Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waters Edge Hotel 2 stars

Seafront, Torquay, TQ2 6QH, United Kingdom

#29 of 46 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1170 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service there was not good 3 toilet rolls in 5 days 1 clean towel in 4 days n not once did the bed sheets b changed not advertised now breakfast only toast or cereal on menu I wouldn't go back there again

    Nothing really it's a good job had won towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew breakfast was not included when we booked buti we asker if they still did breakfast at an extra cost as we stayed there a few years ago and we were told no, yet each morning we saw people eating breakfast, we feLtd the man on reception was not very friendly and hard of hearing.

    Location great parking excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe shower to be adjustable so not too hot constantly. And some general decoration/mold prevention in rooms and redecorate hallways etc

    Comfy bed. Cheap rates so good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location...Shame building in need of some TCL. Carpets could do with cleaning. Paintwork freshening up. The bed in our room was un comfortable.

    Couldn't ask for better location our Room had a beautiful Sea view you couldn't better. Easy walk to caf'e and bars. Theatre in walking distance too . To be honest... Price paid couldn't really complain.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot, bathroom very average, bed uncomfortable- old and needs replacing.

    Easy parking and check in and located right in foreshore. Great views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had problem getting hot water in my room The owner did sort it out next day All ut took was to let water run for long time It would have been useful to know this beforehand or note left in room

    Value for money Good views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed room at the back of hotel window did not shut proper out side wild life roaming little things vermin old sheds falling apart carpets need replacing bar was never open only can beer so i was told

    nothing broken glass under bed all the time we were there ahotel that needs agreat deal of money spent to make it good not great the worst ive ever stayed in and that's been plight never again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above comments. Photographs on the website are misleading.

    Limited and expensive breakfast offered, rooms were unclean, drains were blocked, urine and blood stains on the tiles, carpet was filthy, pillows had an awful smell coming from them, reception was only manned for a few hours each day. Overpriced for the condition and lack of facilities, passenger lift did not seem capable of doing the job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A WORKING LIFT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE THREE OF THE STAFF WATCHED MY PARTNER AND I STRUGLE WITH OUR CASES SHE AND I ARE IN OUR SEVENTIES , I DONT KNOW WHAT A CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST MEANS IN TORQUAY THIS ONE WAS CEREALS TEA OR COFEE AND ONE PIECE OF TOAST !!!

    ???

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for some reason the fire alarm started at 3.30. which is not really good. After the fire alarm, I could not sleep again ,the next day I was really tired. I do not want to book this hotel again

    room view and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two lights in our room were not working,above the bed and in the bathroom above the mirror which would have helped when shaving

    The room was great with sea views from all windows, tea and coffee making had plenty of milk etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited but you can park on side st.

    It was well situated on the sea front, although I would recommend definitely asking for a sea view. This is a value for money hotel, don’t expect it to be anything else and you won’t be disappointed. My review is based on it being cheap and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing stated continental breakfast was available but was told on checking in we don’t really do breakfast just cereal and toast. There was no hand towels sheets were dirty and also we had to rewash cups and spoons due to stains. And worst of all the shower leaked all over the floor from the bottom of shower tray and through the glass seals. Every time we tried to go to reception it was shut

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and excellent room. I will come here again and stay here again. Reception was open 24 hours and we are pleased to see the sea when we wake up. AMAZING

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room .toilet broke .no hot food (breakfast restaurant etc) .contenental breakfast ..mmmm ceraels in baskets, jam and tea and toast or and no sugar out for tea or cereals .still running in winter mode

    It was very close to the seafront and town .easy to find

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra small room, had to shimmy around the bed. The metal bedstead has noisy and made a racket when time we moved, paper thin walls could hear next doors conversations. Tv supplies but broken remote.

    The appearance of hotel from outside, friendly receptionist

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was cold - we were given an electric convector heater for our bedroom. Central heating only came on for a short period one evening and one morning. The hotel was cold!! Breakfast was very poor

    Bedroom was very bright and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water for a shower until we complain. Then the heating was on all night. So we had to sleep with the window open listening to the traffic.

    The location of the property. Really good views

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first of the two rooms we had smelt really funny the the second room the internet didn’t reach and the tv was on the side wall so you had to lie at the bottom of the bed.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a double whammy being in this luxury area, should you not be driving its quite far from s shop. Although their is food available on site.

    The owner Phil seems a very happy man. Very relaxed owner and atmospheric hotel. Love the fact it is literally on the edge of the sea in the luxury area of Livermesd. Would recommend anytime.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for shower. Room was freezing. Bed was sqeaky with every movement. Could hear next room snoring. Blood stains on bed clothes.

    Location ams sea view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although bedding was very clean room had obviously not been cleaned very well window sill dirty and an old toothbrush on floor in bathroom. Needs updating and re-painting.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant but it states there is one on the website we had to keep getting taxi into town for food as it was raining not ideal. The ensuite was full of mould over the shower head and hose also in all the nooks and crannies. Our radiator was turned off I had to get down on the floor behind the dressing table to turn it on I have a knee injury so wasn't easy.

    The sea view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold room and not much variety on the bar, well what bar that there was

    Great view from the window,was good value for the price, but wouldn't want to pay anymore than we did

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited in winter room was cold heating off when we arrived. Staff not always available.

    Well located Just a short walk to local amenities and town centre. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast dreadful Interaction zero

    Poor communication skills. Terrible breakfast. Stale cheap cereal and 3 bits thin white cheapest bread toast. All food as cheap made me feel ill. Cleanliness if room great. View great after asking for a room change as freezing cold and no hot water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to use the hair dryer and it conked out, possibly due to too much dust o the element. The TV, whilst a good size did not respond to the remote, possibly due to depleted batteries, able to operate TV from buttons on side. Neither of these things was a big issue as I only stayed for one night, if I had stayed longer I might have brought it up with management.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good sized, clean and comfortable room. No trouble parking in their car park. En-suite shower warm and powerful. Radiator warmed the room well. Great location from which to take my morning run down to the arena.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but ok for basic accommodation I didn't have breakfast so can not comment on food or service Room cleaned 1 day, came the next but I was getting dressed, expected them to return but didn't.

    Close to train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water and heating specially and hot breakfast

    We like place of the hotel everything is near by can be reach in 5 or 10 minuets to the town beach restaurant pub shopping mall

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath mat so bathroom floor got slippery and dangerous. Breakfast had no cooked options. Lighting and heating of general areas poor and not enough central heating in room.

    Incredible view. Very pleasant staff. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room unfortunately let the hotel down. I understood i was paying less for what I expected to be a fairly basic hotel, however I wasn’t expecting the dirt in the room. There was a layer of grimy dust across the tv and wardrobe which made the whole room feel grubby and the remote control was sticky to touch, however the on suite was nice and clean and towels fluffy and clean.

    The staff were great, really friendly and welcoming. The location was fantastic - five mins walk from the train station, on the waterfront and close to town and bus stops. Potentially great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing, except perhaps creaky floorboards.(not an issue, as the hotel was quiet during my stay...maybe an issue when busier)

    very friendly, helpful staff. Comfy bed. Sea view. Excellent location Hot shower Great value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating only came on for an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening. It was freezing being December. Shower only produced cold water so we couldn't use it. Everything needed an overhaul and updating. I would not pay £4.00 for the piece of toast and bowl of cereal for what was described as a continental breakfast. The manager was not a very approachable person and we didn't feel we could question him, he wouldn't engage in conversation, it was hard work.

    The beautiful sea view, exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left at 10:30pm and booked into the Travelodge. Me and my partner stayed for a total of 2 hours but started getting itchy and a rash as we were laying in bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tray doesn't drain well and no floor bathmat

    Budget hotel but had everything you need ,had great night sleep - only stayed for 1 night but if you don't want to pay over the top and not expecting 5 🌟 then this hotel has everything you need.we shall be returning to Torquay for another fun night

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little cold to start with (November stay) spoke to reception and extra heaters were provided

    Cheap and cheerful stay and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being there in November the room was cold as there was no heating provided.The hotel is quite old with creeky floor boards and beds which can be disturbing in the night.

    The location was excellent for sea views with a bus stop one minute walk,which took you to the local restaurants and shops and in the other direction to Brixham which is a delightful fishing village

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the fact that everywhere you go outside of the massive car park in the hotel you had to pay to park anywhere, as we like to get about on a vacation it cost us a fortune in parking over the 4 days we were there

    We liked everything about the trip, the place the hotel the staff the parking, we absolutely loved our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to book there again, actually we will be booking again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the view. Two globes did not work. I had to ask for milk because the milk in the jar was bad. The shower tap gives warm water when you turn the tap towards the blue arrow and cold on the red arrow. One one small soap for basin and shower. I did mention it to the gentleman at the reception, he just laughed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked everything, matched our expectations for the price.

    Friendly, clean, comfortable, continental breakfast simple but good (included). Location (round the corner from the station, on the beach) and views outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooked breakfast, but totally understand for this time of year.

    Price, Ideal Location,Parking was great, Friendly staff, sea view from room. Everything in the room we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Making an exit by car from the car park as it is situated on a bend giving limited visibility onto a busy road. A limited range of breakfast foods but we we were happy to not have a cooked breakfast. Still good value.

    Excellent value for money. Very close to the Poetry Festival I was attending at the Livermead Cluff Hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go out for breakfast, very noisy on ground floor from guests above, shower not easy to use and could have done with a good clean

    For a budget hotel, good value, plenty of tea and coffee in room,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel did not look very inviting to eat there. Spoke to staff twice, obtain key and return it. Could have been more of a presence

    £150 for a 5 night stay was good value. Location very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and facilities were what I expected and there was nothing that could have been done to make my stay better.

    Room was exactly what was required at a reasonable price, in the exact location I required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a good few minutes to run the hot water through but shower lovely once it got going

    Really polite and kind attentive staff and so clean brilliant sea view.simple breakfast enjoyable and worth the money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit dated, shower took an age to heat up.

    Very friendly and a spacious meeting area, ideal for a group of friends to meet up. And the view was superb, across the coast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable and creaky. Wardrobe door falling off. Shower door fell off runner.tv remote didn't work .poor amount of complimentary coffee sachets. Needs updating .

    Onsite parking . Nice soft towels .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only cereal and toast for breakfast Had to go out and buy shower gel and shampoo having assumed there would be some provided and there wasn't

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No atmosphere. Unwelcoming decor and interior design. Breakfast (continental) unimaginative, little variety . Only white bread, I think. Really, they should do better. How about yogurts, more cereal and fruit choices etc?

    Great view from dining room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I went to the reception area which was devoid of anyone and didn't look like reception. When the man sauntered in he didn't smile, say welcome or ask how my journey was! he didn't tell me where the dining room was or time of breakfast I had to ask and then change rooms because the heat was full on and couldn't be turned off and it was a mild day!!!

    The fresh clean duvet covers. It was not too far from the venue I went to. Nice view from Dining Room over the bay while I ate plain cereals, White toast and used own Earl Grey tea as they had only Indian tea (builders) I had to pay extra for breakfast too £4!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very hard.There was hardly any light in the room as bulbs were blown,or did not work.There was hardly any room in the bathroom.To actually get to the hotel you had a hard walk uphill.

    The only thing my wife and I liked was that we had a ground floor room as my wife cannot climb stairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only criticism is that there were no toiletries provided ie toothpaste, shower gel, and that the hot water took ages to come through, before we could use the shower in the morning.

    The location was excellent for us as we travelled by train from Plymouth to Torquay. The room was what we needed for our one night stay. It was very clean and tidy. We hadn't requested a sea view but were pleasantly surprised to have one - very good for the coat of £54.00,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to hunt for the sign for reception, it wasn't obvious at first. Not that it's the end of the world of course, there weren't that many doors to go through to find it! The corridors are quite narrow, and we noticed a couple of the bedroom doors seemed narrow too. luckily ours wasn't. The rooms, although clean, were dated. Though the bed and bedding was crisp and white, the decor wasn't modern. The bedside wall lights were badly in need of replacement - the plastic in the inside of both was only half there leaving the fabric unprotected against the heat of the bulbs. There was a wardrobe with hangers provided but if staying more than a few days, I don't think the rooms would be large enough to accommodate clothing, towels, shoes etc for 2. Of course, this may not be the case throughout the hotel, but certainly for both rooms I had booked. Our bathroom was clean however the bathroom my grandmother was in did have some mould patches around the shower. Again, it's not the end of the world. We had requested ground floor, but we were surprised to find that none of the windows had restrictors or a way of partially opening them overnight with the lockable latch. They simply had to be open or shut. As we were ground floor especially, we couldn't have the slight gap to allow a draught over night; I imagine in the summer time this would be horrendous on a hot day. The breakfast was described as 'continental' however, it was simply a few different cereals to choose from and toast. A tea or coffee each, and a jug of orange juice. Perhaps in high season there is more to choose from?

    Arrival, what we thought was reception wasn't, but there a was a sign directing us round to the reception desk. Greeted by a lovely gentleman, swift check in and directed where to find the bedrooms. Fairly clean throughout, well lit. Continental Breakfast was provided free, lovely views in the daylight from the restaurant and the bedrooms; Straight over the bay. Located a short distance from Torquay centre (easily walkable for the majority!) it's a fantastic location. The bedroom and bathrooms were clean, well presented, and ideal for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff told us there was no food on phone before we went when we got there we were told there would be cereal toast tea and coffee which would be charged to your room, also on the leaflet my wife picked of the counter said there was a restaraunt called livermead there every thing else was great good clean all enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As our stay was a very short overnight it was fine, wouldn't want to stay there any longer. Not very comfortable, walls are made of cardboard! Very tired.

    Location ideal for our stay. We just needed somewhere cheap to sleep and that's what we got!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Facilities were a bit jaded. Drawers in units could have been cleaner. Bathroom wasn't cleaned every day.

    We were told on arrival that a light breakfast would be available at a cost of £4 per head per day. This was a reasonable price for what was on offer - toast etc. fruit, yogurts, croissants, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Bed was comfortable and the room warm.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful room dripping water all night banging doors stark tiny dirty shower plaster coming off. Public rooms tired and bare. More like a cheap hostel than a Hotel

    Parking and lication

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room too narrow for comfort. entrance on busy blind corner made exit hazardous. too many transit vans in car park for easy parking

    Requested sea view which was given and panoramic scene experienced. friendly welcome. appreciated the continental breakfast with room price offered

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody on reception when we got back in the evening. The bathroom had mould in the corners and we were not made to feel all that welcome.

    The view was great, but if you don't have a sea view from your room, it would be dismal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Blood on the sheets and pillows and pillow cases. Cobwebs around the light fittings and ceilings . The décor in the room VERY VERY tired , together with the furniture.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for the chance to give you info , we arrived at 230pm went to our room in the bathroom their was some tools in there and the toilet was in bits the top part , we thought fair enough some one will come back to fix it we went out at 5pm and told the owner lady about this she said some one will be fixing it some point later , got home around 9pm tools gone 😀then tried to use the toilet but the flusher didn't work so had to travel down 2 flights of stairs to use the communal toilet I explained to the night watchmen , the next morning back down and up the stairs for the toilet I then asked the night watchman if I could change rooms he said no have none spare , then the owner turned up around 10ish by that time we was moving out as we would rather lose the next night then stay there what a horrible grubby place doors rattle , the owner then suggested we change rooms no thanks I explained .

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pull it down

    The Hotel is dirty and smelt bad, Don't stay there. needs a good clean shower not working needs to take up the dirty red carpet. Dust everywhere do not sleep in between sheets I slept on top of sheets.Nasty place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were in poor state of repair I had 2 disabled people with me and was told we would have rooms on the first floor one room he'd approx 10 stairs to get to it. Wall lights not fixed securely head boards not attached to beds the owner was a very sullen man not friendly at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking in delayed from agreed time by 2hrs....Smell of raw sewage....Toilet seat broken and not repared after complaint...Room not cleaned (just emptied the bin)...Skeleton staff (only saw 1 staff member and the owner)

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in room 7 which was dirty and smelt of drains and if you open the window you get a smell of the smoking area which is outside the window. To be fair we were moved to room 50 on the upper floors looking out over the bay and the room was clean

    The location was pretty good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact have any cooking facilities

    Brilliant hotel loved our stay but they didn't have any facilities to cook your own meal not even a micro braids ave in the whole place staff was brilliant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start, creaky floor boards, squeaky beds. No mention of the railway line outside our bedroom window. You could hear everything going on around the hotel. The room/rooms could do with a good dusting and decorating I would say that the hotel could do with updating.

    Within walking distance of the beach and town centre. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was really hot on entry radiator was on full and window shut but no problem to open window and turn rad off would have like an in house kitchen for hot meals otherwise a good value for money hotel. recommended.

    A reasonable good quality hotel with good parking and good position in Torquay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a simple hotel in desperate need of some modernisation. The room was cramped, the walls thin and the beds uncomfortable. The view from our window was a gutter.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a budget room at the back of the hotel which was perfectly fine but the back outside where the sheds are could do with a major clear up its untidy dirty and from our window we could see used condoms that had been thrown from neighbouring windows. A shame as the rest of the hotel was perfect

    The hotel was extremely clean and the staff were very friendly.. Lovely comfortable bed... Beautiful sea views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of onsite parking, the size of my room, the wall view from my room

    The hotel is adequate for a base. The bonus was the view from the lounge/breakfast room looking out over the sea. There is some on site parking but not sufficient for everyone staying at the hotel. I was able to park on a street nearby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of evening facilities. Lack of cooked breakfast. TV controller was naff. Banging fire doors- people had to pass through them but they did bang. Battered and old furniture with drawers that did not work carpet a bit stained and smelly The rail line ran under my window .....a little noisy late at night. Long walk to restaurants or other entertainment.... and back again This is/ was/has been a beautiful building, I believe it needs TLC and money spent on an up grade and it would be many times more attractive.

    The bathroom was compact but really clean. The shower was small but efficient and hot but controllable. The bed linen and towels were spotlessly clean not a stain or mark in sight! The room was serviced every day The lift was really useful and quick The staff were helpful Good value for money There is parking but only enough for about 16 cars max It is far away from the noise (fun fair), but a bit of a walk It is close to the train station and bus stop Great sea view, magnificent sea view from front Rooms were warm everywhere was warm Bill was correct and available on time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fact that there were no staff to be seen we we did not know if there was an evening meal or breakfast to be had

    the view from the room was of the sea it was lovely, the room was basic skertingborrds could do with a wash the whole place could do with a like of paint, i only saw one member of staff on the day we arivde, we were room only so we ate out . but on the whole for what we paid the price was ok , we would stay there again thank you

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated, old furniture, draws in room didn't shut, Continental breakfast was just 4 variety of cereal only, nothing else!

    It was ok for a one night stay , sea view for a single room!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Waters Edge Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: