Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Travelrest Fareham Solent Gateway 4 stars

22 The Avenue, Fareham, PO141NS, United Kingdom

#4 of 11 hotels in Fareham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 475 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff welcoming. Assigned a room at rear with garden view that I'd requested. Breakfast cooked to order. Mushrooms great! Reasonably priced. Spacious bright breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very "creaky" stairs. TV in the room could be bigger.

    We were greeted on arrival by Judith, lovely lady and very helpful. The location was great for us, a short walk into the town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find fault, met all our requirements.

    Excellent fresh breakfast, had the triple room. Very adequate for short stay. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing is not that great, could hear people wandering in the corridors very clearly till 3 am & slamming the doors

    Clean & tidy, good facilities & friendly service. Nice room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing not great, and the shower temperature was very temperamental

    The 2 staff we met were incredibly friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was better than most i have had in hotels, and 2nd morning the lady serving remembered our order from the previous day, which was a nice touch.Very nice coffee with breakfast. Very easy parking, and just a few minutes walk into Fareham. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other guests smoking on patio did cause some smoke to blow into my room, but thats not the fault of the hotel!

    Wifi was good, room comfortable, easy walk to a Harvester for dinner, breakfast not posh, but filled the gap!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like my coffee first then breakfast but waited so long I had finished my breakfast before it arrived. Hard seats in room, no cushions. Hard to accept the decor of old and new. Shower head needed attention to prop up!

    Full English breakfast of egg, bacon sausage etc. was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dated but that didn't bother me to much as it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There were also little extras in the room.

    Excellent accommodation and great service. Perfect location for heading back to Gatwick. It was about 1 hour and a half in the car. Although on a busy road that didn't matter. Watched three squirels playing on th tree out side my window and th grounds round the accommodation are lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could be improved would be a small amount of black mould on a couple of grout spots in the bathroom. I know how difficult this can be to remove and it was such a small amount it really wasn’t worth raising considering the everything else was ideal

    Loved that the in room coffee was grounded and with cafetière instead of instant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aquatics were really poor, you could hear every step from outside the room. Paid £8 for the breakfast, and most of the products from menu was out of stock. Instead I decided to have at least fresh fruite i.e some banana apples etc. I have been offered to help myself to a fruit salad, which you only had a choice of pineapple from the can!. Wouldn't recommend this place at all!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A desk in the room (31) to work from would be ideal - but rooms are pretty small. The shower in my room was either boiling hot or cold. There appeared to be a problem with cold water pressure. I reported it and I am sure it will be fixed.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast freshly cooked, the travelrest although on the road was far enough back to be quiet. the room was warm despite the cold weather, they had a sitting room with television. I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reasonable rates for breakfast, was much cheaper to eat out.

    The price for breakfast was quite steep at £8 per person, would have not been unreasonable to have this as part of room rate. Would probably look for somewhere else with breakfast included for future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have slight mobility problem & found the stairs a bit of a challenge but to be fair I didn’t mention it at time of booking. Size of TV very small & difficult to see from across the room.

    I only had porridge which was lovely and the price of the breakfast was adjusted fairly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like about the hotel. For a short stay it was excellent?

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent . We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of upgrading. Shower thermostat not working or non existent. Basin plug did not fit properly.

    The breakfasts were very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and bedding and towels of good quality. Room was warm and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was poor and I could not read my emails and do any work The strip cushion covers need to be washed and changed!! as per bed sheets etc. Also I ordered my breakfast and did not get the coffee for 15 minutes after my breakfast as there were two staff cooking/serving and helping to check people in, so when a table of six came in there was only one staff doing everything as the other person was at the front desk checking people in, so the service was slow and I did not get my coffee so I left.

    Room was good and the bed sheets were clean, overall happy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The lady on the reception desk was very very helpful with allocating us a walk in shower, providing me with a plug adapter to charge my iphone as I had only got my computer to computer usb charger, and answered my general questions about the area well. I would have no hesitation in recommending Travelrest, particularly as the train station is a short walk way. Also excellent breakfast and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    There was 5 of us using a double & family rooms. Staff were very helpful and polite. Room was very clean and comfortable and though we only stayed for one night. We would certainly stay there again if we were in the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a 2-3 star guest house and not a 4 star hotel which was what was advertised on Booking.com. Nor was it a place of 'luxury'. Also, the premises were situated next to a very busy main road. So Booking.com's representations of this place were false and the photo was most misleading. We had planned a five day break in and around Fareham but we left after the first night.

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable so we hardly had any sleep and the 'decorative throw' on the bed had seen better days. The lino on the bathroom floor was lifting up. The cereal bowls were tiny and the plate on which the breakfast was served was very small. Nor were there any napkins. They are obviously cutting corners. But the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tiny bath shower unit... dedicated shower would've been much more beneficial

    nice walking distance to fareham and was still a quiet surrounding, noisiest thing being the staircase itself

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Nicely decorated, clean room with clean, modern bathroom. Helpful friendly staff, nice garden and patio area and ample parking. Close to town, but quiet with easy access to motorways. Will book here again in future. Excellent value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear a little road noise, but not much considering it is on the main road.

    Perfect for a weekend in Fareham. Very clean, well maintained and easy to find. Friendly welcome and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating in bathroom and a castor missing off the creaky uncomfortable bed

    Receptionist was really friendly but hotel really quiet had to ring for service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Travelrest is very handy to the railway and bus station it also so is a short walk from the town of Fareham You could not wish to find a better place to stay I would recommend this as a place to stay for EVERYONE You really couldnt ask for more

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just to say we would have liked to have been able to buy any of the wine on their list. Unfortunately most were out if stock because the forgot to order. Other wise what they did have was very nice and well priced.

    Very homely staff were fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to ensure hospitality tray in room has enough for 2 people (if that is the occpancy) I. E. 2 packets of biscuits and enough hot choc

    Comfortable and clean. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i liked it all

    All of it, i cant complain about anything, even asking for things was not a problem, im not going for Wordsmith status, just praise for this place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside to giving a good report is more people will use it reducing the availability the next time we want to use it. What is "Genius perks"?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on the single bed could have been a litrtle thicker. Perhaps too more variety of beer. You did not have John Smiths- of course this is just a personal taste and the Hotel might not have another guest with such a preference for some time

    Very homely and friendly staff members. Good ambassadors for the Hotel. I noticed too how hard they worked to make my stay so very pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable and thefood very good quality

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable mattress. Bright lights from outside and also a bright green light inside (which we dimmed by covering with a plaster as we couldn't see any way to turn off!) made it less easy to sleep.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Good location for train station (3 minutes walk). Very good breakfast on offer, freshly made to order. Room is a good size and excellent information is provided in a folder.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit much from other places I had looked and breakfast not being included was even worse

    The lady on the front desk in the evenings was lovely, even helped my drunk other half get back too his room. She was endearing and never too busy too say hello.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door didn't lock, suitably placed chair sufficed, was in a rush in morning and forgot to mention to reception. Bath a little small but sufficient.

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not sound-proofed, so we were able to hear our neighbour's smokers' cough.

    Breakfast is excellent and represents great value. In addition to cereals and fruits, there is a menu of hot items, all of which are cooked to order. Our request for a particular room was delivered; it was both clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not being informed that the road outside the property was going to be resurfaced during the night - road diggers, tipper trucks and tarmac lorries all outside the hotel all night until after 4am with engines running, horns beeping and men shouting - worst sleep experience ever and I imagine this will continue for months to come

    Checking out was easy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was on the small side and some of the fixtures and fittings could do with updating, but on the whole, everything was operational, nothing much to grumble about.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, with fast WiFi connection. Plenty of room with all basic functional amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower constantly changed temperature from too hot to really cold and a grab handle would have very useful. The double bed in the room was simply dreadful. There was no padding left on the mattress so the springs and metal frame could be clearly felt and it was very discoloured. The decor was slapdash so it was rather disappointing overall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fans in bedroom sockets by the bed

    everything good we come from the country no noise pollution, so we found the bedroom at the front on main road noisey but lovely place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They failed to mention that the road outside the hotel had major road works, restricting access to the hotel (especially in the evening when the road was closed) and generating noise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a 3 bed (one king size and one double size) bedroom. The room was just about big enough for a double bedroom in my opinion - it was way too squashed for a 3 bed bedroom.

    The staff were very friendly, informative, and helpful. From recommending where to visit to how to travel with public transport, you can rely on their information.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No access to hotel by car between 8 pm and 5 am because of road works. This was a real inconvenience and we should have been given prior notice of this.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there over a very hot weekend & it was quite humid. Just a suggestion that having access to a fan would have made it more comfortable to sleep.

    Comfortable hotel with good service from all staff. Our breakfast was very nice & plenty to eat to set us up for the journey back up north.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in shower room could be better, very dim and dreary. Lighting in bedroom was very bright and glaring with main lights on and needs a convenient socket to be fitted for the left hand bedside lamp to be used easily.

    Comfortable accommodation with everything you might need included, toiletries and good quality towels in shower room, hairdryer, and plenty of tea and coffee making provisions. We were at the front of the building which is located on a busy road but found it to be very quiet and had no noise disturbance at all. Very pleasant and helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelrest is on a main road with lots of traffic and our room was at the front of the building so it was noisy throughout the night. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well.

    Travelrest was easy to find and in a good location. The staff were friendly on arrival and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We had an early start in the morning and were kindly offered a breakfast solution.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only minor grumble was the hot and cold on the tap were the wrong way round. Meant a cold shave untill I sussed it out!!

    Room 38 has the most comfortable bed ever.... reception staff (aka Danii as she seemed to be always on duty) very efficient and helpful. Great breakfast.. can recommend the scrambled eggs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of air-con En-suite badly made so water from the shower pooled around the toilet and undermined the floor tiles

    Breakfasts were great (£8 extra though) and staff very friendly. Nice big bath towel and WiFi worked well. Convenient for Fareham Station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Very clean, bed comfortable, shower very efficient with plenty of hot water, lovely thick fluffy towels !! The train station is a 5 minute walk from the property which gives easy access to other popular South coast destinations. We have stayed at Travel Rest approximately 6 times and wouldn't go anywhere else when in the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all it was very good

    very comfortable bed nice room lovely staff and the breakfast was delicious freshly cooked to order. slept very well. nice grounds would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a treat not to need the stairs, so ground floor location was perfect and we were most grateful for that. There was no impact of noise from the busy main road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found both a safety pin & a hair pin (neither that belonged to me!) in my bed ...under the duvet!!! Had they actually bothered to change the sheets between us & the last tenant??! Argh! Also bathroom vanity light didn't work, vertical blinds were broken, the main stairwell creaked so much that we could hear every person who went up/down them & combined with the cheap duvets, it made for a less than exemplary evening in this establishment!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room with a sofa bed for my daughter and was told they don't have any yet my friend got one and she booked after me. the windows were open when I arrived and when I went to bed I closed them but couldn't lock them as there wasn't a key and no one at reception to ask I also needed a fan and no one there to ask it was a very uncomfortable night due to heat and noise the hotel was very very noisy and as I was travelling with my 8 yr old daughter would not stay there again.

    ideal location for us

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two packets of biscuits would have been nice as there was two of us.

    Good clean room. did not have breakfast as with the AA discount the Harvester was cheaper two hundred metres down the road. Also only a short walk into the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the people in the room next to us kept us awake arguing, then a fight broke out and police were called, after I complained to the on duty staff..!!!

    Staff very helpful , polite, and went out of their way to help with everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was not very clean, nor was the top of the surface near the tea things

    The bed was clean and fairly comfortable, but a bit soft for our liking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was always a loud noise at 7p.m. each night for half an hour. Am not sure it was a hoover but some sort of suction noise very near the room I stayed in.

    It was a walking distance from the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This time we thought the bed was uncomfortable and we were waking up with back ache, but not really enough of a problem to make our stay un-pleasant.

    We've stayed here several times before and as usual everything was as we have come to expect. The room was warm and cosy, spotlessly clean and well furnished. There was ample tea and coffee to drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a view of the road and the hotel was a little musty and so the heating was turned up at night.

    I liked the large bathroom and thev friendly staff. They had free secured Wi-Fi and a cup of real coffee in the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little old fashioned and bathroom a little cold if there was a radiator in bathroom I did not see it although we had two rooms and one did have a heated towel rail. No extra blankets in our room other room did have and room was cold as heating had been turned off and we arrived late

    Staff very friendly arrived after 10pm so really only a sleep over. Big room and Lots of coffee decaf, regular and filter also tea and hot chocolate . Nice towels. Lots of free parking. Quick and easy check-in and check-out. Free Wi-Fi. We all had a good nights sleep which is what we wanted the room for excellent value for money compared to other hotels in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was located immediately off of reception and so was a little noisy as you could hear people who returned to the hotel after their evening out.

    Breakfast cooked to order. Excellent quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The beds were sooooooo comfortable I didn't want to get up in the morning. Peaceful environment, extremely friendly staff and the breakfasts.....well! I have stayed several times here and the service has never altered.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with breakfast order so long wait, Fruit bowls empty and not refilled. Found bed quite hard so not good nights sleep. Stairs and corridor really creaky floor so could not be quite if coming in late.

    Friendly staff Well cooked breakfast very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head was very loose and made taking a shower difficult. Easy fix!

    Fast easy check-in. Friendly staff, nice quiet room. Good parking and plenty of tea and coffee in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.P

    Staff very friendly and hotel clean. Breakfast very good, worth paying the extra for it. Close to railway station and town centre. Easy to find and good car parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not have the breakfast as there is a cover price rather than an itemised menu and we eat so little so the value for money would not have been very good for us.

    Stated that we preferred a quiet room and got one at the end of one wing that overlooked a lawn at the side of the property. The only noise we noticed was from fellow guests coming and going. Did not use WiFi. Can't comment on the Buccaneer (a Harvester) close by as it was closed for refurbishment. We found the Travelrest staff were friendly, helpful and always ready to give us a smile. :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy, warm room, with good overall facilities. The reception even knew our reservation and confirmed our names before we had even spoken - great service.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problem with heating system. Heater provided in room but only cold water available. No orange juice available the first morning.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are so welcoming and can't do enough for you, room was very clean and very cosy had everything that was needed, breakfast was absolutely lovely great selection and great presentation will be back soon x

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boiler was broken all weekend. Although heaters supplied unable to have bath or shower. Not ideal when your attending function after traveling for 5 hours to venue.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower drain blocked & flooded bathroom - spent so much time mopping up that we missed breakfast! Unfortunate.

    lack of guests on a quiet off peak Sunday so had evening snack in room. good information pack for all local areas & amenities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned. Didn't expect the alarm in the bed side table to be on and also be set for 6am. Was a rude awakening.

    Standard room nothing special. Breakfast area looked nice, but did not eat breakfast so can not comment on the food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How can you improve on perfection?

    Great location,despite road works!,fabulously friendly staff. Made my sister and I feel as if we were part of an extended family, nothing was too much trouble and we felt well looked after and spoilt.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff. Attentive and polite. Room was lovely. Breakfast was great. Fully recommended for a delightful stay. We came down to Fareham for a birthday party and were very happy with the service at TravelRest.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unfortunately we didn't have time for breakfast! It looked fab though! The rooms were clean and warm and the facilities were excellent, even down to a complementary bottle of water in the room! Very friendly and helpful staff too, great choice 😀

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water temperature in the room 44 I was told they did not want children to scald themselves. However there was no way that room 44 was a family room. I had various other excuses and none were feasible shame

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the only people at breakfast we were served cold tea,the wrong order and when that was rectified the poached eggs were undercooked and cold. There wasn't any continental food out and the fruit was minimal and unappealing. We did complain and we're reimbursed the cost of breakfast. However, this left us hungry, with a long day ahead of us as we didn't have time to go elsewhere to eat.

    Good location with clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: