Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vale Apart Hotel

6 Coltman Street, Hull, HU3 2SG, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 540 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a very good impression on driving down bit run down road could put some people off

    Couldn't have been more helpful in telling us best places to visit and eat. Good value for money and continued renovations can only mean glad we got in now as could definitely charge more. Cooked breakfast really good value for money wish them well for the future would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome and service to match, delicious breakfast too
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature of the water in the shower was difficult to control, it was either cold or too hot

    Friendly welcome, prompt efficient attentive staff, delicious breakfast, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    excellent value
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is cheap and cheerful...room was clean. comfy bed..fab breakfast excellent value for money..john is great very friendly down to earth and his lovely wife..felt more like i was staying with friends than renting a room!!! gave us a lift to the graduation aswell cant ask for more than that!! little robbie the dog kept us entertained 🤣🤣🤣 will def be booking again soon when we are back in hull!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    OK for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The en-suite bathroom was very basic and not too clean. The loo seat was not attached. The fan did not work.

    Private car park at the back, locked at night. Wifi. Beds were reasonably comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Grateful traveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Manager John went the extra mile to pick me up at 2am in the morning from the railway station after my train let me down. Thank you John.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    THE VALE a little gem, for a little price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner refurnishing the property, so our bathroom still needing modernisation, but it was usable and clean. He did say, most of the other rooms had been done. I was happy👍😁 but some people would moan.

    Owners brilliant! Funny, friendly and very helpful. The property is being refurbished, the owner only bought 5month ago and what he as done so far are great. Rooms clean, spacious and modern. I think for the price, you can't go wrong! I read reviews before I went and honestly, I wouldn't pay attention. Let's say it ain't London plush Hotel, but it ain't London prices either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    A good stay we were well looked after .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it is what it is nice people very down to earth , we needed granted of road parking and this is one with that granite .

    Basic down to earth o k for one night stay great breakfast !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    For what we paid it was fine. We'd stay again.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness/tidiness wasn't the best.

    'Cheap and cheerful' was the quote by the owner, who was welcoming and helpful. Room was comfortable but the shower was below average and the cleanliness/tidyness around the property wasn't the best. However the dining room was good and the £5 breakfast set us up for the day. It was quiet and a good place for a 'base' close to the city. The owner has had it for less than six months so it can only improve.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly B&B nothing was too much trouble, owners went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic, fabulous breakfast highly recommend however Robbie stole the show the most gorgeous dog 🐶 ever

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommend!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like although Robbie wouldn't share his ball 😂

    Absolutely loved our stay, kind friendly helpful, they go above and beyond for their guests the hotel is clean and comfortable an feels really homely will DEFINITELY stay again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.0
    Friendly place and good value for money in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was unfinished as had been a leak previously and tiles missing from walls and vey small. It wouldn't meet safety standards as extractor fan had the wrong switch as in ceiling and should be a pull string not a switch.

    large room and nicely furnished

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, spacious & comfortable room, good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedside lamp didn't work & had to be careful with door handle as was dangerously loose, but besides this was a pleasant stay & at a steal of a price!

    Friendly staff who went out of their way to help during the stay, spacious room and en suite, good location (not far from train station and Welly Club which a concert here was the reason for my stay)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over My Stay I Was Very Dissappointed Due To The Conditions Provided Mainly The Greeting When Arrived At The Location ,Bed sheets Were Dirty No One To Change The Beds As A Normal Hotel Would Do Not A Single Staff Came And Done It Felt More Like An Hostel Toilet Wise Same Very Disgustingly Looking Sink Broken On The Side Overall I Would Never Come To Stay At This Particular Hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    3.8
    Avoid like the plague
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stank of stale cigarettes like they hadn’t changed the carpets and curtains since 1920, looked that way too. Couldn’t sleep properly because of the smell/ unconditional bed and definitely didn’t feel clean.

    Cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.8
    A grim experience, not to be repeated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt of cigarette smoke as soon as you walked in. Cold room first night, no heating on. No hot water second morning, however, electric shower did work. Loose tiles on bathroom floor, no shampoo/shower gels. Loose plug sockets. Wifi kept disconnecting.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Cheap & cheerful family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cheap & cheerful family hotel. Immaculately clean. Gorgeous food, don't miss the breakfast it's well worth it. Warm, friendly and accommodating hosts. Felt very safe as a lone female in the hotel and surrounding area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is peaceful despite the urban location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is peaceful despite the urban location. The owners are tastefully updating the rooms. The hotel offers good value for money on room, hospitality and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    4.6
    The staff were lovely!
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hardly slept, with people in and out of the room next door, slamming the door, i tried to go to the toilet and had people continuously trying to come in. Talking very loudly, room was not very clean at all, the bathroom was at an unacceptable state. Also the smell was extremely unpleasant.

    The staff were lovely! Very friendly and welcoming, being a dog lover always helps with there adorable dog! Unfortunately, the negatives were more apparent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great for being on a budget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is brilliant if your on a budget, it's no frills exactly what it says on the tin. John and his wife are friendly and helpful. An evening meal can be ordered in advance for£5.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area seems a little run down but we soon realised that was the case in various parts of Hull. It is clear though that there are organisations making steps to re-vamp the area and I’m sure it will improve in time.

    Run by a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome. The facilities were just as expected for the price. And shall improve with the current renovations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    A Traveller's Woo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to keep turning down the radiator temp in the bedroom. It was very tropical dry heat. The radiator in the bathroom didn't work so that area was cold. The electric shower unit was the same as my home but I couldn't adjust the temp on this one. It had one temp "scalding". It was red hot so I couldn't shower. Needs attention to details in room. Otherwise you get what you pay for.

    The location to Hull Royal Infirmary was ideal. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Cheap and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not serviced at all, bathroom not cleaned, new towels not provided for the duration of our stay

    Value for money, free parking and wifi, nice staff. They work on improving the facilities, would like to come back to see progress

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    comfy and inviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found the stay very comfy and felt very welcome. All the staff was very friendly and helpful, also the breakfast was very tasty. Exceptional value for the price will be visiting again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, enjoyable, relaxing and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the weather but what can anyone expect for March and also that is beyond anyone’s control so total act of nature but still enjoyed our time.

    Friendly welcome from John and Sandra, great home cooked meals available for just £5 well worth the price. Family orientated with the animals, felt completely at home throughout our 3 night stay in Hull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for.
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've been cleaner. On one around the next morning to book an extra night. There were cracked and broken tiles in the bathroom. The shower wasn't exactly pristine.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Very cheap.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Short but sweet
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly. Food was amazing the lady is a very good cook. After travelling what felt like forever in the snow me an my 14 month old baby were made to feel very welcome An offered home cooked food at a very reasonable price. I would defo go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Okay-ish for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom not cleaned appropiately & shower difficult to use due to variable water temperature despite settings

    location, within easy reach of my destination interest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    5* customer service, great food and a comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues, I went to this hotel with an open mind based on the amount I had paid

    After reading some of the negative reviews, I thought there were 2 vale hotels, I stayed there for 2 nights on a business trip, I paid £30 per night and expected basic bed and breakfast as this is a no frills hotels, and yes that is what I got with 5***** customer service thrown in for free. The breakfast is tasty and huge, I also had the evening meal on both nights which was also plentiful, yes the bedrooms are dated but I believe this is a work in progress, the bed is one of the most comfortable I have stayed in. If you have an issue whilst staying there then give the owners a chance to put it right before you slate the in a review. I will definitely stay at the vale if I am working in the area again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Shower room needs a lot of maintenance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room needs a lot of maintenance. TV needs to be at a better place if someone wants to watch and remote was not working at all. Furniture was just OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Should not be 3 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could not find my booking. Dogs barking from inside hotel up to 10pm. Could hear everything from room next door. No shower gel, only small soap for handwashing.

    Free tea and coffee in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Had a great stay and the hotel is incredibly good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the price and location faultless. Also superb value for money.

    Within walking distance of town centre. Big hearty breakfast (very high quality) Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Cheap, no frills b&b decent for an overnight stay
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of cigarette smoke, pets on the property, lack of cleanliness of the bathroom

    I liked the breakfast, staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice size room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    VERY POOR STANDARD
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very unclean no hot water to basin hot water tap came of in your hand no inner works what so ever. We'll out of date and shower would not put an animal in never mind a human

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    quick visit to hull and on the basis of our stay here will be booking again with them
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly hosts, large room many facilities not advertised on website were available which was a nice surprise breakfast was awesome. hotel was warm and inviting and will defiantely be going back 10 +++++++++ for the breakfast

    lovely friendly hosts, comfortable warm large room, many extras that werent on the website breakfast was by far and away the best cooked breakfast i have had and we travel and stay in b&B's and hotels a lot that breakfast was tremendous and the price was more than amazing will definately be going back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    good experience and friendly staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Showers could of been better and there was no toilet roll there was also a carton of apple juice that turned out to be out of date

    The Staff where really nice and the food was really good too, the beds where comfy and getting in and out of the building was simple

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nicer if there were shampoo and soap but , considering money I paid, not to complain

    Great value for money. Their single en suite only costs you money you pay for a hostel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Needs more TLC ASAP!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the below!! The location is in a fair run down location, but it was ok to get to work for the week or soI was there.

    A work in progress under a new owner. Nice folks but room I stayed in in need of TLC. Very tired and worn, shower room in desperate need of update, tiny shower space, medium build guy and I could barely move to wash...and a curtain that didn't function, leaving water over the bathroom floor. Dining room very nice and evening meal for the £5 charge good value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean, convenient, good value for money. Run by nice couple, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the best area but no problems and close to Hull City stadium

    Clean comfortable warm room. Mine was en suite. Run by nice couple, in the process of developing all of the rooms. Good breakfast. Evening meals also available. Safe private parking round the back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small as the property is a converted house. Facilities were basic but in line with a budget option. WiFi available but didn't really work in the rooms.

    This place had clean bed linen and towels. Staff were friendly and down to earth. The new owners were in the process of refurbishment. A full English breakfast was available quite cheaply and until quite late to meet contractor shift requirements.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Good location as I was able to walk into town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location as I was able to walk into town . Nice secure off-street parking . Have stayed here before , so knew it was good . This is my " go to place" when visiting Hull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I stayed in the ensuite room and the room facilities were good and very clean. The bed was also comfortable. I enjoyed my stay there and wouldn't hesitate to to stay here again whenever I'm in Hull as it's very good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff and vehicle locked away in back car park not...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Friendly staff and vehicle locked away in back car park not on street everything was up to standard and also the evening meals were a brill meal at a low cost

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Given the condition of the en-suite, I wouldn't have liked to stayed longer than the 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was nice and clean but the bathroom left a lot to be desired. There had recently been some work done in the en-suite, there was plaster in the shower & on the toilet & the shelf hiding the plumbing behind the sink was hanging off.

    Friendly staff, easy parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Warm in winter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could provide us with a small shelf at the sink in the bathroom for toiletry stuff and a well fitted toilet seat.

    Warm in winter. Good ,value for money breakfast. Very friendly staff. Makes us feel welcome .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    2.5
    Worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at! Disgusting dirty place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting hotel, very unclean filthy place, smells like a nursing home, shower didn’t work, light was broke, holes in the walls, sink was leaking, pillow cases clearly not been washed upon arrival!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable well situated accommodation for city centre.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-if intermittent , decor mended freshening up but new owners are in process of refurb

    Friendly staff, plenty of teabags, milk etc with the kettle, nice wall mounted to, good shower. near town centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Exactly what I was after for a cheap mid week break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired but you couldn't complain for the price.

    Best price in town, decent basic accommodation with off-street parking, only a short walk from city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    it was in a convenient situation for travelling into Town,Bus Routes etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it looked bad on approach with the derelict Pub on the corner of the street.

    t he hosts were v friendly helpful ; nothing too much trouble. Carparking a bonus ! would definately stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    A meaningful visit to 2017’s capital of culture via accommodation that was so typical of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some may take issue with the nature of the area around the hotel. Near the hospital on a main road means much traffic noise and some unsavoury activities on the surrounding streets. Vigilance and common sense easily combats this and given the price, this is an expected attribute to staying in the suburbs of Hull.

    The staff were very friendly and the location with respect to the city centre and railway station was perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Budget room at a budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so-so. The door was temperamental but fine for a night,

    Budget room at a budget price. Perfectly fine for a nighs stay and close walk to the station/centre. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and very happy about the free car park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    Very cheap for a one night room stay if like me you are going to KCOM Stadium Just 5 mins away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    En suite poorly maintained (Broken tiles on floor, gaps around shower, Lukewarm water. Very noisy residents? across the road (Most of night)Room very dated and in need of upgrade

    Close to where I wanted to visit (KCOM Stadium).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Very basic and would not stay there again or recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of stale smoke and poor state of furniture, eg 3 chest of drawers, only 1 handle good, 1 handle missing and the same1 handle broken. Could not connect to WiFi. Room in need of painting!! Tiles in bathroom not fixed in places :( It seems that this may have been an ex Student accomation house and nothing has been done in the way of 'sprucing' it up!

    Parking on site

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    It was cheap and cheerful and somewhere to sleep after a good night out.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on suite bit o small for a big guy like myself found it hard to close the door and the shower is fixed to low on the well for any one about 6ft.

    The staff I meet was very friendly and very happy to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money just a bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is known to be rough, shared bathroom in attic, being woken up at 4am by noisey drunk people staying in the same place as myself

    Bed was comfy, goos to have a tv in my room and 2seconds from a local shop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Secure private parking for residents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Secure private parking for residents. It's a short taxi ride to the city centre. If you're after a cheap room with no frills then here is ideal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    2.5
    The smell, staff was rude, no organisation at all, bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell, staff was rude, no organisation at all, bathrooms was a mess toliet broken and leaked, door to room was broken so had to fix it myself, the room smelt of mould and damp, radiator didn't work so it was Cold, the staff was rude rang up to upgrade to a triple room for the women to say that was fine to then get there and get split up saying that we hadn't was so rude. Very run down hotel wouldn't go again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    I just needed a bed for the night and the room was perfect for my requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is out of town in not the most salubrious part of Hull so I wouldn't want to be walking around the area on my own late at night. Another inconvenience was that the shared bathroom on the floor was on was out of action, (new shower going in), so I had to use the one on the next floor.

    The hotel was a little further out of town than I was expecting. However, there are frequent buses with a bus stop near the location. The room was clean, the shower strong and hot, bed comfortable and the hotel quiet. The owner told me that they have just taken the place over. They are obviously doing it up doing it up so I can see improvements lay ahead.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable, quiet, and excellent value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. The staff were very friendly (I spoke with the gentleman at the front desk and a woman cleaning the rooms) and they were eager to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The location makes for a quiet night which was ideal for me as I was travelling for business. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.5
    My partner and I traveled to Hull to attend a Christening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    My partner and I traveled to Hull to attend a Christening. Because she has recently had a biopsy for breast cancer and finds it uncomfortable to wear a seat belt for long periods, we booked to stay overnight. We arrived at the property at about 6.00 PM and we were horrified by the surrounding area (derelict buildings) and some dubious characters hanging round outside. We therefore made the decision to make the 3 hour return journey home despite the discomfort. I woudl not have felt safe even leaving my car there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Twin Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom, just personally prefer private/ensuite

    Cheap, even though there was some confusion with booking due to using booking.com but they made sure they got us in, very basic hotel but you really can not complain for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    A welcoming hotel in convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred wholemeal toast rather than white at breakfast and maybe fresh fruit or fruit juice as an option instead of cereal, but I think for £5 we had a very good deal! (If we had ordered in advance our request might have been answered anyway...)

    As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by John & Sandra. They made us feel 'at home' immediately & were prepared to go out of their way to be helpful. John gave us lots of useful information about what to do & see in Hull once he knew we were visiting because of its 'City of Culture' status. (Having lived there all his life he has good knowledge of the town & it's history.) The hotel is on a fairly quiet side road close to the hospital & the station & about 15-20 minutes walk from central Hull, with plenty of buses if you prefer not to walk. Our room was warm, light, clean & attractive; the double bed very comfortable. We appreciated the tea tray in our room with sachets of good quality tea & coffee & we also very much enjoyed Sandra's carefully prepared full cooked breakfast (£5 extra), cereal, toast, hot drink on both mornings of our stay. John & Sandra have only recently taken over the hotel & are working hard to refurbish it to a good standard... John is doing much of the renovation himself & work is still in progress but there were no issues at all with noise or dust. At the time of our visit our ensuite bathroom was still awaiting some finishing touches, but this was not a problem. There is a strict no smoking policy in the hotel...you will need to go outside if you need to smoke. John & Sandra are an extremely hard working couple, aiming to accommodate both tourists and people at work in Hull at their hotel & we felt they are doing this very successfully; offering excellent value for money. We will certainly stay there again next time we visit Hull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    we had a lovely time in Hull and the hotel was within our budget. we were happy there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds weren't very comfortable and need up grading. But you get what you pay for.

    We liked that it was walking distance from city centre. Public transport was very close by and it wasn't expensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.9
    worst night ever !!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its basically a crack den full of all sorts of none working ,drug taking , none sleeping bums ..... avoid like the plague !!

    getting the hell out of there at 1st light !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.3
    Hotel would struggle to meet criteria for 1 star accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hot water tap on sink, no toilet paper, previous tenants greasy plate and fork left in room on top of wardrobe, bed uncomfortable, bathroom in poor maintenance and shower tray drain partially blocked. Fire extinguisher holding open fire door!

    I can't think of anything positive about this accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Great value I go back regularly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints here.

    Property is extremely good value. Great location, secure off road parking, friendly staff, good sized rooms and I found it great I had full access to the kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    An ok stay in a hotel that needs a good makeover
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a good makeover, re painting newer furniture in rooms bathroom upgrading

    The bed was comfy and you got a decent tv picture didn't have breakfast and the wifi was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    Not a great experience. But do have to say hotel felt safe and the comfy beds really helped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General room hygeine not good.draws had no bottom in. Bathroom floor dirty.

    Beds very comfy and clean. Towels clean.entry was good communal stairs very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    Great budget accommodation near to Hull centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for a loo roll!

    Great budget accommodation near to Hull centre. Basic but clean. Access to kitchen if you need it. Secure parking. Friendly and helpful staff. In need a bit of a TLC but bargain price. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    They are new owners and they are currently doing the place...
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    They are new owners and they are currently doing the place up but they couldn't have done more to make the stay pleasent. They went above and beyond to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.9
    Regret.
    • Couple
    • Double Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything.

    Damp room,awful decor and very dirty.More a Dss hostel than a hotel.Wanted a bed for the night but couldn't sleep through fear of safety and the terrible damp smell everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting & Worst hotel EVER!
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Disgusting. No shower, dirty etc. Never again!! Please avoid at all costs!! For £10 more you can stay in a far better 'Hotel' & not a room with a bed!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok.was fairly happy overall.It is basically a budget place ,so you cant expect the Ritz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No plug in sink.This seems to happen a lot.Ill have to start taking a spare around with me.Only one pillow,although I expect they would have supplied one if id asked.

    Handy for the town and stationReasonable priced.Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    The couple who have just taken over the Vale were extremely...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The couple who have just taken over the Vale were extremely friendly and helpful. My bedroom was very comfortable and although there was no en suite, a very clean Bathroom was opposite my door. They are currently working on upgrading the property. My car was very safe in a locked car park overnight. There is a kitchen but the new owner now offers the option of ordering a breakfast which is convenient. I had a very comfortable stay and would say this is excellent value for what you are paying to stay at The Vale. Nothing was too much trouble for the couple who run this hotel. I enjoyed my stay and would book there again in future if I revisit Hull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    2.5
    If your feeling suicidal give this a wide berth
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, tell a lie leaving the next morning was a relief

    The word Hotel is not in the same universe where this place was described as. The shower floor was a floating room because the shower overflowed after 2 mins and the water following gravity flooded the floor and naturally went under the wood flooring nice. The rooms were spartan no hangers, my bed was comfortable however my two associates were not so lucky. We had booked three rooms fro 8 nights and due the late hour we arrived we could only stay the one night under duress. The hotel owner returned our money and we escaped early doors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    Fairly basic but cheap, quiet, good location, secure parking and use of a kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen could benefit from new pots, pans, crockery etc.

    Not expensive; quite close to the centre of Hull, trains and attractions; good bus links to centre; parking space on site with gate locked at night (key provided); quiet; use of kitchen. Shabby but clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: