Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vicarsford lodge Guest House 4 stars

St Michael by Leuchars, Leuchars, KY16 0DT, United Kingdom

#2 of 5 hotels in Leuchars

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Sheer bliss
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While there is nothing Vicarsford Lodge itself could do improve, the form Booking.com uses prevents customers from requesting a double or two single beds for two people. I was travelling with my daughter, and even though I request single beds, this request was not passed along the the proprietors. Luckily, it all worked out. Booking.com should amend their booking form, but barring that, the best course of action is to get in touch with Vicarsford directly on the day you make the booking. They are incredibly accommodating, and would appreciate you doing that so they can get everything ready for you.

    This is the second time we've stayed at this little B&B. Family-run, it is an absolutely lovely little place... and the breakfast is always delicious. My wife actually booked the place for my daughter and I on the virtue of its porridge alone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    An excellent find in Leuchars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few weeks ago we were fortunate to spend a night at Vicarsford Lodge Guest House. What a wonderful find! The beautifully decorated large bedroom and luxurious bathroom, beautiful view of the fields and quiet location made our stay perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and in the morning Audrey greeted us with a delicious homemade breakfast of our choice. With all the special finishing touches to add to one’s comfort, I would absolutely recommend Vicarsford lodge Guest House!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    The owners were very pleasant and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no outlets near a mirror in the bedroom set up with two twin beds. Made it difficult for blow-dryer and curling iron use.

    The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay, shall look forward to returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff, always went out of their way to help and give advice on local area and surroundings. Plenty of space for car parking. Lovely breakfast and facilities in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.8
    Odd and uncomfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the heating didn't work and it was minus degrees. It was freezying!!! Breakfast was bad, burnt toast and choose pancake option with fruit and they were wet and cold with soggy frozen fruit. Facilities generally very old. Was the only guest and wasn't very welcome, felt more as though I interrupted a family household. Locked me out

    Lady seemed friendly however they were too busy and forgot I was staying on more than occasion.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Welcome, accommodating and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely lady and her son that run the place were very welcoming and accommodating. Were able to meet my dietary requests without advance notice 👏👏👏 blethered away to me like I was family. If I'm in the area again will definitely not hestitate to book their again 😁 And seeing a Scotland flag right outside my window on a cold sunny morning was totally awesome!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    2.5
    Pig farm with thousands of pigs around property, stinks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is surrounded by a PIG farm with thousands of PIGS and stinks!!! The table next to the bed had lingerie of the previous occupant on top of the Gideon bible. The bed sheets and pillow cases were not fresh and smelt of perfume of the previous guest. The room was cold!

    The hot breakfast was ok and the host was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Lovely people, and lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night that we stayed was one of the first very cold nights of the autumn/winter. Our room was extremely cold, due to the central heating being switched off overnight. This resulted in us not sleeping very well.

    We received a warm welcome from the very friendly owners, and the location is lovely. An excellent breakfast was served in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Lovely country guest house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay here. The hostess is a lovely lady and makes you feel very welcome. The room was large and comfortable. Lovely breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    An ideal venue for an overnight stay in the Kingdom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A very warm welcome with a pot of tea, sandwiches and fresh scones on arrival. No problem at all on request to arrive early as we were going to a wedding reception. Good choice at breakfast with excellent traditional Scottish food. Hosts extremely welcoming and personable. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay when visiting St Andrews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only worked in lounge room, no wi fi coverage in the bedroom.

    The hosts Audrey and Ian were friendly and lovely,. They welcomed us into their home like we were old friends. The room was beautiful and comfortable, we slept like babies. Ian rang the local pub to make sure they looked after us at dinner. Great value when compared to St Andrews prices and only a 10 minute away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Audrey was a gracious host and cooked us a wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Audrey was a gracious host and cooked us a wonderful breakfast every morning. She communicated well with us. She introduced us to the other guests and offered us some Scottish whiskey as we chatted with the other guests. It was a pleasant experience. The shower was good also and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Five star Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about Vicarsford Lodge, especially the owner Audrey Bell. She had a cup of tea and lovely home baking ready for us when we arrived and then drove us to the wedding location. The Guest House is in a beautiful location and our room had everything we needed. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had all the necessary toiletries. Will certainly be recommending to our friends.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and restful stop on our drive through Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was lovely. And the bedrooms/bathrooms were spacious and comfortable. The hosts went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and breakfast was made to order. Yummy :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Breakfast Good fresh food in pub end of road Given apples from garden to take home

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing could have been done better

    Excellent breakfast a very welcoming arrival cant fault the accommodation, reception, or food in any way

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Lovely bed, large well equiped bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely bed, large well equiped bedroom. Good breakfast with plenty to choose from. Menu was also variable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cold room.

    The warm welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    nice people , excellent room , comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice people , excellent room , comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I was very pleased with everything and I will certainly go back again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The owners were very kind and helpful and the house was very clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Had a wonderful time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Lovely people who were very kind and helpful and a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly and well worth a stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent and the owners were delightful and very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero

    All

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Quiet location with amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Fantastic breakfast choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    VERY PLEASANT APART FROM THE POURING RAIN !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    DIRECTIONS GIVEN BY BOOKING.COM ON HOE#W TO GET THERE. SAT NAV WAS SO MUCH SIMPLER

    ACCOMMODATION AND FRIENDLY HOST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    We were made to feel very welcome. Guest house is in lovely countryside setting.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enjoyable breakfast especially the home made dumpling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    A GREAT STAY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the bacon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Friendly and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.Was perfect for our needs.

    The owner,Audrey,was more than helpful,peaceful location,clean & tidy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    Lovely stay, excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast and very welcoming owners.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.5
    The owners were very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners were very welcoming. The bed was large and very comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    quaint little country B & B with beautiful home cooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    quaint little country B & B with beautiful home cooking and welcoming hosts

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.6
    Lovely people.
    • Family with older children

    The sausages weren't great. And some raspberries on the pancakes were mouldy, but otherwise very good breakfast. The decor of the room is for those who like chintz but that is personal taste, not a negative really.

    Lovely people. Warm welcome, roaring fire in the stove, offered to make us some dinner! Very cosy, loved the electric blanket and the hot shower which blasts you away. Everything was superclean. The breakfast choices were really interesting, porridge with double cream, delicious! Very helpful, even drove us to the bus stop in the morning. Would recommend!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.6
    Audrey was a lovely host who looked after us well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Audrey was a lovely host who looked after us well. The living room was a very cosy and attractive room to relax in, we especially enjoyed the log fire! The breakfast was delicious and the bedrooms were very spacious and comfortable. We would definitely stay again!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    9.6
    extremely warm welcome with delicious home baking and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    extremely warm welcome with delicious home baking and very welcome tea on arrival.Warm comfortable living room ,friendly hostess and attention to detail to ensure breakfast was exactly as we wished

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    7.9
    The friendly welcome on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The cost of a taxi into town was twenty quid then back to our accomodation in the evening was twenty five, he got the address but couldn't find our b+b so charged us another ten pounds!!! Wish I could do that with my business wen I get it wrong..

    The friendly welcome on arrival..

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Had a lovely 4 night stay at Vicarsford Lodge and found Mrs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a lovely 4 night stay at Vicarsford Lodge and found Mrs Bell very welcoming and would have no hesitation in returning for another visit. Lovely, clean accommodation and great breakfasts. Pat and John (McDowell)

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    As we had functions on at Leuchars which was only a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As we had functions on at Leuchars which was only a few miles away, it was good location for us. Very nice people who run it, very chatty, good choice at breakfast as well. Would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Warm friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing ! Everything very good

    Warm friendly helpful staff. Haven't checked out they allowed me bCk to change for the wedding I was attending just so my suit was creased ! You can't get more helpful than that !

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.5
    We were expecting one room with 3 beds and were happily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were expecting one room with 3 beds and were happily surprised with a "wing" all to ourselves! Two lovely rooms, large private bath and separate entrance. The breakfast was great, more than we could begin to finish and the peaceful, surrounding countryside was lovely with lots of outside sitting area and lounge space to relax outside the bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    Location - peaceful and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location - peaceful and pleasant Friendlieness/helpfulness - reserved table for us at nearby pub as late arrivals - excellent choice and friendly staff (St Michaels Inn)

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    Breakfasts were wonderful, the owner made us a meal when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfasts were wonderful, the owner made us a meal when we arrived late and all the restaurants were closed

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    8.8
    Marvellous home cooking, breakfast and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Marvellous home cooking, breakfast and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Family suite was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Felt we were always having to fit in with owners plans - felt a bit like we were imposing.

    Family suite was really good.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Every thing The Hosts were fantastic and we arrived at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing every thing was fantastic

    Every thing The Hosts were fantastic and we arrived at 11:30pm and it was no problem Would recommend this 1000%

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Family-owned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location is in between St.Andrews and Dundee.

    Family-owned. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.3
    Owners couldn't do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Took money long out account before we arrived .

    Owners couldn't do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    quiet location - friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quiet location - friendly host good breakfast included rooms spacious and clean easy driving distance from St Andrews

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    9.6
    Like home from home.
    • Group

    No comments to make

    Like home from home. Made so welcome in a beautiful setting

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    The whole experience was second to none and we will most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rain!!!

    The whole experience was second to none and we will most certainly make return visits in the future.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Vicarsford lodge Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: