person appeared to be covering the restaurant, taking orders and serving at tables, the bar, reception and showing new guests to their rooms

    Friendly, old fashioned comfort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift to rooms on first floor which was awkward for my wife who has difficulty with stairs. Our room was clean but we kept getting flies in from the ivy on the outside of the building.

    The room was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and a pleasant view out the front of the hotel. Breakfast and dinner excellent. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked wee room, and it was wee, when I visit again will book large room, Other wise very good , nice and peaceful. Brilliant location for sight seeing.

    Full English breakfast to be recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil

    Welcoming and attentive staff, clean, comfortable and relaxing environment, very quiet during the night, comfortable beds, easy parking in well maintained garden ground. Traditionally prepared food from an extensive menu is served appetisingly in very generous portions and a well stocked bar. Great breakfasts. En-suite facilities have been grafted into bedrooms and whilst small they do offer clean and modern facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay too long as we arrived in the evening and had to leave early (6.15am). However, the service was great and seeing as we would have missed the usual breakfast time, the staff offered us a packed breakfast. There were options on a sheet that we picked and we picked them up from the reception fridge. So thoughtful! The shower was nice and we all enjoyed a long shower before heading off early. The food in the restaurant was really nice and the portion size was too much for our family and were too stuffed, although we did attempt to eat a dessert!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast last serving was at 9.00am and dinner last serving at 8.00pm, both rather too early for us. Dinner was served in the front bar which was quite small and felt a bit crowded.

    Good sized room, peaceful location. Food was very good. The hotel has character. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the wee room and it lived up to its name. (very small). The bed was very hard and only a standard double so didn't get much sleep.

    The food was good and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    mattress on bed rather too firm for our comfort , and the four poster frame squeaked a bit whenever you turned over in bed

    in a quiet countryside location with good views - off the public road about 300yards, so no traffic noise .Able to get a reasonably priced evening meal and a drink without need to travel anywhere else .Nice welcome from owner. Very good sized room - much bigger than the average .No noise from other guests

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely staff. A blend of homely and efficient accommodation. Good food. We would certainly re-visit and feel happy to recommend Torrs Warren to anyone else, and I'm surprised my comments only elicited a 7.9.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not over impressed with evening meals which were mainly microwaved. It was the beginning of the season so hotel was very quiet and evening meals were served in the bar area.

    We were allocated the bedroom with the four poster bed which was lovely. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were cooked to perfection and served in a pleasant dining room. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room which was the last one available as hotel was fully booked. Still comfortable though.

    The waitress and the staff at breakfast the following morning were really friendly and told us interesting facts about the locality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Really friendly hotel with a cosy bar serving very good food. Stayed here as very convenient for the ferry to Ireland. Have stayed previously and enjoyed each visit. Will be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about Torrs Warren Country House - would thoroughly recommend it.

    Friendly efficient staff. Comfy clean bedrooms. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building was tired looking with dead ivy clinging to the outside of the building. There were dead rotting plants dotted around and rusting garden furniture covered in bird droppings, it had the look of an abandoned building! Clearly the owners have given up!

    The food was excellent thanks to Dawn and Clare the 2 chefs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold at night. Building is a bit tired. Bar closed at 9:00pm (on a Friday!), so no lounge area to sit in of an evening.

    Staff were friendly. Location was remote (if that's what you want - we did). Breakfast choice was limited, but tasty enough. Rooms were clean and tidy (if a tad small).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    lovely country house hotel, very clean, staff excellent in all ways. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Meals and breakfast were very generous in size. will definitely be back. This was an excellent stay and great for visiting places in the Scottish countryside or having an escape from a busy life.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We travelled from Lancashire & were going by ferry to Ireland. This Hotel was a good stopover for the night. Very helpful management & staff, nothing was to much trouble for them. Rooms very comfortable & warm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff lovely and friendly, meal in bar at night was freshly made an very tasty. The packed lunch made for us travelling was a lovely touch, really kind.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....everything was top notch

    The hotel was lovely in a peaceful location. Very helpful friendly staff and food was plentiful and delicious. Very highly recommended. Made to feel welcome by owners. Couldn't fault anything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, would happily stay again

    Food was great, even gave extra veg for our baby, staff friendly, like others have said, room was small but clean & cosy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about our stay was fantastic from the staff to the location and the food to the room. Would highly recommend it. Will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, would have loved to stay longer.

    Amazing 1729 building with all period features restored, warm welcome, good food. Great garden if the weather permits.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was poorly heated, could do with redecorating, the shower temperature could not be regulated and leaked. I know we had a little dog with us which we paid extra for,but still expected a decent room

    Breakfast was good and staff were very pleasant We were even offered a sausage for our dog.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a hotel, it is inaccurate to describe it as so. It's an old house with a very limited bar and even more limited 'restaurant'. Food (and drink) is awful, lower standard than the most basic expectation of barfood. Bar and 'Restaurant' only open from 6 to approximately 9 p.m. Blow heaters were needed to keep the place relatively warm.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good and would recommend the hotel. Only remark is that we had one of the rooms were pets are allowed and we thought it was a wee bit tight for a family of 4 with a dog. No armchairs or sofa, quite basic. However It was ok for 2 nights. The rest of the hotel is grant.

    Very clean. Good food and drinks, both reasonably priced. Would recommend the steak pie which was excellent. The desserts were really good too. All staff was nice and very helpful. There was a nice and warm atmosphere in the bar with a traditional live band on Hogmanay which was great and it was nice to sit by the open fire. Lovely area to visit too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although "pet friendly" on arrival we were informed we had to access our room via steep outside steps which were poorly lit and that pets weren't allowed in the hotel so we were unable to use restaurant or bar and had to leave our dogs in the car while we ate breakfast. The room was dingy, lit by table lamps with stained shades, cold, although electric heater provided did improve room temp but bathroom freezing and condensation led to pool on hospital style flooring so wet feet! Hideous 80s decor. No WiFi in rooms and lurid pink portable TV screen froze constantly.

    Breakfast although not outstanding was acceptable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very quiet location, slept very well. Handy for travelling to several attractions in Galloway such as mountain biking at Kirroughtree and walking around the Mull of Galloway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If a hotel describes itself as pet friendly I would expect my dog to be allowed in the bar area. We were disappointed to have to leave him in the room.

    Gillian was fantastic and could not have been more helpful or friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed at 9pm, earlier if you finished your meal which for a hotel was not expected. Although you could take a drink away with you there was no other sitting area other than your bedroom. Having young children the main point for us of choosing a hotel over a B&B was to have on site facilities, to have the chance of a couple of social drinks and to stay up a bit later on holidays. Would have been useful to be told that the bar closed early.

    Food was lovely, good choice and good portions. Having the choice for the children of large or small main courses in addition to offering veg or salad with the kids meals was great instead of the usual chips and beans option.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't think it could be improved upon at all, what they do they do to a very high standard.

    Fantastic country hotel, lovely setting in a great place to explore the Galloway Pennisula. Staff and owners made you feel very very welcome and could not have been more helpful, the dining area was nice and relaxed and offered some delicious food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit tired but minor.

    Staff were brilliant. Food was good. Setting couldn't be better. Local knowledge of Jim, the proprietor invaluable.Everyone very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no amenities nearby, you have to drive about 6 miles to the nearest place

    The Location is Brilliant very peaceful and you get a good sleep. The staff couldn't do enough for you everyone was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    The bedroom we had was amazing it was a hugh fourposter room, wonderfully equipped the staff was great very friendly nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast very good, the evening meals were exceptional, the area was very peaceful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some furnishings and fittings could do with a little upgrading, getting a wee bit tired looking. Bar only open until 8.30 pm when we were there.

    Breakfast was very good, plenty space in the bedroom, nice outlook, big bed, spotlessly clean. Hotel is quite old-fashioned, some of furniture too. Dining room is nice. Nice small garden with a couple of tables and chairs outside. Owner helpful regarding local walks. Can't comment on dinner as didn't eat there. Breakfast is between 8 and 9 and you have to specify exactly when. Area is lovely and much under-estimated. Stoneykirk itself is very small but lovely places nearby like Portpatrick and nice beach locally.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front door key necessary after 2100 - not an easy key to use!

    Cooked breakfast included and full bar service available (at least, up to 2100). The location is perfect for travelling around Galloway, an area of great beauty but not many good hotels!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling with 2 grandkids, ages 4 & 6, and 2 dogs. The room was a good size and had a separate external entrance. Adjacent to the hotel is a large fully fenced public park which is great for the dogs and the kids. We had an evening meal in the bar. The kids menu was excellent with a better selection of meals than most hotels and restaurants. The kids both enjoyed their really cheesy macaroni. All in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Full Scottish breakfast was lukewarm, apart from the beans, being served on unwarmed plates. The service in the dining and breakfast room wasn't particularly attentive to customer needs eg customers arriving after us being given priority in ordering meals and fruit juice/grapefruit segments not being replenished timeously at breakfast time.

    Coutryside location, countryside and garden views. Within easy travelling distance of the coast and visitor attractions. Clean bedroom accommodation. Good selection of meals on the restaurant menu.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the money... Nothing!!!

    The staff and owner were very friendly, family run interested in their guests. The beds were very comfortable, more like home that a hotel. Location is very quiet and out the way, very peaceful. Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are always some little things in a old hotel but not worth mentioning because that would be nitpicking. Just a great hotel!

    Beautiful location, peacefull and quiet. Very friendly, helpfull staff with good humor. Lovely room and good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was tiny and shower even smaller. Hotel a bit dated and needing some up-grading.

    The staff were pleasant and helpful. Decent parking available. Hotel reasonably quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was rather small which we were unaware of when we booked it..Because of the limited space we had to keep our luggage in the car. The bed however was very comfortable.

    We liked the lovely location and the appearance of the building. We also liked the breakfasts and the service from the friendly staff. The evening meals were very generous !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    although we mailed to say we required non smoking QUIET room, as have special child, we were next to room with three extremely loud workmen with paper walls and lots of smoking and NOISE. Poor show!! Never again😡 not the holiday we hoped for.

    Owner didn't want kids to have main breakfast........ , we did pay for it though.... Kitchen staff couldn't be nicer, shame about management.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    GPS sent us to the hotel via a back road along some winding roads through long stretches of fields. We weren't sure if we were lost or not. Signage would help.

    눇 Cindy & James (John Klees) run an excellent hotel. It is a bit out of the way but that's what we were looking for. Food is very good. Pricing for value..very good. A quiet, peaceful, restful stay. Very clean!

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: