Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wagon & Horses 4 stars

27 St Georges Quay, Lancaster, LA1 1RD, United Kingdom

#4 of 22 hotels in Lancaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 549 hostel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast coffee rather weak. Touch expensive but perhaps the going rate for a Saturday in Lancaster?

    Large bathroom & good shower. Quiet location - short walk to centre or along river. Well appointed for a pub.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem was the bed was very uncomfortable. Both my wife and I woke up tired and with aching backs. If they change the mattresses they use, it will transform the guest experience.

    Nice pub, nice room, nice breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Lovely place and fantastic staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent food. We had to miss breakfast the first morning as we had to catch the steam train but Carole made us a packed lunch which was amazing. Would recommend anyone to stay here nothing is to much trouble and very informative about places to visit. Wished we had more time but we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in bedroom was poor and inadequate for reading in bed. Noise from both the bar and the traffic made for a disturbed night ( unfortunately there was a wedding party in progress when we were there)

    Our room was small but well furnished and decorated and spotlessly clean. Hotel well positioned on Riverside and walking distance from city centre and several tourist attractions. The food was excellent, more upmarket restaurant standard than traditional pub grub! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We found the staff very friendly and helpful;. The location was close to town and we were able to walk to the castle. The food was good and we'd definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not dislike anything

    Nice location with lovely views of canal Nice bright room fluffy white towels Staff very friendly Pub nice bright . Good food and drink experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst I would deal with any issue at the time of my stay with a staff member or the owner, I have just remembered to have not mentioned that the shower door in our room (5) has slightly dropped on one side at the bottom and needs to be adjusted. Minor detail, but I thought the owner should know on reading this review get it rectified.

    The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and they looked after us very well to the fact that on late arrival, a member of staff offered to move their car so we could park. We did not take up the offer as I found a space and I was informed at time of booking that parking can some times be a bit limited. No problem was to small to sort and as we were out on an early morning trip one day, we were offered (we did not have to ask) a pinic or some hot bacon or sausage butties to take with us. This is a business going that extra mile. The times we had breakfast and evening meals the quality, quantity and presentation was excellent. Credit goes to the owner and her staff in making us most welcome and feel at ease.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a hidden gem. We thought we were booked into a standard pub but this was so much more. Brilliant place to stay in this area. Food exceptionally good too. Thoroughly recommendable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staf.Comfortable room and beds. Excellent location. All in all exceeded expectations and was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location for a short cycling break in the Lancaster/Morecambe area. Staff friendly and very helpful. Room small but very comfortable with plenty of tea/coffee/water & biscuits in the room. Food in the evening good value Pub food in nice environment. Breakfast exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 4 of us returned to the hotel Sunday evening just before 8pm after a full day's sightseeing only to be told the kitchen was closed for the night??. Absolutely starving we ended up ordering a chinese takeaway and ate it in the restaurant. Never have I known a hotel restaurant close at 8pm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect hotel! Owner, staff and facilities were fabulous. Location excellent. Great selection for breakfast. The owner even did our laundry for us. Thanks. Highly recommend Wagon and Horses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    W@H have dumped Skysports/BT My shower was broken

    Friendly staff Clean room Fab breakfast Perfect for town centre Lovely gastric-pub atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about this small hotel was good. The restaurant and bar were amazing. The breakfast was really well cooked with a good variety. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was really clean and comfortable and food for breakfast was excellent as was the food purchased for evening meal would highly recommend and definitely stay again easy access to M6 for trip to Scotland or Lakes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Have stayed here before and never disappoints. Lovely clean bright room, perfect location to walk into Lancaster and to also drive out to nearby places and breakfast was heavenly. Being a gluten free vegetarian isn't always easy but they accommodated me perfectly . Defo be staying again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi Fi did not work consistently.

    Great food at breakfast. Friendly staff and easy check in and out. Small rooms but with great river views and supremely clean and comfortably. Quiet but central. We will be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Attracted by an advert in Lancashire Life magazine, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. Staff were welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. Our evening meal was lovely as was the cooked breakfast. They appear to have chefs who know how to please.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't change anything

    All the staff (at varying times) were really helpful, very polite and friendly. The atmosphere in the bar downstairs was lively and welcoming but it didn't affect our twin room upstairs which was really quiet. The breakfast was fantastic too. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, who were welcoming when we arrived and very chirpy at breakfast (makes the holiday just that bit better!). The breakfast was lovely and we didn't have any issues at all; good hot powerful shower and a nice comfy bed at the end of the day. Would book again in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent , good food menu ,Good to see Gluten free on the menu ,excellent staff. Would recommend the Wagon and Horses and will be going back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything to dislike

    It was in a good location for where we was going. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very pleasant. Food was excellent the rooms very nice. All in all we would visit the hotel again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car Parking was difficult to find nearby, which was not the best thing on a wet night. Niose from Kitchen extractor was an issue in our room but probably not others.

    Very Friendly and Helpful staff. Very good food, including |Breakfast. Comfortable, warm and clean bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit too warm at times but this is a minor observation.

    The friendliness and attentiveness of staff.Very helpful .Food of a very high standard. Presentation and quality excellent. Could rival many high class restaurants. Reception on arrival was very friendly and the comforting warm ambiance from the log fire was wonderful as we had just had a long drive from Scotland on a very cod and blustery day. We felt very much at home from the very start.. Would highly recommend and will visit again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Compact and well furnished room in a pub that served really excellent food for breakfast and for an evening meal. The staff were really friendly and helpful, I'd highly recommend and will go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but very comfy bed.

    Location excellent for town and walking along river Bank. Great food. Excellent service. Clean comfortable bedroom. Very nice bar lounge. Good choice of gins.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaners had missed a few places behind the bathroom door, against the wall bed posts where dust had coolected. Over all the rooms were very clean though.

    The river location close to the town centre, excellent food, great and very professionally cooked & presented, this was not just pub food! Good choice of beer and we really enjoyed drinking our way through their Gin list. The staff were great too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front bedrooms are a bit noisy due to the main road on the other side of the river. The dining area smelt quite stronly of bleach in the morning during breakfast so the cleaners need to change cleaning products or ventilate the area better. Rooms are a bit small

    Clean, comfortable and friendly with good food and drink. Nice location for exploring the town. The pub bar area is really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small.Parking can be a problem.there is a car park at the back.but it was quite full whilst we were there.but the girl behind the bar did say they were hoping to get some permits soon.

    Very clean.staff very welcoming.friendly,especially Diane.Couldnt fault the breakfast.everything fresh and cooked from scratch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing went the extra mile for me to surprise a friend

    Absolutely love this pub. Clean and well decorated. Staff literally couldn’t of done anymore and definitely be going back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    The rooms on arrival were very clean and were kept clean and tidy throughout our stay, the food was excellent and the the public bar was again very clean. All the staff were friendly and approachable happy to provide an excellent stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise at the front of the pub - but that was the price paid for a view of the river!

    Very friendly, very comfortable bed, good toast at breakfast and a very nice owner to chat to about running a B&B. She is doing a great job.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, although furnishings were good, also due to age of building very draftee sleeping near windows even with heating on

    The staff were lovely very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Food was amazing and very good valu

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and efficient staff, beautifully clean rooms (if a little on the small side) and excellent food - this hotel/inn is highly recommended. Parking at the back and a good quiet riverside location. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little tenuous and windows in room could do with sound proofing from road noise.

    Staff helpful. The food, especially the Hake main course was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find any fault with anything!

    The Wagon and Horses has the friendliest and most welcoming staff. We felt very welcome and can't wait to stay there again. The food is excellent too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second time staying here and it won’t be our last. Great location on the quay. Very friendly staff, very good food - evening meal and especially breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't very comfortable we had a twin room my husband got the best bed (got to be quicker next time to get 1st dibs) 😂😂😂

    I loved that it was friendly and laid back ,hospitality it was second to none. Staff are really lovely . The taste and presentation of the food was absolutely excellent . We will definitely be visiting again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Nice modern room above pub. Didn't hear any noise from below, Good breakfast as well, nice choice and well better than average.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for where we wanted to be, staff very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was the best we had had in a long time, very clean restaurant and rooms. Had everything we needed. Our room was small ,don’t know if there were larger but was adequate for a couple for one nights stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a tad small but definitely value for money cant fault anything else the people make this place .

    Breakfast was awesome , great atmosphere staff were excellent very helpful and very friendly a credit to the team . The owners were great hosts and made you feel very welcome . New years eve party was excellent and great value , hosting superb and great food .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    From the minute we walked in the staff were very attentive and the land lady and landlord were on site and very friendly. Thankyou wagon and horses, we’ll be coming back to stay with you in the future. Highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy road outside, didn’t disturb my husband but woke me a few times.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was exceptionally good. Pretty location within easy walk of the town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed just a little too soft, but that's just personal preference.

    We arrived late and tired & staff were excellent, we ordered food to take to our room & they helped carry everything up to our room, very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bedroom was a little too small and was hard moving around it to get ourselves ready for going out. Other than that I cannot complain at all. Excellent and will most probably stay again but hope for a larger room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No change available when trying to settle our bill after breakfast on the Sunday morning.

    Great B&B, staff and management very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom a bit on the small side but for 1 night it was adequate. Cleanliness made up for the lack of space!

    excellent host and wish we had booked evening meal as menu looked very good and real ales to complement!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed was small although comfortable, room and bathroom could do with a freshen up

    The landlady and all the staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was fantastic as was the breakfast, parking just round the back of hotel and only a short ten minute walk into town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was slightly too warm and a smoke alarm fitted over the bed disturbed our sleep due to a flashing light on the first night but our hosts helped solve by putting plasters over it for our second night!

    The best part of our stay was the food. The breakfasts were excellent and we ate in the restaurant both evenings and were not disappointed - some very imaginative ingredients! The staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was right above a pub, so getting some sleep at night was a little harder than normal, with all the activity happening downstairs.

    Generally clean and comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking outside premises. Fortunately found somewhere around the back further along the street, but was a pain having to juggle bags and walk to premises. Room tiny! Good job I didn't want to swing a cat! Would have been horrendous if there'd been two of us in this 'double' room! Mould around shower.

    Breakfast was very substantial.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    So friendly and clean, got a real comfy feel to it. Food was fantastic and good portion sizes. The room was very comfortable, up to date and clean. Location was fantastic only a couple of minutes onto town or up to castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke alarm flashed a red LED light all night. A bit distracting when lying in bed looking at ceiling and trying to sleep.

    Cosy room and quiet location. Hearty breakfast. Great modern bathroom with powerful shower and loads of hot water. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hideously uncomfortable bed, tiny room, tiny bathroom and shower, noise from road, nowhere to put a case/bag. Poor restaurant service.

    Location, free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like

    Loved everything, the hotel itself, the view, the room, the lovely staff and the excellent food. Wagon and Horses is easy to find, and although it is tucked away in a quiet location, it is within walking distance of the centre of the lovely city of Lancaster and all the things you would care to look at, and there is A LOT to do and see here. The food was really lovely, so much to choose from and we had red wine one night and white the next, both of which were delicious. Yes, we will come again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Although the rooms were quite small they were adequate - a bugbear of mine is not enough tea/coffee etc in the rooms. Not so here, plenty, and re-filled even though we were only there for two nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegan meal really disappointing. Staff did their best to get it right but I was not happy to eat it Did not pay for this meal and glass of wine on house. Absolutely no complaints about the staff who were extremely helpful

    Delicious mushrooms and great bread for breakfast. Room compact but very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Very small room and shower Road noise really loud. Breakfast had no fresh fruit.

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the two rooms (double) we got was small. The other room (twin) was for disabled travelers, so the shower was not very comfortable. However, the main issue was strong and annoying smell left after some cleaning. Our children came to our room to use shower.

    The place is secondary to the "Wagon and Horses" bar, which appeared to be nice authentic place to be in. The food was very delicious. Even in the morning we felt we were eating not standard, but rather restaurant quality food for breakfast. The personnel and the hostess were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms quite small , rooms at front very noisy due to traffic going up and down the road. Also people from bar outside smoking which was coming into our room.

    Staff friendly, food excellent, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived we were treated to first class service. The room was gorgeous and immaculate. We had our evening meal here and the choice was brilliant. Hard to choose from a fab menu.We both had the burger with pulled pork and chips which was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was equally delicious and huge. All the staff are so friendly and attentive but a special thank you to both Matthew and Carol who are a credit to the place. We will definitely return when next in Lancaster. Thanks again for a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above the bar so obviously it was rather loud on a Friday night! As it was a hot night we couldnt close the window which I'm sure would have helped.

    Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed and great shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son who was graduating hadn't eaten and wasn't feeling well, the pub didn't serve food all day, so unable to get anything mid afternoon, not even a sandwich, very disappointed especially as a graduation party was just finishing up and the generous still healthy looking buffet was cleared away and presumably disposed of, such a shame, it definitely put a dampener on things, a little bite to eat mid afternoon especially if one is imbibing 🍷 wine, is most civilised and should be encouraged.

    Great room, very competitively priced, lovely breakfast, relaxed checkout, lovely staff, v nice historic Riverside pub, love the fact that the colourful history of the place and area was there to be read, lots of Lancaster info in room too, v nice touch 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was great - diverse menu, beautifully cooked. Flowers on windows and in outside area made the place look very inviting. Pub atmosphere was welcoming. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were helpful over the phone before I arrived, giving me details about the route to the place I had to visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear music from bar but once pointed out bar staff turned this off - staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Excellent menu and breakfast - unfortunately could not stay for dinner due to commitment but will return to sample menu choices

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fish pie, little flavour and potatoes runny.

    Staff could not do enough. Had early breakfast ready for us for to allow us to eat before our day out. Most of food lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perhaps a little small but we had everything we needed. Really there is very little to complain about.

    The food was first class and the owners and staff were very welcoming and helpful. The inn was within walking distance of the town and station. There was plenty of information on things to do in the area. Nice view over the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and the shower even smaller.

    Room was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and food was excellent both in the evening and at breakfast although the breakfast was too large!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant meals were very variable. Excellent Seafood Risotto but very poor Ribeye Steak (both mine and my wife's).

    Excellent service, particularly from Carole (the owner) who made our Grandchildren very welcome. Fantastic breakfast - not a lot of choice but quality ingredients cooked well. Very good value for money. Excellent bar with well kept beers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD AS WAS THE FOOD AT THE RESTAURANT. THE BAR ALSO VERY GOOD WITH A BIG VARIETY OF DRINKS / COCTAILS AT GOOD PRICES. THE SERVICE WAS EXCEPTIONAL. WE WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK IF WE HAVE A CHANCE IN THE FUTURE.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are extremely friendly and nice! They would do their best to provide an extremely comfortable stay and make you feel like at home. The rooms are nice and clean, modern. There is all the facilities you need at the place. The food is delicious and overall a really nice atmosphere! Would 100% recommend it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy at night time when staff downstairs were cleaning up in the bar / restaurant area

    Great location, clean / modern rooms, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small if they removed the wardrobe and replaced with a hanging rail it would give more room to manoeuvre

    Freindly staff & great food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was rather cramped and a bit dark.

    The location on a quiet street near the river. The proprietor and staff were very pleasant and it's located over a pub which serves good meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew this place from 40 years ago when it was the last word in spit and sawdust pubs, a hangout for old men with decor to match. The transformation into a beautiful, spacious pub/restaurant, beautiful and historic inside and out is truly amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Wagon & Horses traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: