Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3 stars

Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, CF44 9SX, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Hirwaun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was the smell of a coal fire or wood burning stove in the room which was a bit off-putting. Breakfast was good, but coffee is in sachets (like the ones in the rooms) which let it down and seems rather cheap for the rate charged.

    Friendly hotel but a bit tired.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked a more modernised bathroom-- perhaps just a shower and no bath. Would have liked a waste bin in room.

    Lovely location friendly and helpful staff, good value for money. Well cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sausages at breakfast were pretty tasteless, mainly bread filling I fear.

    Evening meal was excellent, with friendly cheerful service from waitress. Wine was good and reasonably priced. Room was comfortable with good lighting and responsive heating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very outdated. Tired tan coloured bathroom. Bed was uncomfortable. Not a good stay at all. To top it all, Karaoke at 1:30 in the morning below my bedroom is not ideal. Especially as I had to go down stairs to find a member of staff with two drunks signing. Only saving grace is that it stopped when I complained.

    Not much, dinner was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you visit Penderyn Distillery as we did don't drink and drive book this and walk there and back its about a 30 min walk but seems less on the way back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room shabby Flush broken on toilet Sink hanging from fixings Huge room small double bed old mattress so horrid roll together Plaster blown on wall Shame as rest of hotel good

    Food staff location excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cold should have been hot meal. Staff need more trading on watching tables ‘& clearing away

    Buffett was lovely and evening meal Staff friendly Breakfast was well presented but all food was cold not hot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors in the function room toilets were like an ice rink, so slippery. Our room (no7) was lovely large airy room, and loved the dark wood bedroom furniture and chairs,but i found the bed uncomfortable, and a few cracks in the walls made the room look a little tired, but this was not enough to spoil our time there

    Breakfast was excellent, lovely cup of tea too, restaurant and lounge area was modern, but in keeping with the property, i loved the little snug bar, lovely function room and conservatory area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is looking tired and run down. In the rooms were mismatched furniture and dated fixtures and furnishings. The car park and its entrance is full of pot holes and due to the weather being quite bad they were deep puddles of muddy water. This hotel could be fantastic with a little more eye to detail especially in the guest rooms.

    Lovely breakfast, clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the most amazing room, the staff were very friendly, great breakfast and they even had gluten free bread when I asked which was superb as I am wheat intolerant. Would 100% recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty glasses in the room the chairs in the room were all stained and there were cobwebs on the lights the carpet needed a good clean and the shower head was dirty

    Went for the winter wonderland ball which was lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well getting a taxi back to the hotel was nearly impossible and for some reason the hotel couldn't book one for us. It was a rainy night so hanging about Aberdare was miserable.

    We liked the bedroom, bathroom and evening meal. Service was quick. The breakfast was OK but would have preferred filter coffee instead of instant. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the end of a 14 hour working day, all you want is a sensible meal. Honest food. The steak was very expensive, but good , however, what came with it was basically inedible. So sadly I left in the morning, went to my first call which was very local to the hotel. He asked about where I had stayed, he replied that he wished he had known earlier, he would have told me to eat 'anywhere but there'.

    STAFF WERE EXCELLENT, MY ROOM COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN BUT A TAD TIRED.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find during darkness, up a long unlit track. No filter coffee available during breakfast service. Front desk staff more interested in chatting with other staff. Bathroom fitting very 80's and gold plate wearing thin now!

    Really good breakfast choice, The haddock although small was nicely presented.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in need of a make over. It was clean & tidy, but was very dated.

    Staff were friendly & helpful. Food was delicious. Liked the modern design in the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Hot buffet not refreshed often enough. Our food was lukewarm. Had to ask staff for several things that had run out and should have been noticed by attentive staff ie. spoons, plates, milk etc.etc.

    Reception staff very helpful. Our room was above wedding party and we were moved to a quiter location. Room etc excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left after 3 nights instead of staying for 6. On arrival we had to wait 30 minutes before we could use our room. We had been warned that the room would not be available before 3:00pm, so timed our arrival for then. There was no obvious help available to take our luggage up to our room. Breakfast on the first morning was chaotic and ended up being a buffet. I gather a member of staff failed to turn up. The bidet was unusable as the water flow from both taps was minimal. I immediately complained, but it was not fixed by the time we left. The shower mixer tap failed to work and the shower water was consequently too hot. The limited dinner menu was fixed price, but most items needed extra payment. We were told this menu would be the same for the rest of the winter. We had had enough after two meals and certainly would not have been happy to have it for a week. The room we were given was directly over the boiler house and therefore was unbearably hot all night; we were unable to open the windows as the flu pipe from the boiler below would have allowed smoke into our room. I had stayed in this hotel very happily over many years, but had not been there over the past four years.

    The staff were doing their best, but we did not see any sign of a manager.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Radio did not work there fore couldn't set alarm time. Shower was impossible to regulate so either freezing cold or scorching hot. Window frames filthy. Pillows two thin. No literature in room for times of meals or other information about hotel.

    Breakfast excellant choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was poor and in complete chaos! We waited for more than 1 hour between first and main course. The person I ask for the bill didn't organise and I had to ask someone else. Nobody was in control. Nothing was organised. The bed in the room leaned to one side and I kept rolling to the edge. The shower head was so clogged or damaged that there was water spraying in all directions. Too much else to write!

    The room size was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weekend breakfast could include more variety on offer. Food needed more attention to cooking, eg fried eggs not cooked thoroughly, saute potatoes cooked in old fat, and toast so thin like cardboard. Chairs could have done with a clean especially on the arm rests.

    Most things. Facilities and interior was very clean and presented well. Room spacious with good walk in shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downstairs was clean and had been updated, however upstairs was tired, outdated and dusty. The bathroom in our room was dirty round the toilet at floor level and the bath sealant was black mould. The bed looked as if it hadn't been pulled out for months to hoover behind, dust all round skirting boards. Both bedside lights did not work, but when we asked they were replaced immediately. Generally the room was ok but long overdue for a refurbishment.

    Staff were helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent and the waitress did a stirling job as she was all on her own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poorly managed & property tired & in need of refurbishment - Bathroom showing mould & shower leaks out onto floor. Carpets require replacement

    beds comfy & location good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room could do with decoration, wallpaper peeling away and ceiling and walls had water damage in room 5 not repaired. no box of tissues in bedroom. internet didn't work in bedroom area only in reception area.

    nice location and spacious bedroom and nice staff and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no drinking glasses in the room.The sink is outdated. Sometimes the dining room staff did not clear away the used plates as soon as they should have, most of them appeared to be inexperienced.

    The hotel has nice grounds and is in a lovely setting. The food was good ,the room was clean and the bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ensuite fan from an adjacent bedroom kept me awake. Evening meal at hotel restaurant very disappointing and the white wine was ghastly - like vinegar.

    Helpful staff, clean room and no noise from the two wedding parties.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard No fresh coffee at breakfast Poor choice at breakfast because they were busy. Unable to choose porridge or different eggs.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a little while as our room wasn't ready but staff were very apologetic. The restaurant attached was a little on the pricey side for what was served in the evening. We unfortunately ended up with 2 single beds which was a shame as we thought we had booked a room with a double bed but we made it work.

    The hotel was easy to find, it was set in lovely scenery and looked amazing from the outside. The reception staff were lovely and were able to assist in directing to local attractions. The room was spacious and well designed with a lovely view of the front garden area. The hotel is only a short walk or drive from Penderyn Distillery so would definitely stay here if that is your plan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay. The room was disgusting, sick or faeces in the toilet, no one had hoovered floor. Sick on the top bed cover. Broken lamp.

    Character and charm

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave this lovely place

    This place is first class great food location stunning lovely beds and very clean top class hotel for a great price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in room 24 would benefit from a deep clean and removal of some slight mould around bathtub, but I am being rather 'picky' about this. It wouldn't prevent me from asking for the same room again.

    Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful (thanks particularly to Leah!). Restaurant food was particularly good with sizeable portions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would struggle to find a falt during our stay in July 2017.

    Polite friendly staff. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay welcoming. The kitchen staff ensured that all our dietry requirment were met, especailly as one of our party was a vegan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked lovely however were eaten by bed bugs overnight, dirty and old. Spa bath was the most disgusting I have ever seen. Never been cleaned before, jets spat out black dirt, cleaned it five times and still dirty. Truly horrible and a real shame as it should have been wonderful. Food was also terrible for dinner, bland and pre frozen. Beautiful looking building but needs new owners and some serious love.

    Four poster bed and large room. Really nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a lingering smell from the wood burning boiler in the room which remained even when we followed the advice to keep the window closed. The room condition and general condition of the hotel interiors needs some TLC They seemed understaffed at times

    Friendliness of the staff. Pleasant greeting on arrival. Food and drinks good. Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs updating, grubby grouting and cleanliness round the back of the toilet needs improving. Very little assistance at breakfast although plenty of staff wondering about! Check out at 10am is too early.

    Lovely big room. Ample parking spaces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Very early checkout.

    Very large and comfortable room. Big bathroom with powerful over bath shower. Very good restaurant with an above average wine list. Friendly and competent servers. Superb value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. If I was being picky I suppose the carpet in the lounge was a bit stained and perhaps the room needed updating but it was all clean, comfortable and I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

    The hotel was clean, comfortable and the food was beautiful! The staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Considering the price, the hotel exceeded my expectations in all areas.

    Absolutely fantastic hotel for the price. Beautiful location, really superb restaurant, nice Welsh breakfast and large clean room. Very pleasant bar and free wifi, I could not ask for more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although my room was large and spacious, the windows had been painted shut. My visit coinciding with a heatwave, the lack of ventilation was unbearable, so much so that I was unable to sleep. Asking to be moved, I was offered a fan instead and had finally to leave the room and attempt to sleep in a chair in the hotel bar.

    The dtaff were very friendly and helpful, parking was excellent and the location and grounds very attractive. Prices were very reasonable and the quality and choice of food was more than good.Restaurant was comfortable and menu choices varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast using cheap ingredients bathroom with cobwebs and cleaning was poor the decorating needs update surround around the shower had the start oh black mould . No toiletries with half a toilet roll with no toilet cleaning brush

    The evening meal was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather tired, the toilet flush was partly dismantled but worked with a little fiddling. The shower room needed a deep clean. The mattress was rather bouncy. The grounds needed a gardener's touch and could be really nice. One of the tilt turn windows was inoperable.

    Excellent breakfast. Good public rooms, dining rooms restaurant etc. Nice big room and good grounds. Loads of nice hot water. Room was nice and quiet. We booked only a week before and took a disabled room as it was the only one left but that was not detrimental.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some rooms now need a little TLC

    a very nice country hotel with a good breakfast and evening meal. Location is pleasant with lovely views stayed many times now and not had any bad experiences at all. good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff were absolutely brilliant. They couldn't have been more friendly, approachable and helpful. The room was quiet and a nice temperature.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom perhaps needs some updating and the shower head was not secure and needed to be held in order to use it. My partner felt the hair dryer inadequate and she was pleased she took her own model. We did request a replacement light bulb for the bedside lamp but no action was taken. The cooked breakfast, although extensive, was not very warm despite the food being under heated lamps. These are points that can be easily rectified and did not detract from our enjoyment of the stay.

    Staff friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The restaurant was modern and tastefully decorated and the bedroom large and well appointed. A lovely location ideal and ideally situated for the purpose of the visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NIce hotel, But rediculasly noisy for most of the night!! Wouldnt stay again due to that unfortunatly.

    NIce hotel, But rediculasly noisy for most of the night!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Early checkout (10.00am) on Sunday. Only one bath towel and drinking glass for two people. Shower head attachment broken.

    Location. Quiet location. Relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had window open, in the morning had fresh smokers smoke wake me up as it drifted through window. Also, my feet were hanging off the end of the bed. I'm only 6ft 1inch, so not huge. I mentioned these things to the front desk and said although everything else was lovely about the property, these two points let it down, the receptionist just said thank you for letting us know. I am half expecting a discount on another stay should I return to the area on business again or a part refund.

    Breakfast was delicious with a decent choice. Cleanliness of room also a good point. Very generously sized bathroom, even in the single en suite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints !

    Really enjoyed our stay at Ty Newydd. Very relaxing and lovely big rooms. Had a meal in the restaurant ( Caradog's) and it was very nice. Love the location of this hotel on the edge of the Brecon Beacons. We visited the nearby Penderyn Distillery and did a " Masterclass". Excellent !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff member was not very friendly or welcoming. When a taxi was requested, there was no offer to call one for us. She handed a card over the desk with no smile and little eye contact. Also, the breakfast was very poor.

    The restaurant staff couldn't do enough for us. Very friendly and extremely accommodating. More than made up for the unpleasant welcome at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    had single room above the main staircase, the room had not enough space to its size but a huuge bathroom with bathtub and carpet on the floor (in the bathroom?), the bathroom was equal size as the rest of the room, also room wasn't cleaned when i arrive (wine glasses, not made bed, not cleaned bathtub), also needs to maintenance which was passed to staff as observation: digital TV receiver shutting off when watching TV, radiator constantly heating although fully off, only right window could be opened, left one was stuck, location just above the main entrance and people smoking outside means all the smell goes into the room.

    very nice country house, amazing location with lots of nearby fields and farms with sheeps, local restaurant offers really tasty menu-bit pricey though, staff was very polite and called me day before to inform me about wedding event on the day of my stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caradogs restaurant rather overpriced for pretty average food. Bland tasting risotto with some peas. At breakfast was given a sachet of Nescafé for coffee! Next night we ate in 'David's' Italian in Aberdare - fantastic food, lobster ravioli & delicious salad. Cheaper than Caradog's too

    Staff were lovely, very helpful & we had a huge room. Good value for money. Fab location for the hills.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather 'tired' looking;it could do with some tlc, especially the grounds. The rooms were ok. My room had been refurbished in the bathroom, however the room itself was rather old fashioned. My friend's room had an old fashioned bathroom.

    Helpful staff. Nice setting. Restaurant food was good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred Biscuits to chocolate in the rooms, also a later breakfast at weekends maybe to 10, 10.30 am. General maintenance/ cleanliness could be better, small details that if rectified would allow Ty Newydd to really shine x

    The Rooms were lovely and spacious, with everything you need for your stay. Breakfast was good with a good choice of foods, well priced Restaurant menu. Staff on reception were very welcoming and Helpful. Surrounding area is beautiful with livestock in adjoining fields and Penderyn Distillery and Brecon Beacons all a short drive away. Perfect if you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed in did not have a great TV signal and I could only watch a few channels, but this wasn't a problem for me.

    The staff are amazingly friendly and attentive, I always look forward to going back there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and really lovely. The rooms are roomy and comforty. The bathroom is well stocked with shampoo and body wash . The dinning area is excellent the dinner meal is brilliant and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have appreciated freshly brewed coffee at breakfast. We were not offered this and it had to be specially ordered from the bar - I think that in the 21st century fresh coffee should be offered and readily available. The hotel was full on our second night - I believe there was a wedding party staying. Breakfast was very busy the next morning and some things, such as the pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit, had run out before the end of the breakfast service.

    The hotel is in a beautiful location, on the edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park - a great area to explore, with much of historical and cultural interest. It is a peaceful place with lovely dark skies at night - great for star gazers! There are sheep and horses in surrounding fields. The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the shower excellent. The breakfast on our first morning was very good, with a wide variety of foods to suit all tastes. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard and no balcony to smoke, my husband had to go downstairs each time. Free breakfast is lovely but dinner at the restaurant that we paid for wasn't as good

    Spacious room and bathroom, beautiful garden and plenty of parking space. Hotel is close to the waterfalls. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blackened bath sealant and damaged ragged lampshade, at odds with the rest. Restaurant prices are high.

    Value for money with very good breakfast included;surroundings and view;staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No loo roll on arrival, hardly any plug sockets, old tired room, flat pillows, breakfast not great, restaurant menu so basic it didn't give much idea about what you'd get I.e. 'chicken.

    Location,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot despite turning the radiators down and opening the window. The toilet paper was of poor quality. There were no biscuits or bottled water in the room. At breakfast we had to make our own tea and toast. There were no Danish pastries on the first morning and no pastries or croissants on the second morning. These were promised on the menu and croissants were pictured on the front of the menu. We did ask but there were none available.

    The room was spacious and bed was comfortable. The hotel was in a lovely setting. The staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms and bathrooms were tired, but are due to be upgraded.

    Friendly staff. Nicely decorated lounge and restaurant. When fully overhauled, this hotel will be fab!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we paid extra for a suite the room was awful!! Cobwebs, blood on sheets, marks on the walls, mould in a horrific bathroom, cracks on the walls, damaged furniture, light bulbs that didn't work, stains on carpets.. I could go on. The whole room needs an upgrade especially the bathroom, the Jacuzzi bath let out stale, limescale water when I turned it on (as I was in it) and the sink kept over filling. The only plus point was the restaurant, but even that failed at dietary requirements and not all food was available from the breakfast menu (croissants, dried fruit etc) Staff couldn't be faulted and location was excellent.

    The only thing we liked was the restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we could have turned off the radiator in the bedroom, it was too warm. It would have been nice if the new owners had made an appearance on Christmas Day but the manager did an amazing job.

    The staff, they were excellent, the atmosphere of the hotel and location was delightful. Hotel was lovely and warm and the disabled room was excellent. Wonderful breakfast. We also had Christmas lunch, delicious. Real getaway break, fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in bedroom did not work,apparently wasn't working in any and hadn't been working for over a week!

    Majority of staff very friendly,helpful and joyful One evening receptionist unhelpful and miserable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the bedroom decor and bathroom is poor - stains on the ceiling and carpet; wall paper hanging off the ceiling; shower curtain not very pleasant; the rooms need redecorating.

    The hotel is set in lovely grounds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a bit uncomfortable the rooms were nice and big, it need some painting and carpeting

    very well situated and friendly staff The place has a nice atmosphere It need a little bit more toughing up

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first bedroom mattress was completely worn out. The second room at the back of the hotel was above the boiler so fairly noisy and we were requested not to open the windows due to the potential smoke ingress. The second room adjacent to the laundry room which was still running at 23.00 hours. Saturday and Monday breakfast was adequate . The two evening meals we had were poorly executed and menu choice was very dated. The information book in the room had different menus from those being served and looked better as the restaurant menus were pared down. Electrical equipment in both rooms out of PAT test.

    The location was good for our chosen trip. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The two rooms we had were very spacious They changed our first room after a very poor night with no problems. The bed in the second room Sundays breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main lighting in my room was not very bright. Bedside lamps were adequate but overall lighting was insufficient. I was only booked in for one night so didn't use any of the other facilities.

    The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and food kept hot. Also, plates were hot. I had a very spacious room for a single guest and it was very peaceful, despite a wedding that day. A very comfortable bed. An old-fashioned wardrobe was lovely. Bathroom was great too. Country views from the windows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, the bathroom needed work but according to the staff it was due to be updated (which is a shame as the place had real character)

    Everything was great, the food was excellent and our stay was more than enjoyable (the weather was kind also)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor gripe was bar staff disappearing just as loads of people turned up for a wedding reception.

    Nice spacious rooms, comfy bed. Breakfast very generous with good choices of fruit, cereals and hot breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Instant coffee at breakfast. It would cost little more to have some filter coffee in a jug available. Wifi was not great. Poor signal and very irratic

    The location The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff The dinner menu The size of the room The cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was good wifi in public areas but no connectivity at all in my room. Unfortunately I also had no phone signal so the lack of wifi was a bit of an issue.

    Pleasant large comfortable room. Very good onsite restaurant. Easy parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grounds around the hotel in desperate need of some TLC, which is a great shame as they could be really lovely. Main course for the (quite expensive) evening meal in the restaurant very disappointing - it was supposed to be Brill with Crayfish and sprouting broccoli, but the Brill was the size of two fish fingers and took me ages to find the so-called "crayfish" as it turned out they were 4 of the tiniest shrimps hidden in the crushed new potatoes. Never found the broccoli. Most disappointing of all was when I complained to the waitress all I got was "I'll pass your comments on to the chef". You can imagine what his reaction would be. Didn't bother with desert.

    Beautiful, secluded, old country house hotel set in its own grounds. Nice modern restaurant. Lovely spacious, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaner. Breakfast for us would ideally start a little earlier. Or at least be completely ready by 8am.

    Lots of options for breakfast. Nice large rooms with great view of garden. Would stay again for sure

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked as a double but was actually a single room with a large single bed pushed up against the wall (for two grown ups?) Furnishings and room very tired! Curtain hanging off, walls showing extensive damage to paintwork, headboard and chair very grubby, pillows worn and extremely thin. Bathroom was actually bigger than the bedroom space but carpeted! Breakfast a bit of a shambles with 15 minutes wait for order of 1 poached egg. I would not recommend this room for a couple.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have expected better service at breakfast. Self service tea & coffee is not acceptable at a country house hotel, especially as you could only get a small cup ( with no saucers provided) at a time. Pots of tea & coffee bought to the table should be standard. Self service cooked breakfast was fine, with a good range of items.

    Superb afternoon tea, with wonderful homemade scones your chef is an excellent baker! Loved the slightly "battered around the edges" country house vibe, very welcoming. Large bedroom with sofa & big ensuite. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: