Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Waterhead Hotel 4 stars

Lake Road, Ambleside, LA22 0ER, United Kingdom

#2 of 12 hotels in Ambleside

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 525 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    A top choice hotel in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like!

    The little extras..DVDs library, extra plump pillows, luxurious toiletries, fresh milk , local gingerbread...all provided free and really make a difference. Also easy parking under cover, the location, the view from the room., lovely shower...........

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great weekend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My family and friends and I had a great weekend, lovely comfortable rooms, very helpful and efficient staff throughout the hotel , a great choice of Breakfasts and Evening meals. We also had 2 young Cockier spaniel dogs that also had a great time staying at the hotel, very accommodating for everyone, we all would like to stay again when in Ambleside

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    will not be staying at the Waterhead again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meals less than average in my book, eat better food at home. Expensive. 225 per night and breakfast not included. Nice room but poor windows, rattled when it was windy, Not double glazed so traffic noise was an issue at times

    Not a lot. Room well appointed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable, clean, quiet and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we don’t have anything to complain about.

    Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Room and bed was much bigger than usual hotels we have stayed in and it made a big difference to our stay. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extras were unexpected and very welcome. Added complimentary drinks and goodies were a lovely surprise and all the staff were so welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    We had a truly lovely stay, we have stayed before, and i'm sure that we will be returning again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bit confusing, outside pizza served all day until 5pm - then food available in bar from 5pm until 6pm? after 6pm only dinner is available! it would have been nice to be able to have had a bar meal a little later in evening - say 7pm!

    lovely choice for breakfast, superb coffee and friendly helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    Staff are friendly and extremely accommodating. Facilities are top quality. Rooms are comfortable and furnished to a high standard. Can't fault at all. Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great near the water and where the ferries left - but it was a long way from all the many restaurants in town. As it was raining we did not fancy a 1.2km walk.

    Th staff were really friendly and helpful. It was a nice big room with a big comfy bed. We enjoyed a delicious pork belly in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The rooms were really lovely, clean and tidy, The staff were...
    • Group
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were really lovely, clean and tidy, The staff were very helpful, we had to check out very early the next morning and did not have time to eat a full cooked breakfast so the manager or staff member (not sure which) made us some bacon rolls to take with us - they even made a vegan roll for one of my friends, very helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel was easy living with excellent...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about the hotel was easy living with excellent and helpful staff .The location was superb and we had a lake view.We shall return when we need a break.The food was a very good standard and well presented with a well stocked bar and great choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Pity about the quality of the refurbishment otherwise great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a large refurbishment inside and outside. Some rooms have been renovated but on a low budget. The property outside requires a large refurbishment New windows,painting,cleaning etc The management need to see how har the staff are working but are let down by the management. Never enough food in the hot plates in the dining room for breakfast. Food when available very good just requires more service attention. The owner may be a solicitor but he doesn’t have any practical experience in refurbishment of what could be a great five star hotel. Problem is it will cost a few million to do a great job and to get the right team to give this hotel some tender care

    Location,friendly service,breakfast,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Lorraine, Ben and Alfie.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service food was not as nice as restaurant and shower a little lacking in power.

    We took our dog with us and the hotel left a comfy bed for him, towel, two bowls and snacks. He loved it. Breakfast choice was really good our room was great with nice products to use. Enjoyed a delicious evening meal too with yummy dessert. Would definitely go again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like

    It was our 43 wedding anniversary they put card balloon and made the towels into swans and the barman cris he aked the chef to make us something not on menu said you tell me what you like and we choose beef Wellington they made it if us had good time thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Everything about our one night stay was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about our one night stay was perfect! The welcome letter in the room to our dog and all the extra touches assured that dogs were welcomed and not merely tolerated! The room, the touches , the service were all perfect! We will be back and I will recommend to all my dog friends! Thank you - a lovely way to finish our Scottish holiday on the way home!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and efficient staff, nice relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all the parking appeared to be pre-booked, but that option didn't appear to be available on the website

    Friendly and efficient staff, nice relaxed atmosphere. good selection for breakfast. Clean and well presented rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Just lovely !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of traffic noise but not enough to affect the experience.

    Fantastic attention to detail in that they really think about guest comfort. Great beds, great shower, White Company products, turn down service where they put fresh ice and water in your room, fresh ground coffee in the room. DVD player and library for rainy days or just a rest from walking. Pleasant attentive staff who are not over the top.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great location, amazing room, wished I had booked a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the bar and grill was overpriced for the quality, £27.00 for a rib-eye steak that was average to say the least, breakfast was better quality good selection from the kitchen.

    Our room was upgraded on check in, the bed was the comfiest bed I have ever slept in!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable with lakeside views and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress on the bed could have done to have been firmer.

    The staff were exceptional across all areas and couldn't do enough to please. Food was good and an exceptional range for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    best hotel visited in the lakes in over 30 years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... all wonderful

    Everything very clean and comfortable.. even ice redy in ice bucket.. beds turned down andchocolates .. breakfast cooked to perfection..10/10.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous accommodation welcoming and comfortable and lovely to dogs what more can u need!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond to make our dogs stay comfortable, bed, towel, bowl,treats and a welcome letter to poppy! Awesome attention to detail 100%recommend this hotel, fantastic👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Food good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a pity that the bar food is only served until 6pm. Sometimes you don’t want to have a full restaurant meal in the evening.

    Food good. Lovely location and the staff were excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Good food, good facilities and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The car parking seemed limited, but having said that I did find a space so not a major issue at all.

    location is great, the room was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The food from the hotel was very good also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    1st time was border line this time not great . Very clean though won’t be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was probably the worst I’ve had... bacon cold sausage tough eggs and beans looked liked they’d been out all night. Toaster inadequate after putting through twice still like a limp lettuce, orange juice cheap... I Evan had to ask for a replacement cup as it smelt doggy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head doesn’t come off(though this seems like the standard type in UK). No air conditioner. May be hot during the day in summer.

    Beautiful room and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Great stay overall, would come back another time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    male staff staff seemed a little off-hand at first. Some of the foreign waitresses struggled to understand our English.

    comfy bed, nice bathroom, views, situation by lake, nice garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in one of the world's most attractive places.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Loved it all.

    Perfectly pet friendly. On arrival two leave dog cushions, bowls, treats, and dog towels were in the room. We had a deluxe room overlooking the Lake. Dogs are permitted in the bar for breakfast and meals.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in Ambleside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dusty in parts, the towel radiator and dvd player obviously missed.

    Really comfortable bed and bathroom quite luxurious. The breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    fabulous - choose the Waterhead and get a lake view for a very special holiday - a keeper!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing - all excellent - one word of warning though is that the local council begin their sweeping and emptying of bins at the Waterhead waterfront at 7 am and you can hear this goings-on because of the proximity of the hotel to the jetty - but me and my wife are early risers so no worries!

    Location, location, location! Fabulous holiday - we stayed for 4 nights. We paid for a lake view and we got a lovely bedroom - room 15, a spacious room with both a bay window and a side window - both delivered great views of Lake Windemere and the Waterhead waterfront. Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. whether that be decaf tea for the room or advice on bus and ferry timetables. Food was excellent; lovely filling breakfasts; we dined in 3 nights as well - not a vast choice - but all meals were prepared with refinement and aplomb and decent portions! We will definitely return here again. We have stayed in a few hotels in Ambleside and indeed the neighbouring Regent (which is also very good) but the Waterhead Hotel was that extra bit special. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Not very much parking. Struggled to get a space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices of the meals and drinks were very expensive and not particularly brilliant. Ok but I've had better cooked breakfast in a guest house for much less than £15 per head.

    The location was great. The room and staff were fabulous Check in quick check out was good not till 11 am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Great relaxing stay and the glorious May weather was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only down side to our room was that there was no in- room safe. If your room is on the ground floor, due to the age of the building opening the large windows and keeping your room secure could cause concern, especially as there is no safe in the room.

    Excellent food served by very friendly staff. Well located property within easy access to several transport choices. Short walk into Ambleside 15-20 mins, on main Lakes bus route and the lake cruises are just over the road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing getaway in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the water in the room.

    The staff had set out a lovely display of swans with the towels along with a helium balloon and card as a surprise for my boyfriends birthday. The bed was really comfy and the room was spacious with lots of storage space. Receptionist was lovely and gave us lots of information on the surrounding area. Ideal location as the lake is across the road with the cruises office nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Visit was a gift for my parents golden anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Visit was a gift for my parents golden anniversary. They had an amazing time & could not fault anything at all. Restaurants in hotel amazing - one nearby not so good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Above expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little rushed having ordered from the bar menu at the end of the daily service of bar food. The tables and umbrellas around me were cleared away and a box of salt and pepper pots collected and left next to me.... a grace period of at least 30 minuates should be allowed for guests to enjoy what they have ordered at 6.00pm without being cleared up around!

    The rooms were luxurious and modern with excellent amenities such as Grasmere gingerbread and ground coffee. The restaurant food was lovely and the outside seating area excellent for a gin and tonic! The hotel exceeded my expectations and I would happily stay again and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    This really did exceed all expectations, the room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not find fault with this hotel.

    This really did exceed all expectations, the room was very nice, the bathroom was excellent, the food was excellent along with the staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. would recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to the lake district. Location was also perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mountain view room was actually a view of next door, no view at all. If I had expected a view I would have been disappointed. But that's the only downside.

    Lovely decor, friendly staff, comfy bed and pillows, fantastic bathroom. Decent car parking for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, stunning views, welcoming staff. A really lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to fault it.

    Spacious, comfortable bedrooms, clean and bright decoration. Liked the personal touch of White Stuff toiletries in the bathroom and the tea/coffee refreshments and homemade gingerbread. Great Location and excellent service and food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect two night stay!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that i did not like.

    I could not fault anything about this hotel, the room and bathroom were lovely and staff were warm and friendly. There were little personal touches like boutique tea and coffee and local made ginger bread. Perfect location for wandering around Ambleside and to drive to other parts of the Lake District. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    The beds are very comfortable and the whole experience is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to see some offers/deals for the summer as we would like to come back again!

    The beds are very comfortable and the whole experience is pleasurable due to the good food and excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    This hotel was in a brilliant location with some wonderful rooms but the staff don’t seem to care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, other thank our room cleaner who was great, were disinterested and not visible at all. Made to feel like an unwelcome distraction. The housekeeping room was open for most of the day and it’s products lined the hallways around our room.

    The room was lovely and the views of the lake perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Top class break in a top class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mini fridge in the room

    The bed was so comfortable!! The staff very friendly especially the restaurant staff. The bathroom was beautiful & had everything that was needed. The only thing that I would say was a very small minus was a mini fridge in the room would have perhaps been a welcome when waking in the middle of the night for a drink of water it would have been a little better from the fridge but like I say that was a small minus. We had a lovely comfortable stay in a lovely comfortable v clean room. Thankyou

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Stayed at The Waterhead on many occasions with and without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed at The Waterhead on many occasions with and without our dog. One of our favourite places to stay in the Lake District. Staff always friendly, lovely clean rooms and brilliant for stays with your dog. Food lovely!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Enjoyed my stay in the lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a lake view room - but when we arrived whilst we could see the lake there was a main road in between - this is misleading advertising. I also thought that the room included breakfast so it was a bit disappointing

    I liked the room the bed and the bathroom was lovely and the ice for our drinks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice place, super staff, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant dinner was ok, but could have been a little better. Serving plates needed to be hotter, vegetable and side dishes were mean portions and placed directly on the plates not as side bowls, starters were all plated up and cold except the soup, deserts well a bit bland and unexceptional. Breakfast eggs on first day were rock hard for all of us, better next day.

    Lovely modern and clean interior design Excellent friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, bar service great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    A friendly hotel in a peaceful and beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not very firm. DVD player didn’t work - even though Blanka did her very best to sort out the problem.

    Gingerbread and fresh coffee in room. View.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place, pity about the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking situation is very dicey, not enough spaces and if you have a big car be warned you could damage it. We did.

    Room and food great, also staff very helpful. Great views of lake.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is relaxing & idyllic views but easy walk into Ambleside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much if I could think of 1 thing - The Car park could be bigger however a public car park next door & hotel said they’d reimburse if I couldn’t find a spot which I managed.

    Fantastic location, came here with 11 year old easy walk into Ambleside, where there’s numerous shops & restaurants. Bar area in hotel is nice fantastic views & lovely staff. Breakfast 10/10 (& that’s with a fussy 11 year old!)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall happy but failed on attitude of reception staff as tried to charge me extras I already paid
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reakfast was full filling and good for a 4star hotel.

    Bar food was good and tasty but failed on my 2nd evening as mash potatoes and gravy was lukewarm but Cumberland sausages was delicious - left me hungry .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable with super breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm, heating controls didn't seem to alter it much. I don't like to sleep in a very warm room - personal preference, as others would have been glad of the warmth.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff were super-friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel that welcomed our dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine and food were charged to our room that we didn't have. Couldn't get a car space outside so the walk was hard with luggage and a dog. View was of the car park at the back so a little disappointed.

    Spacious room, dog friendly hotel. Great extras for the dog e.g bed, bowls and treats. I would recommend and stay again. Attentive staff. Room service very quick.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall a lovely hotel with pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the rate included breakfast but no one on arrival mentioned or asked did we want breakfast as it wasn’t included until we got the bill for £38 in the morning. Somewhat disappointing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff seemed to have English as a second language and this caused some communication difficulties that said they spoke better English then what I could speak their language and were very pleasant and helpful. Some areas of the room were a little worn but nothing major

    Staff were lovely location and hotel is beautiful restaurant food was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    High quality hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The classic room was large and overlooked the public car park. Great views of the lake and mountains from the room. Would recomend to couples seeking a relaxing and high quality stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice clean comfortable in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced and breakfast not included. £19 extra on top of One night at £180 is not a fair price so wouldn’t book this hotel again unfortunately

    Nice clean comfortable in good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of breakfast was extortionate at £19 pp - this meant we had to go out for breakfast

    Really clean hotel in spite of all the dogs around. Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Romantic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning cart was positioned outside our room each morning and early morning conversations held between customers and staff with doors banging. Other than that it was very peaceful throughout the day.

    Breakfast was excellent. Considerate customer service. Perfect location for exploring the lakes. Bonus 10% off the boat trips was unexpected.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet on tv didn’t work and couldn’t access Netflix. And USB on DVD player didn’t work. Spa facilities had too many kids running around and couldn’t relax

    ice bucket on arrival Bath and bed comfortable Lovely restaurant Modern rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Ok but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the bar staff were “looking down their noses “ at us and the service at breakfast was extremely slow .. we Had ask for tea twice and the requested sauce never came .. very poor for the style and cost of the hotel

    The check in and reception staff were excellent and very friendly ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall, an excellent stay, great service & A1 location on the edge of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't choose to experience breakfast. We were on Room Only & the cost per head for breakfast was £ 19.00, which we all thought was too pricey. Parking is at a premium & rear car park looks like it could be awkward to negotiate. I managed to park on the short steep road (bollards at the top end) - which I think is part of the property adjacent to the Hotel building.

    Lake view impressive, heated floor (bathroom), towel origami & birthday balloon & hand written birthday card (mother' s room - was her 80th b'day celebration) was a nice touch. Excellent evening meal @ The Grill - Four adults, three courses (NB No steaks ordered -8oz fillet is £ 29!) + two bottles of wine (and not the cheapest on menu either) worked out at £ 45 per head

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine wasn’t great but that’s personal taste. We got the red Rioja. Not the nicest Rioja I’ve had.

    Lake view room was lovely and we got a free upgrade which was excellent. The gin was delightful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    A last minute booking for one night, that will have us returning for longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Maitre d' could learn to crack a smile!

    Delicious food, great location, comfortable room, exactly what we expected! Very clean throughout, and the views down the lake Windermere are superb! The restaurant staff were very friendly, big smiles and made us feel welcome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Another fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just wish the room offers they give you when you arrive were for a couple of months more in advance. If they has offers for April I am sure I would have booked there and then.

    The whole place was fantastic from Checking in to checking out. The rooms are spacious and extremely nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    Check booking make sure you know what your getting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to spend another 30£ for a lake view and 40 extra for a breakfast for to so on the whole nearly 200£ for one night a bit pricey

    Location was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Wished we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike

    We were very very happy with every aspect of this hotel, staff, comfort, facilities, cleanliness, breakfast, dinner,scenery, position, ease of parking - absolutely everything first class. Would go again and definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Fabulous views, service and chef!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • House Double
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe some walks straight from the front door with nice refreshments on the route would have been helpful. Maybe a drying service for wet walking clothes if it rains - luckily we had dry weather though but I always worry about wet clothes.

    We loved everything. We first came the year it opened so we knew it was good but I was worried it would no longer seem as fresh and new as it was in 2004 - but although everything looked pretty much as special as ever, the staff were even more special!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Excellent! Couldn't recommend it more, it's a credit to the staff and management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly couldn't say - the only thing being we would have liked a room with a view of the lake but I think they cost more and I suppose there are only so many!

    The bed was huge and very comfy. There was Grasmere gingerbread on the tea tray and although UHT milk was provided, there was a note saying ring reception for fresh milk - we did and it arrived immediately. Good selection of teas and filter coffee with a cafetiere. Large, good quality television. Quality complementary toiletries, big fluffy towels and large bath. Breakfast was beautifully cooked (vegetarian breakfast grill) and there was plenty of choice of cereal/pastries/bread/cheese/yoghurts and fruit. Staff throughout seemed genuinely to want us to have the best stay, they were amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Food and wine was excellent although a little pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Duvet was rather too heavy/hot, but the bed was very large and very comfortable. A grab rail would have been useful to get into the bath tub.

    Food and wine was excellent although a little pricey.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Abolute delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needed a little maintenance. Was clean but, as an example to bathroom tiles were cracked and grout was coming out - not expected in a 4*

    Well positioned in Ambleside, a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Great modern facilities with large rooms looking out over Windermere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    A warm welcome to a well positioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • House Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a brilliant welcome! I was travelling with my dog (a seasoned traveller) and I loved all the extras. The room was perfectly located for taking him for his late and early walk. I felt welcome in the bar area for my meals.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A home from home .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing we will be back in March for my husbands birthday.

    Everything we have stayed here a number of times now and this is the best hotel we have stayed in in a long time. Food service staff are all the best nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are first class and the beds are so comfortable you can get a good nights sleep for definite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Delightful. Just perfect for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • House Double
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Handicap access to tub/shower (no useful grab rails).

    Staff was extremely helpful, and gave us a much-appreciated handicap-accessable room with convenient parking. Restaurant and bar very nice. Setting on Lake Windermere beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Exactly what we wanted - a bit of luxury and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to park in the public car park next door as there was no space. However the Hotel covered the cost of this. Food was good, with wonderful service, but not spectacular for the prices

    Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Lots of little extras.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    We like the location of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet did not work properly. The room was very small and in need of a bit of love. The food was also very average.

    We like the location of this hotel. We have stayed here lots of times and have always been happy with the hotel but I'm not sure we will stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Lake View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A different choice of meals each evening. The menu was the same apart from 'catch of the day'

    The friendliness of staff, the breakfast menu, the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel, would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • House Double
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfy bed, brilliant breakfast options, very large room and even had a view of lake Windermere although we didn't have a lake view room. Fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyed 3 night stay enhanced by the good atmosphere of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Lake View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedrooms are a little on the small side but well appointed and the bed is very comfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel Hotel well appointed with a very good standard of cleanliness. Excellent dining room. Breakfast and dinner of a very good standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: