Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tree Hotel at Iffley

Tree Lane, Oxford, OX4 4EY, United Kingdom

#33 of 35 hotels in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 592 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is basically a pub with rooms. Desperately in need of a complete overhaul and redecoration, stuck in the 1970s. Everything decrepit and amateurish in the bedrooms, bathrooms basic and in poor condition. Shower dribbles water but bath flowed hot and quick. Trouser press in room translated as ironing board in hallway and the hairdryer was one of those boxes with a hose you don't see any more. Stairs hadn't seen a hoover this century.

    The curry is a must. Great location for access to Thames Path.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for the quality of accodation.

    Very dated room with a bathroom from the 70's. Ceiling drooping in one area very noticeably, very dirty showerhead and for £90 £45 more than I would have paid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for walking into Oxford along the footpath of the Thames along with the walkers, runners, cyclists and diverse assortment of the boating fraternity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired and could do with a bit of redecorating and general maintenance.

    The hotel was close to a wedding we were attending so was perfect for us. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a delicious curry one evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dark despite 3 lights, leaking bathroom with obvious problem caused to restaurant ceiling. Poor decoration, whole place needs renovating internally and externally. Not worth the £178.20 for 2 nights..Very expensive for the state of the decor and very basic breakfast.

    Location near Iffley lock , very quiet area, and availability of public transport.Free parking. Indian meal Thai curry was excellent, but unfortunately the breakfast wasn't up to the £15 each per night.Poor room lighting and decor. Good staff coping with what they're provided with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was nice the rooms are clean and comfortable good location not far from city centre in a cab. Our only issue is the toilet had a slight leak from the back each time it was flushed but other than that great little hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor, towels could be cleaner.

    Bed a bit small and bouncy but comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly. Could do with some updating of the rooms, ours was a bit worn and scruffy. However it was quiet and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is not very good upstairs. It is a very dated place in need of a good referb. The breakfast is not really worth it, terrible sausage, streaky bacon and the toast was rock hard. Then there’s the staff, it seemed to be inconvenient to be ordering a drink, she had to put her phone down and everything, and I had to repeat what my order was as she failed to listen the first time. The rooms need to be de-spidered and the bathrooms need to be de-molded.

    Only two good things about this place is its location to Oxford and the young lad behind the bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could of been looked after better, shower temp knob was broken off. Wallpaper peeling with black mold patches

    The location was perfect for getting into the centre of oxford. We also had a great bar person who checked the next morning how the shower was and served our breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom and bathroom were a really good size but do need to have a refurb to update them

    Perfect location for Oxford and the staff were really nice and looked after us. The food was brilliant. We had a really good stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a little sad but I am assured that a major refit and upgrade are on the cards in the near future. I will consider staying again

    The staff are excellent, really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely basic. For the price I was disappointed as I've stayed in cheaper places that are much more updated. It's stuck in the 70s and smells like it too

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are in desperate need of renovation! Too expensive for the condition of the room

    Though a chicken pad thai was ordered, the chicken pad thai salad was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very great location, quiet, great facilities such as car park and spacious old style rooms. All the basics one needs on a stay. Very nice cooked breakfast + cereals in the morning with a cup of coffee. Nice bar and restaurant as well. Can't ask for more than that. Room stocked with plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedroom & bathroom could do with a little modernisation.

    Quiet and characterful location, with free parking, a short bus ride from city centre. Food good, reasonable cost, cheerful bar, staff very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taps A bit chilly Shower a little old but for the price great

    Nice hotel Well priced in a lovely area I travel to oxford a lot as my Son is in uni My second stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Tired and dingy hotel. Terrible bathroom - black mould on ceiling, wallpaper coming off wall etc. We could not get the shower to work. Carpet needed shampooing. Everything needs doing.

    Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hard, orthopaedic type mattress on the bed which gave us a bad night. Window wouldn't close properly. Shower did not run hot in the evening, only the following morning. Room needed a proper clean. Breakfast adequate, but limited choice, no fruit offered and cooked breakfast although reasonable a bit underwhelming.

    Good size room with good size en-suite. Friendly staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed decorating bathroom needs attention leaking toolet

    Bed uncomfortable. Toilet area not very clean. Room could do with a make over especially the ceiling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor was a little tired looking but fair for the price.

    Very nice salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast. Lots of teabags in the room. Restaurant food was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold, (windows metal frame and not double glazed), VERY out of date (1950s hairdryer), shower dangerous (hole in top of electric unit for water to get in). Room was very noisy when they had entertainment late into night. Breakfast times were poor; ending at 8.30 or 9.30 at weekend - we were supposed to be on holiday!! Food choice was also very limited.

    Food was OK location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was poorly maintained and lighting was poor. I did manage to see that the standard of cleanliness of this area was also very poor particularly the toilet. After I complained the toilet was cleaned again but although I requested a brighter light bulb this did not materialise; luckily I had my LED torch with me so could see to shave.. There were no hooks for clothing in either bathroom or bedroom and the tatty bedroom furniture could do with repair or being replaced. TV remote didn’t work.

    The location was convenient, the breakfast good and staff were friendly. The room was large although with an odd assortment of furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better with a choice of bacon. Smoked bacon does not suit all pallets and toast should be golden brown, not anaemic white.

    Liked the welcome and the bar service. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old. Couldn't use shower properly everything was dusty and bed was dirty and was cold. Do not recommend to stay there is not worth money for this apartment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor needs updating and the beds were not that comfortable. There was only 1 extra pillow provided and I think most adults sleep with two.

    The staff were very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No manager on site at night, so when a woman ran up and down the corridor screaming and banging on doors, short of calling the police we could do nothing as there were no staff. I booked a single occupancy double room- I got a small single, very uncomfortable bed. No working light in the bathroom- discovered once there were no staff to help! Tap wouldn’t switch off, ran all night. When guests asked to speak to a manager in the morning, they were told they would have to wait until 12 as he was asleep! I left instead.

    Barmaid / waitress was pleasant. Breakfast was average.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet was not very heavy, I prefer big duvets

    The staff were super friendly, the room and bathroom was huge and the hotel is located in a beautiful setting. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold. Television was broken. Moved rooms but the second smelled of smoke. The bathroom was inadequate. Shower door didn’t close, damp patch above. Toilet flush didn’t work properly. Hot tap leaked. Dirty. Tiles missing. Dressing table broken. Unable to contact staff at night when another guest was locked out of her room , shouting and waking other guests. Breakfast was very disappointing. Only cereal and toast available for a continental breakfast. No croissants , yogurts or fruit. Only option a cooked breakfast. Coffee bitter and cold . Certainly not value for the £7charged.

    Position in Iffley. Bed comfortable good sized room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the staff being foreign none of them could answer basic questions about the environs, eg, “are we near a canal?” The answer I found, was that we were!

    They were laid back about the late hour on which I arrived. The room was comfortable enough despite being pretty basic. They cook really good omelettes and there’s Van Gogh prints along the hall.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor and general ambience have seen better days.

    The location was quiet with a lovely view. Centre of town easily walkable along the Isis. Staff were very friendly. The atmosphere was quiet allowing us to chat all evening. Good music played at a sensible volume.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wear spectacles and there was nowhere in the bathroom that was convenient to put them when washing etc. Also nowhere in the bathroom to put toiletries. A small shelf near the wash basin would have been useful.

    The bedroom was a good size, well laid out and had all facilities needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room [room 5], the plug in the sink did not work and so the water ran down the sink. There was no plug in the bidet

    Staff very friendly and relaxed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Described as before. Did not find staff terribly happy. Did not get asked if our stay had been OK.

    The food was very good, both at breakfast and also in the restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower could have adjustable thermostatic control for the water as it was too hot. The curtains were too long which in the evening when drawing them were covering the radiator!

    Easy parking. Easy to find. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The bedroom was comfortable and just as the promotional photo had shown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's not a Hotel ! It's a popular Pub with some rooms above that are used for B&B If it wants to keep calling itself Hotel, then a lot could be improved - it wasn't as good as the standard of many other properties that we've booked previously with BOOKING . COM probably OK for a working stopover, but not if you're looking for luxury and refinement Oxford and the area seems to be quite expensive for Hotels.

    easy to find

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom clean, but new furnishings would enhance it.

    This is an older hotel that has not yet had its make-over, but it was very clean and comfortable and well-priced. Our room was a good size. The hotel seems to have a strong restaurant dimension, so the dining area at breakfast time was brightly lit and pleasant (a Christmas tree adding to this). A larger well-laid-out area is used at other mealtimes. Newspapers available. Manager pleasant and accommodating. They have an interesting breakfast arrangement whereby you preorder for a time slot between 7.30 and 9.00 (9.30 w/ends). We hadn't noticed, but this caused no problem, and we got more than we ordered. The hotel is in Iffley, a mile or two up the road from the centre of Oxford. Iffley is an excellent stopping place if you want to leave the car parked at the hotel or on-street near the bus stop about a quarter of a mile from the hotel, on Iffley Road. There are buses (e.g. no. 3) every ten minutes into Oxford, and you can return to the car after a carefree / car-free day by return. There are more expensive places around, but this one well worth considering.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A toilet the leaked a shower that trickles and wot I think was the radiators knocking all nite. And floor boards, very creaky. Would off like better for 45 pounds a nite.

    The location and staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was comfrey at all the single bed kept coming away from the wall so pillows kept falling down bk of the bed then bed came apart while brushing my teeth the sink came away from the wall I also had to get the other member of my party to go down stairs n ask the owner to come n help as I locked in my room the vale lock was stuck so forbid if their was a fire so they had to come n sort it Breakfast was ok they used streaky bacon in stead of back bacon streaky bacon go,s on top of meat or round a small sausage

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a function going on when I arrived and the car park packed. I managed to park my car, but it had been blocked in when I went to go out for the evening and no-one was in a hurry to help get the offending vehicle moved. My room stank of curry. The people in the room next to me came in at 03.50 and may as well have been in the same room, the sound insulation being non-existent. Breakfast on Sunday was only served between 08.30 - 09.30. My scrambled egg came on dry toast (no butter) and was over cooked. I will not be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little.

    Huge room with sofa, bath and shower. The staff were very friendly and were very flexible over our early arrival time. Loved the riverside walk into the City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was terrible. The TV was tiny (given the large size of the room). The room was very hot, but it wasn't possible to adjust the radiators or open the windows. I had to ask twice for tea with breakfast - the pot only contained enough for one cup.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating came on before 2am - pipes expanding made a terrible noise and room was so hot it was very uncomfortable and that was with the window wide open. Hotel needs updating - looking very tired!

    very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was good but very worn. Maintainance. Breakfast could be better. Streaky bacon. Tinned fruit, fruit and cereal. Full English breakfast. Mainly foreign staff. Evening meals are good.

    Large reasonably clean rooms. Bus stop not too far to walk to if you wanted the bus Number3 to Oxford. Leave car at hotel. Parking is tight Oxford was extremely busy ,heaved and looked a dump.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little dated & the room was directly above the bar. I had ear plugs so slept perfectly well.

    The staff were great, the shower was hot, the sheets and towels were clean and crisp and breakfast was cooked to order and lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is clean but rundown. The carpets are torn and worn and the ceiling paper is hanging down. However, it is clean. It is a lovely building and a good hotel in desperate need of some TLC.

    The food and beer were excellent. Great Indian meal at a good price Iffley lock is beautiful - Visit it! Good staff £5 cab ride to central Oxford

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room tatty with lots of broken fittings. Breakfast choice very limited and cooked breakfast cold and not cooked enough (one morning I asked for crispy bacon, got practically raw bacon), and poor quality. Housekeeping spilt kettle of water over bed and my jumper then tried to hide it with other clothes on top rather than change the bedding so my clothes got very wet and we had a soaking wet bed. The manger seemed very friendly, so why not just admit to him rather than leave us to find it? Lastly, and this is a biggie, I thought we gave card details on booking to secure the room, but the hotel took payment without notifying me or assuring that I was happy with the final bill. I had to ask to see a bill!!! That ruined my holiday.

    Warm and clean. We ate in the pub downstairs in the evening, that was excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bath towels, poor pressure in shower, little choice of buffet/ continental style breakfast

    Huge bed, good sized rooms, biscuits and plenty milk in rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs an update, old fashioned rooms, condensation mould in bathrooms, pipes need boxing in, noisy doors, noisy people in bar under our room.

    Bar and restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the family room is not terrific.

    The Tree Hotel has a certain quaintness about it. I had read previous reviews which had not all been glowing and, yes, the rooms could do with some updating, however I ended up staying for 7 days and really loved it. It is wonderfully quiet and the rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The staff are super and the food excellent. It has character and is not have a bright, sterile environment which so many hotels have. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Tree Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some items in the bedroom need updating/replacing as they are getting rather tatty. The shower unit in particular needs replacing. The shower cubicle had broken seals and has passed its sell by date.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very tired and really needed decorated and brought up to date, although we did expect this from reviews we'd read online. Nothing in our room was very well maintained, for e.g. the toilet seat was broken and it was clear that the lock on the room door had been pulled off at some point, as the door was all broken around The lock. The bed was rock hard, so neither of us slept very well. Bathroom was large but because the skirting boards were thick with dust, and black mould on some of the sealant, it feel quite dirty.

    Restaurant food for breakfast and evening meal were excellent as were the staff, and the room was very spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little tired in areas, very small TV, but my room had a desk and that's all I really needed. Could not connect to WiFi.

    Generally a good place. I hugely recommend the Oxford Omelette (ham and marmalade!) Staff excellent. A traditional British guesthouse through and through.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting was poor - could do with complete coat of paint and refurbishment on bathroom

    Room was very big with lots of space - beds were fine and very clean - very quite around hotel, got good nights sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I couldn't shower and it wasn't until the third night that we got a better room that we could actually shower. The bathrooms need repair.

    The bed was not that comfortable but the dinner, the curry was awesome! The staff was very friendly and polite always. The location was great and the walk to Oxford was really quite beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very courteous and helpful. They made us all feel very welcome to join in the evenings festivity that was taking place. The accommodation was very good. Food excellent. Good location. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the Furniture and the bathroom could do with a bit of updating No designated Disabled Parking and No Lift so it did make hard work getting around.

    Food was fantastic, from breakfast to evening meal outstanding food. Room was clean and bed very comfortable, some of the furniture etc could do with updating. Staff were really friendly and really on the ball. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.Awful,awful,awful. Terrible breakfast which we wouldn't have had if we'd known it was NOT included in the ridiculously over priced and down at heel room!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very tired and dated and seemed locked in the 70's. The central heating was hit and miss and the shower hot water system , was more like a "dribble", very poor for a hotel. Our bed also was not made or dirty coffee cups attended to in the three days we were there! Apparently the normal room attendant was absent so the Bar staff had to take up the slack - poor effort really!

    The Bar and Resturant had plenty of character, including the locals ( "Shep" in particular). The food was quite good, with the Indian cuisine being both authentic and excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of the age of the hotel the plumbing is a little noisy and the water pressure of the shower weak but these two points did not detract from our stay.

    Tree hotel is old but very clean and comfortable. Our room was large and the bed huge. We travelled by bus in a short trip to the heart of Oxford and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Parking was easy at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little tired but generally okay. Pillows were cheap. But we would certainly return for another, longer visit.

    We wanted a sub-£100 night in Oxford where we could safely leave the car. Tree was in easy reach of the excellent bus service into the city, comfortable, friendly, quiet and with a good restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs closed down and money spent on it. It is very tired. The bedding and towels were clean but the ensuite was a disgrace. No attempt to cover up glaring imperfections. We had to order breakfast the night before and latest time for it was 8.30am we were on holiday. Who wants breakfast at that time?? All hotels are up to 10.00 am . The windows needed a good clean and the frames looked on last legs.

    The location was excellent and the actual building was beautiful ....in its day . The staff were all very nice .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lots of dust in air. bathroom needed work. plug not attached. water not hot. shower head didnt stay in position. buttons missing from bath. base was very soft gave under foot. toilet slow to fill. more towels and better quality towels. breakfast an extra £9 per person . expensive for what it was.

    the place just needs a bit of TLC. staff were very friendly and helpful. room needed painting. window in bathroom no latch so couldnt have it open. bathroom sink plug off, toilet took ages to refill , very little hot water, buttons missing on bath . was nice and quiet and near to everything. didnt have breakfast at hotel as £9 each was expensive. lots of parking . generally just needs a spruce up. if the cost came down i would stay there again if in Oxford.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lots of mould on ceiling, toilet very slow to refill and to flush, very poor lighting in bathroom, when you filled the wash basin and let the water our it bubbled back into the bath tub leaving a coating of scum. We had to ask twice for the heating to be put on as it was quite cold we stayed in room 9

    Quite area good off street parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1 kept awake all night by constant drip, filthy soap dispenser in shower, toilet flush needed three or four attempts each time , t.v. reception bad . Room 5 . Better than Room 1 but only slightly . Kept awake all night again through Intermittent bangs from pipes and window unable to close through amateur shoddy workmanship causing rattling to occur all night long , bidet flooding onto floor , when in use and awful t.v. reception yet again .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inside the hotel looks tired and in need of a few repairs . There was a strange noise through the night like a boiler so every time you dropped off to sleep you were woken again, Breakfast finished at 9am which seemed a bit early as check out was 11am

    Staff were friendly and accommodating, plenty of parking not too far to get into Oxford and taxi's not too expensive. Comfy bed and large room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful manager. Big room, stayed in room 6. manager put heating on for us. About 5 GBP to catch taxi into Oxford, taxis can work out cheaper than parking in Oxford.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i booked this hotel i liked the adds on their site but unfortunately it wasnt like that our room was very ordinary the bathroom was terrible badly in need of a big upgrade .dont know what the other rooms looked like .i thought it certainly was not . Value for money .we did have a nice meal and staff were helpfull. Missleading site on internet ..

    External appearance looked .nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is extremely run-down and poorly maintained. Previous alterations had been very badly carried out.

    Staff were extremely pleasant and conciencious, and the food was well prepared and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked the hotel for three nights to cover a business trip as it was convenient to the office. Check in was at the bar and I was shown as to where the room was. To say the room was tired was an understatement - its exhausted. The furniture is real mix of old fashioned styles - the wardrobe had handles missing for one thing. The bathroom cabinet was tarnished, the shelf over the sink was hanging off, the wall mounted hairdryer is so old the colour has faded, the carpet is virtually without a pile and the springs can be felt in the bed. Although there is free WiFi it keeps dropping out – certainly in the bedroom. I had expected there to be a restaurant but it comprises of a few tables with table cloths in the bar - however as a guest I was shown to a sticky wooden table elsewhere. The saving grace was that the food was good although I have never had a biryani before that didn't come with a vegetable curry/sauce. Come breakfast I sat at one of the tables with table cloths but was moved to the bare wooden table – breakfast was OK but nothing special. When you thought it couldn’t get any worse I returned for my second night to find a clean towel in a bag outside my room – on entry I discovered that the bed hadn’t been made or anything done inside. I went to reception and the person I spoke to then sent someone to the room but by then I told him that it was too late and he then said it would be done properly tomorrow. It was blamed on a lack of understanding on the ’housemaid’ who didn’t speak very good English. Surely she should know what to do. At least it was done for the last nigh but when I mentioned it when settling the bill I was told that the reason was that I had gone off with the only key which, if true, how did they then sort it for the last night when I had the key with me. Unbelievable! Looking at their website the place looks really good and given its location it should be but it seems to be a triumph of marketing over reality.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although marketed as a hotel, it felt more like a pub with the rooms as an afterthought. Our room was spacious, but looked like it had last been decorated in the 1950's. There were issues with cleanliness (I found a nail clipping on the floor and I wouldn't touch the phone without gloves) and bizarrely the washbasin was in the bedroom rather than the ensuite. This means washing your hands after a night-time trip to the toilet is likely to wake your partner.

    The village of Iffley is very nice and only a short walk to the main bus routes into Oxford city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion rooms could do a lot more with them and that breakfast was extra so we declined.

    The rooms are very dated but nice and clean .Lovely staff and not to bad food has a bar which is handy Great big car park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that was good was the breakfast.

    It felt like a b+b instead of a hotel, my daughter got married that day, We were expecting a bit better for the money we paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with many places, the cistern in the lavatory was very slow in filling. It would be really good if they had a box or something in which to leave a tip for the staff, as they were different people each day. In the end, we could only leave a tip in the room for the cleaner.

    This privately-run hotel is a traditional building, so has a lot more character than modern hotels, and therefore feels very homely. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel included a pub and restaurant, serving English and Indian food, which we enjoyed. The village of Iffley is beautiful, although it is now effectively a suburb of Oxford. It is situated on the Thames, and has a fantastic Romanesque church. There is also a small, community-run shop. Very frequent buses run into town from the main road, which is about 5 minutes walk away. The buses start early in the morning and continue until midnight, which makes it a very convenient place to stay. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very dated and tired in need a of an update..the bathroom was not pleasant to use and everything needed updating...hotels in Oxford are expensive and the quality provided needs to reflect the charges made...

    Potentially a lovely place and full of character, but parts need to be brought up to date. However there is a comfortable bar area and a lovely but underused restaurant area. Breakfast menu is limited... Booking.com immediately took the money from account when this property was booked several months ahead of stay with no option to cancel if necessary...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very old and outdated with things like broken tiles and hairdryers from the 1970.s. The bathroom was mouldy and breakfast was limited to mainly eggs dishes or full english The TV as usual was rubbish and could barely watch anything due to picture break up and the remote didnt work. The light kept flickering and it was the hottest day of the year and my tiny room was a sweatbox.

    The food was excellent and parking is no issue

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tree Hotel at Iffley traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: