Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Waterside This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Fraserburgh Rd, Peterhead, AB42 3BN, United Kingdom

#9 of 12 hotels in Peterhead

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Paid WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    3.3
    Never again worst stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed here 1 night after we got married and I must say very disappointed the bed was hard and full of bumps, the linens was torn, the jacuzzi bath did not work, had no hot water in the evening, the breakfast was really bad oily canned tomatoes no flavour at all, coffee machine did not work! For £79 per night it’s not worth it. Hotel is very dated needs lots of tlc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.9
    Riverside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was great location for golf course and right beside a lovely river.the hotel could maybe do with some painting to smarten it up but was and excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay for a room but shame about breakfast and facilities not included in the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel that breakfast could be included for the room price paid and this would be a extra incentive for people looking for somewhere to book/stay in Peterhead.The price to pay for a breakfast separately is too high. Britannia hotels should look at including a free pass to the swimming pool and other facilities on offer, it does seem rather mean that this isn't the case.

    I have stayed a number of times and always found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is good to have the option of the swimming pool and other amenities on offer if desired.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.8
    The rooms were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a meal in the restaurant that night and it was the worst meal I’ve ever had and my family have the same problem with the restaurant the chef is a joke

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    only a short stay but enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and very efficient. We enjoyed our evening meal and breakfast. When the receptionist realised my husband had a breathing problem she immediately offered us a downstairs room as there was not a lift to the upper floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for purpose - just!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The appearance - tired and in need of refurbishment - a shame!

    Chocolate sponge dessert excellent - I asked for LASHINGS of custard and I got that - first restaurant to respond as requested! Meal choice was limited and there was too few stuff, 2 operators run off their feet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    5.8
    The staff were friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is like the hotel that time forgot. Nothing has been renovated or proper work done on it in the past 20 years. It is just tired and worn.

    The staff were friendly and helpful Decent gym facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower wasnt very good. Restaurant food was not upto standard based on the cost. Should have been much cheaper for what was served. Drinks expensive.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.5
    The location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of television channels in the room. Not a lot of choice on the dinner menu. Wasn’t offered a kids menu for my young son. And being charged £19.45 for 2 breakfasts was a bit steep.

    The location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They tried to stop serving food 10mins earlier than allocated time. We did get served though when we pointed the time out and breakfast was great. The hotel is looking a bit 'tired' and could be doing with upgrading.

    Proximity to family. Late night bar and tender was a lovely man. Gym facities and pool available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    3.8
    Dark ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very out dated being back in the early 70s bathroom was a bit dirty bath had a chip in its bath surround was plastic yellow old carpet and curtains old pictures and smelled old

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely, check in and check out was quick and easy. The hotel needs updating but it very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.1
    The way the place is being ran has definately put me off coming back here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We attended an event there and there was clearly not enough staff. The hotel would have known how many people were attending but had hardly any staff. At times it was 5 deep at the bar and took ages to get served as there was only one till. The bar ran out of many drinks. Many people were disgusted and demanded their money back and left. No one was collecting glasses from the tables. I got a nip in a half pint glass at one point as no glasses being washed.

    Nice breakfast. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    3.8
    wont be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived at 2 pm, the receiponist had to double up as bar staff which is not a problem but she finished at 3 and her relief said she coulnt sell us any alcohol,we finally got the manager to serve us,when we came back down there was only one young girl serving and the pace was very busy so took ages to get served and they had very limited selection of drink

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    5.0
    Grim
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old tired bathroom with amateur finishing to decor throughout Tired decor Dodgy locks on room doors, easily accessed from outside.

    The Cullen Skink soup.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.3
    Served it's purpose
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Waterside is what it is originally built for Oil and Gas Workers in the 70's it's a bit of a tired concrete jungle of a place. It could do with some TLC but the location suited my purpose which was to attend a family funeral one junction down. This a functional no frills place now which was probably a lot more in it's heyday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    3.8
    Awful absoloutly no intention of returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool is open to general public as a hotel guest we were not made aware guests are charged £4 per use public £5 plus £1 for towels couldnt use the pool for kids running wild and public up and down corridor .dinner menu is set so if you dont like spicy food or pesto you need to.ask for something from other menu and may have to pay the difference bar prices are extortionate £10.70 for two drinks no drawer space in room only a single wardrobe

    Nothing couldnt wait to leave

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    2.5
    Shockingly Terrible - I will never stay in a Britannia hotel ever again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room, Gym, Breakfast, WiFi (or lack of it), Staff, Cleanliness.

    I travel a lot with work and I have to say this is up there in my top 5 or worst places I have ever had to stay. The room had no WiFi signal, the bedding was dirty, there was only one towel in the room, the new shower head didn't even fit into the bracket on the wall so when you turned the shower on it just sprayed the entire bathroom, The towel rail was simply industrial scaffold poles, the radiator was inadequate a size to heat the room, the pillow wasn't even stuffed and was simply a flat cotton sheet, the Gym and Pool was that dirty I didn't even bother and went back to my room, breakfast was a joke, staff response to the complaints was inadequate. Overall if I'd have known how back this place was I would have rather slept in the car in the car park. Safe to say I checked out after my first nights stay and went to stay in a lovely boutique B&B in the centre of Peterhead which was actually cheaper and worlds apart. What is a shame is the décor in the dining room shows signs of a bygone age where the management of the hotel took pride in it's appearance however elsewhere it is showing severe signs of neglect and I wouldn't be surprised if every report they get is damming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, perfect location for the two sites I needed to visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect for the price I paid, I’ve paid over 6 times the amount I paid here at other hotels where the room and facilities have been no where near as good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    7.1
    Room ok food could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food on set menu not so good , duck pate was awful, chicken supreme looked nice but the chicken breast was as dry as box of matches. Breakfast was ok though

    Nice enough hotel, nice spacious room , lovely warm bath and comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    I feel this hotel is warm comfortable and friendly It has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I feel this hotel is warm comfortable and friendly It has served the people of Peterhead for many years Perhaps a little upgrading of the road /entrance would be good as first impressions are important Enjoyed our stay and will return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    10
    Our stay was fantastic and look forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing. Everything was perfect

    We had a wonderful 3 night stay at New Year. The food was delicious and the party and entertainment was fantastic. The staff were second to none and went that extra mile to make your stay one to remember. The rooms were lovely and nice and cosy with plenty of hot water. We have stayed at the Waterside for 25 years and have never found any faults. The staff are amazing and so dedicated to their jobs and the hotel. They all deserve medals for their dedication and long loyal service to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    5.4
    Staff were friendly and dogs allowed
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very outdated. The shower head didn’t fit in the holder so it meant you had to constantly hold it and the towels were dirty, and when I phoned reception for clean ones it took 4 attempt for them to answer the phone. Ended up only staying one night instead of the two that were booked as Just didn’t feel comfortable there

    Staff were friendly and dogs allowed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    5.0
    Didnt sleep well wouldnt stay again dated poor decor and furnishings, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, £25 for frozen food i could have made at home. Chips soaked in oil paste watery all from freezer. The empty dining room should have been a give away but didnt arrive till late.

    Staff were friendly but slow to appear

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Waiting to be seated in the restaurant took a while. The boiler noise was irritating.

    Convenient for work. Gym facilities. Food was nice. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    7.5
    Reception staff very welcome and friendly, clean bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold, use blanket, good heating but asshame had to close curtains on it as blocked all the heat room 218

    Reception staff very welcome and friendly, clean bed and tidy room for the cost of the room I paid, was only a short visit so was unable to make use of the facility

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    4.6
    Fine for a nights stay, but don't expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kettle in room didn't work, room was dated with cigarette burns in curtains. Cigarette smell could be smelt in corridor, so I think people were smoking in their rooms. It was fine for one nights stay but will be avoiding it in future

    It was fine for one nights stay. Breakfast wasn't too bad but quite pricy for what you get

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    relaxing, comfortable and welcoming a most enjoyable stay
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in my opinion

    Very comfortable room and good facilities.Friendly welcoming staff Don't do breakfast so unable to comment on restaurant. Most enjoyable relaxing stay. Will come and stay again when in Peterhead.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    9.2
    Very handy base for a stay in, and around, Peterhead. Hotel would benefit from a bit of repair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming facilities should be free for guests. Car park was full off pot holes. Bathroom could have done with a revamp. Apple juice was like water.

    Bed was comfortable, room cosy, staff helpful & friendly. Room was freshened up while I was at breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    7.9
    Used to be good. Now adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have stayed in this hotel a couple of times a year for the last 20 years. It has moved down market and is now more of a travel lodge type offer. Asking guests to pay extra to use the gym is insulting. Dinner menu is limited. Surprisingly in the largest white fish landing port in Europe the only fish on the menu was deep fried. Such a shame. The breakfast is buffet style. The dining room was busy not least because of a coach party arriving at the same time, but there was only one staff member on duty, who was run off her feet, though working v hard. Room was clean but no biscuits with the tea/coffee.

    The staff do their best and are friendly and efficient. Room was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.5
    Good location if in Peterhead
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seemed to be short of staff and had to wait for a while at the bar as there were no staff as they were busy in the restaurant. On two occasions gave up waiting.

    Had a nice room which had been renovated recently so very nice have stayed before in less comfortable room and bed,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.4
    Never again to this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not great value, breakfast was awful hardly anything on offer, until I asked was any more hot food was getting prepared.

    The hotel was very dated, we went for an executive room, bed was comfy, window didn’t close and it was a gale blowing all night. So sleeping was not good !!! To use the pool which was tiny £4.00 plus £2.00 for a towel. The restaurant menu wasn’t ready yet, so had to make alternative arrangements to eat somewhere else. Not happy with stay. A refund would be great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.8
    Won't rush back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lock to the room had been badly repaired, and the room,though clean smelt badly of paint. The free internet was virtually unusable. My breakfast was truly awful, congealed eggs, crust on the beans, and with an hour of service left, many items not replaced as they ran out. Also terrible coffee. Upon checking out, I waited for 10 minutes at reception which was unoccupied, with the telephone ringing unanswered. In the end I had to go into the breakfast room to find a member of staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor lighting in room Very disappointed that using swimming pool incurred an extra cost as hotel advertised with leisure facilities

    Good freshly cooked breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast had a hair in it and the hotel couldn't do...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast had a hair in it and the hotel couldn't do a refund, I had to go to the operations manager who instantly resolved the problem, shouldn't have had to take this route

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    7.9
    Weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down side was the pool was closed due to an accident from a young child doing a no 2. The breakfast was not the best my scrambled eggs were in a foot of water but all in all was ok

    Room was clean tidy very spacious and bath was great with the jacuzzi jets our we boy loved it .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.2
    The good points outweigh the bad point ( ie meals staff etc) make your own mind up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was disappointed that there were no bedside cabinets or chest of drawers to store underwear etc. Bed was too firm and uncomfortable could not get a good nights sleep. Woke up sore in the morning. Only supplied with two teabags so if you wanted a cup of tea in the evening (My personal choice)you had to forego the pleasure of having one before breakfast Not good. First hotel we have stayed at where they have not included any biscuits on the hospitality tray.Very poor . Toilet did not flush properly had to flush it quite a number of times,even to flush a piece of thin toilet paper away also toilet paper far too narrow and thin for comfort that has to be changed The breakfast on the first morning of our stay was a bit cold as we think it must have been cooked earlier and left in the buffet ranges.rest of the week the breakfast was fine and cooked to order so everything was nice and fresh and hot

    The waiting staff were excellent and cater for your needs the meals were very good and plentiful had to leave some on plate great choice on menu

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing, dangerous, dingy and dirty!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole complex was 'tired' and run down. My room had cracked tiles in the bathroom, holes in the bedroom wall and a lack of cleaning in the corners etc. The bathroom was not provided with a floor towel or similar and was like an ice rink when wet - accident waiting to happen. The attached Spa facilities, gym and pool now had a surcharge to access and further surcharge for a facilities towel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    5.8
    Tired hotel food need a good revamp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal was very poor i had a rib eye steak which i did not pay for, very overpriced at £25 You can get much better and much cheaper else where locally. The continental breakfast was also overpriced at £12.50.

    the only thing that was good is that it was cheap to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    8.8
    Easy, hassle free we will be back next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Homely feeling that we are used after years of staying there. We did change rooms due to noisy location straight across from the spa and the room felt unfinished. Our other room was just how we expected it to be! 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    6.3
    Adequate for 1 night. Otherwise best avoided!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buildings old (1970s), tired and not very well maintained. Walls thin. Felt rather seedy. Isolated spot - didn't feel very secure. Breakfast timings did not fit our schedule

    Reasonably comfortable and clean. Reception staff friendly. Cheap.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    3.3
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel need major investment. Its like going back in time. been no renovation or upgrade work done in decades if ever. hotel is worn and old fashioned, food is terrible and not cheap either

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    5.4
    Very average but quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was not up to the standard that we had expected from the pictures etc. The condition of the driveway leading to the hotel to the uncempt gardens set the tone. The hotel in general had an in need of attention look. The food I would catigerise as average, edible but nothing you could really recommend. We had the Lamb jelfraise and I found just three pieces of lamb in the whole dish. Some of the facilities were not available. The hotel is within driving distance of other restaurants in Peterhead but not within walking distance and at the end of a long day on the bike I prefer to be able to walk to somewhere to eat. However We had realised before booking that it would be a case of eating at the hotel we just expected a higher standard of food

    The hotel was on our route so was an advantage. The water was hot which I always class as essential. Quiet location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    3.1
    Its not for young peolple , out the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got lost because there postcode was wrong , so we were a hour late , and had 2 pay 2 swim for half an hour before ot shut , swimming pool was om but steam room brocken and sauna very dirty ! So very disapointed, its only used for workies , room was ok but window didnt stay open only gd thing was aberdeen city centre , hotel is not near it very out the way !

    Nothing, it was a let down,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    4.2
    Well past it's best
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel has really gone downhill over the years. Large craters and post holes all over the car park. Car park was also unbelievably quiet - hardly any cars, not a good sign. Bar shut when we checked in on a Friday afternoon, so had to have refreshments elsewhere. Bar still shut when we arrived back at hotel at night. Other facilities shut e.g.: spa, pool and snookertables. This hotel seems hellbent on turning custom away. Tired and shabby, in need of a revamp, but it will only get worse since Brittania has taken over it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    6.3
    Staff were helpful, room layout and furnishings were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Whole place is tired and in need of a makeover inside and out. Requested ground floor when booking but ended up going down 9 stairs and then up 24. From room 324 there is an air conditioning unit on the adjacent roof and during the night it was like attempting to sleep in a plane. View from window was unsightly.

    Staff were helpful, room layout and furnishings were satisfactory.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    4.6
    Old, tired, property in dire need of investment - not staying here again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drive surface entry into property/car park is extremely rough and in need of urgent repair. The staff were generally unhappy, difficult to find and not very customer focused. The hotel is very tired, rooms are old fashioned and in great need of investment. The shower had very poor water pressure. The gym cycling machines are defective.

    The location was close to where I was working

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant staff and nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have tissues and a small fridge. Hotel has many good points such as lovely location but exterior needs tidying up and updating

    Waitresses in restaurant were excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    2.9
    Won't be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room had peeling plasterwork behind curtain, furniture damaged/ like it was from the 1970s bathroom worse than my sons student accommodation, carpet stained, tv was the first gen flatish ( used to be free with a credit card application)

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    7.1
    Adequate accomm at an affordable price for a one night stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor and furniture in room 217 was very tired looking. I can't speak for others as I didn't see them - maybe there is a refurb programme taking place and it's not reached 217!!

    Very spacious room - clean with a very comfortable bed and ample facilities (tea / coffee making) iron / ironing board, wifi, TV etc Very attentive staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    7.5
    Value for money nice quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a room that had no view at all infact we were actually looking at a brick wall! Hotel didn't seem busy therefore I'm sure a more scenic room could have be allocated!

    Value for money nice quiet hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    7.5
    place could do with a lick of paint but i do know its a massive place with pool and spa.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast wasn't the best, the hash browns were rock hard and devoid of flavour all week. but the place was clean. they could do with a coffee machine in the dining room as on the first day the staff were to busy I didn't even get asked Tea or Coffee?

    the room was comfy, but no net curtains so only privacy was by closing the curtains not ideal, the room was big with wifi etc tea/coffee making stuff and the smallest TV I have seen in years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    7.9
    Not up to the standard of a few years ago - but still excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mattress in bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Appeared to be very short of staff as we were kept waiting at reception on a couple of occasions until the receptionist arrived. They were very helpful and polite when they did arrive.

    Great value for money. Excellent breakfast both in terms of quality and choice. Never short of car parking space on site. Location perfect for touring the area. There is an indoor pool and gymnasium which I never made use of due to other commitments.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    7.9
    Nice overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No croissants! Bus party seemed to be self service in restaurant, bit unsure of what we were meant to do, fortunately regulars explained that we were to be served.

    Comfy bed. staff very nice. Bus party in so thought may be bit noisy with doors banging etc but hotel lovely & quiet at night. Makes a change. Been in top places where folks have no respect for others as they bang doors & sing along corridors at all times of the night & early morning!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    6.7
    Would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a big variety on menu Staff didn't seem to want to be there not enough staff to man bars or restaurant Food poor quality as if it was micro waved Found it unusual to have to pay £4 each time you used swimming pool and £1 for a towel particularly as they advertise there is a pool and gym but fail to say you have to pay all of abovewould not st

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.5
    The staff were able to accommodate my elderly father next door to my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When booking there were two of us looking at the screen and we booked bed and breakfast but it became clear when we arrived that there was no breakfast included. The print out of our booking showed prices of lunch and dinner if we wished to partake of it but no price for breakfast so that indicated to us that breakfast should have been included!

    The location was ideal for our purpose.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    6.3
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very dated and when we went for a drink on the Saturday afternoon we were told the bar staff had been sent home and nobody could serve us

    It was clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    9.6
    Good relaxing weekend break at a good relaxing country hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not meant to be a negative comment but the cocktail bar was lacking certain features i.e the bar area was very plain and the bar counter was very distressed looking and certain parts were sticky and wet and we also found it to be rather expensive for drinks.

    Beds really comfy,and room quiet as not a lot of guests.Breakfast very good and staff very attentive.My wife and I liked the outside seating/smoking area and as I am not a smoker but my wife is,mostly the other establishments we visit tend not to have as good an outside seating area as you do.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.1
    Disappointing. Needs some TLC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room staff showed lack of good training. Our bread rolls came half way through our dinner. Breakfasts had a good variety but quality of cooked food was poor. Tables remained uncleared for a long time. Bars understaffed. The hotel is in need of refurbishment but our room was comfortable. Chose not to walk in the gardens as the grass was too long.

    Reception Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    5.0
    Booked a executive double room which was supposed to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a executive double room which was supposed to have bath robes and trouser press to which it had neither and when I book a double room I expect a double bed not two singles pushed together noise from swimming pool machinery kept us wakened all night has to be the worst hotel I have stayed in see photo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    4.2
    tired but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was disappointing, tasteless, poor value for money , comfort of rooms, old tired beds, too hard for a good sleep, overheated, windows wouldnt stay open, horrendous potholes on entry drive. not good if you are in anyway in pain.

    staff, overall cleanliness was good in rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    5.4
    Very much past its sell by date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming and leisure facilities involved an extra £4 charge.Never ever encountered that before. Breakfast was excellent.For dinner, 2 of the 3 main courses were off the menu at 7.30pm.- there were hardly any diners there!!

    The staff were excellent and the beds comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    3.8
    Bloody awful!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Waterside is bloody awful!! I never slept a wink, and had to ask for a room change, as the first one they allocated was ridiculously falling apart!! The second one wasn't much better, and there was a huge fan directly outside my window which churned all night. Never again - and totally overpriced for what they offer Even the entrance road is full of huge holes! I think they're in the process of refurbishment - the carpet fitters were there, but they clearly hadn't reached my room, and it'll certainly take more than new carpet to improve the place.

    The room was relatively clean. I didn't sample the cuisine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    6.3
    The pool and fitness area were well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance road and car park were covered in pot holes. The pool table did not have enough balls. The soap dispenser did not work. All the furniture needed varnished. The was a visible insect trap attached to the skirting board. My sons were nearly locked in their room when the handle came off in their hands. The decor was tired. On booking.com it appeared that the pool and gym were included in the price. By expanding a section, it became clear that the gym and sauna would be charged for but there was no charge against the pool. When we checked in there was a message on the reception desk stating that there would now be a charge of £4 per person per visit to the pool. When I asked about this the receptionist was clearly embarrassed.

    The pool and fitness area were well kept. The staff members were pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    5.4
    Very tired accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay to enter pool facility. The pool itself was excellent and the Jacuzzi perfect, but I didn't expect to have to pay extra for a pool in a hotel I was staying in. Also cost of breakfast was outrageous. The seating in the bar area not comfortable,the tables Had not been cleaned ( in an otherwise empty room). The accommodation is very tired. The staff friendly and helpful but could benefit from some expert taining.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    7.0
    All in all we enjoyed our stay but we didn't,t eat at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked because there was a pool but it cost too much to go often it is a rip off for anyone with a family. The car park needs repairing not a very good look for guests arriving but we have been before so we expected it

    The rooms comfortable we were only there for a bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    5.0
    Would not reccomend staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very shabby there was no soap available in the bathroom to wash your hands after being thev toilet which is not acceptable for a hotel if this status the towels were very rough and worn the rest of the room was very run down the plug sockets were very loose, the bed was comfortable and bedding clean, the drive way up to the hotel was terrible very bad potholes causing damage to my tyres I had to repair a puncture and a new tyre before I could continue my journey home safely, I have stayed at the hotel with my family a few years back but was very dissapointed this time.

    Reception staff were nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    5.0
    Poor & Dissapointing .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As Above nothing I truly liked

    Room looked nice & clean bed really uncomfortable mattress very worn . Fire door outside room banged all night with people going through to other area of hotel . I had to send my first choice of dinner back Comfit leg of Duck which was swimming in a disgusting congealed salty gravy !! Second choice of haddock was fine but you would expect that at a fishing port . ( Not what I had wanted ) Hotel is basically very tired & the garden is shocking which makes it all the more depressing . Would not stay there again .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Relaxing with all the facilities you could want.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite warnings, the hot water was perfect hand-washing temperature but no good for a soak in the bath. Would be nice if the pool was included in the price, and breakfast was too expensive so didn't have it.

    All staff encountered from receptionists to cleaners were friendly, helpful and always smiling. room was nice and spacious, well furnished with plenty of storage, comfortable and clean. For 3 nights I didn't need it cleaned but fresh towels were left outside the door anyway! Covered smoking area very thoughtful in the Scottish weather. Well placed so close to Peterhead (with seals in the harbour and a stunning lighthouse) yet away from the town, and a lovely beach. Also close to Crimond Airfield stock car racing track which was the reason for my trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money, needs a lot of improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic room, walls need re-painting as there was dirty marks and cracks all over. There were still cobwebs in the ceiling despite the staff saying they cleaned the room that morning. Toliet had obviously been replastered hastily to the wall and even then it was failing to hold together. The bath screen kept coming away. Car park in dire need of work, very dangerous pot holes everywhere. Staff didn't even know where my room was located in the hotel when checking in.

    Bed was comfy enough

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    3.8
    A short stay in Peterhead
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Beware this hotel uses an 0871 telephone number on its booking.com reservation and on the room check in card. As 0871 numbers are revenue share then this hotel will make money if you call them and it will cost you loads. Suggest avoid at all costs. 2. Checked in and advised we could use the swimming facilities - when along to use and the health spa receptionist demanded £4 each plus £1 for a towel. The fact that the use of swimming is 'extra' was not made clear at the time of booking; 3. Generally the hotel décor looked tired and a bit grubby; 4. Wifi in the evening was poor / slow; 5. Ground Floor room with no net curtain at the window, so anyone / everyone could look into the room from outside.

    A. Good Price offered. But all things considered would I stay here again - NO.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    2.5
    Book somewhere else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated hotel, seriously needs to be brought into modern times, non existent wifi, can't do any work if needed, all in a vey poor hotel , will not be returning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    5.4
    Tired and badly needs money spent also expensive for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Last stayed here 10 years ago and they have let the hotel become very tired and needs a lot of work to get to even half the standard it was 10 years ago.

    internet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    7.1
    A nice quiet break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Have stayed at this hotel on several occasions, unfortunately this time it did not meet our previous experiences. The more mature staff went out of their way to be accommodating, but the less experienced staff seem to have had inadequate training. The lack of bar staff occasionally required the reception to carry out both duties. Food in the dining room was satisfactory, but in comparison with previous visits the choices were limited.

    Pleasant surroundings and gardens. Friendly, welcoming staff, though they were mainly the more experienced. Our room was nice and met our needs. Good spa/pool facilities, however since we were there previously there is now a charge for the use of said facilities and towel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    7.1
    Second visit but certainly the last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entrance road -after a year since last visit- still got big hole as you come in. Room clean but needed some repairs ie safety catch on door broken, finishings in bathroom in disrepair, mattress very uncomfortable, springs made noises very time you moved. Breakfast was a disgrace. Eggs floating in oil, more fat than bacon, plates cold definitely not worth £12.50 EACH.didn't have any on second morning. Needs a lot of tlc.

    Staff were friendly. Dinner was ok . Location was fine drink prices fine

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: