Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tregenna Castle Resort 3 stars

Treloyan Avenue, St Ives, TR26 2DE, United Kingdom

#6 of 11 hotels in St Ives

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1837 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were a little tired and are in need of a freshen up. The pool is in need of a revamp as the tiles are cracked and discoloured. Breakfast serve coffee from machines but on request we had fresh coffee served. We didn't enjoy the Green Thai Curry.

    We enjoyed the privacy and space n the apartment. The location was great and the Spa was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred mugs in room for tea rather than small cups sliding around on the saucer (but that's personal choice.) Good selection for self service breakfast but making your own tea/coffee was a bit 'canteenish' and the water for tea wasn't boiling.

    Beautiful grounds and facilities. Lovely view of St Ives harbour from our west wing room. Bed comfy and every where spotless. Food in Brasserie good. What's not to like ?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An old building and therein lies its charm but the breakfast room is in need of a makeover. It looks very dated and dreary.

    Pleasant public spaces and well kept grounds. Brasserie good. We ate there on 3 evenings and the food and atmosphere excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed in this hotel twice before, on my booking I asked for a nice room as it was our 40th wedding anniversary, when we went to the room we were allocated the room was not the best that we have stayed in that hotel and as that we had booked early and that had arrived at the resort early we asked if we could be moved to another room , we were told all rooms had been taken but could move in a couple off days ,"no thanks " . They then told us that they just noticed our request of our anniversary, won't be returning

    The location and gardens were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was terrible. Everyone in there compained about over an hour wait. Then there were hairs in our food!!! There was no lock on our door. Not a broken lock...no lock!!!! Our apartment overlooked a car park and shipping containers, far from luxery! The sofa bed matress was so awful i wouldn't let a dog sleep on it. We had a new one delivered quickly.

    Lovely grounds and pools. Clean. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the room decorating was a little worn but probably to be expected due to the age of the property.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful location and excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Family room was really spacious, and my daughter had the fantastic view over st ives. Staff were really nice, the evening meal was extraordinary. Breakfast was really good. The whole weekend was nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow, where to start. Decor was almost depressing, it was so dated and weird. There was carpeting everywhere and rooms smelled really musty. Windows only opened 10 cm because of the birds, but no screens or grates and the room was quite hot. Meals were just adequate. I saw a few other rooms and while ours was acceptable, the others were ugly, cramped and in disrepair. It seems VERY poorly managed and they are clearly throwing all their resources into their time shares/apartments/etc.

    The cleaning staff and front desk were exceptional and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was a horrible experience and we left after one night breakfast was bad staff was not friendly, to be honest they were arrogant this hotel is too expensive,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was not working and there were two events on late in the evening that were directly next to our room, one was a Wedding party underneath that went on until 02:00 and an outdoor cinema that was extremely loud.

    Location was excellent, views were excellent, staff were very helpful, understanding and supportive and did what they could to make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall experience was disappointing, whilst the place is spacious it seems somewhat soulless, completely lacking in character. The entrance hall is filled with leather settees arranged in groups that make them appear very uninviting. We were fairly late taking breakfast and as 10:00 approached the staff, or one member in particular, was going around telling the few people left that their time was up, pretty poor that. Our particular room was large but sparcely furnished with some sort of Art Deco style furniture which consisted of a double wardrobe, quite adequate, a dressing table with minuscule drawers, two grubby arm chairs and what was obviously a mini-bar cabinet, except it didn’t have the fridge so in total there was no shelf space and inadequate drawers. Our bed, reasonably comfortable, was in fact two singles pushed together, you could see that because there was no bed skirt so the brown bases and the legs were on show, the sort of thing you would expect in a hostel but very poor for a fairly expensive room. On the outside the walk down to road through the gardens was lovely, probably the best bit. The Main Car Park is a shabby, rough stoned up area at the back of the hotel alongside the maintenance shed for the golf course and full of machinery, something of a let-down.

    The location is good, the views and the grounds are lovely, the place appears to have benefitted from a recent redecorate, that’s about it on the positive side

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    PARKING THE CAR WAS A PROBLEM WHEN WE ARRIVED. THIS WAS A SURPRISE AS THE ESTATE IS SO BIG. THEY NEED TO SORT THIS PROBLEM OUT ! ALSO CREAKY FLOOR , UNCOMFORTABLE BED, LOCK ON OUR ROOM DOOR WAS FAULTY

    WE REALLY ENJOYED THE BREAKFASTS

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dietary needs were accommodated but had to be requested each time. Restaurant was slow with food errors made. However staff were quick to rectify and apologise.

    Staff were welcoming and helpful. View was spectacular. Room was light and airy. Grounds were beautiful. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a disabled room as I am wheelchair bound, an what we got was a room miles away from reception, down a gentle ramp (ideal), along a corridor through some doors up a steep ramp ( far from ideal) through another set of doors, another corridor and then into a room that wasn't ideal for a wheelchair. Then the bathroom, well, it was impossible to get the wheelchair through the door into bathroom. Which meant I had to get out of wheelchair a slide in and out of bathroom on my bum. Not happy chappie. Apart from that, good staff and STUNNINGLY beautiful views of st Ives bay and beyond. Would definitely go back, but unsure about getting a disabled room as pre booked.

    Great views good food and staff, but didn't get a disabled room as was booked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minus was at certain times of day the water in the pipes was not hot enough for a comfortable shower.

    Courteous, helpful staff. Extra large comfortable room. Supplied birthday presecco/ balloon / card.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Family rooms are below entrance / lobby floor, with windows facing a wall - so rather dark with no view at all.

    Great location surrounded by beautiful gardens. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because this was our first experience with driving in England (we are from the U.S.), we wanted to stay in a hotel that was just outside of the center of St. Ives with included parking. The four-hour plus drive from Portsmouth had me a bit frazzled but when we walked into the hotel lobby I immediately relaxed. The staff was welcoming and willing to assist us in any way. The walk down to town is pretty steep in places but a beautiful stroll through the woods. The room we had for the three of us had plenty of space with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle has a wonderful sea view and we loved the park around the castle. The staff is lovely, always smiling and very helpful! We've stayed for one week and enjoyed it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was a little out of town . It's a 15-20 min walk to St Ives but there's a nice path to the bottom of the hotel grounds which then joins the main road into town.

    When we checked in we asked for a room change as the family room we had booked did not have a sea view (It turns out non of the family rooms have sea views). Becky at the front desk was very helpful and tried her best to find us an alternative room to suit our needs. In the end she was able to move us to one of the apartments which was amazing (no sea view but overlooking the golf course). Helpful and accommodating staff is the best asset any hotel can have.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk back up the hill to the hotel was challenging. Older gentleman in the dining room needs to smile a little more and less grumpy in his manner. All other staff were very kind and helpful. A fridge in the room would have made everything perfect.

    We loved the approach to the hotel and well kept gardens. Outside seating on the grass was perfect. Rooms large and clean. Breakfast was very good. Leisure facilities perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok if you used all their facilities, decor very disappointing - beachy style, should fit the outside. Parking at the back in scruffy car park, felt like one of the staff coming in the back entrance. Expensive compared to other places but not if you use all their facilities.

    Parking relatively close to town, helpful staff, tasty paella!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and steam room area is not very pleasant, nor the pool changing rooms. My treatments in the spa were not the best that I’ve had.

    Room was clean and spacious. Bar area and breakfast area very nice. Breakfast had a good choice and was nice and hot. The swimming pool is in a conservatory, and with the sun shining in it was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny. Could here people on the toilet in the next room. Receptionist made us feel like 2nd class when she realised we booked through booking.com. negative comments on trip advisor are patronising towards complaints which put me off mentioning anything to staff. Bathroom was dated. Menu both breakfast and restaurant menu were very basic and lacked passion. I am a head and lead support chef for a large company in Manchester which also owns 6 hotels. You are missing out on so much. You are charging premium rates for a very basic operation. Judging by the replies on trip advisor if anyone is to read my feedback I'm sure they will be defensive and many opportunities will be missed.

    The grounds. The fact I was staying in a hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. If you aren't a walker though, use a taxi or the bus to get in and out of town.

    Comfortable and warm, with great views over the town. Loved the walk in and out of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to leave.

    2 visit this year ,frequent visitor to Tregenna castle never been disapointed with the accomodation or the food . great breakfast and breath taking views and lovely gardens.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge in the Poldark suite was quite noisy at night so we had to turn it off.

    The whole experience was fantastic - comfy bed, friendly and welcoming staff, great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool staff were dopey and unfriendly. The pool guy looked like he was about to curl over and when asked where the changing rooms were he seemly grunted like he was 'Rocky Balbao'. The sofas in our room were super uncomfortable without any pillows so TV time over the 3 days that didn't stop raining was not a great experience. The images show you to stay in a 'Castle' but its really a lodge out the back of a Castle. Its a short hike up the hill

    Pool & Steam room were perfect. The mezzanine in our room was cool and the grounds were pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The chair in my room was not very comfortable. The toaster only warmed the bread without browning it.

    The breakfast was lovely. Staff were very helpful and not rushed. The setting was beautiful, the view from the front was breath-taking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only criticism is the car park. Whilst there are plenty of spaces round the site, most are reserved. Hotel guests thus use a relatively small car park, which is not particularly well surfaced and is also rather cramped - I suspect busy times may require scraping the barrel to find a space. This is the one area I feel the hotel could and should improve.

    Nice hotel, good location, gardens well maintained and interior clean and tidy, with a few relics from its time as a railway hotel to be found. The location is far enough from St Ives to be peaceful, but close enough to be within good walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worse value for money hotel we have ever stayed at. Everything was below average although we paid good money for it; from the dark and cold layout of the room, absence of sound proofing, and non existent view, to the lack of hot water and sub-par breakfast. Do not waste your money there when there are cheaper and lovelier options around St-Ives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General comfort of the chairs provided could be better. Provision of drinks glasses and tea/coffee making provision could be better Provision of a small fridge would be good

    General atmosphere was friendly and relaxing. Great location Car parking v good Brasserie food / service v good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little bit on the cold side,and ques for coffee at breakfast.

    The rooms were nice and quiet with ,a good view and a lovely walk to town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was below standard, poor considering the cost of the stay and the rest of the hotelz

    Room was lovely. Scenery was amazing and not a bad walk to town. Food options weren’t great so we cancelled the evening meal at had diner in St Ives.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self catering apartments are very dated. The breakfast needs a bit more variation and the hotel gym is very small and limited.

    Location, views and grounds were all really great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay!

    Beautiful location. Very comfortable. Staff super friendly and efficient - not always found when travelling alone. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the resort had everything it said it would have, the facilities and the building was out dated. There were silly issues like the kettle didn't reach the plug, the steam room seat was in disrepair, the sauna felt like it was from 70s and would explode at any moment, the bar staff didn't know how to make the cocktails on the menu, the toilet paper was cheap and the pool was small/dirty. The stay was ok and no more.

    Great location: only 5 minutes from the beach, beautiful golf course/surroundings and lots of things to do both at the hotel (included in the price) and in the town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing rooms for the pool could do with s little updating, steps up to the pool from the changing rooms were bit dull

    Everything was superb, staff were wonderful & very helpful. Would certainly recommend & will definitely visit again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sorry if this comment is a bit basic, but the toilet paper in our room disintegrated on use; not really achieving its purpose then!

    The same staff seemed to be on duty the whole 24 hours we were there! The were worked very hard, but always were polite & helpful, with a smile. The wedding meal was great - good food & well served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only easier access to pool for people with mobility problems. My wife being one of those persons. Absolutely

    The hotel , location, room , staff and food . Also the leisure center and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable. Buffet style average quality breakfast cheapened the experience.

    Fantastic view over the bay, beautiful room, lovely gardens and walk down to the town centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t work in our bedroom, the bathroom was only accessible via bedroom 2 and the breakfast was a bit ordinary as it only really caters for obese English people who eat very unhealthy fried offal.

    It was a nice walk down to the village and had spacious and very quiet rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool, sauna, steam room and changing rooms are very dated, almost on the verge of looking unclean. The furniture in the room is dated and cheap looking. The hot breakfast was only aright, the sausages were horrible.

    The location and grounds are beautiful. Staff are friendly and attentive. The communal areas are comfy and are kept clean and fresh. The meal in the restaurant was the best meal we had in Cornwall, the fish was cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the bathroom: it took ages before getting something warm-ish. The hotel could use a make over: the outside (park and facilities) are great, the inside is dated. Poor attention to details. In a place like Cornwall I was very disappointed to taste pretty standard sausages and eggs for breakfast as well as packaged jams. The lift was embarrassing slow.

    Room was good and quiet, parking included, breakfast included and with plenty of choice. They let us stay with the car inside the parking well after the check-out so we managed to spend a good part of the day we left visiting the city. Conveniently located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small things but gave a lasting impression - hash browns were on the menu but I only saw them at the buffet stand on one occasion. On our final morning/day we were moved to the smaller dining room because of a wedding - it was chaotic - long queues both to get in and at the coffee machine (only 1) etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor quality, bacon, eggs, etc., far too dry, by 9 am looked liked they have been there since 7am. The ensuite very basic, no toiletries or space to put your own.

    Fantastic views from our bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor quality furnishings out of keeping with hotel exterior. Looks like someone tried a very cheap modernisation that was completely inappropriate.

    Location and gardens - really nice on the outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist when we checked in was quite abrupt and unfriendly

    The view was stunning. The food was delicious. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking close to hotel can be difficult when there is a wedding on. More lounge seating would be great.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed and mattress very uncomfortable, felt I was going to fall out of bed as dip in mattress. Furniture needs updating as did our room. Built in wardrobe had a very odd/old small chest of drawers inside. Bathroom not great, smelt musty and damp with ill fitting basin pedestal. Shower not great as shower head too small; and not enough hot water for shower or to have a long soak in the bath. Luxury towels but that is where it ends; not bubble bath, body lotion etc. Just a fixed shower-jell on bath tiles (what you get in a Holiday Inn). Dining room not great; waiting around for food to be bought and having to ask again for something already requested. kitchen closes at 9pm so in you prefer to eat later you are our of luck! Food bland and not worth the cost.

    The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Room 128 has a fab view of St Ives bay and sea. Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice, from toast, fruit and yogurt, a selection of cereal and full English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size is slightly small for a double and there was a quite a bit of thick dust on the curtains.

    Great location, good free spa facilities and a tip top breakfast. Decent sized bathroom but the actual bedroom was slightly on the small side. Good parking and pleasant, helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little dated and the shower was hit and miss, sometimes the water came out very slowly. The water in the bath took a very long time to drain away. We did let reception know about this and after they sent maintenance to check it out, it was improved . The temperature in our room was very warm and there was no means of turning it down . Room no. 51

    Breakfast was very good, all hot food was fresh . Brasserie food and service was also very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and bedroom need upgrading. Also needs more bits in the bathroom conditioner etc also somewhere to put washbag

    The view was really nice. The room quite big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arctic winds battering our windows......but extra bedding was provided and we were cosy in our room

    The weather was awful, St Ives was shut due to the snow and lots of the staff couldn't get to work but the ones that did went the extra mile to make sure all their guests were well cared for. Nothing was too much trouble and they worked with good humour. We are full of admiration and gratitude. It was not our first visit to Tregenna and will definitely not be our last.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too hot even though it was snowing !! Ceaser salad was veryy disappointing

    Hotel very clean ang grand for the she. Accessible to town great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool wasn’t great, wasn’t what we expected and full of steam which wasn’t the end of the world. Steam room & sauna was nice but would of been better if some silly boys hadn’t of kept throwing water on the stones continually and being rather obnoxious and arrogant. Room was extremely hot on arrival and took a while to try and discover how to turn radiator off but room still very warm. Weather was very mild for time of year so didn’t need it quite so warm and slept with window open the first night and discovered other guests had the same idea!

    Hotel set in beautiful grounds, location good. Hotel staff friendly & helpful. Breakfast was superb and room clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable, bed very comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very average. The menu unimaginative. Though the pizzas were lovely, thin and crispy.

    Super comfy beds. The swimming pool was so warm you could see the steam coming off it. The staff divine. The beautiful and varied gardens to explore. Stunning view from our room over st Ives bay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sockets next to the bed, bleak view of internal court yard, tradesmen erecting scaffold the next morning, average pool, cold jacuzzi. Overall happy I didn’t pay more than £69 for a night!

    Clean rooms, nice shower, USB power sockets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated and falling behind it's competition, feel there's a lot they could do to make a nice looking castle glamour up and appeal to a wider audience

    Loved the outside and views and food was nice as well as staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We phoned a week before to confirm our booking and told the receptionist it was our dads 60th birthday and the answer we had from her was " well we dont do anything special cos everyone is here celebrating something". Not a good telephone manner at all. Paper thin walls. I could here the person next door having a shower at 3am!! Lots of loud noises until early hours of the morning as there was a wedding party. I found the staff very unfriendly. The man behind reception was the only person to smile. The restaurant was overpriced for the standard of food we got. I booked online for a table of 10 and they didnt receive our booking so it was very embarrassing when we were sat at a table for 10 meant for someone else. They did find us another table. We paid nearly £20 for paella and it was a very small portion and 1 of our partys food didnt arrive until we had all eaten. Overall it is a lovely hotel and we would stay again for the facilities but i would not eat in the restaurant.

    Beautiful grounds. The beds were very comfy and rooms spacious. The children loved the swimming pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of toiletries provided, ladies changing room in spa not as clean as they could be and the room seems slightly overpriced compared to similar hotels we've stayed in.

    The view and the staf were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sofa bed wasnt clean from the previous stay so couldnt lay on the sofa bed. check in time was late by 1hour 30minutes as room wasnt ready in time.

    the apartments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas looked in need of a little TLC. Bar drinks expensive. Cooked breakfast was a buffet style and food was not hot.

    Location and views were fab. Staff friendly and helpful. Food was delicious and plenty of choice. Room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant small compared with number of guests, it can be difficult to get a reservation.

    Our room was really spacious and special, although the basement wouldn't have been my first choice. But my parents had a dark, small and cold room. After a few days, I mentioned to reception that my parents weren't happy with their room, and the receptionist offered to upgrade them. My parents were really happy with the second room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room.

    We where told we would get a en-suite and we never did. The room was nice but a little unclean, but the staff where really lovely and helpful and the facilities where amazing and also the breakfus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find a quiet corner to relax in - TV on in both Lounge Bar and sitting room and other sofas located in a thoroughfare ( the latter was especially tricky, since there was a wedding on at the same time ! )

    Staff very helpful. Food was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot. Limited hot vegetarian option for breakfast. Very outdated thinking around this.

    Check in - Michael(?) - brilliant Staff generally excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the rooms and the noise u could hear from the bedroom very simple room for the price I was expecting alot more then wot we got tbh checking in was a nightmare very busy and staff just stood around not helping, kids running around the hotel with no adults from children about age 3-9, I have children myself and wanted a night away for a break not to b running around trying to find theses children's parents and when I did find them they were in no fit state to b looking after them cos of drink hated this break even thou I only get 1 a Yr 😔 would never come bk here

    That it was away from the main road

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, food was good but I sat sat on a bench to eat it! If paying £18 for a main surely we could have a table cloth and it not look like a greasy spoon café.

    The grounds and outside

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our room, we could hear people next door talking as if they were in our room, with us, and their telly was probably situated on the wall behind us and was very loud! The breakfast though varied and plentiful, was cold by the time you have got to the table to eat. Leisure facilities were just about average. We stayed in same quality hotels with nearly half the price!

    The view from the window; friendliness of staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine at breakfast was broken so we're unable to have in morning, but this was a very minor detail.

    Very lovely place to stay! Staff were exceptional and very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like but maybe the breakfast was slightly expensive and the rooms weren’t as big as I thought

    The facilities were amazing, the staff were always extremely helpful and the beds were really comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - expectations were exceeded

    Staff went out their way to assist with all aspects - brought the all important forgotten hair conditioner (for the wife). Weather was awful so decided on take away in the room and reception provided plates and cutlery. Breakfast was good - talk of the breakfast room was having to put bread through toaster twice for it be called 'toast' - if that is the top talking point then hotel have done very well. Pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room excellent too. Very comfy beds. If I had to bring up one less than excellent point 'the hallways were exceptionally warm (hot). Overall superb value and experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a small heater in the room . Old draughty windows . Door rattled had to shove wad of paper in to stop it .

    Comfy bed ,lovely bathroom . Nice spacious room with view of sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems with Tregenna Castle.

    Great Location, views, facilities & the staff could not be any more helpful than they were. Tregenna Castle is a fantastic venue that caters for all your needs. We are leaving so very refreshed, relaxed & revitalised. In a word Perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room without Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com cancelled my first visit as card details were supposedly incorrect

    Was really scenic very quite Instant hot water not too expensive in restaurants and bar

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tregenna Castle Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: