Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wensum Valley Hotel Golf and Country Club 3 stars

Beech Avenue, Taverham, NR8 6HP, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Taverham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 482 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic sized family room but hot and uncomfortable as no air con. Breakfast was awful I’m sorry 🙁 Virtually Nothing on the buffet- whole apples the only fruit option, cooked breakfast insipid and unappetising. Exorbitantly expensive for room considering dated decor of whole hotel and facilities. Staff lovely though.

    Fantastic sized family room but hot and uncomfortable as no air con. Breakfast was awful I’m sorry 🙁 Virtually Nothing on the buffet- whole apples the only fruit option, cooked breakfast insipid and unappetising. Exorbitantly expensive for room considering dated decor of whole hotel and facilities. Staff lovely though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with an update.

    Went mainly for the golf but swimming pool was a bonus for my wife. Played the Wensum course which was excellent. Driving range and putting green all good and golf shop staff pro's were very helpful and friendly. Room was quite adequate. Bar and restaurant area very good and very roomy. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drainage smell in the bathroom. Booming music from the exercise facilities. The water supply had a metallic taste. Generally the hotel needs a freshen up.

    The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The layout of the Hotel ground floor lost me a few times. So suggest guests stand in car park and review where it is at.

    Cleanliness and friendly staff attitudes in all areas. Valley golf course was well maintained and easy to understand the way round. The Wensum Valley course was a tough course and the holes from 13 to 16 need throw away balls. There is a lot of water in these holes and some will find them unplayable. When sat on the patio with a drink looking onto the golf course the scenery is fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little problem with food order that didn't appear! But management tried there up most to rectify and manage to sort some light meal because it was 10.pm before there realised the error!

    Surroundings were great, lots of things to chose from , or just relax,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls and ceilings were paper thin. We listened to a rugby match until midnight on the next rooms television. No sleep that night because of that room and the room above us. Also noisy people in the corridor. Tried to get a bar meal on the second night and because of a wedding party, we couldn’t get anywhere near the bar to order a meal so had to go out in the rain to find a pub. Not knowing the area, it took a while to find one. The receptionist showed no interest when we told her.

    Quality of the breakfast was good and the staff very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not something I didn't like so much as something I think they need to change . The addition of a small fridge in the room would be a great bonus feature especially in the summer warm water is not nice

    Staff were very friendly, food was really good also lovely and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Walls very thin so could hear people snoring in the next room. 2. Wifi is poor. 3. Breakfast says from 7pm in the room information pack, however when arriving down for breakfast at 7pm the room is already full of people? If you want get away early for work the correct information needs to be in the information pack

    Loads of facilities... 2 golf courses, driving range, gym, swimming pool, snooker, darts..... Bar Food is excellent Bar has a big screen with Sky TV So if you are staying for business and want to kill time in the evening there is plenty to do

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelt awful, like sewage. Not very clean, a bit tatty, coffee rings on furniture, not a good view out of the window, no bedside table or lamp near the single bed, decor all a bit old fashioned and tired. Breakfast OK but a bit basic, still hungry afterwards. Impossibly hard to find in the dark, long country lanes with no street lighting made for a horrible and scary journey.

    Big room. Quiet. Comfy beds. Lots of coffee and tea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit too far out but that was because we could not get booked nearer the hotel where our function was otherwise excellent

    Very quiet even though full. Able to sit outside room, excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the next room- number 34. They had the TV on at 6 am- not impressed- I question the wall thickness regrettably

    Great room size and en suite, good pool and gym

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean but out dated..no plugs by bed or bedside lights and generally noise through walls and ceilings you could hear everything!..tv was very small.

    Views over the course are stunning and the club balcony is a suntrap all day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin and so were noisy.

    It was great that they had a good restaurant and we didn’t need to leave the premises all weekend. Great breakfast.p

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was tired, albeit clean. The swimming pool and leisure area was also rather tired. Both could do with updating.

    The staff were absolutely fantastic and could not be faulted even when they were unexpectedly inundated with many guests who were unable to fly out to the rigs. The food in the restaurant was both lovely and hot and could not be faulted at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. Could hear tv next door as if it were in my room. Replacement room above a noisy bar. Staff unwilling to challenge noisy customers. Very dated. No phone signal.

    There is a gym with sauna and steam room. Kept very clean despite age of structure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV far too small for the size of the room No 79 Shower not hot enough and way too powerfull shower cubicle leaked all over floor Noisy over the weekend due mainley to drunkern party goers from the weddings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free WIFI was a little temperamental.

    The room was excellent (except for the tv being on a very funny angle to watch from the bed!) and so was the breakfast. Staff very friendly and excellent leisure facilities. I will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee could be from express machine. I like espresso.

    We are very happy with stay. Beautiful location close to the Norwich centre. We had a big room with the window overlooking the golf course. We loved leisure facilities. Hotel is clean with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy rooms, could hear everything. Quite tired but not terrible. Sauna jacuzzi and steam room was out of order on second day. Bit of a shame. Bar was a bit punchy too pint @ £4.20 seems steep.

    Liked the gym area —- when open

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bathroom. We were in Room 3 and you couldn't stand in front of the washbasin, because the toilet was in the way. Made shaving very awkward.

    Room was basic, but priced reasonably. Location was perfect for us. Bed was comfy and room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leisure facilities were tired but having the pool was great.

    Excellent in all areas. Amazing views from restaurant. Staff couldn't have been more helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fast delivery of food from the kitchen... a nice breakfast too. Rooms cosy and warm... prefer to stay here due to location... miles away from a busy road and guaranteed a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds very hard

    Adequate little hotel. The "dated" nature of it, is quite charming in a way! Like it's come straight out of the 1970's. Hotel can be a little tricky to navigate around, but pretty painless once you get the hang of it. Staff on reception where pleasant enough. Beds are sadly very uncomfortable! Very hard!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very noisy and dated, you can hear everything going on in every room in the block from peoples phone calls, both ends, to people yawning, coughing, shower doors water running, everything, the wall are very thin and beds not comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, invisible scum ring in the bath. Tables in the lounge could do with rubbing down, glass marks makes them look grubby, even if they are clean

    The setting and views The barman, head waiter dealt with a group of men that were swearing extremely well and discretely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little dated, and shower grout could be renewed, but otherwise no complaints at all

    Pleasant place. Tidy. Comfortable bed. Reasonably convenient location. Pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bin bag with sanitary towels left in bathroom, mattress old could hear springs when moved. Bed side light didn't work. Net curtains not hung properly.

    Bar staff very helpful, our waitress at breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff were all very cheerful and helpful,they did not hesitate to check if we needed assistance and they responded immediately, which was very much appreciated as my Wife and I are both 80plus. We only needed breakfasts but we thoroughly enjoyed our meals . Unfortunately were we attending a Funeral and had to travel from Christchurch in Dorset, so are unlikely to use this facility again. Yours sincerely, The Kilvert Family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to be a place for business people which is fine but some came in late and made noise in early hours.plus the gym and pool is used a lot by locals which again is fine but made it very busy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The two golf courses are excellent, personally preferred the Valley course but both worth a visit for in their own right. Really good sized pool. A jacuzzi, sauna etc. For the money the facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedrooms are away from the main building which can be tricky in very bad weather but that is really the only slight comment which would in fact be very difficult to remedy.

    The staff are very friendly and being a golf complex the atmosphere is very relaxed. The cooked breakfasts are individually prepared and the sausages are truly scrumptious. We also ate there in the evenings as we could find nowhere locally better.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms need refurbishing. Stained carpets, very uncomfortable bed (needs mattress topper) and poorly soundproofed - I was woken twice by people staying over for work getting up early.

    Food was really good - well prepared, sensibly priced and decent portions. Leisure facilities good too. Wensum golf course was fab - some great holes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was really big only problem had a family stopping in the room above us and they were very noisy all you could hear were the kids running up and down the room which spoilt what could have been a perfect weekend i would stop here again but would ask for a room on the second floor staff and breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard cheap and very uncomfortable The walls were paper thin I could hear several TVs through the walls and ceilings as well as people talking and snoring!!! People walking upstairs sounded like elephants!

    Friendly staff Beautiful wedding room Good food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found an empty plastic cup behind the bed head - not from me so I'm assuming it was missed from the previous occupant. Décor a bit dated

    Room very comfy, quiet place and plenty of parking. Some healthier options available at breakfast. Staff were all lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegetarian breakfast options poor. Restaurant good. We booked 7 rooms and all experienced unacceptable noise from other rooms. I could hear neighbour snooring!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very average, no wife as advertised, the room provided was on a flat spot in the hotel, compensation was provided but a very disappointing experience

    A bland hotel, good sports facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would say is the cost of the room was a little bit on the high side.

    Overall the the venue was very good. And the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening reception staff. The walls are paper thin between rooms. I wouldn't go again because of that

    The reception staff in the evening need to understand that they are in the hospitality industry not airline check in staff. Borderline rude and combative. Breakfast staff and morning check out were good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in times were a little inflexible with the staff absolutely refusing an earlier check in. The extraction fan in the bathroom was perhaps the noisiest I have ever heard in a room.

    Lovely facilities with a lovely pool and bar area. Lovely views across the countryside and of course the golf course. The staff were very polite and helpful and the food was pretty good. The rooms were a reasonable size and very bright smelling very fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air con in the room made it a very uncomfortable nights sleep I would not stay here in the summer again

    breakfast was good and the bar area was relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast I felt didn't have a lot to offer if you are having the cold breakfast. Coffee not the best and grapefruit segments as the fresh fruit offering!

    Location was in a quiet rural area and facilities that are available make this an ideal place to stay. Walking distance to other pubs if required. Evening staff were brilliant - very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained bed cushions. Also I was disappointed that even though I stayed for 3 nights my bed sheets were not changed (they were re-laid) everyday.

    Beautiful grounds, large bathroom and shower, great gym and pool facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screaming child in next door room in middle of night which obviously is no fault of the hotel. Was just bad luck

    Excellent value for money. Particularly enjoyed the pool - perfect temperature and depth - jacuzzi and steam room. Staff in restaurant were fantastic both for dinner and breakfast. Food was very good and very good value. Room was very large and bed comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit tired and needs new taps at least.

    The bed was huge and comfy with plenty of pillows, breakfast great, staff friendly and efficient. Will definitely come again to try the spa and the golf!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    a group booking for a large number of shanahans from across the world and myself we were impressed with the views and the very helpful staff and ofcourse the full english breakfast , the pool was great , perfect temp

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were small, bathroom cramped - nowhere to put a washbag. Towel rack above WC - not hygienic. One towel had dark marks on it. Toilet needed cranking several times to flush. Bed was uncomfortable - could feel the springs.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Receptionist received feedback in a very professional manner. Lovely surroundings. Great for a golfing holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small and outdated rooms. Bathroom was cramped. Nowhere to put washbag. Towel rack hangs over WC - not very hygienic! One of the white towels had dark marks on it. Had to crank several times for toilet to flush. Bed uncomfortable - could feel the springs.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Receptionist received feedback very well. Beautiful setting and surroundings, good swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extractor fan in bathroom very noisy (room 12). WiFi in the rooms would be an advantage (available in the bar area only).

    Overall accommodation and restaurant was very good. Swimming pool and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and found my bed looked a little 'rumpled' so pulled back the sheets and found crumbs in the bed. Tried to sleep in said bed or perhaps I should describe it as a brick ! Just awful, possibly the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Walls as thin as paper, could hear everything in the next door room. Mouldy shower curtain. Dated and miserable decor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole hotel was very tired and in dire need of refurbishment. The beds were extremely hard and the bright emergency light which was on in our room for our entire stay made sleeping almost impossible.

    Kids enjoyed the swimming pool although the facilities were very tired and run down.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel. Certain female golfers made us feel unwelcome. Hotel and rooms needed updating, looking very tired and could do with air conditioning.

    Views of the golf course

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating bath panel was hanging loose and decor old.

    Very good staff, and excellent breakfast pool good for kids only about 15 metres long But 10 kids who were with us had great fun

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    prices of drinks was high compered to pub prices

    the staff and guests were very friendly, facilities on site were very good and easy to get to and use the restaurant was good and the food was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room walls are not soundproof. I was unable to make a phone call in my own room at 10.30 in the evening without people banging on the wall to tell me to shut up. I found this very annoying and therefore could not phone my husband in the evening.

    Bar good and breakfast were excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ROOM 17 IS NOISY AS IT HAS A COURTYARD OUTSIDE WINDOW. I COULD HEAR THE SHOWER NEXT DOOR AS IF IT WAS IN MY ROOM WITH ME. THE BATHROOM WAS A LITTLE DIRTY ALL DUSTY ON SHELF UNDER THE SINK. THE SHOWER CURTAIN WAS CHEAP NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE AS IT CONSTANTLY WRAPPED ITSELF AROUND YOU WHEN SHOWERING GRRRR. THE TV WAS TINY.

    STAFF WERE FRIENDLY. GREAT PARKING AND LOCATION, CHEAPER COMPARED TO BIG NAMED HOTELS IN THE AREA BY AROUND £50 PER NIGHT.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entered my room to find another persons clothes / luggage in the room which was double booked and I was then put in a room with a single bed when I had paid for a double. Very basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Like sleeping or not as this case was a bag of springs. The room overlooks a courtyard which resembled cell block h. A central garden feature might brighten it up. In general it's hasn't moved out of the eighties. The road in and out of the site is extremely busy. Avoid it at school drop off time.

    My evening meal was superb. Well cooked and presented. Sea bass dish.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had guests for dinner, and a complete hash of the bill was made, and it was wrong again when I came to pay on leaving. In general, the accommodation and food was poorer than I remembered from previous stays.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini safes in the room. Occasionly the waiting staff in the evenings are spread a bit thin.

    Helpful friendly staff. Great location for town, country and coast. Great facilities in health club. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sporadic banging noise throughout the night kept my wife awake. It woke me up at 4.30 and I couldn't get back to sleep. The couple we went with had the samend issue. Had to wait until almost 3pm before the room was ready!

    Excellent facilities, rooms and golf. Shame about the service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were very thin!

    Lovely hot, powerful showers. Spacious rooms. Good quality, reasonably priced food. Friendly, professional staff. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was not open although advertised on the web site, it was setting up. Walls were paper thin kept awake by noisy neighbors at night and a very loud crying baby both late at night and early in the morning. Babies do cry but the noise transference between the rooms made the experience extreme. There was no proper coffee maker in the hotel and the dispensed coffee was horrible. I thought that proper coffee would be a given at a hotel like this. WiFi was virtually inaccessible in our room normally not attainable. Not a peacful weekend in the country

    The staff were cheerful, helpful and polite. It is in a nice setting, the bar area was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food in past was good wholesome meals has gone a little upmarket for my own personal taste but still good quality, wifi is hit and miss along with phone signal

    Nice location and convenient for work

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very dated, you could here everything in the rooms. Therefore we where awake throughout 3 nights it was really bad. you can hear people conversations perfectly and everything else.

    The staff where very friendly and helpful, the food was very good and well priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin and could hear the conversation of the people next door and the person being arrested by the police 2 doors down!!

    The size of the rooms were good, leisure facilities good, bar food and breakfast good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very poor bordering on dangerous Stained carpets in room Needs updating Restaurant very old fashioned ,lack of choice

    Swimming pool, breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little small considering the size of the rooms, and could have done with being a little larger.

    The staff were brilliant and couldn't help enough, and the room sizes were fantastic! Easily the biggest and most comfortable bed we've ever slept in at any hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No vegetarian sausages in cooked breakfast and no banana's to go with porridge. there was a very bright 'EXIT' light in the bedroom so, on request, one of the staff sealed a black bag around it to block out the light. The place is very dated and with a bit of modernisation would be amazing. there is one big pool with lanes, so not good for just paddling about.

    Very basic but clean. very helpful and pleasant staff, nothing seemed too much trouble. Good gym with pool and Jacuzzi. Looks out on a golf course.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is hit and miss but the place is spread out so you just move to where it is a better signal For the money you cant fault this place at all, gym, swimming pool, bar and restaurant for £60 a night, what more would you want? I would stay again anytime

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin and we could actually hear our neighbours snoring.

    The friendly staff especially in the restaurant. The food was really good quality and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was excellent. The free use of the pool area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the lighting in bathroom could have been better although it did improve the longer it was on

    The friendliness of the staff service at breakfast cleanliness of room and overall stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't like the feel of the place more dedicated to golfers and Hen parties! Rooms spacious but noisy if you have people arguing at 3am . Breakfast was not worth £9:95 had a lot better in a greasy spoon ,service was terrible. Felt like I was staying at Butlins instead of a hotel. Nice location let down by indifferent hotel (also strange layout of hotel looks like golf 19th hole with add ons).

    Near to where we had to be visiting a friend,. good parking and stunning views over the fairway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed to be updated and I feel that having the radio playing in the restaurant was not appropriate. Listening to 'I'm to sexy' while eating was not really whate I would expect from a restaurant.

    The evening meal in the hotel restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff attitude..and cleaning.

    The reception team member on the early shift on the 1st of April..very helpfully..other than that I would not recommend it to anyone.I wrote to the manager..poor standards for a place like this..actually embarrassing.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: