Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Trethorne Hotel and Golf Club

Kennards House, Launceston, PL15 8QE, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 hotels in Launceston

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is the building is older so you can hear other people returning to their room/going upstairs.

    We originally booked a superior room however they only had a twin room not a double so we we’re moved to one of the bungalow rooms. We actually found this to be nicer, larger and more comfortable for us than the superior room. The bed is so soft and comfy, and we we’re delighted to find a Air Con unit which helped with this summer heat wave. The staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet had everything and more. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was clean but could have been cleaner. Dont think the bed clothes were fresh.

    Good surroundings. Pleasant area and overall good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The function we came for was well organised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the way the family room was set up, we had electrical sockets behind our heads in the bed and the single bed had socket by the side so if a smallier child were to use it they could put fingers in

    The function we came for was well organised

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    GOOD HONEST FARE.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of passing traffic is the only downfall oof the place.

    There is nothing bad. All is good and geared to a welcoming stay whatever the reason for being there. It is lovely and clean and tidy. However it is not very good for those who cannot get around well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Excellent staff and food but family rooms let them down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what they are the rooms in the bungalows were awful!! The carpet was badly stained, the wardrobe was tired looking and the sink had mould and mildew in the drain as dud the shower.

    The staff was A-1, very helpful and friendly think they all deserve a raise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.3
    Don't stay there if you plan your trip around the website information
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was stated as starting at 7.00, as we had an appointment at 8. Which was why we chose the hotel ini the first place! WE were really dismayed to find nothing ready, and by 20 past 7' they were still cooking. I asked the waitress what the hold up was. Instead of being polite and conciliatory, she was quite surly . When it did arrive it wasn't really worth the wait. We were very stressed out by the whole situation the receptionist was not in the least apologetic. However she did refund the breakfast cost, and finally admitted that the manager had changed the staff start times, and the waitress had been on holiday and thus didn't know. ( hardly the customer's fault!) and the website start times needed changing. A pretty stressful and miserable start to,our day. Would we stay there again.? never!

    The room was really comfortable, clean and well appointed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay with huge breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a big sign in the way of the drive making it difficult to see cars when you are pulling out.

    Really good buffet breakfast serving full English and continental. The hotel is just of the A30 so great location for exploring Cornwall and Devon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Good place for a short stay while travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located by a golf course by the A30 so unless you have a car to travel, you cannot get anywhere.

    Me and my friends stayed one night in triple room 12. It was clean and spacious. Shower had a good water pressure, and toilet was in a separate room. Staff was helpful. Good selection of cold and hot food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Noise from 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from 1. Traffic - ear plugs for one didn’t cut it. 2. Noise from water boiler/pipes etc from other room on same floor. 3. Distance from room to reception 4. Food not up to much 5. Radiators, furniture in room well worn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great room with the best bed I’ve ever slept in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very close to the driving range which was a little noisy but not awful! I would have loved a hair dryer in the door and a shaving charge point but really that’s just me being super picky!

    The bed was absolutely amazing and the room had clearly just been redone. It was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was also really good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    an okay stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buildings with the bedrooms are situated alongside a very busy road and so can be quite noisy. They do provide ear plugs, but not everyone can get on with these. It would have been nice to have warned about this first. It also meant you had to walk up the driveway (or drive if raining) to get to breakfast and check in / check out, which would not be ideal for everyone

    A lot of the rooms seem to be in seperate buildings in the grounds. The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was fine Nice view from the bar and breakfast room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    The lady on reception when we arrived was extremely polite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception when we arrived was extremely polite, cheerful and went above and beyond the call of duty in providing us with directions, taxis and various items of local knowledge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Not happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the next door guests banging doors most of the night on both nights I was over charged as when I looked on line Easter holidays were charged at £99 per night for a family and free entry to the leisure centre I was not informed about this I am regulars customers I usually come 3 times a year.

    The room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the size of the family room, the beds were extremely comfortable (the double bed was more of super king size!) & we all enjoyed our stay here. We would most definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall a pleasant peaceful little place
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having returned at 9.45pm from a long day at a funeral there was no way to obtain even a sandwich. The barman was very helpful but sadly all he had to offer was crisps and biscuits. Also all the breakfast had been put away when we arrived the next morning before 10 a. My. If you offer up to 10 I would still expect it to be available at 9.45.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like to go out of my room in the cold to go to the restaurant and back.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms was big and clean The good was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds terrible! Rooms look like they have not been painted in years and the hotel looks the same. Sound proofing so poor you felt that you could hear the person above turning over in bed. No heating in the bedroom Will not stop there again

    didn't

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    The staff are very friendly and helpful and the evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little bit hard and could do with a new mattress!

    The staff are very friendly and helpful and the evening meal was cooked beautifully and was very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a bath and a comfy chair.

    Staff were all very friendly, approachable and helpful. We would happily return for another stay. Slept particularly well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    Not Happy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was not full and I was given a disabled room. The bed was uncomfortable and I didn't sleep for 3 nights. My colleague and I went to the restaurant bar at 9.45pm it was closed. Not value for money. I have stayed in much better hotels for this price

    N/A

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Ideal stop over on the way to Cornwall with excellent food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were old fashioned as was the toilet and bathroom, but clean overall.

    The food was excellent both dinner and breakfast and the staff were very helpful The main hotel was a bit dated, but value for money was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Great for a Golf night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected more; obviously too much. The hotel functions only as a golfing, one night lay over. Two children in a single room are never going to be satisfied by a TV no larger than a ipad.

    The hotel is on a golf course and so naturally it is best suited to those wanting to have a drink or two, stay overnight before a round of golf. The facilities reflect this. Don't expect more. The staff were friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful. Restaurant food was better than expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent - will definitely use again on the future
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent, evening meal very good quality and well priced, accommodation spacious. In all I would rate this as excellent

    One of the best places I have stayed in for an overnight business trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    Food was good and staff great. Better arranged room could have made it more relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The disabled accessible room was too small for the user to move around the room. It was also in the furthest cottage away from main restaurant and meant a walk of five minutes to breakfast. As helping someone in a wheelchair to wash and dress takes time it meant allowing a lot of extra time to get there. It was impossible to get the wheelchair near the shower which, in itself was rather small and cosy with the shower chair in it. Room only had a built in wardrobe and bedside chests of drawers. Could have done with extra surfaces but there would not have been any room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, they laid a special table for us for breakfast as we could not access the dining room due to wheelchair

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed with hygiene of the rooms, but staff responded to complaints promptly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and condition of the bedrooms in the main building was not good. Black mould around shower door tray and controls, handbasin overflow and around taps. Shower rail and head fitment not secure. Glasses for toothbrushes were on the low 'box in' of pipes near the toilet as there was no shelf or cupboard fitted. No hooks to hang bath robe. Mugs for tea were stained. Window lever faulty,could not close window fully, serious drafts into the room. Greasy stains on the wall at the head of the bed, no headboard. Room had obviously not been thoroughly cleaned for some time. Housekeeping needed to do more supervision to keep standards up.

    Pleasant staff. Good breakfast choice, variety and freshness. Staff listened to room complaint and responded promptly offering an alternative room away from the main building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly, food very good with some special offers that were very good value and there was no scrimping on the portion sizes. Our room was in an annex quite a distance from the bar and restaurant which we weren't expecting and as the weather was inclement we got wet. Although we were then given a brolly to borrow. Hairdryer could be borrowed from reception Although right on the main road it was very quiet. Good parking for the motorbikes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    Would stay here again but would ask for a room in the main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk 2 hundred yrds to the restaurant which isn't to bad when it's not raining. You were not alowed to use the restaurant after a certain time and were made to eat in the bar.

    It was comfortable.very cetral to our needs for the holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise from the adjacent road when windows open. Male receptionist addressing me as 'Brenda' when I gave my name as Mrs. No instructons as to how to use the shower - took me 5 minutes to get it right!

    Bed very comfortable, and very good family room in separate building. Food in the restaurant very nice, helpful staff at breakfast time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Book this hotel if you want to sleep on old wear off mattress
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this hotel by looking at the room pictures because they looked clean and comfortable but I was very much disappointed after looking at the rooms we were given. The carpet was very dirty, no toiletries provided and the beds were worst. In the booking.com pictures you will see all the rooms with proper wooden/divan beds whereas the one we got were iron and wobbly and the mattress was old which gave me back pain. Unfortunately the hotel hasn't uploaded any picture of those rooms on their ad.

    The location was perfect for sightseeing in cornwall. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good variety for breakfast and restaurant serves yummy food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Bed huge & very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature slightly cool & room carpet a little dusty

    Bed huge & very comfy. Room big enough to accommodate travel cot. Biscuits on arrival in room with cup of tea was a lovely touch 👍 Breakfast quality excellent Overall was a great location for our stay & lovely room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Lovely restful stopover.
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would liked to have stayed longer but time did not allow us this luxury.

    We especially liked the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to accommodate the extra request.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    So well looked after here....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very little to complain about...but the desk lamp did not work and was reported on day 1 of our 4 day stay....... It did not work on day 4 either.

    The food was simple and well prepared. No attempt at falsehood here, just real country food. The staff coukd not have been more helpful and accommodating, especially to me as a disabled person. At Trethorne, there is always a ready smile and good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Good surrounding good bar& resteraunt
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No accessible electric sockets in room at to boil kettle in side wardrobe my wife had to sit inside wardrobe to dry hair

    Good surrounding good bar& resteraunt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Cheap stop over, no frills but appropriately priced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single Room was limited on facilities (no wardrobe, no hot water).

    Friendly staff, nice golfing facility. A fan was needed for the room in the extreme hot weather and the staff found one for use quite quickly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Location was convenient, room a good size with a shower and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of attention to detail. Had to ask for toilet paper as none in the bathroom, toilet could have been cleaner. Accommodation is remote from the main building. Don't take your bags oot of the car before getting the room

    Location was convenient, room a good size with a shower and a bath

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little noisy in the room when other guests were coming and going but it wasn't too bad. I always bring earplugs with anyway.

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Really good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed wasn't the comfiest and the WiFi was poor, especially in the rooms

    The staff where friendly and welcoming, the food was very good all round good stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, clean and food good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had one complaint. We noticed one server using their hand and fingers to mix the raisons and dried bananas before refilling them after breakfast. Please could you ask the staff to either use gloves or spoons for this purpose. We were a group of retired nurses and found this particularly unsavoury.

    Rooms were well maintained and clean. Bed comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.1
    Good quality motel-type accommodation on a rural golf course...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather remote and relatively pricey, but little else available budget-wise in this part of Cornwall

    Good quality motel-type accommodation on a rural golf course, with easy access for the main road. Nice restaurant with ample breakfast selection

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Excellent evening meal - good choices and value for money. Brilliant breakfast. Very helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. Will use this hotel in the future. Could not fault it in any way.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Staff were always attentive and helpful I was informed on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot overnight and I had to open toilet window and room window to get some fresh air the rooms are ground floor so I felt vulnerable. The weather was rather warm for the time of year so the hotel can be forgiven for the heating being on.

    Staff were always attentive and helpful I was informed on arrival there had been a problem with my shower but it had been sorted after using the shower it developed another problem I reported this and it was sorted out during the day when I was out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    Room could have been better, but was convenient, as we were attending a function on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was limited electrical sockets available, the only socket to plug the kettle in to make tea or coffee was behind the bed.

    The receptionist on arrival was welcoming, the breakfast was very nice and staff attentive, The bar area was nicely decorated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    great friendly staff, had a function in the other part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    trethorne needs updating its got tired (fixtures & fittings) nothing more than general maintainance wouldn't sort out

    great friendly staff, had a function in the other part of trethorne food was really good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    8.8
    Great stop over hotel for business with friendly staff and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi in the rood and in all rooms I have stayed in is unusable

    Easy checking in, friendly staff, good food and good selection. I was upgraded to a larger room which was excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    4.6
    Dirty, noisy and room not on site.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was informed on arrival that I needed to drive up the road to find my room, no lighting provided. You have to drive back to eat etc. My bathroom was dirty including hairs in the bath. Very thin walls and next to a busy road so getting any sleep was a challenge. Food was terrible but in all fairness I wasn't expecting anything fancy.

    Polite and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff lovely food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a family room.! Which I thought would be a double and one single but it was three single beds !!! It made me and my husband laugh though 😄😄😄

    Very friendly staff lovely food

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Look no further than Trethorne for your chance to relat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We enjoyed the whole experience.

    The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to help. The room was spacious and had a large very comfortable bed. Also the food was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Visiting a sick relative in Launceston so I wanted a bit of quite which this was perfect for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pressure could have been a bit more consistent but perfectly acceptable

    Large comfy room and good menu choice at well below normal hotel prices. Breakfast was a belly buster. Great location just off the A30 and only a few minutes drive from town. Really friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    A very peaceful few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was delicious, the choices at breakfast plentiful and varied. The location of the hotel made for a very peaceful and restful stay. If in the area again I would certainly stay here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    A dog friendly option for an overnight stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleep was disturbed by traffic noise from the nearby road. Cleanliness could have been improved- bath in room, and breakfast crockery. Room seemed hot, even after turning radiator off.

    Dog friendly. Dog welcome in bar area where we ate dinner and breakfast. Lots of grass areas to exercise our dog. Room spacious. Buffet breakfast offered a good choice. Staff were helpful. Plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    We were very pleased with our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the bedrooms were a bit thin.

    Restaurant staff were lovely and very attentive. Great location. Comfortable bed. Tea,coffee and biscuits in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    Overnight stay with family in a convenient but noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in one of the bungalows right next to a busy road, so noisy. The rooms are a little dated and whilst ours was very clean another of our party found their room to be dusty.

    Convenient location, just off the A30. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food in the restaurant is freshly cooked and very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.8
    Pretty much Launceston's only hotel option
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have been in the main building. Would have liked a bit more of a comfy lounge. It just felt a bit sparse.

    This hotel was adequate for what was needed. Somewhere to sleep after a tiring journey. It would have been wonderful if the rooms were a little closer to the main building. Perhaps a swimming pool, or a little more comfort. Breakfast was very good though!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.8
    Loud generator fan will keep you up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the money it was not even as good as a Travelodge.. and for a golf course, it was pretty sad. The walls were paper thin, there was banging about outside by guests and most of all, we got no sleep because every time you or another room flushes their toilet, a huge generator/fan goes off and hums for a good 15 min until someone flushes their toilet again. The reception was vague and unwilling to describe this noise. The location of our room was far from the restaurant and close to the busy road. It was like an afterthought and someone made rooms out of this small place on the side of the road leading up to the golf course. You had to walk by a bar full of drunk men who gave you the eyebrow for interrupting their television game on the way into the restaurant to eat. The variety on the menu was not too impressive. The floor was beveled by the sink in the bathroom due to water damage. My parents in another room said they could hear the man next to them snoring all night just to show how thin the walls were.

    It was good we got this place considering everything even remotely near Tintagel was booked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    A great place to stay for a 2 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many smokers standing by the reception entrance. No wonder they can't play golf!!

    The set up at the golf club was just right. The room was wonderful and very comfortable. Just a short walk from the main building gave us the right appetite for a first class breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    We liked the large bed, peaceful setting.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the large bed, peaceful setting. Really friendly staff and also friendly members of the golf club.Bath as well as a shower and a larger than normal bathroom. Lovely walk around the golf course. Good English breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyable Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being really picky Guest Information was outdated most dating 2015 Welcome Letter needs replacing.

    Staff where First Class and could not do enough for you, Bedrooms good nothing wrong at all Will stay again next time in area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.4
    Since we travelled through cornwall the location was quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not so comfy and not very clean. We paid 90€ per night which was in my opinion to much.

    Since we travelled through cornwall the location was quiet good for us. There were free parking spots directly in front of the house. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    We have stayed here before and were rather surprised by the lowering of standards.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet system did not fill. The excessive water pressure in sink causing splashing over floor. Shower door did not close. We had to wait 45 minutes for our evening meal to be served on both evenings we stayed there. The breakfast table had been used before us and not cleaned or re laid correctly.

    Location. Also it suited us to be in a room away from the main building. With a little attention to detail and some obvious management on hand this could be an ideal place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    nice short stay in quiet surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    towels not changed during the five nights stay

    plenty of choose for breakfast, and large evening meals and very quiet cottage type accomodation, with well maintained golf course.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.5
    Lovely rooms and location, shame about the wifi issues and noise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi wasn't working on my arrival and didn't work until 1am. Frustrating, as I was staying for work and had no way of emailing people. My accommodation was a few mins walk from the main reception, and not very nice in the dark by myself to ask for help with the wifi at 9pm. There are no phones in the rooms, so I had no other option. The lady I spoke to was rude and dismissive and said she would send someone to reboot the router but that's all she could do. She then told a member of staff to come and help me and that she wouldn't be able to leave for the night until he had done so, which made me feel I couldn't stay and finish my drink in the bar which I had just bought. The young man she sent to help was very polite and helpful. The wifi eventually started working at 1am. There was a generator or machine of some kind near my room, which made a noise every 5 seconds all night.

    Lovely clean room with comfortable bed. Great breakfast selection. Friendly receptionists and bar staff. Beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location, needed a little TLC to make it a great stay to be honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning unit outside our room noisily turned on and off every few seconds all night. The staff were most helpful and moved us to a new room the following morning which was perfect. The hot buffet breakfast was dried up and unappetising at 9, though advertised as available until 10.

    The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Our 2nd room was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.3
    Nice break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise as room near a main road. Would like shampoo and conditioner not just shower gel.

    Lovely room, comfy bed, air/con, coffee/tea making, everything good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.8
    Good value hotel close to Launceston and Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a group of 8 golfers playing in a competition at nearby Launceston. Trethorne has its own golf course and driving range and we were able to warm up before travelling to Launceston. There was one issue which was satisfactorily resolved by the friendly staff. The restaurant food was good and good value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    3.8
    Not even a sandwich after 18.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived 9:30pm after the typical Friday holiday drive into Cornwall, immediately told restaurant closed, wouldn't even make a sandwich, offered crisps or a biscuit. Told breakfast finished at 9:00am not 10:00 as they had a wedding booked.

    The golf course makes a nice back drop

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    Rest your tired body .You will enjoy the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not applicable.

    our welcome.The follow up service was excellent.As non golfers we were treated to a warm welcome.Our onward travel further south made easier with good advice from staff member.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    The staff were brilliant & helped assist us with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant & helped assist us with our poorly child.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    We were comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror in the bedroom. Nowhere to hang damp towels in the bathroom.

    Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eadily accessible from the Town

    Quite and comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets didn t feel clean

    Service at breakfest

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and happy to engage .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and happy to engage ... bar food was excellent. Rooms nicely done out (and up since last visit !).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that I did not like.

    Good breakfast, nice golf course, excellent staff. Would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Great location, nice staff. Straightforward food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Newly refurbed rooms were fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.6
    Noisy and uncomfortable temperature control - would not...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and uncomfortable temperature control - would not return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Location just off A30 but quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: