Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Powys hotel reviews
  4. Rhayader hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ty Morgan's

Reviews of Ty Morgan's This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

South Street, Rhayader, LD6 5BH, United Kingdom

#10 of 16 hotels in Rhayader

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    5.8
    Not to be repeated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's got a very central location in Rhayader but noise comes with that. That clock in the clock tower tolls on the hour through the night - and we could clearly hear that in the room. Being on a main street means there is early traffic right past the room window. The bed was just OK and the macerator in the en-suite turns over at odd times in the night. More disturbance = less sleep.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    4.6
    Nothing particularly positive to say here. Sorry.
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm always wary of giving negative reviews as I know that this is someone's business and I know for myself how hard it can be running a business. BUT. sometimes you just have to say something in the hope that notice is taken. Overall we found the room to be somewhat shabby. On arriving in the room there was a smell that wasn't too fresh. Anyhow, we flushed the toilet - which has a machinator and the smell from the toilet filled the whole room - a very strong poo smell. It cleared after a while. But the bathroom..the the toilet is noisy (i accept a machinator is noisy), the shower is extremely noisy, the fan is noisy and when all three are on it's a madhouse. There' black mould around the shower. There's no shelf around the sink - so the drinking glasses provided are on a ledge directly behind the toilet - errgh. The hotel bar was below us so the noise from there was very loud plus the people from the room upstairs - we could hear every footstep. The bed wasn't comfortable at all and the room is in desperate need of TLC - it's dark and miserable and totally characterless. I love staying in old pubs with uneven floors and wonky walls - but that doesn;t mean a room has to be miserable. Overall we didn't enjoy our stay here and won't be heading back. It really does feel totally unloved..Sorry, I honestly didn't want to write all of that but I hope it spurs the owners to do something. I know times can be hard these days and I'm certain that profits are not massive but it doesn't cost a great deal of money to sort out ost of these issues - basically, they're mostly cosmetic and can be overcome.

    Location in the centre of town was good. But that was all.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    Gem. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Freeview box for TV was quite sluggish- not all Freeview channels were available e.g. E4 and machine would freeze sometimes (maybe new remote batteries were needed?). I didn't mind though as there was plenty to explore!

    Comfortable mattress, warm room, shower wasn't bad, nice ambiance in room and downstairs cafe.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    5.8
    A bit disappointing. Just a few things around the edges would have improved things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed. “Welcome” was hurried. The “receptionist” seemed to be single handed and busy in the bar. Be aware that the bistro is not opened out of season and you will be eating in the bar and when it’s busy they may occasionally forget you are there. I know locals are important to a business but so is recommendation and repeat business.

    A good central location. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    5.4
    Not impressed, not good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor quality of doors, bathroom door broken. Poorly fitting toilet seat. TV difficult to use and had no instructions. No breakfast included.

    Shower easy to use. Comfortable bed, spacious.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend Tu Morgan’s and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The children’s meals, were not to the same standard as the main menu which was a shame and there was no option for pudding for children not even ice cream.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    lovely cosy room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Luxury Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    TV upstairs didn't have signal which was a shame as a lovely area to sit. I wasn't aware there was no car parking so had to use the market and had to be up early the next day as sheep sales.

    lovely cosy room. Bed was amazing and I slept so well. Easy to get late evening access.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    5.0
    Eat at the restaurant but do not sleep in the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above.

    The bed was terrible. I got up with a bad backache and my wife did not sleep at all. The bathroom had mould in the shower area and damp and cobwebs on the outside walls. The food at the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    We can't stop raving about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner and I were shocked by the size of the room, it was gorgeous! We didn't want to get out of bed, it was like a cloud hugging us! The room was cosy, warm and just exactly what we needed and we didn't realise!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    3.3
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Torn and dirty net curtains Light bulbs missing No light over bathroom mirror No headboard on bed No bedside table on one side Situated on arrow and very busy junction. With HGVs passion g from 5am Breakfast 8am - too late Instant porridge pots

    Not much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.9
    Overall very good, great sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kinda noisy street.. Double glazing would help. 1 kinda soft bed.. But that's personal preference. 😁

    Overall very good, great sized rooms. Friendly staff. Good bacon butty at breakfast 😉

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    Splendid place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking at the hotel is very limited and the town itself is "lively" so can be a bit noisy with the windows open if you are at the front of the hotel

    Friendly staff, good food and comfortable rooms - good location in the town and good location for a base to explore the elan valley and surrounding area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    5.8
    Loved the layout of the room overall, high ceilings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bins hadnt been emptied, the shower hadnt been cleaned, the beds werent made in the main bedroom, used towels left on the floor, there were used empty cups and bottles in the lounge area.

    Loved the layout of the room overall, high ceilings and beams, the room was very cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Not a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed. Window would not open properly for ventilation on hot days. Breakfast could easily be included in the room price. Nowhere to eat on Sunday before 11am. Road traffic noise during the night.

    Central Wales location for touring on motorcycles. Off road parking for bikes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable,nice and clean but noisy due to loud music from pub across the road and creaky floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Floor boards are really creaky and noisy. Someone above my room was walking heavily in the room making a lot of noise in the middle of the night. Also loud music from pub across the road was annoying.

    Location, cleanliness, decor, everything was pretty good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, noisy town on Sat night
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from a nearby party and cars driven like racers past the window, both very late into the night

    Friendliness, nice rooms, dog-friendly, plenty of options for eating/drinking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    Friendly but noisy and tiring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel room (number 5) is literally inches away from the A470 - one of the busiest roads in Wales. Large trucks use this road 24/7. The hotel should not put guests in this bedroom since it is not possible to sleep.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.3
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very smelly toilets in the bar! Sewage issue! Road noise Noise from the kitchen Concerned because although payment was already earmarked in bank account, we had to pay again. We were told this was because we'd gone through booking. com - awaiting outcome.

    Bed very comfy. Bar and outside area well decorated / furnished

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great surroundings, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely stay, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The price of the room was excellent. I would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place but earplugs needed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in room 9 which was facing the main road. This room was very noisy with the local church bells ringing every hour, lorries passing in the early hours and there seemed to be a birds next above our window.

    Convenient location, lovely large rooms with original features (wooden beams, high ceilings etc.). Helpful staff with a late check-in and nice coffee shop below.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    6.7
    Functional for our purpose would stay again in different room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As above

    Staff were excellent , room was ok but bathroom a little tired and needs a little TLC . We did have a room by main road which was horrendously noisy , however they did inform us of that and did say we could move if it was too bad but that was because it was not full . For one night and we were shattered we stayed where we were . We could not open window though because of noise . They supplied a small fan that did not suit the need of room and have little air , possible change that for a bigger fan if window need s to stay closed ? Staff however were great and were accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    4.2
    Room was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Luxury Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a luxury room with a mezzanine sofa area. The sofa was hard and uncomfortable so the extra money for the seating area felt like a waste. Arrived on a Sunday and the bar downstairs was closing so we just made it in time to check in. It was a hot day over 24 degrees yet the heating was on full blast in the room. Due to the double glazing it wasn’t possible to open the window. Was disappointed with the overall standard of the room for the price. Difficult to park outside the property. Decided to leave early and drive home.

    Sunday lunch was good and very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Was surprised not b&b for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was a little cramped and toilet space was poor.

    The room was excellent with the bonus of 2 extra beds. A lovely traditional room well decorated and very homely. Restaurant was god and served lovely food, breakfast was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    Great room, pity about HGV noise during night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from HGVs at town crossroads throughout the night. Food a bit cheffy and would have liked breakfast included in price.

    Large comfy bed, large room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place with amazing food. Best resturaunt in town for certain adn very classy wine bar area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Luxury Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy. From 830am you can hear the Chef hammering meat in the kitchen below and it goes on all day. You can hear the staff laughing shouting and talking from 8am til 11pm. You can hear the customers chatting loudly from 8am til 11pm. The traffic outside is so noisy its like being in central London. The pub noise when people leaving is disturbing as the locals are young and drink and shouty. I paid for a luxury room but found the room more of a standard. Taps on bath fitted the wrong way round and when you turn the tap on the whole taps turns around. Toilet struggles to flush well. Upstairs lounge bit in the room was ok but table where TV was covered in dust which surprised me. The couch up there also ripped in many places where you sit. Doors in corridor slam closed as people walk through which happens late at night and early morning which isn't great when you are asleep. Bright green light shines throughout the room at night which is an emergency light which we had to cover with our largest pair of pants!!!!!! Lucky they were large!

    Staff more than helpful to sort out problems encountered. Room clean and tidy and smart. Had luxury room which was spacious and had everything we needed. Hotel in the middle of town ideal to be able to walk to everything. Food of high standard available downstairs in café and restaurant most of the time and food is of high quality with amazing variety. Poshest place to eat in town in fact.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    5.0
    Room decor dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room decor dated. Very creaky floorboards and the plumbing system was very very noisy. If you want a good night sleep then don’t stay here. That said the staff were all friendly. The bar and restaurant was very nice and had a friendly relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Brilliant, see above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was grand!

    Great place, property with character, friendly and helpful staff, cracking food downstairs (the cooked breakfast is awesome), superb location - great for walking the River Wye and Elan Valley. Got snowed in the for the weekend and was brilliant! Great pubs nearby and a curry house up the road, comfy bed great and will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.8
    a good break to catch up with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. A car park would have been nice. But you can unload outside and a short walk to public car park.

    Good breakfast available after check out. Comfy bed warm room. Central great location for Élan Valley.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and the area was very nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I could not help thinking the place needed some TLC and was looking rather dated in certain areas, such as the bathroom, a little bit of TLC. Would definitely improve the experience

    The staff were very friendly and the area was very nice, interesting places to visit. Food was good and overall we would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.6
    Great food, comfortable and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the clock tower which struck on the hour, every hour, during the night but this only affects the rooms at the front of the guest house.

    Atmosphere was great. Food and service were excellent. The room was spacious and very comfortable. A faultless location to explore the Elan Valley and surrounding hills and Devil's Bridge. Also a great base for moutain biking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water pump for toilet goes off ever so often but forgot about it after

    Nice hotel like modern looks usually hotels - guesthouse in wales have “old grandma design rooms) i liked my room the wall on the left is really nice feature in room 3

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    5.4
    Spend a lot = mediocre stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we first arrived, we had booked 5 rooms specifically for each person under each name. E.G 'Family Room for Bob'. The receptionist came across unwelcoming and rude. She didn't hand out the rooms correctly and just gave us 5 keys. We were on a business trip so it was embarrassing in front of our client.

    Really liked the location as a stop off point for us, it was perfect. We were doing a film shoot around North & Mid Wales. The character of the property was so beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    4.6
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Knew there was a party eating in restaurant at 7.30 asked if 8pm suited us 8.50 our meal arrived was only some veg and lamb rump acid fillet on risotto.! Meat was very chewy more sheep than lamb.both had brownie for dessert was hot and tasty miniscule and I mean miniscule smear of sauce .This was 5.95 and took 20 mins to arrive after ordering.not enough staff to cater for the other booking which was only 15 of them !! Breakfast was really mediocre very greasy bacon and fried bread was saturated in oil .hey ho.room was nice bed lovely !! Bathroom was freezing and the only criticism about the room was the tv is tiny as room large and a fair distance from the bed.on whole a mediocre stay wouldn't stop again owing to the restaurant being slow and the town of Rhyader isn't what it once was - sign of the times unfortunately

    Not many steps as have mobility issues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.5
    Amazing staff , great location and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable bed , booked a double superior room only to find on many occasions we have stayed that this room was not as (superior) as the others we have stayed in.

    Chloe an absolute diamond as always

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff. Central to the town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Private parking was difficult to access with a narrow passage - avoid if you have a large vehicle. Options for parking nearby a few minutes walk Before booking on the site it does not inform you that there is no food available on a Monday - Bistro is closed. There is a pub serving good wholesome food nearby and a chip shop. If you are a light sleeper earplugs required with freight traffic noise from 5.30am- it is a main route mid to south Wales.

    Central location. Great value for money - the price was right. Modern facilities. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    7.9
    very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 6 Caban Coch. It was well laid-out, and more spacious than the norm. I don't usually like the habit of stripping out breakfast costs to improve the room rate position, but in this case, as it is a Cafe during the day, you can eat and pay for as much or little breakfast as you choose.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel for the price and included breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park too far. Noise from other rooms.

    Good comfortable hotel. Stayed in Room 8 at the top. Could do with the car park being closer. Not much traffic noise from outside. Unfortunately Could hear people arguing in other rooms. Great breakfast. Good shower and room was cosy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    5.0
    Ty Morgan may be a quirky hotel but sadly it is also run down, shabby and generally a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ty Morgan may be a quirky hotel but sadly it is also run down and shabby; the decor was tatty, bulbs were out in both the bedroom and bathroom, the TV didn't work (it flickered, changed channels and the remote didn't work) the hot water tap in the bath had no handle and there wasn't enough hot water for a bath, the shower was extraordinarily noisy as was the plumbing from other rooms and we could hear every word spoken and steps taken (all through the night) from upstairs. If we hadn't had to get a move on in the morning we would have been screaming for a refund!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed - not pet friendly, and noisy cafe.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel allowed pets, which is why we booked - but only in the room. This meant we couldn't go for breakfast, or have a drink in the bar, or eat in the evening. I would suggest this is not a hotel to stay in with a pet. The room was large, and a little cold - we found it difficult to warm up even with the extra heater on. We were in Room 4 which was over the cafe, so were woken up at 7am when they arrived to open at 8am.

    The room was well maintained and in a contemporary style, nicely decorated. The hotel was easy to find. Rhayader was a charming location with a good number of pubs, and a Spar. The bar, restaurant and cafe looked lovely, and had a good menu - unfortunately though, with our small dog with us, it meant these facilities were not available to us which was unclear on Booking.com

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    6.7
    Two nights was enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy both internally and externally. We had a 06:00 alarm call as that is when the occupant of the room above got up. Floor creaking woke us. Also town clock chimed throughout the night right outside our window.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    3.3
    Terrible nights sleep, not worth the £90 a night! Go elsewhere.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the surface this looked nice however the problems were: * Booked a room with a king size bed but our room did not have one - apparently wrong info on booking.com which has since been updated * Noise from people walking around above us at 3am, the macerator on the toilet both in our room and next door * Shower was scalding and then freezing without touching the controls * Pets are apparently welcome but not allowed in any area other than rooms e.g bar * Raised these issues and was offered a small amount of money back, but then never received. When chased, they then refused. * Definitely not worth £90 a night * Terrible nights sleep with 2 people, both over 6ft 2 in the bed, and the noise - it ruined our weekend away

    Nice décor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.5
    Very good and will use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from other rooms. We were told we could not have an early breakfast only to find as we left that others at an early breakfast. Not sure what was going on!

    staff were helpful and friendly. Food at the Bistro was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    6.3
    Ok stay just wish I could have slept in peace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location of hotel right next to town clock which chimed on the hour every hour meant I didn't sleep well. Also saniflo toilets in bathroom randomly flushed overnight!

    Rooms were clean and comfortable, evening meal was good and fairly priced, similarly for breakfast. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    4.6
    Stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where do I start? We hated the hotel, this was our worst night and accommodation during our week-long road trip. The building is really old, the floors are uneven and squeaky. We could hear everything from the street through the window. We heard every step and movement above us and couldn't sleep. Don't even talk about the clock tower next to the building. The macerating toilet grinder was really loud and started up randomly. The electric water heater for the shower was really loud. The restaurant had a curry night and I ordered a chicken tikka masala with naan (I know, why would someone even do this in a non-indian restaurant), but I got a random chicken stew with a Tesco naan bread.

    The breakfast was the only good thing (general English breakfast and some other choices).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.4
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy location of room next to Road with heavy traffic not much sleep. Room was too warm and couldn't open window as the traffic noise was bad. Bed was very old and needed a new mattress.

    Location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    7.9
    Nice atmosphere lovely spacious room, parking a pain.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of mirror for ladies Made feel very uncomfortable about bringing our tiny chihuahua although pets allowed they was not wanted. Parking difficult

    Very nice room warm great bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Luxury Ensuite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only small gripe was the level of noise in the morning. I really could hear everyone in the dining room having breakfast below quite clearly, as well as everyone coming and going in the corridor, with lots of door knocking and banging. But we really did have a nice time and will certainly be back.

    We enjoyed a lovely evening at Ty Morgan's. We stayed in Room 4 which had an amazing mezzanine, huge comfy bed and jacuzzi bath, it really was a fab room. We ate in the Bistro in the evening and enjoyed a tasty meal and good wine. The staff were excellent and even though very busy, still had time to engage with us and made us feel welcome and at home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.2
    We'll be going back for another stay - so that pretty much says it all.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Description showed it as pet friendly - but reality is that the dog can stay in the room, but not allowed in the bar or restaurant. Not a great problem as lots of lovely pubs in the area - but just not quite as expected.

    Great place to stay with interesting large rooms making it very comfortable as a place to sit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    5.4
    WE STAY AT THE TY-MORGAN AROUND 2YEARS AGO I THINK IT WAS...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE STAY AT THE TY-MORGAN AROUND 2YEARS AGO I THINK IT WAS BOOKED THROUGH YOURSELVES, AND THE PRICE WAS £75 DOUBLE ROOM WHICH INCLUDED BREAKFAST.THIS TIME IT WAS £90 PER DOUBLE ROOM WITHOUT BREAKFAST THERE WAS TEA & COFFEE IN THE ROOM , BUT NO BISCUITS... WE DID NOT ENJOY THE STAY ROOM VERY NICE BUT SO SO NOISY, MYSELF AND HUSBAND, SON AND DRAUGTHER-IN-LAW, GOT VERY LITTLE SLEEP, WILL NOT BE BOOKING THIS HOTEL AGAIN, WE STAY IN ELAN VALLEY A FEW TIME A YEAR, AS YOU CAN SEE FROM MY ACCOUNT, THERE HAS BEEN THREE BOOKINGS THIS YEAR SO FAR VERY DISAPOINTED

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    10
    Wonderful service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room overlooked the main town intersection making it a little noisey up until about midnight and early in the morning when people start driving around the area

    Wonderful service. Everything you need for a walking holiday under one roof

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    7.5
    Not happy on this occasion.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    On this occasion we were not happy with our room, Carreg Du. The room was situated at the top of the hotel in the loft area. It had sloping ceilings which made it difficult to reach the wardrobe area. I bumped my head a few times. The kitchen ventilation was humming all night and the small window did not shut out the noisy traffic (many lorries pass by) or the noisy customers leaving the local pubs. I had very little sleep. The television buzzed, which made it difficult to hear the programme. The fan in the shower room needs fixing.

    We have stayed at Ty Morgan's twice before and were very comfortable and satisfied with our visits. Ty Morgan's is situated right in the centre of Rhayader town. It's ideal for visiting Mid Wales. The dams are just 15 minutes away surrounded by stunning views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    8.3
    Room was fantastic really done a good job and easily sleep...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was fantastic really done a good job and easily sleep four as two separate bedrooms and loung area however bathroom useless, totally flawed, I'm a 5,11 15 stone guy, sitting on the loo was interesting at best, shower old and failing, not a good experience, sink well again flawed, no room tooth brush let alone for wash bags etc. But this is a great venue and we were in room 1 so in no way can 1 comment on other rooms. In the evening the bistro / bar was really busy with a really nice crowd and if the breakfast is a measure of the meals served I can see why. Given the number of bars offering accommodation in the town and having visited and walked past the majority I would certainly recommend that the Ty Morgan tag is one to look at for and book if not you will (if staying in the town centre) have missed the best offering.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    All round ideal stay for us, would highly recommended Ty Morgan's. We will certainly be going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Great location, first class Family Room! Food was really good and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly to us and are kids. The Cafe attached was perfect for us as we had a early start.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    6.3
    With the knowledge we now have, I think I would choose to stay a little further away from the town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to our age over sixty five we had a room above the restaurant/bar area which did'nt allow us to have a early night, it did quite down after 11.30. Not to happy with the occasional dog barking in the bar. As previous reviews mentioned due to the location within the town the noise of heavy goods lorry's was noticed more in the early morning.

    We were having breakfast with family staying close to Rhayder. which was a very a special occasion. They staff were very friendly and willing to help, looking at the numbers of people in the restaurant through the day and at night it appeared that the food was good,staying one night did'nt allow us to eat at Ty Morgans. Many of the locals we met were very fiendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    6.7
    Great little stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One member of staff who was rude, not being to have breakfast in the hotel section because we hadn't pre booked.

    Room was nice and comfy, nice bath, cosy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.1
    Close to Elan Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy between floors and walls. Recomend to ask for "penthouse". We moved the 3. day to a more "fancy" room, but much more noise!

    Close to Elan Village. Approx 10min with car. Ok Indian restaurant closeby "Mischi". Ok rooms in 3.floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slept well in a beautiful King-size bed. En suite perfect with bath and shower. Lovely walks along side the river. Excellent scenery at nearby Elan Valley, perfect for dog walkers or cyclists. Plenty of pubs in the local area, a variety of shops including antique shops. Would definitely stay at Ty Morgans with our little dog again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.3
    The location is very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room booked was supposed to be a superior Double, it was a nice large room, in the converted roof space, so 3 flights of stairs . The only small window was locked shut and tapped so could not be opened, so a lack of fresh air a problem. The bathroom was small and the toilet seat did not fit and was loose very disturbing. The bed was low to the floor but comfortable, the biggest problem as I was there for 3 nights was the total lack of cupboard / draw space for clothes. A small built in roof space wardrobe was there but you had to be on your knees to get to it or hang anything. The in room entertainment definitely needs updating as complicated and noisy. However, very well cleaned and maintained everyday.

    The location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    8.3
    Great base for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room (no 7) was in the roof so a bit 'height restricted' and the bathroom was tiny....everything was there, just very cramped. Some complementary toiletries would be a nice touch. A dodgy light fitting in the bathroom could also do with some attention.The shower curtain needs shortening, its way too long (low support rail due to the ceiling height) and as a result it fills half the shower tray and blocks the drain hole so without realising the tray rapidly fills with water! The main room area was fine for me, but anyone 6 foot & over would struggle. The walls are thin & people in the adjacent room were talking loudly until 1.30am.....not the hotels fault, just inconsiderate. I can see parking would be an issue with a car but for a motorcycle there is space around the back. Price of breakfast a little bit steep and if not included in the room rate it seems not possible to add it on in the morning and remain in the hotel breakfast room, instead you are banished to the conjoined shop/café where, if preferred, you can select a cheaper option, and there is also a nice little teashop across the road doing breakfasts, so alternatives are available. None of this constitutes a complaint, just observations.....overall I like this hotel and will be back again!

    Picked up a particularly good deal so happy with the price, the room was clean and smelled nice and fresh, the bedding & towels were also all very crisp & clean, stayed here before so knew the location in the centre of town was good, parking around the rear of the hotel for my bike so no concerns about leaving it on the street. staff very friendly if a bit pre-occupied with their own banter at times....not a problem, its nice to see folks enjoying their work! Great base for exploring the town & local area, friendly locals in the pubs, a nice 'lived in', rustic feel to the town in general with no great concessions toward tourists.....there's a sort of' this is us, take us as you find us' attitude about the place which to me is very appealing. Plenty of places to eat & drink and some terrific scenery and roads on the doorstep. The Ty Morgan empire seems to be spreading......they also run the Crown just up the street and they seem to have taken over the chip shop as well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.8
    Great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy being on the main road but not too bad.

    Excellent value family room for me and 2 friends. Helpful staff and a place to store our muddy bikes. Perfect. Dinner was fab too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.8
    Won't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kettle was old and leaky, stained carpets. hole in the bathroom door, one member of staff was quite rude to us. and the rest of the staff were just too busy but tried, Would have expected breakfast to be included for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    9.6
    A really lovely place to stay and take in the beauty of central Wales.
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our double room was lumpy, ie we could feel the springs, and the pillows were old and flat and nylon. Nice feather duvet though. Because the Inn is so old, it was very noisy for us in the room below the family room (which was on the top floor) when anyone was walking around. Hard to sleep through. The macerators are also noisy on and off in the night, even when you are not using the toilet....maybe it's because someone else is flushing in another room? Try keeping your bathroom door closed to limit this noise I guess? The bath taps were wobbly and one was plumbed backwards! There was also a really nasty strong 'drains' smell around the ground floor toilets.... that thankfully didn't reach to the accommodation up stairs or I would not have stayed!

    The whole Inn was lovely inside and out, and the rooms were very tasteful and atmospheric. We really appreciated the size of the family room and the extra seating area. We loved all the beams and low ceilings etc. Family room beds were all comfy. We would loved to have stayed longer and used the restaurant and deli. Sadly we didn't even have time for breakfast. We would like to return one day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    9.2
    Overall nice, but would have been better with some sound proofing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ensuite shower room was cramped. There is no sound proofing in the floor, so could hear the guests below clearly. When they woke up, I had little chance of sleeping further.

    The room was spacious. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Clean and well equipped. The breakfast was generous and tasty. The staff were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    4.6
    Basic , not clean not 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sadly not clean. Very dusty . Breakfast bistro area blinds really need a good dusting . Bathroom not clean , shower and shower head need some bleach. Floor grubby in bathroom. Towels very old. Bedroom carpet very old and marked . Curtains old. Definitely not 4 star. Probably 2 stars maybe 3 on a good day. Sadly the promised homemade biscuits never arrived in the room. Thought breakfast was included in the price in my booking. Sadly not if you book through booking . Com I was told. So breakfast was 8.45 each per day on top of stay. So at 90 per night it wasn't some where I'll return. 180.00 not well spent I'm afraid. Very disappointing.

    Reasonably comfortable bed. Staff very friendly .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    3.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was next to the night entrance - woken constantly through the night by people coming in and again at 6am by someone knocking on the bedroom door! The room was on the ground floor next to main road. Breakfast wasn't included and should have been as the room was expensive for what it was.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    3.8
    No refund when sewage flowing everywhere because of their breakdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way too hot in the bedroom and smell of sewage due to toilet breakdown-disgusting

    Toilet broke and overflown over the floor in the bathroom then in the morning I complained and asked for some refund to which the woman said she will speak to the owners and sort something out yet nothing had been done so not happy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    7.1
    Could be really good with a bit more attention to detail.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rubbish in the car park, probably 2 skips full. The bed was a bit worn. Room could have been cleaner, i.e. questionnaire had coffee stains all over it, key fob was stained as well. Kettle was sticky.

    The staff were very nice. Room size Ok Bathroom Ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Pretty and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking but that's always difficult then again we easily parked somewhere.

    The staff were lovely, very good value for money, 10% all meals and drinks as we were staying there which was a lovely incentive everything was clean and sophisticated lovely location and pretty village, very pleased.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    6.3
    modern facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Flooded toilets in room with sewage. Resolved quickly but not acceptable. No concessions. Bedrooms could easily hear conversations next door

    modern facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    5.8
    Staff need to care more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Town clock ringing every hour. Having cycled all day we arrived early evening but were not told about times for dinner. At 2 mins to 9 we asked to eat but were told that the restaurant was closed. We then looked around town and every restaurant also closed at 9! The hotel didn't seem to care at all. Luckily someone remembered an Indian was open and we got to eat (Indian was excellent btw). Found the staff a bit aloof and unfriendly.

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A broader range of beers would be nice ;)

    The food at ty Morgan's was absolutely amazing! Staff are so friendly and will go above and beyond for people. We love it there it was our 4th stay and we'll sure be back soon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Bed was comfy, shower is superb, very clean and modern, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy traffic in the night. Very humid but we cant complain about the weather. No problem at all.

    Bed was comfy, shower is superb, very clean and modern, very nice restaurant. Walking distance to the village from your doorstep. Love it and would go back there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    8.8
    Great for a quick stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right on the main street so there was some traffic noise. But not too much.

    Really old building but pleasantly modernised. Didn't hear any other guest so it is well insulated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.3
    Super Bistro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedrooms needed soundproofing but hey that may have added to the charm

    Booked dinner there and it was fantastic the breakfast was also excellent. The staff were top draw, couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.3
    Not our cup of tea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Superior Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dusty in room Very noisy till 10pm and again at 6.45am. The lighting in the room was dull especially near the mirrors. Not worth the 60.00 we paid. Would not stay there again.

    The room was nice enough. Bed was reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: