Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tudor Grange

31 Gervis Road, East Cliff, Bournemouth, BH1 3EE, United Kingdom

#26 of 46 B&Bs and Inns in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 817 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Tudor Grange you should try it you will not be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soft bed. The bed in room 7 was very different to our firm bed. Short but still able to sleep easily

    The cooked breakfast was very good using good quality and tasty food. A good choice of cereals, toast and pastries. Location was nice, quiet and relaxing. Close to town. Parking was great, I happened to always get the space in the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.4
    very disappointing - like a florified ymca! basic and not much thought gone in to basic requirement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very few toiletteries offered. and no hairdryer to be seen. i was told you have to apply to the reception when the reception is open - but we arrived not reading the manual book first but went straight out after check out for a meal as we had travelled a long way - when returning reception was closed and i didnt get the hairdryer which meant i couldnt shower or wash my hair. might i suggest the receptionist at the start offers a hairdryer if wanted. but this is a basic requirement in most hotels and b&bs i have ever been to. breakfast was fine if you were happy with a full english. i am vegetarian and not much on offer. not even egg cups for boiled eggs. basis requirements again is lacking. after reading the manual in our room i thought it to be quite unfriendly. wont go back or recommend and your rating of superb must be by people easily pleased. also, damp appearing at the bottom of one wall.

    the house and grounds were beautiful and thought we had found a hidden gem! the room was small and so was the double bed but we managed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.4
    Not a lot
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for ground floor room as I have walking problems given very tiny room with high step into bathroom making visit to bathroom difficult

    Not a lot

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    Outdoors and public rooms divine but our room was a big let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom dirty Room stuck up in the attic - should have been advised as we would not have take it if we were aware No staff available after 8pm couldn’t get a drink No ice provided for drinks

    Era of the building and the dining room and lounge were exceptional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to run around in the shower to try and get wet. Luckily the shower cubicle was a reasonable size so this did help a bit!

    Hotel was in an excellent location and the staff were friendly and helpful Our room was clean and comfortable although a little small. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and cooked well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    The place is extremely beautiful, very English-style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Wi-Fi was a bit slow

    The place is extremely beautiful, very English-style decorated and quiet. Room was cozy and very clean, so as the bathroom, really out of our expectation with the price!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.0
    Great place to stay. Close to lots of places to visit. Nice to be able to walk into Bournemouth for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the top of the house and the last narrow stairs were very steep.

    Fabulous breakfast,with a huge choice. Set you up for the day. Lovely peaceful garden to sit out in .Beautiful looking property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    it was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On 2 occasions there were not enough sausages/bacon/has browns ready when we went down for breakfast. They finally brought more, right near the end of the breakfast times. The only type of egg available was scrambled. The room we had was a bit dark and could do with a lick of paint. The 'garden view' was mostly a view of the fence and the buildings across the road with a small bit of grass, not a nice view of the proper gardens.

    Nice building overall and very close to the beaches etc, Reasonable price and polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    Aesthetically pleasing property in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls seemed to be paper thin. Shower was really poor, like standing in a phone box with budgie breathing over you. Pillows were limp & offered little support. Floor boards creaked.. Bedding was hollow fibre, would expect better for £114.00 per night.. Breakfast was really poor with virtually nothing left within last 20/30 minutes of dining window. Generally a poor experience..

    Good location for access in to town & beach area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    An oasis in a very busy city. A real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, except I wish we could have stayed another day or two.

    We enjoyed everything about this property. It is beautiful, house was clean and comfy,beds were good, breakfast great. What’s not to like? In particular, l loved the style of the home (it feels like a home) and the obvious pride the owners have in it. Built in 1927 in mock Tudor style (and you’ll find a few famous Tudors residing in the north sitting room), this lovely place also has a nice garden beds, and we were lucky enough to have our bedroom literally right next to the garden pond/fountain. I loved it. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great (keep in mind that breakfast is buffet style, but does include hot English breakfast staples (eggs...but scrambled...sausage, ham, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans). So no “cooked to order” breakfast, but it was very good and maybe even better than a few cooked to order breakfasts we’ve had on our trip. I hope you’ll enjoy this place as much as we did.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    - The place was very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the place was way too noisy. it was impossible to sleep. Since it was the week-end it was a major downside - the water pressure in the shower was not enough to make it possible to actually shower. - the mattress wasn't very comfortable and we woke up with our backs hurting. - All considered, we do not think it was value for money

    - The place was very beautiful. Absolutely stunning - The position was excellent: 10 min walking from the beach and 10 min walking from the city centre. - free parking space - we found plenty of food at the breakfast, even half an hour before its ending

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Had a lovely stay, good weather and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much of an atmosphere with no welcome from anyone. No one on reception readily available,handed our keys then just a printed sheet of information at the desk, it would have been helpful if someone there to ask for more information on the area. Only conversation ever was "do you want tea or coffee!" I think this lovely hotel lacks personality!

    The hotel is a lovely looking Tudor style property with lots of character. Bedrooms immaculate and beds extra comfy. Plenty of on site parking and property very convenient for both Bournemouth and Boscombe. Plenty of eating places within very short walk from hotel. Beautiful gardens with seating areas and fish pond.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Would not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry see above.

    A historic property, nice to look at but most inconvenient for elderly guests. No lifts, only stairs up to the bedrooms. No staff available to help. Very small bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast ok, but only 1 staff to replenish the food. Often nothing available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy beds, friendly staff, welcoming lounge...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited reception times - check in on a Sunday between 3pm and 6pm only.

    Great location, comfy beds, friendly staff, welcoming lounge and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent position a few minutes walk to the sea and town, in a very pretty building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In such a lovely venue and beautiful dining room, we found the breakfast very disappointing. The fruit was all tinned. The hot breakfast was a serve yourself affair and in my opinion not very tasty. It was definitely below the standard expected.

    The building and décor are charming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to speak with manager. Room number 1 next to staff toilets so noisy early morning. Bed small and very creaky. Rear garden needed attention.

    Location and cooked breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable relaxes stay in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the centre so got a little wet walking into town. Lack of maps and tourist information available.

    Tudor style exterior and interior beautiful, gorgeous wood panelling downstairs. Classical music softly playing added to the relaxing atmosphere in the lounge and hallways.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    ruined by the shower and particularly the lengthy argument over the cost. they accepted NO liability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower was awful, there was a trickle of water. When I commented-Tudor Grange said 'i know-we are waiting for an electric shower to be installed at the end of the season"!!!The wifi in our room was NON existent. The charge we paid was NOT what we agreed via email and I confirmed over the telephone. They charged and extra 140GBP for one night

    location, SOME of the staff. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothinh I did not like

    The friendly staff, room super clean. Beds comfy, shower very good. Breakfast was hot and a good choice. I will be go8ng back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Glad we found this gem
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    I was due to be late to arrive and they made arrangements for me, as it was I arrived on time and the young receptionist sorted everything else for us. She went through everything with us and wished us pleasant stay. The room was No8. It was clean and comfortable and fairly quiet. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was varied and very nice. We shall certainly be staying here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Should improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes shower did not work well, weak and cold. Ground floor room: we could hear staff talking early in the morning.

    Nice house. Close to east cliff, beach and station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    The setting is fantastic and the Tudor property is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The setting is fantastic and the Tudor property is quintessentially British. Our room was super comfortable and the common areas were inviting as well. Breakfast was delicious. A close walk to Bournemouth's beach!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, clean hotel which we will return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a ground floor room which we were given, however, it was located right next to the kitchen access which resulted in us being woken at 6.30 ish when staff arrived. Talking and movement of noisy people was a little annoying at that time. No hairdryer in room, provided by request only, lucky I brought my own. Although breakfast was adequate it would have been nice if there was the choice of a fried egg to complete the English breakfast, I guess because it was buffet style, it is easier to provide scrambled and boiled. This is just a personal preference of course but it would have been very much appreciated by us both if there was the choice.

    Lovely old house which is now a small hotel, beautifully decorated with quirky details, well looked after with lots of character. Room and bathroom were very clean and adequate for a short stay. Welcome on arrival was friendly and informative. Close enough to the town to walk to but far enough away to be out of the bustle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    I would defiantly stay again A++++
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one small thing was the breakfast buffet, where I personally prefer table service, but the food was very nice.

    I liked everything about the hotel, our room, parking this hotel has character, but at the same time has modern quality finish also. I loved the place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.0
    Period style detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General use toilet next to our bedroom, used from 7.00 am. Dusty headboard, lipstick on glass, torn bedsheet.

    Period style detail. Lovely gardens. Good breakfast - lovely sausages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant b and b with great decorations, music and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception closes at 8 while our coach arrived at 8.30. Out key was left in a box outside which was very hard to open and had to let other people who were lucky outside to help us. Perhaps an emergency call number after hours would be appropriate for late arrivals.

    English traditional decore and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bournemouth is not the best place to visit Pity the hotel is not in a better town.

    The hotel is 1st class. Clean comfortable and in nice grounds. Quiet with little road noise from the main road. Close to beach and pier.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value 2 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say this is a B&B rather than a hotel. There isn't a proper reception and staff are only available at very specific times

    The room was large and the bed comfortable. The hotel is in a good location around 10 mins to town centre or beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room took along time to drain away and i had to stop the water half way thru my shower and turn it off to let it drain before it overfilled the tray. I informed the staff of this.

    The hotel was a lovely tudor style building set in a lovely garden. Inside the decor was beautiful and the staff were very welcoming. Our stay was comfortable and the hotel was clean. It was in a good area near to the centre of town and beaches. The breakfast we had was buffet style, help yourself. There was alot of variety to chose from and was lovely. We had a great stay here !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Tudor Grange great location shame about the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink was cracked, toilet cistern intermittently pouring water non stop, biscuit wrappers on floor. Car park very badly designed. Small spaces, hedge needs moving back to allow more turning room and gateposts widened. Reception not open after 8pm.

    Great location. Lovely breakfast, relaxing breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Very nice staff, quite shabby hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were initially given a double room that was a little bigger than a coffin. I think it was room 3 on the first floor, if you want to know what to avoid. The receptionist was very nice though and did give us a bigger room (how they were both "standard double rooms" I will never know, as the second one was double the size of the first). However, the hotel is in serious need of refurbishing. In our room there were various water stains on the ceiling, the carpet was stained, there was a crack in the bathroom sink and the shower was spectacularly bad (very little pressure, water going everywhere). The furniture is in the style one would expect (faux Tudor style, I imagine), but that does not excuse the fact that there was a noticeable smell in one of the wardrobes. It was not dirty per se, but quite shabby.

    The staff are very polite and forthcoming. The breakfast was sufficiently varied and also tasty. I also particularly liked the views out of the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and building beautiful.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress too soft for my personal preference

    Very comfortable room and building beautiful. Lovely breakfast and convenient relatively quiet location for central Bournemouth.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    The friendly staff, location was good for beach and town;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was far to small for two people, no hot water for about five minutes in the shower and wash hand basin. The lounge area was not inviting to sit in needs more home comforts for guests. The lack of any staff in the evenings was rather strange.

    The friendly staff, location was good for beach and town; only a short walk away. Very clean and tidy. The building was very unique in style if you were looking for somewhere different to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful place but could be so much better, with a little effort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could of been cleaned a lot better, milk left by window in hot sunshine..yuk. Could do with better coffee, couldn't find any staff two nights on the trot to get drinks or extra fresh milk at 7:30pm although it states staff available until 8pm.

    If you like oldy worldly then its wonderful, pleasant surrounding, 10 min walk to beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    We won't be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed in room. Room 11 at top off house very small and accessed by steep and narrow stairs. No blind in bathroom even though can be seen from road. Have to ask for hair dryer and return to reception when leave even though it was listed as in room facility when booking. Can get a drink between 3pm and 8pm but after 8pm you are on your own!

    Lovely House and Garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Charming and calm hotel near the beach
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent and it took ages to get warm water, especially in the evenings. The breakfast was okay but far from extraordinary.

    The hotel was very charming and there was a calm atmosphere. Our room was small but comfy, pleasantly cool during hot summer days as it was located on the ground floor and with a lovely view of the lush garden. The beds were comfortable and the decour stylishly granny-like. Staff were helpful: late check-in was made easy and we were able to store our luggage in the hotel after checking out. The hotel stood out in a good way among the other surrounding builduings. The hotel is easily reachable from the train station and the beach is a short walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe more fresh fruit for breakfast but other wise all good

    Loved this hotel it was a little peaceful haven . So quiet and restful. Gardens beautiful and lovely to sit and relax. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Can recommend for quiet break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but would be better having freshly cooked full english rather than buffet with scrambled egg instead of fried. Saying that it was nice and hot.

    Quiet, comfy and clean. Friendly staff. Good location can walk to beach. Will go again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent don’t change anything keep this hotel in its glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which we stayed in was on the second floor which had the sun on it all day so a fan would be gratefully used whilst staying in that room

    Beautiful Tudor house just what we were looking for kept to it’s original features , very quiet and even though the house was on a main road it gave you the illusion that you were miles away from the road , just tucked neatly away superb setting excellent all round

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay in a lovely house, generous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, except that when checking out we were not offered a receipt. Had to ask for it before we got it. Otherwise all was perfect!

    For us it was a typically english house with dark wood, heavy furniture, thick carpets and perfect garden. Although not far from city centre, it was quiet and fresh air. Rooms were small but very nice. Clean and cosy. Breakfast was generous and it had all to wish for. To sit in the breakfastroom and look out onto a garden with squirrels, birds and flowers, almost in city center was wonderful. The owner was very helpful when we came after closing hours, and arranged for a place for the key and all information in mail, quick and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    We would not be returning (Sorry)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was next to useless (No power just a dribble and impossible to get a sustainable temperature), internet connection was intermittent if a connection at all, breakfast was adequate but limited choice no staff on site in the evenings, and no evening meals.

    Staff were extremely helpful and Building was very clean and tidy in all aspects, being able to relax in the well kept and peaceful gardens was a great bonus the bed was very comfortable and spacious along with the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I liked everything about Tudor grange, the staff made you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like,

    I liked everything about Tudor grange, the staff made you very welcome, it was nice & clean, inside & outside, the breakfast was nice, will definitely be booking there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great location and very friendly/helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 3 bedded deluxe room which was really big but the bathroom was so tiny. Very narrow and a very small shower. If you are quite big it would be a struggle. Car parking can be a bit tricky if the hotel is quite full.

    Our 3 needed room was really big and comfortable. The bacon and sausage at breakfast were the best I have ever tasted. A nice touch was fruit loaf at breakfast. Lovely peaceful hotel with lovely rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    A relaxed, enjoyable stay-excellent accommodation, lovely garden, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was with my elderly Mum (88 years old). The only problem during our stay was the fact there was a step up from our ground floor twin room to the ensuite. I had put a comment at the time of booking that my elderly Mum was with me and maybe this should have been picked up on prior to our arrival. On this survey's first question, no option to put 'family' without children!

    The tasteful decor was in keeping with the name of the property, Tudor Grange. The garden was lovely and always a sunny spot throughout the day. The breakfast offered the complete range for peoples' tastes, especially good as quite a few European visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Very convenient location. Stunning building, excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful character building. Tasteful decor to suit the building. Very convenient to walk to Bournemouth. Only 10\15 minutes walk but there is a hill! Peaceful setting, you wouldn't know you were in the middle of the city. Very tasty breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Tudor Grange was ok breakfast was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tudor Grange is not a hotel, but a bed and breakfast there was no staff about only at breakfast time did we see anyone

    Tudor Grange was ok breakfast was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast, lovely character, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that you had to check in on Facebook to get free WiFi. Also would have been nice to have the previous days used teacup removed when room was cleaned. Vegetarian sausages available for breakfast would be a bonus.

    Good breakfast, lovely character, good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in general was lovely. The grounds were very nice and the interior was beautiful. Very quaint. The staff were very helpful. The hotel is very well positioned from the sea front, town centre and train station. About a 10 minute walk from each. Would definately book again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Location is great only 15-20 mins walk to bars, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was very dusty in places and whilst we met the owner when we first got there you then didn’t see her at all so didn’t feel there was a personal touch and wasn’t there at check out either

    Location is great only 15-20 mins walk to bars, restaurants etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely trip down memory lane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As far as we are concerned there was nothing we didn't like.

    We like the hotel and the location. We spent our honeymoon here 50 years ago and this break was to celebrate that occasion. Could not fault anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told breakfast didn’t start until 8am do had to miss breakfast then was later informed breakfast was from 7.30

    Lovely Tudor property in an excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.3
    No hairdryer- had to ask for one after realising there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hairdryer- had to ask for one after realising there wasn't one in the room and no phone either to contact anyone so had to venture downstairs with wet hair to get one. Nice room but spoilt by very noisy plumbing in next room - sounded like a mascerator toilet!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    staff welcoming and friendly, parking good ,excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed in room 1 found it to be dark and depressing and very noisy at night and early hours of the morning. (02-30hrs). would stay again but not in this room, didnt asked for a change of room as hotel was full.

    staff welcoming and friendly, parking good ,excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay, far preferable to some of the larger hotels around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some strange reason the bedroom radiators were on at end of may with reasonably warm temps outside, so rooms a bit hotter than would have liked at night. Wi-fi worked ok til last full day and then seemed unavailable.

    Lovely atmospheric place being mock-Tudor, set back off the road with pleasant garden. Plenty to eat at breakfast, good choice though same for each day. Very convenient for centre of town and places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Great breakfast and very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is absolutely beautiful. I could imagine parking is tight if the hotel is booked out but luckily we didn't have any problem. The staff were very friendly and pleasant. The room was small but in comparison to the price I found it well worth it. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. Great food and drink options. It did exceed our expectations. Our greet at reception in check in was good however the only thing I would recommend is that we could have been given a little more information about the services on site, these are provided in the folder in the room but we didn't read these until we were due to check out. Maybe the folder could be hand delivered to you on check-in that way your more inclined to see what facilities are within the property. Overall a fabulous place. Lovely and clean and happy smiling faces from the staff. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Staying in a lovely Tudor house made you feel very special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating was still on, making it very warm overnight. Car parking was tight at times especially if you had a large car.

    Excellent Buffet Breakfast choice, Room with seating area was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    We are regular visitors to Bournemouth & will certainly use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slightly more powerful shower would have been nice - but we have had worse!

    Superb atmosphere, friendly & helpful staff, spacious room & great breakfast. All within easy reach of the town centre. We will certainly be using this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Room a little tired, but great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the 4 poster bed room and it felt a bit old and tired, which was a shame as the rest of the hotel has great character. I know that the hotel is meant to be characterfull, which is its charm but the balcony doors in the room did not shutting properly so there was a considerable draft from them. Luckily we stayed in the summer so wasn't too bad with it being warm out, however I wouldn't like to stay in that room in the dead of winter.

    The building is lovely and old with a grand hall that greets you as you enter from the well kept lawn. Lots of old dark wood panelling and fireplaces to match. It was warm when we stayed so I'm not sure if the fireplaces are ever used but I do hope they are as that would be a great touch being able to enjoy a nightcap in front of a fire. The hotel was every clean and the staff were fantastic. Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    All we expected for the money but a few trimmings would be worth a little more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a freshly cooked breakfast. Reception and access to drinks closes too early (8 pm). Proprietors/managers seem to hide away from guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was always the same items served the same way from hot units. A small fridge in the room would have been good to keep drinks cool.

    Good location so a very good base to visit sights in Bournemouth. The room was good and tea making facility good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    A Hotel that feels grand, but doesn't break the budget!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the look of this property as you approach it. It has the feel of a grand country pile, quiet elegance that has no need to shout about itself. Here the staff are discreet, but should you need anything are available to deal with your issue/question promptly. My room was extremely comfortable, I had a view of the front garden which in May was looking good. I liked the fact breakfast was buffet style so I didn't have to wait as I had to go to work. The location of the hotel is excellent just a short walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again if shower problem sorted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mixer shower, the cold water pressure would fall leaving only hot water which could be scalding. Potentially dangerous if used by old/infirm or child

    Room very clean and bed comfortable. Ideal location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Due to the lack of sufficient sound insulation, I cannot stay at this picturesque guest house again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of sound proof insulation had an terrible effect on my sleep. I was placed in the small room (number 9). I could hear heavy footsteps above me. I realise it is costly to implement sound insulation between the floor boards but in my opinion it is necessary to this property, which was erected less than 100 years ago.

    I liked the high quality architectural style, charm and decor of the mock Tudor property that was erected in 1927. The garden was also pretty and the breakfast was enjoyable too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Looked great online - but even better when there. A hotel with character and a great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not want to change anything, it was a great stay and amazing value.

    Tudor Grange Hotel looked great online and even better once there. Great welcome on arrival and a hotel with real and character. The room was light and very comfortable. Very clean and well stocked with tea, coffee and great biscuits! Had a really good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and crisp linen. The location is great, close to local amenities and just a couple of minutes walk to the cliff, yet private in beautiful grounds with good parking. Definitely one I would stay in again and recommend without hesitation to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Really lovely break away, treated ourselves to Tudor Grange
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn’t very powerful, when we went for breakfast there was rarely any food left but then once we’d helped ourselves more came out but it was too late by then.

    We liked how spacious the room was, the fact that we could switch the heating on manually & it heated up the room quite quickly. A lovely comfortable bed with black out curtains. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Cosy for a Family Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have booked the ground floor triple (room 2), it’s worth asking if they have any functions on during your stay. The room is accessed through the dining room (which is stated when booking), but we arrived to a funeral wake in full swing and couldn’t get to our room. The staff were apologetic but had we been informed in advance we could have planned our day to arrive later, rather than sit in the lounge for almost 2 hours amongst the mourners. We asked for a cup of tea and got one without question, but it made for an unusual start to our holiday. Room 2 is also quite chilly, and so perhaps ask for them to put the heater on for you in advance of arrival.

    The location is good, a bit far to walk to the beach and Bournemouth for an elderly Mum, but easy for trips out in all directions. The room (a triple) was cosy and clean, with fresh towels daily and a decent tea/coffee/biscuit selection. Beds were very comfortable. Fabulous garden and even a resident hedgehog to watch as he scoots about in the evening! Great breakfast, although it was a quite simple selection of hot and cold items, they were well cooked and presented and the breakfast staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    A small hotel with a historic charm :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is really tiny I hardly had room in which to open my bigger luggage and there was only a wall hanger - no closet. Do not immediately step into the shower as it takes some time for the hot water to come through :)

    The staff is really sweet - they even accepted to store my luggage a little after checkout due to my departure being delayed by a couple of hours. The building has a lot of charm and the dining room has a lovely view. The single room also overlooks the street through a beautiful tree. The bed was also very comfy and everything was squeaky clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A lovely stay in a beautiful accomodation with friendly staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a lovely stay at Tudor Grange. I stayed in the single accommodation which was a cosy room with a comfortable bed. Accommodation was very clean. Staff really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Would definitely stay again and recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    All in All we had a Good time, we enjoyed the view of Tuder Grange and nearby beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the Grange a little earlier as we traveled from far. Rang the Bell twice but no Reply. Room we had was actually for the size of a single person. There were very limited Tea and Milk which was perfect for a single person but not for a couple. We rang the bell at about 09:30 pm for assistance and had some enquiries in mind but again no response. Booking.com should provide the Picture of the room during the online Booking so Customer can be aware of what they are getting. This is third time i have this situation. In My experience, Staff see's your faces and provides accomodation accordingly. I had good experiences with Air B&B. May be I will try different booking sites to see if there is any different from Booking.com.

    Its a wonderful B & B with a great Location. Beach is so near by and very nice and quite surroundings which is perfect for anyone who ants to escape for a quality time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Impersonal service, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal - no one available if you arrive between 3 and 8pm. Even if you ring the phone number on the door you get a message saying it is only manned between 3 and 8!! Made us feel like we were inconveniencing the owners rather than being paying guests...

    Good location on East Cliff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay, location good and would stay there again but in different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not impressed with Room 7 where we stayed. it is above the porch and inconsiderate guests were below our window smoking and talking loudly after midnight so disappointed by this.

    The location and the gardens were lovely. The room was clean and bathroom a good size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic peaceful in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing I can think of.... maybe a coffee mug instead of tea cup but that was after thinking hard and would be really nit picky

    I stayed at Tudor Grange with my two sisters in the triple room. The room was spacious, beds comfortable. Shower worker well plenty of hot water, room was clean and well furnished. In the morning we had breakfast which was lovely, huge variety and plentiful. I actually had a full English and a pastry. After breakfast we sat out in the garden to drink our coffees the sun was glorious, everything looks well cared for we listened to the water fountain and enjoy the peace and quiet. We didn't need to contact staff in Re of any issues but during breakfast the staff were very accommodating smiles in faces and service was great. If you appreciate old well cared for buildings you'll enjoy your surroundings staying here we loved everything about it. Not a boring big hotel. Location was great for us as we enjoyed walking to the beach, you can walk via the east cliff zig zag or down the road that follows the coast line. We walked to the beach in the morning and left our car in Tudor car park until 2:30 without asking and it didn't appear to be an issue check in is at 3 and all seemed well, great stay Thankyou

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    A few days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No staff there most of the time and when there was it was only one person. Shower had not guts. People running around at 4.30am in the morning. Bathroom not serviced. Although well decorated the property lacks atmosphere.

    Not far from seafront. Set in a walled garden with parking. Decor of the property. Breakfast, but a choice of other eggs would be good. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely building and great location but could do with a revisit by owners about the customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff availability and welcome feeling

    Hotel lovely but very impoersonal, no staff available, bar but not available after 8pm, sitting room had no friendly touches like magazines etc and although the hotel is lovely it has a take it or leave out feel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.0
    Concerned about emergency exit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t check in until 3pm and although we contacted the hotel before to see if we could leave our bags they did not come back to us. There was no one on site after 8pm until 8am. The building was mainly of wood and we were in a second floor garret with a very narrow winding staircase up to the room. There was no fire escape from the floor which comprised two rooms, the only exit was down the narrow staircase and then the wooden main staircase. I felt exceedingly vulnerable, no fire instructions were given when we checked in, and with no one on site during the night there was no help if there was an emergency. This overshadowed our stay. The bedroom had sloping ceilings with sharp eaves protruding into the room which caused a couple of occasions where heads were bashed against the angles. This rather detracted from what was otherwise quite a pleasant room, nicely decorated and with plenty of drawer space. There was no hair dryer in the room but one could be obtained from the reception area - if anyone was about.

    Short walk from railway station, the building looked lovely. Breakfast was good. Good power shower. Beds were comfortable. Plentiful drawer space. Extra heater provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: