Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tower House 1066 4 stars

28 Tower Road West, Hastings, TN38 0RG, United Kingdom

#28 of 30 B&Bs and Inns in Hastings

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Contacted the Hotel twice via Booking.com to advise that I had been hospitalised due to a spider bite. Hotel couldn’t be bothered to reply and charged my card for full balance

    I have stayed at the hotel before and found it pleasant and a good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was allowed into room before normal time and bed was very comfortable- of all hotels visited this was the most generous on milk tea and coffee sachets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets a bit stained and worn through on the stairs. The front door was very grubby and sticky and in need of a good clean.

    Old fashioned, charming, very comfortable, nicely furnished and a good full English breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the extractor fan next door when it was switched on, needs a bit of maintenance - something was grinding!

    Really comfy bed, plenty of tea & coffee in room. Breakfast was quick too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty roomms full of mold broken kettle on the ancient chest of drawers. Wardrobe had a broken door with sharp edges. The water pipes were very noisy and kept us awake all night lack of toilet roll in the bathroom . Beds were very soft not to my liking found hair in the bed so we laid on top but didn't get any sleep anyway. Breakfast service was good but the food was very cheap poor quality.

    I liked leaving this pit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the property isn't loved or looked after. The front garden is overgrown. The stair carpet is worn and threadbare. The woodwork inside of the property is chipped. The carpet in our bedroom had small stains that could easily be cleaned and the shower had mould. The outside road is busy with cars racing up the hill, you can't have your windows open at night which is a shame but wasn't too much of a problem for us, could be for other guests. Breakfast is served only from 8-9am which isn't very long and I think to early if you are away having a break. This b&b could be fabulous with a little investment and love.

    The property is old and full of character, a beautiful house. A great location for the festival that we attended at the Oval. When we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely lady. We had a hot and freshly cooked English breakfast each morning. We stayed in bedroom 2 which is a lovely size room with four poster bed and ensuite. The room is bright and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very limited. Did not see very much of the staff, as reception was mostly unattended during our stay. Those we did eventually see and speak to were more than helpful and attentive.

    Location of the hotel was ideal for the purposes of our visit to East Sussex

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. It was a four poster but very dated, very creaky and very uncomfortable, leaving us with aching backs and necks the following morning. The bedside light was out as well as the mirror light on the bathroom. The plumbing system was very noisy so after a toilet flush, about 40mins later the pipes made such a loud noise that it woke us during the night. Apparently this was a problem with the room next to us, which we were told the following morning. But would have been nice to have been told when we checked in! I did complain when we checked out and made a suggestion of a refund or part refund, but they didnt seem bothered. Very disappointing. Still waiting for contact from them to let me know what they'll do about our disappointment?!

    Sadly not much...although the owners recommended a lovely Thai restaurant at the end of their road which was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room,shower poor. Dining room bit grubby, dirty windows chipped paint,dated.Breakfast soggy,veg sausage dry and not nice. Toast cold and coffee bland.

    Comfortable bed, nice sheets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were good size Clean linen Single room was quaint

    Lawns needed doing looked unkept Needs new carpets very tired Breakfast ok no mushrooms but on menu?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable 4 poster bed but it moved and rocked alot the room was tired and grubby shower was mouldy carpets in the entrance hall were threadbare garden over grown

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been a bit cleaner, stairs about tricky & carpet worn on the stairs.

    Lovely room, beautiful garden. Lovey old building. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperamental very low pressure.

    Room comfy No1 more space then last time No3.was peaceful especially after days work.very convenient to where i was working.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet didn’t flush very well and the cold water tap in the bathroom had a tendency to drip.

    The staff are really helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some areas of the house could do with some TLC but this doesn't affect your stay.

    Staff very friendly, Michael made our stay! nothing was too much trouble. Lovely garden, nice rooms, clean and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good too. Overall we felt relaxed and welcome,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice characteristic B&B, friendly staff and lovely cooked breakfast. We stayed in room 8 which was spacious and even had 2nd bed. Was equipped with everything we could have possibly wanted for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet to close to head height towel rack so could knock your head in standing up. Water pressure low so not great shower but it did work!

    Proper decent breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was damp everywhere. Bed /floor poor cleaning etc. asked to move. Twice asked for heating to be turned on. Everything was worn and tired. Nothing resembling the spiel in the trip reports. Bar was non existent. Our friends also had to be moved to other rooms. No one to give help. Owners didn’t seem to care and no fruendly goodbyes or any move to show any warmth at all. ( Three of us staying!!)

    Breakfast was good. The lady receptionist was very sweet and had the good grace to very embarrassed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been better had we stayed a bit longer next time we will return to Hastings we will book this guest house again

    Room was ok but a bit small it was very nice and warm, staff was friendly easy to park and easy to get to.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like .

    A fantastic little find reasonably priced with very friendly staff went out of their way to make me breakfast early because they knew I was leaving early.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a couple of problems with the shower door, and you also had a step down from the shower to the floor I made a mental note on the way in to avoid slipping on it, on the way out. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast, "No Weetabix ?" I asked, solved in a jiffy. I can highly recommend the "Sticky Sausages", cooked just how I like them, hope you understand what I mean.

    Pleasantly surprised, very nice big room, lovely Décor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable four poster bed. Spacious room, interesting eclectic mix of furniture and fittings. A perfect breakfast, extremely well cooked and flavoursome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More a comment on the previous users than the hotel. The drawers in the wardrobe were broken but no great concern to me. Nice bathroom en-suite.

    Pleasant clean room with friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Location with relatively easy street parking suited me. Fairly level access to room which suited a wheelchair user.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room wasn't cleaned on two occasions. Breakfast was basic - no fruit or yogurt or continental alternative. Prefer 8-10am rather than 8-9am breakfast.

    Large room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was under stocked as it was off season.

    Everything was in good decorative order. I had a lovely room with en suite, white new looking towels and bed linen and a double bed all for me! There was also a bar and cosy seating area down stairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was cold despite running it for a long time - unable to shower due to how cold it was. Staff not available in the early morning (7:30) for checkout and no checkout procedure so I had to leave keys in the room. Breakfast is served at 8-9am so wasn’t able to experience this as I was travelling for work and had to leave at 7:30. Toilet cistern ran for a long time to refill so I ended up turning the water off in the cistern as it was running a long time overnight.

    Staff were nice and accomodated me leaving bags there to pick up after finishing work in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get in touch with reception for an iron. Had to walk up about 8 times. Got one in the end. The bell for reception doesnt work. Should leave a mobile contact if you are away from the desk for a while.

    The bed was comfy and was a quite location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were abit casual at times. Some of the fittings could do with an upgrade. The chair in the dining room had a loose arm that came off in your hand. One day our room was not serviced.

    The informal atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was musty. The bathroom had a broken shower so was forced to shower in cold water. There were no staff to report this to. The rooms could do with a good clean. For me the experience was one of the worst even for the standards of a budget overnight accommodation.

    The location was central

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ambience. Decor very tired, dated and tatty. Central heating not very efficient. Room and bathroom radiators didn't give out much heat, especially on the coldest night of the year so far. There was a portable heater in the room and without the use of that we would have been very cold. The room was too small to accommodate a double bed and a single bed. No chairs in the room. I would suggest the whole property needs complete refurbishment. On reflection we should have booked at the Premier Inn which was the same price.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. View from window was pleasant. It had all the amenities that I needed. It was staffed by pleasant, amenable people. Breakfast was good, I was offered more tea if I had wanted.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no fruit for breakfast but there was fruit juice. The bar wasn't fully stocked but never mind, they had a bar.

    Beautifully decorated elegant Edwardian property. My bedroom and bathroom were spacious (I had a bath and a shower) and I had a comfortable double bed all for me. The white bed linen and towels appeared new.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't told on the day of arrival when breakfast was the next day or any info. And no note in the room. Wi-Fi code was wrong we found the correct one on the back of a hotel card. Radiator was very hot had to YouTube how to switch it off. No fire detector in our room until half way through our stay. Parking has to be timed right or you'll end up half way up the road. The room had info in the drawers from 2015, someone's charger still plugged in, inside the one draw was something resembling an ashes pot and xmas dexorarions.

    The bed was comfy and the room was very pretty, parking was right outside if you got the right timings. Staff very friendly and positive they left sweets out for guests over the Halloween period and fresh water and biscuits were provided daily.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiator took hours to work, dusty carpet not clean, shower pressure rubbish and worn out overall hotel run down.Visited here few years ago and came back with high expectations, it's now run down and in desperate need of some TLC.There was no honesty bar, completely empty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated and tired. Large bottles of Shampoo and shower soap, not individual size. Wardrobe full of blankets making it difficult to hang coats and clothes. Nice chest of drawers but drawers smelt musky so unable to use. Never enough cereal spoons at breakfast, if you have 10 guests then will probably need 10 spoons!

    Very pleasant staff. Excellent Cooked breakfast. But needed to be more vigilant on table laying. Bed and pillows comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee wasn't nice at all and we had to wait quite a while for our breakfast but the young lady on duty worked very hard.

    The staff were lovely. Very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very dirty and exceptionally tired as was the whole building and the staff were not helpful or easy to find. Not good value for money. Needs a complete overhaul and really don't know how they get such good reviews. Would never stay here again. In fact this spoilt the weekend for us.

    Reasonable location not too far away from Hastings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The room was absolutely perfect for me and my 9yr old daughter and 3 yr old granddaughter. The breakfast selection was great and tasted delicious!! Lovely staff too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management weren't that helpful and failed to listen to what was being asked. The room was cluttered with too much furniture and what was there was either broken or lacked comfort i.e. The bed was out of Allo Allo and totally uncomfortable. The table that is used as a stand for the 'over the top tv' is rickety and the drawers stick. The wardrobe is also over the top and the three drawers in it are of no use as they have no bottom in them. The shower is a nightmare to operate and has no power. There was a hook on the bathroom door but when we tried to hang something on it, it fell away from the door. There are no glasses for water supplied. The curtains only open so far and you had to climb over a single bed to get to them and they were falling off the rail. There is only one window that opens. There is no customer information regarding breakfast times, local information, booking out times, emergency numbers etc etc. The reception area is like something from an American Sleeze movie. The Breakfast Staff require training in service and catering skills. The waitresses have the ability to serve only one order at a time and on our second day were in such a muddle that she had to continually clarify orders, mixed up orders and continually apologised for errors. The chef on the second day had very little catering skills serving up burnt or over greasy food and the coffee was like Bovril. The furniture in the dining room was uncomfortable, outdated and the chairs felt like they would collapse. Apart from from our arrival we never saw the owners/ management again. On departure there was no one to take in our keys or thank us for our custom. Trying to find the property in the dark is difficult. The sign is obscured by an overgrown garden and the lovely old ornate garden lamps are not switched on. Please be aware that having paid for your stay on booking, that half has only been taken, so ON ARRIVAL you have the rest to settle.

    The location was about the only positive for this guest house

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely comfortable room. Everything thought of to make our stay memorable. Pleasant staff, lovely young girl running breakfast needed some help. Run off her feet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    tv no signal, wireless weak, used mobile as hotspot

    lovely large room top floor, quiet, very comfortable, great cooked breakfast, free parking on the road nearby, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arritved 2230 following a 41/2 hr drive unable to see property signage in the dark lightts not working very poor greeting -told me i was late for check in and the person concerned was very tired. taken to room via the kitchen. door lockable with a key only did not feel safe room mirror on wardrobe broken,soiled seating pad on chair-hence sat on he bed! cobwebs lots of them down side of wardrobe, room next to garden which needed care -statue of a lady without her head

    shower water pressure great lovely clean towels waitress at breakfast additional blanket on bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a big fan of on street parking, however we didn't have any trouble parking right outside!

    The building is large and welcoming for a B&B. Our room had beautiful views over the garden and quirky en-suite which added to the romance of the room. The breakfast had ample options and the full English was good. We were dubious about the quality of the mattress as I am a big lad and it didn't feel substantial at first inspection, however we both had an excellent nights sleep. We would stop here again without hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were non existent. The most conversation we had with staff was when they asked what we wanted for breakfast. There was no one at reception the whole time we were there we had to call to get someone to check in

    The room was nice and clean. Good room facilities. Bed was comfy and had a good night sleep. Despite the awful weather outside, room was nice and warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed some attention. The toilet seat was not secure and the window surrounds/secondary glazing needed cleaning.

    The breakfast was excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. The two people we met were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is a tad worn. No gluten free bread at breakfast.

    Easy to find, street parking was available outside. Property is clean and staff were pleasant enough. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a bit of a risk leaving the car too far away on the roadside

    Very quaint guest house, was greeted very warmly and shown to our room (Room 4). The room was very spacious had a 'romantic' vintage theme to it, the bed was very comfortable had a great nights sleep that once we woke up and got dressed we fell back asleep! The bathroom was down a set of wooden stairs from the room and had a corner bath, the room was definitely above expectations and great value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought both rooms I booked were on the ground floor but only one room was and the other was two floors up.

    There was a bath as well as a walk in shower in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - was all good

    staff friendly and helpful . when i was late booking in after 10pm it was no problem for them. The breakfast was very good - there were even vegetarian sausages for people that don't eat meat. Room was lovely and very clean . Wonderful views out the two windows of the beautiful garden. I enjoyed the sunny terrace where i took my coffee after breakfast. A lovely quiet spot overlooking the garden. The whole hotel was very clean, bright and airy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is literally not a bad thing I can say about the place.

    Beautifully decorated, situated really close to amenities, but far enough away that it was peaceful at night. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was pleasant. Breakfast was amazing, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day and everyone seemed to enjoy working there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to note

    We were in room at top of the house. Sea front walking distance, as is Warrior Square Railway Station, but it is all hill to walk back. Clean, had the faciltiies as advertised and nice breakfast in the morning. Wife liked the back garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in the attic at the front and there was noise from the road. Plus a noising water tank so was kept awake when others ran the water.

    Staff were welcoming

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable , There was no fruit or yoghurt on offer for breakfast just a selection of cereals. The walk to town and beach took a little longer than advertised however there was an excellent bus service at end of road. As we were on top floor of property the WIFI connection was not that good.

    Room was a good size we were allocated a different room than what was expected on arrival, Breakfast was good plenty of toast and coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quiet a walk to reach the city by foot.

    The room is spaceous, clean and comfy. The bath is also big, enough for two at once. The breakfast includes something tasty for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the picture on the TV screen was poor due in part to the instability of the TV stand.

    The room was very quiet and the bed was very comfy so I slept very well. There was also more choice on the breakfast menu and I can stay at this guest house at any time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't wait for business or leisure to lead me back to Tower House 1066, I really enjoyed my stay. I received a lovely friendly welcome, the room and the bathroom was great, the accommodation felt very homely, I had a tasty full english breakfast, and enjoyed the gardens too. It is a ten out of ten from me!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed and towels very clean but room could have done with some more dusting. The shower could also have done with an extra scrub but it worked well. Bedside table lamp didn't work but was replaced very quickly. Only one person cooking and serving breakfast and it was a bit hectic but the lady was very friendly and helpful.

    Comfortable bed. We stayed in the garden room with direct access to the lovely garden where we sat with our cup of tea. The property is located in a quiet residential area. It takes about 15 minutes to walk down the hill to the seaside. There is an excellent Thai restaurant just down the road (2 minutes walk).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not have bottled water in the room. This would have helped especially in this hot weather. Some biscuits would have been nice with the tea and coffee facilities.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location of the hotel nice and quiet. It was not near the main part of Hastings which is usually noisy especially in the evening so this was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The various bad smells ranging from stale cigarette smoke, beer, damp & urine. Badly stained carpets in in room & public areas.

    Good English Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowhere within walking distance to get a meal.

    Parking on street free and easy to find space. Very friendly staff. Very flexible and nothing any trouble. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower bath did not have adequate safety rails in the correct position. Street parking often meant an uphill walk to my car, very difficult with luggage. Because of the slope of the hill, I had to drive to access any shops for food, etc.

    Room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated and needed maintenance Bed and breakfast no communication as to where the butter was? Or even if extra tea was needed. Not impressed. Certainly not 4 star

    Room very dated and needed maintenance Bed and breakfast no communication as to where the butter was? Or even if extra tea was needed. Not impressed. Certainly not 4 star

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom we asked for was a four poster bedroom! It was smelling they had a disabled toilet in there it was terrible it was our anaversey !! Too I'd like my money back and Sunday morning there was no staff anywere

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable and rickety making noise every time I breathed let alone moved. Shower did not work unless you held the tap on and the shower head was broken.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tap in the sink didn't work The shower start / stop button didn't work Small amount of toilet roll The single bed in room 5, was extremely squeaky and uncomfortable. So much so , that not only could be my wife (who sleeping on it) couldn't get to sleep, neither could I as I was being woken by the constant squeaks. Then came breakfast. Having requested a Gluten Free breakfast for my wife via Booking.com on arrival the receptionist had no knowledge of this whatsoever blaming Booking.com for sending through blank emails with no details on it. The receptionist then made a note of this saying they would ask the staff to buy Gluten Free food as they were about to go shopping. On the morning of the breakfast. the staff member again had no knowledge of this and there was no apology made at any point. The staff member was rather manic and flustered in all of his dealings with customers and work throughout the breakfast service. It was very off-putting

    Wifi worked well Cleanliness of the room was fine Nice view Breakfast was nice Use of communal fridge much appreciated

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed wasn't very firm so it sank in the middle a little and the breakfast options fairly basic but fine.

    I liked the querky style of the hotel - it had a nice boutique feel to it and we had a lovely view over the back garden. The room was spacious with en suite bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loo paper not replenished. Don't park your car outside the house next door!!

    Warm room and comfortable bed. The shower was only gravity feed, so not strong, but the water was comfortably hot. Very good breakfast, promptly served and hot!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spoke to the only staff available but he was too happy to cancel my stay knowing that he will not give me a refund.

    Absolutely different from what was on Booking.com website. It was a disgrace to charge £75 for an unkept place like I saw.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to request a heater for the room as central heating was too low and room a little cold.

    Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. Hotel was as decribed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at breakfast therefore nothing AT ALL for breakfast and it was meant to be included. I even rang reception from the dining room but no staff.

    Lovely room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was a bit disappointed not to have been allocated a room on the ground floor but I did have assistance with my luggage both on arrival and on departure.

    I liked my room and the fact that although it was a bit cold the Tower House was pleasantly warm.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything the only good part was breakfast.

    We have already made a formal complaint to you about this hotel which was dreadful. Very unclean and unsatisfactory. Smelt of damp throughout.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful when you are booking. I always search for 2 people, I booked a twin room as always, paid thinking job done. Turns out I'd apparently booked a twin room for one person. I was told the difference was £20 more, no-one came back to me, no note or anything. They took a further £25 without telling me, I have just seen it on my Internet banking. Disappointing end to an otherwise pleasant trip.

    Lovely period property nicely situated

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Reception was badly staffed, they were more concerned about what time I wanted breakfast and of course taking the money than what I actually wanted . In fact this was the ONLY time I saw anyone on Reception, they weren't even around on the last morning. Breakfast was a joke, the staff were at best curt! Waiting time was excessive. A fellow guest couldn't even understand what was being said. No menu offered just 'Breakfast?' Now guess what you can have. Cleaning had obviously been neglected, cobwebs were everywhere and things didn't work, but there was nobody to tell! The bedside light needed a bulb, the curtains needed mending..... The shower was small lacked water and needed descaling. I will never go back, certainly not good value for money.

    The bed was comfortable, sheets clean and plenty of free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on top floor. 1st door at top of stairs during the night we got an overpowering smell seeping into the room.whether someone was cooking or something it was a bit much had to open Windows

    The room was decorated lovely. Bathroom tiny but clean.staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: