Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Broom Lodge 3 stars

Park Broom Crosby On Eden, Carlisle, CA6 4QH, United Kingdom

#17 of 28 hotels in Carlisle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 647 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A perfect getaway close to Carlisle and Gretna Green
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. A beautiful setting, really comfy and the breakfast two days in a row was amazing. The owner is one of the loveliest ladies and her staff were so friendly. I would come back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great find just out of Carlisle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Super large room with four poster bed and a modern ensuite. Triple glazing shut out the road noise and made for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Great service and friendly staff. lovely meals and comfortable rooms all at amazing value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con but the staff had tried everything in order to keep the room cool including opening the windows and providing a fan. the power cut was an interesting twist and we appreciate this couldn't be helped.

    staff were great really helpful and friendly. The food was brilliant. lots of choice on the menu and a great selection for breakfast. Breakfast included in the price was an added bonus. The large bathroom provided a great area for two rather warm dogs, and the staff even found me a container to give the dogs some much appreciated cold water. Great value for money. great service and all round a really nice place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Value for money but advise on getting bigger room for couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was originally put in a small double room. Too stuffy for a couple and very little ventilation. Would recommend getting more spacious room when booking.

    Were shifted to a bigger room and that had everything we needed. Breakfast was ample and staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    My wife and I were very pleased with our stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our upstairs bedroom was located a few feet from a busy highway and the noise of traffic was loud at times.

    Staff members and owners were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the shower was welcome after a day of traveling. Dinner the night we arrived was excellent, as was breakfast the next morning that was included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect overnight
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor

    Second time here so I knew what to expect The food is excellent but the bonus for me is the location Perfect for an overnight on the way to Scotland Decor is a bit tired but clean I would definitely stay here again Staff are great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    To be honest, I booked this because it was in the right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest, I booked this because it was in the right location and cheap... it was perfect! Very friendly staff and good value. Highly recommend that you try their savoury bread and butter pudding. I have vegetarian friends who would love it. Very big portions. Lots of walking people staying who were having a good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great room, amazing food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience, staff were so friendly, room was lovely and well the food!!! The food was absolutely amazing if you have not eaten here you don't know what your missing. Amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful family run lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a wonderful family run lodge. Make sure you check in early, before 10 PM, because they don't have night staff, but it is a great value, they have superb food, and is lovely place to stay. We would drive out of our way to stay here. This was our favourite place to stay on our trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Photo on booking.com did not show it was on a main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public areas were tired and could have done with a little tlc. Bedroom had triple glazing, but you could still hear road noise.

    We arrived early and they bought us a large pot of tea in the garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    Awful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated and the bed broken, the window in the family room didn't shut nor did the toilet door. The decor was awful and very patchy and wall paper flaking off. I would never recommend this to anyone.

    Nothing. Food was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Convenient stop over on the way to ferry to Northern Ireland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there is a busy road runs past the hotel so if your room is at the front there is some traffic noise.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. I was given a jug of fresh milk so that I could make a milky bedtime hot chocolate to help my husband sleep. (There are no staff available after 10pm) The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. A lovely touch was the home made shortbread in the room to have with your tea/ coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value stay near Hadrians wall
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the busy main road and since it was so warm we had to open the window which meant it was rather noisy at times. Please note there was an additional £15 for a two night stay for the dog but given it was so reasonable i still think this is good value

    Handy for M6 and Hadrians wall. Good steak evening meal in the restaurant and access to the gardens for the dog who was also allowed in the dining area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfy beds and great food - the staff was also fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing wrong - great stay, even though the sign off the Hadrian's Wall Path says it's 137 yards off. Closer to 400 yards - but that's a very minor complaint.

    The breakfast was delicious and the dinner was fantastic. They also compensated us for a mistake with the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful little town and great accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a great size and on the ground floor, which suited us. We didn't need breakfast, so can't say what that was like. Host was very easy to deal with. Area is very quiet, bed very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    It does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very dusty, and needed updating. Went down stairs for the breakfast and waited over 15 minutes for toast to be served, 2 slices between 2 people. We then waited a further 5 minutes for someone to come and take our order. That never happened, so we went back to our room to get ready and get breakfast from somewhere else which was a shame.

    The house had a friendly feel to it, and the staff were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay away from the hustle of Carlisle centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the from do get traffic noise from the main road, which could be a problem in summer when the soundproofed windows may need to be open.

    This is a friendly comfortable place to stay just outside Carlisle. Breakfast excellent and staff very welcoming and helpful. Good parking and wifi It is being refurbished, so don't expect perfection everywhere but it didn't detract from our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really is nothing that could have made it better , was just perfect

    Everything about the place was lovely , from the warm welcome off the owner to the amazing room and comfortable bed, the breakfast was delicious, it really is a hidden gem , lovely decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Luxurious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, luxury feel to the whole place and everything that you need, very comfy bed and luxury shower room. Lots of room and beautifully areanged with nice lighting gives a nice mood. Lovely staff, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    A little gem!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's wasn't anything not to like.

    Very accommodating and friendly. Beautiful clean room with a little balcony (room 12). Tasty breakfast and dinner. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area. Road noise was not an issue, even with the windows open all night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.6
    Lovely owners please invest in this place, it could be lovely with some tic, and basic cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs completely decorating, wood chip wallpaper, hole in ceiling in dining room, carpet not laid properly, out of date hot chocolate (by 2 years) in the room. Furniture dusty, window sills dirty. Drafts patio door in bedroom which meant room could not get warm, cold draft from under shower cubicle. Real shame as the owners are so lovEly, but they really need to fix the decor and simple things. No mirror in my room near a plug so had to ask for an extension lead to use my hairdryer. Bar limited, with no snacks. Would have expected a discount with all my complaints, but still asked me to pay full price - good job I didn't make a hot chocolate with the 2 year out of date powder, could have been ill.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly owners

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.0
    You only get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower extremely small,there was only one cup and towel in our room and cobwebs on bathroom wall-also extractor on ceiling covered in grime in bathroom-all decor and carpets extremely old and place could do with modernizing

    The lady at breakfast serving was extremely helpful and polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Great lodge with a friendly welcome, and great food
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rom was a bit cold during the day when the heating went off, but it is exceptional weather!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a difficult experience with the bad weather and was stranded in Carlisle. Cath and staff were really understanding and even provided lunch for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few things cosmetically could have done with a tidy up, but for the price, it far exceeded my expectations.

    Great breakfast, and we stayed for dinner which was also excellent. Staff and owners very friendly and accommodating, big room and four poster bed. Very tasty shortbread in room! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfy and would definitely stay again. Perfect for family of 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park needs to be much better lit as well as the path to the hotel entrance. Was a little dangerous on the way in in the dark! No vegan option on the menu for evening meal. Luckily we had eaten on the way.

    Loved the room layout in that were two bedrooms within one larger family room. Great for getting the little ones off to sleep! Beds were very comfy too. Lovely bar & restaurant. They catered for the vegan amongst us at breakfast very well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    A great stop over for the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We all slept extremely well. The room was great. Two connected rooms with a bathroom to share. The double bed was nice and big. Each rooms had a TV. The kids were delighted. The food was lovely, breakfast fresh and hot. The hosts were extremely friendly, and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful. I arrived quite late but that made no difference. Well designed and equipped room which was spotlessly clean. Breakfast choice was fantastic. Exceptional value for money and a great location. I’d definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Friendly welcome and the hosts were great throughout our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in need of decoration - it had definitely seen better days. Faded wallpaper and some was hanging off. Black patches in one of the corners on the ceiling. Just not of good appearance and certainly not like the photos online.

    Friendly welcome and the hosts were great throughout our stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Superb Overnight Stop Over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THIS IS NO REFLECTION ON THE PROPERTY on the confirmation upon booking we read there would be no money being taken from our account only to find EVIIVO had preauthorised FULL payment before we checked in, then having the landlady tell us we have to pay up upon departure as Eviio take 4-5 weeks to pay the landlady. BE AWARE FOLKS

    Everything was just perfect for our needs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Cosy, homely, good service and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The metal bed was a bit creaky.

    Breakfast was lovely, good quality, especially the bacon and a very good selection of hot dishes. All in all excellent value for money and we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Very reasonable, very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to return home after just one night

    Bar and breakfast room warm and welcoming with fires lit. Our room was equally well heated. Tasty breakfast with a good selection and excellent homemade biscuits in the room!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cutlery and cups for breakfast were dirty and we found someone's underwear in one of our room's drawers. Also, the hotel has a weird smell. Maybe the guest house is very old, I am not sure. No shower gel or shampoo.

    tasty breakfast, huge tv screen and modern bathroom with perfect shower cabinet. It is a nice and quiet place just outside Carlisle and very warm inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Cosy comfortable stop over during our drive from Scotland to London. Dog friendly
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. We had a great stay

    Very friendly staff who welcomed us and our little dog. Warm and cosy with open fire which is just what we needed. Large room with comfortable four poster bed. Truly dog friendly. He enjoyed his sausage for his dinner. We booked again to stay on our journey back down from Scotland to London and we will be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and welcoming - would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is on a busy main road with quite heavy traffic, which made it quite hard to walk the dog, but I think there would have been much better walks if the weather hadn't been so wild and literally icy.

    Staff were helpful and friendly and very kind to our dog! Lovely evening meal - freshly home-made. Warm and cosy and easy to park, well off the road. Lovely old building and open fire. Easy access to the motorway.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay Staff were great Room was great Food was wonderful and the price was very reasonable I shall be staying here again in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located next to a very busy road which is difficult to cross if you want to walk to the village nearby, but that is a very minor point

    Very good value. Room was clean and comfortable - would certainly recommend for a weekend/one night stopover

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    We were on our way to Scotland, so it was an ideal overnight stop
    • Couple

    In room No 1 there was a strange intermittent noise which we think was a pump in the boiler room next door - a little offputting but we got used to it

    A good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Our stay was perfect unbeatable value for money, if you are in the area this accommodation is a must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - Couldn't have asked for more

    We stayed in a gorgeous room, great bathroom, exceptional breakfast and at a great price. It is ran by a really lovely couple. They also provided some really helpful advice on our trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Friendly staff. Beautiful big room. Delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Beautiful big toasty room. Cath called us before arrival to check what time we would check in and to apologise for kitchen being closed at that time. The hotel was warm staff could not have been more helpful The breakfast was absolutely amazing and the chef accommodated for our baby son. Cath could not have been more welcoming and helped advise us on our onward journey. It was a lovely quiet rural setting with beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Excellent Standard, Comfort and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor point but the lighting in the car park could have been better but we always carry a torch in our vehicle so this did not present too much of an issue.

    This is the second time that my partner and I have stayed at Park Broom Lodge and on both occasions we have been delighted with the rooms, service and hospitality of the owners. On our most recent visit we were upgraded at no extra cost to a wonderful suite with a beautiful 4 poster bed: lots of space, a balcony where we could sit outside and enjoy a drink, a large shower enclosure and exceptionally comfortable bed. The room is very quiet despite being situated on quite a busy road. All this topped by a fabulous breakfast with about 5 choices of hot breakfast as well as a cold buffet. Excellent value for money and we will definitely book again when we are next an route for Scotland!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed it, would have no hesitation staying again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is patchy, could not get connected in room, fortunately the property is in a 4G area, other than that I couldn't fault anything else, especially at the price paid

    Excellent room, fantastic breakfast and lovely staff, for the rate charged it just can't be beaten, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Convienent location not too far from the motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming staff. Made me a very nice sandwich on arrival. Bathroom appeared to have been recently refurbished - very tidy. As I was only staying for one night it is hard to comment further.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Superb 🍾
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in main entrance and corridors needs attention.....first impressions do count!!.

    Although the entrance and stairs were a little tired and in need of decoration, the rest of the property was ok. Our room was large,clean and the bed was really comfy.....one if the best i've slept in for a while. Loved the walk in shower and the balcony which would be lovely in summer 😎. We had our evening meal there and it was delicious....the steak was like cutting through butter....Mmmmm!!👍. Our breakfast was also very nice, although I wasn't too fussed on the sausage.....nothing wrong with it just not to my taste. If you want 5* accomodation this hotel is not for you......however, if you want quirky, value for money,excellent food, friendly hosts and cleanliness then this is the hotel for you🛎.We will certainly be visiting again. 🐴

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    A welcoming stay in Cumbria with really good food and nice people.
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving in the dark there was insufficient lighting and direction from the car park to the entrance. It all became clear in the daylight.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely and clean and warm with a large comfortable bed and newly appointed shower room with walk in shower. Our evening meal was delicious with an interesting choice of home cooked meals on the menu and breakfast was perfect, well cooked and using local produce again a very good menu. A good stop on our way North.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    A very pleasant stopover on the way to SW Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, with a huge very comfortable bed. The ensuite was modern and fresh. The staff were most welcoming and accommodating. We ate in the restaurant and the food was first class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, everything you need in the room, lovely hosts.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms at the front tend to shake each time a lorry went past as it's on a main A road. Double glazing keeps noise down though.

    Lovely hosts, fantastic breakfast included. Warm, cosy, nice option of restaurant and bar if you're up late or want dinner. Great that they have family rooms and allow pets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely loved it. Warm welcome, lovely helpful staff. Home from home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a socket next to the mirror for ease of drying hair.

    Excellent menu offering tasty well cooked food and choice of dishes. Loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Don't judge the place on the outside as we did ! Get in and meet the hosts and enjoy the ambience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks were deceiving outside , but it is winter and on a main road which don't do the hotel justice.

    The food excellent , Dinner and breakfast excellent. Hostess was lovely and very charming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dusty and could have had more care to paintwork, shower cubicle had black mould on parts of silicone

    Home cooked excellent value and quality meals, lovely staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Great for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great for a one night stay - we had a lovely meal on site and the breakfast was also very delicious. Clean and comfortable room. Easily accessible from the motorway. A good stopover while visiting Carlisle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was soooo deep, I have never felt to relaxed, the bed was incredibly comfy and nothing was too much trouble for the staff! The food served in the restaurant was beautiful, we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant overnight stay a short distance from the M6
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy well-used road but tempered by extremely efficient double glazing

    Comfortable bed in a pleasant room. Newly fitted bathroom with an efficient shower. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Only a few minutes drive from the M6

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.0
    Was not like the pictures.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Business stay. breakfast was late. The bathroom was mouldy and wallpaper coming off walls. The engineer decided against evening meal upon arrival. Unfortunately photos online must be old.

    double bed in a single room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great hosts and lovely food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only available in the bar, as signal even with best efforts of the owners didn't work upstairs in rooms.

    Handy for Carlisle. Great hosts and great food, both for breakfasts and dinners. Would definitely use again if we're in the area again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable overnight stay
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the room didn't have was a wardrobe but for one night that wasn't a problem. There are bigger rooms, however, which I think do have them. It is by a main road but it didn't stop us having a good night's sleep.

    Staff were friendly; bed was comfortable; breakfast was excellent, with a good selection to choose from. Our dog was also able to join us at breakfast, which was a real bonus. It was an ideal place to stop whilst visiting family. Would stop again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Stayed here twice now on my way up to Scotland.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Stayed here twice now on my way up to Scotland. Know what you getting- tidy/clean room for the night and decent food. No frills but ideal if travelling on a budget. Food is really good and it is worth eating in the restaurant. Really dog friendly and no extra cost for the dog either!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice to find a comfortable hotel with excellent food where we could also take the dog.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have done with a bin outside to dispose of the dog waste but having said that, staff were happy to take the waste from us and dispose of it themselves.

    We had an evening meal and also breakfast the following day in the restaurant and both meals were excellent. Great choice on the menu as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Excellent friendly small hotel in a convenient location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was exceedingly good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The jar of chocolate drink in the room was an extra bonus. Lovely views across the fields and lots of wild birds on the feeders in the garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Recommended for travellers with cars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent wifi signal.

    We were given a complementary upgrade to a room with a four-poster bed and large screen TV. Good dinner and breakfast. Convenient location for Carlisle airport and the Solway aviation museum, One of the most comfortable beds we have experienced - with great pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    An oldie but a goodie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms require more ventilaton prior to guests arrival.

    Old style comfortable Lodge with good bathroom facilities. In house evening dining a real plus as this property is located on the outskirts of Carlisle. Excellent chef. Dishes were creative and beautifully cooked. We would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before going out we doubled checked that there was no set time for lock in, we were told our key would open the front door. When arriving back we were locked out in the cold and had to eventually ring the owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay longer than only one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable and a good mixture of antique and modern style. The options for eating and drinking were very large and delicious - for dinner and for breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though the house is close to a fairly busy street there was no noise in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall reasonably priced and the service compensated for the minor problems. Great breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit shabby and shower very weak, also a smell of drains. Was a bit surprised to be charged £7.50 for the dog as no charge was mentioned when booking.

    Staff very helpful. We arrived about 9. 45 pm and they opened the kitchens and made us fish & chips of a very good standard. Large comfy bed ,tea & coffee in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    Adequate but with reservations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We felt the hotel was going through a very slow updating we were put in a room that on the face of it looked nice but it was not finished off by who ever was doing the work, the shower rise & fall pole was not fixed to the wall properly the bathroom mirror was not connected to the electricity and many other minor things, the carpets in the corridors we assume are waiting to be replaced but were not fixed down and would be a potential hazard and a electric socket was broken. It did not make it clear that it was a very dog friendly Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Staff tried to make things right but inn needed some TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had poor wifi and the bed was not very comfortable. The whole facility needed a good maintenance check. Lights in room not working,sidewalk from car lot had lawn debri and make it difficult when getting you luggage to and from car

    The breakfast was very good and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Totally accommodating
    • Family with young children
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and i loved the huge TV, a really huge bed, cosy temperature in all areas of the Lodge. The cooked breakfast, has gone to the top of the leader board. Friendley, obliging proprietors and staff. We'll definitely stay here again, when visiting our son at Uni in Carlisle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed it sufficiently that we would like a second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were friendly and the food delicious. Enjoyed the haggis dish for dinner. Breakfast was good and filling setting us up for a long drive north that day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay. Very friendly and welcoming.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was really friendly. Made us and our dog feel very welcome. Accommodation was good as was the food. Great place to stay on the way to or from Scotland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    We were apprehensive about having 16 in our party but the hotel coped well and made us welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight odour in bedroom which appeared to come from outside the hotel.

    Excellent evening meal. Catered extremely well with 16 in our party. Service was very good. Breakfast next morning was also extremely good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions poor. Arrived late, place was all in darkness and no note left for us. Motion sensor lights in hallway didn't work so we were stumbling around in the dark, both at night and the next morning. Beds were uncomfortable so sleep was limited. Wifi kicked us out, which it apparently does sporadically.

    Breakfast was good. Variety available. Quick service. Owner attempted to be helpful and to compensate for rough arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on suit was tiny -for a person of average build it was very small - spotlessly clean but really too small for comfort -still for the price it was acceptable

    clean - very friendly staff - great meals

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel is perfect - the food, the comfortable bed, the location and mostly the owners. This is the second time we have stayed and I cannot wait to go back. You are made to feel so welcome. I can highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of building work but trying best to keep disruption minimum for guests Would love to stay again when alteration complete

    Excellent food Very friendly staff-dog friendly In need of some modernisation Ideal location for local attractions Ample free parking Ideal for walkers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    A delightful break in the middle of our Hadrian's Wall walk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some relaxing background music in the lounge / dining area would have been appreciated (very quiet)

    Wonderful, friendly hospitality and amazing food! The whole experience was very homely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.0
    it looks nicer than it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old mattresses with stains. they could have purchased new ones for 169 pounds at the nearest store but they were to cheap. you need extra blankets to place under the sheets so you don't feel the springs.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Park Broom Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: