Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellington House 4 stars

26 Melvill Road, Falmouth, TR11 4AR, United Kingdom

#19 of 45 hotels in Falmouth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 77 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners do warn about this before booking, but there is some noise from the rooms above - creaking floors/footsteps. However, it wasn't enough to put us off even though we like morning lie-ins. We'd still go back because everything else was so good.

    Very clean, comfortable and spacious. Even had 2 loos! The large covered decking area with furniture was lovely for sitting outside and reading even though it was raining. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An inclusive breakfast would have been appreciated - not a big issue but I hadn’t picked up before booking that it was not included - my fault - thought I was booking b & b.

    The £5 breakfast was plentiful, good quality with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fitted sheets on double bed kept coming off and had to be refitted.

    Exccellent well cooked breakfasts. Comfortable lounge. Relatively quiet location but convenient for station, beaches, and town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The owners were always helpful, friendly and very knowledgable about the local area. The accommodation is homely, of a good standard and immaculately clean. Nice shower room en suite with a powerful shower. The breakfast choice and quality is excellent. The location is very convenient for the town centre and harbour, local beach and walks and the train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for breakfast.

    Hosts were super friendly and made us feel really welcome. Accommodation was excellent, love the way that they have decorated the property being sympathetic to its Victorian heritage. Superb location in Falmouth very accessible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    We stayed in the apartment which has wonderful facilities for the traveller. Rosemary and Bruce were so helpful. We loved having the covered deck where we had many of our meals. We found this to be an ideal base to explore the SW of Cornwall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints.

    The Below Stairs apartment at Wellington House is absolutely ideal. Good sized accommodation, well equipped and furnished, beautifully clean and maintained, with a wonderful private sun terrace. The owners Rosemary and Bruce are charming and always ready to help. I couldn't be more satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rosemary was the perfect host,very helpful and so lovely, and what a fantastic breakfast for a £5 ! Home cooked pancakes, fresh fruit salad, toast and pot of great coffee. Nothing was to much trouble . I am going to stay here again soon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing I didn't like!

    Rosemary and Bruce were very welcoming indeed! The room I had was spacious and comfortable, tastefully decorated, very very clean. They welcomed my dog too, with dog blanket, bowls and even doggie biscuits! Samson was a very happy boy ;) Wellington House is perfectly located, with easy parking, and nice and quiet at night. The town and beaches are within 5-10 mins walking distance, and the walks in the area are suberb. I would highly recommend Wellington House, and Rosemary and Bruce could not have been better hosts. I will be returning! xxx

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of items freshly cooked to customise your meal. View stunning from room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very musty smell Felt very unclean with dark decor Bedroom wallpaper lifting Bed collapsed when I first sat on same and before use so nervous on use Bedroom decor terrible from bygone age

    Kitchen was well kittedwith equipment

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the smell of our beds, pillows and duvets. Didn't smell fresh. Don't know if the unpleasant smell was from laundry soap or from the last guests who stayed there before us. Maybe we're just a bit fussy.

    The below stairs apartment was very spacious and a lot of privacy. The owners were friendly and had been helpful in giving us directions to town. The location is excellent, close to Falmouth Town train station (about 2min away), or to Falmouth Docks train station, to town center (about 20min away), and seaviews. Also location is accessible to walk to Pendennis Castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A friendlier atmosphere also we were hassled about time of arrival by you and the owners ,when you have to drive 360 miles this not easy you e mailed us and made4 phone calls

    We didn't eat just one table for all like eating at my Grandma's

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight musty smell to the apartment when we arrived which got better once we'd opened the place up a bit - or maybe we got used to it!

    Well placed in Falmouth for the town, beach or castle. Comfortable and well equipped. The owners are extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and when questioned about it we got abuse and we only stopped one night and got charged for 4 at £390 we are pensioners and also on disability as I've got dystonia and my husband is just in remission from cancer as I have already told you so they are only interested in the money just hope nobody else makes the same mistake

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was wonderful.

    We stayed in the self catering flat below the house. It is fantastic; Very lovely new fitted kitchen and bathroom. Gorgeous veranda with fairylights that come on at night. Very good location to harbour and beach. Owners very lovely. Tea, coffee and even biscuits provided!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds a little hard.

    The owners were really friendly and helpful and the house was very welcoming and comfortable. The breakfasts were plentiful and excellent with a great choice. Excellent location - lovely harbour view from our room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My front room faced a busy roadway whose noises came thru the essential open windows, too warm to close.

    Ocean coastal walkway & beaches were a downhill stroll through a lovely public garden. Eateries & shops 8-10 city blocks away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quite but very close to Shops, pubs and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really comfy beds and beautiful views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was catered for in this lovely apartment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lighting in the lounge.

    easy walking distance from town. very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfy,breakfast excellant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely friendly atmosphere; made to feel very welcome, including the dogs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean premises good extras in room small fridge fresh milk. Very helpful informative hosts great breakfast. Overall very good great value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not applicable.

    The Full English breakfast and the comfort and decor. Location to town centre too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Lovely and friendly proprietors.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt fault anything

    Everything was perfect the extra touches for our dog was really nice a blanket bowls towel and dog treats

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from traffic

    Friendly and welcoming guest house owners

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food, nice spacious bedroom, very comfy lounge, very helpful hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location and very helpful and friendly hosts. Excellent fresh cooked breakfast. Good choice of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the ensuite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault it.

    Everything. Location is great, the attention to detail in the room is remarkable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything excellent

    Bruce and Rosemary fantastic hosts

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly , welcoming , wonderful breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Location. Friendly owners

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    This was a perfect guesthouse, very friendly, comfortable and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very friendly hosts and excellent breakfast. Great location for beaches and shops, also within walking distance of rail link.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I feel at this price the breakfast should be included as it is everywhere else in the country!

    The location to both the town and the beach was ideal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very friendly & helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A real home from home. Excellent location: a short walk to either the beach or town. Room was very comfortable, fresh flowers a lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hospitality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean tidy room and excellent full English breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beach view would have been perfect , but not possible from this location , however good view over town and beaches were close. En suite bathroom was nice but slightly small

    Friendly and helpful hosts Excellent cooked breakfasts Comfortable room Handy location 5 mins from beaches, 10 mins from Falmouth centre

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The parking was tight, so don't take your 4WD if you can help it, however our hosts were quick to find solutions to any parking problems.

    The location was great. We were within walking distance of the waterfront and shops, but far enough away to not get all the associated noise. Our hosts were lovely people who went out of their way to make us welcome. The Rooms were clean and very pleasant. Ours had a great view of the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    I can't think of anything. I suppose taxi fares to town are a bit high, but that's not the guest house's fault.

    It felt very at home. The decor was incredibly tastefully picked, so much cozier than the usual cold palette most hotels use. It was very comfortable and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    The Owners very friendly and really helpful, although i didn't really need to ask for anything as my room had all that i needed, i got the impression if i had asked nothing would have been to much trouble for them!

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable guest house and we were made very welcome by the owners. Lovely cooked breakfast and really comfortable bed. Had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Narrow and steep steps to our room, with little space to unpack and hang clothes.An extremely tight parking area with dangerous exit onto a bad bend.

    A warm welcome on our arrival. A very comfortable lounge area with lovely furniture

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Guest house is conveniently situated within walking distance between the beaches and the town. The welcome and attention we received from the owners made us feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    She said she would only charge us for 1 night but took money off card without permission

    Unsuitable beds & accommodation as specified ground floor partner has heart condition & had a 9lb tumor removed from leg landlady nasty when said it was unsuitable she told us to get out & not charge us for rest of stay she took money off credit card anyway

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Bed was rather uncomfortable.

    Convenient location. Close to the relative I was visiting as well as local attractions like the Gyylyngvase Gardens, Princess Pavillion, beach, promenade, harbour and town.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved being able to have our own place for 5 days, having breakfast when we wanted (self catered) and being able to spread out. The sitting room and verandah was an added bonus. The beds were the most comfortable during our entire trip in England. We also liked having a washing machine!

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed was a bit soft for my liking.

    Made to feel most welcome. Appreciate the hosts knowledge of the surrounding area and its attractions. Nothing was too much trouble for Rosemary. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved our stay here!We had the self contained flat below with a decked patio overlooking the town and harbour!Very well appointed with all you could want! Lovely hosts wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owners will pick out the best places to eat, drink and see in Falmouth for you. Rosemary cooks a lovely breakfast and is very friendly to chat to. 12 minute walk to town centre.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to order breakfast by 10pm. Fine for cooked breakfast but I think a continental breakfast should be available regardless.

    I like the green policy - recycling bag and towels not laundered every day.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely house and friendly owners. Well decorated room. Very comfortable bed. Hot chocolate, coffee and biscuits topped up daily. Great price. Wonderful 4 night stay! Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one tiny complaint- there was a faint smell of damp/mould as we entered the apartment. However, this would not put us off booking again!

    It was lovely to relax with all the comforts of home; it certainly made a change from staying in one room. Having the option to cook for ourselves was great.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complex breakfast system and it was too early for me. I wish it would have been more flexible!

    Friendly and helpful hosts

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Felt very welcome and excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location,fabulous breakfast,wonderful hosts we were made very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spacious, comfortable well appointed appartment. Balcony a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the standard of rooms and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hospitality was 5 star, with a most comprehensive breakfast menu. A. Good view of Falmouth harbour from our room.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely people, excellent breakfast, very quiet.....what more could you want1

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not keen on the memory foam mattress

    Approachable,friendly hosts, the house was clean and homely, clear information, breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was at a request and very expensive also second night left a note stating no breakfast as they were out for navy day not really good enough

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was not very comfortable... The mattress sagged in the misddle.

    Good location, friendly owner, good Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was to soft

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful proprietor

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a think to complain about.

    Excellently run guest house with friendly owners who gave lots of info on area.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    creaking stairs, creaking floorboards room above, plasterboards walls i could hear every word even with tv on.

    location

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcome friendly. Breakfast flexible and substantial

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: