Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waterford Lodge Hotel

Castle Square, Morpeth, NE61 1YD, United Kingdom

#10 of 11 hotels in Morpeth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    As good as expected.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything about the hotel was good from staff to parking to room and the meals were good, hot and made as much as possible with local produce.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Food and pub side very good hotel side needs to be updated beds need replacing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and felt dirty also came with an unsavoury smell .bed NOT comfy at all

    Restaurant food was very good and value for money as was the breakfast and staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as above

    no hot water even after being told fixed broken radiator control unable to turn off took until 10pm before letting us change rooms double room had 3/4 bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    apart from noise in room a very pleasant stay good sunday dinner great bar and friendly customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very noisy with people comeing and going as it was at top of stairsand security doors made a lot of noise closing

    Great breakfast staff very helpfull and plesant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    You pay for what you get.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the decor was dated and tatty in places within my room especially. The bedroom was clean and spacious, however the shower was only a trickle and not satisfactory. I didn't enjoy the breakfast experience, my hands kept sticking to the table whilst I was eating and the lady who was dining on the adjacent table said exactly the same.

    A great central location with ample free parking spaces. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. There are lots of nice shops, restaurants and pubs nearby. The price reflects the standard of the accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Poor, I wouldn't stay there again nor would i recommend it to anyone else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very tired and shabby. The wallpaper in the entrance was dirty and torn and the wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off the walls and ceiling.

    Food was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp looked like there had been a leek from the roof

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant and food were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    absolutely brilliant
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To stay a bit longer ,

    We had our wedding there and just celebrated our fifth anniversary and it was as lovely as our wedding day the staff are so thoughtful and put lovely finishing touches to the room for us ,it was like reliving the day alkl over again ,thankyou to all the staff at Waterford we Will see you next anniversary 👍👍👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food served on beer garden on a Saturday night. Shower no good. Very sticky tables.

    Excellent beer garden. Plenty seating. Well protected from wind. Lovely room with 4 poster.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Adequate for our purposes.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms need to be updated a bit. The television was too small to view unless you were sitting in front of it. Breakfast stopped at 8 AM which is not convenient at all although the meal was fair.

    The room was clean. The location was convenient. The parking was secure enough. The staff were excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    . Would not recommend.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very tired and in need of redecoration. Bathrooms also were very tired. Corridors were creaky and smelt badly. No hairdryer in room

    Comfy bed and clean soft towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.0
    The whole place needs refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water in the shower took ages to get started. The room were dirty. Overall the rooms and place needs re decorating/ upgrading.

    Breakfast looked nice. although putting the poached eggs on top of a very lightly toasted bread, it made it soggy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice experience , comfortable and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Took ages to get any hot water through the taps! Thought we had none then after 5 mins it decided to get warm. The overall look from outside hotel is a bit of a put off, would not have booked it on seeing the external.. Needs work to make it look appealing. Didn't like leaving car in the back car park due to renovations from another building, but it was ok.

    Good comfortable good sized bed. Good breakfast. Freindly helpful staff. Pleasant internally compared to external look.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    In general ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet would not flush apparently the people that had the room previously had not mentioned the toilet did not get room cheaper when I mentioned this. The décor could do with being updated. not much pressure in the shower facilities

    good service staff were helpful good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Very reasonable price and in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest problem was the shower. There was very little water pressure and the water was either freezing or scalding, very tricky to control.

    The room was ideal for a family and very reasonable in price. The location is ideal for the train station and a very short walk into the loveliest of towns Morpeth.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    We made the most of it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel part let it down completely. Very very damp smell in enterance and up the stairs , they had a de humifier . Needs a whole new re vamp decor in bedroom very old , shower did not work properly , toilet. Hard to flush, and hot water takes 10 mins running hot tap before you get hot water . Needs a good paint. It's the only proper hotel in Morpeth and as family have moved up there, we were hoping to stay a lot . But would not be going back in a hurry. Could you feed this back to hotel it's needs the hotel side re vamping completely and when it does please let me know and we will be back . As it in a prime location, bus stop outside , train station few mins walk. Lovely and lots of restaurants all excellent . Just the hotel need a bit of TLC . Bedding clean , towels nice just decour so outdated.

    The location great, bar restaurant excellent . Complaints to chef and he came out of the kitchen to talk to us very pleasant man . Lovely hot frshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in Morpeth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are slightly dated but very comfortable and great value for a family of four.

    Very welcoming staff. Large clean family room with very comfortable bed. Great full English breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    Handy position, car parking was free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    Comfy bed. Very tired and poor decorative order throughout. No hot water in the shower, plus shower head was not able to be directed. Damp and musty feel to the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay and would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor and lighting could do with an upgrade.

    Great location. Very central and handy for A1 and access to coastal locations. Sizzler deal on the Friday night was very good and staff were very helpful. Liked the bar too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    Over priced - Definitely not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No reception cover on an evening difficult to access the door to to get into the hotel

    Was not advised that breakfast finished at 9.30am and when we arrived at 9.40am we were told we could not have breakfast. Facilities are poor, very poor lighting in the bedroom bathroom very dated. Grouting missing and generally very drab.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    very enjoyable,easy access to shopping,park and pubs all within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was very accommodating towards us she let us check in before our slotted time frame which was great,room was lovely and cosy and spacious,bathroon was huge with lovely bath,had a lovely soak.Breakfast was really lovely.Keep up the good work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I particularly like to shower in the morning but it took at least 5 minutes to get hot water and there was a pathetic dribble from the shower also it went cold after a minute forcing me to turn off the shower and run the hot water tap until it went hot and restart the shower.

    The location and price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    sadly would not rebook
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very tired hotel, staff we very friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, but the hotel was very tired and in urgent need of updating, told reception that there was not hot water to the bath and sink, was told that was because they were fitting electric showers, we said we still needed hot water to the sink, was told that if we run the tap for 5 minutes it would get hot, we tried this, but still no hot water.

    The bed was soft and comfortable, unlike other hotels where the beds are rock hard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.4
    MISTAKE
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in my room didn't work- only found out at 10.30pm so didn't report it till the morning on leaving. Neither bed side lamps worked in my room When these were reported at reception I just got a effortless sorry!!! Poor service Not a very nice smell around the place I was very surprised at Waterford lodge and I will be going back to my normal accommodation "Morpeth Lodge" excellent place, Just wanted to try something different, big mistake

    The bar & the bar food, entertainment was great with a open mic session

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    No fuss pub/hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to criticise a great value for money room and pub. In need of a revamp and maybe some draught real ales in the bar.

    No fuss pub/hotel. Needs some TLC but for my purposes as a business traveller it was fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.1
    Very good beat my expectations. Will book again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was down which was a little disappointing as I had films lined up for the evening. Should have downloaded them before I left home!

    Staff great. Bed very comfortable. Food really good great steak and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, very central. Food good, nice breakfast, bed extra comfy
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel but could benefit from a little refurb, furnishings in the bedroom are looking a bit dated, corridors would look better if repainted but as this is an old building it has character🙂

    Lovely comfortable bed, crisp white bed linen. Lovely new soft white towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.3
    Won't be returning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not available, despite advertising to the contrary, the room was cold (radiators were covered by long heavy curtains), the bath hot tap had to be run on full for between 10 & 15 minutes before the shower became anywhere near usable due to its feeble power.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Too many small faults
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water apart from the shower. No hair dryer. No biscuits. Any one of these we could have overlooked, but all three was most disappointing.

    Convenient for the railway station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Rooms could do with a bit of modernisation, but clean enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was pathetic. No water pressure or hot water. Had to run around the shower to get wet.

    Staff were excellent. Nice bar with good atmosphere. Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.8
    weather atrocious, cold room did little to help
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room very cold, reported to duty manager, no action taken. Initially no hot water from wash hand basin or bath taps, again reported to duty manager and this was resolved. room very basic, was ok for our short stay but would not visit this hotel again

    not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff friendly and tried their best but see below.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress very tired (no pun intended) caused dipping in centre. No hot water despite attempts to rectify and offer of using alternative room for shower etc. It does seem there is an ongoing problem.

    Staff friendly and tried their best but see below.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was an odd smell (like old dust mixed with bleach) and a few marks on the walls in public areas. A lick of paint wouldn't go amiss.

    Bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly, polite and helpful. Great location for access to town centre and public transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    Nice pub for a drink but avoid going upstairs at all costs!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room looked like it had been untouched since the 1970's. Desk chair was very stained and had holes in covering. Bathroom shower screen was covered in mould and falling part - shower did not work. Room was above kitchens so woken at 06:15 to the noise of the extract fan that was like a jet engine!

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Great staff they can't do enough for you
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole experience was great would recommend to everyone to try for your self we have been 3 times to stay in this hotel and are looking forward to going back again soon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    The room we were in was very dark and depressing and looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was very dark and depressing and looked out onto a wall this room should only be used if no other rooms available (other rooms were available so not sure why we were put in this room). All other rooms we had were nice. Refurbishment is taking place at the moment. Everything else was great especially the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water takes 5 minutes to come through. Kitchen fans come on early waking us up. No decent bitter in the pub downstairs.

    Clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Nice breakfasts. Location was good for town, train station and a real ale pub across the road.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bedroom the walls and curtains were dirty. The bed was clean and so was the bathroom. One of the sockets was not working and the shower was abysmal.

    The bar area and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and corridor areas very "tired" / in need of refurbishment and the power shower had poor control of the water temperature

    Room was warm and comfy. Great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.3
    Great staff, tired but clean rooms and a shower that didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't told what time breakfast was on check in, so came down late, but the staff did offer to cook me breakfast if I had wanted it. Shower didn't work, but was offered another room to shower in (but was already dressed by then.)

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.0
    Worst hotel we have ever stayed in and to be charged just under £150 was a total rip off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was appalling, dank, dark, dead wasps over bed and floor, curtains fell off the rail when opened. Worst hotel we have every stayed in and to charge just under £150 is a total rip off!

    Good location for Morpeth

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, clean comfortable room and a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very friendly and went that bit further to make sure we were well looked after. The hotel was in a great location and the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    could have been better as no residents bar and was back late at night after visiting sick relitive.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wallpaper on ceiling was hanging off, shower head was broken bath taps not working and unable to have a bath, breakfast finished to early

    hotel needed some TLC

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    The room was really nice and the staff were friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I didn't like about the hotel

    The room was really nice and the staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant was wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    g8 location but room shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar prices was not very cheap.and room really needed to be updated and do away with wallpaper walls and papered ceilings.shower needs to be updated with more powerful one.and no hairdryer for wife who as long hair.

    breakfast was very good with plenty of choices.location to town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location but standard of hotel disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is tired and in need of modernisation and decoration. Food was at best very average with a very limited menu in the bar/restaurant the latter only open at weekends. Breakfast was again limited and varied in quality and week days only available between 7 and 8.30. There is no designated parking for the hotel residents in the car park thus leading to a free for all competition for spaces with those just going for a drink at the bar.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful and location convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Would never
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for three days. Was told this was a known issue and were offered the chance to shower in another room. The water there was cold too. When we complained to the manager his reply was that if we werre no happy we should have moved to another hotel.

    Bed was great. Most of the staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    O/K for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking this place always remember you are booking an overnight stay not a weeks holiday.

    This o/k for an overnight stay,the pub has a restaurant attatched which serves pub food at reasonable prices,the accommodation is pretty basic which is what you should expect for the price you pay.Breakfast in the morning was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    I would not return even it was free
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything. The room smelt, the decor was dated and dirty. There was mould damp patches on the walls. The shower and bathroom were mouldy. The curtains and net were dirty. The whole room wasn't worth £7.50 let alone £75!!!

    Clean towels

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't want my dog to even stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy, tatty decor. Sloping floor in room, had to eventually sleep with pillows at " foot end" of lumpy old bed to sleep as felt disoriented. Room and corridors smelled of damp , was very dark and depressing place to stay as overlooked by a derelict car showroom as well! Could go on.... the owners need to spend a night in every room and see how they feel! Get rid of the curtains at least in room 1 where we were!!! Disgusting!

    Not a lot to like

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location. Poor quality. Certainly NOT value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower hadn't been checked and wasn't working. Quality of the breakfast was poor with the scrambled eggs clearly either powdered or microwaved. Room was reasonable though dated.

    The only positive was the central location to Morpeth Town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.3
    If we could have found somewhere else after we saw the state of the place we would have checked out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole building hadn't been decorated for what looked like 30 years. We had light bulbs missing in our room and the electric wiring looked very dodgy. The wifi would not work in our room. You wud connect to it in the bar downstairs. The chef could not cook eggs be it scrambled, poached or fried! They were slimy! It said continental breakfast was available but there were no croissants or anything like that. We did not attempt to eat there in the evening because there was no one else eating there but other restaurants in Morpeth were crowded! I wonder why? It should be rated a 1 star hotel.

    The towels were nice and fluffy. We had hot water. There was tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Would stay again but would definitely request a room with better bathroom facilities
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn't work, poor water stream and couldn't set to good temperature. Bathroom needed refurbishment

    Big room with comfy bed. Very clean. Staff friendly. Breakfast nice and good choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    The towels in the room were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was extremely loud music in the bar at all times (fortunately not at breakfast). We would have eaten there in the evening but for the music. The show in our room was fine, but noisy. The shower in our friends' room was just a dribble.

    The towels in the room were excellent. Large and very soft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Handy place to stay but it badly needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridors smelled very damp and there were damp patches on many of the walls. It was clear that there are structural problems with the building. The decor and furniture were very dated. The owner needs to spend a serious six-figure sum on refurbishment.

    The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. The room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Poor/water damaged décor throughout hotel hallways,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor/water damaged décor throughout hotel hallways, tired furniture and décor in room. Although I believe only a few rooms of the total 18 were occupied, I was given Room 1 that's onto the front and main road so noisy, and has an illuminated hotel sign immediately beyond the bedroom window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Ecellent location and staff but........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room decor very "tired". Shower very weak. Room was cold when we arrived-it was a very cool day for June. Radio reception (R4) impossible.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Comfortable bed. Easy and safe car park. Very good wi-fi connection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    It is near the town centre and walking distance to facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit under my bedroom window very noisy all night.shower not very powerful at all

    It is near the town centre and walking distance to facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    If you have Room 1, be prepared for hot water problems!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Didn't like not having hot water on tap! Luckily for us, we were in Room 1. It has an electric shower, so we were able to fill the wash basin with that. Told staff. They were clearly embarrassed, but had no answer. Just said, yes, hot water is a bit of a problem. As we had booked our room after reading on line that others had had similar problems, and we could manage using the shower as a source, we didn't push the matter. Reading this, you may be surprised when I say that, despite all, we enjoyed our five days at Waterford Lodge.

    Staff lovely, always happy and helpful. Breakfast and evening meals good. Room old fashioned but spacious, bed good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Seriously needs upgrading
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and cleanliness

    Staff were very nice and helpful. Bar nice though for a hotel shut very early no residents bar but perhaps this is more to do with the liquor laws. The bedrooms were really old fashioned and really badly in the need of major overhaul . Shower was basically s dribble of water , no power . No sign of fire extinguisher and there was only a small window opening. The bed was comfy and clean as were the towels and the room in general . However this hotel is s throughback from the 60s

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Alright for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridors and room decor are very tired as was the bathroom. Main road was noisy with traffic but quiet of a night.

    Close to centre and pub pleasant. Breakfast excellent as were the staff, bed and towels clean. A very large room. Morpeth is a very interesting place to visit with lovely walks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing time, enjoyable stay. Hotel staff very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be served a little later. Room was comfy if a little tired looking. Cleanliness was good, although stairs to rooms could have been cleaner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.3
    Basic and a bit shabby round the edges but I'd just using as a base it's fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't informed that music would be played till the late hours. Might be worth mentioning. Shower was freezing cold and wouldn't warm up (room 10) and toilet seat was broken - fell on my four year old twice!

    Good breakfast and friendly staff in the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    3.3
    Big upgrade needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed-- room decor needs update -- some wallpaper flaking-- tv remote was dirty and tv old and difficult to operate. Curtains were badly fitted. Shower took long time to get hot with low pressure and position of loo and towel rail is dreadful leading to tall guests squeezed against towel rail when sitting on loo! This is a hotel that has been left to deteriorate and is in need of renovation and upgrade.Car park dirty with litter not been swept up

    Breakfast ok staff ok security ok wifi signal good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    3.8
    A big zero out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and smelly Around the toilet base it was disgusting Bedroom was like a time warp back to the 80s Also very very noisy Dr.bar below

    Not a lot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to stay but need a little up date and more attention to cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room not quite up to standard there was a few cob webs over bed & around room also hot tap broken & took a long time for water in sink to get hot

    friendly staff & good breakfast , good location for what we wanted

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.5
    Would recommend it, ex
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was closed on Sunday evening, very disappointed. Unable to get WiFi in our room. Tv signal in room poor.

    Friendly staff. Clean facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable the shower was not good the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a slow flow of water the tap at the sink did not have hot water flowing had to run it for 10mins.

    The bed was very comfortable the shower was not good the curtains blocked light and th noise of the traffic the room was clean and big lots of space.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.1
    Very good service room clean & tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a while for hot water to come through (we were told it would) however when it did come through there was extremely low pressure which meant a shower was impossible.

    Very good service room clean & tidy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didnt like was I could hear people talking in the next bedroom , walls must be thin . But would go back for sure

    Staff very friendly , Bedroom and bathroom massive , comfortable and warm . Plenty choice of food and really nice ....Will book again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    6.3
    Good value for money and nice staff but needs updating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough ironing boards all in use so i couldn't have one! Bed was very saggy and uncomfortable. Decor is dated and needs freshening up. Hot water took 5 minutes to reach the shower!

    Friendly staff. Good location. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.4
    Slept well after a good night at Lolo Rosso resturant, good locality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room initially smelt damp, better when the heating had been on for a while. Shower was abismal, had to run shower for 10minutes before any warm water came out, then the flow was week. Tolerated for our overnight stay, reception were informed and will look into problem.

    Comfortable bed and clean sheets. Good full English breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    8.8
    Great friendly warm welcome by staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly warm welcome by staff at reception. The room was very big and the bed very comfortable and had a great night's sleep. Have stayed here a few times now and I will always look to see if I can stay here on any future visits to this friendly establishment in a very friendly town

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.0
    Location great, facilities and bar also very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely dated. 2 of the lights didn't work. I couldn't get a decent picture from the TV and also the toilet didn't flush without several attempts.

    Location great, facilities and bar also very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    Good value, well located
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit cold when arrived in room but it had a plug in heater and radiators came on at tea time so lovely and warm in the evening

    Great location, lovely bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: