Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Tower Apartments

146 Alexandra Road, Southend-on-Sea, SS1 1HE, United Kingdom

#5 of 29 vacation rentals in Southend-on-Sea

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 72 apartment reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Five star accommodation in a nice quiet location close to the sea front and town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    (Please bear in mind that these are only minor niggles and would not stop us from staying here again.) Parking instructions would be much more helpful if they were received in advance of the stay with more emphasis on the fact that there is a particular code required to allow you to park close to the property. We arrived to find nothing but yellow lines and "permit holders only" signs and in that slightly flustered state didn't properly read the instructions the landlord had provided. After texting the landlord we actually ended up parking on the driveway of a neighbouring property for free as they had no guests staying there that week (thanks very much for that). We found the bed a bit soft for our liking as we prefer a firm mattress and the feather pillows tended to lose most of their support compared to a firmer foam pillow. A few of the wooden slats are missing from the window shutters and could do with being replaced so that it doesn't detract from the overall quality of the accommodation. 4 out of the 5 cooks knives in the kitchen need sharpening and a proper bread knife would be useful. Lastly, the large TV in the lounge area is quite high up on the wall and not at a comfortable viewing angle to either of the two sofas. I'm not sure what exactly the solution is but I'd suggest the TV more at eye level and in front of at least one sofa if possible.

    We stayed in apartment 7 which is on the top floor and gives the best views over the surrounding streets and the estuary. It is very nicely decorated and the building is located in a quiet area close to the beach and about 10 minutes walk from the high street. The unique feature of the apartment is the turret style corner of the building which gives you views in multiple directions and the location of the bed on a mezzanine level above the kitchen, bathroom and lounge/dining areas. It's a two minute walk to the gardens overlooking the sea and you can walk down to the sea front in another few minutes from there. The bathroom is very nice with a modern suite including a walk in shower with plenty of nice hot water coming from a generously sized shower head. The dining area has table that can easily accommodate four people.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.2
    I’ll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs do not disturb sign so can let housekeeping know if we haven’t left yet

    Modern apartments, comfy and clean (cleaner than first time I’d stayed round). Staff keep you informed about area and parking. Definitely will be returning a third time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    6.7
    Average. Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked last year and paid the same price and same dates. But was given the penthouse suite. Apartment 4 was not upto the same quality. The sofa was uncomfortable and not big enough. There was no tv in the bedroom like what we had last year.. we have recommended this tower apartments to alot of customers. .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    9.2
    Great apartment with everything you need and a decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very hot which i know was due to weather and there was a fan in the apartment but it was just too loud for at night.

    The owner greeted us when we arrived and even let us park in his space for the night to save us £5 parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    9.6
    Roomy, comfortable, has everything you'd need for a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super comfortable bed, fully equipped kitchen including washing machine. Lots of space. A nice mirror in the bedroom, both on a small table as well asa big one on the closet. Very large bathroom with an excellent shower. A one minute walk from the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    3.3
    Extremely uncomfortable and a
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment was never cleaned up our the 2 weeks duration we stayed. TV wasn’t working, staff was not friendly. Wooden floor was so noisy, we could hear noises each the occupants of the floor above us moved, even at midnight. No reception no instant help for anything. We regretted staying there.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking on street extra and despite paying for parking we were issued with a fine.

    Beautiful, well presented apartment. Excellent location, safe and very modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    10
    Perfect 2 day trip to the seaside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only negative I could say about the apartments are the stairs, there isn't a lift and we were on the top floor

    The location was perfect, just off the main promenade so nice and quiet, but only 5mins walk from everything, safe parking, the apartments are decorated to a very high standard and had everything you would need for a 2 night stay, a well recommended apartment facility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    I will return to the apartments, and would defiantly recommend them, we we stayed in apartment 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the reception area was lovely the apartment was top standard with chandeliers in each room, the cleanliness was brilliant and the manager lisa whom I didn't meet but she text with all info as to were the keys are and car parking she was great even let us have our room 3 hrs early

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.3
    Not a pleasurable experience
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Goodness where do I start. The doors in each room are heavy and they slam shut causing a huge noise and this must be the same in each apartment as we could hear them echoing through. The bathroom had no curtain or blind/shutter at the window and the you had to open window when showering, the next door property can see right in, there is only half a door on the shower so water goes all over the floor and the toilet lid broke as soon as I shut it. The lounge was adequate, apart from the lighting, far to dim a lightbulb in the lamp and other than that just the main harsh light. There were no t towels in the kitchen and that was rather ill equipped. no hoover in the property and the rug in lounge was covered in bits on arrival.... All in all a non executive experience and not value for money. Parking is problematic and the outside noise from 6am onwards was awful

    I loved the bedroom - only complaint in there was the shutters didnt shut properly so light streamed in in the morning. The chanderliers were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Gorgeous accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was 5 of us staying but only got 4 towels. There is no reception so we found it a little confusing how to get in. We didn't receive any emails explaining what to do. We eventually rang the contact number and they explained how to get in. It would have been easier if we received an email with the instructions. It also says that a continental breakfast is provided but that never happened.

    Huge apartment. There was an extra single bedroom. Lots of mirrors (great for 5 girls getting ready). Tea & coffee provided. Lovely coffee machine. Beds were very comfy. Location was great. Very short walk to everything. Iron and hairdryer provided. We were an hour late getting out and they were very nice and accommodating about that. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.0
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Towers and will definitely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom floor was a bit of a shock to bare feet - a rubber mat would have been welcome; and a couple of small bed rugs would be a great addition.

    We had two very sound nights sleep in the very comfortable bed. We also enjoyed the privacy and silence - we didn't hear any sound from the other guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.8
    A piece of luxury right near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tower apartments are luxurious from the moment you walk up the steps to the front door. The apartment was a lot bigger than the pictures looked, it was modern, comfortable, and relaxing. You have everything you could need! I will be back as soon as possible! P.s thank you for the complimentary wine!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great size room and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The light at the front of the property was super bright and shone through into the bedroom , so maybe turn it off in the night as it was tough to sleep with the light shining through

    Great size room and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    5.0
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked here for 3 days and there was only 2 coffee sachets for 3 days and no sugar, there was no TV in bedroom which for a place that advertises that they are executive apartments is a big disappointment. We called the owner and he said that we didn't ask for a TV in bedroom ( I would have thought it would be a given that there would be a TV ) I was amazed when the owner tells me that there were TV's in other apartments, why there are TV's in some apartments and not others i find confusing as these are Executive apartments. We decided to sleep in lounge as there was a big TV in there, we pulled sofa bed down and was appalled to see the sheet was dirty and torn, the mattress was so thin that we didn't sleep( My sofa bed has a better mattress ) again not what we expected from an executive apartment. We left the apartment the following day and found somewhere more comfortable and with a TV in bedroom, the owner text me to say they would offer a discount if we ever booked there again, would have been nicer if he offered us some money back from what we had paid to stay there.

    Location not too far from beach and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious, beautiful and peaceful. Wonderful apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The ambience of the apartment was lovely. It was very chic and luxurious. Lovely view from the dining table and loved the shutters on the windows. We stayed in the turret apartment, top floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.8
    Quality linen and towels added an extra touch of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    flat 2- main external floodlight shines into main bedroom and the shutters are not sufficient please add extra curtains.

    Quality linen and towels added an extra touch of luxury. Spacious rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    7.9
    All in all a good apartment for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been cleaner for the standard of apartment the cleanliness let it down! Also was broken tile in the bathroom which my partner actually cut his leg quite badly on !

    Loved the location , apartment was very modern easy to find .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    5.8
    Probably opt for a hotel instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was not ready at 3pm which was highly inconvenient as had requested early check in (which wasn't available). A good will gesture would have been appreciated, not 'go out for a cuppa whilst we clean'. Generally everything else was good but first impressions go a long way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    8.3
    The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and a very high standard of bedding. Even though I didn't see any of the staff personally, I felt they were very helpful through telephone conversations.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.8
    Modern and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Modern and clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, fantastic views and all high quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, fantastic views and all high quality furnishings and fantastic customer service

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent! Very impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking could have been a problem, but wasn’t on this occasion

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Tower Apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, spacious, comfortable. Perfect for one person or a couple. Great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very smart apartment with all modcons. Very comfortable and great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    A great place to stay1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything, very comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.2
    Modern clean apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have been bigger and had a sofabed

    Clean and modern

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay Lisa is horrible unprofessional and just...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place to stay Lisa is horrible unprofessional and just mean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Great rooms, clean, beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little warm and we couldn’t seem to open the windows very easily

    Great rooms, clean, beautiful building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful all round

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautifully decorated and very modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent accommodation that I can highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous. Hosts very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fan in bathroom didn't work, so bathroom steamed. No hairdryer

    Very modern decor. Everything provided was top class

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Excellent way to spend our 1st year wedding anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location the suite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    6.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con or fans. Bed a little uncomfortable.

    Very clean and modern

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Gorgeous apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was so warm

    Gorgeous apartment!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    6.3
    Elegant but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 3
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking noisy floors lack of sharp knife bread knife chopping board. Uncomfortable seats at dining table

    Elegant and close to the frint

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Bed so comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed so comfy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    If you wont a relaxing few days by the beach, book now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every thing about the apartment, the kitchen, the bathroom, the bed room was excellent. Clean & tidy, and very comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 1
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a beautiful apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Apartment was beautiful, bed was comfy! Wanted to move in it was that lovely!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    10
    Me and my partner loved staying in the penthouse it was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we both couldn't say a bad thing.

    The bed was very very comfy, we both loved it! Also loved the shower was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    10
    Allrounder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Penthouse
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thete was nothing i didnt like

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    10
    I would come again and again and have told friends about this amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just amazing place and location wise super too

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Modern and clean. Comfortable and stylish.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2016

    7.1
    Decoration very pretty.
    • Solo traveler

    My stay was for a week, 3 satchets for coffee machine were not enough. The penthouse gets very stuffy. Parking around the flat is absolutely dreadful.

    Decoration very pretty. Views were very good

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got locked out second day key didn't work and they knocked day early thinking we was checking out apart from that great and on booking .com u can't choose your apartment you want which is inconvenient as I wanted a different one and wasn't allowed

    Great Location helpful owner nice apartment had everything we needed

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    9.2
    We loved our stay at Tower Apartments, beautiful property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved our stay at Tower Apartments, beautiful property! This made it an special little break away for me and the girls. We look forward to staying there again. Thank you Lisa for being so helpful

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2015

    8.8
    Owner was fantastic so helpful, making us feel so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was great.

    Owner was fantastic so helpful, making us feel so comfortable. Even came with a bottle of wine and milk as we arrived late for check in. Spacious apartments.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2015

    8.3
    Smart, clean Apartment, close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Milk for drinks, Beds only doubles when there was plenty of space for King or Queens which you would expect in 5 star accommodation. Bathrooms also small.

    Smart, clean Apartment, close to the beach. Good facilities, plenty of space. Well decorated and nicely furnished.

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2015

    9.2
    Nice big kitchen & bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the furniture more pretty than practical. A more ordinary dining table would have been good, a desk & some shelves, and more storage in the bedroom. Would not really suit a business traveller too well. Parking sometimes a challenge.

    Nice big kitchen & bathroom Free WiFi Close to High Street Attractive, modern fit-out, & stylish decor Excellent security

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    6.7
    Clean, well maintained, quick to respond and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price, location with no sea view, shower not working.

    Clean, well maintained, quick to respond and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2015

    9.2
    Decorated to a very high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decorated to a very high standard. Location perfect. Nice welcome and really nice place to stay.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: