Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wavecrest 3 stars

93 Newry Street, Holyhead, LL65 1HU, United Kingdom

#8 of 20 hotels in Holyhead

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 387 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town centre was a little run down if you travelled to the light house and around island much better

    Jay was very welcoming and friendly. Would recommend a stay good value for money the breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath room in rooms this was the only fault at wave crest. according to the owner all rooms are being up graded so hopefully their is en suite on return also check out is a little early compared to other places but they will hold on to your bags for you if needs be.

    Staff were amazing and friendly very helpful and accomadating, location was perfect close to every thing , food was included in price and delicious

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    10 out of 10, don't bother booking elsewhere ;0)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing can change the name that Holyhead has or the location and having to park in the street. Our fears were unfounded. We would not hesitate to visit again for the BARGAIN OF THE CENTURY...Ferry to Dublin for foot passengers on a Tuesday for £5.50 each!!! Thanks again to Jaye for a warm home from home.

    Jaye was a star, she was attentive but not overbearing, she managed to cook everyone's brekky and pass pleasantries whilst busy and took a genuine interest in everyone's plans. She offered information pertinent to our stay and has put together a perfect guide for anyone visiting the area for leisure. Couldn't fault her or her lovely B&B.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Wavecrest - a delightful welcome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner is currently going through a staged plan of refurbishment so some of the fixtures and decoration will be replaced.

    The warm welcome and the caring attitude of the owner and staff. I was even recommended areas to visit (the area around the light house was rugged and beautiful - see images) whilst waiting for my boat to arrive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Clean, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great location. Clean and comfortable.

    Clean, comfortable. Great location. Landlady was the best. Helpful and friendly. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A comfortable, friendly and convenient place to stay with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very friendly hostess, who allowed me to check in early. A well situated B&B with town, restaurants and the ferry terminal and station not far away. Also a large and tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The staff were lovely, Jaye was so welcoming to us and our...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were lovely, Jaye was so welcoming to us and our pets. Having such friendly staff made our stay, for us and our canine companions, incredible and stress free. The sea shore is only 200m away from the house for a refreshing morning walk. Beds were very comfortable, room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast got you ready for the day! It is also fantastic value for money! Will definitely be returning! xxx

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    It was a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been better if the vegan food was cooked in separate pots which were never used to cook meat or pork or fish . I enjoyed the food but felt nauseous after a few minutes of eating the food. I usually feel like that when the food is cooked in pots or pans which cooked meat or pork or fish. The room was very cold at night and that messed up our night. I wouldn't blame Jaye , but lack of experience in serving vegans with intolerance like me.Perhaps I should have made her aware.

    It's closeness to the sea. Very welcoming staff and caring . Provided vegan food option

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Jaye was a wonderful host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaye was a wonderful host! Everything was very clean and comfortable. The room was very spacious! Breakfast was cooked fresh and delicious!! Couldn't have asked for better!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Jaye, the owner, is the perfect hostess and made us feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jaye, the owner, is the perfect hostess and made us feel very welcome, therefore, we loved our stay at Wavecrest. Cosy rooms, very homely, absolutely wonderful cooked breakfast. Will surely stay again when next in Holyhead.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Jane and her partner were extremely helpful and there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old fashioned decor in our room and tiny shower- though Jane is clearly starting to upgrade some of the decor and the one other room I looked at was lovely

    Jane and her partner were extremely helpful and there was some wonderful scenery nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.5
    A pleasant guest house with nice room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host Jaye Was great, Friendly and very welcoming and knew the area well gave us some good tips for sightseeing A nice guest house with good breakfast. The room we had was very nice just redecorated. A good stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and helpful. Helped us book a table at the Harbourfront Bistro where the food was very good. Also have good recommend the visit to the lighthouse

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and very good start To our holiday in ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating but this is happening after high season ends

    The host was really friendly and it was very good value for money with an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Good one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No on suite in our room, but only £60 per night in that location is excellent value.

    Value for money, excellent location and the owner was loverly, good breakfast and clean and conformable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Up on personal business, but Jaye made it more like a holiday.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ummmm! Don't stay here if you can't do stairs - but they are really helpful with bags and making sure you can manage so didn't cause us a problem.

    Street parking, but always room nearby, and a car park on the front if it did get busy - we had no problem. Short walk to the sea front and bistro and slightly longer walk to bar/restaurant. Best breakfast ever, and absolutely nothing is too much trouble. We're definitely going back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Jaye was an amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaye was an amazing host! Very friendly and extremely helpful in offering choices for dinner and a fun hike/ place to see in the area. Felt like we were visiting a friend. Was a great comfortable place to stay for a night before taking the ferry the next morning. Would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay lovely welcome,spotless clean excellent tasty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic stay lovely welcome,spotless clean excellent tasty breakfast,Jaye very accommodating will definitely be back again,perfectly situated from promenade 2 min walk and central to pubs etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Pukka
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Greeted with a warm smile, and friendly vibe. Felt comfortable instantly. Shown our room which was spotless and pointed in the direction of some tasty food and a cold beer.breakfast was full of different options, I myself enjoyed plenty of the fresh fruit on offer. Best B and B I’ve stayed in and I’ve travelled for years

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of stairs to the family room. Not an issue for us, but I can see it being an issue for some

    The host was friendly, the included breakfast was delicious and provided even though we were unclear whether it was wanted, and the location was perfect for our needs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    A home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all. Perfect for my requirements.

    Excellent location in the town. Very convenient for the ferry terminal. The host Jaye was fantastic and accommodating and added the personal touch to a was welcome. Packed lunch was provided on request instead of breakfast. Highly recommended and will stay again to break the long journey when travelling to Ireland by sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Holyhead haven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hostess was really friendly and welcoming. Lovely room and great location. We went on beautiful morning walk around the harbour. Breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    The owner of the B&B is super nice and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner of the B&B is super nice and friendly! The room was fine and the breakfast was great. The location of the B&B is nice and you can take a walk around. Basically all locations for dinner close at 9 pm so if you want dinner in a Pub and no take out make sure to arrive earlier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.. close too everything. Host was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great..

    Everything.was terrific. Jaye is very friendly, helpful and ready to give great advice about where to eat.. walks to go on and anything else you need to know, if needed... Poppy the furbaby is a great host to.. tail wagging upon arrival and ready to share her toys with you..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could have been a little chair in my room to sit and do my emails by the window, or access to the breakfast-room in the evening to do computer-related stuff, but everything else was great...!

    Lovely little room with view of harbour - great location near both town and the waterfront, friendly host who makes a great breakfast - bathroom great and sparkling clean, all very nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Grreat to go again,seems to be on the up,good value B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is due for a refit.

    We had stayed here 10yrs ago.So a nostalgia moment.different owner but outside the same,interior been painted,sounds like its in for more renovations in the coming months. Owner very friendly and chatty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay at the Wavecrest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My host Jane gave a lovely warm welcome and was exceptionally helpful throughout my stay. Her natural social skills and thoughtfulness of what a travelling holiday maker requires made one's stay feel like 'home from home'. Her advice and information of what to do in the location was spot on. The breakfasts are scrumptious with plenty to choose from. I was very happy with my room and facilities and all offered at very reasonable price. Jane explained that she wishes to refurbish some rooms this Summer and I wish her well with all of her plans and success in the future as she works hard to make her guests have a happy stay. I also found it fun and very easy to meet and converse with the other guests staying there. Would I go back again. Yes indeed so. Clive E-Watson. PS: Poppy the rescued pet Chihauhua is a delight and also plays her part in welcoming you to Wavecrest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Excellent start to our UK adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Our host was wonderful, helpful in every way. 5 minute walk to harbour, 10 minute walk to nice pub. New bathroom, very nice. Slept well and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Thanks for some great quiet time to myself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in the only really small single room, which needs a make over. But Jaye is redoing the whole house very sensible and beautiful and is on her way. I can definitely recommend it.

    Breakfast was really good and Jaye offered different choices, it was a lot of fun being with her. A nice and quite place to rest your head for a while. Her recommondations for restaurants are really helpful. The walks in the Holyhead Mountain are amazing, the cliffs at Sea Stack worth a trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We drove from Tenby to Holyhead to drop off a hire car and catch the ferry to Dublin. Our overnight stay in Holyhead was at the Wavecrest where we were warmly welcomed by the very friendly owner Jaye. We stayed on the top floor in one of the renovated rooms which had a relatively new on-suite. The room was comfortable and had a nice little sitting area by the window. There were other renovations going on in the building and when finished this B&B will be even better. Breakfast was good with a full cooked meal on offer if you choose. Parking in the street is safe. We'd defiantly stay again if we are passing by again some day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Will be staying there again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was delicious and properly cooked: delicious bacon and sausage and mushroom 🍄 Jaye made us so welcome and our doglets and went the extra mile to give us a comfortable room. We had a late check in and she moved her car to give us parking access which was appreciated as we had a lot of bags.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    A fantastic B&B! Amazing host, lovely food and great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best B&B I have stayed in. Everything was perfect! The host was so,so friendly and welcoming and couldn’t do enough for me! The room was lovely, warm and cosy and the accommodation was literally a 2 minute walk from where I needed to be for a course I was completing, and also near the town center too. Breakfast was very tasty with a good selection of hot and cold food available. Would definitely recommend to anybody staying in Holyhead or Anglesey.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    An easy maybe 15-minute walk from the Ferry Terminal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    An easy maybe 15-minute walk from the Ferry Terminal. The owner was friendly. The bed was comfy. The breakfast was good. The internet worked. It's a three minute walk from the Maritime Museum restaurant, which seemed very nice, but book ahead! I ate in The Boathouse, which was fine, farther along the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Very warm, welcoming, and accomodating!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm, welcoming, and accomodating! Comfortable room, great host, and an excellent location- I only had a few minutes (literally) to explore Holyhead, but Wavecrest is so close to the sea that I was able to pop over for a peek before my train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Satisfied Aussies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The winds and the ice on the road.

    Very comfortable, Jaye was very helpful, and pleasant to deal with, good was very good and the place was spotless. We will ecommend it to others. Poppy was delightful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather.

    The staff was very helpful in every aspect of our stay, breakfast was great along with great options on hot and cold food. Everything was within walking distance, shops, pubs with good food, I would highly recommend and stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location,close to the sea and town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen wasn't clean,animal's and human hair on bed sheets(bunk beds),bathroom was tiny,impossible to wash hand in"baby"size sink.Room needs a bit of modern look,kettle was dirty outside and room was dusty.

    Good location,close to the sea and town centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    stress free :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Host was lovely and very helpful and friendly. Her little dog was super cute too. BnB is a 3 minute drive or 15 minute walk from the port. Great quality for money.Lovely restaurant a few moments away from the bnb. Lovely little town if you are looking for a few quiet pints and friendly locals.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Great base, friendly staff, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a large room, bathroom in need of update but refurb planned and was clean and serviceable so no complaints.

    Great location, close to town and promenade, hostess was really friendly, tasty breakfast with lots of choice , comfortable bed. Recommended lots of places to go and places to eat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.5
    Very happy and satisfied
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay

    We arrived well after midnight and Jaye stayed up to greet us. Easy parking, very friendly reception, very comfortable room, excellent breakfast and Gluten-free no problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never slept in a more comfortable bed I wanted to bring it home with me

    Very friendly and so welcoming.Jaye couldn't do enough for us.After a long day travelling we were welcomed in by a very bubbly welcoming woman. After what I can only describe as the best sleep of my life we were treated to a full breakfast and the kids could have what they wanted. The highlight for our children was them having their own bunk beds and their own little room area with their own TV. We have never had such a wonderful experience. We were even treated to leaving our bags in the private room after we checked out so we could take the kids to the local park and sea frount to look at the boats while we waited for our ferry home.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    We were made very welcome and everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have improved on the perfect one night stay.

    Very friendly greeting made to feel welcome by Jaye and Poppy from the second we walked in. Room was perfect for myself, my wife and 31 year old son. Breakfast superb in excellent clean dining room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    We had a lovely stay at Wavecrest and we will definitely return when we are next passing through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Jaye was welcoming and her patience and kindness towards my 2 year old Son who loves to talk (and talk and talk!) made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. As any parent of small children knows, it can feel awkward at times but this wasn't an issue at all. Our room was lovely, warm and comfortable. Tea, coffee and biscuits provided. Very quiet and relaxing, we had a great night's sleep. The soft throw on the bed was a nice touch :) Breakfast was lovely, lots of options to choose from. We will be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Lovely helpful host but scary facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place was overall quite dirty with stains on the pillows, dirty plates, and a previous guests boxers in our room. There was plenty of dust all over the place and the bathroom was scary.

    Nice hostess with lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very warm and welcoming gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dusty and tatty but I know Jaye is going to refurb very soon so can't wait to see the finished product.

    The bed was amazing! Our host was the best, Jaye is very welcoming and offered to give us a lift to our destination the next day. It had a lovely relaxing feel and Poppy the dog was a beautiful bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we had to leave so quickily.

    Jaye was extremely accommodating for me and my family. We arrived late and she waited up for us to welcome us in. We also had to leave early and she got up and made us all breakfast before we left. She was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic definitly will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great especially the host and her sweet dog Poppy. It was very close to the marina and from there to stunning coastal walks and beautiful scenery. Also the owner drove me to the lighthouse which I thought was especially kind as I was on my own and I don't drive. I walked back and it was amazing to admire the views of the sea and the rocks on my way. I highly recommend this unique place, great value for money and friendly atmosphere also walking distance from train station and the port.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The perfect magical getaway from a stressful life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the most wonderful time at Wavecrest, Jaye was amazing and gave me all the perfect tips to enjoy Holyhead's stunning nature. The hotel itself is very well kept and my room was just perfect for one person and it had a lovely ocean view. Shower was very nice and hot and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Jaye was so very helpful! She showed us the way to the ferry terminal and the gas station. The room was quite comfortable and clean. Jaye fixed breakfast for us earlier than her usual time so that we would make our connection. I'd happily stay there again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    short and not so sweet, but a lovely hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very cramped, double bed and a single bed was too much. Lock on our door dodgy, en-suite very cramped. too many cables going here and there! badly needs updating.

    Owner very nice, friendly lady but the whole place needs updating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Awesome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not applicable. I loved everything about the property.

    The owner was very friendly, the room and bed was very comfortable (for the first time in my life i had a very peaceful 13 hour snooze), and the breakfast was amazing.😊 Its a very peaceful safe place to stay, i highly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient for a one night stay. Holyhead deserved a longer visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really...perhaps short flight of steps down to loo

    We walked with our cases the short distance from ferry & back to train. A number of options for evening meals. Very friendly owner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Very basic but fair value accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small en-suite that didn't drain too well and was noisy. Bathroom desperate for re-decoration. Plug for bath has to be requested?? Dog walking around the breakfast room...shouldn't have to be asked if ok with it.

    Landlady very friendly and helpful. Gave good info on local area too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was delicious and WiFi fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot contact owner to leave luggage or anything before the 4 pm check in time, so a bit hard if you don't have a car.

    Breakfast was delicious and WiFi fab. Room very clean but tiny. Bathroom even smaller. Great pubs!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, well-situated, and a garage for my motorbike!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about - I believe Jaye has plans for a refurbishment in the off season, so any comment about tired decor would be unkind.

    I was on a motorbike tour, and stopped at Wavecrest after getting off the ferry. The B&B's close to the ferry port, an easy walk to a number of pubs for dinner, and it's got a garage that you can keep your bike in overnight. Jaye, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. She's only recently taken over the B&B, but great customer service is the right approach - good luck!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Accommodating, friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were double booked - could have been a disaster but the staff at Wavecrest contacted us a few days before arrival and sorted things out. We didn't get a private bathroom in the end (had to share), but were given a discount. Booking.com also made a mistake with the booking: We are a family of 2 adults, 2 children (one 15 and one 18) and had booked "3 Adults + 1 Child (age 15)". But what came up on the final booking was "3 Adults + 1 Child (up to 3 years of age)". This was not the B&B's problem, the error came from Booking.com, but Wavecrest were again helpful and accommodating.

    A good cooked breakfast, very friendly staff, extremely accommodating to us regarding check in time and flexible about two booking problems (one their fault, one being an error from Booking.com) and all worked out well in the end. The location is very close to the port, very close to the station and seems pretty nice. Just a few steps to the seafront too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jaye (the owner) was so lovely and helpful! She gave me lots of tips about the area and made me feel at home. The beds are really comfy and breakfast was delicious!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    very friendly and help full a very handy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the door bell needs some attention

    very friendly and help full a very handy location our hostess went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable even drove us to south stepas we had limited time to explore the area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Great guesthouse for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be a little bit cozy for an extended stay but very few people are looking to stop in Holyhead for more than a night or two.

    Jaye is fabulous. She really wants you to have an enjoyable stay at her guesthouse and in Holyhead. She made great suggestions for things to do and even booked the cab for us. She is well-traveled and has lots of management experience so she knows how to relate to and service people. Oh! And really comfy beds!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Stay a night in Holyhead here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Next to the water with nice restaurants!...property is easy access to and from train and ferry--easy 5 minute walk. Great beds. Clean. Had room with private bath but shared bath was nice too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Come in and stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very happy with the stay. Nice relaxed facade ( firstvisual impression.

    Greeted by such a luvly and friedly hostess.nothing toomuch trouble. Friendly relaxed stay.willbe back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Great budget hotel close to the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything.

    The owner is very helpful and friendly. We loved the tea and coffee station in the room -- this is such a nice extra for tired travelers. The bed was comfy, and the hotel is just a short walk from the harbor. We hope to stay here again on our next trip through town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms/washrooms require a bit of a touch up but nothing really to worry about.

    Could not ask for friendlier staff, room was very clean and the breakfast in the morning was just what I needed, my wife was feeling under the weather so the owner cooked a bacon sandwich for me to take to the room for her. Location is perfect for any part of the port and is situated right beat Newry which is a beautiful place and close to Holyhead mountain of you like your walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Seeing Holyhead like a native born person
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bathroom, so what? go read the good things again.

    New owner, perfect host to us, accommodated my sore knees to the best of her (and the facilities) ability. Lovely view of the sea, peaceful neighborhood, village shopping nearby, harbor & eateries nearby, helped us overcome bad weather with an inexpensive taxi tour of the island and its secrets. Our guide was born there, and showed us hidden beaches, hut circles, sea stacks and stone tombs that once were covered with mounded earth, now bare stones.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    excellent place to stay
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first b and b I have ever stayed in. The lady owner was very polite and accommodating and has set a standard I will now look for in future b and b stays. And it will be difficult to beat. Will definately stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    Basic accomodation but comfortable and a lovely host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasn't aware the bathroom was not in our room, awkward as I didn't pack a dressing gown. The bathroom is a little tired and could do with a spruce up bearing in mind the host has only been there for 5 months. Perhaps more attention on cleaning needed, I found a couple of hairs in the bath and on floor mat. (I am a cleaner, so would have noticed this more than your average guest).

    The bed was very comfortable, we both had a quiet and pleasant sleep. Breakfast lovely and host very nice and chatty. Still good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Lovely well located Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Jo was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good the next morning. Had a good night's sleep and was fantastic value for money, as was booked last minute. We went to Langdons, down on the harbour which was excellent value for money with amazing food. The view was great too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was situated near to the the town centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very, very, small, not adequate for a family room. I also found it difficult to fill the kettle as the sink was small. Breakfast was overcooked.

    The hotel was situated near to the the town centre and promenade, there was no problem parking at all. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. Nice to have biscuits with the tea and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Owner friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit lumpy. Place clean but needs a makeover.

    Owner friendly and helpful. The ideas she has to modernise it are great. Lovely little dog. Quiet area with views of the sea from our upstairs bedroom. Breakfast yummy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay with lovely host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very big and comfy. Loved the two resident seagulls for breakfast. The host was very helpful and friendly and her little dog was gorgeous..would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    A most comfortable stay in Holyhead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was low.

    The owner was very friendly, helpful with excellent service. She gave us an upgrade because we had to wait to check in, plus supplied breakfast before we departed. The accommodation was in an excellent location with an easy walk to the Marina with views of the harbour. The king size bed was most comfortable. The room provisions were plentiful and well catered for. The stairs were easy to manage. A cosy and a most pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Was great!

    Bed was cosy and comfy. My gf requirements were no fuss. I was helped with my booking online for the train,also driven to the station next morn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    A warm, friendly welcome awaits - Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I paid, the top service I received, the fresh food I ate and a clean, comfy bed and the warm room I slept in - what was there not to like.

    After completing the 277 miles from Cardiff on a push bike loaded up with 5 panniers, I was so taken aback to be met at the door by our wonderful, warm and friendly Jay - she couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. I was deeply fatigued and Jay lifted up my spirits.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Great trip and a lovely welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Jaye was really friendly and welcoming, and was helpful in recommending where to eat. We enjoyed our stay; the king size bed was lovely, breakfasts were tasty and the atmosphere was relaxed. I would recommend staying at Wavecrest. We will definitely make a return trip to Anglsey :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent B&B, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred an en suite however I know that the owner has this in hand. Also would have preferred a car park rather than street parking. This is the area though so nothing can change there.

    The owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfy and the bonus for us was that it is dog friendly! Breakfast was delicious too.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: