Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Waterside Hotel 3 stars

48/52 Sandhill, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 3JF, United Kingdom

#54 of 76 hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1390 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My girls had mould on their walls and roof in their room. I couldn’t see out the windows as they were that dirty. Tiles in bathroom cracked. Generally in need of upgrade/repairs. Booked for location and very cheap but wouldn’t stay again.

    Booked this hotel for its location across from the Riverside music venue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small and the matress wasn't all that comfortable. The breakfast arrangements have changed since my last visit and I didn't like them as much as they used to be, The restaurant where they are served now is a bit ' grubby' and it does not feel as homely as the old breakfast room.

    The staff were great as was the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn’t great and opening windows brought in the noise of traffic outside.

    It was clean and tidy. Good value for money. Good central location. Adjoining restaurant did a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very comfortable one night stay. Basic, but everything needed for a short stay. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Would certainly consider againif visiting Newcastle in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was not great, and the room was so hot even with the windows open. Due to the evening noise from the night club below, it was hard to sleep

    The location for day time was amazing, with a super short walk to the Tyne and the bridges which was lovely. However, the hotel is right next to a night club and it was really noisy until the early hours. The breakfast location was for us the best part of the stay-great food and music and was always busy. Staff excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t that easy to find, room was very warm so had to have the windows open and the room was on the main road side so very noisy! But it was in the centre so I guess you should expect that.

    Friendly staff, clean, central 10 minute walk to st James Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the staff were lovely especially the night time manager Alton was a amazing 👍 I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends an family

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean, black marks on the wall, air con was pointless, room was next to generator so when windows open it was very noisy. View from room was a wall! Seemed a lot of money to pay for what we got in the room. Parking- I emailed the hotel and was advised to go to them to get a parking pass for around £8. When I arrived I was told that was not the case. There is parking across the road but you pay through an app and for 18 hours for £16. I didn’t mind paying for the parking as it’s a central location but think the hotel need to update their info on parking.

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving & trying to find parking, was slightly disappointed to be told, hotel had lost the use of the car park opposite that morning & receptionist was unable to advise where else we could park. Was slightly stressful driving round to try & find parking in an area we didn’t know & after a 4 hour drive to get there.

    Rooms are slightly dated & ready for a face lift, however had all the essentials we required. Would definitely use this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was extremely confusing, with conflicting information from the hotel and the car park wardens.

    The location is very good being on the quayside, but with only a short walk up to the centre where all the action is. You can access the cafe next door from within the hotel and the breakfast was delicious and very good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the rooms, they smelt damp. The walls were mucky, the bedding had stains on it. There was duck tape going across the divider between the bathroom and room. Not worth the money we spent.

    The lady on reception was lovely. Location amazing. 8 minute walk to the centre

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This isn't a dislike of anything the hotel can control, but it is on a busy road that can be quite loud throughout the night.

    Staff are brilliant, location is excellent. if you are a runner go across the bridge and down the quay its a lovely route. rooms are currently being decorated for a freshen up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    My stay at the Waterside hotel was great 😁 the location is perfect just a stone throw from the bars restaurants .the Breakfast at the Waterside hotel is fantastic and u have got 2 try it 😁😁😁😁😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no complaints, There wasn't anything to dislike!

    Check in was great with a nice friendly receptionist, The room was clean, warm and of a decent size. The bed was comfortable. As well as the bar downstairs there was the guest lounge bar which was fab! Overall - I couldn't fault the place! We'll definitely be staying here again! Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We knew it was likely to be noisy because of its location so were not surprised by the fact that we had to keep the window shut. As it happened it was quite a hot night.

    The room was small but had all that we needed, as did the bathroom. Bed very comfortable. Basically it does what it says on the tin. Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful. Location very convenient for eating and for 'The Sage'. Nextdoor provided good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little dated and not al the rooms had air con but I reckon for the money it was great

    It was situated in a really good location the staff were amazing and so polite! First time going to Newcastle and won’t be the last, our shower and bath had no water but they swapped our rooms and it was lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small

    The room looked very nice, the room was clean, it had everything I could’ve wanted, it was great value for money and the location was brilliant: walking distance from he shopping Center, right next to he river and walking distance from the venue which the festival I went to was (this is tomorrow festival). I would recommend the hotel for anyone planning to go to he festival.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an overnight stay and found the hotel , the parking and the location all met our needs. We were disappointed with the lack of wifi during our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was on a main thoroughfair of traffic on the quayside road, as it was opposite the bridge, unfortunately was woken up in the early hours, and could not get back to sleep, so spoilt my stay.

    Receptionist welcomed me to the hotel, nice, and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no air conditioning but was given a fan. The ceiling was badly marked

    The staff were the absolute stars of the place. We felt very welcome and at home

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t as sharp as it could’ve been bed wasn’t comfortable, the water didn’t drain when having a shower and if you left the window open on a hot day you ended up with flys in the room.

    The location and the cafe popolo below it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was non existent in my room. I only stayed for one night so it wasn't too bad, but if I'd have booked for any longer this would have really irritated me as I do use wi-fi.

    The lady on reception made my stay. I was starting a 12 hour night shift at 5pm and I really needed an early check in order to get sorted for work. She enabled me to check in slightly early which was great! The bed was super comfy. The shower was amazing,hot and powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was in the attached ground floor cafe. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was fine but I would probably have preferred the traditional hotel buffet breakfast. No complaints about the service or value, just not for me.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming, the room was spacious and well equipped with a good size bathroom and shower. Kettle, tea and coffee provided + biscuits. A great view over the Tyne and well situated for the city centre, Quayside, The Sage and Riverside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise that breakfast wasn't included in the cost and unfortunately WiFi wasn't working for the three days of our stay

    The location was excellent, parking facilities great and the staff were all lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hairdryer in room 202 is linked through the back of the drawer so couldn't use at mirror ,told staff and they were not aware of this and promised to sort it out .

    A clean ,compact hotel,jst near the quayside ,nice welcome and room was small but clean !and we were out all the time anyway,10% discount voucher for food and drink in the bar/restaurant ,nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stag parties. People trying to get into our room at 3am. Reported to reception who suggested complaint form. Next night woken again by continuous knocking on door by drunks to tell us they would be making a noise. Called by complaints people who were very dismissive and charged us for a lost key. As a disabled traveller she said we should have gone 3 floors down to reception when the person was trying to get into our room.

    Clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only breakfast options were full English , pancakes with bacon or fruit. No fresh juice, cereal, toast etc an no vegetarian breakfast

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was extremely hard - meant to check if I had a mattress. The hotel was tired, with carpets threadbare in places. The walls were very thin - I could hear the man in the next rrom, opening his tea bags, entire conversation and also having a pee.

    The reception staff were really nice and used my name

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room didn’t have large bed. Corridors could be noisy and you could hear the people in the room next to you. Bed not very comfortable. Television didn’t work. Also staff tried to overcharge me on arrival.

    Clean room. Central location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room was dangerous floor was very slippy when wet. The TV in the room was tiny and the picture brightness was poor. We could not see the picture.

    The location was good on the Quayside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the website it stated that the room had a bath, however there was only a shower on arrival. Also one of the towels was covered in make up from a previous guest

    The room had a great view of the river tyne and is in a great locations for many different customers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are paper thin. I was woken by other guests returning to their rooms at 3am. One couple proceeded to row for most of the night / morning. I was unable to sleep.

    Easy to find. Breakfast included

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we paid double the price because it was a weekend. The noisy crossroads outside the room. Nightclub over the road to the right. Cars and motor bikes accelerating off from the lights. Having no secondary glazing in the bathroom. Window was also dirty/ mouldy round the glass panes. Curtain hanging off the track. No heating in the bathroom not even a heated towel rail. No mirror to sit at in the bedroom so I could dry hair do make up!! Ok for those who don't need to do these things that us ladies do!! I booked a year in advance and was allocated a room at the front on the third floor, type of Attic room. As we were only there two nights didn't complain. Once the first night had gone thought pointless as we only had one more night. Decor in the bathroom brown tiles was dated and mould around the shower tray. Needs complete refurb!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine and satisfied but there was a front desk girl really impolite. Always kept in silence even when I went outside and gave back the key or asked the key back. Always in silence with horrible poker face……

    Everything was fine and satisfied but there was a front desk girl really impolite. Always kept in silence even when I went outside and gave back the key or asked the key back. Always in silence with horrible poker face……

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was central location, but was above a noisy bar. very bad on Saturday night, but ok on sunday. Good for nightlife, but not suited for families.

    good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the walls are paper thin so if you are havinf an early night you can hear everything around you

    Staff were pleasent and so so nice no question that they wouldnt answer had everything ready when we arrived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room walls were very thin, there were a drunk group of people on the next room and I hear almost everything they speak. Bed was almost collapsed. Room were really small. Floor was shaking every time I step on.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was bit more like a large sink. It was clearly designed with the purpose of providing not consuming much space, rather than the ergonomics of expected clientele, in mind.

    Don’t understand how this place has so many negative reviewers. Has all the facilities I would expect from a lodgings, superb (Quayside, very desirable in Newcastle) and 24hr bar service! For the value for money, any small unprovided facilities can be discredited. However, I found none!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great wee hotel right in the heart of the quayside, plenty bars and restaurants near by and a 5 minutes walk to the theatre royal, it’s not the ritz but at £55 for a double room it’s a comfortable clean hotel for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking instructions weren't clear. Recommended to use the car park opposite and using the App it said the carpark was full so we paid for elsewhere, walked into reception and were asked if we wanted the car parking validated. Too late by that stage which was a shame.

    The location is ideal for a city stay. The staff were friendly and the value for money was excellent. A quayside location is perfect for almost any kind of stay be it romantic get away or a lads/girls wkd away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've been a bit cleaner, some moisture on ceiling, but overall very good value, especially given the location

    Comfy bed, quiet room at the back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite warm with no A/C in our room, or means to open the window. In-room info says "most" rooms have A/C, ours didn't - if we stay again we'll request an A/C room.

    Great location - about 6/7 mins from the station, on the lovely banks near good pubs and restaurants. Room was basic but comfortable. Didn't use the bar facilities or breakfast discount for the bar/restaurant downstairs but would on a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only very small complaint is that it would be nice if the cups for tea ect were bigger but like I said it's a petty silly one.

    I had the best bacon and sausage sandwich for breakfast. The staff were absolutely fab. The room was lovely and clean and the shower was amazing. My partner and I just wanted a night away to reconnect and the waterside was perfect for it. Next time we want to stay a few nights. Thank you for a wonderful time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly cold...I woke up with a terrible cough because of it and had to layer on the rough brown blanket from the closet, pulling it over my head to protect against the cold air, all night. The staff were not terribly friendly. There was no television available in the morning until 8am (and I think it went off at 10pm or so in the evening). The door locks consisted only of a basic key in the doorknob and a cheap chain, which felt very unsafe.

    The location was relatively quiet and right next to the castle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An odd odour in the stairwell, we had a rear view that wasn't very nice but not a problem on an overnight stay.

    Good location, friendly staff, very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst bed ive ever slept in. told the staff and thought I might be moved but no Breakfast was not as advertised . Took ages to cook and when it came only 1 slice of bacon , supose to be 2. It was also not vey hot considering it took forever to be done. Also you can only choose between tea or coffee for the £7.95 price which is riduculous

    Staff were nice and location was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattress was beyond the end of it's useful life.

    This is now my goto hotel in the city. Great staff and good location. Very fast wifi. excellent value, as always.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures and fittings need updating - as does the whole building. It was very tired and dated.

    The best thing about this hotel was the location overlooking the Quayside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound of some type of machinery like a heater or a hand dryer constant noise and the single glazed window could hear People going up and down stairs + the noise from the street on the night time room 307

    There Breakfast were lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration and furnishings filthy Bedding the pillows I would have better for my dog to sleep on Bed old and not comfortable and this I was told was a better room I have seen better in a homeless shelter ( no disrespect )

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nice but we did not get offered the full menu as we had to wait for breakfast items,by the time they came we were finished breakfast,what we got was not worth £7.95.

    The staff very welcoming and friendly x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated building and room in need of serious renovation. Rather uncomfortable mattress. No room service for day one of three day stay.

    Close proximity to Quayside restaurants and bars. Close to City Centre. Friendly reception staff who were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really shabby, outdated interior that should have been replaced 20 years ago. Mobile electric radiator instead of a central heating. Rooms were dirty. Hairs in Bed, dots on the towels, carpet was not vacuumed, mold on the bathroom mat... We got stuck in the elevator two times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything I would only say it was shame lift was broken as we had three floors to climb with cases although staff offered to take them which was kind

    Was right in middle of a good area for bars and nightlife, clean staff were very helpful breakfast available if you wanted it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water takes a few minutes to warm up but it gets good and hot. Breakfast is best avoided - it is taken in the noisy bar below and was not great for the price.

    Very friendly staff and comfortable room. Great value for the price. Good central location - about 10 minutes from the station or centre of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, had to wait nearly 10 minutes for a member of staff to check me in as there was nobody in reception.

    Well located in the heart of Newcastle Quayside, close to pubs, clubs & restaurants & two minute walk to the river & amazing views along the Tyne. Breakfast freshly prepared while you wait. All staff really friendly & helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My request for a bath was kindly accommodated, all the staff throughout the stay were so friendly and helpful, especially the maintenance guy who fixed my bath plug in the evening so I could use it the next day! Room was spacious and clean with a lovely view over the Tyne Bridge

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property very nice if you want quiet stay

    Very nice hotel location was good sort trip in a taxi to the main part of the town. And the staff are a great help with anything they can help you with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit worn down (although they said they had plans to freshen up the hotel soon). The only breakfast options were full English or vegetarian full English.

    The location is great, staff was friendly and breakfast portions were big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was dated and run down. In the room itself the bathroom was good, but the bedroom furniture and facilities were old and very worn. Two plug sockets had been half ripped off the wall and the windows were covered in condensation that couldn't be removed. The bed sheets were clean but other extras like throw cushions and chairs were stained and dirty. Much of the furniture had been chipped or was stained. There is no natural light in the room and there are no overhead lamps only standing/table lamps; the only mirror in the bedroom is placed too low. This means it's difficult to get ready in the bedroom and you need to use the bathroom instead. This would be fine but as soon as you turn the bathroom light on (again no windows) the fan begins which brings food smells and smell of burned food/oil into the room. I had to buy an air freshener to be able to sleep in the bedroom at all. The bedroom door does not lock very well from the inside and you can hear movement within and outside the hotel. Overall I would not visit again.

    The price was good value for money, and it was great to have free wifi (other hotels at the same low price charge for wifi). The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all - everything as described. Really enjoyed the stay.

    Warm welcome from the staff, nice warm comfortable room, convenient location. It had everything needed for a comfortable overnight stay. Excellent value for money. Lovely room right at the end of the swing bridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge. Shower over bath is not my favourite,though it is modern.

    My spacious room on 3rd floor looked out at several of Newcastles famous bridges.I had a glimpse of the blue moon. There is very good heating,with an extra oil radiator for clients,I was toasty in January,essential ! My bed was very comfortable and cosy,all linens are excellent. The bathroom is modern and spacious with good facilities. There is a generous tea tray, room is replenished daily,thank you. Staff were friendly and we had a pleasant chat,I felt very welcome.A taxi was arranged for me,take Blue line. The green Q bus is useful for city,departs close by.The Quayside is a fascinating historic area to explore,lots of restaurants. Rates vary a lot for Waterside,I had a bargain at under £50.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly noisy but that would be looking for something to not like!

    very helpful staff. Steve is an absolute credit to the Hotel! The 24-hour bar in the hotel was a nice extra!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. The tv was old and small and poor picture.

    The whole hotel is in need of a total renovation- Everything just looked so dirty and old and worn. The walls, the ceiling, the carpet, the bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast bar downstairs (separate facility) freezing! Better breakfast round the corner at queen st cafe

    Good location, friendly staff, old-fashioned charm and character Good wifi

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Viscious parking attendant. Paid for a full day and moved the car out of the way of a nightclub exit to a safer place. It looked all one car park in the dark but it proved to be one operator but a separate section. Got a fine quite unnecessary and a vindictive wotsit.

    Good part of town for night life. Newcastle is the number one place to be for fun!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and dingy room needs refurnishing. Bar area was not inviting. Heating tempremental, bathroom extractor and basin plug not working. Not good value.

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff. Very efficient staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and some items a little tiered, needs a refurb, but value for money.

    Excellent location on the Quayside, right at the heart of the waterfront in Newcastle.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little dated and small amount of noise from below busy revellers but didn’t keep me awake.

    Good location right in Quayside area opposite river. This is a busy spot. Parking opposite is free after 1830 so have to pay up til next morning but not badly priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, the noise was horrendous and no insulation from the outdoors. Bed was poor. Shower constantly driped throughout the night. Boiler or pump was constantly on and off every 5mins. Worst hotel I have ever been to! Will not recommend this hotel!!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast wasn't the best though but for the value was good.

    The bed was super comfy, the shower was just right, comfy size room, loved that had a hair dryer and extra towels and shampoo and shower gel all the little toiletries help!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My original room on second floor-smelt of old cooking oil all night. Receptionist was great next morning when I told her I need to be moved. However, she gave me a key to opposite room which was just as bad. I held out and was moved to 3rd floor.

    I liked when I was moved from second floor to third-second floor rooms all have a cooking smell unfortunately. I was moved to 302 which was much nicer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall standard of the room for £108/night was appalling. Wallpaper peeling off walls ,furniture appalling, decoration appalling, toilet didn’t flush properly, door didn’t lock properly I could go on .....

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was situated above a bar with loud music until 3am. If I had known this I would never have booked. Building and rooms were run down and tiered. Needs a lot of work !!

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were ok for one night but not for long stay. Not impressed with the breakfast. Not much choice,and it was either or rather than full choice and nothing on show to choose.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: