Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Devon hotel reviews
  4. Two Bridges hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Two Bridges Hotel

Reviews of Two Bridges Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Two Bridges Road, Two Bridges, PL20 6SW, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Two Bridges

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 473 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    7.5
    Very welcoming. And a genuine Dartmoor legend.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom could've been a little cleaner. Bathroom was pretty dated.

    Location. Open fires in the lounge bar. Food was superb. Good value for money as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    Staff excellent. Location stunning. Restaurant food..too little!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening restaurant menu read much better than it delivered. My starter of pheasant with "Stew and dumplings" turned out to be 2 x 1" pieces of pheasant and the stew was so sparse I could not pick it up with the soup spoon I was given. Zero seasoning. Good hearty food required for a hotel situated in the heart of Dartmoor! At £49 a head (3 courses) we need more of it please.

    Staff were extremely attentive yet not obtrusive. Very pleasant and polite.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay,food good but the portion size needs looking at!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were very poor,flat and stained,not good to sleep on, the food was of a good standard but I ordered the suet pudding which was very nice,but the potatoes and veg were in short supply I had three tiniest potatoes and my 1 carrot was so small and thin it was a joke!!! On any other occasion I would have complained but I didn’t want to spoil my night with my partner thanks lee 👍

    location and ambiance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    Hidden Gemm in Dartmoor National Paark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of The Two Bridges Hotel and the efficient staff, who made our stay very enjoyable. The Hotel is pet friendly and this makes it even more enjoyable and although we didn't bring a pet we do like them and enjoyed seeing them around the grounds.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.5
    Traditional country house hotel in a superb setting, with outstanding food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff were rather offhand, especially when we requested a bedside lamp - there was only a light over the bed. We had a 5' mattress on a 4'6" bed. Not great. Our room was above a very noisy group in the bar and kept us awake till 12.30 pm. Fortunately when we rang down to complain the person we spoke to dealt with it immediately. But it could have been anticipated.

    The location is wonderful, by a river right in the middle of Dartmoor, with excellent walking from the hotel. The lounges are roomy yet cosy, with so many different places to sit. Log fires added to the cosiness. The food is outstanding, though the tableware was not really of the same quality.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    8.8
    A really good family break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small niggle for me, the Dragons Breath Dartmoor ale wasn't on tap this time, but Jail Ale is great.

    We keep coming back, need I say more? We even took the dog this time.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    The staff were attentive without being overbearing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was a little soft for my liking, but then I prefer a very firm one. Although my wife found it to her liking!

    The staff were attentive without being overbearing. The food was good as were the restaurant and snugs.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.5
    Great spot to stay when travelling or walking on the Moor. Very quirky historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plates were cold at breakfast and food not hot at all A few cobwebs in our bathroom and dust in bedroom Windows could do with a lick of paint.

    The bedroom had a nice historical feel with a 4 poster bed and antique furniture. The bathroom fittings were new with a whirlpool bath The lounge area was comfortable with log burners and leather chesterfield sofas

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    Always Welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Busy on Sundays but that's good Chairs in the lounge areas could do with an update but I love the traditional feel

    Love the location. Love the atmosphere, Love the food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    A real treat to escape to this lovely old hotel, so relaxing and friendly. Certainly going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Weird buzzing every time the bedroom door was opened! Everything else was great

    Dinner was absolutely superb. Best veggie cooked breakfast I’ve ever had. Very relaxed atmosphere, lovely staff. Bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    It’s a gorgeous location and a homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing... have been before and will be back again.

    It’s a gorgeous location and a homely feel... like stepping into an Agatha Christie novel. Calm and relaxed, amazing food, and wonderful open fires.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Friendly, homely atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, homely atmosphere. Nothing like driving across Dartmoor through the wind and rain to walk in and see log fires burning. Immediately you're left feeling relaxed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Fabulous and comfortable night away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was a great stay.

    Fabulous location, friendly staff, fires that were constantly replenished, good to very good food. Large bedroom. This is a wonderful retreat. We took our new dog and felt completely relaxed and at home with staff and other guests.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    Dinner and breakfast were very good, staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little dusty in places.

    Dinner and breakfast were very good, staff were very friendly and helpful and location was perfect for access to lots of hikes. Room was massive.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.9
    Go for location, eat else where.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in rm 1, above the bar area, very noisy up until 12 midnight!!!! We had dinner at the hotel and were disappointed with the standard of food, Starter was lovely, main course of venison was tough and the sticky toffee pudding was not sticky!!! would not eat again at the hotel.

    Beautiful location, ideal to walk the dog, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    A great experience - bravo Two Bridges
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner and the breakfast were good but perhaps not everything was quite as good as we had expected. The monkfish hors d'oeuvres was excellent but the venison was a little bland. When cutting it seemed tough but we realized that this was the fault of the knives - it was even difficult to cut the vegetables ! This was the same problem at breakfast - someone has a big job ahead of them to sharpen all the knives. For breakfast one could have wished for a better quality sausage and in an establishment as special as Two Bridges it would have been nice with real tea as opposed to tea bags (what a pity the English on the whole have stopped drinking real tea - bags can never replace it). The scrambled eggs were the most curious we have ever seen. To be honest they looked and tasted more like boiled eggs that had been chopped up - and they came very fast after ordering - perhaps too fast to have been freshly made scrambled eggs ? One last thing: it was a little disappointing to come in to the room and have to start heating it oneself. It was very cold outside and a warm room on arriving would have made a big difference

    We arrived at Two Bridges in really bad weather but it didn't matter. Walking in there was a beautiful experience. There is an old world feeling that welcomes you and makes you forget the inclement weather. The room with its grand four poster bed and the jacuzzi in the bathroom were a real pleasure. The entire staff deserve praise but we have to mention Paige in the reception and Matt in the restaurant. Two such charming, friendly, attractive young people are a golden investment for any organization that cares about its image. When we left the next morning it was still grey weather but it only enhanced the drama and wildness of the amazing Dartmoor national park. What a dramatic and romantic experience - I almost expected Lorna Doone to come out of the mist any moment. Two Bridges Hotel cannot be highly recommended enough and we are determined to find a reason to return. Thank you.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfy rooms, great scenery and walks. Very relaxing but spoil a little by being overcrowded,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant very pricey. Barman miserable. The Hotel is getting too busy and 'killing the goose that laid the golden egg' by destroying the peace!

    The receptionist was brilliant and upgraded my room when i found the original rather noisy! Maitre d in the restaurant was excellent welcoming and remembered my name which is always a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location on the moors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Busy seating area due to a large party which also restricted eating times.

    Stunning location on the moors. Loved the geese being fed in the morning. Traditional fayre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    Beautiful building in fantastic surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grouting in the shower was a little stained but that is really the only negative.

    Loved the open fire, the choice and quality of food. All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely recommend and will be booking again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything that was awful that I could fault. The only thing was where we were there were a few flies in the room because the window was open. But we just Wooshed them back out so it was fine.

    Everything. The staff were very friendly, catered to all of our needs which was extremely nice to have. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.5
    lovely looking but shame about the dogs, dog hairs and lack of sound insulation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dogs, the dates g hairs and the terrible noise from the other rooms. You know it's bad when you don't want to walk barefoot on the carpets and you can hear your neighbours peeing in there r ensuite. Such a shame for such a lovely looking hotel.

    Location and gardens. Restaurant was also very tastefully decorated and staff were top quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    8.3
    An excellent place to stay for a night or two. ALL the staff were good, and dinner in the restauran,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The “twin bed” just a little utility, in comparison.An excellent place to stay for a night or two

    We have stayed on a number of previous occasions and continue to be very pleased with the hotel. On arrival there appeared to be a very large crowd of customers having cream tea, both inside and out, but despite the crowds we were so well received and cared for by the reception staff; this so, so good after a long journey. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    10
    Delightful hotel in a pretty setting welcoming and helpful staff accompanied by great food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't not like anything but a shower would have been better

    Poached Eggs perfect in fact all food was excellent Steak and Ale Suet Pudding Very nice indeed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.0
    We have had afternoon tea many times and promised ourselves a stay over we were not disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit shabby and there was mould in the shower. We reported it to the staff they apologised and made a note of it.

    The staff were friendly and could not have been more welcoming. They were happy to move us to a downstairs room as I was having trouble with the stairs. The food was perfectly delicious, well done the kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in national park
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Lovely grand hotel in a national park. Kind of in the middle of nowhere but great for a walk. Had its own geese. Room was spacious and clean. We ate dinner there and the meals and staff were of a very high standard. Breakfast was excellent too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    6.3
    Disapointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with our 1st room which was nothing like any of the beautiful rooms on the website, it was small, dark and noisy from the kitchen extractor fan. However they did change this when we complained, the 2nd room was much more acceptable. The bath water was luke warm. The windows rattled all night in the storm and an overflowing gutter meant we had a very poor nights sleep. We had booked for 2 nights but stayed only for 1. The food was expensive and small portions, we left the restaurant hungry. Breakfast full English consisted of 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage, half a tomato, 1 flat mushroom and beans, we chose not to have black pudding and hogs pudding. I don't think we will be returning.

    The location is beautiful. They made our dog feel very welcome. Friendly staff and beautiful building.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Comfort in the middle of Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit disappointing that breakfast wasn’t included in the price

    It is an old hotel full of character, a good stop if you’re travelling west or a place to stay, relax, go walking & enjoy the lovely towns like Tavistock nearby. The food was excellent & the rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    Beautifiul location but maybe not quite right for business travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately wifi didn't work in my room, it was out of range. Food was very expensive, £8.50 for a piece of pate and two miniature slices of bread.

    Quiet location and rooms not at all noisy. Friendly staff. Menu was a bit sparse, would of liked to have seen a bar menu rather than a restaurant menu which was very expensive. However the food itself was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    In the 18th century they chose the perfect location beside the river Dart at a major cross roads
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food is excellent but over priced No walk in shower in my room 3 Bed too soft and not supportive.

    With a 250 yr history, The royal ambiance is a must experience for any Dartmoor visit

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The room was warm and cosy. The evening meal was delicious. My wife's request for a smaller meal was easily dealt with to her satisfaction. Nice cosy lounge with two open fires.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.3
    We would be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for 2 nights. The first night our double bed so so small I could not sleep. Next morning we spoke to the reception staff and they moved us to another room which had a much larger bed and the room was very nice.

    A good full English breakfast. The evening 3 course meal was very good. Very relaxing environment in and around the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    A wonderful short stay. Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was beautiful but quite high and I'm not very tall. I had to jump. The bathroom was spotless but a separate shower would have been nice.

    The staff were very approachable and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    A lovely find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't anything we didn't like except for the hand held shower in our room, not sure if there's a reason why this particular bedroom doesn't have a wall mounted shower.

    The location, the food, the big bed, the comfortable lounge area. The outside sitting area, the walks and scenery was gorgeous. Lovely to sit and relax, Staff recognized it was my partner's birthday so had a complimentary dessert, a lovely touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable relaxed stay,lovely grounds and walks food good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside tables needed clearing litter on floor tables needed wiping inside and clearing.Having said that weather was good and pub very busy so not easy for staff

    The overall ambience was great when arriving after a 7 hour road journey staff very helpful relaxed bar area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to not like

    Everything, the room was perfect, the location was perfect, the food was absolutely amazing the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay on Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Initially we were put in a room which smelled of damp and was gloomy but they moved us into a lovely room spacious and airy with beautiful views. Lounge menu was limited and too heavy for our tastes((steak suet pudding, fish and chips, sausages and mash) but restaurant was a set meal at £41 for 2 courses . Craving vegetables and salad by end of stay.

    They found us a better room happily Service was very friendly and efficient Location in the middle of Dartmoor is lovely with geese waddling about the hotel grounds and by the river . Saw herons there too Lovely outdoor seating when warm enough. Hotel exudes a relaxed country feel where children and dogs are welcomed. Not fancy luxury but old fashioned hospitality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great location for the moor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park can get very full with visitors. Found accessing WiFi quite a chore. Bathroom small and shower not great. Extractor fan hadn’t been used in a while as it showered debris when turned on. No water or glasses in the room - would have been a good extra.

    Quirky hotel, very busy with daily visitors as well as overnight guests. Interesting history. Plenty of seating in the lounges. Loved the resident wildlife! Geese refused to move as I left which meant I had to reverse carefully around them! Bed very comfy. Staff all very attentive, particularly in the restaurant. Food all produced locally and very well cooked and presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.5
    The bed was not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not happy with the number of dogs in the Hotel but they particularily cater for people with dogs.

    The bed was not comfortable. The shower had a fixed head so was not ideal. There was no bath. This is a very old fashioned Hotel but the staff made our two day visit exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable. Lovely staff. Exceptionally clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pictures on the wall in room were a little every but the place has an amazing history so I guess it's part of the experience

    Lovely area. Very peaceful location. Fantastic food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great location, exceptional food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was amazing ! We eat at many restaurants, including Michelin starred, and the food here was as good as if not better....the pork starter was exceptional !!! The staff are friendly, helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly relaxing end to a day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s not a lot to not like. It’s fairly remote but then that’s it’s attraction. If you don’t like geese you may be put off!

    What a gorgeous location, set in the heart of Dartmoor, and packed full of history. So relaxing to sit in the extensive gardens and watch the sun go down over the moor. And then the comfort of the bar with its sumptuous sofas and chairs. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    8.8
    On the whole enjoyable though expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have stayed at the two Bridges a few times and really loved it, but eventhough we still enjoyed it this time, we felt the food wasn’t up to it’s usual standard. We also didn’t recognise one member of staff, so they don’t appear to keep their staff which is a great shame. The only other thing was that we had a premier room, which was nice, but was on the ground floor and all the delivery vans parked outside our window, so little privacy.

    Lovely feeling to the hotel, great situation, comfortable and welcoming. Atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxing with harp being played during dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay in Dartmoor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cost of the breakfast was much higher than average.

    The location in Dartmoor was great. Staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The meals were very good as were the breakfast choices. The rooms were wonderful and in keeping with the historical value of the property. The old fashioned black and white photos gave a finishing touch. Outside the wildlife was lovely, such as a family of swans and sheep roaming around the hotel grounds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    5.8
    Confused hotel in a beautiful location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food was very limited and not really fitting with the hotel there’s was no other option other than a la cart menu in the evening which was not good and the timings for the food where again limited. There was very poor WiFi so don’t expect a signal and I found the decoration in the rooms confusing. I don’t think this hotel is value for money it could be if offered better food, WiFi.

    The hotel staff were all very helpful the location was beautiful. The range of wine and ale were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    This place is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place is beautiful! I love how the decor matches the property, some say it’s dated but I’d say it’s a perfect fit. It has been very sympathetically designed to the age and history of the building. The location is spectacular! Who wouldn’t love to wake up to the views across Dartmoor and the sound of birds singing. Perfect place for a getaway!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room was on the back of the hotel was very hot with zero view. We upgraded and got a very nice room. Given the unusually hot weather in England it was worth the upgrade.

    Wonderful location. We’ve been driving past this hotel for many years and finally had the opportunity to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect Dartmoor luxury getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard pressed to think of much that's negative.

    A wonderful hotel in the heart of Dartmoor. Excellent friendly staff, a sumptuous venue without being pretentious. If you like to be surrounded by an atmosphere of yesteryear this will meet all your expectations. Not a modern hotel but one steeped in class and history. The restaurant is first class dining, I've never had a bad meal here, food is imaginative and beautifully cooked and the service is first rate. My wife and I - who were married here - find any excuse to return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous stop over en route to Cornwall, well worth a visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was just a little small for my portly partner

    It was a lovely hotel, very homely, bedroom a little small but very comfortable, especially the bed. Staff very welcoming to our dog Logan, a welcome pack awaited him, lovely touch. He is a big lovable bear but can be a little intimidating to some. Lovely to see sheep and geese passing the window in the early morning mist. Food was excellent - both dinner and breakfast - we will be going back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable . Friendly people - even the guests .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room had a bath (no shower) - could have supplied some bath bubbles as part of the freebe selection instead of the shower cap ! Just a thought !

    Surroundings amazing - building and staff amazing too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable and restful overnight stay after a physically exhausting holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Geese were noisy in the early morning, but that is natural! However some very noisy machinery in the early hours disturbed my wife, not enough for a complaint, but something the management might like to look into.

    Friendly and efficient greeting, Dinner excellent, although just a little bit more "Nouveau Cuisine" than we like, we still left the table well satisfied. We love the ambience of the hotel, more like a country house party from a P.G. Wodehouse novel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    7.5
    Would go back and recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a disappointing did not like the new potatoes. One bacon one sausage was ok but wanted two of each one tomatoe would be better

    A very welcoming hotel in the middle of know where and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    A great place to relax, chill out, and visit the lovely moors, and the staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps alittle TLC needed here and there, food excellent but could do with alittle more plain food. Our room would benefit a celling fan.

    Staff very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, very clean, location brilliant, cream teas one of the best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How I was spoken to at the bar by Elizabeth. I felt like an inconvenience. I also noticed her general tone with other members of staff. Other than her I would say the rest of the staff were very helpful.

    The room and the food were both amazing. The outside area was also beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Character and charm in the middle of the moor.
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gets crowded in summer with afternoon tea trippers, because their cream teas are famous!

    A charming, friendly and accommodating venue for people with dogs and other small pets, but clean and tidy too. I had a quiet twin room (No. 29) which was great for accessibility and comfort. No stunning views that side, but a peaceful back garden full of birdsong. Service was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One tough steak!

    The location is wonderful, step out the door onto the moors, follow the river, enjoy the scenery and ambiance , but also feel warm ,dry and secure (we arrived in torrential rain and limited visibility but next day it was idyllic.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    5.0
    Great location, poorly trained staff, poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel itself is dated scruffy, expensive, very poor food and a shortage of trained restaurant staff. Small bedroom, creaky wardrobe, no internet, cold shower, postage stamp tv

    The position of the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    Still a great location but could modernise without loosing it's charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed wasn't comfortable, saggy mattress and pillows that were so thin they disappeared between the mattress and bedhead. The set dinner was expensive and nothing particularly grabbed our attention to justify the cost from the way the menu was written, so we opted for the bar menu which was okay but a bit limited.

    The location was the main reason we chose to stay at Two Bridges, and based on previous stays, we were looking forward to a relaxing time. Sadly this time the whole place felt a bit tired & in need of some new ideas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.9
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to get room changed and they did put us in a good room after one night Showers didn’t work well in afternoon and when we called it in we were told it’s because the water tank is empty....people keep using it apparently. Last dinner waitress forgot about us so we stacked plates ourselves and left not ordering any desert as no one came. It’s a pity because if the mechanics of the hotel worked better it would match the high quality of the food and location

    Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    old fashioned and overpriced in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV in the room was the smallest I've seen in a hotel room, it was about the size of a laptop screen. The restaurant prices were far too high and offered very little choice. A glass of wine was circa £10 which is far too high for the wines on offer. Not enough information available on the local area

    The location was good with a large car park. breakfast was good with several choices available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.2
    ambience, food, and superb service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No internet OR mobile connection in the rooms...only in the lounge hall.

    ambience, food, and superb service. The stereotype of a British butler has its grounds!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous food and doggy friendly: will definitely return soon
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was scaffolding outside the bedroom window but it didn’t really bother us. The pictures in the bedroom were a bit dated and random but again you put up with it for its other qualities.

    The pets and their owners are treated very well. We are not tucked away and treated like the exception. Barney was given several treats and a welcome gift. We sat in a lounge restaurant with some fantastic food. Everyone was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    Big walk, big dinner, big sleep. Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashioned, in the nicest way, a comfy hotel. The friendliest helpful staff. When we went to our room we found there was no shower over the bath, the receptionist moved us without a quibble. Much appreciated. An excellent dinner, with much flexibility over mixing and matching the fixed price menu and the lounge menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    What a setting. Would return.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom itself was very clean and well provided. However the shower had seen better days and should be replaced. They are so difficult to keep sparkling clean and this one was not. Our view was blocked by scaffolding but accept that repairs have to be done especially with an old building.

    The comfy, shabby chic ambience and all those clocks. The staff were excellent; well trained with great charm. Food was excellent. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was friendly, comfortable and family orientated. Every breed of dog imaginable. The Goose army was very entertaining.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, lovely food in great setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be aware that WiFi and phone signals intermittent. Didn’t bother us but it might be issue for some

    Hotel is pet friendly. Beautiful setting and old historic building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    7.1
    Very nice place to stay in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was soft and the Duvet heavy for time of year, your portion sizes not big and the toast l got with my poached eggs was only half a slice with two eggs. But very good and as bread isn,t expensive thought could have had more.

    the food was good not big portion though .Was dog friendly and had good areas for walkers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Will be coming back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one small request, more straw in some of settee and chair base cushions ready for my next stay. And a small shed to get changed in to my waders in the car park !

    Staff friendllyniess and efficiency, The two open fire,s The offer to try the local beer,s by splitting a pint in to three glasses. not to mention the cream teas and cooked dartmoor breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.2
    Two Bridges Five stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike. Great accomodation for outdoor adventures on Dartmoor or a drive by visit.

    Hospitality absolutely fantastic. Ooodles of Atmosphere. Great for all groups of visitors. Linked to local brewery so beer is first rate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in Room 1 didn't have a fixed shower - we would have liked to know this beforehand. also only 1 teabag! And 3 little cartons of milk for 2 people! We had to ask for more.

    Relaxed informal atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a little dark but comfortable , and the bed was 2 singles push together And what was up with the scary old timey pictures on the walls above the bed.. enough to give you nightmares lol 😂

    It was a beautiful hotel situated in beautiful Dartmoor, the staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and warm with accommodating staff.
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little old fashioned. Wardrobe door wedged shut with folded paper!

    Cozy, traditional hotel. Very helpful staff. Warm and comfortable bed. Amazing surroundings on Dartmoor. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    Superb stay. Would recommend without reservation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing it was all lovely.

    We enjoyed everything about our stay. My late parents honeymooned at Two Bridges in 1953 so it was lovely to return where they had been and it didn't disappoint. We will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    6.7
    Love the place and the staff, but overall, this hotel could easily do a lot better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food: The Full Cooked Breakfast was pretty poor, all items appeared to have been cooked some time much earlier and kept hot for too long. The Hogs pudding/Sausage/Mushroom and Black pudding were dried up, shrunken and hard, this was disappointing. The Extractor Fans in the chimney breast were rumbling and clanking through the night disturbing our sleep.

    We had a small celebration for our Wedding Anniversary. The staff were all very good and helpful, and spoiled us with a treat after our dessert. The hotel has a great homely feel about it and a fantastic location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    10
    Me my pooch and wife will be back...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Give me two weeks and I am sure I could find something.. but I would be really dragging the barrel.

    Best dog friendly hotel I have stayed for a long long time. Also one of the best for staff friendlynes and food was excellant. Stop looking at this review and book...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, relaxing , relaxing, and lovely food. No complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weather, it could have been kinder but that’s not your fault eh?

    Many year so ago we visited Two Bridges for their scrumptious cream teas, it has been about 20 years since we last visited and were a little apprehensive as we were nervous in case it had been modernised and lost it’s lovely atmosphere and comfort. We were very pleased to find that nothing has been changed or spoilt, the same yummy cream teas, staff were lovely and friendly. Will be back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    7.9
    Great location Great food but chose bed carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we stayed in a room with a four poster bed which was nice but the bed was only a normal double and the mattress wasn't great.

    the location was great. the restaurant and food very good and the staff friendly. games available to play in the evening were fun too.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: