Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Volunteer Inn

Lower High Street, Chipping Campden, GL55 6DY, United Kingdom

#10 of 13 hotels in Chipping Campden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    Let down by the details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooking a busy beer garden; the bar may close at 11:30 but people don’t necessarily leave until 01:00. Not helped by the room being very hot. Bathroom wasn’t especially clean. The pillows also left a little to be desired, such as comfort.

    Convenient location. Reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable, friendly staff, pub on site and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a bathroom blind of sufficient size to protect our modesty. Black out blinds might help cool the bedroom down, but it was unseasonably hot.

    Clean and comfortable, friendly staff, pub on site and lovely town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Good room but not great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fire door had been wedged open. Room door slams shut quickly - could do with a commissionnaire.

    Good service, good breakfast. Room was a good size with plenty of hanging space for clothes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.3
    Rooms badly affected by bar noise till early morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY NOISEY bar which went on until 1:00am. Several of the bedrooms are directly above the outdoor smoking area where there was a drunken crowd till early hours. Sleep was impossible, and management didn’t care. The hotel/bar wasn’t open till 3:30(!) and owner insisted on taking money before showing us the room. Many previous comments about the uncontrolled noise. Definitely not recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and lacked amenities such as a wardrobe. We had to share a bathroom. Very basic for the price.

    The location and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Good Location for Cotswold Way, basic accommodation, OK for a one night stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic accommodation. En-suite facility would have been welcomed.

    Good location. Ideal as we were starting The Cotswold Way - 105 mile walk the following day. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    The room was handsome and clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was very, very loud. The breakfast was in a dark, dingy room.

    The room was handsome and clean; the mattress was comfortable. The old building is attractive from the street side but sloppy along the outside public space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Not a top of the line hotel but friendly, basic and all you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain about anything. All good!

    The Volunteer Inn is ideally located for anyone wishing to take part in the offerings of Chipping Campden and the Cotswolds at a reasonable price.. The room, service and breakfast was first rate. The staff was very friendly and totally laid back. The Inn is a small and very busy pub but it did not interrupt the stay. It was fun to overhear everyone chatting and having such a great time - dogs and all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Large room, convenient location in main street, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room located directly above pub so very loud especially on open mic night (as expected), parking on street, shower very temperamental switching on and off at its own leisure

    Large room, convenient location in main street, nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we were in one of the rooms above the pub, we would have lowered our score but fortunately we were a ways from it.

    Clean place. Nice to have Indian restaurant close by for dinner. Not too far from bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great pub in a perfect location for hiking in the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had my ensuite room changed to one with a separate bathroom due to a plumbing issue in the one that I had booked.

    Nice friendly pub in a great location. The Indian restaurant attached to the pub is a novel concept,but works really well. The food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    An old pub that remains 'untouched' with extra benefit of an excellent Indian +a cosy smokers hut
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot.

    Who wouldn't love an Indian restaurant at the back of a traditional old pub. The food is superb - much better than any in the town. Also, how considerate to give smokers - and yes, I;m afraid we do exist - a heated, comfortable outdoor 'lounge' to relax & chat to others in - top notch, thankyou.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, really friendly staff, few niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to slam the bathroom door to make sure it closed which could’ve upset other guests staying and when I went down for breakfast I was told Breakfast was over but I still had 10/15 minutes before it finished. I felt it was over priced because of these few things as I didn’t get the full experience unfortunately.

    The bed was comfortable and good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Just what we needed for a one night flying visit to Chipping Norton.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was very crowded due to first a rugby match on F.C. and then live music so couldn’t really get in.

    Lovely friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Old inn right near centre of Chipping Norton. Open fire in bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    We still like this place, early after breakfast can be very leisurely around a circle, very comforta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Downstairs is a bar, noisy.We are in the bathroom curtain is too small, the slender one, hope to be able to change.

    The room is nice, clean and tidy. There's also a hot kettle. I can make a cup of my favorite coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money. Excellent location and very friendly people.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the first day was really nice with everything laid out buffet style. The second day it was a bit rushed.

    We didn’t have ensuite facilities but the shower room was next door and was very excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Ok but wouldn’t book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds really uncomfortable and small, room stifling hot even with the radiator off and the window open all night (in December!). Sparsely furnished rooms and poorly lit. Woken up at 7 am with a brewery delivery (barrels rolled down a cobbled street) coupled with staff shouting to each other up the stairs. Smokers area right outside the accommodation door. Had to take the room keys with us each time we went out as the bar was frequently unmanned - the fob on the key is about 12” long and wooden!

    Location for our wedding venue was good, Breakfast good value for the money. Quaint view of the village.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Best "Local" place to stay in Chipping Campden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basically a classic blue collar pub with nice selection of cask conditioned ales - and an Indian restaurant in the back. Loved the beer, food, soccer on the television. Room was a bit noisy - but I still slept great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in great location but due to the noisy pub and thin walls I won't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    • Extremely noisy from the pub below in the evening (this is stated in the room details but didn't see it until after) • Separate toilet for another room was right next door so could hear when in use (door was usually slammed shut loudly) • Walls are paper thin so could hear people from next room

    • Great location • Friendly staff • Very nice room • Clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Lovely room, clean and spacious enough. Really nice staff. They prepared vegan English breakfast jus
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely room, clean and spacious enough. Really nice staff. They prepared vegan English breakfast just for me. No problem with parking a car on the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very noisy, and must have had a lock in as people still drinking at 1am. Although this should be noted as you are staying at a pub and not a guest house

    Good value for money given the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    Lively pub on Saturday night, lovely rooms great village location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly unhelpful staff at breakfast, telling us at 9 we were too late for the full English, however they did cook one for my partner.

    Lovely comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was wonderful did send a request for a bottle of Prosecco as it was my husband birthday was not in the bedroom was disappointed but that was all

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is excellent. Great atmosphere in the Pub which is part of Killarney Inn, there is a restaurant which serves Indian food that is absolutely worth the visit. The staff were very friendly. Thoroughly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.4
    Location was the best aspect of this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely cold in our room at night. The heat wasn't sufficient for the size of the room and it was turned off in the middle off the night and not turned back on until morning. It never warmed up. We would not stay there again. Very disappointed.

    Location was the best aspect of this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Location was great, and room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pub was quite loud until passed midnight. (There was a Birthday party as well on the night we stayed, so it was extra loud...)

    Location was great, and room was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money, in a lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room window was overlooking the yard of the pub / restaurant so it can get a bit noisy. But it wasn't too loud.

    The area in which the hotel is located is lovely. the hotel has very small rooms and not very modern, but for what we paid I was not expecting more than that, as they have very cheap prices when compared to similar hotels in the area. The room was super clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant was the best.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy as my room just happened to be on top of the bar area. Also the fact that there was no desk in the room didn't help either. No bible either in the room - I'm glad I bring my own!

    The restaurant was the best. It's good that it is also used for the breakfast area. The cooks are very talented and know what they're doing ( as they should). I would happily go and eat there again whether breakfast or an Indian.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.3
    Cheaper than others but noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy as above bar owned by hotel. I had to use ear plugs! I have asked via website for a double bed. I received no response and as a result there was only two single beds

    One of cheapest available in this area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    A great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For people with mobility issues: no lift

    Friendly place, hardworking and helpful staff. We especially enjoyed the excellent Indian restaurant behind the hotel for dinner. Good breakfast, cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information ought to be provided at the time of booking about reserving a table for an evening meal as it is very popular, and we ended up eating at 9.30pm which was too late with walking the next day. Bathroom shared and very small/basic. Can be noisy through entertainment.

    Food was very good value, it is in a good location for the Cotswold Way walk and they also arranged baggage handling for us which worked exceedingly well. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    The place is perfect when staying in Chipping Campden -...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is perfect when staying in Chipping Campden - reasonable price, clean, friendly staff and has everything you need - wifi, tv, pub, restaurant and you can get iron if you need one. The breakfast in the morning is always really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    very pleasant - can you lighten up your restaurnt area?
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast location at the Volunteer was very dark and imposing - horrible actually, not inviting at all - a real missed opportunity - decorate sympethetilly and in keeping with your natural asserts

    this is a charming and convenient location for walkers/those wanting a break away, like me - everything was relaxed and convenient - thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    The location, the room, everything clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location, the room, everything clean and tidy. Entering the room was a really nice welcome, and I liked the view from my window. There's the pub downstairs but I haven't heard any noise in the night and slept very well. Full of character.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    We were walking Cotswold Way It was a good comfortable starting point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy as we were overlooking the smoking area outside the pub But this is reasonable we booked into a pub and this is to be expected it wasn't excessive

    Good Breakfast comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Great short break in Chipping Camden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like

    Location convenient but not in busy part of Chipping Camden. Rooms very comfortable. Breakfast good and we really enjoyed the Tuesday night Indian Banquet. Although we were warned about noise from the pub below there was no noise after pub closed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.1
    Convenient and friendly, but very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy in the evening and at night. We heard a door slam downstair about every 5 minutes, it was not what we would have liked for our room. The bed big but not very comfortable. We stayed in the triple room and the king bed was very flat.

    The staff was very friendly and the location was convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    location, comfortable bed, good breakfast, very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit tricky to find parking, toilet in a bit awkward place- blocking the door to open, could possibly use one more staff member to help at breakfast time.

    location, comfortable bed, good breakfast, very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Very nice stay. Very happening little pub and excellent Indian food at the restaurant. Very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door locking mechanisms were very loud so you always knew if your neighbors were around but as there were few guests it didn't disturb the sleep. Only one channel worked on the TV.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location in beautiful cotswold village with added...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Bed was really uncomfortable and needs a new mattress.

    Great location in beautiful cotswold village with added bonus of a pub, beer garden and indian restaurant on site. Excellent breakfast and good wi-fi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    A friendly pub with a lively bar and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towel rail in bathroom, just pegs and no drying facilities for wet boots/clothing.

    Excellent Indian restaurant and good Tuesday night banquet deal. Very good Cotswold gin, beautifully served.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay while exploring the Cotswolds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. Room very comfortable &clean, great location. Excellent breakfast, prompt service. We are very happy to recommend the Volunteer Inn as a place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived on a Friday evening and after being shown to my room I asked what time the bar closed and was told it was midnight. I had read that I should expect "some noise from the pub" so wanted to know how long it would go on for. Being summer, the windows were open, but I did have to close these as the evening went on and people became louder. It became quieter before midnight and so that was fine. Saturday night was, however, awful. I came back to the pub around 7pm and the pub was already fairly busy. Within the hour the music became so loud that I could not hear the TV! I had to turn it up really loud. It was quite literally like being right next to a night club. I could hear the songs clearly and on occasion the bass rattled the windows. This was accompanied by loud talking/shouting right outside my window. There was absolutely no way I could have slept before the music stopped at midnight. I think that instead of having the warning that: " There can be some noise from the pub during busy times." There should be a warning that "at weekends there is extremely loud music until midnight". I just feel very sorry for the neighbours if it is like this every Saturday. Also the hot tap on the basin ran for a few seconds then just stopped and did not come back on. I was not going to get dressed and go down to the bar to get something done about it. It would have been a hopeless task. Show less Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms experience the noise.

    The pluses were that the room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, the shower was good and the breakfast was ok. It was also nice to have some bottled water in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom not cleaned daily. Shower and handbasin water went off mid-use probably due to kitchen below.

    Simple comfortable room. Decent choice for breakfast unless you wanted something savoury for continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Spacious family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to open door with room key. Shower head more a waterfall than a spray. Expect noise from pub until 10 or 11pm

    Spacious room for 3 adults. Views to back garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Nice bargain priced place to stay.Staff are great too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise,but it was bearable.

    The staff were really good.We had an upstairs room for the first night.The mattress was terrible.Springs sticking into us.But the next morning when we told the guy in charge,he apologised and moved us to the garden room.He also said no one else has said anything but he was getting a new mattress for that room anyway.And yes it is a bit noisy from the bar customers.But it was a lovely place with lovely staff.So if you can put up with some noise,and even live music (which was very good) it is well worth a visit.It's a really handy base for visiting the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely rooms in a traditional pub in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was that being over the bar we couldn't sleep until the bar closed, particularly as being hot we needed the windows open. There are other rooms to the back of the property but I would suggest taking earplugs if you are aiming for an early night.

    The room was large, airy and overlooked the High Street. Breakfast was very good as was the Indian meal we had in the restaurant at the rear of the pub. There is a bus stop very close which allowed us to walk some of the Cotswold Way and return to the pub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Character hotel in a convenient setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was attached to a historic-type pub. We were there at the start of our hike on the Cotswold Way. Hotel was ideally positioned for this, it was clean and had all the facilities we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.1
    Great room, lovely bar staff. Owners quite unhelpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners weren't the most helpful. Can't check in until 3:30pm which seems very late compared to most hotels. Couldn't even sit in the bar to wait for it to open even though they served us a drink in there as they didn't want us drinking our own bottle outside. Quite a few bad phone calls with them too

    Great room. Clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Volunteer Inn is great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable - could feel the springs easily. Couldn't get the heat off completely.

    Breakfast was superb. Location excellent. Staff was top notch. Place was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.3
    Not bad, but not brilliant either...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could feel the springs in the mattress. Was woken at 6am on both mornings (first by loud delivery men for the inn, and then a council cleaning van).

    Nice room with a clean and spacious toilet and shower down the hall(shared with one other room). Village is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Good value. Clean, comfortable, good breakfast but a bit noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy. The beer delivery occurred outside our window very early in the morning.

    Clean, basic room. Bottled water provided which was good after long walk. Good cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    My big concern was the very dangerous slippery shower base n...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My big concern was the very dangerous slippery shower base n there was no-one to tell on check-out as there only seemed to be kitchen staff n they were busy with breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    excellent location, friendly staff, but noisy bar drinkers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy at night due to pub and bar guests and drinkers, especially when they went outside in the courtyard to smoke, quite noisy really

    friendly breakfasts with other walkers

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above a pub so some noise at night. No parking except where it can be found on the street.

    Good breakfast made to order by a delightful, hard-working older woman. Good location. Clean room. Beds were ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, friendly place to stay in gorgeous location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We shared a bathroom - however this wasn't a problem for us as the hotel wasn't full!

    Lovely room with amenities! Staff were fab, helpful and super friendly! Breakfast was a full English, you can change the order to whatever you fancy - was lovely! Would happily stay here again - perfect for what we wanted! We went to a wedding 20 minutes down the road!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant in a lovely old inn at affordable prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sharing a bathroom which was a bit difficult.

    The manager was very welcoming and an excellent host. The breakfasts were wonderful. It was perfectly situated in the village with easy access to all amenities and sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Close to the center of village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar and restaurant in the groundfloor was noisy until late. The indian cuisine restaurant has messed up our orders several times and after 90 minutes waiting for the food we did not get everything we ordered.

    Close to the center of village

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.4
    Bed was comfy, staff were helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shared bathroom - door didnt lock easily! Breakfast was adequate but poorly presented generally Access to rooms open at all times - worrying as a lone traveller

    Bed was comfy, staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Historic Inn with delightful service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfy and the historic village was a must-see. When we arrived, the hotel manager stepped out from behind the bar, where she'd been serving a couple regulars, and personally carried out bags to our room. Later, we had a light dinner in the attached Indian restaurant. Delicious. The service and accommodations were all- around excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Great stop off if walking the 'Heart of England Way'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was good

    Great welcome, in a typical flagstoned floor locals pub with a good selection of real ales. We stayed in room 2 in a separate are from the main pub so nice and quiet, there is an Indian restaurant attached to the rear of the pub which had a shared bar, the food was excellent and with it washed down with a pint of real ale I was in heaven. The room had recently refurbished very clean and comfortable and a very powerful shower. Excellent breakfast. If staying in Chipping Campden this would be my first choice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    An excellent way to start the Cotswold Way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather! We were starting the Cotswold Way and the next morning that we set off was pouring with rain!!

    The staff were all very courteous and obliging. They were very welcoming and they upgraded our room, which was a real surprise. The room was very spacious and overlooked the garden. It was quiet and although the bar and restaurant were busy our room was away from the noise. The Inn was just what we needed and we had an Indian meal with a business from Birmingham, this was very different from the expensive offer in Chipping Camden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Great Value and Great People in a proper pub !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to spend more time here !!

    This is a lively pub run by really nice people with accommodation that works unless you are looking for quiet palatial surroundings rather than atmosphere. Jenny and Gloria who were working in the bar when we arrived and who showed us to our accommodation are two of the most hard working gorgeous people we have encountered in any of the many pubs/hotels/restaurants we have stayed in!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff. I was supposed to share the bathroom but I had my own so it was great. The pictures on booking.com are less good compare to reality. Great place to stay !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    5.4
    The place was very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom/toilet couldn't lock properly. The pub is very noisy until late at night and the noise starts again early in the morning when staff gets in.

    The place was very clean and the staff welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.5
    Really nice B&B part of a great pub with an excellent Indian restaurant attached ;-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Nice room with spacious shower Excellent Indian restaurant attached to pub Great beer and nice staff in pub Helpful owner Nice breakfast served really quickly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellant value small B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a 1 hour window for cooked breakfast.

    Nice friendly staff, good cosy bar area and the added bonus of a Indian restaurant on site. Food was lovely and good value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit annoying we booked a double room but upon arrival we had 3 single beds and a sofa. Didn't bother to mention to staff as only staying one night.

    Room was of good size and clean, shower was good too. Great location and curry was tasty too - part of the pub so perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.9
    A very popular value for money pub/restaurant with rooms in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Table for dinner not available until 9.30 (Tuesday curry night very popular); however alternative venue recommended was very good

    Comfortable bed, excellent location, very tasty cooked breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    The staff was so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly! The lady who checked us in also managed the bar. She was very nice and helpful with suggestions. The whole facilities are very nice, especially since there's a bar, restaurant and inn. The town is very charming too. It was nice to walk around and be in the center of the town :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    A large comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is on first floor, so luggage needs to be carried up a flight of narrow stairs. Parking is on the street outside and you need to compete with the local residents.

    Room number 2 was very comfortable, a large room with a view out onto the garden. Large en-suite seems to have been recently renovated. Breakfast was cooked to order. Evening meal could be had at the pub, or there were a couple of others within a short walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor of the shower was very slippery. Staff had left a vacuum cleaner outside our room which stayed there all the time we were there.

    Comfortable room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You do tend to get woken up early by the deliveries if you are in room 6 - but still worth it

    Great place to stay. Being a pub with an Indian restaurant attached is quite a find

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    6.3
    Decent but probably wouldn't stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was right above the bar and so muffled noise could be heard until late. The hot water in the shower stopped while having a shower. It seems like if hot water was being used elsewhere in the building this would cut the hot water supply in the shower.

    Clean, comfortable, nearby parking, Wi-Fi worked well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.3
    Convenient affordable lodging
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    En suite would be nice not available when we booked.

    Parked outside. Appreciated the salmon on scrambled eggs. The attached Indian restaurant served good food and in a reasonable price range.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: