Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tynycornel Hotel 3 stars

Talyllyn, Tal-y-llyn, LL36 9AJ, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Tal-y-llyn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    6.7
    Food is beautiful and well presented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the middle of nowhere so in the evening, if you wanted a drink it had to be the hotel. The view is beautiful if you get the right room. We had a view of the hotel roof!

    Food is beautiful and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.6
    A perfect place to stay for a holiday in this wonderful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't imagine anywhere more peaceful and relaxed, on the edge of Tal-y-llyn lake. No good if you need high speed WiFi or town life, but if you want calm and tranquillity it's perfect. Everyone was very relaxed and friendly and despite dreadful wet weather it was a wonderful weekend. We will be returning.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, stunning food, lovely staff, can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff who were very helpful and polite. The room was very comfy and had a beautiful view over the lake. The bed was very comfortable and the ensuite was tastefully decorated with huge fluffy towels!! Breakfast was stunning with plenty of choice, all freshly cooked. Definitely want to return!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, lovely food & friendly team
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Dad & I stayed here while attending the rally last weekend, lovely location & lovely people. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was really lovely. We were leaving early in the morning before breakfast but they were very accommodating and made us bacon sandwiches, tea and coffee to go. Would highly recommend 😄

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.0
    An idyllic stay made exceptional by friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very noisy.

    The local river trout was excellent and the chips were to die for. In addition, the staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the young lady who served us in the evening. This exceptional service did not end there. When I left a book in my room and sent an email, the hotel responded promptly that they will post it to my home address.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, clean, looked after, very good value & so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One downside only was one of the evening meals (a roast meal) we had seemed to be not as best quality as the other in that potatoes were hard as if re-cooked? As it was the ONLY downside, not a sufficiently important matter for which to draw attention.

    Room was awesome, clean, very very comfy. Breakfast amongst the best I've had anywhere, fresh and frankly quite filling, sad to say had to leave a little on the plate!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The food was very good, enjoyed the background music.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the WiFi didn’t reach our room at the far end of the hotel, which meant we were in a black spot for both signal and data. I’m sure this will be easily rectified in future.

    The food was very good, enjoyed the background music. All of the staff were attentive, polite and friendly. The twin room we stayed in was lovely with a nice view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    An excellent short stay for our motor bike touring
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff were very efficient and the food was well cooked and presented. It was good to be able to make free phone calls on the landline as there was no mobile signal due to the hotel location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful surroundings, and nice room but disappointing restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have a lake view... Also I would have loved having some more local food from the restaurant, and probably better food as well (everything lacked seasoning ad had way too much onions everywhere).

    The view of the lake is exquisite, waking up and seeing such beauty is rare. Included breakfast was very good, and the common areas are very homy and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay. Hotel very clean and decorated well. Lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was splendid.

    The room was compact but very clean and the bed was comfy. The location is fabulous, wish we had stayed longer and had dinner too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor quibble, but wi-if coverage rather poor except in main hotel area.

    Very comfortable little hotel in a stunning location. Friendly staff, clean, well equipped room. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    I highly recommend, we will definitely come back here, amazing place with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in my room

    A lovely quiet place with gorgeous scenery. Very friendly staff, happy to help, I felt really welcome. My room was cozy, warm and clean. Fantastic local food and drinks, cheese, seafood and beer Snowdonia, moreover the portions were huge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    What a gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly nothing well ok mattress a litle too soft perhaps. Really we coped!

    Selected the hotel on spec, not knowing anything about the hotel except write up blurb. On arrival was impressed with ambience and tranquility of location, property itself and backdrop. What more can once ask for but misty hills with whites dots, sheep grazing on the steep slopes as far as the eye and mist allowed. We took a la carte dinner. Superb cuisine. As for the wine list amazing choice on a universal scale. Room was confortable and well appointed. Bathroom very impressive. Breakfast was well prepared and fresh. Felt like it was cooked for each person. From this experience we want to return and just see if our senses were not in state of shock and bewilderment by staying longer to really savour the environment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A larger bed...newer bathroom would have been nice but not essential.

    The breakfast was exceptional, very good quality ingredients cooked perfectly. The waiting on staff were very friendly, delightful and nothing too much trouble. The room was cosy if a little dated, and a larger bed would have been better but that did not detract from our night's sleep. It is in a fabulous spot with the view of the lake which is visible from rooms and lounge area. We would certainly stay again (and plan to) and would not hesitate in recommending. A big thank you to Christo and Tanya for a lovely birthday experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful room in the main building, relaxing public rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing. Fresh natural joghurt, fruit and granola would be good. The scrambled egg wasn’t as good as I was expecting. The WiFi was poor but that is understandable given the location.

    Beautiful room in the main building, relaxing public rooms and a stunning setting on Tal y Llen

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    I dont want to tell anyone else about it cos it might be overbooked when we next want to go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is picture perfect. when the cloud went the stars were amazing. A beautiful tranquil place. Really nice staff. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    A lovely quiet place adjacent to a beautiful lake and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A lovely quiet place adjacent to a beautiful lake and gorgeous scenery. Very friendly staff. Lovely walks around the lake and a short drive to the nearby steam railway. With the added bonus of an electric charging point for my car :-).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small. Cobwebs on lights. Bathroom poorly lit and no shelf for toiletries. Nowhere in shower to put soap/shower gel so had to put on floor. Evening meal expesive and small portions. Cant rate breakfast as was ill so didnt have any

    The view was lovely and the majority of the staff were pleasant and helpfull. No atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    What's not to love?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a light sleeper I got woke up by someone in heels downstairs but its so peaceful any noise would wake you. My room was above the entrance/bar.

    Everything. I couldn't fault my stay. Food was amazing, nice nights sleep, rooms are very tasteful and stunning views from each room. Staff are welcoming and very helpful.I shall be back next year thank you for making our anniversary away such an ease.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Just what we needed for a few days holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loved the location, it was very restful and it was in a good area for local attractions. The food was also good and well presented. The lounge and eating areas were comfortable and had a friendly atmosphere .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous retreat from everyday life, in exceptional settings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi very intermittent but I’m sure that is beyond the control of the hotel and in the hands of BT.

    Perfect location, fabulous place with beautiful views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely looking hotel in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water pressure for the showers and taps was not good, if I wanted hot water from the tap in my room, I had to put up with just a trickle. WiFi is extremely slow (0.25 MBs). One vegetarian option on menu, which they had run out of when we had our meal on the first night - at 7pm. Small portions for cooked breakfasts. Not that this is the fault of the hotel, but to make you aware that there is hardly any mobile phone signal at the hotel either.

    Lovely looking hotel in beautiful surroundings. Good sized rooms with nearly all the facilities you could need. Good size flat screen TV. Nice dining areas and lounge areas with views of the lake. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Stunning location, great food, personal service - will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t reach into our room and so we couldn’t connect- a minor disadvantage for us.

    The hotel’s location was amazing and the view from the window across the lake was beautiful. We informed the reception that we were vegans and the chef came out to greet us personally and agree on a meal for that night which was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    If you want an hotel for relaxation and a view to die for,this is the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Location,location,location.The staff were excellent and the food delicious , there was also a good choice of beers.The owners were also very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road past front of hotel busier than expected leading to traffic noise in bedroom, but quiet at night.

    Comfortable room with lovely view of lake and fantastic scenery. Very comfortable bed, dinner and breakfast were very good, cosy comfortable lounge and bar area. All staff very friendly and helpful. Would return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was lovely and bed very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower difficult to work out how to work, beds could do with covering on base as they looked tatty. And a couple of the little milks in the room were mouldy when opened.

    The room was lovely and bed very comfortable. The setting is truly stunning, couldn't fault it. Breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in a good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft for us, and the second day the cleaner forgot to fill it up the tea tray.

    The room was so nice, very good portion of breakfast. Near the breakfast we could choose a good range of cereals, compot, croissant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    No WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi does not work at all. Don’t ask for a glass as you simple will be told to use the ones from the bathroom that are used for holding your toothbrush. Overall clean but poor WiFi and not mobile phone reception at all makes it very difficult to research things to do.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    What a welcome.. It was lovely to find a our room in the old Boat House had a view over the lake , along with a small personal touch for our 32nd Wedding Anniversary. Friendly, helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful Location at the foot of Cader Idris .. The Lake is absolutely beautiful. Having a nest of housemartins near our window was fascinating to watch. Clean and comfortable rooms, breakfast was wonderful, filled us up for the day! Our Evening meal was just as good also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Magnificent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are so many positives such as the comfy bed, the politeness of the hotel staff, nothing was too much trouble, cosy surroundings of the restaurant and ample space to sit down to relax for drinks. The views are beautiful and I am already looking forward to my next trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience in spectacular scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet reception is poor as the hotel is between mountains.

    The hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking a lake with high mountains on either side. The staff were friendly, accommodating, warm and welcoming which made our experience very memorable. Food in the restaurant was Five Stars. We all slept very well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we stayed longer and I wish there was a mini bar in the room.

    I loved everything about that place. From staff to location and the room with stunning lake views. Picnic area in front of the hotel, the little idyllic garden behind. What an absolute gem! We're already looking forward to going back for longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Exceed our expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff at dinner as they were not really willing to serve us when we arrived at 19h30 at the hotel after we had already stayed overnight the night before. It was only after we said we were hotel residents that they said ok and gave us a table.

    I really liked the location and all staff were super nice and friendly apart from maybe the girls serving dinner. Rooms were clean and had amazing views of the lake but bear in mind that you might find a few spiders here and there and that you only get proper phone and wifi signal around the reception area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower drain seemed to be a bit clogged up.

    Tal-y-llyn is a truly stunning location. There is a beautiful swimmable lake on the opposite side of the road. Not far from Cadair Idris, which has some fantastic hiking trails. Other than that the Staff were friendly, the food was good and the room was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    It was brilliant - definitely recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I suppose its common all over the country - but some variety to the breakfast would have been nice. I would have preferred to have toasted bread on my own. It could do with a nice, well stocked vending machine.We were in for the summer so a fridge would have made it perfect!

    The view from the boat house and the loft feeling of the room was brilliant. Christo was faaaab! forget the name of the other gentleman but he was great! I also think the location was better than other properties - the proximity was perfect to soak up the views to the different locales in Snowdonia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Please we booked and wish we had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom tired but clean and shower very good.

    This is a good hotel in a truly beautiful location. The staff were friendly and efficient, very nearly 10/10 just odd little things stop it which as we are now in a very different hotel with a much smaller room and smaller bed and thinner towels and an inferior breakfast you realise how so close to 10/10 even ignoring that incredible location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    One of the few places that we would definitely return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was tasy but poorly presented. We reported this to the owner(?) who said that a new chef was due to start within a couple of days.

    The room was spotless. Breakfast tasty with a good choice. The setting is beautiful. A lovely hotel overlooking a stunning lake. Very little traffic passes the hotel.We had a very peaceful night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The location and especially the view from our private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location and especially the view from our private terrace were first class. We were kindly given a free upgrade. Our room was comfortable, pleasant and well equipped. We liked the fact that there was a safe in the room for security. The breakfast was delicious, plentiful and varied. Service was excellent. We look forward to returning to Tŷ'n Y Cornel in the near future. Diolch yn fawr.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    This hotel is a little jewel, magnificent scenery and ideally located for sight-seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a couple of shelves in the shower to make it less necessary to bend, which I mentioned to the staff and they are addressing, beautiful quality bathroom nevertheless 😊

    The breakfast was brilliant, mostly Welsh produce too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pole for the blind so had to climb on the bed and figure out how to pull and hook on the blind for the skylight. This was the only blip. We informed the staff but they were very busy as was dinner time and said they'd find us another one but didn't. However we didn't mind as we had figured out how to pull it down.

    Bed was so comfy and the view was amazing. All the food was fantastic and the hotel itself was beautiful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Tynyconnel hotel has a fabulous location next to the lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all friendly and attentive. Our room - superior double - was nice and the bed was comfortable. We were able to eat our evening meal in the lounge with our small dog.

    Tynyconnel hotel has a fabulous location next to the lake with outstanding views of the steep-sided valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, great staff and the best views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no signal on the phone and the wifi works fine but only in the hotel reception and restaurant. We didn’t have internet in our room, but for us it was perfect because we wanted to disconnect from everything!

    The room was very big. We stayed in Kingfisher which has a patio facing the lake. The rooms was impecable and the sheets smelled divine. The view is amazing and there are many sheeps on the hills , a typical Walles scenery. The food at the restaurant was very delicious, homemade and the plating made us feel like royals ! Dessert was also homemade and incredible! Would definently recommend and will go back soon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay with very friendly welcoming staff, a wonderful room, we will return very soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Excellent room, superb view very comfy bed. Breakfast was excellent, great choices, amazing raspberry croissants, that I have never seen before and made at a local bakery. This hotel is also dog friendly with specific allocated bedrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Definietely want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no internet connection in the room at all:( But the view recompensated it!:)

    The view just incredible,food delicious and we didnt want to leave!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.6
    Disappointing as previous stay was much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. Had meal in evening very poor not cooked properly. One order they had run out of goats cheese but didn’t ask if we wanted anything else. Had to complain before another cheese offered. Breakfast also disappointing as kippers over cooked and hard.

    Lovely views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking motorbikes is a challenge as the car parks are on inclines on gravel, but not a huge issue, take a puk for the stand.

    Everything. Location, people, views, food and the list goes on - we will return..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely with beautiful views over the lake, staff were great & very helpful and the food was amazing! Looking forward to our visit back there next year for the wedding :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, peaceful stay in stunning North Wales.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can say is that mobile phone reception in the area is poor and the wifi in the hotel had a very weak signal (I didn't manage to connect to it at all during my 2 day stay). This is totally expected due to the stunning location in North Wales, the upside to this is that you get peace and quiet! LOL

    The little self-contained rooms were gorgeous and ideal for coming and going for work without disturbing other guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us and our dogs,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us and our dogs, set up a table for evening meal and breakfast that we could use whilst having the dogs with us and gave the dogs breakfast too! Will definately stay again. Evening meals were beautiful. Very clean with wonderful staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Our stay in this hotel was a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay in this hotel was a wonderful experience. The staff were all delightful and helpful, the hotel was exceptionally clean and comfortable, the location was just amazing but it was our room that just simply delighted us. It had a large porthole window that looked out over the lake. Waking up and looking through it made you feel that you were on a ship. You could hear the water lapping on the shore and the small boats gently rocking. Yes I know we were in North and Mid Wales during unusually fine weather but it would be equally enchanting in any weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    This hotel has spectacular views, we were very pleased by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor point, but the hotel brochure (which contained information on the history of the hotel, breakfast times, etc) was absolutely full of spelling and grammatical mistakes - somebody should have proof-read the text, it was embarrassing to read and looked amateur.

    This hotel has spectacular views, we were very pleased by the lakeside location and the size of the room we were in, we would definitely stay again. On the whole though, we really enjoyed our stay. The view from our room was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Really enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was the same menu for both evenings would have liked to see more variation and maybe a light meals menu. Wi-Fi was not very good

    Breakfast was excellent especially the croissants. Fridays evening meal was very good especially the steak Wife had Chicken that was good too. Room was brilliant and the scene from it was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Location tranquil and a great place to real
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room they had a bed with large high posts which restricted your view of the tv we mentioned this to managers and they were aware and were in the process of removing them. Other than that everything was great. Would go back there again.

    Good room, comfy bed, great dinner, muscles delicious and plenty of them. Although a dog friendly place we were happy to have a room that no dogs were allowed. The place was spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, pricey for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was so dated, floor was hideous and coming up. Did it do the room justice. Food was poor at evening meal, raw veg kale that was soaked in garlic and lamb over cooked. Partners meal wasn't edible.

    The views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great views and location to explore parts of Wales from. Good food in the dining room .Nice lounge to have a drink before meals. Comfy warm rooms and great bathrooms. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!!! A*****
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt anything to not like.

    The location is stunning. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. I cannot fault our stay at all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice get away to re-charge our batteries.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything as the location was excellent, the hotel and staff perfect.

    Nothing was too much trouble. Travelled with my family but had no children with us, just our little dog. One of our party has just been diagnosed with terminal cancer and is struggling to eat. The chef made food to accommodate his requirements which we appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    i went to just chill out and unwind, and i did just that, and yes i will defo go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the meals on a night were very nice but they need to change the menue more often, if you are there for a week then it would get abit hard to choose what to have. if you like sea food you have a good choice,

    breakfast was very good , the room was great with excellant views across the lake and mountains the staff were always on hand and smilling and very helpful. nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice location - nice people - excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice lakeside location and nice staff at a very reasonable price. We booked late so only their smallest double room was available - and it was very small! The lounge is very nice to come back too in the evening and the restaurant is excellent. We can recommend Tynycornel and will return another time - but will book earlier and get a larger room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing and beautiful location defiantly going to come back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very kindly put a special touch on mine and my partners room as it was our anniversary, the location was everything and more it was stunning! And everything about the hotel exceeded my expectations!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and everything at the hotel was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not given the room that was described on booking.com so we didn't have a bath as we were expecting however there were advantages with the room we did end up with so we were happy. Other people who may have needed a bath wouldn't have been so happy, I think there should be more communication between booking.com and the hotel itself to avoid disappointments for people.

    Excellent choice of breakfast. Extremely friendly and helpful staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Wonderfull Tynycornel Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving😉

    Made to feel very welcome including our dog. Lovely room in the annex of the hotel, with a great view of the lake and Cader mountain range which we climbed on my birthday. A truly wonderful place to stay. The staff were very friendly while keeping a professional approach to their work. I can't wait to return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Perfect end Easter weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed was a little dated and if you look closely things could be finished to a better standard

    It was set in a beautiful location and very well kept and presented The food was excellent Very warm and friendly welcome, feels like you're staying with friends. The scenery is breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable rooms with a lovely breakfast
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner on night one was excellent and served in the lounge/dining area. The ambience was lovely and the food was fresh. Dinner on night two was disappointing. I ordered the same thing, but found it over-cooked and very dry (seemed like it had been sitting around a while). My partner tried something different but also found it over-cooked and under-tasty. We were seated in the breakfast room. In order to compensate for the other customers' noise, music was played at quite a high volume. This coupled with the hard to chew food made for an evening far less enjoyable than our first. There is a £10 (per night) charge for dogs - while I am not against a nominal fee for dogs (ie for extra cleaning), it would be nice for Booking to state this when you book and had we have stayed more than 2 nights, the fee would have seemed unreasonable.

    Clean room and hotel. Very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Dog welcomed. Lovely views. Easy to find. Room had everything we needed and had a private patio (shame the weather meant we couldn't enjoy it!). All very relaxing and a stress free experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Our favourite hotel is slowly regaining the charm and warmth it used to have when we first visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meals a bit disappointing. Room a bit shabby but owners are building up after the neglect of previous owners.

    Breakfast excellent. Staff welcoming friendly and helpful. We can see great improvements since new owners have taken over.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Lovely place, will stay again and again 🙂
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is either too hot to use or too cold 😕 No in between. But that's the only thing I didn't like.

    Love the bed very comfy , the view is wonderful and the overall feel of the place is friendly and helpful 🙂

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    You won’t find better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place! Would visit again and again! Staff are wonderful, food is amazing and the location is spectacular! Thank you so much for a fantastic weekend - see you again!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water pressure in shower, difficult to adjust water temperature.

    Lovely ambience with guest lounge, fireplace and fresh flowers. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Scenic location. Dog-friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    peaceful, great food, comfy, nice interior, great bathroom...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offered early breakfast. When I requested, this was actually not available. WiFi was slow but that was expected due to the location.

    peaceful, great food, comfy, nice interior, great bathroom facilities,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel overlooking an amazing lakeside view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only small thing really, wifi only worked in the main building not where the rooms were in the courtyard.

    The rooms felt like a mini studio, larger than expected and overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very cold during our stay, the heating wasn’t up to the job in our room. With the radiator at full blast the room was still freezing. Shower wasn’t very powerful.

    Great location with fantastic views. Really friendly staff. Excellent dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location & lovely, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As phone reception at the location is sketchy at best, it would have helped for Wifi to have been boosted to the external bedrooms - but it isn't. I discussed this with a member of staff and the excuses were nonsense. To confirm, there is wifi (very slow) in the bar / restaurant but not on the external bedrooms. If you need to keep in touch with friends & family it's a big problem.

    Beautiful location & lovely, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Great view, price and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only negative was the showers are very very weak. probably easier to splash yourself with water from the taps.

    Friendly staff, good food and a comfortable and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    the hotel, the staff, the room, the location were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening meal.....if we stay there again we will find the local chippie

    the hotel, the staff, the room, the location were brilliant. breakfast was good but the evening meal was awful........this needs more attention!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting. Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undergoing refurbishment. Doors squeaky. Plumbing a bit iffy. Patio door wouldnt open. Fire alarms kept going off

    Location. Parking. Cleanliness of rioms. Food was great

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: