Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel 4 stars

Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey, EN9 3LX, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Waltham Abbey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1439 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could be updated. It's a 20 min bus ride from Loughton underground station, then a 10 mins to the hotel.

    The comfy bed. Breakfast was varied with hot and cold buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st room I was given had a faulty shower and taps, the water was boiling hot and the cold tap just point blank did not work! Someone came to look at it and declared it faulty. So I had to move room! The room I was moved to was much smaller. I expected so much more from the Marriott and was really very disappointed.

    The staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable Light on all night outside window - shone through gap in curtains Window didn't open properly Room was hot but aircon noisy

    The spa bath Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For such a well laid out hotel, it was strange to have scrimped on the size of the changing rooms in the leisure area. When more than 3 people were trying to get changed it became a confused mess.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff were good and helpful in all areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room could have been more efficient as the cooling effect took too long.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bar and restaurant was relaxing with very good service. Enjoyed our evening meal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning not working properly complained in the night to be told no fans were available. Duty manager visited our room. He set the settings but made no difference at all. Was a real shame as this was the only negative comment we had.

    Excellent staff in the restaurant very attentive. Food was of a good quality and cooked to perfection. Nice pool area with sauna and steam room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When one of our group was taken ill, surprised to find there appears to be no member of staff with medical experience to take over. Had to wait for ambulance which fortunately came quickly and sorted it out. But the room was then cleaned and tidied very well after we were able to leave.

    Breakfast was good, staying with extended family and something there for everyone. Rooms clean, and lot of assistance in getting rooms close to each other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checkout stated I had to pay for two breakfasts even though I had this in my two night package , which was already paid for , although it was non refundable, so it was a good price . When I showed the receptionist the confirmation he stated it was only a screen shot ?? Funny this was good enough to check in with ? Waived the parking fee as a peace gesture but the Incident spoilt the stay ... pity . Ifs it’s due to a break down in communication with booking .com and the hotel it needs sorting ASAP!

    Good location , food and drinks ok , staff try hard to please everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were awful or excellent. Harrison on reception -5 stars. Steven on the bar also went above and beyond. Check in was a nightmare. One person on (Harrison) at 3pm check in. Waited almost half an hour. Duty night manager was extremely rude to other guests staying - air con failed for half the hotel no fans were available even for the elderly and a disabled lady. No decent solution to the problem. Quite abrupt with another two separate guests asking for help on other matters. Spoon in fire vent 🤷🏾‍♀️ broken toilet in room which would be dangerous as it was a disabled allocated room. #181 WiFi non existent in rooms - ours was near the lobby. My friend was nearer the rear of the hotel and had nothing also.

    The bed was comfortable. Facilities mainly four star. Breakfast and bar food was good quality. Quiet location. No faffing with putting free parking tickets in car - type into a laptop in reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning for the duration of the stay!Very disturbed sleep if any. Most staff were apologetic...but not the female manager...needs to go on a customer service/ relations course....so rude it was unbelievable .

    Easy to get to and the layout was pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was empty. Had to pay a Security. I am a Family man with 2 Kids. What damage are we likely to cause. Breakfast was expensive. Had to pay for Car parking.

    Bedy were comfy. Leisure facilities were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My brother,who drove me and stayed in the hotel was charged £4 for parking!Complicated instructions on the bath taps,as to how to get the right temperature water out of the two taps,however I could not get the cold water out of the cold water tap,so had to wait until the hot water cooled down!!

    Large selection of food for breakfast,comfy bedroom and a bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the food was good

    The architecture and the setting was lovely. The facilities were good too and the staff were very accommodating. The massage therapist was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and hotel in need of overhaul. stayed in a junior suite jacuzzi bath did not work, shower did not work and iron was broken. AC was loud and doors to ground floor balcony did not lock.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was fully booked so we could not get a massage, the pool was full of kids and not a relaxing/spa environment. We came over bank holiday weekend which was really hot, however there was no where to lay outside / sunbathe. Our aircon in the room was broken. After 2 complaints we were given a fan which helped a little, and a 10% discount off our hotel room. The discount was not applied and I was charged the full room rate including a £50 fee for incidentals. I was advised this fee would show as 'pending' however I have been charged it, and now need to wait for a refund, including a refund of the 10%.

    Great breakfast quality and good variety.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel.Pleasant reception staff The health centre was excellent...very friendly member of staff there in the evening.... Good Breakfast choices and staff assistance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little up-dating.

    We stayed only a night but it was Comfortable and the room was dark in the morning, always a plus when you’ve been out the night before. Good bar area for a quick drink before bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not so friendly and my booking did not come through properly. We booked afternoon tea and I was not impressed at all with it. It was for a birthday so it was sad that it was it better.

    Nice room, lovely restaurant. Amazing leisure facilities. Restaurant staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry put dislike in wrong place

    I thought that the hotel on first view was good but in some ereas were poor ie carpet in hall ways frade should have shower doors in bathrooms not curtains

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed as according staff hotel was very quiet on the night of my stay. Bar and room menu available but very limited. I feel if they are unable to provide full facilities as advertised I should have been advised prior to arrival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication between staff, this included checking in and also in the restaurant.

    Some staff very efficient and extremely welcoming. Good leisure complex.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take the information about the extra holding fee out of the terms and conditions and highlight it better in the booking stages so that customers are fully aware of what to expect on Arrival and not faced with more fees😡😡

    I was asked on check in to pay an extra £50 holding fee ..that was not highlighted when I booked online ..the manager was very rude about my concerns when I spoke to her about it the next day ..all she said was you will be reimbursed with 3 to 5 working days..🤨totally unacceptable. Worst hotel I have stayed in ever

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't fault any part of our stay.

    I can honestly say the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Even the huge pillows were a dream. Very friendly staff and a perfect breakfast to top it all off.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid I was expecting it to be more fancy and we was told by one of the stuff we had to pay £50 but would get it back first thing in the morning then we put keys in the box in the morning so I asked another member of stuff what is happening with the £50 that was ment to be given back this morning he said yeah takes 4-5 days I’m not impressed and won’t be staying at your hotel again as it’s disappointing how your staff did not explain this the night we stayed I feel ripped off

    The room was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was either very good or quite disappointing. Breakfast couldn't be faulted but was expensive. scallopes as a starter were good but my main course described as a "bacon chop" was actually a rather poor example of Pork chop. I signed for our 3 dinners including a £10 tip then on check-out a further service charge had been added, just ott. Guests shouldn't be asked to pay for o/n parking and I didn't.

    Decor and furnishings very good. Staff mostly very friendly although accents sometimes difficult

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there wasn't anything I didn't like only small minus was the tea making facilities only had one coffee and 2 decaf ones only one English tea others earl grey but that was only a small minus

    breakfast was very good beds comfortable very clean staff very friendly pleasantly surprised there was an iron and ironing board plus tv was great lovely size will stay at marriotts again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a pot of tea at breakfast not a mug with hot water which was not boiling. The water pressure in the room for a shower was not good - had to hold the shower to get wet.

    Convenient just off the M25

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room (too small) the taps only came out with hot water, the window only opens an inch and the room was very bland and the price was very expensive considering what we got

    The bed was ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly no fridge in the room The tv paired with my phone but only on audio not with Netflix I ordered a glass of wine on room service and was charged 4 pounds on top of the price as a tray fee. There was a function and lots of the guests were partying in the corridor outside the room until well after 2am

    The bed was very comfortable, lovely bath The receptionist was really lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t get WiFi in rooms without paying £10 per day. Wasn’t told that breakfast in bed was charged. They take a £50 “additional charges fee” which should be credited back to my account, two days on, still not in and I’ve tried calling but not answer.

    The facilities are great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the assistant I asked for the Hotel to invoice the company and not the guests and it was informed that that would be done. once the guests arrived, they were forced to pay themselves.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer in room, they had a large and rather noisy party on and there was a lot of food mess and the smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors. The staff were also very slow and their didn’t seem to be many on shift for the tonnes of people at the party. Room key didn’t work first time and my check in took around 35 minutes.

    Good location and room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa in my room was from the 80's yet reception area have great leather ones. No free with wi fi. Had to pay for parking and had to pay a £50 refundable deposit! Which takes 3-4 days to refund!

    Bed very comfortable and good quality toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel hot. Heating needed to be turned down. Pool nice but busy with noIsy children. Changing area, run down. Restaurant very expensive and food not that good.!!! Bar very expensive. Hotel needed little TLC in areas.

    Room clean and spacious, Pool nice. Staff friendly. Breakfast good. Bed comfy. Shower hot, towels and robe good. Supply of toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Although rather modern for our taste outside the inside was beautiful especially the ceilings. Loved the warm colours of the decor. Furniture quite quirky but loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were absolutely phenomenal, so friendly and helpful at all times, from the lovely lady at the check-in desk, to the restaurant manager, to the spa staff. They made our stay special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bed was quite hard, but it may suit some people’s taste. I think it’s a cheek to ask people say at the hotel to pay a parking charge and I said so. I was pleased to see that we weren’t charged In the end! The setting was a bit urban, You couldn’t really walk anywhere.

    The room was spacious, very clean and the towels are nice and big. The staff were very helpful and friendly and there was a very nice ambience around the hotel and at the swimming pool. Although the food was quite expensive it was very good, It was an interesting menu.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    the Rooms were very comfortable and clean and quiet the staff was amazing,nothing was a problem with very smiley faces ,the breakfast was delicious,the amount of food on offer was to meet anyone’s taste I would highly recommend this hotel.Also not forgetting the pool,sauna,steam room and gym which is a bounus excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    na

    Lovely hotel. We booked it quite last minute and given the cost, we were really pleased. Very comfortable and quiet room, nice big bed and TV. The room service was very good as was the breakfast. Overall very happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area very hot! No conveniently placed plug sockets in room.

    Large, clean and good facilities with nice bar area. Room was large with comfy bed and staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Great on-site grill restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to pay a deposit of £100 was unexpected. We where not informed before. The room size was not according to the advertisement. Sadly, it was much smaller!

    The leisure facilities was good. The breakfast was lovely. The staff where friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure how I felt about parking, somehow myself and receptionist never entered or advised over entering vehicle registration onto hotel system.

    Both receptionists were so helpful when I needed to discuss situations surrounding my parties check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t comfortable at all. It felt very hard and rigid. I did ask for extra pillows but that didn’t really help.

    The breakfast was very nice. Waitresses and waiters were happy to help and always had a smile on their face. The rooms were very clean. The lobby and reception areas very clean as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large group of people at the hotel, hotel had to phone police to get them removed. Baby pooed in pool. Pool v hot and very busy. Took ages to get served a drink. Key card stopped working

    Staff were really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car charges.

    Dinner and Breakfast excellent but having to pay to park the car was not expected, hence not cost effective and as a member of the Marriott family was disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that you had to pay for WiFi, after paying lots of money for the stay

    I liked the breakfast, breakfast was absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurants service charge was automatically added to our bill at the end of the stay. When querying it, it was deducted immediately. Guests need to watch out for this!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I booked a suite room for two adults one child had to wait for a bed to be delivered for my daughter around 19pm they should have checked the booking. They had to get it from another hotel. Also the room had a jacuzzi bath but no instructions were available on how it works plus a deposit for food was taken which I feel is wrong we didn’t need any food or drinks, they said it would take a few days to get my money back, I’m not happy won’t be booking with this hotel again, it should be instant or do t take money in advance not everyone is going to steal from the Marriott hotel.

    Comfy beds good swimming pool sauna

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laura on Reception was incredible - very helpful, knowledgeable and professional. Also Harrison on departure was terrific. Very friendly staff. Excellent choice of breakfast items. Lovely, spacious room with very good quality linen, toiletries and towels. Had a great time, and will return!l

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/ breakfasr

    During breakfast there was alcohol in my cranberry juice, staff removed the juice and replaced it impediment however i did not be able to eat as i was feeling extremely sick and unwell after waking up and first thing drinking cranberry and alcohol. This has never happen to me before its the first time but was absolutely awful. I vomited 4 times and was feeling sick the whole day

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like much about this hotel... being the Marriott we thought it would be quality but no, the room was a very old design old furniture the air con took 15 mins to warm up. By the time it got warm the whole room was freezing because it was blowing cold air. There was an old soap in the bed bathroom which was not changed by house keep Also there was a pack of tooth paste in the bin which was not cleaned again left by guest before us. the coffe was not refilled for the second day. And on the second day toilet bin was not cleaned when it was clearly full. Finally on the second day I took a shower with cold water there was a problem with your hot water. It being a high rated hotel i would have thought it would be a pleasent experience unfortunately it was horrible and we will never be back again.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expected the superior room to be better also description regarding bath tub is misleading, really should say standard bath tub and shower to represent its the same as in houses. Also no one picks up to room service phone had to go and order at reception.

    Staff and manager good customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my partner went to the hotel with friends. Even though we all booked on booking.com they wasn't asked to pay a £50 damage fee if something got broken but we did which didn't make sense. Plus it says on theyr website that we could get manicures and pedicures but when me and my friend went to get one done on the 2nd day we was there they said they didn't have any for that day so that was the only disappointments but other than that it was a good experience.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great hotel to stay, from the time you walk in to the time you leave. Friendly, proffessional, clean, quite great rooms, Leisure centre great. Beakfast and dinner good choice and very good chef. Parking on site.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We I can understand people getting drunk and laughing but not slamming doors banging down doors demanding to be let in the room. then smashing the door with their fist and swearing and shouting abusive for half and hour. Then once in the room shouting and swearing at the top of the voice ....all about 2am to 3am!!!! on a relaxing break for my wife who is due to have a major operation !!! not relaxing. The young man as we checked out could only manage a 'oh sorry' ....we love Marriots may need to rethink!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV kept losing signal. The air conditioner/heater was very noisey. The supply of milk was rather mean - there was insufficient for two of us to have a cup of tea each. The coffee at breakfast reminded me of how coffee used to be in the UK 30 years ago.......expectations are now much higher!!

    Our room was conveniently located and appropriate for the mobility needs that I requested when booking. The bed was spacious and comfortable with good facilities and supply of toiletries. The swimming pool was excellent - very quiet with no kids, but this was on one of the coldest nights of the winter! The cooked breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bar area, cold food car park Prices, Wi-fi prices, and not a well stocked bar.

    The staff was very polite, the bar was very disappointing no tia Maria poor selection of lager, these establishments should realise must if the people that frequent the hotel are used to drinking normal beers like Carla berg etc! Although it’s nice to have good ales, most men like a good pint of something familiar. Also the bar was freezing cold with the air con on. We saw many people huddled up with there coats on. Not a cosy atmosphere to fine and drink in, we would have stayed in the bar longer had it been warmer. We ordered the lamb pittas which was only Luke warm which was not edible. It’s a shame because as I said the staff was very nice, paying for parking was a no no too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast who were looking at us like we were robbers or something. There was no welcome book explaining things like the fact you can only order hot food until 11pm . The bathroom looked old and the tiles needed grout cleaner, there was no hot Chocolate in the room, and I don’t drink tea or coffee.

    I liked the friendly staff at check in/check out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upgraded online but wasnt given the junior suite. Then a bit of kuffle at breakfast with waitress quite insistent we was room only. Why dont you put a bench in the smoking area?

    Quiet. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No robe or slippers but then I realized I had previously travelled with a gold or platinum (?) member!! :). I did miss them, though but not a fault of the hotel. I just need to stay with you more often!!

    Everything. Have been to several Marriott hotels in Uk and abroad - incl Australia. This was as good as all I have stayed with.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was badly served and took a long time to come out, when it did it was either wrong or inedible.

    We loved the beds and the pillows, also the towels were large and fluffy. The staff were friendly and helpful, except the male manager

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the gym was closed for most of my stay and when it did re-open some of the equipment still wasn't working - I have stayed at this hotel several times over the last few months and none of the faulty equipment has been fixed while I have stayed.

    The staff are extremely polite and helpful and the breakfast is very good quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the buffet breakfast was very expensive for what it was and the muffins & croissants were rock hard

    The fact we had a door from our room to go outside when we wanted to smoke or get some air

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We took the trip as it was my son 30th birthday and he lives around the corner from the hotel. We took my grandkids, our stay was lovely staff were so friendly and nothing to much trouble, even when we went to the pool. When we chech out the receptionist shook my 4 year old grandsons hand. He said the lady was lovely and she shook my hand. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again when we come to my sons

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firm pillows Noise of heating going off and on during the night Guests banging doors at 5-6am on the Sunday morning Unable to use swimming facilities because of a chemical imbalance which should have been addressed a lot quicker.

    Good bed Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent choice at breakfast, they staff were most helpful. The bonus for us was the stunning health club facilities, a fabulous pool for a pre-breakfast swim, wish we could have stayed longer. We didn’t use the restaurant or bar area other than for breakfast but it looked good with extensive menus in both.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Thought the restaurant was expensive they would not give us dinner for £14.95 as stated in booking details. Breakfast was average on first morning better on second. Tea & coffee weren't nice and the toaster grill didn't work

    Pool, our meal in iron grill was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    long wait in the bar to order a drink and food. paying to park your car, I don't think I have stayed anywhere else that I have had to pay to park.

    lovely big room, and the leisure facilities were very good, easy to use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in the bathroom & very, very slow service in the restaurant with overpriced food. The crab linguine just tasted of chillies & there was no crab for £16!!

    Large room & nice pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room wasnt ready upon my arrival but it didnt matter.

    The facilities and the fact that the car park wasnt expensive... very reasonable. Breakfast was nice plenty to choose from

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The welcome we received, the hospitality, I rang reception to find out the nearest Chinese Resturant and was advised to order the meal than going there which was really convenient for us, the Resturant staff were good our plates were taken from us after eating we stayed and chat didn’t feel pressure to go, and as for the hot tub that was personally my best facility of my weekend there, I will definitely recommend the hotel and I will definitely be going back there, I would like to say thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no extractor, for a Deluxe room it was very basic and could do with updating. Reading light on one side of the headboard was broken.

    The staff were very pleasant and very keen to help. The restaurant offers a excellent choice of food/beverages ....sausages delicious (if you like sausages)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but as a vegetarian you had to ask for alternatives also had to ask for Soya milk. Yoghurt was clurred

    . The TV lots of choice. Nice comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on-site restaurant was hit or miss. Ordered a starter which was extremely salty and a main which was pretty bland. Mentioned it to the waitress who was lovely and offered an alternative meal , she subsequently informed the duty manager who was not just blasé but was flippant with her comments which was loud and clear enough for us to hear. On leaving the restaurant, the manager coldly asked us to sign the bill, which we did but there was mentioned our experience , she didn't ask how the was meal , nothing. We weren't entirely surprised as whilst we waited to be seated she simply looked over at us and went back to doing her work and so we waited for a waitress to attend to us , which she did well.

    Location just off M25. Spacious and everything near by Eg restaurant, reception , leisure centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure when you book that you select free WiFi’s and free parking - expensive if you have to pay

    PoolS and saunas bigger and better than you expect in a hotel - separate kids and hot pools.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: