Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Two Brewers Hotel by Good Night Inns 3 stars

The Common, Kings Langley, WD4 9BS, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Kings Langley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 915 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Visit here regularly and always a pleasure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just never seems to be enough staff. Everyone seems to be doing 2 or 3 jobs. Not sure if because of holiday season but does mean that it's never a "quick" drink or a "quick" meal.

    Beds are always comfortable and rooms a good size. Food was excellent as usual and had to book a table to get ahead of the locals, it's that popular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms need updating, couldn't open windows the rooms were extremely hot Food was not good poor quality One of the managers who was on the evening shift was very unpleasant made us feel uncomfortable, rest of the staff were fine Lovely setting in quiet village, the bar was nicely presented but would not stay here again

    Location was lovely, bar was nicr

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    The bedroom and the old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Asian salad was not the normal balance with far too much chilli The Sea-Bass with scallops - the scallops were not seared Breakfast coffee was tasteless

    The bedroom and the old world charm The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Good stay and happy to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor could be brighter.

    Nice establishment in a good location. Huge bed in a large room that was very clean and quiet. Couldn't quite open the window but we didn't ask for help and we had a fan. Room was quite dark. I couldn't help but think how great the room could be with lighter decor. Staff were friendly and we enjoyed a good meal before sitting outside with drinks and watching the world go by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stopover close to M25 junction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom rather compact

    Location very attractive, overlooking Chipperfield village green, yet so accessible to the M25. Particularly friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Un-Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in the mangeress just seem to want to yawn and be defensive and commentative and point out there is no room charges able to be done “as a lot of other people have walked out without paying” and that the bar area shuts at blah blah and blah blah on a Sunday - when we were just staying there to meet up with family and not wanting to enter into a drinking competition... I also do not rate the meal service - it took over TWO HOURS to be served and there was just 17 of us.... At one point the manageress woman shouted out loudly “right who’s having the chicken?” whilst holding plates in the air and said to the waiter “that’s the way it’s done!” .... quite unprofessional.... On the first day of breakfast we had friends join us in the lounge for coffee awaiting us finishing our breakfast and the waitress said to them “ I suppose you want to sit as far away from the restaurant” and also pointed out that they will have to pay upon ordering - just rude!!! I generally stay here at least 3 times a year, but this is the last time - it was a hotel from hell... The woman in charge needs a change of direction.... she is too familiar in a bad way, opionated - also in a bad way and rude rude rude... The elderly man ‘Graham’ just barely grunted when asked a question and I also question why he was there at all... The whole place needs a damn good makeover and in need of loving care - the location is superb, it is just badly run....

    Near to family The breakfast lady ‘Coral’ is the only memorable member of staff...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food poor. The meal we had for our family, albeit we were a large party was sub standard, service was very slow. The excuse was we were a large party, well over half the dining area was empty. Some staff were very friendly but this cant be said of the lady who seemed to be the manager. Poached eggs on toast were awful. The eggs were so over cooked I can’t even describe them as well done. Only had one breakfast. After that we went to the cafe/bar where it was delightful.

    Location was great but let down by other aspects

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    We have just left a night stay at the hotel and I can’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have just left a night stay at the hotel and I can’t believe the value for money , the grounds and gardens are beautiful. The lady that checked us in was very friendly and made a fuss of our two children , and the lady that checked us out was as amazing as the first Lady , the breakfast is a full English and a buffet style breakfast and because of the nice weather we sat outside the lady who took our order even put our toast in and plated all our food up and kept filing up our drinks even though it was help yourself service , I’m sorry I don’t have your name but the service was excellent , the rooms where big and everything you need even a iron and board , thanks again too the two lovely ladies

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fire alarm went off because of room smoker in other room down the hall. no street maps, no transportation information for getting around the area.

    location, room comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was lovely

    Beautiful location, lovely hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful - especially Barbara and Coral. Thank you for a perfect stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great for the night, would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Bedroom and in room facilities excellent. View was the car park, but not there to stay in room and view area. There was a family party in the village and the room including towels / tea & coffee etc. were great. The room was quiet at night which is always a plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room & bathroom was a bit outdated but comfortable nevertheless. Doors bang a lot in hallways / other rooms.

    Good location. Nice food in restaurant. Simple early morning check out procedure. Good parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Lovely restaurant/pub downstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper a bit old in the room

    Lovely restaurant/pub downstairs. Lovely food. Room was great, super comfy bed. Would go back. Perfect for a visit to Harry Potter world

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Very expensive place to stay, eat and drink, however the staff were great and the rooms were good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beer is well over priced at £5.40 for a pint. The full English breakfast was not the best as it was very greasy and over cooked. The evening meals were OK, but would recommend the Indian restaurant around the corner.

    The location is quiet and nice to sit outside opposite the common with a cold drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    great location but poor quality and value on accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard of room and bathroom

    The location is perfect, but the hotel is tired, needs a refurb and is not cheap for what it is Timings of breakfast preclude business travellers The bar and restaurant heave and meant I eat out. Very dated and staff a little off hand. On check in waited whilst the manageress continued conversation with her mother before attending to me

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming tavern recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining was excellent recommend booking a table even early in the week it was very busy and waitresses worked tremendously hard to ensure a great dining experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Charming!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting on the village green. Very friendly, efficient staff. Extremely spacious room with a bath and shower, which was very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    a most disapponiting stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Bed too low. 2. waitress service slow 3. biggest problem was that my room and adjacent rooms toilet must be one of those not on mains and I did not asppreciate being woken up at 330am by the toilet trying to fill nor again at 0555ish.

    the meals were fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    It was ok - the staff were very friendly and helpful but the rooms need a bit of TLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here a couple of times as needed to be in the location for events but the rooms feel like they need an overhaul as are very tired looking and the bathrooms need updating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    A lovely but tired venue in a beautiful area. Great for food, dog walks and cricket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor is really tired. Our room had ripped wallpaper and some of the grouting could do with a good clean. It looks like the hotel side of the business could do with some money spent on it. Particular with regards to the damp/water ingress. The corridors smell strongly of damp and there are patches on some of the ceilings. No biscuits so we brought our own.

    The location is outstanding a really beautiful village. The restaurant/bar are lovely and all the staff are warm, welcoming and informative. The bedrooms are very generous, although the bathrooms aren't big they do the job with bath and shower. The rooms are nicely decorate with great pictures of the local area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightful place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    This hotel is in a very picturesque setting. My room was lovely - clean, spacious and even an iron and ironing board. The food in the restaurant was gorgeous. I can see why it is so busy on a Friday night. Unfortunately I had to leave before breakfast so missed out on that. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    We would definitely stay here again it was great , the family room was very comfortable and clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly as soon as we arrived . We was very early and the room was ready for us so we checked in and unpacked before 11 am , the food in the hotel restaurant was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are quite basic but perfectly adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the shower as it was a really small space. I think the hotel would benefit from a few modernisations but overall a pleasant stay.

    Didn't have time for breakfast the morning we were checking out so I asked the waitress if the chef could make something for my husband and they were very accommodating making a lovely bacon roll for him. Lady who checked us in was very friendly and gave an instant warm welcome. The location is lovely too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Was noisy through the night as my room was next to a door...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was noisy through the night as my room was next to a door that people were using non stop & I could hear the door closing each time. Used their emergency number to call only to find it was not being answered. 2am the problem was resolved & received full refund in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    A total rip off, and they should be ashamed!! £100+! Country pub playing hotel..badly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs and hallway to the room , and the room itself stunk of stale beer and wine. It was tired and scruffy, not quaint and country. The room was dark, shower poor and wifi didn't work. Understaffed, with bar staff managing a waiting queue of people checking in. The food (not included) was barley average. Calamari in such thick batter it just tasted of fat. It could have been an onion ring and would have had the same 'flavour'. The fish came with frozen fried chips, and I left them. At breakfast, no skimmed milk, and didn't ever have it apparently. For the sake of a pint in hand and a happy customer, another let down.

    The location was nice. The bar area was modern and attractive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    We stayed here on a Saturday and sunday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed here on a Saturday and sunday. the room was clean and nicely decorated. the big let down is the rooms are certainly not sound proof and due to this place being a pub restaraunt it was hard to sleep also could here guest in next room whom very loud. kept us awake. lots of people walking in the corridor through the knight. could hear it all night. footsteps and doors banging. The emergency number left by this place to call in the evenings was not being answered. even though directed saying it will be answered shortly. this cant be good for health and safety. The breakfast was just ok really basic. during the week leadingup to my stay here. I had contact with the hotel several times due to being told my resevation did not come with breakfast. even though it was booked with breakfast. I was being told i would get a call back or e mail confirmation and never ever did. i had to keep calling them from aboard. in the end i was promised a written confirmation in an e mail to say it has been sorted out and we do have breakfast included in the fee. no wriiten confirmation came. although i trusted it was sorted out. when i got to the hotel Guess what. I was told no breakfast included. after all those calls from aboard hmm. I explaind and it was fine. Then get up in the morning after an awful night go for breakfast and the restaraunt then says you must pay for your breakfast sir as you have room only. well well finally it was included. after yet again another explenation. No i had a friend staying in another room whom had an awfull experience through the night with banging doors loud noise etc. who also confirmed the emergency number no one answers. whats the point. The restaraunt was ok , we had dinner Saturday night and sunday lunch the breakfast forget it. I would probably visit the restaraunt again if i had too for dinner or lunch. however to stay never again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location .Was a good hotel Will not be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having worked at the Two Brewers in the 1960s as the assistant manager l was interested to see what changes had been made.there was little made of the famous bare knuckles fighting that the pub renounced for. The room we stayed in (101) was very tired and in need of a good clean and paint job in fact the whole place needed a good clean.When we booked in we reserved a table in the restaurant for dinner and was told that would be done, when we arrived for dinner there was no booking and we were offered a small table in a dark corner which l refused so with an effort we shown a different table ,there were plenty of tables left that stayed empty the whole time we were in the restaurant.

    The location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all good.

    we were there on a bank holiday weekend when it did not rain,could not ask for more,but we got a lot more.Although a village it had two pubs and an indian restaurant,lots of lovely walks through the woods.An idyllic place to stay and even enjoyed the game of village cricket while having a beer,wonderful weekend,but of course the sunshine helped.would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    Overrated, and very overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in room 105 , the mattress was really lumpy and not great, wall paper coming off every wall, had a flood from upstairs at some point and flood marks all down the wall, bathroom clean but really need updating. Every time someone goes out there room all you hear is doors banging.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Confused.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water stopped working first thing in the morning so we were unable to wash , shower or go to the toilet at the hotel. We was not told by any member of the hotel about any issue which I found poor management. Which is sad because I liked the hotel an restaurant.

    Waitress covering the breakfast was very friendly, professional very informative of all breakfast requirements. When asked about other local places to visit she was also very helpful and we followed up on the visit to paper mill. Which we also enjoyed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    4.2
    Very, very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough staff - those on duty obviously stressed and grumpy. Pay slightly more than minimum wage and you may get more engaged, professional staff. Hottest day of the year and radiators in the hotel corridors blasting out hear. No staff available to fix. Room really tired and scruffy. Rips in the wallpaper. The only other place I've seen cheap, watery soap dispenser screwed to a wall was in a Youth Hostel.

    Location - looking out on the village green.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location for Harry Potter studio tour, good sized room, sofa bed a bit narrow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was too narrow for 2 children so we ended up with one on sofa bed and 3 in large double. On returning to room after breakfast the water seemed to have been turned off and nothing was coming out of the taps which was a bit annoying for teeth cleaning.

    Nice location, helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from room next door as there was very thin walls and an adjoining door. Also from carpark as I was on ground floor. Pub was mainly restaurant, didn't feel very welcoming for a quick drink.

    Super large bed, plenty of hot water for bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location for Harry Potter studios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived we had to ring the bell at reception twice before anyone came. Plenty of restaurant staff saw us and walked past us but didn't actually engage with us in any way. All they needed to do was reassure us that someone would be with us shortly. Also the continental breakfast was disappointing - no croissants, just toast , crumpets and muffins. I can have toast at home, I don't really like crumpets and I don't really want cake for my breakfast!

    Shower was good. Bed was enormous. Was able to get a meal without leaving the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Good location, reasonable price and decent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pub has a great feel and has a liveliness during the evening. The purpose of our stay was to visit the WB Studio tour, which is only a 10-min drive from the hotel. The other bonus is that the hotel is near to Kings Langley station, which is a 25-min train ride to Euston station and central London. The food at the hotel was standard pub grub, the staff were attentive and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    retains olde world charm...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Choose your route carefully, as some of the local roads are precarious; single tracks with deeply rutted passing places. Wifi although fair coverage, is a Cloud service, I am already getting unsolicited spam. EE phone reception is poor.

    Stayed here as an alternate to Hemel. This accommodation is as expected for country Inn. It is tastefully extended and retains olde world charm. Comfy rooms/plenty of hot water/warm enough in freezing weather (extra elec. heater in room). Food hit and miss, had one good meal and one bad. Breakfast excellent, (and served early which is always welcome - I've missed too many!). Staff very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time and would consider staying at the hotel again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I appreciate that the hotel was in a good location, ideal for what we wanted, close to the centre of the town. I just felt that the drinks prices in the hotel were a bit excessive.

    The location of the hotel was great, the staff were very friendly, service was always very speedy. The room was very clean and the overall facilities were just what we wanted for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Gorgeous food, needs some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed springs were poking out Mixed up our dinner booking Smell of damp down corridors

    The receptionist was excellent, nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, cosy stay in a picturesque location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a family room but only towels and coffee making facilities for 2. Sure, we could have requested more from reception which I'm sure wouldn't have been a problem but couldn't be bothered.

    Lovely, quaint, clean and cosy place with friendly staff. Great location for Harry Potter Studios which was the purpose of our trip. Breakfast was lovely too and set us up nicely for the day. Safe secure parking round the back. Someone even ordered a light covering of snow in the morning to make the place look even nicer :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were busy and harassed - when we finally saw some on arrival. It was a busy Saturday evening but still...same for breakfast - tho staff lovely there was only one lady waiting on a whole room of people.... Get some more staff. Room cold on arrival - open window...Only noticed this half way through the night! Bathroom was in need of a revamp, bath panel was visibly tatty. Kettle and tea bags etc welcome tho bit mean as no biscuits! It wasn't cheap to stay overnight either.

    Breakfast was good. Location for attending an event walking distance away was perfect. Good size TV in the room. Bed pretty comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, lovely staff, great location for Harry Potter Studios !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water was VERY hot in the shower, couldn't shower our 8 year old.

    We were a party of 12 staying over for my 50th Birthday and we booked 5 rooms and a meal in the restaurant, they offered us the the board room for our meal and it was fab! Comfy chairs, big oval table, and plenty of waiter/waitress/manager visits to make sure we were ok, really great as the younger kids could get up and about and we weren't worried about them bothering other diners in the main restaurant. Good food all round, nice hotel, nice brekkie and lovely location in the village.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money in a pleasant village environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little hard and TV had no signal

    Comfortable spacious buildings with off road parking and easy access to the accommodation area. Hotel situated in a quiet area overlooking the village green.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink faucet without mixer... and I would have liked to find a shower kit

    Lovely location, kind staff, silent and comfortable rooms, good meals and beer!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Just right
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom v small but didn’t matter a jot

    Menu. Welcome. Flexibility of staff Village v pretty too but we we I transit from Heathrow so not sight seeing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of damp in the corridors

    Thanks to the lady on duty that sorted us another room out as the radiator in the corridor just out side our room was making a noise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    Lovely venue although a member of staff was very unhelpful and quite rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A member of staff was quite rude and unhelpful. We also had a meal in the restaurant and one of our party is vegan and doesn't eat gluten. When the meal came there was a problem. Again a member of staff was quite rude and my friend went without having anything to eat.

    The rooms were lovely and just as described. Near to the venue we were visiting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough trained staff for busy evening service in the restaurant. Small old style bathroom. Bed side lamps provided better light than the main room lights. Not easy or cheap to get into London centre

    Beautiful little village. Friendly staff who went out of their way to give us a good experience. Cozy room Close to Harry Potter studios

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather a strange smell in corridor and room. Reported this but nothing was acted on. Room was comfortable yet ensuite needed upgraded. We were there to visit Harry Potter studios which proved to be much further from the hotel than noted on website, therefore it cost us rather a lot in taxi fares from both station and the studios

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    The room was a good size, clean and the cooked breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit basic and in need of a bit of an update. The "double bed" in my room was two singles pushed together and made up to form one but when one bed is slightly higher than the other you can tell...

    The room was a good size, clean and the cooked breakfast was very nice in the morning. Parking was in the pub car park off the main road and behind the building - very convenient. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Great potntial. Needs some care and attention. Not v good value for money. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms. V impersonal. Terrible smell of damp in corridor. V. Tired decor and beds roomy but on way out. Bathrooms need updating. Macerating loos upstairs v noisy and can hear loos being used upstairs. Breakfast should be included in room rate.

    Fantasic location. Great sized rooms. Good parking. Away from noise ofrestaurant/bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.5
    Trad pub ,tired but very willing and helpful staff rubbish wi fi
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky sign up for internet means you’ll be pestered foe ever more and limited access.Could not get mobile coverage either on 3

    Room a little tired , internet rubbish but made up for by very helpful and friendly staff and nice bar and food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Very unhappy with it all, should avoid staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a disgrace, could hardly eat any of it. Booked through Booking.com and my mistake I didn't order two breakfasts. I ordered bacon and tomatoes. The bacon was very fatty but the actual meat bit was rock hard. The tomato although large was also rock hard, neither of these items were edible. The evening meal was hardly any better. Avoid the mushroom and walnut pie. Yuk. The room although clean really needs an update very tired looking. The complimentary tea tray has hardly any selection and what there is tea bags etc you just get two of them. One bath towel and one hand towel for two people is hardly over doing it in my opinion. A shame that the standards are so very poor as a beautiful setting for a hotel.

    Cannot fault the afternoon reception staff, very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Great pub/hotel in an excellent locaiton
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet had an assisted flush as there is probably water pressure problems which was noisy in the middle of the night. Couldn't fault anything else.

    The food in the restaurant was amazing and a great price. Lovely pub/hotel in a beautiful setting with plenty of walks and really close to the Harry Potter studio tour.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel in a Beautiful setting
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a little slow & we only had one piece of soap & shampoo between the two of us.

    Room was great. Breakfast was a delight & our waitress was excellent as was the food & view on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.3
    It could be great if the room was redecorated and smartened up to match the great pub decor :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress isn't the best, the cream walls are stained with old water runs or damp (?) and the cream walls and service panel in the room is taped up on the joins with masking tape (?) and the bathroom is very run down and the shower is simply terrible.

    Its in a lovely place and the pub is lovely - but Rm 101 is definitely tired and in need of a refurb. On a plus - the room is a lovely size and its very quiet, and lovely and warm! It could be great if the room was redecorated and smartened up :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    All in all a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu was massive, which was a concern, (how could everything be good?) However, I had the Belly Pork and it was the best I have ever had, excellent. The staff were very friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location for Harry Potter studio tour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for Harry Potter studio tour. Very friendly staff who made our stay a pleasure, nothing was too much trouble. Food in the restaurant was very good too. Rooms are comfortable and clean, overall very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    An inviting pub/ restaurant with clean and quiet accommodation at the back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roadworks made accessing the property difficult from the motorway. The village green would be lovely in Summer, but there was not much for the children to do/see nearby.

    The Two Brewers is a quaint collection of buildings opposite a village green. Check-in was easy and our room was clean, with a modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. It was an easy drive to the Warner Bros. Harry Potter Studio, which was the purpose of our visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.5
    Lovely stay , great breakfast and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast was extremely good value and very tasty. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff both at breakfast and in the bar. The real fires were very welcoming. Parking was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crumpets too big for toaster and so older ladyt took one crumpet in kitchen to toast when would have liked two...whole point of continental breakfast choice!Told I could have coffee but no juice with breakfast sandwich, even though hubby had full English and could have had multiple himself!

    Location, steak night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice building but probably wouldn't stay again, a llittle clumsy. Most staff were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we went to check in, although we were early we wanted to just inform them we might be back later then the check in time and the man who greeted us was not very greeting at all and a little rude. When we went back it was better but a little unorganised as they tried to charge us twice. We paid for our room when we arrived which I have never had to do before and found very odd, but then they tried to charge us again when were leaving. Although our rooms were nice and comfortable our double bed were two twin beds pushed together with just a double sheet on.

    Breakfast was very good and value for money especially coral who served us. Coral was lovely and couldn't do enough for us, really brightens your morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.2
    I would not put my dog in that room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs knocking down the room was disgusting, wall paper hanging off, black tape around the electrical fitting in the bathroom electric towel rail, very very low water pressure, bed uncomfortable, the whole experience was bad i will never stay in any of this groups hotels again...

    it was a stones throw to where i was going, but next time i will stay in a decent hotel, this was not a fortune £90.00, but i could of stayed in a decent hotel for £80.00 and paid £10.00 for a Taxi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Was close enough to the Warner Brother studios and other attractions but narrow access roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the room poor, small bathroom could only fit one at a time, unable to remove shower head from fitting, noisy water pipes when other rooms using their facilities. Need to arrive before dark as access via narrow unlit country lanes.

    Quiet location, friendly warm atmosphere, good food, safe off-road parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the location overlooking the common. Very rural but convenient for Warner Bros Studio Tours (Harry Potter). The food was very good, rooms comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice pub and hotel, really friendly people and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets were not very clean in the pub

    Nice pub and hotel, really friendly people and staff. The hotel was good standard rooms ideal for a 1-2 nights stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a shame that the bathroom was not up to the same standard of decor as the rest of the building. Was also disappointed with the cleanliness of the cups both in the room and at breakfast.

    The location of the Hotel was very pretty and bar/restaurant area was lovely. The staff were really friendly and the room was comfortable. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    fair but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Extractor in the bathroom - surely a legal breach of something-Internet Cloud was complete rubbish- why other reviewers state the contrary I cannot imagine-also if you are relying on taxis to travel anywhere- BEWARE- they are hideously expensive even by London standards - drive your own car or stay elsewhere

    the bed and sleeping quarters

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    My stay was absolutely delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't anything that I could think of that could be better, it was all great.

    The beds were extra comfy and the breakfast was great. The staff were all extra friendly and the rooms and downstairs restaurant were absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    A great family friendly venue with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight drawback was the low bed.

    The reason for the visit was to meet up with family who live in the local area in a friendly hostelry that serves good food. The Two Brewers suited our needs down to the ground. It was great for us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location, very busy on afternoons and evening with diners. No relaxing facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two Brewers is more of an Inn than a hotel, other than the bar appears no where for staying guests to relax. Car parking is a problem particularly on afternoons, locals seem to use as their favourite "dinery". Staying Guests (no preference for them) had to book evening meal for the Friday Night since the venue is very popular and packed on the occasion of our 2 night stay.

    Lovely location, nice view overlooking Chipperfield Common. Room big, comfortable and adequately equipped. Dining Room and Breakfast very good, staff on duty very pleasant. Rooms were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable homely stay at reasonable prices. Great for one night only due to mattress!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi badly let them down. Almost non existent. Mattresses in our room (105) badly need replacing. Springs have gone and the whole mattress bottomed out!

    Clean cosy room on ground floor. Very well placed handrail in bath for an ambulant disabled person. Most hotels get it wrong...these guys didn’t. Food was lovely. Staff very pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.9
    Room was spacious and there were two easy chairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet handle and cistern noisy. Tea/coffee/milk were not replenished and cups were not washed properly.

    Room was spacious and there were two easy chairs. Breakfast was first class. Staff very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Good and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room was poor, the pressure from the shower head when the temperature was set was not very strong. The bar prices were very expensive.

    The sleeping accommodation was excellent we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Another great experience at Two Brewers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything and would definitely go there again.It was our second visit there.It is convenient for Harry Potter.Kat and Sarah were brilliant and welcoming.Nothing was too much trouble.Kate was our waitress for our evening meal and was very nice,worked hard all the busy evening.Polite and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing nice area with good views over the common
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not very good and tv in room could of been a little bigger

    Bedroom was large clean lovely surroundings area was beautiful fields lots of walks

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: