Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Warkworth House Hotel 3 stars

16 Bridge Street, Warkworth, NE65 0XB, United Kingdom

#4 of 9 hotels in Warkworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 512 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff, nice location, room a little disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not as portrayed on the internet website which was a bit disappointing. Furnishings were a bit 'tired' although the bathroom looked as though it had been recently refurbished

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Very good and would defiitley return if we were in the area again, even if only for a meal.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The food was excellent and reasonably priced with large portions. They could provde a good variety if gluten free food and my husband coud even eat food not normally available to coeliacs. Even the dog got a treat!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Wide choice of cooked courses for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rather limited size of some parking spaces. Entry and exit narrow and possibly difficult for other than smallish cars (we had a small car).

    Wide choice of cooked courses for breakfast. Evening meals of very good qualify with wide choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.5
    Room poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    “Superior room” was very small, with tiny en suite. Bit noisy, facing main road and only single glazing. WiFi didn’t work.

    Staff, breakfast and location all very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing and thoroughly pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Odd bits of maintenance and decoration, but nothing major. After all the hotel doesn't claim to be 5 star! Car parking is quite limited.

    The hotel is an old coaching inn, is tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished with good quality furniture and fittings. All of the staff with whom we had contact were friendly yet professional, helpful and obliging, and good humoured! The quality of the food served is excellent, with more than generous portions. The restaurant staff are attentive but aren't overpowering. The hotel does what it does very well indeed. All in all, a lovely place to stay for a relaxing break in Northumberland!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Great location, great food, good facilities and friendly staff. Very dog friendly...a great break had by all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Friendly accommodating Hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little road noise but not too disturbing.

    Accommodated our celiac grand-daughter with no fuss both for dinner and breakfast ....many choices available on both menus. Very helpful and cheerful staff. Good clean rooms and bathrooms. Beach easy to get to and fascinating for an eight-year old. Saw herons on the riverbanks near the church.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    The breakfast was second to none every morning but the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I did not like except perhaps the small car park.I was lucky enough to get a space and did not have to move my car.So that was perfect and I am told that there is plenty on the street parking very nearby. I would have liked the staff to wear name badges but that is just an observation.

    The breakfast was second to none every morning but the scrambles eggs and bacon,had I been Paul Hollywood would have earned a Paul Hollywood handshake. The room was as I requested with single beds and walk in shower.Bonus.....our room was on the ground floor!The bar was a comfortable place to sit and have a drink after a day meeting family.Dan was a jack of all trades, he was to be found in the restaurant, reception and in the bar! I actually asked him if he was a twin! And finally as we were leaving I asked him for directions to the A1 and this he did with perfect precision. I will for sure recommend this hotel to others without hesitation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    We had driven for 7 hours to get to the Hotel and arrived to a smiling face at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    there was nothing we didn't like

    The staff were excellent, friendly and very accommodating they made our holiday extremely enjoyable, the area in Northumberland was a wonderful surprise, it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay we would advise any one to stay even like us if you don't have dogs they were no trouble at all

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful, and food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As older visitors, the bedside lighting was a bit dim for reading. Would have liked to have had some control over heating as it was a little too hot at times. Opening a window meant quite a lot of traffic noise.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic experience and highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, the food was exceptional, the room was fantastic. We also left our walking boots and they are posting them on to us. We cannot praise Walkworth house enough and are recommending it to all our friends and working colleagues.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Lovely room, great service, staff friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the open shower which does make the bathroom floor wet whatever you do, but not a problem as cleaned by the time we came back every day.

    Lovely room, great service, staff friendly and welcoming. Cosy and lovely food. We had dinner one night which was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Lovely Hotel in a lovely village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night in this lovely hotel. Bedroom was tastefully decorated and very comfortable, bathroom was spotless with lovely fluffy towels. We dined in the hotel in the evening and the quality of the food was excellent. Breakfast was particularly good with plenty of choice, nice to see porridge on the menu. There is only a small car park, but parking is available without charge in the square which is only a couple of minutes. Staff were very friendly. Would certainly stay there again if we visit Northumberland in the future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely village near Northumberland Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy main road but gets quieter at night. Would request a room at the back if staying there again. Small rooms. Our breakfast table was missing many essentials (hadn't been cleared properly from previous guests). Dirty glasses for fruit juice on the buffet (full of fingerprints). Bit expensive.

    Lovely village setting. Comfortable rooms with well-appointed bathrooms. good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was nothing that we disliked.

    The bedroom was well proportioned and the bed comfortable. There was a well stocked courtesy tray including hot chocolate! There was a wide choice at breakfast and also the evening dining menu. All the food was beautifully cooked and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    A fabulous find for a couple of nights away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY negative was the rubbish water pressure in the showers.

    The staff were amazing, couldn't do enough for us. Very friendly but not intrusive. Great food, a cute little bar to end the night and big gorgeous uniquely decorated rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    It was a most friendly and welcoming hotel - staff could not...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a most friendly and welcoming hotel - staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Dogs made welcome with choice of being able to eat with your pet or well separated from animals. The decor and furnishings were delightful - we really felt pampered.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need car to reach beach car park as no path by road.

    Hotel had character. Comfortable clean room with plenty of sockets. Very clean bathroom and thick towels. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Gluten free options available in restaurant. Location convenient for high street and walking to river.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable. Would certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a very hit and miss affair. We couldn't park in hotel car park as it was full and when we left it was raining very hard so we got very wet loading car.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and the ambience was excellent. Food was very plentiful and very good choices of very good quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Room was beautifull, lovely and clean and the bed was so comfy. We didn't want to get out of it. The shower was fantastic. Evening meal and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fault was the shower. The partition only covered the side of the shower so the front of the shower floor got soaked when you were using it and there was no shelf or anything to put your toiletries on

    Lovely interior. Only s 2 minute walk from the amenities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay with everything we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the centre of Warkworth and a lovely room. The hotel is an old building with traditional features but with tastefully decorated bedrooms and modern bathroom fittings. We would certainly go again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    I would recommend staying here; the hotel is comfy and in the centre of the village which is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having the radio playing at breakfast was very irritating as was having (dreadful) music piped at all times it seemed downstairs. Absolutely no need for it, the hotel has enough atmosphere. No provision for cake / scones / biscuits if one wanted tea. That would be a good addition (especially after walking ten miles).

    Breakfasts good but could do with decent bread rather than packaged and sliced. Local jams would be good although I realise there is a cost implication. Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has been done up to an excellent standard (certainly in our bedroom). Food was hearty if not haute cuisine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed with the room, but would consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a superior room, only to find that we had been put in a room under the eaves. As my partner is over 6 foot two, he found the room uncomfortably cramped and claustrophobic. Also, parking is tricky.

    The hotel is very nicely furnished and the staff were friendly and efficient. Warkworth is a lovely setting and we found the hotel a good base for travelling around Northumberland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely location, village is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely location, village is superb. We were there for a visit to the Castle on a trip south. LOVED it. Would use again when in area. Good food, nice staff, pretty room, good bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    we found it value for money and we would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the chef needs to learn how to dress his plates better, the food was plentiful ( to much for me ) so good value, but it was let down by poor presentation. that said i am being picky because i am in the trade, ( this is meant to be constructive not destructive ) the strangest thing was to be served olives on every plate ie. starters and mains ??? wonder if there is a reason for that which i am not aware of.

    the bedroom was very comfortable, the bed was very good, bathroom was very clean with plenty of toiletries and towels. breakfast was ok. but the egg yolks on both mornings were hard not soft, having said that plenty of choice and the sausages were exceptional . all in all a good visit we would book again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Great friendly hotel would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot during out stay and the room had no air conditioning. Did not realise until following morning that there was a fan in the wardrobe!

    Very friendly hotel - old fashioned but not dated! Rooms were quaint - breakfast room was fabulous - extra little touches which makes you feel welcome. Situated in ideal situation for visiting Northumberland. We stayed for a concert at Alnwick Castle and upon advice we travelled there and back by the local bus which was very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience and will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking could be tricky at times.

    Our room was excellent, lovely contemporary decore with everything you need for a relaxing break. Staff were welcoming, friendly, informative and attentive. Definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab staff. Comfy hotel in a great position will definitely recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was the lack of a garden, although you could sit outside on the pavement or in the quiet car park.

    The staff were absolutely great. They couldn’t have been more helpful and really made us feel welcome.the dinner and the breakfast were delicious and they could change the meal to suit your dislikes ie the dish I wanted had mussels which they removed at my request. The dinner menu wasn’t too big so you knew it was cooked to order. Our room was at the top of this small hotel so was really quiet which we liked . Good big shower and good quality sundries including bottled water. Really comfy bed. The location was great for exploring the area. The village shop sold sandwiches or you could order a picnic from the hotel. Kate on reception was a good tourist guide and pointed us to the places not to be missed. We will return as we were short of time. While in Warkworth you must visit The Fenwick Gallery, well worth a good look and take a walk along the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    would stop here again.lovely Hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of generator on the wall outside our window that did disturb my sleep at 2.30 am. The noise of it seemed to go up and down.

    Bed was cosy and breakfast was very nice. Staff were all pleasant and friendly and helpful. Our room was large and very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay,great hotel,good staff good breakfast,and good bar/ restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great bedroom at the front of the hotel but there’s a busy road right outside. The room was great but the windows desperately need double glazing.And a peregrine falcon to get rid of the pigeons at 5am.

    The location was handy for visiting the coast and also local attractions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Cosy small hotel with comfortable beds, pleasant restaurant and wonderful staff. Breakfasts good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room ( room 1) was on roadside and very noisy as the road is a major coast route. The windows need to be either double or secondary glazed to cut down the noise. I think most of the rooms face the road. My sister was in a room at the rear and suffered the church clock bells being sounded every 15 minutes. We have stayed in other hotels and B&Bs near to church chimes and they have stopped bells ringing overnight. This would make an enormous benefit to anyone staying in room 8.

    All the staff were wonderful and chatty. Room was well equipped with extremely comfortable beds and quilts and bathroom full of toiletries. Managed to get a parking space in the small car park for both nights. Lovely village to explore with walks down by the river. The restaurant has 2 rooms available and both are spacious, very comfortable and pleasant surroundings to be in. The menu choices were good with some fairly standard meals available at reasonable prices. The 4 of us ate 2 nights running and had different meals. All were provided quickly, well prepared and wholesome and served by local staff who couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed the evening. The lasagne was perfect, meaty and cheesy and gorgeous garlic bread. One of our party had the lamb shank which he said was superb. The beers and the wines we had were excellent and extremely reasonably priced. Booking in the restaurant essential.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, friendly, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was on a busy road, so there was some traffic noise, but that couldn't really be helped. It didn't spoil our stay at all.

    The room was spacious and airy. The staff were friendly and helpful. The public rooms and restaurant were attractive and comfortable and the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Pillows better than some hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Downsides were nothing the hotel could have done anything about - hot weather, therefore room stuffy at night even with thewindow open; next to church, with clock that chimed every 15 minutes all night.

    Pillows better than some hotels. Separate bath and shower great. Lovely big good quality towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel, great food, terrific location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old Northumbrian hotel, very clean and comfortable room, great food, very helpful and friendly staff, situated in a lovely village surrounded by a river with pleasant walks, and to top it all, a medieval castle ruin. Absolutely idealic! We stayed 6 nights and were sorry to leave. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel but check suitability!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was a hopeless lottery! Only 10 spaces, so for 2 of our3 nights it was a 300 yard walk! Admittedly not helped by the water board taking one complete car park out of action for road resurfacing! Had we been mobility restricted this would have been a real problem! Road noise was also rather intrusive, but fortunately traffic died right down during the night!

    Great food, comfortable room, well appointed, attentive and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Good Breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small but for 1 night it was more than fine

    Good Breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location, clean room and the food was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break, newly refurbished room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the front of the hotel and were disturbed at night by road noise, it was hot weather and we needed to open the window. Hotel only has a very small car park but there is free parking in car park behind hotel

    Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night break, newly refurbished room and bathroom. Friendly staff, they did their best to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as they could, special note of thanks to Jess and Holly in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor and bed cushions grubby but sheets and duvet very clean.

    Lovely quaint comfortable feel to the public areas. Delicious breakfast and very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, good location, fine food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little weak in our room, but fine in the public areas.

    We spent 5 nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. It is very well situated for visiting the Northumberland coast. Our room was very comfortable with 4-poster bed and modern en-suite bath/shower. Breakfasts were really good, cooked to order and delicious. If you are looking for a good place for dinner, look no further than the restaurant. Lovely meals at reasonable prices- the hotel has a very good chef. The restaurant was very busy during our stay so best to book a table in advance. Really good value - would definitely stay there again. David

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall a thoroughly enjoyable 4 nights staying in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel, good location with the added bonus of having its own carpark, (although it is right and does get full quite quickly) for a small hotel, 14 rooms, a wide choice of menu for breakfast with fantastic service. We did have an evening meal one night in the hotel and again that was excellent. The hotel is dog friendly 10 out of the 14 rooms will accommodate well behaved dogs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Really relaxing and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ensuite facilities were lovely and clean and spacious but there was a danger of the water from the shower splashing onto the floor tiles and making them slippery

    The hotel is located in a lovely scenic area, just a short walk to the river and the historic Warkworth castle. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the food, there was a good choice and it was well cooked and presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with very helpful staff and lovely comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negative was whilst enjoying a lovely dinner the height of some of the seats doesn’t match the height of the table so eating isn’t comfortable

    Lovely hotel with very helpful staff and lovely comfortable room. Had a lovely stay. Warkworth is a small village but lovely for walking around. The breakfast and evening meals were all fantastic with lots of choices for veggie and meat eaters. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice veneer but hospitality is shallow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ridiculous ugly 4 posts on the bed in room 8, from which I got a nasty eyebrow bruise after turning into it from the TV and the rickety bannister. Our chief grievance though was the way we were made to feel uncomfortable in the bar as soon as it gets past 10 pm. There's a warning in the information booklet that it closes at 11 and could be earlier depending on how busy it is. On both nights we paid a decent sum for evening meals and wine but once it passes 10 pm the staff (who are very pleasant earlier in the evening) turn off the music and disappear, making it difficult to order drinks. Then bang on 11 pm they reappear and ask you to leave the room. We had to move to a cold and fairly dark side lounge where we sat alone, in complete silence, finishing our drinks. So by 11:15 it's a choice of early night or go out and find a pub. The staff locked up and went home within minutes of 11 and this really did feel like a well worn ploy which totally ruined our weekend. It's like they think guests cannot complain as there is a warning in the hotel info booklet. Hardly customer focused is it.

    Public rooms were beautiful. Bar area nice. Mattress and pillows, bathroom. Staff very pleasant generally subject to what we didn't like - see below.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    The car never left the car park. We walked to the beaches, Amble and Alnmouth and the River Cocquet.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps the hotel could look into improving the accessibility of the WiFi by using Wireless Access Points. The incoming speed to the hotel is excellent as Warkworth has Fibre Broadband with speeds over 35mbps. We had the Tudor room and it had a beautiful bathroom but like many walk-in showers, water gets everywhere because screening the shower area could be better. I just feel there could be a slip hazard of water on a wet tile floor.

    The staff were extremely friendly. Special mention to Holly who really made our stay feel special. The food in the restaurant was very good and the breakfast choice was excellent. We had a beautifully furnished room and we look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed with the quality of the food and the lack of a good night's sleep.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the meals was disappointing......what we would describe as very average pub food, served in the bar at dinner,........ dining room not open. Too few staff in attendance. ..one person seemingly trying to do everything...as well as she could. It should be noted that traffic noise from the immediately adjacent main road can be intrusive, as can the every quarter hour chime throughout the night by the nearby parish church. Getting a really good night's sleep proved very difficult.😒

    The bedroom was nicely decorated and the en suite bathroom was of a very good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Warkworth is full of little gems as is the hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing in room 4 would have kept the road traffic noise down.

    The furnishings were appropriate to the property, the dog friendly bedroom was comfortable as were the public rooms. Room 4 was at the front of the hotel, overlooking the main road, unfortunately there was no double glazing therefore could be a bit noisy. Unable to open window but a fan was provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A great stay in a lovely location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the front of the hotel and the traffic passing took a bit of getting used to. However this is a minor quibble. The room itself was light and airy, east facing so you get plenty of sun in the morning.

    We had three breakfasts and we chose something different from the hot menu every day. The quality of the food was excellent, the staff couldn't do enough for us. There was also plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and relaxing, foods requires
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch and dinner menus require improvement. From what we could gather they have only recently reopened the restaurant, bistro, the staff were friendly enough but seemed to lack knowledge or experience. All the draft beers were off leaving only bottled lagers and beers which was a disappointment to my husband

    The hotel, cleanliness and comforts were good, the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really couldn't fault this place

    Superb....breakfast with loads of choice in comfortable surroundings. Evening meal of steak cooked to perfection again in a really nice atmosphere. Room was spacious, quiet and comfortable. Excellent location for exploring Northumberland. Local village pubs were friendly with excellent range of beers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be interesting but did always get a space. Need to remind hotel guests to reserve tables for the evening meal as the hotel can get busy. An assumption that as a guest you will always have a table available.

    Very clean and comfortable superior double room. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. A nice atmosphere. Food very good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Disappointed to find no available place to sit comfortably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed to find no available place to sit comfortably with our family as we did not wish to eat dinner on Easter Sunday Evening. All space was taken up in the bar and bistro by diners. Not what we had expected. We had to go to the local pub to be able to sit together to chat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent such a lovely hotel and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the best service I have ever experienced lots of extra touches in the rooms, tissues, dressing gowns great drink tray, just added that extra comfort. I am a vegan and used to difficult eating options but the chef went out and bought dairy free spread, milk and adapted a recipe even though we were only there for two nights. Just great .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Got what we came for relaxing time ...Thanks
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeezing thru arch to park !! but we just breathed in lol

    relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff ..nothing was problem happy smiley faces goes along way !! And the Steak and Ale Pie ..... Lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stay for my girlfriend's birthday. Thanks for making it nice and trouble free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast, good room and updated (but not too modern) decor. We also used the restaurant and it was really good. We had an evening meal but my girlfriend wanted something off the lunch menu. The chef was happy to oblige.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable overall if road noise issue could be sorted it would be ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the main road just outside of the bedroom window and no double glazing or other to deaden the noise

    Friendly staff. Room clean and recently refurbished. Bed comfy. Breakfast lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough but a little disappointing, would not return or recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The bed was wonderful ,( also bathroom new and very well appointed), we asked to change suite on arrival as suite allocated very small with dog hairs on the top cover and hairs on the toilet.The new room was much better and bigger, also clean. Was not informed until booking complete that no restaurant avaible for evening meal, also the bar shut at 7-30 which was inconvenient but actually found an excellent restaurant in Amble , about a mile away. Hotel generally rather tired looking,dated, but all staff very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was also good but had to be in by 9-30 which is really quite early when you are on a break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    Good stay in pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Nice,comfortable bedroom with excellent shower.Friendly,helpful staff.Excellent breakfast-recommend tasty,locally caught kippers.Good base from which to explore north Northumberland coast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay. Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice hotel. Parking an issue though. Breakfast was fine Good choice. I had full english one morning which was average and had to wait an hour. Had omlette next morning which was nice and only waited ten minutes. Apart from that we had a nice stay. I would stay there again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    2.5
    Step up to the plate or shut down, don’t mess the consumer about
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have had the opportunity to make the assessment but hotels like this will never learn. I went to the Sun hotel opposite the castle, great place cheap, clean and open!

    I was travelling up from London to the area. I indicated a late arrival and the reception called to tell me they close at 8pm. I offered to cancel but they said don’t and call their number on the rear door of the hotel. I arrived at 11.03 and called the number 4 times and it went to answer phone. I never received an apology and was then reported to booking dot com as a no show!!!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location for exploring the countryside and coastline of Northumberland. Staff friendly and helpful and the choice of breakfasts was excellent. Room was large and comfortable. A couple of very good pubs within a 100 yards serving pub grub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, warm and friendly making our weekend feel just that bit extra special...!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If we had to nit pick the only problem we had was the very tight parking area but apart from that there was nothing that disappointed us, if having to leave such a nice place counts as a didn't like well that would be it...!

    The bedroom was very nice (8) and the bed VERY COMFORTABLE very modern bath and shower good selection of coffee and tea in the room. Breakfast was to die for and the overall feel of the hotel was amazing... We will be going back for sure...!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    relaxing, comfortable and to a high standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unless we missed the sign we didn't realize at first the car park entrance was at the back of the hotel.

    The bed was very comfy and the quality of the bed linen and decor gave the room a touch of luxury. The breakfast choices were superb as was the quality of the food. I would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay in Warkworth, hotel lovely. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like. The staff had even put us in rooms next to each other.

    Very friendly staff. Very well situated. Leaflet given with places to eat and telephone numbers. Breakfast was fantastic, very good variety of food on offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a lovely area. Would return (but in warmer weather!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in January. Room didn’t warm up very well. Radiator in bathroom was faulty (probably needed bleeding) so was very cold in there.

    Beautiful old building. Nicely styled room and bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful comfortable break in stunning surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to offer improvements we had a great stay. A mirror in the bathroom would be good. Think the bathroom was just fitted though so perhaps not had chance to add one.

    The staff, the comfort everything about the place. Breakfast was superb. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Very comfortable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cold water in the tap was warm but did improve after running the water for a bit. Not much of a problem.

    The room a Junior Suite was very comfortable and the bathroom very recently modernised and hot. The bed itself was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Room was large and extremely comfortable in every respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large and extremely comfortable in every respect. Good breakfast. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Would love to stay here again for more than one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Lovely stay with attentive staff in a beautiful Northumbrian village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No improvement necessary, excellent value for money and beautifully designed.

    This small hotel was big on everything, from check in to check out it was first class. The breakfast menu was excellent, with a great help yourself buffet and the choice of cooked items was superb. We loved it. Our room was roomy and extremely well equipped. The residents lounge was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    The bed was enormous and very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's only bed and breakfast now so the bar was not open in the evening when we arrived at 7.30pm

    The bed was enormous and very comfy. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    disappointed that hotel was unable to provide breakfast. We were given £20 and directed to a café nearby. Two full English breakfasts and coffees cost us more than that. If you don't want to be disturbed by traffic from quite early in the morning, be sure to ask for a bedroom at the back of the hotel.

    Nice, comfortable room - very warm. Bathroom well supplied with toiletries

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, crisp white bedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, crisp white bedding. Could help yourself to extra coffee, milk ect from a table in the hallway. Just a 15 min walk to the beach & it was beautiful. You can take the car to the beach car park but the walk blew away the cobwebs away!!!! Lovely little village to look around. We had a meal in the Sun hotel opposite the castle & enjoyed it. Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    The layout of the bedroom was very welcoming and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the hotel had served food at night.

    The layout of the bedroom was very welcoming and the breakfast in the morning was absolutely fantastic. Staff were extremely attentive and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    A lovely relaxing & enjoyable place to stay in a pretty location. Nice walks & beach near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of shelving for toiletries in the bathroom (minor detail)

    A very clean comfortable warm room with crisp white bedding. The guest lounge was very relaxing and homely. Excellent choice of cereals, juices and cooked menu for breakfast. Excellent staff who worked very well as a team.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Quality throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly the restaurant is only open for breakfast at present, but it is a very short stroll to several excellent places for food.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good quality throughout. The location is perfect for exploring this delightful village with its charming river and magnificent castle. The breakfast menu is extensive and the food is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75