Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ullswater Hotel 2 stars

West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth, BH2 5HW, United Kingdom

#45 of 79 hotels in Bournemouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady from the reception was extremely nice and friendly. The day after I checked out the hotel I realised I forgot something in the room and the lady was very efficient in helping me get my things back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    vents noise all night, old dated, small tv on desk, not very clean, dust finded, property is on clif so hard walk back not good for older people

    Room bed ok , big shower, short distance do beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought I had booked into a 3 star place, only showed 2 stars outside. Perhaps someone had deleted a star!! Bags of laundry outside our room from 2-30, when we got there until the next day! Receptionist said breakfast was £7-50, the brochure said £6-50! So many people complaining about lack of parking.

    The location was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was uphill from the pier, which I guess may be an issue for people who were unsteady on their feet. Parking is a bit of a nightmare although I took the train and they do seem to have a good system for moving cars if anyone is blocked in.

    The people were amazing and couldn't do enough for us, The breakfast is out of this world.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite disappointing Pre warned them we were vegetarian and the only thing offered was a vegetarian sausage - hash browns were not available and no potato alternative offered Quite dated with a very old fashioned lift

    Good location Quiet location Friendly staff Good sized room for a family of 4 Each child had a single bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking had to pay £10 a night at Council car park . Beds weren’t comfy and toilet very narrow just got in!!

    Location near beach was great but parking is pain Staff were very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was served out of date drinks from the bar I attended May 2018 but the bottled cold drinks dates expired February 2018 Room was very tiny with dirty furniture, the shower was very slow running water Cheap but basic for the money

    Near the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we found our toilet was leaking in a room and spread across the bathroom floor. We put toilet roll down and mopped it up and when we left for the day told the girl at reception. We came back that evening to find it had leaked again. We told the man who was on reception and although he was friendly enough but we was only offered Towels for the leaking toilet.

    Hotel was in a good location and the staff were pleasant. Hotel and the rooms were a little dated but good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bathroom wasn't fully cleaned but was sorted within 10 minutes of calling down to Reception. Would be lovely to give everywhere a fresh coat of paint and replace the odd bits of peeling wallpaper. Also worth having a look at the bathrooms. My bathroom in No 14 (the single) was bigger than the one in No 19 (the double) and the toilet in No 19 would be inaccessible to anyone of a more generous size, I only just managed and I'm the lower end of plus size!

    The breakfast was excellent, well worth getting it included. The gentleman on the front desk was charming and very helpful. Lots of character, sliding doors lift, Art Deco styled doors. Not modern by any stretch of the imagination but clean and comfortable, think chintz rather than Conran! We all slept very well despite being concerned about the proximity to a busy roundabout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking around the hotel so ended up parking 10 mins away Didn’t stay in the original given room as a nearby room had a group of youngsters partying so requested to move Bathroom in new given room was small

    Rooms were clean Had tea making facilities Close to Bournemouth town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in first room very small toilet enclosed so anybody on the larger size wouldn’t have been able to use an shower small Bathroom in second room toilet ok shower on small side but doors didn’t close properly

    Staff friendly an welcoming even changed our room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very dated and not very clean. Lots of dust on bed headboards and lamps, bathroom walls very grubby around the edges. Room was extremely hot, even with the window wide open! Very dark in the room. Overall for the price and the fact they allowed pets (we had 3 kittens with us) we were happy with our stay. Parking was extremely limited but the fact the staff aloe you to block in other vehicles and move the car when necessary was great. We left early morning and no one was at the desk as had to let ourselves into the office for car keys, not very secure ad anyone else could have done the same.

    Convenient location for Poole Harbour . Staff were very helpful and friendly, answered all questions well. Happily moved car several times as parking very is limited.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    Clean and staff friendly. Nice quite hotel. Its in a great location. Missed breakfast though as its only served between 8.30 and 9.30. Would return again. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    The room was large and airy with a bay window from which you could look sideways towards the sea - although it was too cloudy and rainy that day to see clearly. Really liked the comfy bed and slept well. The free Wi fi was great, working in the room on all devices. Friendly manager. Nice breakfast and free parking. All for an excellent price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small. Glad I wasn’t too fat to sit on the loo. It was very dated too and in need of a bit of tlc but was clean. The window rattled with the wind but a piece of cardboard stuffed in the gap did the trick.

    The bed was really comfortable. Nice sized room. Breakfast was lovely. Not far from the sea and had the weather been nice I’m sure we’d have had a sea view. Only a 10 min walk to town. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -this shouldn’t overshadow the hotel because we loved it for the money we paid but people should be aware, the water in the bathroom from the taps you can’t drink so buy a couple of bottles! -the shower was just lukewarm even when it was turned up, but warm enough for a quick shower -there was a used shampoo in the shower and hairs not cleaned up in the bathroom, I know it’s not a 5* hotel but there’s no reason the cleaning should be lazy!

    -The breakfast with unlimited cereals and juices with a fry up included in the price was DELICIOUS. My boyfriend had another fry up later in the day and it didn’t compare at all :) -very comfy bed -very close to the beach and walking distance to the town -nice bar area to relax -they’ll hold your bags before or after checking in or out -veryyyy friendly staff!! Welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room did not work, no water at all, I went to report to reception at 6am but reception was not manned. Had to strip wash in sink. Paper thin walls could here next room coughing all night Hotel is shabby and past it's best although for the money acceptable if shower had worked

    Well located Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING , but would imagine in the summer months parking would be at a premium as limited spaces.

    We loved the value for money of this hotel , the staff were very helpful and friendly. It had old traditional English charm and the breakfast was fab. Good value as out of season , comfy beds , nice hot shower , highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask for towels as there were none in the room when we arrived

    Room was very warm, comfortable, clean and spacious. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Quick service at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom could of smelt better [room 3} we had to bleach bomb the toilet to clear the nasty niff in the air, could of been cleaner on and around the loo

    Welcoming staff,hotel nice and cosy when cold outside.good location for town and beach,Breakfast good but could be better is you like serial GREAT if not its just a Full English I LIKE YOGGIS

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - it was all excellent

    Lovely big room, super comfortable beds; extremely kind staff; close to the beach and centre of town but on a lovely quiet road and free parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing for the money

    Staff very friendly and helpful (Marcos i think) at reception £25 a night and a big room. does not get much better with value for money. Definately will be staying here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water in shower could have been higher, but "some do like it hot". Very hot !

    Staff were great throughout the hotel and service was exceptional when considered with the vfm also offered.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was overdone/dry. Dust on stair carpets and in bedroom. Fabric on chairs in bar worn through. My daughter's shower in her room was just a trickle and the water was cold when she showered again the following morning.

    Location and comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very convenient to the location I needed to be at but the beds was very poor and the bed linens was very poor the shower was tiny but the staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a bit more comfortable. There was no mattress cover which would have helped enormously.

    The pillows were very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and even though there was a coach party staying at the hotel the staff were very efficient at serving everyone. Lovely hot coffee. Great location , only a 2 minute walk to the top of the cliffs and then down to the sea front. All in all good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel old and needs a refresh, but the price reflected this and overall it was excellent value for money.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was amazingly good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being picky but a few more milks etc in the rooms. Room a little dated - could do with a little TLC but adequate for my stay.thank you all

    I booked this hotel so that I could visit my husband in hospital and wanted to be near. Upon arrival I was met with a pleasant young lady. My room on the first floor a single but to my surprise had a bigger bed - bonus . Room comfortable and all the facilities I needed for a rest. Bathroom practical and to my delight had a bath to relax in ! Breakfast was served promptly and was more than I expected for the price I had paid . Is it 5* catering - no it's not but it's equally adequate, hot , good service, busy. But enjoyable. I was pleasantly surprised and delighted to stay here and would definitely stay again if popping to Bournemouth for the night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was poor. Water was only luke warm at all times and shower pressure was poor. Water pressure was also poor, as it would have taken hours to get enough water for a bath.

    Staff very friendly. Large room, comfortable bed. Good breakfast,good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    On a cold, wet Saturday we arrived at a warm, friendly, comfy hotel. Although just for one night we had a super room, huge and immaculate. Friendly staff, ideal location for walking, beach, shopping, restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 3rd floor but lift not always working which was a real hassle when lugging baggage up and down stairs. Poor shower - very small and water only came out at a trickle.

    Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wished it had been a bit closer to the central city and the dining option around were a bit limited. Should be a dealbreaker though.

    A nice old funky building with a bit of character. A good sized comfortable room, nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Radiators in room were very hot and were on continously which made room hot. Hotel a bit in need of some tlc in places but overall ok - definately a hotel for the senior citizens.

    I was staying in a single room which had a comfortable bed although the top cover had a few stains. Enjoyed breakfast and dinner - adequate choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location for our purposes was excellent. The hotel has a long history and it looks like a Victorian lady who has passed her prime but remains handsome. Was given excellent recommendation for a pub by a local and enjoyed the old fashioned lift/elevator trundling up and down floors. Their breakfast offerings were simply outstanding. Omg! A veritable feast of goodies, beautifully served and in abundance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bed sheets need changing as there's marks/stains on them, but thankfully nothing grim.

    The staff were friendly. The room was great value for money. Only 300 yards to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very very old. Furniture from the room and bathroom was quite old and not full clean.

    The staff was very friendly both reception and breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it met all our expectations

    The hotel is very close to the BIC so was an ideal location for us when we attended a concert. Also only a short walk to the shops but we warned the hill is steep coming back to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upstairs noisy guest! It happens in hotels.

    OLD FASHION HOTEL, WITH CHARACTER. COMFY ROOM, EXCELLENT BREAKFAST. VERY PLEASANT STAFF. WILL BE BACK, THANK YOU.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a great value hotel in a good location, very close to the sea nad only a short walk from the walk. The staff are very friendly, the room was clean and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The staff were excellent friendly service always willing to assist loved the old style lift needs to be kept Only criticism is bigger shower towels and a second t.v in lounge area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe in the room to store valuables (phones, jewellery, money, etc) While we were downstairs having breakfast, the maid let herself in and made up the bed. Our valuables were on the night stands and weren't expecting anyone to enter the room before we checked-out.

    Excellent breakfast!! Our waiter was super-polite and respectful. Warm reception upon check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lateness of the breakfast on Sunday morning. We asked if it could come forward to 0815 but it did not happen.

    Location for the golf courses we visited and the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking, but that's to be expected of Bournemouth

    Pet friendly, which was my main priority. Very good breakfast and plenty of choice to choose from. Staff helpful, polite, clean hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug in the sink.

    Lovely bright large room with modern on-suite. Breakfast had a good variety and ok. Kindly let us park at the hotel after we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything.

    Absolutely nothing. Shower did not work. Bathroom smelt like a public toilet, room was musty and stank, toilet was broken and bed was a slab of concrete.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only from 8:30, bad for an early start. Bad parking situation, only a very limited number of places in front of Hotel, could not park on the road (a lot of Hotels and only a few spaces) so I had to park abut 2 mins away for 10 £ a day (but have been forewarned by hotel)

    Close to the beach 2 min walk. Hotel grouped together with many Hotels in the same road, but quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived Friday after 8pm - dining closed at 8pm. had pre warned hotel and was not told about dining closing at 8pm. Saturday no dining due to low number of occupants. Thus no evening meals during our 2 night stay. The pre booked room was for a double, our room was twin so had to complain and subsiquently moved rooms. Shower room was to small to access easily and waster tempreture varied significantly. Minimal staff - reception and bar lady was the same person so many periods of bar being unattened in the evening.

    staff were bubble and lively and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read comments prior to going and mixed reviews. Yes the hotel was a bit dated but was spothers clean good breakfast and exallent stuff. No problems with shower etc all good very obliging with car park in as well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not have a problem but parking around the hotel can be tricky.

    We enjoyed the location on Bournemouth's West Cliff, it was easy to get down to the beach, and also, to the town centre, pier & central garden area. West Cliff has a large garden area with great sea views, and there is a dog friendly beach at nearby Durley Chime with beachside restaurants. Our stay at The Ullswater was comfortable with a large room and lift, the staff were very nice and we found our stay to be very good value for money. Good breakfasts were served in a lovely dining room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor layout of room - tv position ill-considered. breakfast slightly disorganised.waitress didn't use notepad & had to return to guests to be reminded. unfortunately on both mornings the dining area opened a few minutes late & part of the cooked breakfast was served lukewarm, slightly greasy on a very hot plate. limited choice, cereal &fruit juice and toast. wi fi wouldn't connect. apparently more reliable in lounge.

    clean hotel, hardworking friendly staff.good checkout time. reasonable location for beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stank of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was the worst. The shower was a trickle and there was black mould in the corner of the shower.

    Didn't have breakfast. After seeing the facilities I didn't want to eat in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely kind staff, good location within walking distance of the beach an the city centre with restaurants an cinema. Also safe, I walked on my own around midnight an I felt safe. The room was large enough an the bathroom was really nice. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of an issue. Could have done with biscuits with the tea and coffee facilities. Bigger bath towels would have been better. The bathroom floor was very dusty as was behind the bed.

    Polite staff. Easy to find . Comfy bed. Big windows and the room was light and airy. In house bar with reasonable prices. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and hot. Easy access to the town and beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking. We parked outside of the hotel and we had no need to use the car. Had we have needed to use the car it would have been unlikely for us to find parking at the front again.

    the hotel was warm and welcoming. Room was pleasant, fresh and relaxing. Staff always had a smile on their faces and were very obliging.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was dirty - used tissues and rubbish left in drawers from previous guests, hair on the bed throw and stains on the bedside table. Toxic sleeping conditions due to pungent cigarette smoke filling our bathroom through the extraction fan (likely due to other guests smoking in their room and poor ventilation system) - this spread into our sleeping quarters leaving us with sore throats. Wifi did not work in our room. Parking was a nightmare. No shelf in the bathroom to store toiletries. Shower so small you could only stand in 1 position. Room smaller than advertised.

    The staff were fantastic, super friendly and helpful - a real asset to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was not very comfortable, but alright. Loved the shower room, although, it could have been more spacious. Toilet being so close to the shower!!

    I noticed that there was no first aid in the reception area. In the room, it would have been good for them to have provided more milk and sugar. the bed was quite sqeeky and not very comfortable, but the room was nice and cosy. the shopwer room was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was old and uncomfortable. We tried our best to pad it out with blankets but the springs still poked through.

    Lovely cooked breakfast, helpful staff, minutes from the beautiful sandy beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was non existent in my room on 3rd floor however only a small grumble however for those reliant on Wi-Fi ensure you book a lower floor room

    Great location literally right on the beach. 10-15 minute walk to the town centre but pubs resteraunts and shops nearby. Very quiet hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was the size of a cupboard, anybody over the size of large would not be able to use the toilet due to the space it was in. There was Mould in the shower and the water was not very powerful

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was tired and hotel needed a bit of updating. The windows are of the old sash type which can be pushed right up, may be an issue with young children

    The staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. Nice area, walking distance to town centre, gardens, pier and beaches.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Manager was very rude...............!

    Hotel very disappointing no where to park, spent the evening trying to find somewhere. Hotel not helpful, plus management could be heard telling someone over the telephone it says on booking.com no parking stupid man, what is the matter with these people. Room had spiders and cobwebs hanging from ceiling. Thinking of contacting Alex Polizzi to carry out a makeover. Breakfast was also not edible. The people who run the hotel are elderly and obviously not up with the times I think. Would not stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, possibly due to my Mac computer, I could not get wi-fi in my room. The poached eggs I ordered were mostly too hard or like jelly. However the staff the staff accepted me asking for replacements and third time lucky.

    The staff were polite and very helpful. They were calm & welcoming. The building is historic and obviously converted but I enjoyed the large rooms with high ceilings, and the old lift. Also appreciated such large windows. I had a rear sunny room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was a very narrow window of one hour of a weekday and had to miss it

    Large room with plenty of wardrobe space and draws. nice armchairs and table and comfortable bed. good sized bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress was uncomfortable.it aggravated my back condition. Wifi didnt work in my room, receptionist said they were waiting on an engineer to fix it . Poor vegetarian breakfast options.No soya milk available. Not enough parking.

    Location.Good value for money. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cost £100.00 for one night incl. £10.00 for our dog plus breakfast... Management explained that Friday and Saturday bookings are always more expensive! We stayed an extra night (Sunday) and that cost £65.00 (without breakfast, which normally costs £7.50 pp)... Our little dog loved the (thick cut) bacon we didn't eat on Sunday morning :0) Although the Saturday night expense seemed high... We did book in mid August, which is the busiest time of the year and accommodation is at a premium so, need to consider this next time we book time away at short notice ;0) We wont be re-vistiting WestBeach Restaurant (need to book in advance) as the service was slow due to staff being tired from working long shifts. The (tasteless) lobster with (packet-frozen) French fries meal and 1/2 measured glasses of red wine (a bottle would've been cheaper) weren't worth the expense... Definitely not the 'highly recommended' experience we were expecting :0(

    The staff were friendly and accommodating... Had to request to change rooms as 'noisy neighbours' was an issue. However, the staff very quickly dealt with the situation and we were offered what turned-out to be a much better room ;0) We decided to stay an extra night and staff had to re-arrange the next booking to accommodate our needs. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we were delighted to be able to find somewhere to stay that allowed us to have our little dog with us... Definitely a bonus! We highly recommend this hotel with it's location within easy walking distance to the beach and the town centre for shopping and eating places... Cotes Brasserie is a must!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - In single room face basin outside bathroom area.

    - Good size lounge area - Friendly and helpful staff - Very good location for beach and town centre - Flexible breakfast options

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aww some biscuits on the tea tray just to be picky

    Really friendly staff. Clean comfortable room. Good location just overall value for money in a popular beachside town .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeted at reception Provided with NO information whatsoever. Only because we were on top advised to use lift and make sure we shut the door on leaving lift.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was in need of a little attention, but nothing that impacted on us enjoying ourselves. Parking is a bit of a nightmare.

    Hotel very clean and tidy. We had room 5 which was very spacious. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the rooms were very clean they could do with a bit of updating. Not the lift though I though that was great as it is part of the character of the hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent as was the service from the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer more choice at breakfast, not just cooked or cereal.Buffet would be preferable. Couldn't help yaself to tea or coffee

    Large rooms and not noisy. Cloae to town centre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable room was cramped bathroom was dark dingy and disgusting for a hotel. Rooms are in desperate need of a revamp!

    Staff were friendly and the location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to park as expected (use the car park over the road if no spaces) but would be expensive if there for several days.

    Location is within easy walk of the centre and the seafront walk down to the pier. Staff were very friendly throughout and better than many places of higher status.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi did not work in bedroom, had to go downstairs to use internet,(three floors). Old fashioned lift . had to climb three flights of stairs because some inconsiderate people left the inside gate open.

    staff friendly & helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small problem of aging of the wooden door in the WC and furniture. It is not a luxury hotel, it didn't bother me, but they will need to invest to get a third star. Also, the shampoo needed to be topped up by staff after the first night. Minor issue...

    The full English breakfast was superb. Plus, the onsite bar was a nice bonus. I could enjoy a pint without braving the wilds of central Bournemouth.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: