Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Victoria Park Hotel 3 stars

221 Ferry Road, Edinburgh, EH6 4NN, United Kingdom

#130 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 702 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff and a clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticism for the hotel or it's staff everything was perfect

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. My check-in was supposed have been early but due to staff having an issue with the guests not checking out on time, I got the room around 1pm. The staff was very kind to make sure my partner did not get access to the room until I had finished my decorations for his birthday surprise. The room was clean with plenty of covers. Room was cosy and warm. The location was great 15mins drive from the city centre. We took number 7 bus from across the street which took us into town. Returning we took uber which charged us £6. The ocean terminal was literally 20mins walking distance and 5mins in car. There is halal nandos there for anyone looking for halal meal. Shame it does not let me add the videos I took of the room. I have taken some snaps from the video of the room. I'm sorry if they are blurry. Thank you so much Victoria Park hotel staff and I hope you enjoyed the small cake we left as a thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Edinburgh break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fitting for the light over the mirror in the bathroom was non existent and the wires were simply coming out of the wall. Not good. The bedroom window would not close, which caused the blind when pulled overnight to bang constantly against the window frame which very irritating.

    The bed was very comfortable, and the shower was really good. All the staff were absolutely delightful and working well for their boss. I would employ any one of them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the attic type room with two beds. Both of us are over 5'6" and kept hitting our heads on the part of the ceiling that angled down. The bathroom door kept opening and closing on its own from the wind so we had to wedge a towel under it to keep it open since we wanted to encourage airflow between that window and the bedroom window because of how warm it was. The restaurant/ bar service was a little confusing. The sign out front said the was a special in fish and chips but directed us to the bar and when we went to the bar, they kind of ignored us for a while before asking if we were ok. We eventually were directed to the restaurant (which has a different name) and there was a lot of waiting involved.

    The location is within walking distance of the city, but it takes a little while to get there so you might opt for the bus which has a stop nearby. Beds were comfortable and shower had decent water pressure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.6
    Very expensive and disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower went hot and cold without warning and the plug was blocked so didn't drain. Our booking stated we had a free cooked breakfast, only a very basic continental breakfast was provided. While taking cases up a narrow staircase my husband cut his arm on a protruding bolt in the wall.

    The room was a good size and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had a hot breakfast choice but the continental was still good.

    Good value for a town location and had parking. The staff were very nice and the evening meal was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Don't book here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we had a rather unpleasant stay. The hot water in our room didn't work the first day and the shower had basically no water pressure ,also the trashcan in the bathroom was broken and 2 of our lamps were broken and one was missing completely on one of the night stands.. On top the bed was pretty lumpy and made it rather uncomfortable to sleep. The paint is peeling off the walls and everything feels run down. When we arrived for breakfast most of the food was already gone (it's a buffet) and apparently they stop refilling the buffet at some point throughout breakfast time so we got whatever was left over. Overall just too pricey for what you get.

    Close to the city, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Shower was great with lots of hot water and the bedroom had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only continental breakfast . needed a light over the mirror for makeup . a information book about the hotel, places to see and times for things meals, menu would have been nice also. when the function rooms are being used you my have to park on the round at the side of the hotel. Coat of hook on door is and some pictures in the room. just small thing but it would make difference. fire notice on the back of the toilet door the the main room door?.

    Shower was great with lots of hot water and the bedroom had a good lay out. car park was behind the main building and very good area. staff in the morning are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.2
    I use Premier Inn hotels and tend to use this as a benchmark for hotels I use. This hotel fell short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 days we were there they had funeral wakes, the hotel areas were busy with the attendees which made it difficult for us to access the comunal areas. Room- OK. Basic, dirty blind, no lock at all on bathroom door. Breakfast was continental nd again very limited choices but all tasty.

    It's OK.. Nothing special but a good base on the outskirts of the city.. Short bus ride in to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place, lovely staff, a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms at the front of the hotel were a bit noisy overlooking Ferry Rd. We had to ask for a quiet room for our 4 night stay.

    The staff at the hotel were really friendly, the location was convenient to buses going directly to the city centre or Leith and the location was quiet as long as you got a room away from Ferry Rd.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location, but bit expensive for what you get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor only continental no cooked, and the choice was very limited, especially paying over £140 a night I would have expected better

    The room was smaller than we usually expect for A 3 star hotel, location was good with regular buses into the city. Staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    3.8
    Small cramped, overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, not comfortable, over priced. We felt like we were sleeping in a hallway with stud walls. It was terrible, we will never stay there again.

    Location was good as we needed to be outside the centre with available parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced , room wasn’t clean used ear buds under side dresser and photos on booking . Com we’re not what we got.Breakfast was continental not full English as advertised £450 for 3 days was a joke never again

    Staff were great . Location was great near the centre but not noisy .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel pity about the lack of maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could have been painted I was surprised at how much in need of painting the common areas were. No soap in the bathroom i asked for some. Tea and coffee and milk were not replaced on our 2nd morning.

    The breakfast was fine but was not aware it would not be cooked. Staff were friendly. The hotel was cute and old world,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Friendly receptionists but apart from that no one spoke or...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very clean, dust in all corners, and on blinds.hairs in bed and wondered if we had clean sheets and duvet????? Bed was comfy tho. No shelving or hooks in bathroom so Nowhere to put toiletries etc. Adequate breakfast tho they kept running out of cups, plates, hot water etc and had to find someone to replenish. Also tables full of dirty crockery and dirty tables on arrival.

    Friendly receptionists but apart from that no one spoke or even asked if everything ok?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    The hotel has been a fantastic hotel in its day but it looks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has been a fantastic hotel in its day but it looks now as if owners are running it down . Wants a lot of repairs. Very disappointed as we go tattoo every year and location was fantastic for city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor throughout the hotel. Large bath but no shower. Breakfast was continental and fairly basic.

    Free parking, close to bus routes. Spacious, comfortable bedroom (room 10).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Ugly dirty Bath, Small Room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly dirty bath.. very small room and very small bed. It was very loud at night cause the floor is directly at the end of your bed.

    Nice breakfast, nearly too edinburgh city with the bus station (200meters from hotel). And its very near to the ocean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Good position,comfortable bed but this property was over priced and just adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is in desperate need of refurbishment and upgrading. Electric sockets were few and the shower didn't work properly. Breakfast had very limited choice.The cereals were of a poor selection,no cooked food and the pastries were burnt each morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.0
    The bed was large & comfortable........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the bathroom was non existent, the WiFi was rubbish, the tv signal was rubbish, the cost of the room I would expect a cooked breakfast option, the staff on breakfast duty hardly said a word to us & didn’t top up the breakfast items very well, the room breakfast was served in was very quiet maybe some music playing would have helped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, there was no internet connection in our room (only in the common areas). The bed was a little bit too hard. No lift.

    The staff was very nice. They have a small restaurant and bar, the food is great. Small car park at the back of the building. Great value for money in Edinburgh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Not clean unsuitable do not stay hear very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awful dinner was over priced and not nice the room was awful just needed a good clean outside needed cleaned I wouldn't give this place 1*breakfast poor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    Only thing that was alright was the breakfast, other than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Only thing that was alright was the breakfast, other than that we have no good things to say about or stay. Room was dirty, light weren’t working, loads of noice from the street, dirty sheets and no toilet paper. Really disappointed and did not live up to the pictures.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location, nice beer-garden but hotel needs updating... eg wifi everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from Ferry Rd (we were in room #7); just one side table lamp for the 3 of us; no hooks to hang towels in the bathroom; bed too soft (for me, at least, subjective comment). Very boring breakfast; NO WIFI AVAILABLE IN THE BEDROOM! Just in public areas.

    Available parking at the back of hotel; nice beer-garden; good location in relation to the city's cultural centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    3.8
    I wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone. I paid £240 for a two night stay for a family 60th W.A.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very old hotel and really hasn't been modernised. It still has the original sash drafty windows which do not keep out the noise. The blind did not keep out the light. The shower had a broken floor which had a patch on it. The continental breakfast was awful. No staff to top up what was on offer. No lounge to sit in. I ate in the hotel the first evening but the food was just about passable.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.8
    Loved York and the Leith area was quiet but close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had huge bath so quite difficult to get in and out of, for our age group. Only a heated (not) towel rail which would not cope with wet towels. Housekeeper threw the bed together and did not service the bathroom at all. Advertised and on my booking form full English breakfast, but not so. Must change website to continental breakfast. This place has great potential but due to lack of attention was rather “soulless “ as if the owner was absent or not interested. Nice light fittings, obviously costly but loads of light bulbs blown.

    Great for parking on site and public transport into Edinburgh. Lovely big room and bathroom and overlooked the park. Nice continental breakfast. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is really tired it would benefit from a paint job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really tired it would benefit from a paint job. The breakfast was continental, this was not mentioned on Booking.com, to me breakfast including means a cooked breakfast . Customers for the bar below our windows were smoking outside meaning we had to keep them all tightly closed to stop the smell of cigarette smoke

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Great Location in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was charming from the outside, but a bit run down on the inside. It was easy to walk through Victoria Park to the Firth of Forth or to catch a bus to Edinburgh Castle. Continental Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Nice old building but needs a serious refurbishment no lift and the rooms were musty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel rails in bathroom or any hooks or a shelf to put everything, the shower was broken and pressure was poor . No real room service , but we did get fresh towels! Had to go looking for staff if you wanted anything

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    Wouldn’t recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only worked in the front desk area, not in our room. Hall floor carpet was dirty. Shower had little pressure, took forever to get hot. Could hear lots of noise from street.

    Room and bedding were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.2
    Another enjoyable stay in Edingburgh despite my views of the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness was not of a good standard and our views were of part of the roof of the building.

    The continental breakfast was enjoyable. The Danish pastries were my favourite. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    A pleasantly appointed hotel, but it needs to pay attention to essential details
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar, restaurant and receptions seemed understaffed, which led to delays for some customers waiting to be served. A fire alarm sounded while we were there and the safety procedures were not carried out in accordance with the published information. When we expressed concern about the safety of guests being compromised we were invited to leave. The bathroom had no shelving or hooks to keep toiletries etc.

    There has been considerable effort to create style and ambience in the rooms and public spaces. Having a bar and restaurant on site was a bonus. Generally staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    It was very nice to be able to check in at midnight since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled very weird...very old. lol But it was only my room. My friend stayed in a different room and it was fine.

    It was very nice to be able to check in at midnight since our flight got in late. The hotel reception was very kind. Great breakfast and yay for lots of coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good value for money and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a a bit of a walk into the city center. Good if you like the stroll, not so good if you have children. Bed was too hard but that was just me. I have a bad back and I need a soft mattress

    Friendly staff, good value for money and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Cheap room and with breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I first got there, it was not a warm welcome. It seemed they were more concerned with the lunch crowd at the restaurant then checking me. After the lunch crowd left, I could never find anyone to ask questions or get information about the near by places.

    The cost of the room was reasonable, and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very fast check in. Parking on site. Center is 30 minutes away in a beautiful walking path if you like to walk. Very well impressed with the food served at the bar: it's definitely worth a try!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great little hotel! :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Water pressure in shower, that is literally the only bad thing and its so minuscule that I struggled to write it

    friendly staff, great food, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff were very friendly and easy to talk to and they would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After looking at the pictures on here to seeing it in person, we feel that we were just put into any room available. The room we were in wasn’t on the pictures and we feel like the advertising pictures are somewhat of an exaggeration and the £178 charged for 2 nights was way over priced compared to what you can get elsewhere. When we booked the room it said that a full English breakfast was included in the price but when we went down for breakfast, the only hot food available was toast. Breakfast was more cereal and pastries, definitely not a full English. This was not the anniversary we had in mind.

    Staff were very friendly and easy to talk to and they would do anything to make your stay better for you. Although it wasn’t as close to Edinburgh city centre as expected, it only cost £5 in a taxi to get there. The food was delicious and I’d go back just for the food we ate there at tea time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    It was adequate for what we needed as we were out all the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast, not full English as stated on booking.com. The hotel was pretty worn and creaky and needs a lot of TLC. Doesn’t look like the pictures. More of a B&B than a hotel.

    Location to the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay at Edinburgh
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be a little bit bigger choices for breakfast, but it's subjective opinion, breakfast was nice, only would love to if there were more veggies and fruits.

    Great location, in walking distance from Morthon Hall and Library. Easy check in and check out process. Breakfast was pleasant. In room you have everything you need, air conditioning and comfy bed. Good deal for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Fine for a short break
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very poor and the breakfast is self serve continental and limited.

    Location is really good with plenty of free parking. It’s a decent walk into Leith which I enjoyed but maybe not for everyone! Bed was comfortable but room (3) was cramped and fronting on to Ferry Road was very noisy!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    Was glad to get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs alot of TLC. Jaquzzi bath does not work. Furnature damaged. Sofa in room in tatters. Hairs in bath. Staff dont rwally talk to you. Car park like a recyle area.

    Comfort of mattress in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    OK, wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures on the website don't match reality, the bathroom was unfinished there were electrical wires unconnected to anything above the mirror, the hot water control on the shower was broken so was relived to finally get hot through after 5 mins of trying and there was masking tape left on the fire alarm so I assume they have been painting.

    I booked it to for the rugby so choice was limited when I was looking, I choose this hotel due to it's location and the photos looked nice, but certainly the room I had didn't match my expectation. However it's a good location easy to get into the centre on the bus and the Shores where there are lots of nice restaurants is only a 15 minute walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.8
    Not a lot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work no signal, couldn't get WiFi in the room either. No Tea or Coffee facilities in the room. Won't be staying there again.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.0
    Loved our stay in Edinburgh, shame about the hotel 🙁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos are misleading as they must have been taken sometime ago as the room we stayed in look a bit battered. We had a separate shower room which needed a revamp. There was some mildew and the shower rest swayed around and it was difficult to get a consistent temperature. Also we couldn’t get any TV reception until the morning we were leaving. The bed / pillows weren’t very comfortable.

    The best bit was the Breakfast. Lots to choose from and lovely fresh Croissants! The rooms were nice and quiet and the location was good as you can either walk in to Edinburgh which takes approx. 30mins along what looks like an old tram route with the only uphill bit at the end or you can catch a bus from around the corner. The weekend staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location with clean rooms and nice bar with good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed there was no cooked breakfast, but that was my own fault for not reading facilities properly

    Excellent location with clean rooms and nice bar with good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.0
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broken window, very draughty. No hot water. Nowhere to put anything in bathroom, no shampoo. No full English breakfast (as promised on booking.com and on confirmation booking form). Noisy last night, complained to no avail

    Great staff and a lovely restaurant meal on last night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel and staff. Terribly noisy if there is a party taking place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very noisy as there was a hen party taking place on the night I stayed there. And I mean noisy! Therefore, it was impossible to sleep until the party had ended later on.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. And there was no problem in checking out a day early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Sort out the breakfast please....and I will be back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed due to the fact that they didn't serve a proper cooked breakfast. We had all looked forward to that. Had to go and buy a breakfast in a cafe. This was explained by a member of staff that the owners had changed the policy after Christmas to a cold continental breakfast. Not good enough, sorry!

    Good value for money, great staff. Location suited us for a Funeral

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Not for the Disabled, no information regarding breakfast, lack of disability facilities or parking
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very disappointed that only a continental breakfast was available, there was no mention of this in any of the information about the hotel. Room was noisy, no double glazing, next to main road There is no area for parking, which made life difficult for someone that has a disability, this is not mentioned in the hotel information. It had snowed quite heavily, the footpath / pavement was very slippery / dangerous, no help was offered from the staff with suitcases / bags I would not recommend the hotel to anyone with a physical disability or wheel chair users, I did email the hotel regarding my disability, I did not receive any form of acknowledgement, there does not appear to be any facilities for the disabled, after checking in, I was very quickly left to my own devices to ascend the stairs, staff were reluctant to offer any help and at one time watched me struggle up the stairs with a suitcase, there is no lift.

    The room was very clean and warm, the hotel was very well presented

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double glazing in bedroom. No hot water for a shower on arrival. Hotel could benefit from a good bit of general maintenance and up grade. The evening meal was appalling. Only five in our group, two at another table but long wait and when served, soup cold (returned) main courses were nasty, burnt and vile tasting. The staff did apologise. No cooked breakfast only continental. Not what I booked online.

    Hotel was convenient for my stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom was a good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    Staff friendly, big bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor water flow in shower, over-sink light not working. Booking.com confirmation stated fully cooked breakfast but only continental available

    Staff friendly, big bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    Location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold bathroom, no shower, jacuzzi functions on bath didn’t work, weren’t given any toiletries until we asked for them on the second day, we were told breakfast was at 10am, but when we went down at 9:20 we were turned away. When we explained this st check out, another lady said that breakfast stayed out and we could go in, but that’s not what the previous waitress had said and both us and another couple were made to walk away and back to our rooms. We had to walk around the hotel in the morning finding someone to check us out. A lady cleaning upstairs told us to go into the kitchen to find someone- even though this said staff only, rather than finding someone for us.

    Location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Just enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is something to not like about?

    Take all the friendiness of the Scottish folks, the beauty of Edinburgh.. All wrapped I a beautiful Victorian house, and you have the experience of Victoria Park Hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Basic but clean, comfy, close to the bus into the city centre and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little worn around the edges, but an excellent little find nonetheless. Some TLC on things like replacing worn roller blinds and sprucing up the hallways would really make a huge difference.

    Comfy beds and amazing croissants!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice room however were disappointed with the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was freezing the morning we checked out and in our package it stated a full English breakfast we were only offered continental:( had to go elsewhere

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing and won't be in a hurry to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Scottish breakfast as advertised. Continental breakfast was ok but no croissants available on last morning. Didnt get green tea when I asked on last morning as waitress said it was only tea and coffee on offer...despite me getting this from another waitress the 2 mornings previously! Didnt get out room cleaned for our entire stay and no fresh towels left. I had to go to reception on the 2nd day to ask for fresh towels and queried why no one had been in our room to service this. I was advised this was because they didnt have a key for our room. Disappointed that no one had mentioned this to us when we booked in as we could have left our key with reception when we went out during the day.

    Bar staff very very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. View. Breakfast. Staff

    Bed was two singles pushed together and not comfortable. Could here everything through the walls so no privacy staff were horrendous at breakfast with food that ran out and took a long time to top up coffee and tea was not topped up patronising unfriendly staff booked a city view room and got a view off a wall not the city could hear other people's extractor fans

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellence in Edinburgh
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is misadvertised on Booking.com as a cooked breakfast but is actually continental. Normally I would have been annoyed by this but we were told upon checking in that this was a mistake of Booking.com and that they have asked for this to be removed, so it's no fault of the owners!

    We had no complaints about this hotel at all. Staff were really friendly upon check in, helped us with directions to nearest public transport as hotel was a bit far to walk to the main city centre attractions. Our room was really big and our bathroom was great and had a lovely big bath. Even though we were at the top of the main stairway we didn't have any issues with noise, and our room was facing a main road but this didn't stop us from sleeping at all - didn't even notice it! The room was really clean so I don't understand the other negative reviews as we have nothing but good things to say! Would happily stay again, definitely value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good if you're just after a comfy bed and a clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertising full English breakfast but it's actually a continental breakfast. Whilst it's clean some areas look a little tired. More of a bed and breakfast than a hotel.

    Nice and clean, comfortable beds, good staff, easy bus ride to the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    Definitely wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, very basic. No water after 1 shower. We would have been overcharged for our very basic meal if I hadn’t checked. Couldn’t even complain about the shower etc as no one on reception. Everything creaked loudly, some WD40 on the hinges would be an easy fix.

    It was clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.2
    Given all downsides (noise, bathroom, service, location), value for money is poor
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soundproofing and the hotel is on the busiest road in Edinburgh : very noisy, it feels like you are sleeping on the road Bathroom is ridiculous : no shower and no shower head in the bath tub, and very cold Location far away from city center (~20 min walking) Service was below expectation: rude check-in at 11 pm, breakfast closed at 9:30 am on Saturday

    Breakfast was ok (tea, coffee, toasts, pastries, fruits) Room temperature was ok despite cold outside

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Nice pub with accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint is that I booked b/b with English breakfast ,but the staff explained that booking .com had wrongly advertised this, the breakfast was continental and good but I prefer cooked ,

    Perfect for our overnight stay for flight the next day,staff friendly,beds comfy and two pubs/rooms with food,,no 11 bus just around the corner goes straight to town centre,be aware that bus fare is exact change only..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Good deal, clean rooms but lacked staff and extra amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff, we were always waiting around for ages at reception before we could find anyone. One of the rooms we had booked had no lock on bathroom door, looked like the door had been kicked in.

    Good price, good location on main bus route and rooms were clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Rather tired old place with questionable customer service.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Continental instead of full breakfast. 2. Stuck room window that would not shut. 3. No hot water for shower or sink. 4. Creaky floorboards in the room above. 5. Sink light did not work. 6. Solution requests failed.

    Convenient for a base for our activities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Cleanliness, Facilities, Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay here was good overall. But there was a slight confusion on their part for already made payment, and in admitting even the printed booking confirmation, which said PAID in big on top.

    Cleanliness, Facilities, Parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    Decent hotel if a clean room for your stay is the only requirement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 5 didn't have a working heating system and the shower just about worked. Fortunately we had access to another room in the hotel that didn't have this problem.

    Basic, clean hotel that is readily accessible with public transport meaning that a car is not necessary. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast- No cooked breakfast Disabled room - No rooms on the bottom floor and 2 flights of stairs to climb No Power shower - Water very poor coming out of the shower not enough to have a shower We were in room 2 it has black mold in the right hand top corner of the bathroom not suitable for anyone who has went through a double lung transplant. Toilets down stairs were used by young ones coming in of the street, the first night the ladies toilets where stinking as someone had solid themselves, which meant everyone was using the disabled one. Under staffed

    The comfortable bed but my husband and friends said they like nothing about the hotel and they were all very disappointed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.6
    Very poor, we would not stay there again which is a shame as the staff were really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The radiators in the bedroom were not working. They provided a very small blow heater which was not sufficient for the size of the room. We had to alternate the heater between the bedroom and bathroom. There was no cooked breakfast even though this was on our confirmation. My daughter who is gluten free could only eat a banana on day one, and provided her own bread for toast on day two. The bin in the bathroom was covered in rust, and no hairdryer was provided.

    The Hotel was very near to the bus stop in the centre of Edinburgh. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    would stay again if they reinstate full breakfasts
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sockets in room awkward and paintwork in a few places needing looked at. Also they have changed to a continental breakfast which we dont like. Luckily I had my booking which stated full english breakfast and they honoured this. Staff were helpfull

    Nice seating area outside. Parking and bus links to town. Nice dining room. Old style windows in room in keeping with age of building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Rooms are basic but adequate.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking the room, it was advertised with "full English breakfast included". In fact a limited "continental" breakfast was provided.

    Rooms are basic but adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.4
    The size of the bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was noisy due to traffic and no double glazing, windows did not close properly in the bathroom or the main room. No shower, only a bath, probably should have paid more attention to the small print having said that the room was tired and in need of some attention as did the bathroom.

    The size of the bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    Not relaxing at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise was equal to sleeping outside. So was the temperature as it was freezing cold. The bathroom was even colder. The towel rail in the bathroom had had the thermostat control removed, so you could not adjust the heat from its like warm setting. Even then, the heating was not on for long. The Jacuzzi tub did not work. There was also no shower attachment for my wife to wash her hair. The sofa was falling apart, leaving bits all over the floor. The noise from other rooms was all too clear as well. We did not sleep well here. We went out for dinner, but when we returned could not get into the car park, as they had a band on, meaning we had to leave the rental car on the street, which I was not happy about.

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    What do you expect for such a low price?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival (late afternoon), we were told that there were no towels in the room, but they will arrive soon. After half an hour we asked again for towels as we wanted to go out for an early dinner - "you will get them soon" It was nearly an hour before towels were provided. At breakfast, my wife asked if she could have her bacon crispy. "You can have it any way you want" was the reply, however it came barely cooked.

    Comfortable bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    value for money hotel with free parking
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen / Oil smell permeating through the stairs. Most of the time the reception was unmanned. Though there are buses to the city from a stop across the hotel, it takes 40 mins. Many levels and passages in the property , our room was at one end - was not easy to take the luggage.

    Free parking in the compound. A cute pub in the hotel, with regulars. Eggs to order for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    enjoyed our stay, had no complaints, would recomend staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have liked some sort of signage to the front of the building, as we had trouble finding the hotel

    staff very helpful, good location, 10 mins on bus to city centre, very clean, breakfast good, all in all would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: