Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Urban Hotel Grantham 4 stars

Swingbridge Road, Grantham, NG31 7XT, United Kingdom

#15 of 16 hotels in Grantham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1538 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Good potential but organisation of staff and service was dismal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service was appalling. We had invited guests to join us for dinner but waited about an hour for service when some of the food arrived but most of the party just got up and left without eating.

    Breakfasts were very good. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    5.0
    Good location for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested early check in which we were told wouldn’t be a problem however upon arrival they said they had no record of it. Make sure to get it in writing if you need early check in. My partner is allergic to feathers so we asked the bedding to be changed only to find they had changed it for more feather bedding, so he had to sleep with no pillow.

    Good location for what we needed. Staff were helpful in arranging taxis for us. It’s quite basic but if you just want somewhere to sleep then it’s clean and suits this purpose

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed. Not value for money. Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Changing rooms floor was wet and filthy. Had a poor night's sleep due to the mattress having a big dip in the middle. We had to perch on the side of the mattress. Terrible nights sleep.

    The pool, albeit small, was warm and the sauna and steam room were good. The breakfast options were good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, tidy and well kept hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nit picking - the kettle in the room was pretty rubbish. Took ages to boil and then the plastic handle was too hot to pick up. Like I say, nit picking!

    Very clean, tidy and well kept hotel. The food off the bar menu was extremely good and seemed freshly made. The breakfast selection was well worth the money too. The rooms were really comfortable and again very clean with a nice selection of complementary smellies. Access to the pool etc was a nice little bonus and we will def be making use of the spa on our next visit. The staff were all warm, friendly and welcoming. I will def be booking here again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant in the evening was a total disaster to the extent that, after waiting an hour and a half without any food arriving, we gave up as did many other guests. All we got from the management was excuses, not solutions. Apart from one young lady in the bar the rest of the staff clearly did not want to be there and had no idea how to operate a restaurant. I travel extensively worldwide and this was probably the worst experience that I have ever had. The hotel's four star rating was at best misleading. The chambermaid service was not good and the room facilities did not befit the four star rating; hot water not available on our last morning, not even a hotel directory or paper and pen to write on, no elevator so luggage had to be dragged up the stairs, incorrect final billing for one of our party which had been prepaid. My comments were echoed by numerous other guests who were treated to the same lousy service. Clearly this hotel is being run on a severely limited budget. In fairness to the management they eventually put their hands up to the appalling service and we were somewhat compensated but having travelled 5000 kms to my mother's funeral this was the last situation that I wanted.

    The buffet breakfast selection was good but the staff did not keep the food dishes topped up so breakfast was in "installments".

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.9
    A nice hotel with good food and facilities marred by some staff who didn't seem to want to be there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff largely disinterested. We asked to book a table for dinner and were told not to bother as not busy. We went to eat at 7pm, which happened to be the same time as a coach party and had to wait an hour for the food (which was very good). The hotel advertised 20% off a la carte for guests but this was not taken off the bill until we asked for it to be. I asked at reception to book a back massage and was told nothing available for at least 2 days. When I saw a spa attendant (by chance) she booked me in for that afternoon. Excellent massage but again advertised 20% off not applied until I pointed it out. Door keycard did not work and receptionist got more grumpy each time she had to 'unblock' it. Finally saw housekeeper (again by chance) who said door system required reprogramming and did this in a matter of minutes, the keycard then worked.

    Comfy clean room with plenty of space. Nice spa/ leisure facilities. Roomy bar and restaurant area with excellent food throughout and good staff at breakfast. Free car park.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    3.8
    Avoid and stay in the Ramada close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, tired, molding ceilings and baths, old dated furnishings. Mattress fell out of the ark and ate dreadfully uncomfortable. Bedroom smells fusty and damp. Had to call a staff member after waiting ten minutes at the bar and they found the bar tender hiding behind the bar. Just a low standard overnight stop with no redeeming features.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    Good 3* hotel with a lovely spa, restaurant food enjoyable, would be happy to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are getting dated but they were clean. we were happy with the price we paid given there was a spa in the hotel. Restaurant was a bit pricier than I wanted to pay for an evening meal however the food was lovely and a fair value.

    Enjoyed the Spa facilities, everything in spa was clean and relaxing. All staff members I spoke to were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Excellent room and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New computer systems caused confusion and delays in bar and restaurant. Lady in charge of evening meal in restaurant was a star.

    Excellent room and facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    My stay at the urban hotel was very nice and I had a great time while I was there.
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing was the cooked breakfast was not as good as I would expect from a hotel like this.

    Hotel was clean and tidy, also easy to get to by road. Room was large and comfortable and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.0
    chaotic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above

    Bathroom dirty,never been clean.We had to be up early to play golf,arrived at dinning room at 7.30 no food ready,night porter trying desperately to get some food out,did not happen till 8.15.Staff slow to serve,one or two were complanning of waiting to be served drinks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    The ground floor room (requested) was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My usual moan with - so called - ‘British’ hotels... Where are the Real Ales? One ‘so called. ‘ on pump - I never class this one as real ale, too chemically - accompanied by the usual array of Europiss crap lager type fluids. Even the bottle beer on offer was merkin! Not one good English beer available. Tut tut !!! A great pity as the hotel itself is very good.

    The ground floor room (requested) was great. Spacious,clean and all that was required within the room was there. Had evening meal in the restaurant. Very good quality and value. Breakfast - all buffet was good, all items fresh with servings dishes being overseen.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    2.5
    We were alacated a room already occupied, the room finally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were alacated a room already occupied, the room finally given was OK very out dated, the bed cover was dirty had some foreign white stuff on it. The shower ran either very hot or very cold.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for one night for the purpose of our trip but wouldn't use it for anything more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel overall desperately needs a refurb. Peeling and missing wallpaper in the public areas and grubby carperts and layers of dust. Our bathroom was not well-cleaned. We watched 3 members of staff walk past a menu that had been dropped on the floor - they weren't very attentive and didn't even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay when we checked out.

    Good location and easy to find. Very comfy bed. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.9
    The worst hotel we have stayed in and obviously not bothered by previous negative reviews.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shabby, dirty hotel in dire need of refurbishment. Dreadful house keeping, dust, dirt, and mildew in the bedrooms and dirty grouting in the bathroom. antiquated shower that dribbles out water. Dirty crockery and cutlery in rooms and dining hall. Staff seem to have no training at all in hospitality from check in to check out and in no way made you feel welcome.

    The room was in a quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi wasn’t working properly, lookers still need old £1 coin ! Wall paper could do with replacing although room was nice.

    Leisure facilities and nice big bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    4.6
    We would not stay here again and would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough staff on duty. Mattress very uncomfortable, and linen not large enough for the bed leaving mattress completely exposed Room and corridors need complete refurbishment, paper peeling off walls and not clean and fresh. Television came on both nights at 12 midnight waking us, must be an electrical fault Lack of ventilation in bathroom, sign saying that have to keep door shut as heat could set of fire alarm. Should install proper ventilation. If have window open there is noise from road and factory opposite. Breakfast - scrambled eggs very watery and catering packs of eggs obviously used, not fresh eggs. Bacon of poor quality, fatty and covered in white brine. Fire alarm went off in the evening, seemed to be lack of co-ordination from staff and no-one seemed to know the cause. We were told it was a 'bug' in the alarm in one of the bedrooms which was unoccupied!

    Near to city centre and to A1 Large towels in bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    I can't recommend it, I have had far better stays in National chain hotels for similar money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room, especially the bathroom, like the rest of the building is badly in need of refurbishment and updating.

    Only the Location close to the A1.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.5
    Reception were fast and efficient.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in need of updating and broken tap handle in room 139; no heating bar electric radiator, so room was very cold upon arrival. Waiting staff were wholly inept; gin&tonic served with no tonic, ice or slice of lemon; soya milk provided in unopened carton, after requesting it be opened, is returned with corner torn off; vegetarian burger option not great.

    Reception were fast and efficient. Once room was warm, it was cozy and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.1
    unfriendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when i was checking out the lady at the counter didnt even speak to me which i found very rude so i left the card for the room on the counter and walked out.

    room was ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Location easy off A1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom was not clean...spots of blood or similar fluid on mirror area and under toilet seat. Shower head mouldy. After having paid £79 for my room booking. Com had the same room advertised for £59.

    Location easy off A1

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Good potential let down by the reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bedroom and bathroom. TV reception was poor. Food was okay; albeit the peppercorn sauce was disgusting and unrecognisable. Waited long time for bar service even though we were the only guests wanting a drink. Tray of waste food left in the corridor for the duration of our stay.

    Comfy beds and friendly receptionist. General layout of the hotel was fine. Free car parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxed place to stay and would recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The litter in the car park when we arrived and the dozens of cigarette ends at the front door and staff standing there smoking. Didn’t give the hotel a very good appearance. Inside the hotel was lovely.

    We loved the superior room and the fact that it was on the ground floor. Comfortable bed, spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wonderful. The best breakfast we have had at any hotel anywhere.,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Would have been a good stay if I had slept better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was rather cold and a bit small for a proper swim No-one was manning the leisure reception but I found my way okay! Bed was very uncomfortable and I did not sleep well Lift was out of order

    We ate at the hotel as part of out package and were pleasantly surprised- limited choice but the food was good Breakfast was better than most hotels we have recently stayed in Easy to find from the motorway but not affected by excessive road noise Good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    Worst bed I have ever slept in. No lift to rooms. The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst bed I have ever slept in - was meant to be a King but was 2 singles zipped together but one side sagged so much there was about 4 inches difference with a very uncomfortable join in the middle. Actually hurt my elbow when I banged it on the join. Combined with squeaky springs that groaned all night, was a very disappointing stay. No lift also meant we had to carry our 20 kilos of luggage upstairs, though staff offered to do this when I complained.

    Breakfast was excellent. Restaurant staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    2.9
    Appalling
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in room on arrival. No safe in room. Hygiene in room unacceptable- rust around shower,shower dripping,filthy at back of hand basin,tap on hand basin cracked and bathroom floor sticky. No hot water emanating from shower head. Asked to speak to a manager- none available. Gave the above complaints to reception on my way out . When we came back- nothing changed. Requested a change of room- eventually granted after multiple trips up and down to reception. Ordered drinks at bar-shortchanged, measures not filled-second barman agreed & topped up drink. Made appointment at leisure center for 6pm. Turned up at 6pm -no record of appointment. Cigarette buts on ground outside entrance door. Grounds lacking maintenance. Staff not interested in our opinions. In my opinion this tired hotel does not deserve two star rating .

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    3.3
    dirty swimming pool and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at the end of a bank holiday weekend. The beds in our room was poorly made, and the mattresses were half off the bottom part of the beds. The bathroom was dirty as well as being very old and grimy and in shoddy condition. We took our toddler for a promised swim but there was old food and litter all over the floor in the swimming pool area. The jacuzzi was out of order and the water in it was grimy and grey. We had to help ourselves to towels as there were no staff on duty. There were dirty plates and glasses in the corridors outside rooms that weren’t picked up for the entire duration of our visit. It was a very disappointing stay.

    Staff at breakfast were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.0
    very old fashion, no crisps behind bar or bar snacks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old fashion, no crisps behind bar or bar snacks. Staff was new, and not very knowledgeable about things as we needed a razor, told don't have another staff said you do.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Communal areas are very nice, staff were very pleasant and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old tired very rusty hand rails in the bathroom , beds need updating, and food is average

    Communal areas are very nice, staff were very pleasant and helpful, could not fault them

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    Good value with lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dated and so are the facilities - however it was good value.

    The best thing about this place is the food in the restaurant. The steak was cooked to my version of perfection, the service was also a positive for this hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Never Again - This place is falling apart - literally!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The phone in my room didn't work, which made ordering and receiving my Room Service Order much harder than it should have been - especially when they didn't have my first option and I therefore had to visit my room to discuss - The TV in the room didn't work; extremely bad aerial/signal made it unwatchable - The furniture was literally broken and falling apart... I put something on the table, which promptly rolled onto the floor, it was that lopsided! - The gym (the only reason I chose this hotel in the first place) closed at 8:15!! 8:15??? Wow. - The check in was poor with zero information given about where the facilities were, where I could eat etc etc. I was quickly given a room key and sent on my way - Lack of food options for food intolerance - Heard the duty manager complaining loudly walking down the corridor that he'd been interrupted during Service to help resolve a customer complaint (poor him) - Rooms generally cold and uninviting - Wifi ok, but slow

    Ok (i'm fair), there were a few positive points; 1) Breakfast was nice with a number of different options 2) A number of the staff who I interacted with were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy blaring music from functions stopping us sleeping. Unhelpful night staff. Dirty room & spa. Understaffed for the amount of functions they had on. Breakfast poor quality ingredients. Couldn’t have evening meal in hotel as they were too busy with functions. Tired & dated throughout. Couldn’t park in the evening due to function guests.

    Helpful & pleasant day time reception staff, had a great welcome sadly things went downhill from there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    Event we attended in the hotel was quite good, although hotel dated and in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the bathroom was disgusting and very dirty. Once we complained to the manager it was sorted. Whole property very old & dated though.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    RAF Reunion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tommy was very clean and the bed was extra large an very comfortable.

    The location was excellent only a few hundred yards off the A1 on the edge of Grantham. The staff were extremely attentive and always smiling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.1
    Very happy to return provided the kitchen/restaurant and the useability of the shower are sorted out
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although restaurant nowhere near full, waiting over an hour after booked time to be seated and a further 1.5 hours to be served (with a starter only) is totally unacceptable. No non-slip mat available for bath (dangerous when showering - used a hand towel instead). Water pressure in shower so high that shower head moves to vertical and sprays the wall at the opposite end of the bath (and could easily quickly flood the bathroom). Directing the water appropriately even when hand-holding the shower head was difficult. It made the shower virtually impossible to use.

    Proximity to A1 made travel to Stamford very easy. Excellent breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms. Hot water (but see shower problems below). Restaurant staff helpful (tried to deal with fall-out from kitchen problems). Food tasty (when we could get any!).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food left on corridor for hours Overpowering air freshener Poor pillows Bed poor Rusty bathroom Poor breakfast with pre made weak tea ?

    Good towels Lots of hot water

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast - constantly being topped up and no waiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired and dated accommodation. Lots of broken elements within the hotel - door handles, showers

    Breakfast - constantly being topped up and no waiting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite out dated, with signs about closing the bathroom door whilst using the shower otherwise the fire alarms will set off. We were woken up at 7:30 by the fire alarm going off...

    The room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It had everything we needed for our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent for short stay leisure linked to business locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mistake was that I have mobility problems and did not book a ground floor room ,the hotel does not have a lift and very long corridors to the rooms.I am sure the hotel would have sorted for us,but I preferred to manage as it was a short stay.

    This is an excellent hotel for both business stay and leisure breaks.It has excellent leisure facilities and spa.A great swimming pool ,one for swimmers and one for children.A steam room and sauna also provided and big white towels.The changing rooms were clean and warm with storage facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast was good apart from no marmalade or honey.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Springs in the mattress coming through, no bin in the room or teaspoons. Some lights didn’t work.

    Breakfast was good apart from no marmalade or honey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    We had a pleasant stay. Good value for money. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed needed pulled out as it dirty behind it as we discovered when we dropped the remote back there. Wi fi connection bit poor at times

    Meals lovely. Room a good size.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed enormously and would like to thank Reception staff for their friendly but professional work.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome made everything perfect.

    Reception staff were exceptionally helpful and welcoming despite having a busy weekend and heavy workload. I was very grateful for my pet being welcome too! Thank you so much for a brilliant stay. Smart but relaxed hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was in the right location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated. The majority of sockets in the room didn't work, as we didn't have a lot of time in the room it didn't affect us too much. The bathroom was the worst part mould around the bath and the cover to the shower unit missing. The beds looked they could do with updating to. Again as we were at a wedding we didn't need to spend a lot of time in the room. Overall not the worst hotel I've stayed in.

    The hotel was in the right location. Staff were friendly and helpful getting us in to our room as quick as possible (We needed to get ready for a wedding) and providing us with warmed milk for my toddler at bedtime. Breakfast had a good choice. Pool was small but enough for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    It served its purpose was not over expensive but would probably look elsewhere for the next time .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu was very basic, mushrooms with my steak were dry and crinkled looked like they had been left over from breakfast. Chips probably out of a packet, for £19.00 expected a little better, On entry to my room smelt like stale tobacco smoke which lingered all the time I was there.

    Meals were ok nothing special ,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    We attended a model aircraft show at a nearby RAF base and will return to the hotel again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing disappointed, but if I was being picky I would comment on a couple of things. The hot water came out of the tap so hot it was almost scalding and the shower was more than adequate but not what you would call a power shower. Located on the edge of a business park not city centre or rural location but fine for our purpose.

    The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Did not have time to make use of all the amenities that the hotel offered but they look very good. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Ample parking and as far as security goes it is located almost next door to the largest police station I have ever seen, I would not image there being too many problems on that front.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel lacking in atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was very poor- not easy to control & flow very poor. Lounge area was very noisy - difficult to converse over the continual noise from the large screen TV, We found the lounge & dining room areas were very cool. Had to return to room to put on jumpers.

    Spacious bedroom & comfortable beds. Staff efficient & friendly Evening meal overall was value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    The facilities were good, it was just a shame about the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleanliness of the room wasn't ideal. There was thick mold in the bathroom and there was blood stains that hadn't been washed on the under sheet in the bedroom.

    The facilities were good, it was just a shame about the length of time that they were open for as they didn't quite work with someone who is staying in the hotel for work. A longer opening time for the swimming pool would be amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.5
    All good apart from the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt of mould and looked mouldy, I wouldn’t shower in there so I had to travel unclean, really unhappy with the bathroom. It needed a full revamp.

    Bed was very comfy and the breakfast was fab.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    It was all on one level & spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was small & maybe we chose the wrong time to stay as it was full of children. No disrespect, if we had our Grandchild with us it would have been the ideal place to stay.

    It was all on one level & spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    A stay with the children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a later checkout, perhaps 12noon but not a dealbreaker

    Leisure facilities were brilliant, huge rooms, excellent breakfast, hot showers and fast efficient services.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Poor hotel - very little positive to say about this hotel.
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bland, corporate, bed much too soft and very old, bedding did not fit bed, windowsill was filthy, shower did not work - just a dribble of water, breakfast was dreadful and coffee was undrinkable. Staff completely disinterested.Very disappointing. Do mot recommend.

    Poor hotel - very little positive to say about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.6
    Very poor and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was poor, shower didn’t work and dropped continuously reported it twice still not fixed, no hot water, toilet didn’t flush, broken taps

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Quite pleasant but not as good as it use to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Started staying here a few years ago to visit family.Recently the hotel is starting to look very tired,the curtains in the restaurant are hanging off,bedrooms and bathrooms need refurbishing.We only had two pillows and no electric lead for the kettle.It took over five hours for the pillows to arrive and didn't get the lead for the kettle we borrowed the one from our sons room.

    We use this hotel to visit family, very close to Grantham

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    2.5
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the rooms not acceptable dust on furniture and finger marks all on the mirrors. Paid for bathrobes and slippers, slippers were dirty and the bath robes looked like someone had brought them in from home, staff were not helpful and when complaining whilst checking out added money on to the bill. Over priced. Not good value for money. WOuld never return

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Served a purpose. Only spent a short time in the room thankfully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was terrible- not powerful at all and found hard to get the temperature right. Pleased I didn’t need to wash hair as don't think it would have washed all the shampoo out. Room was dark and smelt of stale cigarettes. Decor was outdated. Towels had marks on them. Half used shower gel was still in shower.

    Bed was comfy. Bed linen clean. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, let down by poor maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had mould on the silicone of the bath, the hole around bath tap was rusty, which we realised was because the shower constantly dripped after use. Could not open bathroom door once used shower, as it wad advised that this would set off fire alarm. No shower screen, only curtain, that draped into bath and that with the handrail, made it very tight and quite dangerous. Instructions on use of spa area we're limited, could have been explained at check in, especially the fact that the lockers still use old pound coins, or token, before you get changed into costume. Hotel very tired, maintenance has not been a priority and it shows.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable for an overnight stay. Breakfast was fine, although a veggie sausage would have been nice. Nice bar area. Free use of pool, jacuzzi, steam room is a bonus. Plenty of free car parking. Hotel from easy to find and location was ideal for the event we were attending. Tea and coffee in room is great, although milk sachets are limited.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.2
    Easy access to main routes for travel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying for business and checked in late, the girl who checked me in didn’t really give any info on the hotel. Breakfast times etc, also noticed that advertised at the desk was breakfast for £5.50. Online I paid £14 extra! they were hosting a wedding but reception didn’t mention the fact it would prob be noisy. Which was fine. Next day was Awful. No hot water. Even by 6:30, no one at the desk to ask. Phone in room had no marks on to tell you which button to press for reception. Generally poor. Room wasn’t clean, bathroom has a filthy shower head, broken basin and bath taps and stained towels. Decided to dress and get breakfast around 640 to be told breakfast it wasn’t until 7. Absolutely no good for anyone needing to head out to work. For £75 wouldn’t go near the place again!

    Easy access to main routes for travel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    It was ok, food was average at best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows crushed down to nothing, many of the fixtures and fittings were tarnished, showing real signs of wear. The bathroom mirrow had a star shaped crack in it. Under the toilet rim and plugholes badly needed bleach or descaling. There was a dodgy stain down the side if the divan, room smelt dank where there had clearly been a flood before. Key card did not work so I had to lug all my bags back to reception to change it. TV also did not work and somebody had to be called to fix it. The back was missing off the remote control. Another guest said it felt creepy after I had a terrible nightmare (never usually) but I did not tell her that at the time! Booking for the spa got no reply.

    The size of the rooms, plenty of instant hot water, beautiful white sheets plus the fact that I could actually open my window on the ground floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    A lot of good things and great value accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening food was dire. The 'rack of ribs' was in fact a 'rack of bone' with no meat whatsoever. I asked whether the chef was happy sending out such food, the reply was 'Yes, they are all like that'.

    The hotel, rooms and facilities and staff were very good and the value of the hotel cannot be questioned.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    I booked the hotel in Feb for a special night out.I booked three rooms which I had confirmation and when we arrived there were only 2 rooms I for our booking.This then took 45mons to sort. The room was generally clean but there was blood on the cover on top of mattress. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    In need of an overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of a refurb. It's quite shabby, drab in places and generally unloved. The receptionist on arrival was quite uncommunicative and could do with some training on how to greet guests and inform them of the facilities. It comes across as a hotel that used to be good, but now needs a good overhaul.... in all areas! Not the best!

    Breakfast was good and it's in a good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money, but need to revamp the bathrooms with ventilation
    • People with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ventilation in the bathroom. There was rust on the bath racks and the shower curtain liked to hug you whilst having a shower. A screen would have been better. The grouting around the bath and down the tiles would have benefited from a good clean, but this may be due to no ventilation in the bathroom. The check in and out was very unprofessional too. The receptionists kept swapping over from customer to customer and there was no conversation. I was not told where my room was located and had to ask, as I had no idea. Upon arrival to my room, my key did not work and I had to go back to reception to sort this out. It appeared to be a lot of trouble for the receptionist to do this and it was not a very welcoming arrival. However, the hotel was absolutely fine for the stay I required it for and I would stay again.

    I opened our room to find two double beds. Perfect to get a great nights sleep as we had a bed each. We was also located on the ground floor, with all the amenities very near. Hairdryer, iron, & ironing board available in the room. Good toiletries provided for your stay along with plentiful of clean towels. Good selection of beverages too! Nice relaxing hotel all in all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    average, we only stay there as they allow dogs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    only 2 towels and bathroom essentials provided for 4 people, long wait at the bar for drinks, tables not cleared in the bar area, i was asked to pay on check out when I had already paid, and I did book breakfast via booking.cpom, but it didnt show up on the reservation

    the reception allowed us early check in. the room was cleaner than when we stayed last year

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Fourth visit but standards have declined therefore never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist on arrival very unhelpful/courteous Waitress/restaurant manageress rude when in response to her question as to quality of meal when it was said the salmon was not good she responded curtly with "you should have told me sooner"

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay, close to motorway and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great shower in the bathroom. Could do with updating.

    Good place to stop over on our journey down south as it's just off the motorway. Plenty of parking, friendly staff and airy reception area. Room was comfy and the restaurant was good. Didn't use the pool as we arrived late but facilities looked good. Ate in the outside courtyard which was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice and quiet place, very friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two things, first one mattress was to soft but I think that’s very personal everyone like different things, and bathroom will need some tlc

    Nice and quiet place, very friendly and helpful stuff. Was staying in king room so it was a good size room and good standard

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Nice big bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was a bit musty. We booked in at 10pm and was told that there was no food available as the kitchen closed 2 minutes earlier; The bar could not offer anything part from crisps; given the health club facilities this was most surprising. 3 urgent telephone calls were made from a family member to the hotel shortly after midnight but there was no answer; this information was provided when we booked out the following morning and an apology was made.

    Nice big bedroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.2
    Not a place I will return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wallpaper was hanging off some of the walls or just plain missing, tables in the lobby and hallways weren’t dusted in over 3 days (proven by the sarcastic writings in the dust), the unclean tableware at breakfast and the fact that most of the hotel staff we interacted with did not seem to have had customer service training in any way.

    The location to the event we attended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    My Worst hotel experience ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was so air con in my room , was promised a fern was going to be delivered in my room but no one turned up with it. It was extremely hot, I had the windows open but it was still unbearably hot. There was a mystery door in my room that led to another room, the one in my room was unlocked whereas the other one was locked. That made me feel uncomfortable I ended up re-arranging furniture to block the entrance. This hotel needs a revamp of staff and facilities, I would recommend Premier Inn, its a budget hotel but meets all basics

    Nothing apart from one friendly staff , who tried her best to help me but did not have full support from the rest of the team. I gave up on asking her to help , as I could see she was the only one passionate to give a good customer service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    A very convenient hotel, just off the A1.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was in need of a good cleaning and up-grade. Ventilation in it was poor, so the fire alarms tend to be set off if the bathroom door is left open after a bath or shower. The meals on offer were of "pub food" standard ; not very exciting, but freshly made and tasty. The menu is rather limited, but we enjoyed being able to eat our meals in the garden area. The garden needs some loving care spent on it, looking rather neglected.

    The hotel is easily accessed from the A1 and there is ample free car parking space. Staff were all helpful and friendly. We were able to have our meals in the bar area, together with our dog, which was ideal. The room was fairly spacious and had facilities for making hot drinks, but no fridge. There were walks nearby along the local canal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly excellent reception great facilities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly excellent reception great facilities restaurant food beautiful and bar area comfortable all round great stay and value for money thankyou

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Useful location for onward journey, super restaurant food :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack or air conditioning in bedrooms

    The food was amazing! Restaurant was very quiet and empty when we arrived (19.45) and only a further three tables were occupied after (Friday night)- minimal ambience but delicious food and service. The hotel bedrooms are a bit dated but comfortable- shame there’s no air conditioning!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    4.0
    The noisiest hotel ever stayed at and breakfast was worst service I have experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in a room very close to the function room where people were talking and shouting all afternoon then we had the disco blaring out till 12:30am and then woke to kids and parents shouting up and down the corridor saying goodbye to each other. Breakfast was poor with no where to sit when we went in and tables were not cleaned to allow people to use tables. Seemed very short staffed and food took some time to be replaced.

    Check in was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Easy access off the A1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable. Poor ventilation in bathroom. Photo of Hotel on booking.com not representative.

    Easy access off the A1. Good walks along nearby canal. Ability to eat morning and evening meals in the bar area with our dog. Good facilities including pool and spacious lounge. Stall pleasant and helpful. Good car parking on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Enjiyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioned rooms

    Breakfast was ample & a good variety of fresh fruit,cereal, breads& continental including cooked breakfast of good quality. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: