Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Legacy Hotel Victoria 3 stars

East St, Newquay, TR7 1DB, United Kingdom

#21 of 36 hotels in Newquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2825 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a grand old hotel that has clearly seen better days, but we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay Liked sitting in the ocean view lounge sharing a bottle of wine. Very centrally located, effectively at the top of the High street of Newquay. Very nice breakfast served by friendly attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    It's a beautiful place indoors and out. Worth a lot more than we paid to stay here. Pity it was only for one night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pool room could do with refurbishment we felt it was a bit scruffy

    dining room excellent views of the sea staff helpful food great .Lots of space to move around the hotel .the Irish bar was great very friendly .All the staff were very friendly and helpful Excellent locationFant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Buffet breakfast was excellent.Staff very friendly and couldn't do more to help.Excellent. location for all shops,pubs and restuarants.Hope you meet Simon,that mans a star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was hardly ever open, which is a shame as the sea views are wonderful.

    This was our second stay at the Victoria, and we will definitely be booking again for next year. The staff were all very pleasant and a particular thanks to the lady who serviced our room and, in noticing my birthday cards in the room, left a birthday message for me!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from 'superior' 1st floor bedroom was obstructed by the projecting roof of the lounge/restaurant on floor below. It was a sea view but not the interesting bit, ie Newquay's lovely beaches. Recommend 2nd floor or above.

    Impressive public rooms. Lovely joinery and furniture. Excellent good value dinner with lovely views. Warm bright swimming pool. Good bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in need of major maintance throughout and feels dirty and shabby. Staff didn't look smart either with No uniform not very perfessional look. All in all not a very well run hotel.And needs slot of work and money spent to bring it up to a standard.

    Bed was comfy and staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor needed updating but the deluxe room we stayed in was huge and very comfortable.

    The Legacy was once a Luxury Hotel but now it is a little tired. The Spa facilities were good but the temperature in the area was too hot. The staff were delightful and did all they could to make our stay and comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had even with the windows open was very hot in sunny weather. No A/C either to help.

    Perfect location and great value. Would definitely go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room needs descaling. The spa and pool is a real bonus but badly in need of refurbishment, still really enjoyed it though.

    Very friendly efficient staff, loved the aged grandeur of the hotel. There are decor issues here and there but the hotel is very clean, well organised and the room has everything you could want. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No grab rail in bathroom and shower runs HOT then cold argh , was a little noisy as out room was next to a nightclub however once snuggled in bed no problems

    Comfy beds very clean maids work hard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and incredibly hot. Due to the room facing the main road and local bars we wanted to close the window due to the noise but couldn't as the room was so hot!

    Lovely location within walking distance to the beaches, great value parking on-site. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gardens and outside areas of the hotel are really poorly maintained. Cigarette butts in many places and dog excrement on the lawn at the seafront aspect of the hotel. If you want sea-view you need to request it when booking....... Charging guests to park their car even if you are not there during the day - absolutely appalling.

    Nice historic building full of character. I didn't use any of the facilities outside of my room. Nice friendly staff, clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating. Swimming pool area & gym a bit run down and tatty

    Good value for money. Large room with comfortable bed. Nice clean swimming pool & gym

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was a bit humid and the mats could use replacement

    The room was spacious and very clean. We stayed there for two nights and liked it a lot. Very comfortable bed and the room was equipped with everything we needed. I would recommend staying there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely and grand old building in need of a little tlc

    Room was relatively small but had recently been upgraded and had a panoramic sea view. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty exterior. Cigarette butts everywhere outside and ashtrays on tables outside never emptied, overflowing with butts!!! Needs some TLC, love the history and the ambiance it has and don’t think it should be modernised just looked after and preserved more.

    Swimming pool and hot tub good to have. Breakfast good. Location great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first rooms 319 & 318 we’re unacceptable. In 319 there were weeds growing on the window frame which yes I could have just pulled out but why should I when they shouldn’t have even been there and nobody who worked there didn’t do it anyway, they were just left to grow merrily!!! The room was roasting hot and was noisy at night, not much floor space for £400 which we paid for 4 nights. The other room 318 had pidgins nesting on the windows and ledges with poo everywhere. They cooed all day and keep you awake at night. Again room roasting hot and very smooth, paid £250. Outside in the garden areas there’s broken sun chairs which are just lying around everywhere. Fag ends left all around the floors by exit doors which were never brushed up, we were there from 4 days. Children’s underwear left lying around on the floor outside again nobody takes any responsibility to tidy around the place.

    The location is perfect. It’s a large hotel and has lots of comfy seating areas to relax and take in the stunning views. Breakfast was good. We moved from a unacceptable room . . . 319, to a much beach sea view room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance could be better in the whole building. Now there was a lot of litter in the sea side garden.

    The location is exellent - close to railway station and city centre. The old building had its special effect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can accept this is an old hotel in desperate need of a complete refurbishment. What I cannot accept is the degraded state of the en suite shower which was covered in mold and has clearly not been upgraded in at least 35 years. This hotel needs to close for a complete refurb to today’s expected standards

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food.

    Hotel was fine - clean but very much in need of TLC. The breakfast was poor, not much choice, cold and expensive, cheeper to eat at local café.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on Thursday 31st May. When we walked in the hotel looked gorgeous . The receptionists were lovely and really welcoming. The night porter was also a really nice guy .The room was really nice and had everything we needed in it . The location was perfect and beautiful views .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rudest staff I have ever encountered in any hotel throughout all the countries I’ve travelled. Pass them in the hallway and it’s like you don’t exist. Ask them for help and they’re doing you a huge favour!

    Breakfast cooked for the multitude. Ordinary to be fair

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been better allocated and marked out with sufficient space for turning etc.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The facilities were good and located very well to the beach and centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was just beside the elevator. So sometimes noisy, but finally no problem.

    The room was very small, but for me okay. I only paid 55 Euro per night included good breakfast. I like the Hotel Victoria. The staff is very friendly, it's clean and in the center of Newquay, what I appreciated. I will stay again there if I come again to Cornwall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are really friendly. They have a Spa bath and clean swimming pool. The bed is really comfortable to sleep. The hotel is in a central location and is within walk distance to lots of restaurants and beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The grounds need some attention and the whole hotel is a little dated, the stair carpet is taped and threadbare in places

    Very good location close to Tesco express. Light, high celling with chandeliers in the dining and bar areas which had beautiful views over the sea. Breakfast was excellent- fresh fruit, yogurt, full cooked, toast, croissants etc with decent coffee. well worth a return . Excellent value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise!! The hotel owns the bar/club next door and there were people exiting at late hours yelling and shouting outside (some of whom were also staying in the hotel).

    Historical building with its of charm. Clean and comfortable accommodations. Good buffet breakfast in beautiful sing room with a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit tired could do with a bit of T.L.C. swimming, sauna, hot Jacuzzi, where ok just the area they where in need a bit of T.L.C .

    The staff we brilliant nothing was to much trouble. They made the stay worth while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. the room could have had a fan as it was very hot during our stay room was relatively small

    Great food, staff very helpful and great views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area needed updating and no locker keys. Bathroom in room needed updating and shower leaked.

    Room was very clean and modern. Excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single bed was a bit tight for size...nearly fell out whilst turning over!

    What was there not to like? An impressive, classical Victorian hotel. Admirable architecture and spacious guest faciities. Fabulous view of the blue Atlantic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we stayed in was tatty. Needed refurbishment. Although it was very cheap

    Staff were helpful. Building was beautiful (but desperately needed refurbishment) used the pool, was decent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been good to have a toaster and microwave in our room, so we could save money by eating in for breakfast and/or lunch.

    We both loved the warmth and splendour of the Victoria Hotel, with its grand staircases and interesting history. It was easy to imagine the gentry of the past British Empire enjoying their stay there, going down the staircase dressed in flowing gowns and tuxedos! Our room had a fantastic view of the sea, and was very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, which made our stay feel like our second home - they even had a small fridge brought to our room so I could store my injections at the required cold temperature. The hotel was so close to everything we needed - Tescos, the beach, excellent cafes etc. Excellent value!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the old world style of the whole hotel. Used the free pool and sauna, had drinks overlooking the surfers in the bay, fabulous buffet breakfast. Staff were super friendly and upgraded our room because of initial noise problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old shabby furnishings. Mould in shower. On a main road.

    Good breakfast. Grand style, sweeping staircases etc hark back to another era. But very shabby. Has definitely seen better days!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvets were too warm, we woke up several times during the night because we were too hot.

    Very central hotel, looks nice. Lovely clean room with sea view. Did not have meal here, but plenty of eating places nearby. We used the swimming pool.,sauna and jacuzzi, a good start to the holiday. Staff very helpful, the cases were brought up to our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t access the internet channels on the TV, a very minor inconvenience which we could probably have remedied The hotel used to have a lift which took you down to the beach - if there was a way of that returning it would be a massive bonus

    The room was re furnished and very smart and modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can not complain of anything during our stay

    We have stayed here a number of times and the staff have always been so attentive & helpful. The locations is great, the hotel is always clean & tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that we didn’t have a bath in our room as last time we stay we had a lovely bath , also the hot water wasn’t actually hot it was Luke warm which wasn’t the best

    I liked that the bed was very comfy and how it was lovely to have a room on the top floor , I enjoyed going to the spa and having the facilities in which I could use

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t get a sea view, so looking at the shops wasn’t great. Also the spa area was disgusting, it doesn’t look clean at all! I actually wouldn’t ever walk in there again. Thank god we had good weather and didn’t need to use it.

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big rooms with high ceilings made it very difficult to heat the room adequately in the cold weather we experienced.

    bed was comfy.Breakfast was good.Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear every footsteps from the room above Room very tired Couldn't check in until 1500 £5 a day parking charge

    Comfortable room Very good shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit shabby chic but us being renovated...we loved that it had character and style!

    The character, the space, the location, the room, the staff....everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room VERY tired and worn. Dirty shower cubicle. Hotel could look lovely but everything looks worn. Not even dated - just not looked after. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever. Shame. I paid £25 for a Sunday night. It could have been £80 or more and I would have been fuming paying that price.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired, very tired. There are hotels that have better facilities and priced lower. A very nice hotel but as it was built in 1897 im afraid it appears to have the same decor. It needs some modern investment and to see damp, peeling wallpaper and very worn stair carpet is sad. Either the management are too tight or the hotel is struggling financially. A lovely traditional hotel and this hotel was to my taste but like i said it is tired and appears scruffy which is a shame.

    Very comfy bed. Great breakfast. The staff were lovely, welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool & Jacuzzi facilities were poor. Changing rooms - no lockable lockers & we were the only ones there. Everything was tatty & dated. Room very small.

    Staff were lovely & helpful. Locality was great. Breakfast & sandwiches ordered were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool and sauna area were included in the cost of staying in the hotel, however, these are outdated and in need of renovation, and the steam room needs fixing. Although they were cleaning at the time, the walls etc were still grubby from steam and tiles were in need of re-grouting.

    The room was great and the staff were lovely. They were always happy to help with any question I had and they would do their best to fix any issues. The later check out time allowed more leisure time in the facilities, which are also available after cheaking out. Bags can also be left at reception allowing time to do whatever you wish during your final day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and in need of refurbishment. We had a balcony with amazing sea views however the balcony wasn't cleaned and the table and chairs were dirty so we couldn't sit on the balcony. The carpets in our suite were stained. The carpets in the main areas were frayed and taped up especially on the stairway. We couldn't get a parking space in the hotel carpark so had to park on the road. It was only when we arrived at reception were we told theres another carpark behind the Irish bar.this should be signposted.

    Size of the suite and the amazing sea view. The bathroom was big and cleaned daily. The bedroom was also spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roof terrace on the room we were in could be cleaner. When opening the window was a lovely sea view and lots of fag ends too.... but overall the accommodation was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet needed a good clean and the decor needed some attention.....They say they are refurbishing, but it was the same last year in a different room.

    This is a lovely old hotel that still has some real grandeur to it. In the town. Parking an extra £5. Parts are a little shabby but that's secondary really. Staff pleasant, beds comfy, buffet breakfast good and plentiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This must have been a grand place in its heyday, but everything is now really tired and worn. Shame to see a grand staircase covered with a ripped and threadbear carpet and ducktape in various colours. The bath was stained through age and not inviting.

    handy location, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very out dated. The pool looked like it had never been cleaned, damp/mouldy on the sealing,lots of light brown stains around the tiles of the Jacuzzi from where it had been bubbling over time and not been cleaned (presuming dead skin). From where our room was the view we had was of bins (you get what you pay for) however this attracted lots of birds! Due to the room being so hot over night (no heating on) we had to open both windows, I was woke up in the morning to birds screeching outside our window/sat on the window sill!

    Stunning location and beutifuk reception, great price for the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minority of staff were not up to the professionalism of the majority.

    We were upgraded when there was a problem with our room. On the final day there was a problem, but the receptionist sorted it to our satisfaction with professionalism & courtesy. The upgraded room was spacious with a wonderful sea view. The location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely but a little “tired”. Needs some tlc and a bit of a makeover. The gym roof was leaking and smelt awful.

    The room was very light and airy. The position fantastic! Great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel, but specially the swimming pool area needs a refurbishment.

    Really good breakfast, gym, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna, ping pong and pool table, all for a reasonable price. We've also had a nice view from the dinning room to the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a LOUD hiss coming from somewhere below my room, like a steam vent... Made me jump the first time I heard it! I didn't mind though.

    Large room, decent bathroom good breakfast and good facilities. Great value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist Sophie was particularly unhelpful. When we arrived we were told the room had not been paid for through booking.com so we paid again. Only to realise we had been charged twice. On leaving we informed them we had paid twice and were told it wasn't their problem and we had to get a refund from booking.com and to ring them ourselves. After getting cross about this Sophie suddenly found a reference number from booking.com to say we had paid for the room and it was sorted. No apology was offer and I found her customer service very poor.

    Family room was great. Modern and clean, with lots of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some parts of the hotel still need to be updated. The car park is a bit tricky; not very much space but we managed to park ok. Later arrival visitors parked on the front lawn.

    Stayed in room 207 which has been refurbished and has a lovely sea view. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel is great for central shops etc. and close to the harbour. It's not too far to walk to Fistral beach either.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it is my age but I found the gym and pool frequented by noisy children

    Beautiful building with clear Victorian origins. Spacious with much of the original charm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very cold in the room plus bathroom not really in a good condition

    Nice hotel in the city center, great view, and a big plus was jacuzzi and swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floorboards in the room above were exceptionally creaky and unfortunately they woke up very early and seemed to be doing laps of their room which woke us up and kept us up from very early on! Could also do with some black out blinds in the rooms.

    Bed was very comfy and incredibly worthwhile staying here for the price we paid.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was poor however numerous hotels we’ve stayed in recently have had this issue so perhaps it’s a common problem for the area. There was also a terrible draft in the bathroom, so much so that it made showering almost impossible due to cold air and poor water Temperature and pressure

    The hotel was very pleasant although the decor was a little dated. The room was huge and staff were amazing. The pool area was clean as was the sauna and jacuzzi. Some parts of the hotel were a little aged and perhaps could do with some TLC but for the price, it was more than Nice enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was disappointing - buffet style with fried food cooked ahead and kept in a warming tray.

    Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were amazed by the size and comfort of our rooms - this was one of the least expensive hotels we stayed at on a Land's End to John O Groats cycle trip and we were pleasantly surprised by the facilities and cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's an old building, so it's not super soundproof. in some rooms you hear the elevator or the other doors squeaking.

    If you get lucky and have one of the rooms with view to the beach, it's great. my room also had charging the phone via USB socket. (not all of the rooms have that) There's TV and reasonably priced off-street parking. not all rooms have a bath tub. location is perect, and i heard it has a swimming pool and a restaurant available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our room the staff were very friendly, my little one enjoyed climbing the stairs and using the lift he also found the rotating doors amusing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated decor but understandable given the cost of the room but an ideal base for traveling around Cornwall.

    Very good value and excellent staff, very friendly and helpfully.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were quite hard, but very comfortable linen

    The Hotel Victoria is a beautiful building with fantastic rooms. We had an extended family party booking 4 rooms and all ages of the family from 8 to 80 were catered for. The breakfasts were great, the dinner in the dining room excellent and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The pool and gym were loved by the children. This was slightly shabby compared to the rest of the hotel but was clean. A fab family trip !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was on only till 930 on Tuesday... too early when your on your hols...

    Our cleaning lady was very nice & helpfull... I some how fell down the stairs when we was going down for breakfast 😳... we had other guests walking passed me while on was on the floor as I hurt my ankle...the cleaner came straight over to see if I was ok & she did the same for the rest of our stay., very nice lady.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love the old style, but the rooms are starting to become very dated, the pool are needs attention as its looking very weathered along with changing rooms.

    We love the old style building with lots of character......the turnstile door, the old staircase.... the breakfast was nice, a good variety of foods, the coffee was excellent.....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating, the yappy dogs, the paying for parking when you got there -not that it’s a problem just an addition we didn’t expect when people park on the greenery in front of the hotel.

    Loved the location and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Keep in mind te standard room is looking out for a street and saturday night was a very big party going on soo if you want a rest book a seewiew room and just stay there between monday-friday

    The hotel was close to all the thinks we went to see and very confy and nice bed. Staff is extra helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guests ‘yapping dog’ obv left on its own in the room for a couple of hours. Woke us up eventually as we were so tired. The pool area needs work ASAP!

    The room was a little small for purpose. As was bathroom, however it was adequate, and clean. I liked the faded elegance of the hotel, it is of its time... but the architectural details iare beautiful ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    We travelled in the snow in March and when we arrived the staff was very friendly and chatty, I would go here again. The decor is antique style and I wouldn't expect anything less with the name of the victoria, it was lovely in every way, I believe they are in the process of a refurb and I hope they keep the decor as it is as this is part of what makes this place so welcoming and charming xx

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four star rating is wrong. Needs a lot of renovation doing to this building and they are starting this but should close it down and them renovate. Would not recommend this to friends or family. Also lots of pets stay in this hotel not my cup of tea love animals

    Lovely old building and lovely original wooden finishes in the entry way.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Legacy Hotel Victoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: