Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tyr Graig Castle 4 stars

Llanaber Road, Barmouth, LL42 1YN, United Kingdom

#11 of 23 hotels in Barmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Not for younger couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was veryyy small and did not accommodate my 6.3 foot husband The whole Hotal needed to be up dated, decor etc, and was cold at some times of the day The evening meal went cold quickly as in the conservatory.

    Location and view The staff were very friendly Local pub and restaurants very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with all

    Wonderful location away from hustle & bustle of town yet easy walking distance to both town & beach. Nice walk to beach through nature reserve close by. Small room with all that I needed and super sea view. Conservatory giving same wonderful view to watch sunset. Must be really superb in good weather! Friendly & welcoming staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Lovely break faultless thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location lovely building great friendly staff food in the restaurant was excellent topped off by a lovely breakfast would recommend most highly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    A good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The menu could be more varied, although the food was cooked and served nicely. Service of the bedroom OK, but the bed was not made properly each day.

    Friendly staff, lovely location with a view across the sea.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurb. Our bedroom was tiny and the bathroom only just useable because of its size.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Fantastic headland location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Lack of maintaining standards will stop this hotel gaining repeat business. Such a pity as hotel w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General appearance of neglect e.g. Car park needs resurfacing. Also decoration tired, dull paintwork. Windows listed up in conservatory Communal areas require deep clean e.g. Dining room carpet. Our room was clean to a minimum standard so there was dirty grouting in shower cubicle, black areas on ceiling etc, wallpaper seams parting in places. Very noticeable but easily remedied with better cleaning regime and desire to meet customer expectations

    Castle building interesting in itself, lots of original features retained. Lovely views of bay from restaurant and our balcony. Would love for this building to be refurbished to bring it from it's current faded appearance Food very good which probably keeps guests like us from leaving earlier.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Very good four day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor attention to maintenance wouldn't go amiss. Shower head was covered in black mould and similarly the bottom inside edge of the window blinds. Easily remedied.

    Wonderful view from room. Excellent breakfast. Food at dinner good but sometimes a little longer wait than we would have liked. Staff very friendly and location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    No chef in restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that there was no chef to cook dinner. I realise that this may have been a once off situation but I did not think that the management was helpful to the guests when no dinner was available to any of us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff,good sea views,good breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not fit for purpose Bed uncomfortable No veggie options Drinks too expensive No entertainment

    Friendly staff,good sea views,good breakfasts Nice clean Interesting hotel Beautiful sunsets Room had balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Had a fabulous stay and would recommend to anyone who is fully mobile
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers were placed very high and difficult to reach/use No ladies toilet on the ground floor Stairs are difficult for anyone with mobility issues even minor ones .

    The breakfast was excellent and freshly made to order. The sea views were fabulous The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a drinker of beer rather than wine, I would have preferred more choice than the one bitter available. I appreciate it is a small bar, but maybe bottled ales could meet that need.

    The hotel was lovely and the staff welcoming and friendly. The room we had was really nice and the four poster bed very comfortable. The hotel appears to cater mainly for clientele of middle age upwards, but as I now fit into that category, I found it pleasantly peaceful. We dined at the hotel and must say the food both in the evening and at breakfast was very good and well presented. Overall I would say the stay represented good value for money and I would definitely look to stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Cozy room with fantastic view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very enjoyable and tasty. If your room won't have a view of the sea, you'll get it during breakfast or dinner. My room (single, 2nd floor) was with a fantastic view of the sea, very comfy bed and spacious bathroom. Staff very friendly and attentive. Location wise it's about 10-15 stroll to the town centre and about 15-20 to the town's beach. I was driving, but I've noticed a bus stop right outside the property. Also there is a train station in the town. I really enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    OK for a nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was a bit dated decor wise, and the small TV could only pick up BBC1 and that intermitant.

    Lovely greeting front of house who was very knowledgeable. We had a turret room which overlooked the sea from 3 of the 4 windows, in the quirky circluler room.....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs modernising but this is such a minor complaint

    Loved the view from our seaview room with balcony, spacious and comfortable room, fantastic breakfast and interesting hotel manager.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A friendly place. Good value for money and generally enjoyable. i would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room. Good facilities. Very clean. Lovely sea view. Very nice breakfast with good selection and well cooked, good quality food. friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    We would definatly go again and recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were disappointed as we had planned to have our evening meal there especially as it was raining and didnt want to go back out again,but we were told they had no chef.

    Bed was comfy loved the view across the sea. The breakfast was lovely. Really liked the night there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    I loved my sea view from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved my sea view from room. Thanks to location I had opportunity to discover some places I didn't know about. I was looking for peaceful place and this is exactly what I get.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Interesting venue with superb views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed and we had no notification prior to arrival. Many places in the locality were therefore booked. Our visit was to celebrate 50 years together so we had wanted something special and were disappointed.

    Interesting venue with superb views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovey relaxing 2 days, super lounge area with bar to unwind and enjoy a night cap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was dissapointed that there wasn't a vegetarian option on the main menu or during my stay on the specials board. I don't feel.i should have to ask for something to be rustled up for me, the option should be readily available...therefore we are out for our evening meal....breakfast was not a problem, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

    Fantastic sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, but when you en suite an old Castle it takes up space.

    It was cool to stay in a Castle built in The 1800s. The staff were very attentive & helpful. It would be perfect for a romantic get away. To just lounge & relax. You have everything you need there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    You know you want to.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to stay in Barmouth

    Location fantastic away from hustle and bustle of town but close enough for a scenic walk to the beach / town and the view was spectacular Extremely friendly and welcoming staff and delicious food :-)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely book to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in our bedroom could have been a little less 'Formica-ish' - it didn't really fit in with the overall feel of the rest of the place.

    Amazing building, great location, great food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    The politeness of the hotel staff, the flexibility they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The politeness of the hotel staff, the flexibility they showed and nothing was too much trouble. The views are very picturesque not just from the bedroom but also the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice view and close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to eat at restaurant as chef was unavailable and breakfast was just average. Also even though it was a nice old building the bathroom was a bit poor and not well presented

    Nice view and close to town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Fairly good location just 15 mins walk into town, quite expense for the turret rooms which are small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ensuite too small and out dated needing updating and shower regrouting. No power in the shower. Could only just squeeze in toilet

    Good views from the turret rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Was good and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on suite could have been a little bit bigger to save bumping into anything.

    The views where amazing and every where was clean we had our privacy too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    A mock castle and the interior is in keeping with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mock castle and the interior is in keeping with the building. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent evening meal. Stunning views from the bedroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    A warm welcome at the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bathroom was not very spacious due to the nature of the building. It was however of little consequence to us and well compensated by the splendid view. The overall experience was excellent.

    Great location, staff all really lovely. Excellent breakfast and a very enjoyable evening dinner with lovely view out into the bay. Room had a balcony with fine views and very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and views across the bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning views from outdoors but the garden area is so sad and needs much attention e.g. very limited outdoor chairs and tables, covered in bird dirt and cobwebs, lack of shade umbrellas, plants need some TLC.

    Location and views across the bay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful views of cardigan bay, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All seemed very good so I don’t have any negatives to share

    Breakfast was lovely with quality sausages as opposed to cheap imitations that a lot of places seem to use

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Outstanding views, lovely owner (Trudy) and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in staff (male) seemed indifferent! Asked him to do something quite simple and he refused. Brought this up with the owner who was lovely, she will address it for us. Ensuite was little more than a toilet with a shower put in, too small really for the price of the room. On the up side, if i'd have had too much to drink and found myself needing both toilet and sink simultaneously, it wouldn't have been a stretch! Every cloud...!

    Food was great, owner a lovely lady, views exceptional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Lovely views and location, very warm welcome best breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room a little small

    Lovely views and location, very warm welcome best breakfast we have had in a long time, looking forward to returning in the future

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was very enjoyable and so much so , that we have visited since and will do so again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The behaviour of a member of staff was inappropriate .

    The setting was wonderful, especially the rooms with a view over the sea. The restaurant food was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and approachable and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy in the room you could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms. When someone was using the shower or toilets or the TV

    The staff were very friendly and approachable and the room was clean and tidy. The location was excellent and views were amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and very attentive at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On-suite was a bit small but good use of space available. Shower unit, although I do stress it worked perfectly, could possibly do with a refresh. It looked a bit dated and the workmanship on the original installation looked like it was not the best.

    Staff were very friendly and very attentive at breakfast. Entrance, reception and staircase were very impressive with all the wood panelling, very baronial. Turret room very different with curved walls and excellent sea view. Given the location, style of the hotel and facilities excellent value for money !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Good food, great views and friendly staff but small rooms generally tired decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room and the outside areas could do with some maintenance.

    The staff were very friendly and the young man Torin was exceptionally helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. He is a definite asset to this establishment. The food was very good and the views were great from our balcony. (So glad we had one in this extremely hot weather)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Was a good base as near to Barmouth, the views, especially at night were stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive is in a bad condition and the gardens are very neglected. Took ages to check in as the man on reception never stopped talking, we tried to avoid him from then on. The bar closed early every evening, the hotel seemed to be run for the staff rather than the guests.

    The views were amazing, especially sunsets.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conservatory was really hot when we went for a drink with no windows or doors open...so no one could just walk it. Table outside didn’t have an umbrella and that area was a bit dirty. At breakfast in conservatory we noticed the windows were dirty inside and out and with such a good view it was a shame.

    Wonderful views. Clean room. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant stay, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. All perfect

    Excellent venue, possibly outstanding. Great room in the turret. Very comfortable bed. Very clean. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly staff. Would stay there again and recommend it to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and friendly.The hotel was old fashioned but décor suited building . Views from bedroom were over the bay. The conservatory overlooked the sea , great view of sunset

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    A thoroughly enjoyable and comfortasble stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dinner menus could have suited our personal tastes better.

    excellent bedroom including a very comfy bed and perfect en suite facilities. Lovely breakfast/dining room over-looking the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.4
    Brilliant location and view from turret room let down by poor tv , ensuite and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ensure poor small with an old electric shower no power and poor temperature control Very limited breakfast buffet choice and 8.30 -9.30 breakfast slot is poor Tiny tv in room with intermittent reception

    Fantastic view from sea view torrent room Room itself was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Not as good as I was expecting , housekeeping could impove, friendly staff , good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needed refurbishment , towel rail ?in bathroom would have been handy , grip rail for standing in bath having a shower for safety . Hallway was very dusty

    Parking at front of property, staff friendly and helpful , good brekfast , good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    was an excellent premise to complete our days journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Reception of lady meeting us and booking us in, restaurant dinner and evening views were exceptional, friendly chatting with other guests after dinner was most enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Good, comfortable hotel with good food and excellent sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no vegetarian options for the main course however a mushroom stroganoff was prepared for my wife.

    The room was very clean with excellent sea views. The bed was very comfy. The food was very good although a little pricey.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok, probably wouldn't re-book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a refurb, seems nothing has been done in 18 years, needs modernising. Shower and shower curtains are a little out of date.

    Location, stayed there before, nice views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, great breakfast good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like all of it just needs updating a little bit.

    Good value for money, could do with a little updating. Great breakfast, comfy bed & good location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Stunning views, friendly helpful staff and a spotless, comfortable room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and the bed really comfortable. The sunset from my window was stunning and I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great place to feel pampered and to see amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The En Suite had to be small due to the layout of the building. We had no problem with that as it was clean, but it helps to know what to expect in advance.

    Wonderful views and sunsets. Classy historic building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Enjoy the view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only negative was a very small en-suite which is out of keeping with the standard of the rest of the hotel but I would guess the design and age of the building make changes cost prohibitive!

    A lovely two night stay in a circular turret room with fantastic views from three windows really made for a special break. Quirky, old fashioned feel to the place but still well maintained and spotlessly clean. Friendly staff, easy parking, 10 min walk into Barmouth and a good breakfast means it is worth the price. Recommend Bistro Bermo for a very good meal in Barmouth but you need to book.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A property of old charm and character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was very small.

    A place full of Charm and character.The breakfasts were excellent.We had a turret room with magnificent views of the sea.A LOVELY 3 day break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Magnificent views from the bedroom of the sea. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. The amazing history of the hotel added to the holiday experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Castle with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in direct line with the houses opposite and no net curtains made it a little bit intrusive

    The stunning views of the Bay... Comfy beds and nice breakfast areas

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Great views, good staff, small room, smaller bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small and difficult to negotiate. In the morning it took a long time for the hot water to get hot and there was nowhere to stand while you waited. The stairs were very steep. They offered to carry our bags up to our room but we opted to just take up a change of clothes for the night as there was not a lot of space in the room. My wife thought it did not look like a castle(part of the reason we chose it).

    The view was fantastic. The staff were nice. The stained glass windows in the stairwell were attractive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    A pleasant ‘Guest House’ rather than a hotel. Evening meals are freshly cooked to order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was for 1 hour only which could result in waiting sometime for a cooked breakfast as everybody arrives at the same time.

    The room had fabulous views although the bathroom had a little to be desired. Unfortunately there is no lift for those that need one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely unique stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in room 10 quite small, but there's nothing that could be done about this. Just be aware when booking.

    Staff were very friendly. Stunning views. Comfortable lounge and the conservatory was a lovely space to eat in. Very unique and beautiful building. Clean and tidy. 5 star food hygiene certificate on display. Drive very short into Barmouth.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    It was our first visit to Barmouth, we choose well and can't wait to go back to the same room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park could have been smarter.

    The turret room was worth the little extra for the 2 aspect sea view, and it was a short walk into town avoiding any parking search.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location overlooking Barmouth, only a ten minute walk away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a drink in our room, I asked if I could have some more ice, only to be told they were saving it for people drinking at the bar. I thought this was a lame excuse, as this was our most expensive stay on our trip and our previous hotels willingly gave it!

    An excellent breakfast, the waitress was excellent! Lovely view from our twin room up the coast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Served its purpose as a stop-over. Probably not a destination in its own right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't want the full blown evening meal and asked if we could just have some sandwiches. This wasn't possible. Isn't that what hotels do? Apparently there wasn't any bread in the place to make sandwiches, even the staff wouldn't have any. Mysteriously some bread appeared for the toast at breakfast!

    It's an amazing building with a lot of history behind it. The staff at breakfast were lovely but the evening Reception was a bit off-putting, sorry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Different experiences downstairs and upstairs! The building is interesting and the downstairs impressive. The views excellent. But our room was cramped and especially the "en suite". I would have fewer, classier rooms upstairs ( and then charge more.)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't have a shower as there was no hot water. We waited and waited as we were told the hotel guests must have emptied both tanks. We then had to leave as it was check out time. I have a skin condition where I must wash and cream. I was very uncomfortable and sore all day because I couldn't. The experience wasn't worth the £100 I paid for my partner's birthday. Staff said nothing when we checked out and I was left feeling like I was just a complainer. This was a really important thing to me.

    A very warm and friendly welcome. It was my partner's birthday and we had been given 2 small complimentary bottles of wine on arrival in our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite was a little bit small

    We were greeted by a very friendly and polite lady. She showed us around and offered to take our bags to the room. Staff are also polite and professional. Nice clean hotel and lovely food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Breathtaking views, lovely room and delicious good in great location Perfect for exploring mid Wales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom small but not much could be done I’m a turret room!

    Very comfortable bed Fantastic views from turret room Lovely evening meal and breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Comfortable lounge Great location Giid car parking facilities Great for a short break Woujd definitely go back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a relaxing break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, with such character. Loved the wooden features! Quiet, relaxed atmosphere and excellent location for visiting the many attractions in the area. Staff very friendly and professional. Excellent breakfast and evening meals, served in the restaurant with a beautiful view over the bay. We stayed in the turret room, comfortable bed and beautiful view of the bay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Cosy, warm, comfortable, friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor issue was with the shower in the bathroom which was leaking when used, a little annoying but not enough to spoil our stay.

    It was a warm and cosy experience, we felt very comfortable during our stay. The waiters were very professional and we're just right with their service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Clean,cosey,warm,interesting building and town,breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was very small.

    Clean,cosey,warm,interesting building and town,breakfast was outstanding,evening meal was good.staff were very good. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    The website stated smaller rooms but the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website stated smaller rooms but the bathroom was extremely small, you could use the toilet and sink at the same time and there was just enough room to get in and shut the door

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location overlooking the beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking v limited. Managed to get last spot on 2/3 nights we stayed

    Amazing location overlooking the beaches. Fantastic v friendly staff & a great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, it doesnt matter about the weather either as the views are great.
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views, the turret room, the location. Parking was good. Overall a great place to stay. It was especially nice as it was our 1st wedding anniversary, therefore wanted to surprise my wife with something special. The Castle lived up to our expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.3
    Could be great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was tired-looking, as was the restaurant. Staff were competent but not the friendliest. The hotel is under new ownership, and the new owner went out of her way to make us feel welcome

    The unique building, the location, and - most of all - the sound of the sea on a wild night. The public areas, particularly reception and the resident's lounge, are very impressive

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    staff friendly but on the whole disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we found the hotel very cold , heating turned off mid morning till 5 pm and the fire in the lounge not lit till 4pm and once it got going nicely would be turned down low , and this also had to heat the conservatory where we ate , they had to have a little heater in the corner but was no good at all

    nothing extra

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    We won’t be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Turret Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner larger shower and bathroom. Better time for breakfast. Instead of 9.30 cut off! Warmer! Friendlier on arrival!

    Cold room! Breakfast not flexible regarding time served! Bathroom was tiny! As was shower cubicle! View was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    A most enjoyable two night stay and interesting history of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard room was rather small, but that's probably due to the nature of the building.

    The interior decor and lighting. Food was plentiful and excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Very polite, efficient and attentive staff in bar /...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant menu for the limited and basic meal choices. Rang the bell in reception on arrival 3 times before having to go through to the bar after 15 minutes to gain the manager/ owner's attention! Limited tea and coffee supply in the room - and one small packet containing 2 biscuits for a double room!

    Very polite, efficient and attentive staff in bar / restaurant. Lovely impressive entrance hall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Great location well worth a look
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    En suite shower room was small but did the job and considering we only stayed one night it wasn't a problem.

    I booked the hotel because it was unusual and looked out onto Cardigan bay. Our room had a balcony and sea view,although it was really windy the double glazed Windows kept the weather out and the room was warm and comfortable . Meals were great and staff were polite and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: