Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Premier Inn Newcastle Washington 3 stars

Emerson Road, Washington, NE37 1LB, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Washington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Pleasant staff, shame about the wifi and the hotel's inability to resolve my problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi access despite paying for the 24 hour upgrade. Staff were friendly but unable to fix the problem and simply called the wifi provider and handed me the phone in a busy reception. Then due to bad reception the call got cut off. Despite trying to ring back, no one answered the phone. I appreciate that this was not directly Premier Inn's fault but I paid for wifi and they did not provide it or resolve my issue. Very disappointing.

    Staff were friendly and willing to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Family commitment
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing couldn't fault it at all The food, staff and room was very good.

    The location to the shops and the ease of getting buses and taxi's.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Every enjoyable on every visit, that is why we keep coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with bathroom sink not running away quickly

    Staff very professional and friendly as they always are on every visit. Room was comfortable and bed excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great location and the staff were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though there was signs on each entrance “quiet area” some residents were so noisy which disturbed our sleep.

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We was visiting for a family wedding so the location of the Premiere Inn was perfect. The staff were so friendly and I would recommend premier Inn Washington to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Very pleasant, stress free, look forward to staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything for was fine only thing I would have liked would have been ice machines, having said that the staff were happy to supply us with ice.

    Ideal location for us to visit family, friendly staff and very helpful plenty of parking, stress free after a long drive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    The staff makes this place special
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free wifi is not great- if you actually need the internet for a phone call/skype/something important you should definitely upgrade.

    The staff at this location are among the most friendly and helpful that I have encountered. James and Fred especially went out of their way to ensure that everyone in my group always had everything they needed. They were very accommodating. Another bonus is that you can now buy just coffee downstairs (as opposed to getting breakfast).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Usual high standard of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as abiove

    Usual high standard of the room.Only problem was the noise from the road and also the temperature in the room as \i was too hot with the duvet and too cool without it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay which exceeded alll expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No negative comments

    Excellent staff, helpful and friendly.Lovely breakfast and comfy room. Excellent location with good parking and Toby Inn right opposite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    What you would expect from Premier Inn.
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What you would expect from Premier Inn... never disappoints. Clean, comfortable and convenient. Great location for accessing all of the North East. Ideal when family live all over the place (County Durham, Sunderland and South Tyneside). Not close to Newcastle City centre... A car is necessary (20min drive).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent definately would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be real picky bathroom could do with an update otherwise cannot fault our stay.

    Breakfast was excellent ..cooked to our liking and plenty of choice. Staff were lovely, Friendly and very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    The staff are always polite, very helpful and nothing is too much for them to do to help you.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not to like this visit. Looking forward to our stay in January

    This time we stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet and did not hear any noise at all. The breakfast was cooked fresh while you wait, the rooms were clean and fresh as always.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was amazing eat as much as you like. Everything was fantasic enjoyed our stay and all staff where very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay as always and staff very helpful and polite
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slamming of room doors from others who vacate their rooms from as early as 3:05am. Bang after bang after bang so no sleep on the first night at all. Second night was not as bad but still loud from before 5am.

    Breakfast was freshly cooked and you get exactly what you ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    overall a good stay, but with a little more care, it could've been excellent.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was a little uncomfortable, needed the mattress turning more often. tv was very poor as more than a three quarters of the stations were unwatchable and the set would not allow you to tune in to get more or update channels.

    the staff were wonderful and fantastic. breakfast was superb with a brilliant choice of both hot and cold food available. location was spot on for local attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    The stay it's self was marvellous at the premier inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Toby Carvery was appalling & would not recommend eating there. We had to ask for fresh veg as it was burnt & dry. The staff actually admitted to this & the meat was fat & taste awful. The staff brought more out on a plate when we complained which was exactly the same & just said "well that's a shame that it's going to be wasted" as if it was our fault & we should eat it. Well, we didn't & we had one meal refunded.

    Everything about the premier inn was fantastic. The staff went above & beyond our expectations. So helpful & friendly. The breakfast was excellent & no complaints from us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are always pleasant and happily help you which is especially useful when travelling with small children. Breakfast was, as we've come to expect, was well cooked and delivered with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Overall very good, excellent service , would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only criticism to the Premier Brand is the quality of the toilet tissue which was appalling, and of course not something (like toiletries) that you generally pack to bring with you!

    Overall very good Value for money, staff excellent, breakfast choice very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift was out of order and had been for a few days - quicker repair would have been good.

    Excellent selection at breakfast. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.3
    The gentlemen who served me breakfast was very welcoming...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small TV in my room but in the picture online it shows a large tv.

    The gentlemen who served me breakfast was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, first class service from him.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    clean and tidy, staff were friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    clean and tidy, staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    It was a very pleasant break on our way to join our family on holiday in Seahouses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfotable bed and superb breakfast All staff really friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inevitable television, but it was in a separate area.

    Plenty of choice. Lovely hot food, very pleasantly served.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    Comfy Bed breakfast freshly cooked
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar,

    Comfy Bed breakfast freshly cooked

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.1
    Loved the premier inn never fails
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the Toby carvey

    Loved how they put little Easter eggs in the rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    good--enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we were satisfied

    staff were welcoming and smart.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent all round.... especially the staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location for visiting several places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night but this was due to the amount of young girls staying at the same time.

    Good location for visiting several places of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed Clean room Enough room for a family of 4 for the weekend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Clean comfy surroundings, two nights good sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean , lovely friendly staff and the breakfast is amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Definitely would return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast and staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bath in the room as my 3 year old won’t go in the shower

    Breakfast and staff were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is cooked to your personal specification and the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is cooked to your personal specification and the staff are always friendly and happy to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    excellent accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was nothing to dislike

    everything was excellent for our stay at premier inn

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    Exellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks a bit old and our dated small tv and the room had shower only.

    In a quiet area and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Easy accessible from motorway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy accessible from motorway

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom a little cold as no radiator in there

    The bed was exceptional and the room clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Close to Beamish.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Perfect we were made very welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Dim and Bright when needed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room cold. Hand basin slow to empty.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    I'd like better choice of hot drinks in the room, such...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd like better choice of hot drinks in the room, such as green tea, herbal tea and drinking chocolate. Some biscuits wold be nice too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice relaxing stay at the Premier
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a little expensive

    I can't really fault this place. Very clean and comfortable with super friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, made the stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.0
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. Easy to park, the room was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great weekend, ideal location for our needs.Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff very helpful and friendly . Great coffee and lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good location for Newcastle and surrounding area. Comfy beds. Good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Lovely and relaxed just what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff,nothing was to much trouble !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff,nothing was to much trouble !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Toiletries could have been better quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries could have been better quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have breakfast,but the beds are very comfortable and great pillows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Good Location with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the staff I had contact with were fantastic and so helpful. Freshly cooked breakfast was great, further enhanced by the staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a great time

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    buffet cooked breakfast

    location to beamish only 5 mins in car, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Value for money with friendly helpful staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 nights disturbed sleep due to a large party of children staying at the hotel.

    Value for money with a good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.2
    Kids running up and down corridors banging doors all evening
    • Solo traveller
    • Quad Room (2 Adults & 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids running up and down corridors banging doors all evening

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    8.8
    Staff were really funny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was a bit out of Newcastle but we knew that when we booked, easy to get to off the motorway and they were helpful to order immediate cabs to the city

    Staff were really funny. We were there for the rugby World Cup and they were pure comedy. I jokingly asked for eyes to be drawn on my boiled eggs as per the menu and they actually did it!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    8.8
    The staff were the friendliest set of people we have ever...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad experiences at all.

    The staff were the friendliest set of people we have ever come across in all our travels. Helpful, kind, bubbly and seemingly loving their jobs. Breakfast was amazing and the hotel was clean and easy to get to.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    9.6
    We stay in a lot of hotels and wouldn't generally choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's nothing i didn't like but i would stay at Premier Inn more often of they had baths and not just showers.This is of course refelected in the price but a long soak is always desirable after 5 hours on the motorway.

    We stay in a lot of hotels and wouldn't generally choose a Premier Inn, but we often stay at this one whilst in the north east as it's so close to family. What makes this one special is the staff, who are always welcoming, friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast too. I've stayed at 5 star venues that didn't have a breakfast selection this good or anywhere near as tasty. The rooms are also immaculate and despite being near the road, it's well insulated and you can't hear a thing.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Building site adjacent woke us up at 6:45am on Saturday morning.

    Friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    Made to feel welcome and the staff were all very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no dislikes

    Made to feel welcome and the staff were all very friendly and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Cannot thank the staff enough they were brilliant, top class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cannot thank the staff enough they were brilliant, top class service all the wsy

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely staff. Good location for tourist attractions. Delicious breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    the location especially toby carver restaurant next door
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the location especially toby carver restaurant next door

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.6
    friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms with comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms with comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic staff, more than helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic staff, more than helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds were extremely comfortable

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Comfy beds, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Comfy beds, friendly staff, good location

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    10
    Staff were very helpful and patient, Emma especially
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were very helpful and patient, Emma especially

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness of the staff and the comfort and quiteness...
    • Solo traveller

    The friendliness of the staff and the comfort and quiteness of the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    10
    Hotel spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast first class. Thanks to all (and Karen)!

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75