Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Village Hotel Swansea 3 stars

Fabian Way, Swansea, SA1 8QY, United Kingdom

#3 of 14 hotels in Swansea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1397 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pool was freezing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was freezing Hot tub wasent working Bath taps where broken also And didn’t sleep as had some people loud in the corridor knocking our doors at early hours

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant enough, convenient location for our visit. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard size bed, most similar chain hotels provide larger bed. Only one thin pillow each. Tassimo machine in room but coffee provided not very nice. Hot buffet at breakfast, most items undercooked and cold by time got back to table. Evening meal in retaurant, great food but very overpriced.

    Very large room, had free upgrade.Great bar and coffee shop .Lovely cold buffet selection at breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    I booked two rooms for a colleague and myself and the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms for a colleague and myself and the air-conditioning did not work in either room. in the current heatwave - this made the rooms very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.3
    Hotel from hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very rude no aircon working in rooms and fire drill on sat night at 3am with hotel full kids @wedding and little mix concert

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and worked for the small conference
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never get the turning in to the hotel entrance from the dock road. A signpost would be useful, not least because there are new buildings springing up in front of the hotel making it not obvious where the turning is.

    Great little meeting space for the conference I was attending

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    goog for price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air conditioning didnt work in our room it was stifling we were just given a fan when we reported it so didnt sleep much

    leisure facilities and free parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in bedroom was useless. The room was roasting hot and we couldn't get it any cooler. Even after a member of staff offered to set it for us. No instructions in room how to use. Water from shower was lukewarm. Almost cold. Door closers need adjustment. They close with such force it's like a cannon going off at night. Not good when you are trying to get back to sleep after fire alarm has gone off at 2.45 am!!

    Staff were very helpful. Food was nice in Village Pub. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff were lovely and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar remains open 24 hours a day, with guests being allowed to continue drinking outside the property and under the windows of the rooms, with the result that it was noisy until long after 2am. We were a little disappointed with the cleanliness of the room with the cups and glasses being dirty on arrival (and not being cleaned during our stay) and also a bit disappointed with breakfast.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very entertaining evening.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one young lad serving the food in the bar and as it was a busy evening and the Swansea Air was there more staff was needed as I saw many people leaving as the service was slow(this was no fault of the staff)management take note....

    Very helpful staff member at reception and bar staff were very hard working and courteous...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very clean in all areas I visited. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We had food in the bar which was amazing value for money. Was really happy with the whole experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Large, friendly and clean hotel only a short walk from city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning appeared to turn itself off which was a little annoying.

    Large, clean hotel with all the facilities you could need on site. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom was large; complete with hairdryer and ironing board etc so had everything we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard. As were pillows. Air con wasn't cold enough. As we stayed on a summer night, the room was too hot. Didn't sleep well. Rang for assistance for sky pin, no answer. When my partner went down to reception there was a big queue and 1 member of staff!

    Room was spacious. View was lovely. Location was spot on. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful! Pool and sauna were fab!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Staff went the extra mile - in particular Suzanne- best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good!

    Staff went the extra mile - in particular Suzanne- best hotel we’ve stayed in in Swansea and will be coming back. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    always lovley, clean, modern and accomodating
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    All the staff are so very kind and proffesional. Always helpful and welcoming If we cannot book a deluxe rooms then the double rooms are just as clean and comfortable! Always busy in a nice way as it seems to be popular. There is a gym that i use if i have access and there is a starbucks which is great to buy before work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Apart from the location, it was a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV remote was slow in responding. Several Freeview TV channels were not available. It was quite a walk to get anywhere from the hotel.

    A nice comfortable room. Good parking facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at village hotels all round the country and can never fault them.

    Had an unexpected upgrade which was fab...laying in bed Saturday morning with coffee from a great coffee maker watching the all blacks game on sky tv...very happy 😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel and very handy if you want to pop into Swansea city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only real gripe was the live band that was playing somewhere within the hotel grounds

    It was only a single night stay but the room was extremely comfortable. The hotel as easy enough to find and plenty of car parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. It was a suprise stay. I paid £107 for one night and we turned up to find we were looking at a construction site not great at all. If i knew it was over looking a construction project i would not booked.

    The swimming/sauna facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic Health Club facilities which we really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't appreciate one of the wedding party guests who had arrived in the afternoon having a major dispute with a family member outside our bedroom window for over two hours in the middle of the night. Three police patrol cars eventually arrived at 1.20pm to calm the situation down and I could then get some sleep.

    The breakfast was very good, with additional option choices cooked on request. Really enjoyed the Health Club facilities too, nice to relax there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable but maintenance could be improved (light out in bathroom and broken window catch)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were not informed that omelettes, boiled or poached eggs were available on request. The was no daily variation on the menu and pain au chocolates were unavailable on two days.

    Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    A friendly hotel, good food - but just a place to stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage to the hotel amongst all the new building and construction was poor.

    I didn't have breakfast so can't review. I arrived at the hotel at about 8.15pm and went to the restaurant just before 9. I was served (but hadn't been aware of closure times). Food was lovely. The girls in the restaurant were lovely & friendly and very attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel in a convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A modern hotel with good sized rooms, free car parking, a Starbucks on the ground floor, plus pool and gym and a view of the sea. Also liked the location as just a short walk to the marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff were lovely and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really uncomfortable for the price I paid o would expect to be able to sleep on the mattress plus the 2 halves of the bed were not secured together

    The staff were lovely and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable stay breakfast lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor carpets are stained it could do with an refurbishment and make the bathrooms more plush

    It was value for the money we paid the beds were very comfortable the rooms quite big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    It was a good stay we enjoyed the pool and the gym and the stay overall was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could of been better it was exactly how it should be

    Liked the room it was very spaceshous and comfortable and the bed was comfy it was very big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Having lattes at breakfast at no extra charge was great and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only little niggles were that the button to call for the lift on the fifth floor didn't work, so we would walk down to the fourth floor to call the lift and the loo paper was very thin, which felt "cheap" but for us it didn't matter as there were soooo many pluses but I can imagine the lift to be a problem for some that can't walk so easily. I'm sure that's a temporary issue though.

    Having lattes at breakfast at no extra charge was great and the spa facilities with adult time to do proper swimming was a bonus. Parking was ample. Check in and out was so quick, no waiting time. Perfect all round and exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Decent. Would return. Would have breakfast somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor and definitely not worth the extra 10quid. Fruits were damaged, poached eggs were over cooked and just brought on plate swimming with water. Cereal selection wasn’t good. Bacon left swimking in fat and sausages were poor. Oh and we were turfed out of the bar fairly early because it needed a clean. Which TBF is bad timing for us rather than anything you guys did too wrong. But the breakfast was a let down.

    Everything was pretty good tbh. The leisure facilities were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic service everything I asked for when booking I received 5 minutes before checking in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I literally booked this hotel 5 minutes before checking in the service was great the room was ready at 11am. Everything from checking in to checking out was fantastic with all staff would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable. Will definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more selection of fruits in fruit salad and a variety of pastriesfor breakfast. Coffee machine in room did not work. It was reported but not replaced or fixed. We were left instant coffee sachets instead. With the weather being so warm it was difficult to sleep at night as the air conditioning went off in the night! Whilst swimming pool was enjoyable my friend who was recovering from a broken leg did not feel safe in pool as there were no hand support around pool.

    Enhoyed the pool, jaccuzi,spa, steam room and sauna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opted for early check in and upgrade on room Check in I didn’t get and the upgrade was shocking, one towel one bottle of water a broken coffee machine and a bed on wheels a shower that had as much power as a dead battery and bathroom that wasn’t up to standards

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    1. The general noise level in the foyer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The general noise level in the foyer. 2. The coffee shop. Why have this horribly standardised multiple? Why not take the opportunity to have something more cosy, more unique, less 'plastic'?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved Susanne, the front desk lady.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed were small and you couldn't read in bed, as the bed moved too easily.

    Loved Susanne, the front desk lady. Loved the bathroom and my husband loved the large TV

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- hot breakfast-quality of produce was mediocre. Good selection of cereals/ pastries etc. Would like to see more gluten free options.

    Facilities good, staff at reception very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly hotel for a weekend in Swansea, visiting my daughter at University.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the main road into Swansea. Not terribly noisy, but you could hear traffic. Our room was on that side of the hotel.

    Breakfast was lovely, staff were excellent. Bar was good. The duty manager solved a problem with the heating in our room by lending us an electric heater which heated the room up nicely. The problem was dealt with promptly. The on-site parking is very good. I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff were helpful and polite.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is something wrong with the lift. You couldn't go straight to level 5. But you could go to level 4 and then press 5 from there!

    Staff were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Village hotel always a great choice wherever you are in the uk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the middle of a building site and not really near any other facilities like shops or bars but ultimately not a problem ad everything is here.

    Lots of facilities onsite and a great pool. Perfect for business with a Starbucks for a working breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    Clean but uncomfortable and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely warm which meant we didn't sleep very well. The beds were quite uncomfortable and the door shook as did the mirrors on the wall every time someone left their room which was frequently. When we arrived there a smashed beer bottle right outside with old food on the floor.

    The only good point was that the room was clean and staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast at the village hotel is second to none. There is always plenty available, it is always hot and the tables are always cleared away quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were clean beds were very comfortable big flat screen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasnt great

    Rooms were clean beds were very comfortable big flat screen tv and sky was a nice aswel. Food at the grill for dinner was lovely Staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Awful, due to the noise on the same floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the fact that no consideration was made to the guests including myself having to share the same floor of a visiting French Rugby team, for four nights we had door slamming, running up and down the corridors, people directly outside our room talking shouting and laughing late at night, I did hear a lady from another room asking them to keep it down. For us we were at a National Swim meet so getting a good nights sleep was paramount. Sadly our evenings were stressful due to the noise level.

    Facilities were fantastic, shame the pool was out of action the weekend we arrived. A very busy hotel with plenty going on. rooms were fab size with plenty of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Bed was comfy, room was tidy,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the bar. I ordered a salad with chicken and a side of fries. My chicken arrived after I had finished my meal. My husbands food meal was nothing special. We notified staff.

    Bed was comfy, room was tidy, Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.1
    Really enjoyed my stay, loved the pool and steam room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site outside the room was not informed of this before my stay Outside of hotel looks unattractive however inside is lovely

    Leisure facilities were excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    comfortable & happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff behind bar were clearly rushed due to rugby but attitude wasn’t the most welcoming. Didn’t want to do certain cocktails as their words ‘they been doing them all day’ so staff arguing who to make them.

    Very modern & big hotel, very comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable good size standard room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean, comfortable standard room which was spacious, included a sofa and coffee table. The bathroom was a good size too. Plenty of parking. Only a 10 minute walk into city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Clean modern hotel without character, food bland , expensive for what it is .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inadequate staffing on reception meant we did not receive an advice leaflet usually handed out explaining where we would find the second person's towels and the importance of fully engaging the spare card for electric power. We were thus unable to adjust the temperature levels in the room with air conditioning and were far too hot . The food at breakfast was bland e.g packs of Golden shred jelly marmalade , that is not marmalade !

    Very clean and general condition good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.5
    Everything was acceptable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bath had no plug and we had to improvise as the shower plunger did not work either.

    This was our 2nd visit and we are returning in two weeks, the hotel is very convenient for us as we visited relatives. Everybody was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thumping from the beat of the function room thankfully tho stopped at 1good value

    Choice of how eggs were cooked at breakfast ease of booking in and out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay for Birthday get together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missed having a fridge to keep drinks chilled.

    Fast check in, lovely staff, the invitation to make any requests by e mail before we travelled and this was arranged with no problems. The nice touch of a card and cookies from the hotel for friends birthday. Everyone was very pleased with the stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    I would return adbim sure the problems we had would not happen again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place but we had a series of unfortunate events such as room change twice and poor meal in the restaurant followed by a man outside the hotel shouting in the middle of the night keeping us awake he eventually got lead away by the police but made s poor stay overall.

    Location and place also staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and glad we made the choice to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was out of action but not a major problem.

    breakfast staff were very welcoming and helpful. breakfast was very nice with a good selection of food. Cooked breakfast one morning and continental on the other. Room was very comfortable and clean. Good size TV etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    We had a relaxing stay and felt so refreshed afterwards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband drinks peppermint tea and couldn't get only hot water from the machine in the room. We asked for a kettle but it never arrived. Perhaps more choice of pods for the machine?

    Lovely hotel. I loved the smell in the corridors! The gym and spa is high quality with extra touches. Great bar area with comfy seating. Breakfast was super tasty with lots of choice. Loved the ESPA products in my room and Sky TV. Will be making another visit soon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I love the style of this hotel. I like the village pub restaurant. I found it very functional, relaxing and comfortable. The room was a good size. The food was reasonably priced too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Overall good, thought a little pricey compared with other hotels in the Swansea area.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to be made aware of the nearby building works in progress very noisy in the morning. Spoilt the visit a little may not have booked if I had known.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Very comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to be honest. Did request online for a free upgrade if there was anything available and didn't get a response.

    The bed was comfy and the breakfast tasty. Staff always very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Clean, good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level disappointing and made it difficult to sleep. Event on first floor meant low beat could be heard into the early hours . Noisy guests late at night despite 9pm-9am quiet zone. Low beat returned after 8.15 am.

    Clean, good size room. Gym and pool good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Not the worst stay ever but far from the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Window sill was damp and water was coming through, Hairdryer was unsafe, making odd noises, was world's away from drying hair and the casing got very hot. Reported to reception and they really didn't seem interested, not even an apology just 'Oh, I'll get that looked at' was assured I'd get a follow up email but nothing came. Not really acceptable if you stay in the standard room let alone the Club 'Upperdeck' room we had paid for!

    Comfy bed in the club room, Great TV with Sky

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great place for short stays.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with a bit of tlc. Water pressure wasn’t the Best Buy manageable. There were a few questionable marks/stains on the wall next to the toilet and hair on the tiles left in the shower. Would be good to install hairdryers in the rooms. The beds kept moving every time we sat on them or moved position. There was no way to lock the wheels into place.

    This is quite a busy hotel with great facilities. The staff are amazing! Nothing is too much for them. The restaurant is equally fabulous in terms of attentive and very helpful staff who were simply super to talk to. The first night we stayed, we decided to eat at the grill. We ordered steak. It was cooked to perfection. Loved the fact there is a coffee shop and pub!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    As above very poor nights sleep, event on, rooms very noisy. The room I stayed in directly opposite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was put in a dissabled room with very low bed. Didn’t say that this would be the case. Room was next to exit and doors opening and closing all the time

    The meal was okay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    we attended a party- the staff were very attentive, cleared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we attended a party- the staff were very attentive, cleared the plates away efficiently. the room was very comfortable and the amenities were very good. breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    A place I’d definitely go back to !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a bit overpriced BUT the bar menu and drinks at the bar were reasonable !

    Great Room, comfy bed and nice staff. Really good Bar and gym down stairs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rather worn towels, shower gel fixed high on the wall so you have to stand up in the bath to reach it, no tissues no Welsh butter

    Powerful shower, spacious room, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    We had a great stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing not to like. Our only disappointment was that our stay was too short.

    The staff are very polite, friendly and professional. Nothing is too much trouble. We had one of the best nights sleep we have had in a hotel for a long time. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and fitted out to a high standard. Far better than other others we have stayed at. The breakfast was excellent and a wide choice on offer too. We shall certainly be staying there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    helpful staff- good rooms-
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think breakfast could be better as its £10 additional and pretty basic really great leisure facilities

    I love the leisure facilities- thats really why I use village

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Always happy to stay here . Just right .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay. We have booked in here on many occasions as we have family in the area. Always very friendly staff .The rooms are a good size ( and clean ) and the beds are comfortable. Food is great too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Loved this hotel feel , will used again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly disappointed to find there was just a kettle and coffee and tea making facilities , not the coffee pods makers as advertised , did find the drinks and food prices in the restaurant and bar , to be slightly expensive , where as the breakfast was of good quality , felt the quality of the sausage s let it down .

    It's the first time staying at a village hotel , liked the feel of the hotel , with its separate bar and restaurant , and big chain coffee shop , and the leisure club , all on the ground floor , the check in , was fast and friendly, the rooms were large and clean , with a large screen TV , bathroom had I bath which I like . The breakfast was varied and plentiful and good value .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Not a good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so noisy! Every time anyone on the same floor closes their door every door rattles. Hardly any sleep hearing it since early. Not good

    Nice bar area, clean hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Great pool and gym facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changed room because the heating didn’t work, heat didn’t work in the new room so they gave us a portable heater, draughty window, only one lift in the hotel not enough for the amount of rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small point but there was no power socket (to charge phone) adjacent to bed. I find that a little annoying as I use the phone as my alarm clock.

    Friendly staff and a nice atmosphere (Coffee shop, pub, gym etc.) compared with some slightly soulless hotel chains.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    This is a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good. Nothing not to like.

    This is a lovely hotel. Went there with my daughter in law for her birthday treat. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely be back. Staff were very helpful. Room comfortable and clean. Good facilities and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely people, nice atmosphere!
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote from any other shops so you'll have to catch a bus to go to your local supermarket. Nothing by feet and room service finished at 10pm ish which was quite early for us since on the first day, we arrived around midnight from London and was unable to have a proper dinner once we reached. Hotel doesn't offer a wide range of toiletries so you'll have to bring your own toothpaste and conditioner!

    There is a atmosphere and quick check in/check out system. Bus stop located about 3 minutes away by feet which takes you to Swansea University (if you are going to their open day and planned on staying a couple of days, though it's about 30 minutes away) and right into town. Really quick with requests if you ever need anything from customer service! Lovely people and very willing to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean airy well designed hotel and rooms are ideal for short overnight stop.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow parking bays. Only one bath sized towel, the second was smaller. I don’t think I was informed of requirement to pay on-line after reservation. Only by chance I found out.

    Clean, comfy room and bed. Giant TV. Friendly helpful staff at self check-in. Self check-in very swift and easy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Clean, comfy, good value & good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View wasnt great as it was rear facing

    Clean, Comfy rooms. Great facilities. Staff were very welcoming would definately stay again. Mojitos were amazing in hotel bar. Only £5 in a taxi to city centre to bars and resturants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Room great, food great, staff good, price great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed to be a nightclub in the hotel where the music went on past 12pm on a Sunday night felt like I was sleeping on one of the speakers!

    Room great, food great, staff good, price great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window needs to be fixed as very hard to open due to broken handle, carpet needed to be seen too as many large marks. A lot of noise from swimming pool guests.

    The staff were very friendly and good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    As many guests have previously commented, the hotel has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the noisiest hotel I have stayed in for a long time. Although lots of the reasons the room was noisy was difficult for the hotel to control, if I had children it would have been a nightmare night. There was a wedding at the hotel and a live band below our room until after 11. After the music finished guests chatted( and often swore loudly) below our window until the early hours. Guests were very loud returning to rooms (knocking on doors and shouting). It was 2am before I finally fell asleep. At 3.30 the air conditioning switched on and was so loud it woke me. At about 4.30 (I was now too tired to look at my watch) the fire alarm went off. I quickly threw on some clothes but fortunately it was switched off and no-one asked us to leave and no-one gathered outside so eventually we were able to go back to sleep.

    As many guests have previously commented, the hotel has a great location with easy access to the university, city centre and mumbles. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and relatively well equipped.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: