Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wayford Bridge Inn Hotel 3 stars

Wayford Bridge, Stalham, NR12 9LL, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Stalham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 825 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Peaceful stay in the broads
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower changed temperature in the morning while you are in it, but not a big problem really.

    Peaceful stay next to the broads. Walking distance to hire a boat. Polite staff. Had the telly to ourselves to watch the football in the lounge in the evening. Lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    superb value for money, great breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    worst bit was having to leave.

    superb full English breakfast, I asked if it was locally sourced and was informed that everything but the beans were local! Room was simple but very clean and comfortable. excellent location and good friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Had a great stay, well worth a visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was absolutely perfect, there is nothing that we didn’t like.

    Had the most wonderful stay here. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Karen went above and beyond to make us welcome and moved our room so we had a shower instead of a bath. Excellent service by all, couldn’t fault it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Good but very noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to main road and constant traffic noise!

    Nice hotel, very friendly staff, service, excellent food, but very noisy in room due to the main road outside, we didn’t realise it was so close to the hotel, and it was very hot weather so needed the windows open - hence we couldn’t sleep! Even with windows closed you could hear traffic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    A friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    I thought the room had not been properly "finished off" - i.e. the bottom bed sheet was wrong way round so therefore did not fit properly. The tea making facilities were inadequate - not enough tea bags for two people for the evening - I did enquire for more - got only three more (with reluctance). The staff (girls) were very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is in a great location and the ambience was friendly and homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast dishes not always clean and fruit Juice was "off" on at least one occasion. Breakfast cereals served in their family size box.

    Good Variety on Menu and meals of reasonable quality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Lovely few days in very relaxed, lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we experienced was nothing to do with the hotel itself - but there was no signal for either of our mobile phones. WiFi throughout though so able to use iPad.

    Liked everything from the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed. Excellent restaurant menu - would be difficult not to find something to like. True also of breakfasts. Constant hot water, nice bathroom, comfortable beds. The lounges are lovely, very cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    I thouroughly enjoyed my stay, would recommend to anyone. Definitely would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    Bed was very comfortable and clean everywhere. Bathroom was of a comfortable size. Food was excellent and plenty of it. The staff I found were most helpful and polite. Lots of comfy seating in relaxed and colourful surroundings. Nice easy listening background music.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    Easy and relaxing place to stay- convenient for boating and walking in Broads area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bedroom was absolutely fine and comfortable, decor felt a little corporate. Breakfast was nice with a few good cooked options (like the kippers) but choices could be improved by adding a fresh fruit salad. We would also prefer if the marmalade and jam were served differently ( i.e. Not in the little individual blister packets ). This could be an easy way to reduce single-use plastic waste. The hotel makes efforts to improve the view from the rooms and outside areas with some planting and umbrellas at the front but they cannot avoid the fact that a main road is very close.

    It was an easy and relaxing place to be. Staff were always helpful and friendly and there were several little seating areas If you fancied being in a quieter part of the bar or restaurant. We were able to eat outside in the evening which was a bonus. The menu, while made up mostly of standard pub-type options, nevertheless had plenty of variety with a few specials. We had a lovely morning canoeing up the river- we hired a canoe from the boatyard on the opposite river bank -recommended. The hotel is also quite near to Hickling for the walks and boat trips at the Norfolk Wildlife Trust.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A very positive experience and a fab start to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the layout of the seating areas in the bar, and the decor. The food was lovely and the room with breakfast was excellent value for money. The location was ideal for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great place to stay if visiting Norfolk.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and comfortable, safe parking, good food, good beer. Friendly, efficient staff. Good breakfast. Great location for an overnight stop if travelling in Norfolk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Andrea (I think that’s her name!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it’s a great location to explore the Broads and Norfolk coast, the road, although not super busy at night, is loud in the rooms.

    Andrea (I think that’s her name!) the proprietor is simple super! Absolutely nothing is too much! Breakfast was super and really well cooked with a great variety!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    would recommend this place as a good place to stay as close to other places of Interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only Road noise in our room, as the temperature was hot so we needed the windows open.

    The Service was excellent, the staff friendly, choice of food very good, if the room windows were open at night the Road noise from the traffic was constant, other rooms may have been quieter. Will visit again--Nice place to stay with an excellent Garden center just up the Road. Lady owner very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Overall very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was near main road so noise was disruptive to sleep and fan provided too noisy to use so too hot as well

    The welcoming staff and good selection of food and generous sized room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    We had a lovely relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe some entertainment. Booked a table in the evening for Sunday dinner told all day that roast beef was on menu Sat down at 7pm ordered our 2 x roast beef the last 2 dinners of roast beef were then given to walk in boat customers to then be told we would have to choose something else . I think staying guests should have priority.

    We were a little annoyed about the dog below us that were staying there as it barked at inappropriate times early morn through the night I know it's a dog friendly inn but I think dogs need to well behaved

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Stayed just one night after travelling and meeting friends ready to start a boating holiday the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff failed to follow up on a request to come back for dessert order after meal. Didn't offer a good morning when passing through lounge area.

    Nice bright rooms, chairs for added comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little dated although it was fine for what we needed. It was clean and had a good shower so in reality had all we needed. They are building some new rooms which will be a good addition. Other visitors have commented on the busy road. It is busy but only really at commuter times. It didn't detract from our enjoyment. Would definitely stay there again.

    A great location for the Broads, although a car is probably a necessity if you wish to visit areas not connected via the waterways. There is a boat hire centre just over the road which we used and they were excellent. Staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was excellent and we chose to take our evening meals in the hotel three nights out of four so that probably says a lot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Place near/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Placed in a family room, so this was much bigger than we expected. Very little noise from a major road when windows were shut. Did notice that there were two fans in room which would allow the windows to be closed in the summer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    This was a great find, the family run Pub / hotel is a winner
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One can always find something to moan about but one negative destroys ten positives, so no comment.

    It was very tidy and clean. It had a real homely feel with different rooms to eat. There were snug areas that were so comfortable to relax in. The room was small but worked so well. Our dog has never been so relaxed in a hotel. The location is excellent in the heart of the broads and close to the cost, also the main Norfolk city Norwich. It was located on the river with plenty of boat hire available. We had breakfast and evening meals at the Wayford Bridge and they were faultless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    I've stayed here numerous times and have always had a very pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of rooms seem to be experiencing problems in the bathroom where the bathrooms in these do not smell the freshest. However this is limited to 1 or 2 rooms in the hotel and all others I have stayed in are completely fine. The hotel is situated next to a main road so the traffic can be slightly noisy in the front bedrooms some mornings. The hotel is situated outside of a main village or town meaning you will need to drive or get a taxi to a pub etc if you would like to eat out.

    The beds here are by far the comfiest beds I have ever slept in at a hotel! The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the breakfast waiting staff who always have a lovely thing to say even at 7am. The comfy lounge with big sofas is a good place to relax with a drink or a hot chocolate before bed. Very much like the chess and board game selection provided in the bar and lounge, have spent a few nights competitively playing snakes and ladders and ludo! The food in the restaurant is typical pub food - the sizzling chicken and halloumi skillets on the menu are particularly tasty! Breakfast choice is great basically any combo of cooked breakfast you could want is available as well as cereals, fruit, juice and yoghurts. Porridge is on the menu which is nice as haven't often seen that in hotels before. Ironing boards, irons and hairdryers are supplied in all rooms which is a plus for me during a mad dash before leaving early for work. Room sockets include USB points which has come in handy when I've left my charger plug at home. Overall good value for money and a good night's sleep, the facilities make it suitable for work, families or a holiday base for a couple.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    First class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    This hotel is without fault from the room to the food and the diamonds they have for staff and for us the ease we felt at when arriving which made us feel very comfortable and relaxed. Also the endless types and places to sit and have a drink. A very rare place indeed. Well done to all concerned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    We go back time and time again, that's how lovely the place and people are there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like. We have stayed many times, both winter and summer, in winter the fire is always going so lovely and warm, in summer you can sit outside looking out at the river, wonderful!

    Lovely place to stay, staff very polite, friendly, nothing too much trouble. Our room was light and clean, plenty of hot water, which is very important to us! breakfast delicious, kippers scrummy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    We travelled to kayak on the Broads and the hotel is located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the food was very good the menu was a little light on healthy options.

    We travelled to kayak on the Broads and the hotel is located alongside the river Ant with easy access to the water, so the perfect location for us. The hotel felt very homely and the young staff were very friendly and attentive. The room was comfortable and spacious with a great view of the river. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff were excellent, room was spacious, building and decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the menu unadventurous and the food we had was hit and miss regarding both quality and price.

    Staff were excellent, room was spacious, building and decor were in good condition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Great food and attentive staff, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plain room in contrast to the rest of the hotel. Needed local pictures and less harsh lighting. Disappointing river view, not like the website.

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Interesting decor downstairs, lovely ambience with quiet areas to relax.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, enjoyable, but food could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a bit hit and miss, the specials board was the same 2 nights that we were there. Basic pub grub.

    The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again but would ask not to have room 5 :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mum’s room was number 5 - next to to main entrance which she found noisy late at night and therefore didn’t get to sleep until later than she would have liked.

    Staff were really friendly and welcoming - visited with my elderly mother and facilities were perfect - she was able to be on the ground floor which was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing. Comfortable lounges, like sitting in your own front lounge with lovely log fires.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a ground floor room overlooking car park, so didn’t have any privacy unless we closed the curtains. It would be very advantageous if there were net curtains up the windows! This was our only disappointment. Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay, and would definately stay again, but only if there were nets at the windows, or we had a first floor room which would give us more privacy.

    We only had breakfast but it was really nice, and served with a welcoming 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    very very disappointed with the hygiene
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower did not work ,hot tap sink no water /toilet very stained bath needed a good clean and sink ,when going to breakfast all clean linen for rooms on floor where all walk !!!!!!!!!!

    room clean and tidy ,food good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good base for area, however please no pets at mealtimes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apparently pets are welcome, however NOT impressed to see them at mealtimes at guest tables!!! A long wait for food on 2 occasions, only 1 chef on at breakfast. Not good enough.

    Pleasant welcome and shown to our warm room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay and will be coming back. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I was being picky then the bathroom was quite tight.

    Staff were very friendly and had excellent people skills. Genuinely nice people to deal with and very willing to please.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Good Value
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike but recommend you change the tea pots as they seem have a life of their own.

    Staff were friendly, room clean and tidy and the breakfast/food was very good, we stayed with our dog and found it a good location with easy walking nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only for us the bed could have been bigger!

    Because of the weather we were not there long but the public rooms were very attractive and welcoming. The bedroom was nice if a little small but then the price was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    I would stay at this hotel again only if I can book through the manager who was more sympathetic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was very small, and facing the main road and car park. This was especially frustrating as I had requested a quiet room when I booked, as I am a light sleeper. Check in person was not very accommodating and said to me that I would sleep - which I didn't very well. The toilet was not cleaned and water left in kettle by previous occupants.

    Manager went the extra mile to rectify the uncleanliness of my room, food was tasty

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Lovely room, good value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmm we were on half board. And felt the evening meals were very poor. First evening I had burger. The patties were dry and not fresh. The bun had obviously been defrosted in a microwaved it was dry and wrinkled on the top and the bottom of the bun was hard. Another unexpected twist was the fries were salted too. Not specified on the menus. My 2nd evening meal was sea bass. Not very hot. And considering the price a small meal. The best dish was sausage & mash. One minus I asked for gravy on the side but the meal was served with.

    We would say that the breakfasts were the best meals. Never disappointed,eggs soft and everything piping hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Definately coming here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a bit bigger

    Great location. Really clean rooms with a lovely view over the broads. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Had a great meal in the restaurant and breakfast was equally as good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.5
    Best parts are the public areas, comfy bar, lounge & TV...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please read above entry.

    Best parts are the public areas, comfy bar, lounge & TV room. Ground floor b/r suffered from carpark right outside windows. No blackout curtains to stop car headlights from waking us up. No net curtains for privacy in daytime. Very noisy main road a few yards away made sleep difficult. Walls thin & kept awake by heavy snorer upstairs.Nice tiled bath room marred by a few live and dead bugs behind bath & around toilet. Lovely crisp clean bedding & good standard of decor. Breakfast OK apart from no mention on menu of cereal/fruit juice being in outer room. Went to grab a couple of oranges from display stand, only to discover they were plastic!! We wouldn't sleep here again, public areas OK though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant but customer service could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The greeting apron arrival at reception was less than welcoming. Receptionist lacked any charm and gave no voluntary information e.g. Breakfast serving times and late night re entry rules.

    Comfortable, and meet our requirements

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff are wonderful, hotel is in a lovely setting with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    only negative aspect of our stay was that due to vehicle breaking down half way and then having to return home , pick up second car, then start our journey again ,resulting in the journey taking 14 hours instead of the usual 3 hours. I informed staff of our issues and we eventually reached the hotel at 10.30pm. we managed to order 1 drink before being questioned would that be our only drink? we were then asked to go into the lounge area of the hotel where we were locked in by the two doors with 4 other guests. We had a key to get out of the main door but felt rushed into ending the evening.

    Staff are wonderful, hotel is in a lovely setting with a very relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    the hotel was clean friendly and bright with lots of lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only thing I could put against the hotel is the bed was a small double but that was just the room we were given as we booked last minute

    the hotel was clean friendly and bright with lots of lovely seating areas around the bar and surrounding rooms. room was freshly carpeted as were the hall ways and every thing was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.5
    enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    staff were very good the hotel was very clean and tidy Food was Ok breakfast my husband enjoyed his full english I would have liked Maybe Ham Cheese etc but overall will go back

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely stay would recommend in spite of cold breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our breakfast was good quality but served on cold plates so only tepid food .it was disappointing.I complained and chef apologied

    Location was good our room was spacious and comfortable . we had a evening meal that was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments. We will book again.

    Good location. Excellent all round hotel. Management and staff were all friendly and very helpful. Food was well prepared and good value. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room can either be boiling hot or freezing cold. Obviously they can’t help this so it wasn’t a big deal. Bottles of water in the room would have made the stay even better tho!

    The best poached eggs I’ve ever had! The bed was so comfy & the food is fantastic. A lovely stay as always. The guy who always checks us in is very attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    good location for a sightseeing base around the Broads
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the ground floor rooms are noisy due the main road... especially noticeable due to the thin construction of that annex - the actual lounges within the inn and restaurant part was totally quiet being of very old and solid construction

    Homemade food served quickly and always with a smile!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    nice location and good base for exploring Hickling Nraodf and surrounding nature reserves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast choices were a little limited and the WiFi was very intermittent in the evening

    reasonable room size and comfortable bed. Room was a nice temperature and the shower hot and powerful. Even meal choice was very good and the quality above average.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable couple of days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was at the front of the hotel next to the busy A149 so there was too much traffic noise.

    Very friendly staff and good food. Good decor and ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    We have recommended this hotel ,to another family business,when they are full
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    King size bed 🛏 would have been better,coffee,nespresso capsules,taste better,or something similar,good service, local sausages,a good idea too pre order fillet steak 🥩 is worth persuing,with a deposit,something different,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    The perfect place for a short break or a Christmas stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a dog friendly room as I have a small dog with me the only down side was the room smelled strong of dogs on entering an air freshener could have helped.

    It’s a lovely Inn next to the river with log burners, comfy sofas and a lovely bar & restaurant, the bed rooms are nice and beds really comfortable, parking is easy & there are nice walks along the river bank. Just along the road from the hotel is a garden shop with a lovely coffee/tea room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Excellent throughout, want to come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little on the small side but when I looked on the floor plan of fire escape, there are bigger rooms available. But it was still very clean and well decorated with all mod cons. We could go in nearby communal snug room with log fire which we practically had to ourselves

    From the picture on line the hotel from the outside looked quite modern but when you got inside it was very olde worlde with lots of character and like a quaint good cosy pub. It was cosy with log fires and wood burning stoves with snug areas but also very clean. The staff all round were very nice and friendly but professional. We were treated very well. The food and service was amazing. Compliments to the chef.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    As always the stay was comfortable and as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor problem with the shower. Although the en-suite had been recently refurbished and up graded it did noy seem to be possible to adjust the temperature. It is likely that a previous guest had forced the control against the stop.

    The hotel always seems to have plenty of staff which ensures that service is always excellent. The staff are well presented and always friendly and polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    GREAT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOT MUCH CAN BE DONE ABOUT THE ROAD NOISE ALTHOUGH THERE ARE OTHER ROOMS AT THE BACK I PRESUME THAT YOU COULD REQUEST IT

    THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE VERY FRIENDLY STAFF I WOULD RECCOMEND

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean comfortable room good size bathroom very friendly staff and accomodating especially as we were not sure on our time of arrival and as we arranged this with the staff in advance they were more than happy to help. That is what I call great customer service. Breakfast was lovely and cooked to our request. Staff very helpful and friendly would recommend as a place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable well maintained and cozy. Definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only gripe in the whole pace. The shower get is high up on the wall for talking showers. I like my baths! Would prefer a bar of soap. Thats it

    Beautiful and well maintained property. Great food, great people and very comfortable rooms. Exceptional value for money. It's got a great cozy feel to the place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    2.5
    Parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had Liver and Bacon, i was sick i the early hours and through the whole day. This carried on all day into the evening. Doctor comfirmed food poisoning later that day . Very poor

    Parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    heaven
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower room smelly but after running the taps the smell went

    we entered the hotel entrance tp find a lovely sitting room with large tv and log burner. through a archway to a reading room through another archway to a lovely homely sitting room with a sideboard containing board games and books. we then went to the bar and booked in .had a clean room rather small but with the rooms downstairs it was only for sleeping, the food is amazing cannot wait to return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    A lovely relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really except my carbonara was a bit weird - it was very cheesy more like a mac n cheese with onion. Tasty but not carbonara!

    Our bedroom was bijou but extremely comfortable. I noticed some were larger. We did have a view of the river which was nice. The room had everything you could want and the bathroom had a bath and shower. The toiletries smelt nice and fresh. The bed was really comfy. We found our duvet too hot but the cleaner changed it for a thinner one which was much better. We had an iron, board and hair dryer. The hotel has lots of sitting rooms which offer lovely seating areas with some gorgeous retro industrial looking lighting. You can find games, books and things to look at everywhere. The outside area looked very nice but as it was November it was too cold to sit outside with a drink. Maybe in the summer you could use the public transport more. The breakfast was good and varied. The evening meals were usual pub grub with some specials, I enjoyed the hock terrine very much . All the staff were hard working and friendly. We walked into Stalham but it was not a pleasant 30 min walk due to the amount of traffic on a very busy and noisy road. Stalham, however is well worth a look. We used public transport to get to Cromer and also to Wroxham where we caught the steam train to Aylsford with return. The buses stopped very early that may change in the summer but you could not rely on them for a day out. We would definitely go back to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    perfect place as a base to explore surrounding areas.would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe a local newspaper would have been handy,but a shop a little down the road so we nt and bought one .

    everything,staff friendly,nothing too much trouble,food excellent,plenty of it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Comfortable, Friendly, good value for money. Thank you.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot think of anything I would change

    The Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful, There was plenty of parking and the hotel is very dog friendly with designated dining areas and rooms for pet owners Our dinner in the restaurant was delicious, so much so that we booked lunch for the last day of our trip. Breakfast was also very good. Would definitely recommend to others for short break or holiday

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Excelent stay, lots to do in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I had stayed longer

    Lovely comfy bed for a great nights sleep. Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Repeat visit and have already booked to return. Great staff nothing is too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed a bit small, towel rail in bathroom not working And the towels where little bit on the ruff side. Because of the noise of the road couldn't keep window open -would suggest that air condition was fitted

    Love the friendly atmosphere- the little lounge area away from the bar were a bonus The evening meal was excellent , home made pie was to die for ,though I would have perverd that the gravy came in a separate jug not all over the meal -good size potions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable with a good atmosphere and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit stingy with milk in the room and butter at breakfast Could not go for a river walk as land as privately owned :(

    The Inn was lovely and very family friendly with a large area dedicated to relaxing or playing family board games.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    If I were a child I would find it a magical place rather like a Tardice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would find it hard to change anything Thicker bread for toast is about the only thing

    The room was very quiet and warm also the bathroom The choice of items for breakfast was great All the staff I met were extremely friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was well presented looked very appetizing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmm well we felt the room was small. Only one bedside table, and the double bed was only a 3/4 size. In our opinion. Also a lot of noise from residence in the room above. From walking about. We brouched the bed size with a staff member who said she was sure it wasn't and next time ask for a room upstairs. I wasnt impressed with that answer. We found the road noisy quite loud being the room on the front corner of the building.Had I known we were downstairs when I booked I would have

    The breakfast was well presented looked very appetizing. Was our best meal there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable, relaxing and satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure that if it is on the menu it is available. If not, tell the guest as soon as you give them the menu. That's all. Great place.

    The staff were very friendly and accomplished. There was always someone on hand to take an order or to ask a question of. Rooms were spotlessly clean modern and functional. Ours had a good view of the river. Loved the many lounge ares where you could sit in comfort with your pre or post dinner drinks. Food, especially breakfast, was superbly cooked, always available although they didn't always have everything that was on the menu. Very good value for money. Will return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a very enjoyable stay and would stay there again if in the area 👍🏻
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and very Dog friendly , treats for the dog who had access to everywhere except the dining room which was fine as we had a very spacious bar area where we ate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great anniversary get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    moaning customers - Complaining that their lights had gone out at 1am and were demanding money back (Old folk)

    Excellent weekend stay. Staff were exceptional, always very polite, nothing seemed to put them off

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    FFab stay and excelent location for touring the broads and surrounding areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were greeted with a very warm welcome. Our room was ideal, comfy and clean with a river view. Bathroom had a shower with good pressure and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was of a high standard and we ate in the hotel every evening and had no complaints what's so ever regarding food and service, except we were given someone else's bill. Once they were informed it was sorted out. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    An enjoyable stay (despite our one little gripe) in a pleasant area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only had one small gripe. At our first evening meal, I ordered a chicken caesar salad. On the menu were two prices, one with chicken and one without. The menu also listed the ingredients, all of which I consider standard including anchovies and parmesan cheese. On eating the meal, I found that the anchovies and parmesan cheese had been omitted. The staff member with whom I took this up had a very unhelpful attitude, suggesting that I should have ordered the missing items when ordering my meal even though they were listed as part of the meal on the menu. I felt that I was being talked down to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It has a nice cosy feel about the place.Comfy and cosy lounge areas. The road was not a problem for us .. but we shut the windows at night. Staff were professional and nice. Food was great .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness was poor. It needs a good general cleaning especially in public areas - hallways, corridors etc. The spiders have had free rein......

    Breakfasts. Comfort of rooms Good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff, clean comfortable rooms coupled with excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    This is one of the best we've stayed in so far. We could not fault our stay. Everything from the booking to the checking out was done with a smile and our comfort in mind. We were shown to our rooms and allowed to inspect them and asked if they were to our satisfaction before being left in peace to enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Check the Toilet paper before using
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Gents Toilet had no toilet paper No easy access for wheelchairs Difficult steps at the front of the hotel The coffee at Breakfast was disgusting

    Easy Parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Lovely place well recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room can get hot. Road noise can be intrusive. No areas where you can run a dog free

    Almost every thing. Liked the bar. Food and accommodation. Especially liked their attitude towards dogs. Staff were excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    We liked the comfy areas for sitting around the hotel, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Menu choice could have been bigger, food we had ok but if you were staying any longer would have struggled. Had to ask for toilet rolls for room as no renewal left.

    We liked the comfy areas for sitting around the hotel, the staff were all very friendly, a very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: