Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Viking Hotel 2 stars

162 Romford Road, Newham, London, E15 4LD, United Kingdom

#725 of 977 hotels in London

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1184 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy, very rude staff. Fixtures either broken or dirty. Staff wiping up plates, cups etc on a bath towel in the restaurant. Would def not recommend anyone to stay there. Complaint currently in hand.

    Nothing. It was disgusting !!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast organisation was terrible, people pushing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast organisation was terrible, people pushing and shoving to get to things. Stayed for two days and was not able to have breakfast. I have a problem with my knees so didn’t welcome having to go up 3 flights of stairs to get to my room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Even though it's far from the centre, bus 25 takes you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is rather limited in choice. Rooms are noisy and not very clean. Carpets are dirty.

    Even though it's far from the centre, bus 25 takes you straight to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Adequate for a low-expectation room in London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ball of hair in shower, very dirty brown-stained toilet, mouldy oats in the muesli, very warm yoghurts. Nothing that was a big deal breaker as it was the cheapest double room we could find in London that day.

    There was a window in the bedroom and bathroom which was nice. The breakfast generally was adequate- orange cordial, toast and cereals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    I will never stay here again because of their WiFi policy that charges for each device
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WiFi included!!! I talked to them about it, they said, they have WiFi, just not for free, and then their policy expects you to pay for WiFi on a per device basis. Very terrible in this day and age, I will never stay at this place again because of this.

    The price was not bad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charges extra for wifi Rooms were unprepared, e.g. Pillows were lying on the floor, there weren't enough towels in the room Breakfast was poor, insufficient plates and cutlery

    Counter staff was friendly, but couldn't do much about the entire hotel experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    It is good for a short stay. Ask to be in the main building. It has the minimun to be comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are rooms looking to an inner patio. It is terrible for people that does not smoke. The rooms are fill with cigarretes smell the whole day. Horrible. We had to change to tje main building because I could sleep with the smell and the noise made in the outside patio. You have to pay for the WiFi, that is terrible, it just look cheap.

    There is breakfast included, and it has a bus stop just next to it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Could have been fine without the smoking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had an outside access balcony where people could smoke. I was a hot evening several people were smoking outside their rooms. The smoke with the smell came into my room as outside Windows had to open. It was disgusting I couldn't sleep and have had difficult breathing since then. If you don't smoke do NOT take a room with attached outside balcony.ok

    Reasonable walk or bus from Stratford station Reasonable price for London plus rode on jubilee line!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was basically clean but there were some marks both on the walls and around the bathroom.

    The staff were very friendly and made me feel welcome instantly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel has so much potential, with a little insight & imagination could be so much more appealing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor within the room itself needed updating, breakfast foods were all of "economy or value" goods, the cooked breakfast was just about edible and consisted of 1 sausage, 1 rasher bacon, 1 fried egg (ours had been kept warm for too long and were no longer runny,) and a mountain of beans

    Our room was extremely large, the ensuite very spacious too with a large (double) shower, free parking (in London) was part of the reason we chose this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location for the Olympic stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, breakfast was not great, not much choice and breakfast staff quite rude.

    Good location for the Olympic stadium. Clean rooms, Receptio staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Viking hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception there was one member of staff checking people in. The queue was out the door and it took about 40minutes for us to actually check in. There was no milk or sugar once we got to the room, (for a hot drink) had to go and ask for some.Breakfast finished at 9.00 but checkout was 10.30. As a result we didn’t have any due to a late night at a concert. Double room cost £80 a night.

    The location is close to the Olympic stadium, within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Cheap, good location but dated and inefficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived to check in at 2.20pm there was already a huge queue of people waiting. We stood in the queue for over half an hour watching one person checking people in very slowly and also stopping to answer the phone. Very frustrating when you've travelled several hours to get there and just want to relax. When we left in the morning there was no one on reception.

    The hotel was close to Stratford rail/tube and close to the Olympic park. So convenient for our one night stay to see the Foo Fighters.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Basic but convenient and as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out room was close to the street and with the window open it was quite noisy with all thetraffic. I would have liked free wi-fi.

    The room was clean and airy, there was complimentary tea and coffee and a tv. Enough storage and wardrobe space. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice with a shower, a toilet and a sink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    It was walking distance to my event.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disgusting luke warm when the cooked bread fast came out. The price should have been less and not have a breakfast included as it was that bad. Prices advertised in hotel and on here were different which I found strange

    It was walking distance to my event. Had secure parking and was clean apart from stain in bottom of toilet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Bad breakfast but cost per night very low. And free parking. I would stay their again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was rubbish. Cheap juice probably mixed with water and even worse coffee. I have to add that price for night was very good.

    Old and retro but very cheap and with free carpark

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Good, but hotel isn't helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've left a thing in a hotel room, I tried to contact a hotel but they didn't reply on my e-mails. I've phoned reception and ask could they check for it, they check the wrong room. It's not helpful, I am in couple days in London again and I thought it won't be a problem to collect my missing item but there no help from a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money: food and location in plus, cleanliness in minus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedding wasn't changed during the stay, the bathroom was messy and the cleaning lady wasn't willing to stop talking in Spanish and give directions to the room.

    Very modest price for this location. Good breakfast served every day. Possibility to make coffee and tea in a room. The reception guys are very friendly and open 24/7. Compared to other local hotels this is a good bargain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Will use again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Viking was great value for money in London , staff were friendly , rooms were clean and tidy , we expected continental breakfast but got English , very pleased , loads of toast , cereal and extras at breakfast , they let us keep our car parked foc , while we went to Central London , will Definately use this hotel again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    When to Rolling Stones concert, showered, slept, showered, left. Missed breakfast, finished to early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed a bath mat outside, quite slippery on tiles. Breakfast times not long enough for a weekend stay, 7am till 9am.

    Clean, comfortable, basic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Simple, clean and easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a more modern choice of bedding. Breakfast was also mediocre.

    Bed was very comfy and we had the pleasure of staying in the motel area with big windows and modern bathroom. Lovely powerful shower, very refreshing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    I have nothing to say about this property
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked like my nans house the bathroom was nice but other than that was okay

    It was okay to stay in could be a little better looks a bit old needs to be modernised a bit and beds a little more comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    it did what it said on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    some of the staff were smoking outside whilst sat on the steps. this looked unprofessional

    location of hotel. breakfast was included . secure car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Good shower pressure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t the cleanest and the toilet didn’t flush. I also didn’t like the fact that check out was at 10.30 and you had to pay to use WiFi

    Good shower pressure

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Good comfortable budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a little run down.

    The room was comfortable and clean. Just 15 minutes walk to Stratford town centre and 30 minutes to the Olympic Park. There is free parking available. We arrived early and were allowed to park the car in the car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Basic but functional and convenient Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom carpets stained in places. Unable to open some windows. No bar.

    Value for money. Reasonable breakfast. Good fan in room. Free WiFi. Parking. Close to Olympic Park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for Olympic stadrum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bit disjointed. Only one toaster working and this was right next to.milk and hot water so people got in the way whilst waiting for toast which had to go through twice as only did one side at a time. Fresh orange had been watered down.

    Lovely big room but shower head leaked if you had it on high.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    its clean and has parking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the televisions go on and off in the rooms all the time and has been like this for over a year now. Its not difficult to get this fixed properly!!

    its clean and has parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfy, happy place. We will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be cooked on order, not just for the construction workers & then other guests get to eat a cold fry up.

    The street effect of the rooms. .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff refused to help a guest with problems, even with the most easy things. Do not go here. The Ibis Stratford hotel at the same street helped me a lot. Go there

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    2.5
    Over all stay were not pleasant there.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behaviour of the staff were horrible in the reception. The receptionist named Daniel was disgusting and uncivilised . He does not know any manner and culture. Horrendous ! At night we asked for pillows but they did not provide. Room service entered into the room suddenly when we were staying there.

    They have a fan in the room which I liked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Crunchy dude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The leprechaun in the shower

    When we came back from the festival completely out off our nuts undetected by the hotel staff because it was 4am the bed was very soft and very welcoming it did not question the state we was in which is lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely experience and a lovely building both inside and out, beds were nice and comfy too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast included in the price wasn’t the best, they have a little “hatch” where you order hot breakfast through and the ladies that were taking the breakfast orders stood talking a lot so it was a slow process, also there was a lack of clean cups and plates at breakfast so we found ourself spending more time asking for stuff than we did sitting down eating after a long evening the night before, but for the price and for one night it was good enough

    The room size definitely exceeded my expectations, everything was clean and well stocked and the reception staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall had the hotel was good and yes I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very orderly, people all over the place getting in each other's way, and the toaster was way to slow (having to put the bread under 3 or 4 times to get a decent colour to it.

    Comfy bed, tea making facilities, good shower & nice size room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very nice looking building, especially compared to its surroundings. The room was lovely! A decent size, but not too small in my opinion. Very clean! It was merely a place the rest, as you don't visit London to stay in your hotel room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Basic, got the job done but won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No running hot water or heat working in the room in the morning. Black sticky area on carpet. When I spoke to front desk they offered to move me but told them I'm checking out later anyway. Dismissive attitude, will not stay there again.

    Room was relatively clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    2.9
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed cover was filthy and stank of sweat The glasses in the room were full of ash and the pillows had brown stains on them. Staff were rude and threatening and laughed when I asked for directions

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    2.5
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bedding are dirty, only one pillow, the staff are very rude on the front desk and the other staff are unprofessional rude and not accommodating at all, the rooms smell and you only get a sheet and no duvet cover , only a top cover for the bed which never gets cleaned it’s really in-hygienic , I’ve stayed better hotels nearby for less so please shop around and don’t waste your Money here you will be very disappointed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    We were 3 friends and booked a room for 3 nights for 299 pounds. Price looked a bit high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No free wifi which is a must facility in all the hotels now a days. Room size was small. Blanket were clean but looking very old.

    It was clean all the way. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Very happy
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was boiling when first arrived heating was on full but couldn’t keep the windows open as it was late and the noise of the traffic would have kept us awake

    Lovely cooked breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Big rooms, free parking, avoid the breakfast staff though!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a trek away from the tube, so comfortable shoes needed. The staff at breakfast really need to wipe the miserable looks off their faces. It was like being at a funeral! And their English was really bad.

    The room was very large, clean and comfortable. Once we'd closed the windows and turned the radiator up it was warm too. The parking was plentiful and free and the hotel was easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Very adequate budget hotel, with friendly and accommodating staff. Would be happy to stay in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds (single beds in twin room) were a little small and only one thin pillow per bed was provided. That said, we didn't request extras.

    Information on Booking .com stated continental breakfast but basic cooked breakfast was available. Expectations exceeded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and a great price for somewhere so close to central London!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was much too hot the first night, until I worked out how to turn down the thermostat.

    It was a very comfortable hotel for the price, and the price for somewhere so close to London was excellent! I would definitely recommend the Viking Hotel for a London break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Medium accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There were no proper blankets, only the bed covers with clean sheets to layer them so we had to buy two for the two beds. :/ The carpet was a bit worn and despite it was a non smoking room there was some odor of tobacco. Choice of breakfast was poor, but what we had was tasty.

    It was comfortable The situation is perfect for discovering London.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.3
    Very Unhappy. Moldy, smoky and cold room, unkind staff, and men fighting and arguing at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in staff was not very kind. There were men fighting and arguing in the reception area. Our room was very smoky. Shower and window had a lot of mold. The room was very very cold at night even thought the heat was on high.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.0
    Basic and dated but you get what you pay for. Take your own spare pillow if poss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thin pillow each requested extra at reception and was told they didn't do spare pillows. Had whiplash so this was really unhelpful. Improvised rolling up coats etc. Room very warm provided with a very good fan but had to leave it on all night. Was informed by a local friend area is rough however didn't notice anything just stayed in room. Decor very dated and basic throughout but for the price I didn't expect anything flash so this was fine for one night.

    Free parking Location to where we were visiting Room size Value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing value for money, truly enhanced the purpose of our visit to London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean bed covers would have been appreciated. There was only a clean sheet between me and stained over covers which looked like they had never been washed. The pillows were also very very thin.

    The room was a great size for a family room, we weren't squashed together. Parking being in a restricted area made us more relaxed about leaving our car. Hotel room was very quiet too. Shower was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.3
    Just a place to spend the night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff unfriendly and unwelcoming attitude

    The location was very good, check-in was smooth, room was okay, clean but bed was squeaky on every turn. None of the staff said good morning except the receptionist who collected the keys back. Rude

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Cheap accommodation near to the Olympic Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for wifi, cooked breakfast was advertised but was not available during our stay because 'something had broken', very limited alternative. Bed linen was ok but the bed covers smelt and probably aren't changed between guests.

    Quiet location if your room is at the back of the property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.3
    Terrible experience with a very snotty front desk agent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dirty, the bed spreads were stained. The pillows were flat and when I requested more, I was told he would let housekeeping know but he could give me a couple of towels to put under the pillows to make them fluffier. I booked for 2 nights but cancelled the second night I was so disgusted with this place. I didn't get a refund on the second night but at that point, I just wanted to go someplace nice.

    There was nothing good about this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Served its purpose as a convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One very small kettle to make hot drinks for everyone in dining room at breakfast. Kitchen hygiene poor. Staff need more kitchen hygiene training.

    Convenient for where we were going

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Thankyou very much for giving us such a wonderful stay. Highly recommended hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent room. Very clean. Friendly staff. Helpful at desk. Knowledgeable about tours and gave good advise on how to go sightseeing. Excellent breakfast. Parking facilities exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    the hotel is located close to the Stratford station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my biggest regret is that close to this place I found on Booking another accommodation, but for the unknown reason to me I chose this one, and now I think I should have chosen the other one *first of all, the wifi didn't work and the receptionist informed me about this as if it was a normal fact, and if it worked, it would be payable, we stayed there for four days and it didn't work during the whole time, I just don't understand how it is possible *we stayed in the hotel in December and the bathroom was really cold, no extra towel for the cold floor, not even cheap slippers, no shampoo, no shower gel *it was supposed to be a double bed, but it was for one person and half, so I wouldn't recommend it for two adults if they want to sleep comfortably *interesting fact, there was the same receptionist every time we came or left the hotel during 4 days, and the reception is open 24/7 I understand we didn't pay much for this stay but I think some improvements could be done

    the hotel is located close to the Stratford station and there are few bus stops on the street, so you can easily get to/from the airport and the city center breakfast is fine, however we were leaving around 5am and I was informed that they couldn't provide me even a small sandwich or whatever, as nobody is at work at this time reception is open 24/7

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    6.7
    Not completely awful but could have been better organized and bathroom could have been less shabby
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms especially the bathroom were in much need of an update.Toilet was really stained.Breakfast on a busy day was a compete shambles.one small serving hatch dealing with both dirty plates etc and serving breakfast running out of clean plates cups which were then also passed through the same serving hatch again with the dirty plates very disorganized ,Also had to hand keys in when going out and had to wait quite a while to get them back as only one person at reception checking people in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Appreciated the welcome and the friendliness of kitchen staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have got it right.

    Breakfast good kitchen staff excellent ,clean and polite night receptionist very helpful thank you will use again regards Richard .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one pillow and that was too flat. No quilt. Too noisy, some cars were allowed to park outside rooms. People walked past the window (which bed was right next to) late at night.

    Close to the Olympic Park. Parking was on site. Clean. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    2.9
    My stay to say the least was dispicable. I’ve never stayed in a hotel so uncomfortable, & unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There where orange yellow mound stains in the shower cubicle, toilet was stained the heating was poor and no extra towels or pillows.

    Parking was great and the outlook.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    4.2
    Comfortable but not very friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was filthy when we went in. We were not informed in check in that it hadn’t been cleaned. One member of staff really rude, snatched the room key out of my hand.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    2.9
    100% terrible hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot. There was a couple fighting in the evening and really early in the morning. Room is a bit dirty, bathroom is dirty Breakfast is terrible, half defrozen white sandwiches. Havent eaten much, because i was worried i would get sick.

    Not much, terrible hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent for the price!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last minute booking (2 hours before arrival). Budget girl with budget price for a 4 person room. Excellent service, staff, breakfast, cleanliness. Exceeded my expectations for the price we paid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    Ideal for my needs apart from the noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise was constant throughout the night which wasn’t kept out by the windows which was a shame as this lead to an interrupted nights sleep which wasn’t the best as I was here for seminars over 2 days

    Pleasantly surprised re breakfast-had bacon as was only expecting continental to be available. The position of the hotel means that noise is constant and the windows are not the best keeping that sound out. Curtains could be blackouts due to streetlights outside. Very old style accommodation but to be honest it does the job! Parking facilities made this place perfect for my requirements

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent see you next year
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were poor I tried to get a fresh one twice but both were poor. Room had a smell from previous tenant but didn't bother us as it had still been cleaned

    The young man working on Wednesday daytime was very friendly and allowed me to leave my car through the day whilst I attended a work assessment

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    An amazing place with friendly staff, I would absolutely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only possible improvement is getting a better/stronger WiFi

    The bedrooms were amazing, beds were comfortable, the location is perfect as you’re not too far away from anything and the staff were really helpful with any issues I had!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Surprisingly good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit of decor needs attending to.

    Great value for money. Surprised by the size of room and bathroom. Had towels and soap and coffe/tea facilities. Not expecting that in such a budget hotel. Also cooked breakfast as well as continental included in the price. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for my visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took a long time. Breakfast staff more interested in chatting with each other rather than topping up essential foods which had run out. Getting you out as quickly as possible was too priority. At 09.00 the stutter started to come down, litterally!

    Convenient for my visit. Bedroom was great. Bathroom too. Lovely large tv. Guy on reception was helpfull but he needed extra help to move along check in times

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfort, lots of things could be done to make this a fanstastic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast The breakfast tasted horrible, the staff hang around the hatch and you put your dirty plates and cups in the same bit the clean and fresh food arrives out of. The serving staff don’t speak English and don’t appear to enjoy there jobs! Reception staff were friendly though

    They upgraded our room to a large one and the parking is free and secure!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Not the best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff at breakfast poor, untidy and unwilling to do any waiting. Served up a cold breakfast that had been prepared earlier then complained to me when I brought this to their attention. After a discussion in front of other guest was given (grudgingly) a warmed up breakfast

    Reception staff quite friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow and towel were provided for each person.

    The hotel has been refurbished recently. Our room was large at the front of the property. The double glazing shut out the traffic noise. It is easy to reach Stratford station and Westfield. A comfortable stay at an excellent price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Convenient for Queen Elizabeth Park. We were going to the athletics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedspread was clean but had holes in it.

    When booking we were led to believe a continental breakfast would be provided. It was but there was also the choice of an English breakfast if you wanted it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    Will not be returning as I basically pay £60 for a bed being the portion of food left me hungry and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast were awful. Whether the English was poor or not being polite has nothing to do with language. I ordered an egg that was not well done and got an extremely well done egg with terrible attitude from the lady on request.

    The room was nice but smaller than the picture provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Good stay in London for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free wifi in the hotel rooms or in the common spaces. And the baked beans from the English breakfast were cold.

    Spacious bathroom, good daily room cleaning, tasty breakfast. Good price-quality ratio for a London hotel. Regular bus services to Stratford station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could criticise was waiting to check in but not down to man on reception,just old fashioned checking in procedure which took a while

    Bed was comfy and bathroom was nice and clean,good location and value for money,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    Great location, clean and tidy. But shower not working and noisy room next to metal stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a quiet room, but was given a room whose window was right next to a set of fire escape type steps. These led to another wing of the hotel, so was noisy with people coming and going. Also meant curtains had to be closed as anyway walking to other wing could see into room. There was no hot water in the shower. Was told to leave it running and it would come through. A total of 25 minutes later they gave me another room to shower in. This shower was hot straight away. Kept other shower running the whole time and still no hot water after around 35 minutes. The whole point of staying here was to get a good night sleep and be able to get out quickly the following day. Neither of these happened!

    Great location and parking. Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean Hotel,room and dining area overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower could be better. Breakfast limiting 1 piece of bacon per person,my son wanted 2 pieces,so my wife had to go up with a plate to get 1 piece and then give it to my son.For what you pay per night why limit food items.

    Clean room and Hotel which is the most important thing. Quiet at night, plenty of towels. Fridge in room very nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    3.8
    Nothing about it was modern and the way I was treated seemed like 1970's style (Faulty Towers)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the above

    Not a nice neighbourhood. Hotel is cash only. Night porter not at his station. Breakfast limited. Check in took about 30 minutes. Simply put, a bad disorganised poor hotel. Survives solely because of a lack of anything else.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Viking Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: